Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Baross City Hotel - Budapest 3 stars

1077 Budapest, Baross ter 15, Hungary

#215 of 353 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1304 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.3
    The location is very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quit warme and we could not reduce the heat further

    The location is very central. The Metro station is directly in front the hotel. Very good value for the money

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    5.0
    Just fine stay in budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not very clean, foul smell from the toilet, internet was really bad in the room

    Location near to the main central station, close to so many shops. Breakfast was really good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    2.5
    So rude!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first time in my life while I was traveling, I was told to get out of the room while having breakfast because we were still having breakfast when it was 10.15 in the morning. We know the rules for breakfast until 10:00 am. In our understanding, for almost 10 years traveling to many countries and cities, no longer allowed to take food provided by 10:00. But guests are still allowed to spend their breakfast. But it did not happen in this hotel. We were told to leave the breakfast room and had to leave our food. Very rude, as if we were beggars asking for food. It does not show hospitality at all. I canceled the intention to print a boarding pass because I did not want to stay any longer at this hotel. Will never return to this hotel again. Whatever the advantages of this hotel, it is not comparable to the treatment we received.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    Train location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a bit hard. Got woken up ceiling tiles lifting in the wind.

    LOCATION . Great for catching trains. The breakfast was excellent . It is great for a one night. Starbucks is connected to hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Excellent Location and Great Customer Service
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast need to be improved.

    Receptionist was super friendly and very helpful. B did beyond expectation Location is across from train station and metro station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Good value for the money and for short stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpets/Floor shall be washed/changed as they're rundown Same goes for the curtains Bed is a little bit small and same goes for the room we were in, but it was sufficient for what we needed and for our short stat

    Very good and responsive staff Possibility to ask for shuttle from airport, especially if you have luggage and it's night, otherwise we had to change buses 5 min away from Keleti Train Station which was perfect for us You have around Starbucks, supermarket, McDonalds, Burger King etc. You can check in during the night as it's 24/7 Room, even if small, has TV, little fridge with things you can buy, a desk and wardrobe

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.5
    Can't do better for comfort and access to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just plain well run historical hotel. Quiet and comfortable with well prepared and healthy large and varied breakfast. Thanks for everything staff! See you soon

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Great city hotel in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect)))

    Many thanks to the welcome personal! So friendly and helpful, good English is important! Thank you very much for late check in after midnight. Great European breakfast))). A good location near the metro. 5 min to the city center. Perfect small city hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    The Hotel's situated wonderfully next to the Keleti...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bad smell in the room when we arrived and during our stay (three days), maybe because of some chemicals that were probably used on the carpet before our arrival. The room for breakfast was too little for all of the guests so some of them prefered to eat outside in the room where is the reception. I would recommend to move the breakfasts to larger room. One night the guests were very noisy at night but I think that we can't blame the hotel for such things.

    The Hotel's situated wonderfully next to the Keleti railway station and despite this fact it was quiet. The breakfast were delicious and our room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.8
    Ok for a night at Keleti Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel reception is on the 5th floor of the building and owns rooms on several floors. If you are acrophobic, this is no place where to stay, as you have to walk to your room by a narrow balcony. Rooms are huge, but have old furniture and do not look clean. The breakfast room is small and has not enough tables at rush hours. When the breakfast time is over, you are asked to leave immediately. The big advantage of the hotel is its proximity to the main station. However, it is not fit for a longer stay in Budapest.

    The location next to Budapest Keleti station. Some members of the staff are kind.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.8
    The staff was ok, they gave us information and directions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has no parking. It is located near the main train station from what I could tell. The hotel only has some levels in the location where it is situated. The food was ok. There were stains on the floor, the room was quite small, the ac was noisy and the room had an odd smeguy. One odd thing was that when we left the gu from the reception rushed into our room in order to check it.

    The staff was ok, they gave us information and directions. One odd thing was that you had to leave the key at the reception everytime.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a double bed, got twin beds instead but we pushed them together. There is no hotel parking so you have to look for it and then you have to walk for 2-5 minutes to the hotel. Would have been nice to have a kettle in the room.

    The hotel was very nice, the rooms were big, breakfast had a lot of choices. The guys at the reception explained everything very well. The area where the hotel was situated was central, near the subway station. We only spent one night there, but it was what we needed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    The staff was so helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so helpful! Bálínt messaged me through booking.com and helped set up a taxi for my arrival at the airport. This was my first solo trip and it was nice to have that communication with the hotel. The location is connected to a Starbucks (YUSSS) and close to McDonalds and Burger King. The metro line was literally right outside of the door and easy access to main sites (without having to change metro lines). Definitely recommend!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    3.3
    What a dump
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty and beds uncomfortable. Very hot, small ceiling windows. The elevator didn't go to the top floor. Breakfast was crowded and had to stay in line.

    Nothing worse place to stay in the last 5 years.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Superclose to Keleti railway station-which was perfect for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superclose to Keleti railway station-which was perfect for me because I had an early start the next day.2 min walk over! Staff is very friendly and helped me a lot!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    Ok(ish) for only two nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment was not very clean, and the breakfast room was very small comparing with the number of guests. We had to wait until other guests finished their breakfast to sit on a table. And it was rather expensive comparing with the offered services.

    The architecture of the building is nice and the apartment in which we stayed was very large. We also had two bathrooms, not only one.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    Really close to the East Railway Station which means you can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I stayed on the last floor (6th floor) and because of that the air conditioning system could hardly make a difference. The air conditioner is very old (with no temperature switch) and basically has little influence on the room temperature (even if you leave the AC running all day). This might be a problem if you don't want to sleep at 30+ degrees. We've also seen some small ants running on the floor. This was quite a surprise for a 3-star hotel. The mirror from the bathroom is very small - you have to lower your head in order to see your face if you're over 1.85m. Walls are not that solid so you might easily get disturbed by noisy travelers. We've also seen significant levels of dust near windows, TV, cabinets and bedside tables. The bread from breakfast menu was poor quality.

    Really close to the East Railway Station which means you can easily reach the center - under 10 min using the subway train. Public transportation stations (buses, trams) are very close. Lots of fast food nearby (Burger King, McDonald's, KFC). The bed was comfortable. Lots of food shops nearby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay as per price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Large Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms should be more clean and better furnished. The living room includes only one sofa and the space is empty, you can even hear an echo of your voice. The apartment we stayed in was on the 1st floor and the windows are oriented to the courtyard, therefore, there was not so much light and you need to have your bulbs turned on even during the day. The entrance to the hotel might be a surprise, since the reception is on the upper floor, however, it does not cause any problems.

    We had superior large 2 bedroom apartment with kitchen, recommended for 5 or more guests. We had two bedrooms with comfortable beds and clean and fresh bed laundry. The kitchen was well equipped including cooker and refrigerator. The bathroom was spacious and clean. This apartment also includes extra separate toilet. The hotel is near the Keleti train station and provides an easy access to the city center. There are also some shops around the hotel, in addition, the shopping center opposite. The staff was polite and helpful. Breakfast was good with nice variety and serves the purpose. Overall, I would assess the stay positively, according to the price and the purpose - just to sleep in. If you are searching for more luxury, this would not be the right option.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a real miracle!!! It s just 5 metres from subway opposite the Keleti railway station! A very cozy, smart, staff at their reception spoke several European languages, my accomodation took only 1 minute! All the staff is higly polite, quite friendly and helpful. The room was a very spacious, very clean, a bathroom was the same also. Inspite of the centre location, my room was very quiet, no any noising from outside. As I said the hotel is a very cozy. Breakfasts were various and very tasteful. Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Partially satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi in the room was so narrow and sometimes (especially at night) could not be connected. The number of tables in cafeteria for breakfast is not enough, so I could not seat at peak-time of breakfast.

    The hotel is very near Keleti railways station and bus station. I could easily access sightseeing spots in Budapest and other city from the hotel. The reception staffs were friendly and had hospitality.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    3.3
    A big dissappointment ... dispicable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can almost describe this hotel and the rooms as filthy. I could not believe it is a 3 star hotel. The carpet was full of stains. The furniture was old and absolutely worn out. The pillows were just despicable and discussing (I can not believe they use these pillows! It was like they got it from a garbage--see the photos) and the bed's mattress was horrible. The bathroom was full of fungus. It was hot and the "air conditioner" was useless, it was really just a noisy fan. The breakfast was of a very cheap quality. It was a nightmare. I have uploaded photos of my room. Here are the details (out of 10 points): Location: 5 (it is in front of Budapest Keleti station, but then what?! There is nothing else around except for a shopping mall center about 15 min away and nothing more) Cleanness: 1 Bathroom: 3 Bed mattress: 0 Bed blanket: 0 Shower: 0 (useless, you have to hold it or use low water pressure to keep it still. Also, it was fixed lower than it should be) Room comfort: 1 Breakfast: 3 Internet: 3 Staff: 5 Breakfast staff & room service: 0 Value for money: 2

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    2.5
    Worst hotel i have ever been.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel transilvania... bad and dirty place,pictures of hotel dont show reality. Fffff never again.

    Om ingen , the worst hotel i have ever been, no parking dangerous to leave a car, personal not friendly, room dirty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    we had a very comfortable stay with a good brekfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    if the restaurant staff was bit more courteous would have been better.

    It is very convenient place. Just in front of the Metro. heart of the city. good staff, good breakfast,reception staff is very supportive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    a good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no parking place and an very unpleasant situation was that we were bound to leave the room key at the reception everytime we were leaving the hotel.

    very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Very accommodating, a bit off the tourist routes but close to transit. Enjoyed our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was very slow and the signal kept dropping.

    Decent Breakfast, clean rooms, very friendly reception desk. Very helpful and knowledgeable about Budapest .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    A good choice
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is good to notice that there is no elevator to the upper floor.

    The location was perfect for us, just opposite the railway station. Personnel was friendly and professional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    A good 3-star hotel located right across the street of Budapest Keleti railway station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The checkout time is at 11:00 instead of 12:00. WiFi was unstable.

    Bed is really comfortable. Room is equipped with air-conditioning. The sunlight doesn't rush into the room to bake you thanks to the inner shape of the building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    The property was beautiful architecturally and it was kept...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was OK, a tad on the small side, and very hot. We were warned the a/c was not the best but it was an uncomfortable night in the June heat.

    The property was beautiful architecturally and it was kept exceptionally clean. In close proximity to the city park which was great. Staff were extremely friendly and funny, as well as helpful. It's about a 25 minute walk to the river and the city centre but there are still places to visit in this area, though its mostly residential.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    for short visit fine but indeed 3 stars and not more
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No desk to put my laptop in the room, this is a bit strange, pretty small room (was meant for two...). Location is fine if you come by train and do not want to go far to another place, for me functional.

    Easy issuing of invoice without any asking and begging but it was already prepared! Friendly staff. Could open window whole night and it was not loud (room looking to be backward side). Clean bathroom and bed, floor etc. Excahnge in front of door and just 100 m to the railway station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    WELL DONE TO THE BAROSS HOTEL IN BUDAPEST- WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine no complaints at all.

    Location very close to Keleti Train Station. Very pleasant and helpful gentleman on reception. Bed was the most comfortable we have had during our two weeks tour in Hungary deserves 10 out if 10.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit noisy and the temperature in the room was too hot.

    I made the booking for my parents. They found the hotel very clean, personal was friendly, breakfast was tasty with good variety and the location was great next to Keleti railway station and metro.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.0
    a disappointment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel itself occupies two upper floors in 6 story building. the room was spacious but the bed was horrible and not comfortable at all. the wifi didn't work and was extremely slow. the pillows were thin and not comfortable. i think it is overpriced for what they provide

    the hotel is near the keleti station but it is not close to the center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    Location is perfect and close to metro and train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn't work which made the room extremely hot in the afternoon. Wifi went down and fixed after a few hours.

    Location is perfect and close to metro and train station. Also easy to walk to the various sites of Budapest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    A good hotel and easy to get to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    The location is very good for transport with Keleti Station opposite. The reception staff are all first class The room is a good size and bathroom has a bath. With the rooms around a central court,there is a little noise at night, but not a major problem. Good choices for breakfast and it all contributed to an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room was too crowded and not really easy to use.

    Location right near the train station. Easy use of metro to access city and sights. We had stayed there before, and had a much better experience this time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, great value for money, a very spacious room, wifi works great. It was my third stay in this hotel and I book it everytime when in Budapest (if available).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money, good location next to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean rooms, we were only there for a few hours because we arrived at 4am in the morning and needed a few hours to rest and freshen up for our 1 day stopover in Budapest. The 24/7 receptionist was very polite and helpful with tour and train information, and our stay was pleasant. Extremely convenient location next to the main train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location if you are traveling by train and staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small and had no natural light and the shower did not drain properly. Only stayed two nights so ok .

    Great location if you are traveling by train and staff were helpful with info and map on arrival .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Would gladly visit again soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed English-language channels on the cable TV, as most channels, even foreign ones, are dubbed over with no option to choose language.

    The personnel spoke very good English. Breakfast was very, good with considerable choice, and the service was quick and helpful. The subway/metro line M4 is just steps away, as are bus lines, yet there is very little street noise to speak of. The bathroom was very good sized.There are a few grocery stores in a 5- to 10-minute radius.The park and zoo are very near as well as a large shopping mall. Downtown is about 30 minutes away, and while the main boulevard is quite bleak and frankly scary at night, the quiet parallel streets have a lot to offer in terms of sights, bars, pubs, stores, restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    4.2
    Only Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If they provide the 204 and 205 room. Your room is not like the photo as they provide in the internet. You will see the room just like this.

    Only Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Good, priced right, terrific staff and breakfast. Area is not attractive but safe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms need updating, shower head weren't working well. The kitchen stove didn't work, although they were ready to fix it immediately. There weren't enough mugs. Otherwise the kitchen was adequately stocked. The location is great for transportation, but the neighborhood is steady.

    The staff was fabulous, helpful, friendly, and went out of their way to help. The location is wonderful and safe, but it is a little seedy. The rooms are clean, bed are fine, and breakfast was very nice. You can't beat the price as long as you are aware of the downsides.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location. The room we stayed is not as new as those in the picture
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TV is small, aircon is half-broken and 1 light bulb is out on the ceiling light, so can tell maintenance is very low. i don't remember there is any English TV channel.

    The front desk staff are very friendly. Although it is a very old building maintenance is low, it is rare chance to stay in such a old building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Convenient, right across railway station..
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower tub was terrible. Water streaking everywhere but not you :)

    I wanted to checkin earlier than standard checkin time. They kindly provided me with larger apartment that was vacant and for the same price as double room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location. Bad bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad bathroom. Unpleasent smell from a shower base without plug. No plug in basin. Pillowcases too thin. - did not sleep well. Room alright.

    Good location next to Railway Station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size , smoking area not comfortable.

    Location , restaurants and shops around the hotel , staff very helpful and friendly and they know everything information to help tourists , good value for your money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Very happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    what we didnt like is the surrounding of the hotel as there are funny smell on the street.

    My husband & I are so happy with the location. When we first got there, we didnt expect anything as from the road side the building looks a little run down and when we reach the reception , and to our rooms we were surprised that the room was clean for thr price. The bathroom was clean too.There are generous selections for breakfast as well. Not to mention the hotel is just 3-5 mins walk to Kelati Station.Overall we are really happy with our 1 night stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    Adequate. Terrific staff and breakfast. Basic room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff was wonderful, breakfast was nice, the room was clean. The hotel is near the central train station, good location for local buses and metro. The walking area around the hotel was run down and sleazy. The hotel room is basic, the bathroom shower was not working perfectly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Handy for Keleti.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unassuming entrance is a little offputting. No lift to the top floor with the majority of the rooms. (There's a lift to the 5th floor reception though.) Noisy street out front (bring earplugs).

    Handy for Keleti station. Nice breakfast. Now take card payments in EUR or HUF.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    Very good value for money, definitely worth trying for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An offer of fresh vegetables and fruits for breakfast would be good. Minor: TV did not work in the room

    Central location near Keleti railway station (just opposite to main entrance), clean rooms, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable. Hotel comfortable and although basic gave us all we needed. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe more choice at breakfast, lack of croissants, rolls yoghurt & meats on our last morning was a little disappointing.

    Breakfast was good although by the 4th morning supplies were limited. But overall was ok. Hotel very pleasant & all reception staff very helpful. The metro being right outside was a bonus as well as the bus service & hop on hop off bus stop just down the road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    Good position, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast room was dirty. I would have preferred the single portions of jam for example. I didn't like everyone using the same container. The coffee, the cappuccino wasn't fresh, it was lyophilized. Orange and apple juice was truly diluted. Eggs, cheeses, meats and sausages was passable.

    Good position, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    Noisey. If you don't want to sleep this is your place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not rest because the walls are paper thin. Any and all noise was heard in my room.

    Doesn't matter what is good if you cannot rest at a hotel, nothing will outweigh the fact that I couldn't sleep and was woken up 20 times.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable beds, good breakfast and very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go up and down to reception to leave and collect.the room key. Breakfast room a bit cramped.

    Comfortable beds, good breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff. Great value considering location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Smart stay near the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not mentioned that: the rooms at the last floor where not accessible by elevator and that the airport shuttle transfer has to be paid in cash. The breakfast room was way too small for the number of guests hosted and it was extremely crowded.

    The location of the hotel is very nice, in a historical building next to the train station. The room was comfortable and clean, the wireless internet worked very well. The food at the breakfast buffet was diverse and good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    The price of the hotel is cheap and you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too warm and the radiator was on in the bathroom. We tried turning the radiator off and putting on the air con but only hot air came out of the heater. We asked for it to be looked at but it never was. We had to have the windows wide open to let air in which wasn’t ideal because we could hear all the noise from outside then and it was difficult to sleep. The walls are paper thin. There was a family in the room beside us who were extremely noisy every morning getting up at 6.30 and the shouting and noise continued until around 9. Understandbly people get up early when they’re on holidays but the parents were just as loud as the children and weren’t concerned that it was so early and other guests might be asleep. There also wasn’t any shower gel or shampoo in the room (only a container with soap in the shower-you can’t wash your hair with the same thing as your body) so we had to go buy our own. The breakfast wasn’t the best and the area was too small for the amount of guests staying in the hotel and it was difficult to find somewhere to sit ( we went down well before breakfast was due to finish). Their policy was to leave your room key at reception when you go out for the day as the reception is 24 hour but I found this strange and I didn’t like it.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They gave us some suggestions on tours to do and how to get around the city which was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.8
    Great location, just across from train station and very easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water at night around ten o’clock , rooms are not clean, floor are dirty.

    Great location, just across from train station and very easy to take public transportation to anywhere. Staffs are helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.8
    Strongly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We have visited Budapest when it was extremely cold, so extra blankets were fine but really not enough in first 2 days of stay (22.02-24.02) this year. But this was a problem for any hotel in Europe:)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.9
    best possible location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The a/c was just a bit noisy and the TV did not work

    It would be my first choice on my next visit. The location was great and the directions from the airport was very good. Very helpfull staff. The "Handy" is a great idea but I needed instructions to get the full benefit. They loan you a mobile that has local informations which is a superb.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Overnight in Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV

    It'ss a great location when you come in late at night. Everything is comfortable but the TV was locked and staff could not unlock it. I didn't realize I should notify them earlier that I had to leave before breakfast but they would have packed one for me if I did.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Met its purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothign worth to mention here.

    The location was great for me: I arrived by train and I needed to go to a concert at Papp Laszlo Arena. This hotel is inbetween the 2.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    Baross City hotel offers a good sleep comfort, very tasty breakfast, helpful staff, and all these at very good value of money. I tried first time only based on reviews but second time we were 3 couples and we enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Everybody from the staff was very nice to the guests of our...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like that members of the staff do not share information with each other, so I had to make clear three times which rooms and for how many person our program needs, although I sent the namelist prior to our arrival and payed for all the rooms beforehand.

    Everybody from the staff was very nice to the guests of our program. I really liked the flexibility of the staff regarding organizational issues.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was great. It was nearly two km to city center. It was opposite the train station so it was very easy to go Vienna. There was always hot water and the room was hot also. If I have chance to visit Budapest one more time I can stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for a city trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the walls between the rooms are very thin and the cleaning could be more thorough. The room was small, but comfortable.

    The area around the keleti railwaystation might not be the best, but public transport to all the main sights is available right in front of the hotel. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, they offered enough options from salty to sweet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This Hotel is really value for money! Nice spaceous room, comfy bed, great breakfast, and on top of that we were given smartphone to use during our stay. And champagne for my Birthday was a very nice gesture which we did not expect!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    reasonable price, excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no trash can in the room (only a small one in the restroom)

    Good location, friendly staff, big room, bath tub, nice view of the station, decent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    4.6
    The accommodations were far from ideal, and couldn't get the forgotten belonging back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    If you ever forget anything after you check-out, you won't ever have it back. Carpet had a cigarette smell even though it is forbidden to smoke inside the rooms. The bedding and the towels, even though clean, had some stains. Also, there's no bathroom supplies, no shampoos or soaps, just a big container of cleaning gel. Cleaning stuff also didn't do a very thorough job. Walls between rooms are very thin, so you can hear some noise. The room windows were blocked by the concrete facade of the hotel, so there's little sun light.

    Stuff was very nice, and responded to every request made. Shower pressure was on point. The hotel was very well heated, during winter time. Decent breakfast, but not for every taste. The mini-fridge was well stocked and is reasonably priced. The location of the hotel, although far from the city center, has great transportation access, with many buses and subway.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    6.3
    I would recommend only for short stay when you need just place where to sleep near the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked the two bedroom appartment as we were group of 5 and we saw really beautiful photos of furniture in the living room etc. Apartment was half furnished as only bedrooms and bathrooms were finished. Living room was empty except dining table with chairs one more small table with few chairs and kitchen equipment. We went to reception but they were fully booked therefore couldnt switch the rooms. We werent advised by the staff that we need to turn the boiler on in the bathroom in order to get the warm water, we figured on our own. Breakfast room was really smal and when we came we didnt have place where to sit and we were offered places at the reception on the sofas, offer of the bread was small as there was only white bread... as we were leaving the storage for bags was full and we had to leave our belongings in the breakfast room, manager advised us that its locked and he was watching over. ... we complained to the manager and got the discount but we werent the only ones who were complaining as we arrived there were another people obviously unsatisffied.

    Location is great as its just few steps from main train station and the metro station, therefore is really easy to reach the center. Nice bedroom and the bathroom. Handy available even tho we havent used it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic stay in Budapest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were very friendly and helpful! We had questions regarding the exchange rate, transportation, city sights etc., and they were well informed and gave good advise. The room was big and warm. We had a very early flight to catch and so the hotel also provided breakfast to go for us. There was a fantastic service of providing a smartphone with internet provided called 'Handy' - this was great! Really helped us around the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to do not like.

    The hotel is located in the perfect district of Pest. Its building with a lovely atrium indoor makes you feel like from an old movie. The staff is very helpful and kind. The breakfast is rich and very tasty.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    The location of the hotel is excellent, very good connection...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is excellent, very good connection with everything in the city!! Everything you need is around hotel as well. You can book all activities through hotel as well, everything very well organized. I truly recommend it

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.5
    A 3 minute walk from Budapest Central Station and a good base foe exploring the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls so that noise from neighbouring rooms was intrusive at times. Basic and smallish rooms.

    The location was excellent for the central train station and metro. The breakfast selection was OK and there was plenty off it. Good wifi and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.9
    JUST THE JOB FOR NIGHT BEFORE GOING HOME
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This time, the intruder alarm went off in the offices below the hotel. It woke me at 2am and concerned me greatly

    Have stayed here before as it is near to Keleti Station Accomodated me for a slightly early breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Excellent location, brilliant staff, great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My daughter took this booking with her boyfriend. They had a fantastic time. They particularly liked the Airport shuttle service, breakfast, the Handy tourist companion, the friendliness of the hotel staff and the well appointed bedroom. This hotel is well located for visiting both Buda and Pest.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location for travel by metro to the attraction places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entrance of hotel is a bit hard to see. The room on 6th floor cannot reach by lift.

    Location is great, just a few step from metro and main train station. We stay on 4th floor and the room is comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Baross City Hotel - Budapest traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: