Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bagolyvár Hotel 3 stars

7627 Pécs, Felsőhavi dülö 6/1, Hungary

#10 of 25 hotels in Pécs

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 273 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff below average, food poor. We will never come back. No proper curtains in room so prepaire to be awake with sunrise. Bathroom should be renovated, tiles on the floor are broken.

    Breakfast was ok, but basic. Parking ok if the restaurant is not too busy. Room decor is nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel, on hills, surrounded by wineyards with panoramic view over Pecs, with a good restaurant on the place. Beautiful rooms decorated with traditional styles from diverse Hungarian regions. Far better and more romantic than any classical hotels in the city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could do with a hook on the wall and a shower curtain. The restaurant staff were unfriendly and the service was poor although we could not fault the food.

    The property was located in the hills and had a wonderful breakfast terrace where you could view its panoramic views. It had a quirky decor and was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lovely hideaway about 20 mins walk uphill from the centre of town. The hotel itself is very cosy. There is a restaurant right next door, the food is excellent and reasonably priced. Great breakfast in front of a roaring log fire. Kind and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hair dryer.

    Amazing location with view on East Pecs. Great quality Restaurant managed by the same family next Door. Spacious room and Total quietness in the night. You need a car to reach this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not something special. There was no hanger for the shower, so you have to hold it in your hands.

    A very clean and interesting hotel with a lot of autentic elements and amazing wood work in the rooms and hall ways. Beautiful view over Pecs from the Hotel and just next to wine fields.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything was perfect. You have to stay here to understand this hotel is just so beautiful in every way. Staff,facilities,restaurant,breakfast,room all superb.Amazing views over Pecs. Gardens that take your breath away. Give yourself and loved ones a beautiful experience-stay here. Value for what is offered cannot be beaten. Persist with the street in,use GPS with no problems.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cool and cozy place on the top of a hill where you can see most of the city through wine yards. Cozy rooms, delicious meals and very friendly people. I felt like at home. Beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom could do with being updated. There was a bath but you could not successfully have a shower as the hose was short, so improvisation was required.

    This is a very quaint hotel. Rooms are full of Hungarian 'bric a brac'. The views of Pecs are excellent and the site is very peaceful. The restaurant which is attached to the property is pretty good and again very individually styled. Breakfast is downstairs in the hotel part and was very good (bacon and eggs etc. on offer, freshly prepared).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful inn in a beautiful location. Very convenient - only $4 for a taxi from city center to the hotel. There was a bus too but we wanted to make the best use of our time so found a taxi very convenient. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. There was traditional Hungarian decor in hallways and rooms which was so much fun to look at. I would stay there again and would recommend to others.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It says that rooms have balconies but not every rooms. We took a panoramic room but it did not have a balcony. Pity. Only national TV channels.

    Great ambient, lovely decorated with so many details, pleasant staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything just fine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit hard to find the way to

    Very nice tradirional decoe

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable, and the bathtub didnt have a curtain

    The location is amazing especially in the winter

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel and personal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful place, nice view on Pécs. Perfect breakfast and very tasty dinner.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Panoramic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staires

    all

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Panoramic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom was without a shower, just a bathtub...

    nice breakfest

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice personal, really nice value for money with great ovelooking view on Pecs city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Absolutely loved this hotel. It's our second stay here. Hope to come back again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakdast! Nice room! Nice staff! Everything was great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant offer only one choice for vegetarian people.

    Fantastic place! Great breakfast also for vegetarians.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Panoramic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hearing sound of next room

    Great Sper View

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and great food!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful place and very nice style accommodation. It is placed just on the vineyard slope with perfect view on the Pecs and surrounding country

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bed in room 5 had springs popping thru, no shower curtain or hook to keep shower hose up higher. Old fashioned bathroom overall. Have to get hairdryer at reception. No fresh fruit at breakfast.

    Super cute Hungarian design. Gorgeous views , lovely dinner and great service.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The mattresses we had were a little uncomfortable - felt like the springs were poking us.

    Lovely Hungarian decor made it feel very warm and homey. Delicious breakfast in the mornings, and the restaurant had good dinner options. Very friendly staff. I bundled up to enjoy the beautiful view from my balcony.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No shower curtains allowed, apparently due to a health regulation. Will never go back to Hungary till this is changed.

    "Architecture/bulding design". Staff very helpful. Food very good.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The WIFI don't work in the rooms. There is no shutter or curtains on the windows, so at 6 AM we woke up with the sun. The double bed is two single bed pushed together.

    Nice stuff. The restaurant is very good.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    we reserve one those small studios they offer, WIFI connection is too poor i had to go to the reception to get good signals. the owner passed by us while struggling to get internet signals and he seemed he did not bother at all. the bed mattress is not comfortable

    the front desk employees are so nice, and very helpful and really try their best to make your stay very comfortable. the view is great you, restaurant is very nice., there is a small play ground for kids.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Furniture are old and in folk style. I do not like folks type interiors in the hotel, but it is individual preference. The restaurant in the hotel was closed because of wedding party, in the evening it was not possible to eat antything in the hotel. We read that there are wine degustations in the hotel area, but everything was closed on the Friday afternoon.

    The hotel is localized on the hill and there is a beautiful view on Pecs. Nearby the hotel there is a winery and an interesting public area especially for the children. The breakfasts are served on the sun-terrace. People from the personnel are nice and helpful. In the room we had a fridge, a minibar and even a cooker and sink.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing except it would have been very nice if they had a swimming pool.

    Fabulous view, nice and quiet, very good value for the money and the bus stop is only 2-3 minutes away and only 12-15 min. to the center of the town.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Curtains were decorative only. Did not stop early morning sunlight from waking us up. We were on the top floor and since heat rises it was the hottest area of the Inn.

    This inn is themed in a traditional Hungarian style. It has achieved this with quality furnishings and good taste. The views are terrific. The staff were warm and friendly. Breakfast was excellent. Easy to get to the centre by bus in 5 mins or on foot in 20 mins. Internet worked well everywhere. Great bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Compared to the price I paid, I was expecting a better breakfast. The balcony which was served was very nice and cosy but the bread and veggies weren't fresh.

    Nice and friendly staff, gorgeous traditional decorations. Our view from the room was gorgeous!

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bed was not very comfortable. The road leading to the hotel is very steep and one way. But that is the price for a beautiful view.

    The view from the hotel was breath taking. The decor was truly Hungarian. The food was plentiful and delicious. I would recommend staying in this hotel if you are visiting Pecs.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The review calculated lower than I would have, I would say a 6. It was a long walk from town and back up a steep hill (40 mins) (ps we are walkers and in good shape). The first thing that turned me off is that when they recommended we take the bus down, neither the front desk nor the restaurant had any change! We found that hard to believe. The toilet seat was broken, the TV was from the 70"s (we weren't planning to watch, but if it's important to you), not many amenities in the bathroom, a packet of shampoo, one small soap (we had our own). No hair dryer, but they did have one for me when I asked. Bed not so comfortable. We imagine this place targets local visitors and not international ones. We didn't find many other tourists in town.The city has few street signs visible from the main street into town! It was impossible to find this place. We decided to brave the roaming fees and turned on Waze. I had the written directions, but without finding many street signs, it was impossible. English is limited, so it would not have been helpful to call. The picture of the colorful window panes, I never saw those.

    The cultural decorations were interesting. There was one friendly woman at breakfast who made us fresh fried eggs and ham. We appreciated the offer. The breakfast had some nice baked goods, that seemed homemade. The view from the breakfast room was our favorite. The restaurant view was phenomenal, but one server was so unfriendly when we asked if they had change for the bus, we decided not to eat there.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It can be a little hard to find without GPS, try not to take a wrong turn as the roads are very narrow and steep.

    I loved every minute of my time here. The balcony view is breathtaking and it was so wonderful to wake up to a view of the vineyard and lush greenery (as well as all the birds chirping). I could have stayed here for weeks! Easy check in, delicious breakfast, and friendly staff. Beautiful decor!

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Group

    Lightness in room. No shower curtain. not allowed to have remote for air conditioning! reception staff oiling her hands on check in.

    Breakfast and location

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I wish the tv was bigger and newer ;-) Also I think the mattresses need to be replaced. The Wi-Fi did not or barely work in our room. Otherwise we loved our stay!

    We stayed in one of the larger rooms on the second floor. Very nice cozy room with huge windows. Everything was clean and well taken care of.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We are guests of this hotel for the third time . Everything here is like a fairy tale . Wonderful owners , great hotel , delicious food , excellent location. Even before departure from Pec , we started planning our next visit here

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    To stay just one night

    Wonderful hotel on a hill above Pecs, with panoramic view of the city. Clean rooms with cozy old-times atmosphere. Rooms are very well decorated and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The prettiest hotel we have ever seen!

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing

    Nice bed room and nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was limited

    Very charming, elegant

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is great and so is everything else. Staff's very polite.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    all is good

    Amazing place - everything was great

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The view and the "cabins" we stayed in.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perhaps the only drawback access to the guest house

    Beautiful building and surroundings, fantastic rooms

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Uniqueness of rooms and view of the city, vineyard's and landscape. The staff was most accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is a wonderful and typical Hungarian hotel. the surroundings is beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - nice hotel with traditional Hungarian themes - very good restaurant - friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing to dislike.

    Everything was excelent

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    View over the city

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi does not work very often and it is far far from the center of town on a mountain.

    Nice staff and beautifully decorated rooms

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff isn't well informed about main sightseeing actraction in the city center.

    The pension has a great location. Restaurant serves a tasty food.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None

    Clean, nicely appointed rooms. Friendly staff. Tasty breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bathroom in bad condition dificult to reach

    interesting location on a hill, well equiped room

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: