Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boulevard City Guesthouse

1094 Budapest, Angyal utca 13, Hungary

#76 of 163 B&Bs and Inns in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 227 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.7
    It wasn't the best, but still okay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had ants in the room and overall the cleanliness wasn't the best. Since there's a tram line right on the street, it can get a bit noisy as well, especially if you leave the window open to air out the place. As a female solo traveler, I wasn't super excited when I realised I was in a connecting room and there's a door to another room directly from my room.

    The staff is very nice, breakfast a bit expensive (for Budapest) but quite tasty. Location is perfect as you have the trams 4&6 really close by. I loved that there was a fan in the room, as it helped with the summer heat, and the room even had a tiny balcony. Lots of small shops and cafes around as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.2
    Not met with my expectation at all.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entire system of check-in check out and parking and moving in and out of the building - too complicated and sophisticated. I do not want to return there again. that is for sure.

    Its location was pretty fine. The room was clean and quite comfortable however the pillows seemed to be used beforehand.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.3
    Good for budget travelling
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although my room had windows, it was impossible to leave the curtains open as the windows were towards the corridor where people were just passing by and looking into my room. Also the receptionist desk was near and I could here from my room other visitors complaining for different reasons to the receptionist as well.

    The best thing about Boulevard City Guesthouse is the roof terrace together with the kitchen - very country style.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    The staff is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quality of beds wasn´t so good. You can hear trams from the street if you have light sleep by sleeping with open windows.

    The staff is nice. The breakfast is rich. We liked eating breakfast in the terrace on the 8th floor. Late arrival time is no problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    Spacious but a bit noisy
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms were constantly very warm, even when the heating was turned off. Opening the window was not a great option, due to the noise of the street below (mainly the tramway). The apartment could also be cleaner.

    The apartments are rather spacious, but a bit unpersonal. It would be nice to have a couch. The location is good, not in the middle of the centre, but due to several close tramstops it is easy to travel around the Budapest. Good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money, very helpful and hospitable staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been even better if there was a kettle in the room but I understand bay it isn’t a hotel and it is a guesthouse. Just for the evening to have a hot drink.

    Very warm. Excellent breakfast. Was able to leave suitcases there on our last day after check-in and returned at 5pm to collect them. Was able to sit in the breakfast room for an hour at 5pm after check-in to wait for our taxi. Brilliant hospitality, very helpful staff. Bought hop on and hop off bus ride tickets at the guest house. Guest house staff rung a taxi for us to ensure price control. Clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location and good price-quality deal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The room was twin room and we were a couple; - It was a little bit noisy outside because of the trams (but if you are not very sensitive, it's gonna be fine);

    We loved the location, we had the subway and trams very close, it's close to city center. The room was nice, warm and cosy. For the money we paid, it was the perfect deal! The staff is friendly, they talk pretty good English.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for a very good value break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses weren't the best but still had 3 nights good sleep.

    Great location, 30 second walk from a big tram/ bus station that will get you everywhere, or 15 minute stroll down the river to the market and another 5/10 minutes to the chain bridge. Lots of great bakeries and shops on the doorstep. Very clean, good kitchen. Allowed us to check in 3 hours early and kept bags for us the day we checked out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.3
    Just to spend a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At two o'clock am we were woken up by neighbours from top floors that spotted smoke in the room next to ours. Something was burning in their room 2a and smelled bad. So we were lucky not to suffokate. And who lived there said that "paper got to owen"

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    A nice place in an interesting central area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were only Hungarian programmes on the TV channels (not even CNN, BBC or DW), but that's not really important.

    Rooms are not equipped at latest standard, but clean and convenient. Staff is really friendly and nice. Breakfast was full choice and fresh. Really nice roof terrasse for breakfast during the warmer months.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    The guesthouse proved to be a perfect place to stay at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't think of anything that I did not like. For me this was a perfect choice.

    The guesthouse proved to be a perfect place to stay at. It's located near the city center, which was great for me as a tourist. I also appreciated that fact that the guesthouse offered air conditioning even though the guesthouse's description did not mention it. This proved to be a real blessing as on the hottest day the temperature outside was nudging 40 degrees. I also want to mention that the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. To me the guesthouse was one of the best places I have ever stayed at, which is why it will be a natural choice if I decide to go to Budapest again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.1
    Check out the small print
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very difficult to find. Was supposed to have got free breakfast but ended up paying for one which was not very good.

    Guest house has a lovely roof top for breakfast and for Budapest is good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room (43B) smell of food because of a doner kebab located on the ground floor. Mattress, pillows and bed sheet were old and uncomfortable.

    Location. City center was accessible via public transport or a 20 minutes walk on Danube shore. Underground car parking at a cheap price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.4
    Bare essentials
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find hotel, no air con, had to ask for towels/linen, cleaning lady walked into the room without knocking and check out at 10am? That's taking the piss!!!

    Location is relatively central and there is a lot of privacy coming and going not having to pass through reception. The shower was excellent .. very powerful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location and price with space and kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Soap for handwashing was poor quality. Room could have been a touch cleaner, especially floor and sheets and sofa. If the room is not 100% clean, guests worry about insects. Bathroom was old and worn, especially water faucet and toilet seat. Still a great place to stay.

    Checkin was smooth, even though no one was at the desk. Location was close to river and transportation. Nice eating and shopping areas nearby. Can walk along Raday and Vaci walking streets to center, or easily cross bridge to Buda side. Staff was helpful planning transportation and trains. Nice area to relax upstairs. Room was spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.9
    Optimal priced place to stay in Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds are pore. With such equipped rooms, garage or breakfast should be included in price.

    Price/quality ratio is not bad but not the best possible. Garage is very convenient, Location is good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    Suprised and satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hair dryer in each room We wanted double bed but got two beds connected, which was not comfortable at all

    Location Staff cleaningness We were suprised by the conditions - photos on booking are worse than it actually looks like! We would deffenitely recommend this hostel. Good value for a good money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.1
    The room was clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fine but guests had to ask staff to add food and beverages; they waited for the staff and the food. The level of comfort - basic, but the price for the apartment was relatively low.

    The room was clean and spacious. Good location - close to tram and bus stops, and not far from the metro station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    10
    Will definitely visit this place again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen missed a few essentials like a frying pan and bowls to put cereal in.

    Great place to stay. Maybe a little outdated but comfortable enough for a longer stay. Beds are comfortable and the bathroom is clean and spacious. The location is just outside of the city center, but a short trip by streetcar will take you to the heart of the city. For your daily groceries you can go to the supermarket right on the corner of the street.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    10
    Very nice, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very nice and helpfull (for this we want to give our thanks to the 2 kind and warm receptionists) the apartment was very large and cozy, the location was ok and the breakfast was very good.I would definetly recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    7.1
    Good stay without a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service when we couldn't park the car in their parking. The alternitive was expensive and a 15 minutes walk from the hotel. Asked for 1 bed for 2 en got 2 beds for 1. Reception closed after 18.00.

    The view from our room. The size of the room. The size of the bathroom. Everything is clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    9.6
    The room was very clean and decorated with taste.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very clean and decorated with taste. We had a fridge and two bathrooms for a triple room, which was wonderful! The owner helped us with everything: information regarding the city, where to eat, what to do.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy tram in the morning through opened windows.

    Nice staff. Communication before arrival through e-mail.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    This was the second time I stayed at this guesthouse, I'll choose it next time too.
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of the guesthouse is close to the centre, though the room was quiet. The staff was kind and ready to solve unexpected late arrival time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area was far from tourist spots and a bit rough

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.5
    Good value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 2 separate beds

    Very close to the inner city and public transport

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Great price, clean rooms, neet staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great price, clean rooms, neet staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place. The staff was really nice and helpful, the location is good, and the room was very clean and comfortable. Strongly recommended! 😀

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    staff very kind. there was one problem for tv cable connection, it was solved very quickly
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    tv color in the room too high and too small

    Closed to center . Mattress very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no service after 6.00 p.m

    The light in my room, the bed, the colours of the curtains and the bed cover. The shower was also very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.3
    The location was good with lots of trams to catch anywhere. Close to the Danube river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the top floor with s balcony so we had great sights all over.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    no air condition
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no air condition

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.9
    Very close to the city/downtown, actually in walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room, poor breakfast

    Very close to the city/downtown, actually in walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful view in the heart of buda
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view in the heart of buda

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.9
    Apartmant hotel in a residential area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Convenient for public transport. Nice, quiet neighborhood w good basic facilities

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    10
    Perfect location!Very comfortable place!Staff was very friendly and helpful!Mostly Eva and Nora!
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We wasn't having breakfast there

    We wasn't having breakfast there

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad Wi-Fi in the room. TV was not working.

    Comfortable and clean room. Close to the city center. Polite personnel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    8.3
    The accommodation was very centrally located and just a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mini fridge was a little warm.

    The accommodation was very centrally located and just a short stroll to the metro and the rivers. The restaurants to the east of the place very varied and local. The staff had very good English and were attentive and gave good local advice.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    8.3
    This was the second time I stayed in the guesthouse.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No amenities in the room apart from some hand soap. You have to bring your own shampoo and shower gel.

    This was the second time I stayed in the guesthouse. I was in a different room this time, conveniently located on the eight floor where the reception and breakfast room are. The room was cosy yet spacy, with skylights, television, HiFi set, refrigerator and a large closet. The free WiFi had excellent speed. The guesthouse is well located close to the river, for both Pest and Buda visits. Good value for money in Budapest.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.5
    This is not really a hotel but rather a collection of small...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The guesthouse does not have 24h reception and at times there is nobody at the reception even at daytime. If you arrive late you have to get the keys from a code protected key box and find your own way to the apartment. The apartments have spartan furniture and there are no amenities apart from some hand soap. That is, no shampoo, no shower gel, nothing of the kind. The television has only Hungarian channels. I didn't find that particularly disturbing, but don't expect international channels. In short, this is no frills accommodation, but good value for money in a city where tourism is picking up and hotel prices are rising fast.

    This is not really a hotel but rather a collection of small apartments in a residential building. If you're looking for a full service hotel this is not your place, but if you're want to experience life in Budapest it's a great way to live like a Hungarian among the Hungarians. The hotel is well located, very close to the Danube and not far from the center. The apartments have adequate space, staff is helpful and there is free WiFi with good speed. Breakfast is ok and the breakfast room on the 8th floor has a terrace and nice views over the city.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    I wanted to have an apartment hotel close to my venue and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    All went smoothly and I have nothing to complain about.

    I wanted to have an apartment hotel close to my venue and BCG was exactly what I needed. The location was perfect as were the friendly and helpful staff. Not luxurious but highly recommendable.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    9.6
    The location is great, close to tram 4 and 6, one station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only small drawback was that there were two single beds instead of a double one

    The location is great, close to tram 4 and 6, one station from M3. From the balcony you can see Gellert Hill. Room was clean, with own fridge. Cleaning was performed every day. We received a cute gift for Easter ;)

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    8.3
    quite big apartman, it has everyting you need to feel like...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    it is a bit difficult to find your way out from the parking

    quite big apartman, it has everyting you need to feel like at home

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    7.9
    very convenient to go to the christmas market by walk!
    • Family with older children

    very convenient to go to the christmas market by walk!very nice people !very nice to have a microwave in the kitchen.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    9.4
    Super nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was really difficult

    Super nice staff

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    5.0
    The peoplewere helpful and the size of the accomodation was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The accomodation was generally clean but the trams outside were really noisy

    The peoplewere helpful and the size of the accomodation was good

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    5.0
    Super market was close to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Why reception was at 8th floor ? Why reception closed from 18:00 ????

    Super market was close to this hotel

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    8.8
    Very comfortable place and pleasent personal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No wi-fi at all!

    Very comfortable place and pleasent personal.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: