Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Bara Guest House

1118 Budapest, Hegyalja út 34-36, Hungary

#144 of 163 B&Bs and inns in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 251 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    5.4
    It was incredibly noisy.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was incredibly noisy. Guests in other rooms were making noise past midnight. I asked for a different room and they could not move me. Breakfast was not that great. Horrible coffee. No soap in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    3.3
    Bad choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived 2.30 a.m. at the hotel with 2 children.One child was sick with ear problem and use medicin antibiotiks plus pain killers.0a When we make booking we writte we would like paid with Visa. We arrived and receptionist was been very arrogant! We must buy cash no credit card!We ask can we wait to pay next morning but NO! We don't have any money and my boyfriend must go 5-8 min. Each way to get money on bankautomat! He come with 30500 HUF about 99 euro,he get back 15 euro! We make reservation 68 euro plus 10 euro to privat parkering by night!78 euro per night not 85 euro! Receptionist the next day was also arrogant but we could normal talk with him. Breakfast was not good.Bread was not frish.Coffe was been strong. Not so much to choise.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2017

    4.6
    Old and dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very old and shabby rooms, the guesthouse is not entirely renovated, the furniture seems to be from the 1960ies. Our bed was really only a couch, the room was not clean (we even found cigarette ashes on the floor and dead insects everywhere) and there were stains of blood from dead mosquitoes at the wall...

    Nice & helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2017

    6.3
    Pleasant staff good deal inc the breakfast was included
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really bad internet connection (lack off) loose and leaking taps

    Quad bedroom Large 2 rooms with two toilets and a shower in between and really good breakfasts

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2016

    10
    Happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cant complain at all really

    Everything was good warm comfortable saff helpful. Breakfast good only coffee wasn't great but overall im a happy guest and woll return to this beautiful city

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2016

    9.2
    Grate value very good location friendly staff what more would you want.apart from ear con.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    air con in room would be a help,and a lift to the floor we were staying on would be brill .

    location fab, bus out side the door, 3 or 4min to center, breakfast very good. Grate value for money, staff were very helpful would stay their again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2016

    9.6
    :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The recepcionist was really nice for us and there wasn't any problem with english speaking :) Location also was good to sightseeing Budapest :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2016

    4.6
    Never more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They offered for us a room with inmovable toilet door and it took me half an hour to change the room. To reach the room you have to climb to two flights of stairs and lift with speed of ten cetymetres per second. No WiFi even near reception. And finally they start jackhammers behind the wall at nine in the morning. Never more!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2016

    5.0
    Would not go back to Hotel ever again or recommend to other people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The atmosphere of the hotel. Cold and unfriendly. Long walk to rooms. Advertised as having wifi when we told management they said well you are staying in a budget room. Lots of noisy work going on in morning.

    Bed was two sofas pushed together. Sheets did not fit the bed. Staff inc management never said hello when they saw us. I thought bordering on being rude.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2016

    4.2
    Try to avoid the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although the hotel is graded as a three star hotel, i would give it a maximum of one star. Also they did not accept the parking payment by credit card and we had to pay cash, for which we didn't get a receipt.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2016

    5.0
    Only stay if you are on a tight budget and not looking for much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was incredibly small, no fan in the room, couldn't open the window since we faced someone else's house. The structure of the place was confusing and included A LOT of stairs. No wifi in the rooms.

    Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2016

    3.8
    Not worthed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is simply awful. For the money we paid, I expect only the basic, it is clear, but i dont expect to have a bathroom where it is impossible to take a shower without flooding the whole bathroom and a part of the room. Beds are very old and there was a sofa with strange yellow stains.

    Its a good location, but nothing than that.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    5.0
    Worst wifi I have ever use!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worst wifi I have ever use! About the breakfast, everywhere dirty plates, food pieces, empty glasses etc. Terrible!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    4.2
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price vs.comfort Premises Equipment almost none

    Good breakfast Solid place of hotel Nice reception staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    8.3
    Nice deal
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed and cushinion are not so confortable.

    Staff was very nice and Breakfast full of stuffs. Not romantic but very smart for travellers on the road.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2017

    4.2
    Very bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hot water, strange smell in room, expensive parking, no wifi in room. Very old furniture, pillows and blankets

    Breakfast, location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2017

    6.7
    Small price, small offer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Size of room. Room was recently painted, which is good, but small of paint was "well present".

    Staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2017

    8.8
    Warm enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Warm enough Hot water

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2016

    9.6
    Hotel near the centrum.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Expensive parking.

    Hotel near the centrum.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2016

    4.2
    Room in 7th floor. No lift!!
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room was in a 7th floor with no lift. Very strange building.

    breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2016

    7.1
    Close to bus stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi only worked in reception area

    Close to bus stop. Room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2016

    7.5
    Room at the upper floor with balcony with nice view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The long underground corridor connecting the main hotel to the second building.

    Room at the upper floor with balcony with nice view of the city! Hotel closer to Rudas thermal bath.

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2015

    4.6
    It was close to city centre, they had a parking garrage(10 E...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room did not look like the ones in the pictures, we stayed on the 3rd floor with no elevator, the furnuture was old, the shower courtains looked like they have last been changed 20 years ago

    It was close to city centre, they had a parking garrage(10 E per day)

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2015

    6.3
    Good bus connection to Pest side of city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bus connection practically only to Pest side of city. You need to walk more to find connections to go around Buda side of town. Wifi only works in the reception area, and (most) rooms are situated far away from that area. We stayed for 5 nights&4 days, but never got a change of towels or bed sheets even though they claim to do it every 3 days.

    Good bus connection to Pest side of city. Night connection also good. Cheap price. Some restaurants, bars, and 24/7 shop close by the hotel also. Staff was friendly. Hotel was comfortable and neat, but not super tidy and fancy.

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2015

    2.5
    it is impossible to like anything of the place
    • Couple

    Deceitful advertising of the guest house: first of all, it is not a guest house but a distant dependance of a Bara Hotel never mentioned, without even basic comforts

    it is impossible to like anything of the place

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2015

    7.9
    Air-conditioning would have been nice since it was 37°C...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air-conditioning would have been nice since it was 37°C outside! Since there was no air-condition we had to sleep with the windows open. Perhaps it would have been nice if they had provided us with a fan ... other than that everything was nice.

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2015

    3.3
    Private toilet in the room, though the sink was a bit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi connection just available at the reception. Our room was on the 5th floor and there was no lift. Quite a walk to get there! Very noisy at all times. The building was under construction. Also, a couple of girls woke us up in the middle of a nap banging the door insistently. They claimed they had to clean the windows and when I opened the door they just laughed and left. Kind of weird. We never got an explanation from the receptionist. Would never stay there again. There are much better places in Budapest for this price. Tourist tax not included on the price, although stated.

    Private toilet in the room, though the sink was a bit blocked. One of the receptionists was very helpful. Good connection with transport direct to town.

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2015

    2.5
    I loved when we finally left!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Blood stains on towels,dirty shower,old,dirty furniture,we could only get to our room through a building sight,the receptionist was rude and there was no wifi

    I loved when we finally left!

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2015

    7.1
    The staff was very polite and knew what to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was a basic room, and had no solution against the brutal heatwave. We couldn't sleep properly. There was a construction site next to the hotel, and the workers were quite noisy from 8am.

    The staff was very polite and knew what to do. The area, and the public transport connection were great.

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2015

    5.0
    Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No elevator from reception to building. Guest house is located in another building and there is no elevator. we had several big bags and it was not convenient to come in Also we had kid trolley - the same obstacle.

    Price

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2015

    8.3
    Very helpful staff, they gave us a bigger room for the same...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very helpful staff, they gave us a bigger room for the same price when they saw that we are with a 2 year old child. Close to Buda Castle and to the center.

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2015

    9.6
    The room was comfortable, we have walked in Buda and Pesta...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The parking was a bit uncomfortable, you could pay 10 eur./night, but for me that was a bit expensive, but I could park the car right near the hotel and that was no problem.

    The room was comfortable, we have walked in Buda and Pesta only by foot. (good sport) It was a great experience and the hotel was great, there is nothing more that you need.

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful location for sightseeing,
    • Couple

    Beautiful location for sightseeing, good transport connections, kind staff and good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2016

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Anything

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2015

    6.3
    Very budget price
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The hotel was renovating so it was a bit noisy

    Very budget price

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2015

    8.8
    Got a free upgradre which was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Got a free upgradre which was great.

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2015

    7.5
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good breakfast. Safe parking.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Browse Bara Guest House Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: