Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Balneo Hotel Zsori Thermal & Wellness 4 stars

3400 Mezőkövesd, Fülemüle út 2., Hungary

#1 of 5 hotels in Mezőkövesd

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1697 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    Rooms need redecorating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need renovation throughout- old stained carpet, wallpaper hanging off the wall, not very clean, lots of dust underneath bed. Avoid when staying with children Rusty and mouldy shower The staff still cant understand a single word in english or any other language. This is not four star standard. Locked safe - couldn’t use No room service, no bar, no restaurant after 10pm - not a 4 star standard The price does not match the quality

    Thermal pools nice to have in house Air conditioning working ok

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    Average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't have soap in the bathroom when we come. We had to ask about it. Cleanness was not on the highest level. The shower was old and not so clean. We didn't get cosmetics every day and there was a bug in the room that was never removed. Food was everyday the same and sometimes there was lack of different dishes. Even hotel guests have to pay service fee (15%) in the hotel restaurant.

    There are swimming pools in the hotel and some activities prepared for guests. Staff were friendly and helpful, if we asked about something we always get an answer and what we needed. Hotel staff speak English fluently.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Very good and Pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room was not cleaned and Beds were not made every day. Not enough Shower gel or Shampoo also coffee.

    Very good buffet food , Breakfast and dinner, We had a Suit that was very large and comfortable, Good Massage and Spa. They also have some English TV Channels like CNN, Sky News, BBC, AXN, AMC.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.8
    The food was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was good. But - plates and cups were not clean always. Staff shortened feeding time.40 minutes before the end, they were already preparing the buffet tables. Bathrooms were not properly cleaned. And they need reconstruction. The hotel needs to be renovated and kept clean. Quality has fallen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    A nice place to let the steam out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom looked so used, some parts were broken or missed, but at least clean. At the first two dinner when we went to eat later, there were not so much food left. It was much better at the following nights.

    The hotel, the rooms, the pools are nice, not so big, quite comfortable. The staff were kind and helpful. The buffet breakfast and dinner were tasty, varied. The wellness area is nice, some parts were under construction. The hotel bad the area were really nice and quite, but we were during weekdays, therefore mostly elderly people and couples were in the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Great time there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping was every day, but not make beds.

    Great breakfast and dinner. Food is really delicious .. Nice pool and wellness. Very good and for children and adults.. Great value for money! Wi-fi was good but not at all i our room. Near Lidl and Tesco.. We come again! Thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    Good spa & wellness hotel with minor flaws
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was always lukewarm despite the warmers. Gym studio consists of a thread mill, elliptic trainer and press bench. The 22" flat screen in the room is barely visible from the bed. Carpet on corridors needs attention

    Spa & wellness facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    6.3
    Hotel wasnt as I expected and it would take just a little work to have it great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the rusty tap, mouldy shower, spidernets all over the room, beds with wheels, rusty dirty deposit in toilet, not closable wardrobe doors, that the thermal pools were closing at 19:00, that in infra sauna was dirt under seats, that salt cave smelled like dirty socks.

    Staff was nice and friendly. Some of the food was really good on dinner but some not at all. Breakfast was the same each morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    Ok for a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impossible to get to the hotel if you arrive with train or bus-make sure to arrange a taxi. The room’s equipments were a lil bit old, wallpaper coming down from the wall, etc.

    The buffet at the breakfast and dinner was nice with many different choices. Comfortable accession to the wellness from the room, and from the buffet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.0
    Dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff felt offended by any requests, the gym was a joke. The hotel have seen better days, they did not spend too much on renovations at all. The tap and the shower was rusty, the TV has a few programs and terrible image quality, the ceiling was open because of some maintance.

    The food and the indoor pools.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.3
    Never Again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They only had one cleaning lady for the entire hotel during the holiday, who was overworked, exhausted - I consider this as the management's inadequacy, and NOT the cleaning lady's. I attach a picture which speaks for itself -is this a 4 star standard? There were other places in the hotel showing months of inadequate cleaning. The receptionist DID give a new, cleaner room, after observing the situation, but the disappointment was already there. In the room two single beds were put next to each other for the sleeping arrangement, and my elderly mom fell on the floor between the 2 beds, because they slipped away....

    The Chef was outstanding during the Christmas Holiday!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.5
    The Spa area is excellent, with the thermal water from the...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Asking for pre-payment 1 month in advance was a big surprise, however I have made the reservation via booking.com and the terms were different. Parking when the hotel is overbooked can be challenging, otherwise it is free. The rooms are not really 4 stars rooms in my opinion, and they were not so clean as I expected. From 3 booked rooms in one there where 2 lamp which was not working. They gave different rooms as I have booked, but they could exchange it to a better one.

    The Spa area is excellent, with the thermal water from the Zsóry Bath. The breakfast and the dinner was amazing!!! The staff was really friendly. They are absolute dog friendly, (we have received a small surprise for our dog), however the additional fee for the dog per a night is quite expensive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    It was perfect to stay for few days with my kids...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to adjust room temperature - I put it off at the end. Than the “climate” was ok. :)

    I was really satisfied with the wellness part as well as the restaurant of the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    You get what you are paying for, nothing more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner rather poor, low variety. The balcony in the room we got was in fact a handicap. Many spa facilities do not work after 1900 hrs.

    Great breakfast, cleanliness, fair spa.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    2.5
    Scammed out of £100
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I checked into the room it smelt of cigarette smoke, thought nothing of it at the time. I checked out payed my bill etc. That night while travelling back to the UK I received an email saying my card had been billed £100 for smoking in my room. I hadn't, and haven't smoked for over ten years. Nothing was mentioned when I checked out so pretty sure it's a scam, beware.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    perfect week-end break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant is overcrowded during breakfast and dinner time.

    Whole hotel has a friendly atmosphere. The room was home-like. The staff is friendly, especially the waiters are nice people.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    The food was VERY good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is run-down and sorely needs a remodel. The carpet was in very bad shape, along with many other things (I stopped counting after a while). The staff were unfriendly and argumentative. We booked a family room and then were chided for showing up with two children. After arguing with me for a while, the receptionist finally informed us that children under eight stay free anyway! Just felt like arguing with the guests, I suppose. Next time we'll probably stay at Eger (where there are several nice places to spend the night) or go a bit farther to Debrecen or Nyireghaza.

    The food was VERY good. Nice to have pools, thermal water and sauna. Easy to get to from the motorway.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    3.3
    Not a four star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is not a 4stars for sure, only the cost is at that level. And I doubt it can be classified a 3stars... It seems a lot of effort was put on making nice pictures, unfortunately the food I found there was not the one showed in the pictures. Furniture are old, plastic sofa, floor carpet should be replaced soon. WC in my bathroom showed under the water some dirty that has accumulated for years. For the price we paid I do not recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    We spent a long weekend here, and had a very good, relaxing, refreshing time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds are a bit soft but OK. TV channels image quality is a bit weak. Few ants were discovered in hotel room.

    Great pool, thermal bath and wellness possibilities. Rooms are large enough and air conditioning is pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.3
    Worst diner ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was the worst hotel food ever. The breakfast was okay but the diner... Very bad quality and definetly not fresh ingredients, no taste. We both got stomach upset for the first night because of the Cold Fruit Soup. Some of the drinks was four times over billed. As we recognised, they corrected the invoice.

    They fixed the wrong shower head in no time after it was requested.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice pools and sauna, very good food for breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I've found ant and one cockroach in my room! Used shower room in bathroom. Failures in invoice (I didn't take sparkling wine from minibar but I've been charged).

    Nice pools and sauna, very good food for breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxing at weekdays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minor things. The room was mostly clean, but far from perfect.

    Food (tasty, many options, lot of salad/pickles), pools, steam bath, wellness... almost everything. We visited the hotel at weekdays; there were few guests only. The atmosphere was very relaxing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    7.9
    Be more pleasant on check in, specially with returning guests!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    By check in, the receptionist requested to me to pay 50% of the room in advance. I was on the business trip and I pay the accommodation with corporate credit card. Of course, I don't want to have 2 transactions, therefore I asked why? It was not my first stay in the Hotel. And it was granted thru booking.com with my corporate credit card. Than he send to me his boss. The desk manager requested to me the same 50%. I asked him if is possible to make a cash deposit. It was possible. Interesting that he requested to me 15.000 HUF. The room was 22.000 HUF. I've gave him 12.000. After that, as I paid my room I had my money back, but pity for this kind of pettiness, especially because it was not my first visit there, it was granted thru booking.com and they had my private and company contact details as well! Dear Hotel Manager, pity for this kind of attitude, it was the single disappointing thing...

    Price-value, it's OK. Breakfast was great. Dinner was also OK. Room was quiet. I could rest well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    6.7
    The hotel is basically ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was an old and noisy model. Wifi is extremely slow and poor. The outdoor pool was very cool.

    The hotel is basically ok. They make the traditional Hungarian cousin very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Great as always
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was bit hot. Quality of food can be better

    Great wellness, comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff, good food and wellnes with thermal bath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit old (10 years) and worn. A renewal would be necessary.

    Friendly staff, good food and wellnes with thermal bath.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice staff, breakfast and dinner offers, wellness zone,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture and equipment

    Nice staff, breakfast and dinner offers, wellness zone, quiet location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice atmosphere, great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to add

    Nice atmosphere, great food!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    2.9
    My room was not cleaned, not even the bed was made on day 2
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was not cleaned, not even the bed was made on day 2

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    delicious bakeries at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    crowded spa as one pool was not warm enough therefore remaind unused

    delicious bakeries at breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.7
    hotel with a thermal water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed is two single beds together, quite discomfortable for a couple. Crowded pools.

    Thermal water in hotel. Very nice front desk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    Hotel is ok in generally, but the price its, concidering the zone whith is not very well developed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    dining is not very ok, looks like a canteen, or an express restaurant

    wellness & thermal is very good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    2.9
    There was a sewer smell in the hotel rooms. Also the water in the shower cabin doesnt flush away
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could have been more friendly.

    The food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.8
    The spa was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Receptionist's attitude to my request.

    The spa was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.1
    Calm, far from the noise of city, simple but good value for monet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few sunbeds. Slowly service in the restaurant.

    Comfortable room. Equiped wellness.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Spa was very nice
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front office staff unfriendly

    Spa was very nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    3.8
    Food And sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was much worse than other 4 star hotels in Hungary. Room facilities are poor and ugly. Stay away from Hotel Balneo!!!

    Food And sauna

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    We will come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the staff was excellent and the hotel facilities are wonderful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Furniture and carpets looked very used. Would have expected more for a 4 star.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Truly recommended for a short domestic weekend trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No big thing to mention: imited sunbathing opportunity in the afternoon.

    Room, food, wellness, late check out, staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel for a short stay. Relaxing.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was OK

    Relaxed atmospere, good choice of food at meal-times

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    I will book this hotel again if I'll be in this area again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ./.

    Nice place, good W-LAN Connection, no Claims about dinner and breakfast. Friendly staff at the front-desk, good parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    9.2
    Very good food both for dinner and for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very good food both for dinner and for breakfast. Facilities were very good as well, maybe not so great for kids as they are not allowed into the thermal water or the saunas but they did have fun playing in the pool!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast and wellness are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is inconvenient, no proper socket for computer, uncomfortable desktop and bed. Coffee is poor in the bar. Minimal entertainment facilities beyond the wellness center. The dinner is far below standard, I would not ask for half board again.

    Breakfast and wellness are great. Very kind and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    7.5
    Very good dinner as a buffet with very big choice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The pools were small and there were many guests.

    Very good dinner as a buffet with very big choice. Nice and quete atmosphere. Saunas were good, but infrared was switched off. The guests were mostly 50+, without children, so it was quete.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    8.3
    Very nice staff and good english speaking receptionist.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice staff and good english speaking receptionist. Very good price - included diner and breakfast. Dinner was very good, with lot of different choices - salades, meat, sweets.... it can satisfy everybody. Welness was also nice. Free parking - very good rate quality/price.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    5.4
    The hotel has lost its quality in the last 5 years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel has lost its quality in the last 5 years. Ie: broken showerhead, rusty ceiling, Food should be also on much higher level.Generally Balneo should have rather 3 stars instead 4.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    5.8
    The size of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Maintenance work in the room is poor. (Pieces of furniture, shower set are ragged or broken) Cleaning in the spa area is poor and dangerous (the floors are totally wet and not wiped) The management and the uppdating of the booking are poor.

    The size of the room

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    2.5
    The location of the hotel is quite good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In the middle of the most terrible heat wave of the year they turned the air condition off during all given nights. And when I asked the staff to turn it on, they weren't friendly or helpful at all. We got only one key for the room. The bed was very uncomfortably soft. I don't recommend this hotel.

    The location of the hotel is quite good.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    6.7
    We enjoyed the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They turned off the air conditioned during the night, we had a hard time sleeping because of the heat. When asked, the next day they said the air conditioned is turned off if the temperature is below a certain level. If the room is advertised as having air conditioning I expect to be able to decide for myself the comfortable temperature for sleeping.

    We enjoyed the pool.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    9.6
    We had a nice and calm room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the pools were unfortunately overcrowded at the weekend. I missed some extra towels in the pool area.

    We had a nice and calm room. The food was fine. The staff was serviceminded.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    7.5
    spa closes too soon in the evening
    • Couple

    spa closes too soon in the evening

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    7.9
    food, wellnes
    • Couple

    no king side bed.

    food, wellnes

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    10
    The food is great, perfect place for relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The comfort of the bed should improve

    The food is great, perfect place for relaxing

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.9
    The toilets are higher than normal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The toilets are higher than normal.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    4.6
    too much
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    too much

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    9.6
    food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    food bed spa

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    8.8
    excellent cuisine, great buffet selection, great mineral...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    run-down room, clogged drains, bad TV

    excellent cuisine, great buffet selection, great mineral water

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    10
    great accommodation, excellent food, super service,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great accommodation, excellent food, super service, excellent staff! We will definitely come back.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    8.3
    Nice food, nice personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Relatively small wellness areas for a hotel this size. Sometimes the pools were crowded.

    Nice food, nice personnel.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: