Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Orion Várkert 3 stars

1013 Budapest, Dobrentei u. 13, Hungary

#87 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 301 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    A bit dated but very friendly and well located near Buda top sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are a bit dated If you're looking to dine out or have a night cap its a very quiet area.

    Great location to explore the Buda side of Budapest, near the Castle and Rudas Baths. The Gellert Baths are also a 15min walk away. The staff at the reception spoke perfect english and were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    SUPER clean and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    SUPER clean room in great quiet street one block from the Danube. 15 minutes walk across the Elizabeth bridge into Pest. Two trams (41 and 19) half a block away along Danube and one tram (56) a block behind hotel. On the same block as the gorgeous VarKert Bazaar / Castle Garden Bazaar with the quick and free escalator and lift to Castle Hill / Car. I enjoyed a performance of Hungarian folk dance in the Varkert Bazaar and also the thoughtful museum exhibit on the first world war. Great location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    hotel was ideal for touring the city. Its on buda side whichbis quiet at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They only served breakfast, would of been nice to have a meal at night, everytime we went to resturant area was closed

    The rooms are very clean and cosy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Clean, quiet, friendly hotel - a great place to stay in Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - had a great stay. Wish we had stayed longer.

    Loved this hotel. It is in a very quiet area and staff was super nice and helpful They escorted us to the bus stop the morning we checked out showing us the fastest way to the bus stop as we were in a hurry to catch a train. The room was very nice, clean quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent - they had hot food and even cooked us eggs the way we liked them. The hotel is on the Buda side, but it is very easy to get around on the bus and it is 10 mins from Pest side and the train station. It is walking distance to the fortress which we enjoyed visiting as well as a street fair that was going on near the hotel. We bought great handmade jewelry from native craftspeople. Budapest is a wonderful city to visit. We hope to be back one day and would definitely to stay in this hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    had 5 days in budapest and love this city and this hotle graet location and would recommned
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing really - possibly a larger bathroom but it was fine

    the staff were especially polite and helpful. room was comfortable and bed fine. bathroom was a little small but always hot water available. the location is great on the buda side and close to the hop on hop off bus stops. you pay extra for breakfast which was good value at 8 euros. would stay there again and fully recommend it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    There is no need to look for anyother place when staying in Budapest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There is not anything that I did not like about our stay. It lived up to my expectations and exceeded some by the location and value for the money.

    Having leaved in Hungary for 11 years I wanted the best location for the money. The hotel was convenient to the trams and #4 metro. It is an easy walk to see the great sites on both sides of the Danube. The hotel is very convenient yet is on a quiet street with minimal traffic. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. We chose not to eat the breakfast, though it looked great, as we met with someone at that time each of our 7 days of stay. I highly recommend the Hotel Orion, had chosen it after reading the great reviews, was NOT disappointed and will stay there again when we return in 2 years.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    Adequate two day staybefore joining a cruise but would not recommend for a week
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms were very cramped

    Breakfasts were good value for 8euros. Staff were very helpful and location was good for Buda side of the Danube but a little distant from Pest requiring a taxi to reach most places

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    I've stayed there before and it proximity to the Rudas...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to report.

    I've stayed there before and it proximity to the Rudas baths was the reason of my choice. But the Hotel is very well located and it is close to all the spots in the center but also in a quiet street so a good rest is guaranteed. I appreciated the fact that they allowed me to park my car right in front of the Hotel on a space normally reserved to other users. Overall, another nice stay at the Orion Varkert!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Ideal place to stay if on the Buda side of the river. On the corner was a great bistro type bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we travel we are looking for a value engineered experience - we are retired. This hotel gave us everything we needed (clean, friendly, secure, good location) and nothing we did not. We were not looking for a panoramic city view or a fancy restaurant, but the people serving on the buffet breakfast cooked your eggs just as asked - in my case scrambled with some fresh tomato.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel whose staff go the extra mile to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast coffee is a bit too weak for my taste.

    The multilingual staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The hotel is in a very quiet location, close to the Danube and to the tram network. This is the 10th year in a row that I have stayed at this hotel and I can not recommend it highly enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    I have spent 2 weeks work trip in Budapest with 2 days...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I have spent 2 weeks work trip in Budapest with 2 days working right from hotel. Perfect location, frendly and very competent personnel, cozy and tidy rooms, good wifi(vpn works well), fast laundry service, continental breakfast and kettle right in the room. Highly recommend for work trips.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    Quiet and still very close to the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't try the breakfast because it seemed too expensive comparing breakfasts in a café/bakery. But maybe they have an amazing breakfast and it's worth the money. I don't know. Maybe...

    Very friendly staff. We looked for a quiet hotel but still not too far from the center. It was perfect. We crossed the bridge every night to go back to the hotel (10 min walk), the view is amazing, and it was good to walk after a big meal somewhere in the center :-) If you don't want to walk, there's buses and trams all the time. (Bus n°7 brings you directly from Keleti Railstation to the big crossroad next to the hotel).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    That was a good stay for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That was a good stay for us. The hotel is in a calm street. The room and the bathroom were large and warm enough..It was clean. We had hot water for 24 hours. The location is perfect especially to reach Buda castle district in 15 minutes. The Pest part is always at rich in 20-25 minutes with public transport. Or you can walk the beautiful bridges.. We left the hotel happy..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    quick to check in and check out, staff are nice, good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    quick to check in and check out, staff are nice, good location. All equipment are in the room even balcony if lucky. I’m traveling alone, and only stay for the night, so the cost is perfect for me.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Quiet place in the heart of the city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was fine for me.

    Nice, small hotel in a quiet area (street with hardly any traffic), nearby the castle hill, with good communication to the other parts of the city by buses lines going to Pest through Elisabeth bridge and trams going along Danube banks. Clean rooms with enough space and all you need for your stay. Big plus for an electric kettle with cups and some tea and coffee to make on your own. Very kind and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Friendly and accomodating hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a weird damp smell in one corner - probably as this was the wall behind the bathroom. We wanted to try the breakfast but we felt it was too expensive.

    The owner was very accomodating and very helpful. We followed the tip of other travellers and bought most of our water at the hotel for a cheap price. The hotel is located in a quiet part of Buda (walking distance to the castle), right next to the bridge going over the Pest side. We managed to walk around a lot but getting public transportation was also very easy as the stops are a few minutes away from the hotel. The Gellert Bath is a 9 minute away on the tram. There are really good cafes also close to the hotel for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Overall a very quiet & cosy place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beds were very comfortable; staff were very helpful; location was excellent for sightseeing on Buda side of the Danube (access to Pest side was also within easy walking distance via Chain or Elizanbeth bridges.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Lovely 4 night break, couldn't fault the hotel, staff, location or cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The staff were all extremely helpful and accommodating. The omelettes for breakfast were lovely and the fact the hotel sold bottles of water was a bonus as the shops were much more expensive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel to walk around Buda side of Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street parking of vehicle, but appeared safe and we had no problems.

    Staff were very nice and went out of there way to assist. Highly recommend if you need to stay on the Buda side of Budapest. Breakfast staff were very accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location for doing Buda side of the Danube, Pest side is a 20 min walk across the nearest btidge. Helpful staff and ample room size. We thoght this hotel was good value for money. There is a nice small family-run restaurant about 10 mins walk beyond Buda palace.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only slight negative was that the bathroom was a bit small but it was functional.

    The hotel was very pleasant, the air conditioning was effective and needed. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and the room was clean with a comfortable bed. Location was good, just near one of the main bridges so it was easy to walk around the city but quiet enough for a good sleep.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    great weekend spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    The location was perfect walking distance towards Elisabeth Bridge and the inner city. Street parking was free on weekends (at least that's what we experienced and was told by the lady at check in) added bonus for sure. Staff were awesome too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Location is perfect, hosts are really helpful and nice, bed is comfy, nice quality for money.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just to make sure heating is working. Sometimes it gets cooler in Budapest.

    Staff is very helpful, thank you! We stayed just one night, it is so close to Elizabeth Bridge and to the river, easy to locate.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.8
    Friendly stuff, wonderful location, good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast could be richer and some days there was the smell of sewage in the bathing room

    Friendly stuff, wonderful location, good soundproofing, clean and light room, very good hotel for its price

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    10
    A very fine place to spend the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It takes roughly 10-15 mins to walk to the main street of Pest since this is on the Buda side. A bit far perhaps if you have trouble walking but for me it was a nice stroll.

    Very accommodating staff at breakfast (made eggs just for me when I was late, an own can of coffee at my table), tidy rooms with bathtub. The staff are all really friendly and helpful and the cleaning lady went out her way to thank me for the tip one day - a nice gesture. Probably the place I've stayed with the most humorous and personal service! Many facilities and sights near the hotel. Perfect!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    10
    Missing Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. Room was wonderful, perfect location, and great value for the breakfast! Staff was also friendly and very accommodating. Makes me want to go back to Budapest.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    We had a great experience
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was exceptionally helpful. We had a double-booking problem and they wanted to help and sorted it out by moving our booking. We also arrived before check-in time and they let us into a room that was already ready. The location is excellent, the room is small but excellently organised; highly recommended for work trips.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Quit street, very clean and so close to sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to Pest (15 minutes walk across the Elizabeth bridge) but on quiet street. VERY clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems.

    Great hotel. Staff very helpful. Well located. Very clean. Good wifi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location. The quieter side.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant, comfortable hotel near Elizabeth bridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff, clean comfortable & light room, good breakfast, close to public transport

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    We loved the property because it is in a short walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no reason to dislike anything about the hotel

    We loved the property because it is in a short walking distance from all amenities in Budapest

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotell
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff! Quiet location yet very near to the castle and Donau!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    extremely friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    extremely friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location,Clean and big room,Nice people.I love Budapest!!! I will come again soon^_^

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    It was on the quiet side of the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dated and could do with a revamp

    It was on the quiet side of the river

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast extra, some people may not like location on buda side but we liked quiet location

    Very friendly service, lovely room, good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Decent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had 4 twin deluxe rooms confirmed, but 2 had only a sofabed as the second bed - with no linen on the first night.

    Proximity to city Value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    Good value, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy hallway, noisr from cleaning stuff early in the morning.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic place, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff really went out of their way to make your stay excellent. Very clean, quiet and really well located.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Clean facilities, kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little far from bus stop.

    Clean facilities, kind staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    central,clean and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    central,clean and very friendly staff.perfect place to stay in budapest😊

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    excellent breakfast. pretty and quiet location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.9
    Staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    Cosy hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Cosy room. Clean. Minibar very reasonable prices. Has sauna on request. Absolutely excellent location. Would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.9
    nice.
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small elevator.

    bed and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.5
    Further from town from what was advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Further from town from what was advertised

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.6
    the hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    4.6
    you are being watched constantly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    being monitored by the reption who was coming in my room not friendly staff at all also it is freezing the heating is never on

    the journey home

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    8.8
    Location of the Hotel is perfect for easy access to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location of the Hotel is perfect for easy access to the city.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Great, personable staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great, personable staff. Fabulous location. Comfortable and very clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    10
    Excellent location! Very clean and good internet!!! Close to the sightseeing and to the central off
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location! Very clean and good internet!!! Close to the sightseeing and to the central off town. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.9
    if I was returning to budapest I would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Breakfast and location excellent staff at breakfast really friendly

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    10
    My highest recommendation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like everything, including location, staff, kettle in the room, coffee, tea.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.2
    Can't beat the value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great spot for a weekend stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    7.9
    Good value for money hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom quite compact but adequate.

    Great location, just few mins walk to the Danube. Staff friendly & room clean & comfy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.8
    The location between the conference venues and the city...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location between the conference venues and the city center is ideal.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable, good value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and comfortable, close to Buda hill and within walking distance to Pest, helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.2
    Excellent service and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A small bar would be nice as the two restaurants close by were closed so it meant going much further to eat and have a nightcap

    Excellent service and very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    5.4
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The room is not clean enough. The tower has stinks and the carpet was not cleaned everyday. The cups were washed only upon request.

    Good location. Close to the castle hill.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    10
    Location is excellent, so close to many of the gorgeous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Location is excellent, so close to many of the gorgeous sights, easy to reach by public transport with several of the main tramways passing just a 100 meters away. The hotel is very quiet though, so you don't feel like you are in a busy area. Very friendly personnel, clean room, excellent overall!

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    7.5
    It was very clean and comfortable and close to most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing to report

    It was very clean and comfortable and close to most attractions. The only amenity they mentioned was a gym, but there was no basic equipment!

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    8.8
    The staff were helpful, friendly and approachable &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds and pillows slightly too hard, room cold, no heating (April 2016) and temperatures unusually cold, but extra blankets given upon request. Sadly only one English tv channel which was the news, although we were not in the room that much.

    The staff were helpful, friendly and approachable & really nice to have Tea & coffee facilities. A Great continental breakfast, but freshly cooked eggs available upon request. Location great once we got the hang of the public transport systems. Quiet neighbourhood.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    9.6
    Nice little hotel.
    • Couple

    If you are looking for busy nightlife, it might not be the best option. However, after living 4weeks in Pest side it was very nice to stay somewhere quieter.

    Nice little hotel. Room was clean. The street is very quiet. Two trams around the corner. Close to castle and river. The area is not the busiest but there are few restaurants and cafes pretty close. It is basically walking distance from everywhere, even though not exactly in the city center. Staff was very friendly and all in all it was a nice experience. Good value for the price paid.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    8.3
    Staff kind, welcoming, and very helpful which was great as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff kind, welcoming, and very helpful which was great as this was my first trip to this part of Europe. Hotel near castle and city sights both on foot and by public transport.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    7.5
    Good location, parking for free and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We couldn't open the windows and the air condition/heating was not working properly, therefore the air in the room was sometimes heavy.

    Good location, parking for free and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    8.3
    Location and free parking on the street in weekends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast not worth 8 euros / not much to chose from.

    Location and free parking on the street in weekends. The entire area is newly renovated. Very close to the elevators to the castle.Beautiful holiday athmosphere there. Nice mini - bar in the room. Very helpful staff - including the cleaning lady.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is nicely situated near Buda castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The towels and bed clothes could be a bit better.

    The hotel is nicely situated near Buda castle. To go to the right center with more sights and shopping you just have to cross the river - not more than 10 minutes time. The building itself is placed on a quiet street.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    7.9
    The hotel is within walking distance to all the main places...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed cover was to thin for the time of year and we felt cold at night in the room. The breakfast was good but the hot drinks were never HOT.

    The hotel is within walking distance to all the main places of interest and so many wonderful things to see. The staff were very pleasant and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    8.8
    position, clean, gentle staff, price and view of the royal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room and bathroom are small, noise from heating system, expensive breakfast

    position, clean, gentle staff, price and view of the royal palace from balcony

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    9.6
    I booked this hotel because I have had consistently good...
    • Family with older children

    I booked this hotel because I have had consistently good experiences with Best Western hotels throughout Europe and I was not disappointed. I travelled to Budapest with my adult daughter to have extensive dental work. Although this was very successful, I felt rather unwell for a while and the staff at the hotel couldn't have been kinder. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are clean and comfortable and have everything you need, even for an extended stay like ours. I particularly liked the unobtrusive housekeeping. The room was kept immaculate, but you didn't come in to find all your things moved around, which is something that drives me crazy! We paid for our breakfast separately, which was useful as some days I couldn't eat. We thought it was very good value, as their was a massive buffet and lovely fresh egg dishes cooked to order. Everything on the buffet was fresh, the bread and croissants were particularly good when you were down early and they were still hot from the bakery! There was no restriction on what time you came down between 7 and 10, you just needed to say you were eating that day. The location is fabulous. You are about 100 yards from the tram stop, but because the hotel is on the street behind the riverside, there is no noise. The public transport in Budapest is fantastic, get a Budapest City card, you can get everywhere with very little trouble. It is only two trams to the city centre, it takes around 15 minutes door to door. Do try the spas, they are amazing. We tried Gellert, Rudas and Lukas. Gellert is faded grandeur, but stunning. It has a nice "wet" cafe (you can eat in your robe). 3 stops on the tram from the hotel. Lukas is pretty grim, like a 50s swimming bath in the UK, we won't be going there again.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    9.2
    Location good for city transportation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location good for city transportation. Do not be afraid to ask management to help with travel plans/upsets. They may even volunteer to drive you to Zagreb, if the trains are not running as was the case with us.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.5
    great help at the reception, good advise to move around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is good for sight seeing castle ( Buda side) but had to walk across river to the happening Pest side. Fair distance from bus station by cab

    great help at the reception, good advise to move around & very courteous. Helped in booking onward bus ticket online

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    8.3
    Very kind staff, willing to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location is not at city center. Need to walk 10-15 minutes to the next bus stop or Metro Station.

    Very kind staff, willing to help. Close to Danube river. Quite neighborhood.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    3.8
    Quite convenient for sight-seeing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    This hotel does *not* have reliable wifi in its rooms. Top two floors stink of cigarette smoke. Cleaning is cursory. I would not pay more than £50.00 (68.00 euros) for a room at this hotel. A disappointing Best Western hotel.

    Quite convenient for sight-seeing.

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: