Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Carat Boutique Hotel 4 stars

1061 Budapest, Király utca 6, Hungary

#81 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1912 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was quite warm and on the first morning we saw flies landing on the food, which put us off a bit. The coffee wasn’t great. The bedside tables in the room could do with upgrading as they were just material cubes.

    The staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was a really good size, the bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and the shower was a good. The location was amazing, right in the centre of the city and a two minute walk from Deák Ferenc tér metro station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the first room we was in the shower door leaked water all into the floor so we had to request to be moved rooms as the floor was like a bath when we used the shower. The hotel staff moved us straight away to another room. The air conditioning wasn’t very strong in the other room so it was extremely warm during the night given the temperatures were higher 20s outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My one and only complaint (and it can’t be helped) was that we had no sleep as even though 4 floors up the noise outside was terrible, but it is in the middle of a city so it is what it is. (Maybe some triple glazing needed in these rooms). My friends had rooms over looking the centre of the hotel and slept well.

    Couldn’t ask for a better location as everything was walking distance and the facilities were very good. When we did require a taxi, the lady on reception organised it for us. A wonderful idea to have the breakfast room open from 12 until 7pm for free coffee, tea and cold drinks. Rooms cleaned every day. Wonderful choice of food for breakfast and lovely people making sure that everyone was happy with what they had and also helped us with our map and planning our day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows! Nothing else!

    Hotel reception staff were very helpful and informative. Rooms were more than adequate. Hotel very generous with their hospitality. Buffet breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road, facing room was noisy late at night and in the early hours, especially at the weekend.

    The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly and helpful, even lending umbrellas on a rainy day. There was a good choice for breakfast and the hotel provides a free coffee and juice facility during the day. It is centrally located to many of the attractions and tour bus stops. Ask for a room facing the inner atrium of the building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a great location although it was slightly noisy outside. Hotel breakfast was great and the room was big enough with a double bed and a single bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaner did not clean the room-she just made the beds which left the room quite dirty. Apart from that she kept leaving notes asking for tips on our beds although we did leave some change .for her, which felt very pushy The rooms are very very small but nice.

    Very friendly receptionist and staff. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Great location, great breakfast and staff were very helpful and very accommodating.. thank you Close to Metro, buses, and trams.. and other attractions and great restaurants..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast has variety but needs higher quality to some of the products (p.ex bacon)

    Modern rooms and hotel,very kind and helpful staff. The location was perfect, close to metro and bus stops. The ironing room -free of charge- was a convenience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property sits on a street with a lot of ambient noise. Our room faced the street and it was party central until the wee hours of the am. The hotel does not turn on the aircon until May we were told and the room was both stuffy and hot. We booked for 4 nights and left after the first

    Not much unfortunately. Rooms were small and uninspired

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Very good hotel in every way. Me and my daughter had an exellent stay. Brekfast one of the best we have had in a hotel, rooms very comfy and the location was also very good. Would book at Carat hotel again :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault anything

    Great location, close to the central metro station, which was a plus. Good breakfast, comfy bed, staff friendly and very helpful. Free coffee and juice machines which was the nice when you come back from walking around all day. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We specially liked the availability of tea and coffee througout all day long. The staff was very friendly, nice and helpful. The rooms very comfy and the hotel design very pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great communication, all requests prior to arrival where arranged, good friendly staff. Great location, this was one of the reasons for booking this accommodation, I would use this hotel again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is not much to say here, my room was very good.

    Spacious room and bathroom, clean, excellent and varied breakfast, and in particular the very central location, 1 minute away from the Metro hub in Deak Ter and from the Airport shuttle. The free-to-use local smartphone assistant seemed like a very good idea, particularly for those who don't have free data roaming. Could not test it, unfortunately.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, everything was superb.

    Absolutely everything, this is a marvellous hotel and the staff could not do enough for us all. It is clean, comfortable, the breakfast is amazing and special thanks to Ildiko at Reception who is a true lady.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The taxi what we had pre-ordered at the reception desk (24 hours before leaving) was 30 min late, so we cancelled and took another one. Luckily we could catch our flight in the last minute.

    The staff was very kind, helpful and professional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel, friendly staff. Great location. Spacious, comfortable room. Plenty of choice for breakfast and a good time no need to rush 7am to 10am. Will definitely use again when visiting Budapest.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were allocated a disabled room which, although it worked ok for us, was a little strange in as much as the bedroom and bathroom layout/furniture were arranged for this purpose. We arrived late/ tired so did not wish to request a change on arrival.

    Everything. The room, breakfast, location, and staff were all just what we wanted and expected.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked double room but they gave me single room. They did not even tell me, i realozed once I enter the room. I asked the reason, they told me someone else booked for room for 2 but they came as 3 so they gave my room. They said they will discount but they did not do it!!

    Breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room was a little bit small but we cant complain as we new it from the beginning as this room was the last one. they have bigger rooms.

    very good hotel. perfect location and amazing staff. they even gave us free of charge mobile phone with free surfing navigation and calls.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The property was dead in the center of PEST! everything was so close so many different restaurants, bars and even clubs! Yo choose from! The night life was beautiful with the lights and the colorful buildings in the day time! The atmosphere was just phenomenal and if highly recommend this hotel to anyone who asks!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the hotel is excellent. Breakfast was good with a wide selection of articles.The staff very welcoming and helpfull specially people serving breakfast and people at the reception (specially Arpad).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely boutique hotel in great location. Near to deak ferenc station and trams terminus. Very clean. Good breakfast with plenty of choice. Staff helpful. Kettle etc in room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very central. There is a airport shuttle bus running approx every 30mins, 100E, stop Deák Ferenc ter, 900ft/3euro. 2 mins from hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been a bit bigger and shower hose could have been at head height as it meant you needed to hold it to wash your hair. Not a big deal tho!

    Breakfast was good - we had cold meats and scrambled eggs with fresh bread! There was fruit and pastries etc too! Liked the way the breakfast room is open all day so you can get juice,water and coffee! Staff were really friendly and room was nice! We stayed on 5th floor but we didn't have a view of city but sure we were hardly in the room. Location was great right opposite the Budapest eye and ruin bars just around the corner. We walked everywhere - the syz baths were only 30 mins walk and it was amazing to chill out when we got there. We walked to fishersman bastion and got amazing pictures of chain bridge and parliament! Went to an amazing authentic restaurant called Hungarikum bisztro we knew we needed to book in advance based on other reviews but we chanced our luck at 6.30 and he gave us a table based on being finished in 1.15 which was perfect for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My fiancee did not like the coffee.

    We thought breakfast was lovely, good variety, I liked the coffee from the machine. Cheeses and cold meats were lovely. Bed was very comfortable and big. Excellent location, couldn't have asked for better, and loads of bars and restaurants a couple of minutes away. All the staff were lovely, they even loaned us an umbrella for our one and only rainy day in Budapest. Shower was also excellent and a great temperature.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of facilities in the evening. However, this didn’t affect us too much as we were out in the evening.

    Breakfast buffet was lovely, great selection and well stocked. Free coffee facilities throughout the day was handy after coming back from sightseeing. The location of the hotel was excellent. The staff were very attentive. I had an issue with pre-authorisation and the staff were very good at communicating with me about this and never cancelled my reservation. My room was well serviced over my week long stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could get noisy outside as it’s by the nightlife district.

    Great variety at breakfast. Local and international food available. Excellent Location very central but think it would be very noise during the high season.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms were fine, though a bit dark. Some of the reception staff were helpful, many were not. One in particular acted like he couldn't be bothered with most everything I asked him. I avoided dealing with him!

    This hotel is very well located and convenient for most everything in Budapest. The price was also right.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine.

    The bed was extremely comfortable. Despite being on Kiraly utca, the hotel is very quiet. The breakfast is large and there's plenty of choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby is quite small.

    The location is excellent! Close to nice eateries, cathedral, shops, chain bridge. The airport bus stop is less than one minute away. Breakfast is really good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Room was very clean and the bed very big and comfortable. Clean bathroom with a big bathtub. Fitness area not so big but with everything for making some exercises and a good sauna. Breakfast amazing with a good choice for both sweet and salty meals. Location is perfect, just few meters from the subway (all the 3 lines stop there) and from the stop of the airport bus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was great 😊

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was outstanding complimented by attentive and friendly staff.The location of the hotel was perfect for our visit enabling us to visit everything we wanted to see in this beautiful city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were horrible. Not good enough sleep. Breakfast was good but at 9:30 there was almost nothing warm left.

    The staff is very accomodating. Coffee and tea service thru the day is amazing especially during winter days. Mimosas for breakfast was nice. Location is amazing. Close to all tourist attractions and night life if you want to extend your visit ;)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom could use a bit of an update to match the high quality of the rest of the room/hotel.

    The free breakfast was great. We also received a travel buddy which was essentially a phone with internet and calling abilities. This was fantastic as we then had google maps on us at all times. The staff were very willing to help and always went above and beyond.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise isolation was really poor, could hear the noise on the street as well as the noise from the hallway, even the guest next door when the shower was on (maybe due to the fact that the room was a connected one).

    The location was dead center of the city, close to bars and clubs. Found parking in the street right in front of the hotel. The room was spacious (albeit a bit dusty). Breakfast was indeed very good and included in the price of the stay. Internet was good (stable and enjoyable), 24/7 reception for late guests. Bathroom was spacious and looked clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double room with double bed and was offered room with 2 separate single beds. Asked for taxi to airport and was offered expensive service from hotel without even advising of airport bus which was few metres away or local taxi which are much cheaper. Not happy about it

    Location, breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    my 50th birthday weekend with twin sister, couldn't of asked for a better location we arrived at the airport where the shuttle picked us up straight away, no problems at airport.arrived at the hotel they couldn't of been more accommodating we had a room ready for us even though check in was 2 pm it was 11.30 am, had a coffee in the fat lady's kitchen which was good service. our stay at the hotel was fab, when asked a question information given straight away and they always went over and above board in helping us out. breakfast can get a bit busy at certain times so best to go to breakfast earlier than 08.30 am, thank you for a great stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    pillow

    Close to everything, 3 min by foot from Metro station and Airport bus station. Room 211 is spacious, very recommended. Staff is very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor sound insulation in the room. Breakfast is mediocre.

    Prime location in the very center of the city. Free smartphone with Internet access is a nice touch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't fault our stay in anyway. 6 of us all very happy.

    Great location for exploring on foot or on metro. Clean rooms and lovely staff. Ildi the receptionist was amazing. Really helpful with bookings etc. Fab breakfast selection which included fizz.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Very confortable. Great breakfast. Rooms come with little handy smartphone which you can take it outside equipped with maps and things to do plus you can personalise it. Very clean and confortable room. Great buffet breakfast. Best thing about this hotel is its right in the city centre. 5 mins walk from bus station, tram station and metro station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I find the large, square and ultrasoft pillow very uncomfortable and should have asked for it to be replaced.

    The mix at breakfast is good and some items change every day. I an very selective with my food and yet found all I wanted

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very hard to say but I think the hotel was very hot as they had the heating on, but cold outside.

    everything it was a lovely hotel to stay at. very easy to get around just catch the 47,48,and 49 tram anywhere. Xmas market on your door stop. the place next door for burgers and beer brilliant .breakfast was lovely, the only think was the hot water in the urn was not as hot, so they had a kettle which was handy. tea and coffee free the whole day. staff very good .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm.

    Amazing location, friendly and helpful staff, clean large room. Less than 2 min walk to the metro and easy walk to the ruin pubs and the cathedral. Staff was very responsive ahead of the stay and were very helpful receiving our train tickets. I will stay here on my next trip!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame the reception area is so small....no place to sit and relax for a chat etc;

    The staff were excellent and service was great! Room very clean and comfortable!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    totally bad parking service. close by hotel and be careful with euros. They overcharge in the whole city. Happened three times when we tried to pay cash.

    Good brekafast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to it's location in the centre if Budapest and famost tourist street with a lot of pubs, sometimes at nights there were a lot of noise.

    Very nice hotel, kindly stuff, wonderful breakfast and great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blonde receptionist is extremelly helpful, kind and sweet, she helped us a lot with orietations and tips to where to go to eat or nice places to visit. The rooms were also really nice. The localization was perfect since it was close to a lot of restaurants, subway stations and main tourists points like The Cathedral of Saint Stevan

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since couple few years I’m always staying at Carat Boutique Hotel when visiting Budapest. Why?? It is a combination of ( order not important): one of the best possible locations, comfort and perfect service, good Wi-Fi, parking ( I’m coming usually by car) just in few meters distance at reasonable rate. You start you day with 6 start hotel breakfast. Rooms are small, but who comes to Budapest for staying in the room?? And as bad is very comfortable – luxury secured. I’m used to ask for room at 5th floor with balcony; habit from times when I was smoking. Anyway, you can make your room bigger, when you open doors to balcony. Cheers and many thanks to all staff of Carat Boutique Hotel, for making my visits so nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We noticed a strong chemical smell in the room on the second day (probably a cleaning product used by the staff) which was a bit uncomfortable.

    Beautiful hotel in the city centre. The room was spacious, nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. Free safe in the room, free sauna and fitness area (key can be obtained from the reception), amazing breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and we got 10% on our Danube cruise by booking through the reception. Very close to main sights and shopping streets. Metro station connecting several lines as well as the station for the direct airport bus are just a 3 minute walk away. Perfect place to spend a few nights when in Budapest!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was at the front of the hotel which is on a busy street. It was very noisey at night. Perhaps if the windows were better glazed it would eliminate some noise

    The Receptionist was very friendly and gave us loads of information. Breakfast was lovely too. Location perfect for exploring Budapest.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing we didn't like but would have been even better with a lounge area and a bar but that's being picky.

    Arranged the taxi from and back to the airport through the hotel which was excellent. Room not huge but very clean with everything we needed. Good choice for breakfast. Also each afternoon in the breakfast area you could help yourself to tea / coffee and fruit juice which was great especially the day we left when we had a few hours to spare. The location was excellent, close to lots of bars and restaurants and also very close to the tram / metro and hop on hop off bus stops. Staff were friendly and helpful. Definitely would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist could be more friendly. There was a door between my room and next room and one can literally listen everything without doing an effort

    Breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The safe didn't work properly even after we had to ask the staff to unlock it when it was 'permanently' locked, and there was no security door chain which existed once but we saw only the remnants of it: two holes on the door frame. The room could have been cooler - we had to open both windows to feel cool.

    The breakfast was really very good, the staff is nice. We loved the location and it was really nice to stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My flight into Budapest was delayed and I didn't arrive at the hotel until 1.30 am. I very much appreciated my checkout time being extended to 12 so I could relax and not feel I had to rush.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    at the reception there is always one person at a given time - so when people want to check in/out it sometimes takes time and the same thing with asking question/help. Also, their English was very poor(like most of Budapest...but they work in a 4 star hotel)

    center location, right in the middle, rooms are big and clean. hotel is not too big, food was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !

    Great location , central to everything woth lots of places to eat and drink close by. Hotel facilities were excellent from airport shuttle to the free hot drinks facilities ib the dinning room from 12-7 ! A lovely touch after a days site seeing .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could just change the taps in the bathroom they are not so nice anymore. However the bathroom is very nice.

    The hotel is located in the hearth of the city in the middle of the party stripe. However I could not recognize any noise coming from the street having a room looking to a court. In comparison to other hotels located near by I can just only recommend this place. Absolutely clean, comfy bed, mobile with free international calls, nice bathroom. The place is only some steps from all three metro lines and very close to the main attractions. In the evening you can find here the hugest variety of restaurants and bars in Budapest.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not a four star bed and only a mini bar

    Location, Location, Location, Very good breakfast, large room with excellent balcony and toilet Helpful staff at all times. .property seemed well protected and secure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was at the front of the hotel and there was some noise from the street at night.

    The staff were excellent, friendly and extremely helpful both before and during and stay,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower door did not close properly creating a pool of water on the floor, which was very slippery. The single beds were narrow about 2 inches on either side of the shoulders. The toilets was in a tiny corner which not allow one to easily wipe themselves. The shower head did not reach the attachment, forcing you to hold the shower head at all times. The a/c was not working. However, with the window open the room was cool.

    The breakfast buffet was above excellent. On a scale of 1:10, my rating is 9.8 It was a prime location. The underground/metro was 2 minutes away. The area contain many restaurants, bar, and shops. The hallway were clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful location in Budapest, easy to walk to some major sights and catch the Metro or Hop-on/Hop-off sightseeing bus. Very welcoming, friendly and helpful Reception staff. Excellent breakfast buffet. Modern room with spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The woman at the reception desk was extremely sweet and helpful. The breakfast was great with a nice variety. They had a sauna room downstairs which was nice. Public transportation was easy to use and the hotel was conveniently located.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room at the street side is quite noisy and the room is not as tidy as what is shown in the picture.

    The location is quite convenient, very close to the metro and popular travel site

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good hotel in the heart of the city. The hotel offers gym and sauna, despite I could not test. There is a mobile with internet that you can bear with you to have internet with you and browse kind of information on the city. It is included in the hotel package. It is really useful because all the city is online. Gorgeous breakfast. My room, with a double bed, was really good. Excellent staff. The parking is 20 m from the hotel door. The hotel sells vouchers to show to the guard before leaving. The voucher can cover all your stay at your will. Pay attention to the time schedule if you have a car because the traffic can be a big problem in the rush hours.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    Perfect location, right in the city center, close to all public transportation, direct bus to the airport, shopping, restaurants, clubs. Very kind and helpful personnel. Great breakfast selection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bedroom was very low which made it difficult for us to take a shower.

    The hotel was in a great location, close to attractions and transport links. The room was comfortable and a good size. Comfortable bed and the bathroom wad a good size. The bedroom had character too. The staff at the hotel were friendly, very helpful and knowledgeable about Budapest and different services and tours. The hotel was flexible with our check out times, ensuring that we were comfortable before checking out. The breakfast was fantastic with lots of variety. Each morning there was something different to try and again the staff at breakfast were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first night we arrived late and were allocated a room which was not very nice - very small, dark and by the extractor for the kitchen so woken up very early by this - asked to move and although they were fully booked they did offer us an alternative after 2pm that day, which we moved to and it was much better.

    Location very central - lots of bars/restaurants/cafes/takeaways nearby Hotel staff were friendly and helpful 2nd room was clean and bright and had good facilities -tea/coffee - no milk!! Minibar stocked and not very expensive Breakfast room not busy and good choice of cold meats - fresh bread and cakes

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of car and driver was high and although you said driver would meet us with our names on a sign, we had to search and find a girl with the sign that was more interested in texting on her phone than locating us. Would have been cheaper and quicker to just take a taxi.

    Very good selection at breakfast! Nice rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comedy of errors with some of their staff from check in onwards. Forced to pay cash for pre-booked taxi and dinner cruise, despite confirming I could pay by card in advance. Chased for full payment for our 4 night stay the day after we had checked in. Money taken from room with thank you note from the housekeeper! Dinner cruise voucher was incorrect which caused confusion at the cruise dock. Duty manager accepted the feedback but no goodwill gesture for the errors.

    No problem with the hotel itself. Great central location, rooms clean and comfortable, breakfast OK, and plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom floor wasn't 100% clean on arrival but responded quickly when this was pointed out. I would put it down to a one-off problem rather than being indicative of a general problem - these things happen. I would definitely stay there again.

    Great location. Good breakfast. Good shower. Good wifi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are relatively small. Scrambled eggs and bacon was good, but too cold.

    The location is excellent! And despite being so central, the rooms were very quite. They are also very clean with a well equipped mini bar. Breakfast selection is good, too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have rated this differently except for the receptionist and the horrendous treatment I received from her. After a minor disagreement relating to my booking, I requested to speak to a manager and was refused and this woman came out to see me, she then accused me of lying about my booking, then instead of defusing the argument she insisted on arguing with me even after I had walked away to calm down. I took myself out of the equasion because this woman was trying to make me angry. She then put her hand to her lips and ssshed me and kept accusing me of being argumentative and troublesome even when I was after stepping away. My friend and I were shocked at how rude and dismissive she was towards us and aggressive towards us as customers. Twice she spoke to me like I was dirt. When I asked to speak to a manager 3 times I was refused. Eventually we accepted the room because it was late and we had no choice. Following this I went to my room and then left to go out of the hotel as I left the building she stared at me and tried to intimidate me. If it had been possible to move hotels at this stage I would have however it was late. The following morning she stared at me and spoke about me to a colleague under her breath and pointed at me to such extent I left the prepaid breakfast and went to a restaurant elsewhere. Then she came to reception arguing with me again when I finally got to speak to the manager. Absolutely horrified by this woman's behaviour. I would definately advise people not to waste their time in going here because even after a lengthy discussion with the management about this, I believe she still has a job and no training. Appalled by this visit and will never set foot in here again. This woman should not be in a position of working with customers.

    I liked the location.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Carat Boutique Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: