Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gold Hotel Budapest 4 stars

1016 Budapest, Hegyalja út 14, Hungary

#237 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 729 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance- it was too far from everything, originally the hotel had listed that it was 900m from the Castle, my navigation walking map said it was 2.4km, it cost €12 to get back to the hotel at 11pm! AND they charged an extra 5% on my bill for paying with a credit card! They looked for cash, who carries that amount of cash on a holiday when you've already booked through your card!

    Julia-on reception, what a lovely lady, so friendly, so helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV: dominated by German speaking and non-European channels (even Al Jazeera was in Arab) and lacking basic international news channels like BBC or CNN - forget entertainment...

    Friendly staff, quiet, confortable room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paid parking, no facilities at the hotel, hotel on the hillside of the city

    Basic but fresh breakfast, clean hotel Large and nicely decorated room, air-conditioning in room Good fridge, nice hotel staff, quiet location No noise at night Secure parking The hotel is reasonably priced and worth the stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Family Apartment - Annex (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the pictures I was expecting a true two bedroom apartment. Apartment 12 has one large bed in the main living area and then two single beds in a sort of alcove area that is open. The kitchenette is in a galley area. The towels were very thin and small, although clean. The rugs need to be shampooed. The outdoor area between the hotel and apartment building is quite overgrown.

    We stayed in an apartment as we brought our dog. The balcony was enjoyed a lot. It was easy to get to the other side of the river and also see things on this side. The breakfast was pretty good and the staff were super helpful and friendly. Great coffee selections. There is a mini mart on the same block for cold drinks and snacks. Lots of hot water.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For some reason the dining room was closed other than for breakfast, so we couldn't purchase a drink in the evening. There was a mini-bar in the room but there was no indication of prices!

    The room was fine - tea/coffee making facilities would have been nice, but otherwise the room was perfectly adequate for our needs - internet fine. Breakfast good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Road very noisy. We moved to a room at back of hotel. Restaurant was closed for dinner all week. Chef has left and not been replaced. Hotel is in suburbs so no restaurants close by.

    Breakfast good. Receptionist very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast quality was ok but not worth the 4 stars; room and bathroom quite small; no extra facility (gym, pool, ...); paying with a card generates extra charges!

    very kind staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Family Apartment - Annex (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception only wanted paid in cash no card Had to withdraw extra cash to pay bill

    There was four of us and we were given an apartment adjacent to hotel two bedrooms kitchen area and loads of space

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the check-out I was surprised I could only pay with card at an 5% surcharge!! This is against the law. Ofcourse they do this to demotivate the client to pay by card and pay cash so they have black money. I wanted to pay by MAESTRO (European debit card) on a bill of almost 1000€ a 5% surcharge is ridiculous!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms too warm at night The road is very noisy therefore cannot have the window open The breakfast was poor - exact same things everyday with little choice

    The beds were comfy Hotel 10 mins from the castle Rooms very clean Reception staff helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in room. No bar in hotel. Breakfast very basic - with very little fruit as an option. 2 domestic toasters that had seen better days.

    Room was good with great bathroom and shower. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot drink facilities available in the room. This usually wouldn't have been a drama, but when we arrived the receptionist said the hotel would only be able to provide the breakfast as stated on our booking because of refurbishment. ( which we saw no evidence of )This was very frustrating. We couldn't even buy a hot drink on our return to the hotel. We even asked if a kettle could be put in the room on this occasion. But again with no joy. We had to walk to a hotel about 5 minutes away to have a cofree or drink or snack. Which In all honesty would have been a better option for our stay with friendly staff and more than happy to accommodate.

    Lovely room was very nice, comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The parking lot is small, having only 5 parking lots and mainly one of them was occupied by the hotel's car. At the reception you can pay by using Euro or HUF, but for card payments there is a 5% commision. The breakfast was so and so. There were 3-4 types of cheese, 2-3 types of salami, scrambled eggs, a traditional stew and sweets. To drink: tea, orange and apple juice and coffee. But, the food was the same everyday.

    The property is situated near Citadella and Buda castle. The staff was very helpful and we used English language to communicate. The room was cozy and they were cleaning it every day. The access to the main attractions of the city is easy both by walking and by public transport. We walked a lot and also used hop-on/hop-off busses which had a station near the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel is not 4 star (It should be rated a 2 star), all attractions are a good walking distance, hotel shuttle airport service price is not as advertised

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel parking only for 7 cars - what is not enought for 24 rooms ... also during our arrival need to re-park our car because of somebody elso was going out. More parking only on public street. Room was okay, quite small for 3 persons, but was with window located to street and it was not silent night, because of traffic on main road whole night.

    Good location with walking distance to centre (1,5 km). Breakfast okay, quite wide chice when we speak about small hotel. Room to garden side should be better solution

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a few pieces of furniture a little to worn towels a little worn out, but still ok the lack of TV stations from several countries

    Although the reservation was wrong, the person at the reception changed the room with a superior one at no additional cost. Good and rich breakfast Close to city center Easy to find

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect for us

    really friendly and helpful staff, helped us with directions and public transport. Restaurant downstairs was lovely, great dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was not happy. I ask Double with plenty of advising and pay double and I get a single bed, no FAIR especially for the fact that nobody aware me of this, otherwise I will probably cancel my reservation. But nobody email me to tell me that was not double available and i send an email right away. No fair also that I was not able to pay with my card so they request just cash so I was needed to walk 20 minutes to take money. Also, the Toilet Flush of water on lavatory is so annoying is very short. Breakfast was bad, to be honest. I didn't try Lunch or dinner because of that and also because i was really pissed off so I expend my money out. Bad experience. Avoid if you can.

    Err...Shower and Internet were ok. During the day is easy to reach the center. On night if you go disco NO the night bus leave you very far so better pay a taxi. Is a 6 rate hotel for me.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Family Apartment - Annex (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place was noisy because it is very close to a highway. The weather was hot but air conditioning was not free. The receptionist was not friendly and they wanted us to pay cash or there is a 4% charge for card payment.

    The apartment was not far from the city centre, was spacious and clean, breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit out of the way. There is nothing much in the immediate location. Everything was fine at the hotel- no complaints.

    The location was ok but not suited to enjoying late nights in town. It is a walkable distance into town but it's quite an effort. The staff were very helpful whenever we asked any questions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Man that works the front desk was very rude on several occasions.

    The lady at the front was helpful and pleasant to communicate with. The beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Charged 5% extra for credit card as I had no cash. Another 5% due to currency conversion so in the end paid 10% more than what was in booking. No slippers provided. Tap with the sensor was annoying.

    Breakfast was fine. Walking distance to Buda castle and bus stop direct to the center of Pest. Good price wrt other 4 star hotels.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was bit small for the price. Location was OK for me since I was attending a conference not that far away, however it's about 20minutes walking to center. There are regular buses right next to the hotel though. I've found hotel overpriced and definitely not the stars they claim.

    Room was clean. Breakfast was OK

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    PLEASE BE AWARE STAFF INSIST YOU PAY THE BILL IN CASH !!!!!!!!! AND GET ANGRY IF YOU DON'T WHAT A JOKE HAT TO DRAW MORE MONEY OUT THE BANK WHEN I THOUGHT THIS WAS PAID FOR IN ADVANCE . THEN AFTER THAT YOU GET A COLD SHOULDER OF TREATMENT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    breakfast ok rooms clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is awesome, really they make a great work. Rooms are nice and comfortable (sound proof windows), location is easy to move with public transportation 112, 110, 8E, 178. Convenience store just 50 meters from the hotel. Staff is serious but helpful. We love the funny voice of the elevator.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Family Apartment - Annex (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel information provided was not accurate. Room description indicated an additional toilet, and there was only one. They also charged a 5% fee to pay using a credit card.

    Location, parking, breakfast..all were good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff don't have the faintest idea of how to provide good customer service. The air conditioning control buzzed with a periodic alarm and kept us awake for much of a night. We called in the early hours of the morning to get it fixed and were told that the the solution was to turn it off and open the window to the noisy street. We asked again in the morning that it be fixed but were told that if it gets set to below 22 deg, it will cause the alarm to sound. We were not even able to set it at all, in fact. On returning to the hotel before the next night were were told there was no remedy but to turn off the AC and open the window (the street was VERY noisy). There was not even polite consideration of our concern. Really we should not have paid for the first night at all.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Airconditioning didn't work during hot weather, spent half the stay arguing with staff about it. Minibar didn't work, ditto. Staff unhelpful. Cheap skimpy bedding. Hotel advertises restaurant, which was closed 2 days a week. Location on busy highway too noisy to open windows. No shops nearby except other hotel and strip club. No English-language TV. Decor neat but old-fashioned. Cleaning skimpy. Charges 5% credit card fee. Really the worst hotel I've stayed in for a long time, staff have no idea of customer service.

    Wifi adequate but slow. Average sized room. Nice lift.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff on reception was not very friendly actually

    The hotel was generally very nice..Clean , nice atmosphere and wonderful location.. The furniture was very nice and comfortable king-size bed. Nice view from the window. You can have a walk to the main places of interest without any problem ! All necessary things are in the room . Nice breakfast. Very light and pleasant music in the restaurant. I liked it a lot!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Family Apartment - Annex (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the reservation it was indicated that this is an apartment outside the hotel, but it was in a horrible and dirty building without an elevator on the 3rd floor. As you can see by the photo in the bathroom electrical cable, and it's dangerous, the towels lie almost on the floor. When I asked Julia in the reception room about the refusal of this room, she smiled and threatened answered me:you can leave our hotel but after paying the room. It was cold outside and I just had no other way with my family. It seems this room was for the hotel staff, but they decided to earn more money. It is a pity that in such a beautiful city there is such a terrible hotel

    Position its good...0

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I found it to be incredibly over priced, and moreover, like other reviewers, they charged a lot more than booking.com offered it for and had no explanation for it. The wifi was very unreliable and often would not stay connected. One of the nights the water would not get hot no matter how I set the faucet. Over all I would not recommend it unless you don't mind paying a lot just for the location.

    The location was nice if you don't mind a hike up the hill. I walked to the town in about 20 minutes, good exercise. The room was beautiful, nice architecture, though if you are a bit OCD about angles, some of the corners did not match up with the decorative ceiling molding.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel location is far away from city center. Metro station is far. I see many positive comments about breakfast, I think it was weak. The hotel does not deserve 4 stars.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were extremely thin and I could hear everything in the room next door. When complaining to reception after 2 hours they weren't helpful. Breakfast was served between 8-10 am, we went down at 9:35 and asked for more bacon to be cooked as there was none left, they refused to cook anything further. You could only eat what was remaining which wasn't a lot, a small bit of scrambled egg and 2 small sausages.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very rude. Hotel giving false information about travelling with pets. "Charges may apply" but at the end charging 15€/pet/night although not mentionning.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the night where I stayed in the hotel the speed of the internet was extremly poor. It was not possible to use Internet at all for some serious purpose. A hotel could add at least "croasons" on the breakfest menu. Not hotel's fault but one-way roads arround the hotel are very confusing. It is really hard to get to the hotel gate with a car following all the traffic signs.

    Everything, except what I didn't :-).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was good; bed and pillow were excellent! Breakfast was good enough, not so special but kept hunger away for several hours. Late check-out was good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sink in the bathroom

    We loved the breakfast. Although the parking is 10 euros a night, it is worth it because you can't find a parking space anywhere. The reception is open 24/7.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls are very thin and I could hear the noisy family next to me every time they got back to their room. Also the WiFi isn't reliable, it kept switching on and off.

    I read a lot of reviews saying the staff were unfriendly and cold. I have to say I did not experience this- they were lovely and went out of their way to help me. The room was also nice. Comfortable bed, nice shower. The location is excellent, I didn't find the walk between the hotel and the center of town to be overly long. Breakfast was fine though I would have preferred more fresh fruits.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bedroom and the hotel itself was very good, even tho its on a busy road there was not much noise and the food is amazing.....the staff was helpful when i needed help and overall my stay was very good....if i ever go back to budapest i am sure staying here again

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too far from city, the hop on hop off bus picks up miles away from hotel. no imformation on buses or where to go in room. no tea/coffee machine in room. none speakng british tv. noisey traffic almost constant. heating system noisey.

    Bed was superb, receptionst was lovely

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, although the Wi-Fi wasn't great!

    Brilliant hotel: Great staff, super, generous breakfast with lots of choice, fabulous bed, lovely quiet room, large tv, a/c in the room, little grocery store next door that was open 24 hours!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was pretty basic, nothing to remember. One type of eggs, some sausages and some cold meats and 2-3 types of cheese. The furniture feels old/used.

    The hotel is very close to a bus station, and it's only 2 stops to the center of the city. Walking distance is about 20 minutes, so also not bad. It was clean and quiet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No tea making facilities in the room.

    The room (43) is very nice, spacious and clean. The staff were very helpful and gave good advice on getting around.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Let's preface this by saying that there is nothing really "wrong" with this hotel. If you're looking for a decent enough 2,5 star hotel: go for it. It is not, however, in any way, shape or form even anywhere near a four star, as advertised on this website. For example, "free toiletries" means your ever favourite glued-to-the-wall "body and head"-shampoo/shower gel/whatever you want to call it. If you know what you're getting yourself into, you can just bring your own and that's just okay as well. If you, like me, expect something at least four-star-ish you anticipated actual toiletries and end up rushing into the nearest drugstore. That being said, two things to keep in mind regardless of the advertising issue: -Cleanliness was okay-ish. You'd want to double-check the cups and plates, though -The road is REALLY loud. Forget about sleeping with an open window, never mind how stuffy the air might be inside On a side note: Telling a customer that you would also accept cash is one thing. Getting annoyed if the customer wants to pay by credit card is quite another. I had to insist on using a supposedly accepted method of payment. Ummmm...

    Great Breakfast Buffet Helpful staff (albeit not as friendly as you'd want) Bus lines every few minutes get you into town really fast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It isn't 4* hotel. It is 3* hotel maximum. And big problems with payment - +5% for card payment... (like in a wild countries). and not guaranted HUF payment. I paid 4K HUF more than booking.com proposed.

    Only location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were unfriendly and at times rude, the air conditioners didn't work and we were blamed and charged 10 euros for a "broken window fee" even though we did not break the window. There was a bug infestation in the area and we were told not to open the windows our entire stay! The hotel is advertised as having soundproof rooms however you cannot even talk in your room after 10 without having a noise complaint. You can here the person next door cough/fart. Walls are like tissue paper. Hidden fee of 5% added to your stay if you want to pay with credit card. Hotel advertised as having a safe in the rooms when in actuality you have to pay 3 euros/day to use one downstairs. Restaurant and bar area close at 10pm so you can't sit and have a cocktail in the evening.

    The breakfast and the proximity to the bus routes were good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived on the Thursday 13 of October 2016; we were given room 31 on the third floor. When we first got there we tried to pay for the room in advance of our stay on card, he said he will charge us 5% extra so we said we would get cash out. He also said the equivalent of 235 euros was 80,000 Hungarian Florint, if you do the maths it should be about 72,000 Hungarian Florint, either he was really bad at maths or was trying to overcharge us, looking at other reviews, this seems to have happened before. When we entered the room, the first thing I noticed was how unclean the room was. The sheets didn’t look like fresh sheets, as there were multiple body hairs that didn’t belong to me on the bed, I was forced to remove these myself as I didn’t want to make a fuss. Within the first 30 minutes of being in the hotel, we noticed a large bug that resembled a cockroach on the curtain. We called reception and the guy came up and removed the bug, whilst he was removing the bug, another one appeared and he removed that. Having flown straight from work, we were clearly tired and were looking forward to having a decent night’s rest, after experiencing the unclean bed and large bugs, we were unable to rest or sleep comfortably at all, we spent the night with the duvets covering our faces. The next day we went down to breakfast, the scrambled egg resembled animal puke, there were no pastries left and the tables were not cleaned before we sat down. It’s safe to say, that was the 1st and only time we made use of the breakfast which was included.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Family Apartment - Annex (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We we're away from the main building because we had a family apartment. At night, some of the motion lights didn't come on so we we're walking in the dark.

    Breakfast was real good, staff was friendly and helpfull. Restaurant below hotel was excellent. Same place we ate our free breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When we checked in at the hotel we were informed that if we paid by credit card there would be a 5% surcharge for the use of the credit card. If I paid cash in Hungarian currency the cost was still higher than quoted; I did negotiate the total cost down slightly.

    Front office staff and breakfast staff friendly and helpful. Restaurant had good food and it was reasonably priced. Outside patio was nice. Local bus service, a two minute walk to stop, takes you across Elizabeth Bridge to shopping and restaurants. It's inexpensive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quality of towels are poor and it tarnishes the image of the stay in the hotel. They were rough as if they had been laundered many times. Guests in 4* hotel would deserve much better quality of towels.

    Good location, cordial staff, clean and well-equipped room, parking, wifi, tasty breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing wrong, but if I have to say something maybe that hotel is more for couples without children travelling with.

    Everything.The hotel was so clean and tidy, room was beautiful and lots of space. Staff was friendly.Just great hotel, great location, ok food etc.etc.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking has only 6 places available, but they put more than 10 cars at once (to cash more money - 10 euro/car) and in the morning you will be disturbed by the receptionis in order to move the car for the others to leave. The other tax parking near by is close to the hotel. Even though the receptionist that we met was friendly there is an administrator who is not friendly at all and it is even aggressive with customers. The breakfast is good but could be better (the espresso and cappucino are worse).

    The hotel is relatively close to the center. They accept euro and the price is the booking cost plus the city tax. Is more convenable to pay in euro if you don't have HUF.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle, tea or coffee in the room, only room service or restaurant. Asked to pay for the seven night stay in cash or pay a 5% extra for using a card. Paid by cash but bank charges were as bad. Paid much more than we thought we would for a weeks stay.

    Lovely big room and comfy bed. Air conditioning included and worked well. Nice restaurant but sometimes very quiet in the evening. Food and breakfast very nice. Staff always very helpful. Very good location 2 stops on bus and right in to city centre. Also 2 bus stop near citadel. Great views!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only matter that needs improving would be the hotel should invest in new towels.

    Great location one bus ride from the Pest side, clean, friendly staff, and great restaurant onsite. The breakfast included is well worth the money they put out a great spread of hot and cold options.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Family Apartment - Annex (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had severals problems with they, starting with card pre-authorization, continuînd with the fact that i booked an apartament for 4 people and they wanted to give us 2 rooms. I had to call them several times those from Booking to solve the problems (thank you Booking). Not to mention the fact that i have some money in my account blocked almost 2 weeks from check-out.

    The city.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    there is nothing to dislike about the Gold Hotel it self but, the hill to get to and from the City to the hotel required the use of the public transport that stopped within 50 yards or so outside the hotel and ran every couple of minutes

    On our arrival we found the Hotel staff to be very friendly and very helpful with reception staff offering good information on how to get around the city on public transport and with the presentation of a map of the city

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is walkable to everywhere in town but was slightly further to the bars etc than some people would like for nights out.

    Staff where very helpful and talked good English which greatly assisted us. We had room service and ate in restaurant at breakfast, both of which were very nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel staff was very friendly, helped with everything. The restaurant has a great selection of wines the food is also delicious. Breakfast was great. Rooms are more spacious as they look on the pictures. Everything was amazing, would like to visit again soon.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I reserved double room with two separate beds, however we had to stay in a room with double bed.Reason -> full hotel!

    Receptionist on the night shift16-17 July was very, very helpful...Thank you!! Cosy small hotel, perfect place, a lot of trees around, nice parking, decent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Receptionists were friendly just always been so serious, I had a feeling as if they had a problem with my dog, it was a strange feeling. I traveled alone with a dog, I paid full price for the room, the same as if they were two persons, and I had to pay another € 15 per night for a dog.

    The room was clean and nice. The roomservis is also a good thing.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Budget Family Apartment - Annex (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an AC in our apartment but were asked to pay another €10 per night to be able to turn it on. This is not mentioned in the description of the apartment.

    Location -at the foot of St. Gellért Mountain Good breakfast Comfortable clean beds

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in bedroom a bit noisy for sleeping.

    Great location. Comfortable and good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed hard.

    breakfast was ok. hotel clean and good location. near bus stop. over 65 yrs old has free transport which is very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is nice and well located.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, convenience to bus stop and cleanliness.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-Fi.. very bad

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    quiet and clean

    great clean closed to the center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was very rude

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is very poor ,old showers , no bar and no restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and the receptionist during the night was alot helpful, friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Family Apartment - Annex (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no washing machine in The apartment.

    Rooms were spacious & bed is comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking rule...as a guest you have to pay 10 euro extra for that.

    The staff, the room including the breakfast was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is good, if you don't want to be in bars and restaurants area with a lot of drunk tourists.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Family Apartment - Annex (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds a little hard.

    Had an apartment, it was large and had all we needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast good especially the coffee. Clean spacious apartment.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Gold Hotel Budapest traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: