Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Atlas City Hotel 3 stars

1081 Budapest, Népszínház u. 39-41, Hungary

#309 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2173 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    4.6
    I never come to this hotel again it was like 2 or 1 star hostel not 3 star hotel
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window of the room was broken and it was really noisy se couldnt sleep whole night , and my matress was not clean

    Staff were really friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    Probably not this hotel anymore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfasts were included, but not tasty in general. Fried eggs were dry totally, sausages didnt taste like sausages, and everything expected to be warm was lukewarm, the food was woithout added value of nice breakfast. The first room we got (before we asked for the room from the pictures displayed on booking.com) was like one big bathroom, with green tiles everywhere, no carpet (and a bath was opposite of the beds in a bedroom). When you like sleeping next to the opened window - not possible if you are not hit with something heavy into your head. So big noise from the street and from the backyard where parking place is (and we were on the 6th floor). Ear plugs didnt work. Unfortunately the noise is comming from the each floor as well, so you have double noise from the windows and from the doors. The towels were clean (changed everday) and a bed was made too, but the room/bathroom wasnt so much nice at all. Outer parts of washbasin and tolet bowl were dirty. In general, hotel was more like dormitory for me than hotel.

    Not sure about it here...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was smell of smoking in our room when we just arrived.

    Hotel is situated not far from center. Here is a lot of groceries, so if you are hungry you can buy something. Tasty breakfast with hot dishes, differences of sausages. Private parking. Smiley, polite receptionists. To my mind, it’s fine correlation between price and quality.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    OK value for the money, good breakfast, unacceptable staff behaviour!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Feels more like a dormitory than a hotel. Our door was in front of the Staff room so from 6:30am-8:30am the cleaning ladies were VERY loud, laughing, talking, throwing things and hitting stuff. First we thought these are loud groups of early tourists, but it tured out they are the maids! Its just unacceptable- seems like they didnt care about the guests of the hotel at all... disappointing.

    I was not expecting a lot and it was OK. Its an old hotel, but its a good value for the money and breakfast was very nice with lots of options. The district is durty and not the best one but you are 20min walking distance from the center. Room and bathroom wrere actually clean and they were changing the towels every day ( some of the old reviews are saying its durty- so I guess the hotel has made a progress in this). Parking is payed, but we found a private secure parking 1 block away for 10eur for 2 days.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location very close to metro, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Received one small towel per person (no bath towels, no seperate hand towels) This hotel caters many groups, often up to 30/40 people in a group, many children. It was impossible to get breakfast when the groups came down to the buffet as the food was gone straight away and nowhere to sit.

    Great location very close to metro, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    breakfast good.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was slightly uncomfortable. Tv channels poor. Shower difficult to use properly with holder so low.

    breakfast good. Staff helpful. Hotel quite well run'

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    It's good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drop to Keleti railway station from the hotel at 8am on 5th of June was arranged by the hotel and the reception informed maximum it will cost 1600 Ft. The Taxi driver charged us 2800Ft (9 Eur) when he dropped us at Keleti railway station. This is for your kind information. Thanks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Good for few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a double bed and they gave us 2 single duvet which make the sleep a bit unconfortable. I requested in the reception to just get one but it didn't happenned. Also, the cleaners were laughing and talking very loud just infront of my door at 7.30 am and calling each other by scream which woke up and we couldn't sleep anymore.also the corridor before get to the room was super dirty so you don't get a good impression of it.Breakfast didn't have variety. The towels didn't get change and when we arrived to the hotel were still wet from the previous shower so we had to asked in reception and the gave us new ones but the towels were very very old like getting broken.

    The location was great as the metro was by 5 minutes by walk.the room was very big and clean just a bit old. The recepcionist Thomas was very helpfull and very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    , staff was exelant, very helpful and positive, location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was normal, Clean was very poor, beds too small and unconfortable

    , staff was exelant, very helpful and positive, location was good, in 2 minutes from metro station, breakfest was also very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.0
    Proximity to Metro and Keleti
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Night Receptionist forgot my 05.30 alarm call and as a result I almost missed my long distance train. Without a further request( I did not see him again), the next morning he woke me at 05.30 unnecessarily. TV reception hopeless-?aerial problem Wi-fi - able to sign on but no power to my room on 5th floor. Had to go to Bar area to get Wi-Fi. Air conditioning but no instructions on how to set it up!

    Proximity to Metro and Keleti

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel for 3 nights in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The one thing that really disappointed me was the fact that the stuff assured me that there are going to be parking places, and in the morning when I wanted to park my car in the hotel's garage they said to me "Oh, we are sorry, there are no free parking spots..." So we had to find another parking in the neighborhood. *TIP - the hotel's parking turned out to be twice more expensive than the parking we find with 24 hours security, only two blocks away.

    I liked the hotel, it is near the tram and metro stations, clean and comfortable for the stay of 3 nights, a little bit far from the center (if you take it on foot), but we walked to the city center almost every day on foot - it took us about 20-30 minutes. The breakfast was also good. Keep in mind - there are the usual things - fruits, cornflakes, eggs, sausages, cheese, jam :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.8
    3 stars?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looks like a hostel more than 3 stars hotel. I think the building is not renovated since 90s (actually all city like this). Don't forget to take your own shampoo and hair dryer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.8
    Tasty breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Towel shortage during the first day Loud air conditioning can be heart from other rooms The room service forgets to clean the space under the beds

    Tasty breakfast Firm beds Reasonable price Friendly personnel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The sound isolation is not very good. We wake up with the sound of people talking, doors closing and with the sound of the water in pipes from the neighbors.

    Great location! Near to metro station. The staff is nice. The room was confortable and spacious, with large windows. The room had a tv, air conditioning. The bathroom was big and with shampoo and shower gel available. It could be a little more clean, but it was ok. Breakfast is diversified and pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    Unless the management revises its policy regarding noisy tourists, I won't recommend the hotel.
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a large group of students (all girls) who were extremely noisy well into the morning hours. The receptionist was helpless. Such "tourists" should be thrown out right away. We barely slept...

    helpful and polite staff 5-minute walk to underground station air-conditioning in the room breakfast was quite varied and the coffee was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Budapest trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bus of youngsters arrived 2days before our leave. Then breakfast was overwhelmed. The last night they made party.we slept some hours then had to drive. So good value for money if you don't have such troop of terror youngsters living there when you're there. Also car entry to parking should be extended with a telephone/push button to open gate. New arrivals don't have the pin code, and block street+tramway while waiting a group is checking in.

    Very near to public transport, this immediately in centre. Good breakfast, big family room :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    The room was spacious, I recommend taking a room that does...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds are small, mattresses are too soft and old, sleeping was bad

    The room was spacious, I recommend taking a room that does not look at the road (a tram drives in front of the hotel).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.0
    Nice place for staying for a shorter period and affordable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is a bit small comparing to the number of guests in the hotel. The bed could have been bigger in the room, but it was ok for a 1-night stay. The battery was dead in the tv remote control, but it was not a big deal.

    Nice and helpful staff. Big and spacious room, excellent wifi connection in the room. Breakfast was very delicious and diverse with cold and warm meals, cereals, coffee, pastries, etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed mattress was quite uncomfortable and seemed overused. The coffee served in breakfast is from a machine, which makes it a bit tasteless.

    The breakfast was very good with a variety of things to choose. Location close to metro line. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    3.8
    The location was quite good for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First night we got really unsightly twin room, although we requested double room. The wallpaper was unsticked, there was dirt on the carpet and the room was not nice at all. We asked the receptionist for a different room, since he offered us a 4bed room, which was bit better, but for romantic trip it wasn´t what we expected. Next night we got a satisfactory double room, which if we got on the first time, was OK. The breakfast was average, but the breakfast room was quite full.

    The location was quite good for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    Overall it was nice and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was so dirty. There were crumbs everywhere on the carpet and tissues under the bed. Toilet wasn’t very cleaned either. My room had a big hole on the wall. I could hear everything that was going on the next room.

    I was accommodated on the last floor and my room had a big skyline window that I absolutely loved it. Staff was nice and helpful but not enough people working there specially when it’s holidays and the hotel is pretty much fully booked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    I would not recommend and come again here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no cups for coffee poor bathroom, no hairdryer, poor toiletries horrible hotel floor - room door was like in the cheap dormitory little breakfast room for such a big hotel

    kind personal cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Decent hotel for a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the cleanest hotel I have seen. Bathroom had been cleaned not once in 4 nights. Relatively noisy from the corridor.

    Close to green line and trams: it is easy to get to the city center. Personnel is very hostile and always ready to help. We were selected "guests of the day" and got a free bottle of champaign: it was a nice present. Breakfast is ok, though nothing special. Coffee was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Basic budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Requested the genius perks (early check-in and late check-out) almost two weeks prior to our stay and didn't get them confirmed. Wished there was a kettle in the room, but we were able to get hot water from the bar for free.

    Room size was good. View from the room was also pretty good since we stayed on the 8th floor. Free luggage storage was useful since we arrived early in the morning and left late the next day. Quite close to Danube river, a little less than 30min by foot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.5
    For facilities and services hotel offers a price discount would be appropriate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because we left at 4 am next morning we tried to arrange for some kind of take away beakfast instead of regular one served from 7 am. But without any success, which in this size of hotel is most likely a norm. Othervise hotel was OK.

    Hotel perfectly suits our transportations needs between Keleti train station and Budapest Airport. We only stayed one night, leaving early morning without breakfast availabilty. At check-in we were offered spacy 4 bed room instead of 2 bed, which was very pleasant. In this room (maybe in the whole property) they offer only outdated crt tv. We even have not use it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    4.4
    Perhaps the worst hotel we have stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't know the Ministry of Tourism of Hungary gave 3stars to this hotel. Very old building, smelling very bad, dirty and worn furniture and carpets. Needs renovation immediately. No shower and bathroom facilites just one liquid for all: hair, body, hands. Uncomfortable and creaky beds, you can feel the springs in the mattres. Drunken people, young stundent, groups, slaming doors, screamed and yelling all day and night in the corridors of the hotel and outside of our room and staff did not do anything about it. It was the first hotel we had to pay for our stay before getting the key of our room. Very poor wi-fi connection in the room.

    Good location. Easy access to the city center by metro, tram, bus. The breakfast was good enough. The price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interner was’nt the best

    We got our room upgraded - we got champange in the room which was so lovely😍 The people in the reseption was so friendly, we got alot of information about Budapest, and where to go!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel for the value. You won't be disappointed if you don't come with too many expectations! :)
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had twin beds and they were very small and creaked all night and not comfortable at all. The bathroom mirror was a joke, we couldn't event see the top of our head through it! The cleaning staff didn't make the bed when they came for cleaning. Noisy corridor.

    Hotel is old but the room was big and clean. Bathroom was basic but clean. Friendly staff at the reception and breakfast was good for the money paid. Mostly, it is in a convenient location and it was easy to walk to the center from there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    The stay was enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location was excellent - very close to a metro station and only two blocks to trams 4 and 6 going to the centre and Buda. Actually, the centre and most sights are within a walking distance particularly if you are an active tourist. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was warm ans cosy. The hotel was quiet during our stay. The guests are provided with a free complimentary smartphone which is very helpful for communication, navigation and taking pictures.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice place close to center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle for coffee or tea in the room.

    Stuff are so friendly. So close to metro station M4 6 min Walking to M2 Metro Station and trams. They changed my towels twice during my four day staying.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Good for the price - refurbished room best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have tea & coffee facilities. Had a kettle for the week which needed a 10€ deposit. Breakfast standard

    We started in a room on the 1st floor, not very happy as it was a very 'tired' looking room - spoke with reception and we agreed to move to room 604 which had been refurbished. All rooms would be excellent if looked like room 604. Nicky the receptionist was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.3
    All you need for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the price of the room we got all we needed, nothing to complain about :)

    The staff were friendly and professional. The room was clean and equipped in all basic stuff. The location is also good, close to metro and trams, withing 15 min walking distance from inner city. Breakfast bufet was satisfactory, and an option of ordering a cup of tea from the bar and that we could take it to the room was more than welcome in snowy January weather. Not to mention the more-than-useful Handy smartphone free of charge :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.4
    Location is central but not safe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are not like in the booking com. No slippers, no shampoo you have to buy by your own. Uncomfortable creaky bed . if you need hair dryer you have to pay 10 Euros of deposit which will be returned while checking out. Breakfast is OK but forks and spoons as well as tables are not well washed or cleaned. Lots of drunken people are yelling around. People are peeing everywhere on the street. It is 35 min of walking distance to parliament building. I don`t know what is the criteria of Ministry of Tourism of Hungary to give 3 stars to this hotel which doesn't deserve at all.

    Location is 100 m to metro station and just opposite of police station. Staff at reception are helpful and warm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Great breakfast and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not so close to the center. They didn’t clean the room for theee days although they changed the towels. When we asked them they came and did it but we had to ask

    Breakfast was great, staff very friendly and helpful. They let us leave the luggage during the whole day which was very helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.8
    Decent for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness is a big issue. And the signs of wear and tear. Mattress was really bad. Charging 10e for renting a hair dryer is insane!

    Location is great. Hotel is located in one of major streets with trams, not far from a metro station (Janos Pal papa) and close to fruit&vegetable market and Lidl supermarket. Staff is reasonably friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Very good for a couple of days or if you are in transit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strategic position. 30 minute by foot from the City Center, Elisabeth Bridge, 40 minutes from Parlament Building. It is near close a Metro Station and the tram 28. Clean and comfortable, the staff is kind and the price was very good. You have also a mobile phone in your room with unlimited EU and US calls and a local guide, access to free internet inside and outside the hotel. Also there is an ATM at the entrance of the hotel with possibility to extract EUR or local currency HUF (forrint)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though it says that there is air conditioning, the air conditioning is not working during the winter and they took the remote controls for AC from the room and the cental heating in my room was not working either.

    Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.0
    Our room was on the 8th floor and we did not have a blind on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the 8th floor and we did not have a blind on our skyline window. This was very inconvient at the early hours of the morning when we were trying to get a sleep in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    4.6
    Location - only if you come without personal vehicle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is near the city center so I counted on hotel parking which was full, as I was told during check in. Fortunately I managed to find the parking spot in the streets. The facility is really old bad smelling corridors and worn furniture, but the main problem is that heating wasn’t working so my kids had to be in jackets. There was no wifi signal in the room. I tried to make the tethering/ hotspot with a given mobile phone but seems that the feature was disabled. The bathroom was without the hairdryer, with cracked bathtub and without soap. The glasses were plastic for one time use, no spares. The noise in the hotel was really the issue because the door isn’t soundproof. At about midnight seems that staff was hunting someone and yelling something about police or similar. Not very comfortable due to fact that the hotel has a family friendly reputation on booking. The breakfast was modest but good. Only complaint regarding breakfast goes to the cleanness of the restaurant. The tables weren’t clean despite we were one of the first guests that morning. Seems that the hotel is suitable for groups of young people which doesn’t care about the above mentioned facts. More like hostel than the comfort of the hotel. Sorry, but that wasn’t near to ‘value for money’.

    Location - only if you come without personal vehicle.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    5.0
    AVERAGE HOTEL WITH COMPETITIVE PRICE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE ROOM WAS VERY NOISY BECAUSE VERY CLOSE TO A STREET AND THE GUESTS DURING MY STAYING VERY UNPOLITE SCREAMING ALSO DURING NIGHTTIME.

    THE PRICE HAS BEEN VERY COMPETITIVE AND THE FREE MOBILE PHONE WITH FREE INTERNATIONAL CALLS WAS A GREAT IDEA NEVER SEEN BEFORE IN MY LIFE.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is well located.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel offers free WiFi. However, in my room, it was not working for all my stay. I was there for a business purpose and it was really bad that I couldn't work and communicate with others as planned.

    The hotel is well located. Ideal for young people for short stay to visit Budapest.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are old styled and corridors are secured by locks and extra doors I dont know why. Vending machines don't accept euros. Breakfast was average. Internet speed is not stable.

    Rooms were big. A handy device was provided which can be taken out with you and you can use internet on that and can make international calls. Currency exchange facility is available just at the hotel eneterance. Close to train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    3.8
    horror
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wellcome to Gipsy land, I would never call this a hotel, this is a zoo, they had no more space in a hotel garage when I came???, the rooms are dated and filthy, outside street is dirty and full of beggars, bathrooms no worth mentioning, low pressure of water...this is horror. Breakfast...you will be lucky if you will not be run over by a hungry Hungarian idiot, also forks were missing, cups, glasses, food is...another type of horror, in the eating area I heard few people burping and one of them farting??!! Never had an experience like this...sorry I had it in a military base in Kandahar(Afghanistan). Thanks for the voucher they gave to me but I am not planning to use it..

    I hope this is not serious question...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.1
    Suitable for a stopover, look elsewhere for luxury or quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were old, shower and bathroom facilities weren’t too new but can’t complain for the price I guess

    Included breakfast was nice for the price. The price overall was fair. The location Was slightly out of town but public transport wasn’t too difficult

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    2.9
    WORST HOTEL EVER!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WORST HOTEL EVER!!! -Floor flooded and moved us to another room. None of the 2 rooms had good reception of the wifi. -Double bed size Ok, mattress awful and the double quilt was missing. Instead there were 2 single quilts. -Very noisy neighborhood. Tram was passing just outside of the hotel which made our room shaking. -After the first day there was no hand soap or toilet paper in the toilet so we bought our own. -it looks that this hotel is a destination for school holidays or something like that, because it was full of teenagers running arround shouting and playing music until 2-3 am. After complaining to the reception several times, nothing happened. -We did the mistake and included the breakfast option. Breakfast quality zero. Old bread and very little variaty of things to eat. You could spend that addition of breakfast outside of the hotel and have a proper meal. Also there was no check whether you were allowed to have breakfast or not so everyone could go.

    Free smart phone to have with you outside of the hotel with unlimited 4g mobile internet. Very useful for maps.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Very confort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the thing was perfect and nothing dislike

    It is too much near to metro station and also near to train station its perfect for a person who travell by train.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    Overall the stay was a pleasant one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cocktails available at the drink bar even though they are listed on the menu.

    Breakfast was very good, and had a lot of choice. Close to metro and bus. Reception staff overall helpful. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.8
    Not so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were run down and only two available lifts were no where closer to meet guests requirements. Had to climb 4 floors twice due to extended wait, especially in the morning.. Despite in such a tourist city, hotel staff had no clue about the activities in the city, neither were helpful in booking those (except 3-4 activities with which they had their own contracts).. wifi was another issue as the signals were extremely week and I had to come to the lounge to even check my emails. Staff said they will fix it but nothing happened even after 24 hours. Breakfast was with not many options and cold most of the time. Location is relatively better though as it's not far from Metro and public transport.

    Nothing much, everything was average or below average.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    The breakfast was included to the price of the room and was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There may be a security issue in this hotel. The acess to the stairs and elevator is through a code. But when you enter the secure area, there is often some one who pushes himself in past you and does not care to wait for the elevator but runs directly to the stairs.

    The breakfast was included to the price of the room and was very good and it was also sound from the nutritional point of view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    3.8
    Service at the reception and hotel bar need to be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service at the reception and hotel bar need to be improved. Coffee machine - very poor quality. In family room almost lack of illumination in bathroom - one small light up shelf with mirror at hight 170cm, it was impossible to put on make up :(

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    2.5
    Worst hotel in the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disgusting, food awful, location terrible, worst hotel i have been ever in my entire life, i do not recommend to anyone. The price compared to the service and quality is a shame, they should pay people for staying there. Worst souvenir of all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    3.3
    We liked Budapest but we will never stay in such a place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a hotel! It's like a hostel. We still can't understand why they pretend to be ***star hotel?! Breakfast is very poor and is served in the lobby!!! Crowds of people and long queues for breakfast, no seats, people had to eat just STANDING and HOLDING their plates!!!

    Good location, close to public transport

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    5.8
    could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom was basic, the sink was blocked, the shower leaked onto the floor, the room was noisy with the tram passing outside, it was noisy - from adjacent rooms, the plumbing, and generally noisy in the corridor outside the room, the staircase was not very clean, the room carpet was not very clean. The breakfast room was not large enough to cope with the peak demand for breakfast

    The hotel was very close to a metro station and a very nice park, there was plenty of variety for breakfast, most of the reception staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable and spacious. The price was reasonable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.8
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather shabby. Not very clean. Hotel is said to provide toiletries but nothing in the room, you have to go to reception for ask for what you want. Also safe deposit is centrally placed at reception and not in room. Iron cannot be provided into room, you have to carry your clothes to the laundry room to press.

    Value for money. Close to Keleti train station. Indep sent AC unit in room which means you can control the temperature as required.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    This hotel is a really a nice place for Budapest sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is my second staying in this hotel. This time I was not so happy with my room. There was no fridge and the lamps did not provide enough light.

    This hotel is a really a nice place for Budapest sightseeing. Metro station and tram station are really close to the object. Breakfast was fine. There are stores nearby to get any supplies. I would definitely recommend this hotel for the price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    6.7
    Not upto the mark
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I ordered for the baby cot during my booking which was not provided when I reached the hotel. Later on asking for the cot, twice or thrice, i was asked about it when i was finally provided with it. Secondly, it was the only hotel where I had to make payment for my stay prior to getting the room key. There was a review card kept in my room which was prefilled with all negative review about the hotel which the housekeeping staff did not bother to clear. Breakfast did not have many options and at times the plates and the bowls went short.

    It is very near to the main train and metro station and good value for money. The front office staff is very friendly and provides you great guidance regarding the city. Rooms are really big, clean and with air-condition temperature is cool. With multiple level security checks, the rooms are very safe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    6.3
    Cheap and reasonable place to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't particularly clean. Minibar was noisy. Hotel didn't seem to have been updated for about 20 years.

    Cheap and reasonable place to sleep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    2.9
    Not the best choice if you are staying longer than one day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property looked old, dirty and the neighbourhood was really strange, a lot of police on the street at night which made us think it's quite unsafe .

    It's hard to say that I liked something, only that it had a good price for us for only the one night that we stayed in Budapest plus the metro that was really close, 2min walk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    4.2
    Hotel from 90's.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    144/5000 Breakfast, waiters at breakfast, there were no cups, plates, and boarding supplies for breakfast until it was gradually washed away? Food not quality, basic!

    Only size of the family room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    5.0
    Room space were ok for 5 persons
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The room was from the -80's - NO SOAP OR OTHER FACILITIES IN THE TOILET! - drinking glasses in the room were dirty! - 5/10 lamps in the room were broken --> The stuff offered me new lamps in order to change those by myself - breakfast was a chaos, coffee machine was all the time out of order - at breakfast the stuff didn´t handle it well (no knives, no forks, wet plates, etc...

    Location, parking with own car

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.0
    The trams on the street were waking me up early mornings :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everyday the same food for the breakfast; due to wild crowed: lack of plates, cups, breaks in offering of juices, meals., etc. Drive in and drive out from the garage very very slowly - you can destroy your car.

    The trams on the street were waking me up early mornings :-)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.1
    Paying for the parking was a negative thing, because when i...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for the parking was a negative thing, because when i book the room it sayed free parking was included but when i get there, i hat to pay extra 12€ for the parking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    Exploring Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds should be replaced. You can feel the springs in the mattres. When you are on 8th floor you may wait in rush hours a long time for the elevator but the stairs will be a good alternative.

    Its all okay. The hotel is situated near public transport so with a travel card you are comfortable. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    2.9
    Terrible experience!!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Too much noise. At 00:00 at night people were screaming and it was impossible to sleep even though I was on the 4th floor. The first day we took a shower and the next day they changed us ONLY the face towel. The staff was rude. On the 4th floor the wifi was NOT working and I went to the reception to ask why. And they just told me that maybe too many people were online. I never imagined that I should go to the lobby to check my e-mails. Something I should do in my room, with my own peace. Also, the television was terrible. It could barely play one channel!!! I don't know why this hotel is in booking.com. It was a terrible experience.

    Close to the metro.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    5.4
    Good location, but not a 3*
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy neighborhood at night (young student groups, trams, racing cars!!), missing cups/glass/spoons/napkins at breakfast, messy breakfast area, broken machines, AC in room, but no remote control. Squeeky bed, but comfortable mattress. Receptionist - we paid our accommodation in Euros and they didn´t have any change back (not even a coin..) and they didn´t want to give us forints back..quite no solution, they have no intention to solve this situation, we had to change euros and pay the exact amount...and at the of our stay we needed tax invoice and they were sooo suprised! They gave us invoice after we insist on it. So let´s say you need to be daredevil:-)

    Good location, easy access to city centre (about 150m from metro station), clean rooms/beds/bathroom. Good option if you don´t want to spend money on hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.5
    Atlast city hotel was located near to one of main squares in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom shower was bit slow in water flow hence bathing was not much pleasing.

    Atlast city hotel was located near to one of main squares in budapest from where trams/buses to all parts of city were available. Hotel fulfills the value for money criteria and stay remained comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.5
    Good budget accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy with passing traffic and people slamming doors talking very loudly.

    Good budget rooms with decent breakfast. Easy walking distance to and from both railway stations.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.3
    Spacious Hotel with good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very old TV. Could do with a new flat screen version

    Comfortable bed in large bedroom. Good varied breakfast buffet. Close to tram and metro connections to city centre

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    2.9
    Hotel mistake !!! dramat !!! NEVER AGAIN!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a mistake, the drama!!! awfully it dirty! Breakfast is another drama-dirty plates, a terrible choice, abhorrent lack of hygiene! There are only call Sanepid on checks! Hotel located at the railyard, and sleep in it do not go-trams run non-stop. the whole neighborhood is in night Habitat element social, drunk, feels dangerous to man. The staff does not respond to Night Brawl youth groups, that drunk in the middle of the night playing on the whole. No control! Never-even for free!

    Nothing in this old and bad at is not good! Dramat !!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.9
    Fairly poor overall experience in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The major flaw of this hotel is their taxi service provider - we missed our train because we had to wait 35 minutes for a cab that was supposed to get there in 5 to 10 minutes. The lady at the front desk wouldn't call another taxi company, no matter how much I insisted.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.8
    good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it could be more clean and fresh ( bath and floor carpet)

    Hotel is in the city centre and closed to the train station price is low and affordable breakfast is perfect bedclothes is very clean it is very calm and healthy sleep

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Clean, comfort and nice located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wireless was weak at the moments so i had to sit at the reception to finish some emailing. But, at least, it's free of charge.

    Hotel is easy to find and nicely located on the walking distance of the city center. Room is very comfort and spacious. It's also close to the tram and metro stations. Everything rest was like shown on the pictures.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.1
    Great price, nice breakfast, free wifi but shabby (yet safe) neighbourhood and traffic noise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Due to the tram being right outside the hotel, the room was very noisy even with the window closed. It could have been cleaner and furniture (e.g. carpet and couch) could be newer. If the visitors don't come from a big city and aren't used to lower middle class, slightly shabby neighbourhoods, then they might feel uncomfortable with the location.

    The breakfast was good. Bed was comfortable. Very spacious room. Clean bathroom. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great money value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    9.6
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a little bit noisy location, could be better at some details as clean carpets and towels and shampoos at bathrooms

    near subway, friendly staff, comfortable room, typical breakfast, very value for money, heating is on every day and night.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.9
    Located near the center of the city, close to metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor wifi connection in the room. Some guests were very noisy late at night in the corridor near our room, almost impossible to sleep.

    Located near the center of the city, close to metro station. Value for money. Staffs were nice. Breakfast was included in the room rate.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Atlas City Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: