Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Burg Hotel 3 stars

1014 Budapest, Szentháromság tér 7-8, Hungary

#164 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 923 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The condition of the rooms is very very poor. Needs refreshing.using mattress covers as doonas and tread bare quilts is not acceptable.The items broken in our room included the aircon ,soap dispenser,chair.I would definitely not recommend this hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one flat little pillow, two each of better quality would have made a big difference to me. I knew there was no elevator and asked for the 2nd floor , but didn't realize that would mean 4 sets of stairs , not two. The carpets were stained in our hallway, but inside the room was fine.

    The location of the hotel and the view from our room were both excellent! The breakfast, cleanliness first rate. It is very quiet at night for sleeping. The staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Time from last renewal is visible on carpets, doors, shower corner. Windows canť be fully open.

    Wake-up ring at 7 a.m. can be for somebody too early, for the others the early morning sound of church bells is the divine melody. Night view on the church and town from Fishermen Bastion.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There church's bell rings very loudly every morning at 7 a.m. It woke us up pretty early for a vactaion. It takes 15-20 minutes to cross the bridge to Pest side. When you go back you need to go up the hill. We recommend using bus number 16 (there is a stop very close to the hotel) or take other buses from Clark Adams square

    We enjoyed our time at the hotel. The room is very clean and old fashioned in a good way. We had a room with a view over Mattias Church and the Fishrman's Bastion which was absolutely amazing! Especially at night when everything is lightened. At night you can walk around and enjoy the views of the Parliament and the bridges. Also Buda castle is 10 minutes distance walk and also beautiful at night. The breakfast is varied with several types of cheese and sausages, omelets. eggs, vegetables and fruits, different kinds of bread, yoghurt, pastries and everything you need. There is a supermarket very close to the hotel and also several souvenir shops. The room includes mini bar which is nice and air conditioning. The staff is kind and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room and no mini bar, not that I am bothered about the mini bar but drink facilities always nice to have. The bed is a little hard and the sheets don't seem to fit the mattress. If you want your room made up you need to be explicit about that. Also if using the safe you will need to ask for the key. The hotel could do with a fresh lick of paint but otherwise clean and comfortable. A very good base.

    The Burg hotel is in the best location if you want to spend time in Buda around the castle area. Everything is on the doorstep, just a few meters from St Matthias church and Fisherman's Bastion. Room 109 directly looked out over the Sq. The transport system is great so Pest is just a short bus ride away. The breakfast at the Burg is okay, you can fill up to keep you going for the rest of the day without having to stop for lunch. I wasn't happy with the coffee though. The hotel is basic though so don't expect any luxuries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was sad because all my colleagues paid cca 30 euro less for their rooms/per night, and had really nice view to the castle, unlike me checking just the walls of the opposite buildings. Anyway I survived.

    I definitely enjoyed the location in the castle area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to ask for the safe key in your room, you must return TV & aircon remotes when you check out (I left mine in my room and had to climb the stairs again to go get them), the bells at the church across the road DO ring and breakfast was very basic.

    Right in main tourist section so expect crowds, close to amenities so expect queues, large room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some updating, carpets in ortocular are stained, curtains too old.

    If you are willing to accept basic rooms in return for the most stunning view on the castle then you should stay there. The location is priceless if you are in Budapest primarily to be in that old part of town, so you have your view directly on the castle like a postcard. The hotel can definitely use some renovation, especially the carpets in the rooms. The staff is friendly, cheerful and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you drive a car you will park in the public road and you must add 9 Euro for a parking fee. Bath room old fashion but clean. Except those everything was perfect.

    Really nice hotel with amazing location in front of Matthias Church in the Gellert Hill. Staff very helpful. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect for tourists, just on the castle hill and close to everywhere. Bus No.16 is right in front of the hotel door, very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at mid night and it has 24 hours receiption which is convenient for us. The hotel location is close to attraction of Buda side for us to plan one day visit nearby! The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated rooms ; excellent location; decent breakfast; the rooms need to be brought up to date and so does the staff (when required the remote for theA-C unit, I was told to open the window !!!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior and interior is relatively poor. That is just a pity, because the hotel has a great potential

    The position and the view from the room. Staff was also very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great.

    Excellent Location, Great Price, Clean & Comfortable Room, Good Breakfast and All the Staff were Exceptional. They really went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. If I am lucky enough to visit Budapest again, I will be booking Burg Hotel again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -interior of the hotel is clean but resembles 80/90s; -total darkness in the corridors during the night; -breakfast was rather poor; -lack of parking spaces when we arrived in the evening

    -amazing view on Matthias church from the rooms; -friendly staff; -price/value; -location, location, location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room smelled a little bit stuffy, but I was able to prop the window open and get fresh air without feeling cold. There's no kettle in the room, but perhaps at the budget price, it can't be expected.

    The breakfast buffet is very nice with excellent scrambled eggs and a choice of granolas and yogurt, among other items. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Overall, there is a happy vibe to the place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities no tea coffee making facilities and no plug in the bath as I wanted a bath. Breakfast was ok but don’t expect to get the eggs as there wasn’t enough in the morning

    The view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For me personally it did not have a lift ! but that was my fault for not noticing in the 1st place - because we were in an attic room it meant 3 flights of stairs with the 3rd being narrow - but the vista was well worth it - being older and infirm we tended to tried to not to be coming and going so much .

    Mark was wonderful and all staff spoke perfect English , Breakfast was plentiful and catered for our needs . The number 16 bus runs from the town center right up to the Hotel and because you are one of the main attractions you never waited more than a couple of minutes for a bus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's not a thing we really disliked, but if you aren't willing to walk much you might need to resort to taxis or other transports.

    Really well located and close to most spots that we wanted to visit on Buda side of the city. Warm and clean room. Breakfast was real good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is a bit firm for a side sleeper like me.

    You cannot beat the location or view. The staff are excellant, always helpful and friendly. The bathroom is perfect. Take advantage if the bathtub for a good soak after sightseeing all day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was made by two singles put together - not the best. There were some stains in the carpet which don't make justice to an otherwise clean room.

    The breakfast was superb and the hotel is beautifully located.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Beautiful outlook towards the square. 30 mtrs to busstop. Easy access to Pest with the bus. I would recomend this hotel! Enough breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding could have been better

    George and Thomas were wonderfully helpful, the view was amazing and location was superb...Jamie Oliver Restaurant fabulous as was Italian Restaurant opposite....would definitely stay at The Burg again and highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For us there was nothing to dislike, it was excellent! We'll have no hesitation in recommending and hope to return.

    Excellent value for money; wonderful view from the room ; comfortable and clean; excellent location in the heart of the old town (be aware that the church bells will wake you at 7 am!); staff very friendly and helpful; excellent breakfast with plenty of choice ; bus 16 stops outside hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Monday 23 Oct was public holiday and nothing (supermarkets, shopping centres, museums, etc.) was working. Should've been nice to be warned about this in advance.

    Location - in the heart of Buda's Castle District with a view to Mathias Church. Public transport (Bus 16/16A) take you to Pest in no time. And river Danube is in the middle! The hotel itself is nothing to be overly excited about but wasn't bad either.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No in-room coffee/tea. We have been staying at the Burg over the last few years, it could do with a bit of re decoration in the rooms. They look a bit tired now. Often we have a large top floor room, it would be nice to have 2 easy chairs with a small coffee table, as there is plenty of room.

    Ideal location to explore Old Buda, comfortable hotel, love the breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like having a tea and coffee caddy in our room, the Burg does not provide this; however, there is excellent coffee and tea available in the Breakfast dining area. Parking in the area is tight but not impossible. Hang on to your parking ID tab from the gate entry - for the hotel clerk to issue you a receipt, hang on both of them to present at the PAY kiosk as you drive out.

    The location is exceptional on Castle Hill. Our room had a clear view of the Holy Trinity Square, the Bastion and Matthias Church. Wonderful restaurants and museums are nearby. Rooms are nice and quiet for sleeping. The breakfast buffet is very nice!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was quite boring. The receptionist was not honest about the airport bus connection. In my opinion he touches a nice commission by promoting the taxis. 9.000 Ft against 900 Ft makes a difference. Finally, he just told me where my suitcase is without moving his bottom. It was clean and comfortable sans +

    The location on Budapest hill

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I found the mattress on the bed a little bit hard for my preference.

    The hotel was wonderful, location excellent easily accessible to other parts of the city. The breakfast was great and the staff very helpful .Our room was well serviced everyday left clean and tidy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault, would definitely stay again.

    View from the room was incredible. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was a good size. Breakfast was lovely with heaps to choose from.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, so if you are mobility challenged, this could be a problem. No other issues.

    It was in a perfect location in the historic Buda castle district. The hosts were super helpful. The room was great, clean and spacious. We highly, highly recommend this boutique hotel!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything was amazing and excellent - the hotel staff, room, views as well as the city and people of Budapest. An incredibly clean and civilized city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug sockets near bed, only ones by tv, no kettle but I knew that it's just nice to have kettle. Needs a refurb, but I'm sure prices will go up a lot after this. Just a bit dated but quiet and good breakfast. No English Channels not even the news!

    Fantastic location (apart from steps I climbed with suitcase) helpful staff carried case to room and gave me a better room they said Quiet no noise

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning a little too powerful being just above the bed

    Breakfast was great and tasty. Staff were very friendly, going the extra mile if needed to.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet with stains,mouldy bathroom curtain

    Nice breakfast,comfortable beds,amazing view,helpful staff,great transportation just outside the hotel,strong wifi

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a room in the attic of the building, very warm, without a 'proper' window. Dampness smell. Power plug out of the wall. The TV (17 inch, 5 m away from the bed) not properly working (because the poor contact in the plug and the antenna signal very weak). Electric shock risk, especially for kids. No fridge / minibar in the attic rooms (we needed it for kids food that we had with us). It really looked like an improvised room. We asked the reception to change it but it was not possible. They could at least make a discount. The didn't. 116€ in total including 9€ parking. Definitely not worth the price.

    The location is good in Buda' Castle District, just next to Matthias Church. Nice restaurants, excelent day and night views over the Danube and the old ceter of Budapest. Not appropriate if you want night fun in the Pest side, it's quite far from that area. Breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge. Uncomfortable bed .the hotel needs updating.No lift.

    Location is perfect infront of matthias church and fishermans bastion.very accessible to everthing.supermarket around the corner. Lot's of restaurants.highly recommended to stay on budaside.the room us clean and there is air conditioning.there is free wifi. Staff is good.touristy area but still quiet at night

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One man at front desk was more interested in being on his cell phone instead of assisting me-he was of no help and the blonde lady that is in charge of breakfast was quite rude. Didn't let it ruin my stay in the beautiful city.

    Location was perfect and quiet at night. Most of the front desk help was fantastic. Breakfast was good. Would stay here again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was no lift but plenty of willing hands to help with luggage

    This is a small hotel in a great position, great staff, very helpful, would recommend it to anyone, a light breakfast was included and no full restaurant, but heaps of places around to eat at.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish that it had an elevator, but I am getting older.

    In my opinion, best location in Budapest at a reasonable price. Very nice breakfast buffet. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff at breakfast not friendly. Not enough fresh fruit at breakfast. Difficult to return to hotel after a night out/meal in Pest walking so a bit far out for the main city centre.

    The reception staff were superb. Very articulate and helpful and patient - a real asset. The room was spacious. The view was fantastic and the area quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Generally the hotel is slightly dated in décor/fittings, but to be honest that's not an issue. (If and when they have a refurb/redesign the prices will go sky high.) When you are in a city like Budapest you are going to spend very little time in the hotel itself anyway, so not a complaint really

    Location is brilliant if you want to be in the Castle District. For its site its very good value

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was huge with an amazing view of Saint Matthias church & square. Breakfast was great. Staff were extra friendly and helpful.Although the hotel is on the square, there was no noise.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no need to change anything. The position of the hotel and the price makes up for small problems.

    The staff were very polite and very helpful. My room overlooked the beautiful square. It was very comfortable but the beds were a little too narrow. Other wise everything was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was lots of noise especially at night time.I couldn't sleep well at all.You feel you are sleeping on the pavement beside a street. The WiFi was terrible.You have to come to lobby and find a place near modem to have a good connection.

    Just the location wasn't bad.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift.

    The Hotel's location is ideal being opposite St Matthias Church & the Fisherman's Bastion , and a 900 metre level walk to Buda Castle. Buses to other parts of Budapest stop within 10 metres of Hotel. Room clean & fresh with a wonderful view of St Mattias Church & the Fishermans Bastion, Buffet breakfast served in a bright airy room with the same views as the room. Staff polite & very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early morning church bells might not be to everyone's taste. Location was for history buffs, and people who like a nice view and lots of steps, not party-pub seekers!

    Staff was very helpful. View of the square and church was great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    noisy even on Saturday - restauration site nearby, kind of old everything, including furniture

    beautiful location - next to the Fishermen bastion, large family rooms, good enough breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although not super practical to visit other sites, it is itself located in one of the most interesting (touristic) areas of the city. I'd advise to book this one for one night, then move somewhere in the center. Very quiet. Good wifi connection.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and bedding could be updated (my mattress cover slipped off continually), and the breakfast breads left something to be desired, but overall I felt very much at home in the Burg Hotel.

    The breakfast room had a coffee machine with espresso, cappuccino, hot chocolate, etc. The views at this hotel are outstanding and so beautiful. The area is quiet for the most part -- except for touristy traffic, which goes away at night. I loved staying here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet and decor are dated, but who cares at this price and with this excellent location.

    The view of Mattias Church just outside my window was absolutely breathtaking. The area all around the hotel is very beautiful and upscale. This hotel is where I'm sending any of my friends who are headed to Budapest. I think staying in Buda is the best choice, for the amazing views of Pest but with the peace and quiet and lovely scenery of Buda. There are a number of public transportation options around the hotel, and a short walk to a lovely vegan restaurant (Edeni). The included breakfast was pretty good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    we had a family room with 2 bedrooms, and there is no view from this type of room. No elevator in the building, take it into account if you have heavy luggage. The most annoying thing was a pressure of water. It is very weak, and took me a lot of time just to get shower.

    the location is perfect, just in front of Mattias church. There is a bus 16 next to the hotel, which comes every few minutes, and can take you either to the center of Pest or to Mammut mall in Buda. The breakfast is OK, nothing special. Stuff is nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Insufficient sound insulation. Location is very good for visiting the Buda Castle, but then if you want to move to the centre it takes time.

    The view from the room to the Church is amazing. Breakfast just ok.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At 7 a.m. you'll be woken up by the bells of St. Mathias Church.. but since it's a vacation you don't want to oversleep! Not much to do at night in Buda. You need to go down to Pest. If you take a taxi careful about the fares...

    Great location, in Buda hill (the old town), in front of St. Mathias Church. Very panoramic. Very easy to get to. Very low prices, with breakfast included.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On a nice neighborhood located "fast-in-fast-out" average+ class hotel, which had anyway cheap prices through booking, room was comfy and breakfast enough to get you full. You can really enjoy the most of this place with a friend or spouse.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wifi wouldn't work most of the time.

    The location is splendid tbh, 50 meters to the Bastion and 300 meter to the palace. It is all on top of a hill though, but there is an elevator by the palace that'll take you right down to the famous bridge. The staff were very kind and helpful, the breakfast fine.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 3rd bed was uncomfortable (leather extensible sofa). If you travel by car take into considerarion the parking fees (we paid 9Euro for a night).

    Location is great, in the city central, with view to Cathedral. Few steps away there is a sightseeing spot over the Danube and Parliament. Staff was very helpful and nice. The room was clean and big enough to accomodate 3 people.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the wifi signal was very weak. We found that we could only connect to the wifi in the bathroom

    The location is superb, right next to the halaszbastya. The night view from the halaszbastya was breathtaking. Remember to take the No.16 bus to the hotel. We took the No.5, and had to walk hundreds of steps uphill with our luggage.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom and really old building and furniture.

    good location. Just across the metro station. There are buses to the airport across the hotel. A nice street for shopping next to the hotel. Wifi was good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, very helpful staf. Surprisingly all people thruout Budapest speak very good english. Great value for the money we paid. We will defenetly return.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More local bread at breakfast and more fresh fruit. Plus the filter coffee wasn't so nice.

    Lovely friendly staff, warm room (important as v cold), amazing view, very clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has man Carpenters in the corridors and in the room and they appeared not clean. The breakfast did not meet My ekspectations.

    Friendly staff. Fantastisk view from the room to the church and city. Nice nabourhood.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location was perfect for my purpose, for sight seeing and for beautiful views of Pest on the other side of the Danube. One can get to the commercial part in less than 20 minutes using a bus.The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV should be much bigger.

    Thanks to the GREAT staff we get a room with a lovely view on Saint Matthias Church. Quiet and peaceful Old City area. Brakfast was good but there should be more bread, rolls and baguettes to choose from.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price seems to have gone up quite a bit and had to pay extra tax. No coffee/tea making facilities in the rooms

    Fab Location and a really helpful and friendly staff member on reception.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    missed having coffee/tea making facilities in room

    unmatchable positioning in the Old Town, spectacular views, have recommended to family and friends

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the room at the last floor with attic windows, which could not be opened fully. This made the room hot and stuffy. We asked for a remote to AC (it was October, so we weren't given the remote at check in), but the receptionist told us AC was centrally operated and it wouldn't work anyway since it was October. It was very weird to us, as it was a normal room AC module controlled by a remote. When we came back from dinner, the room was too stuffy and hot to sleep in with no fresh air, so we asked again for help, and at that time another receptionist (the other one went home) just gave us the remote without any problems, so it turned out the first one was just lying to us... Pretty low I would say. Apart from this, we liked everything in the hotel.

    The location was just amazing - right in the heart of the Buda district, just opposite the Matthias Church. The hotel has old-school Austro-Hungarian vibe, which we just loved. Very nice, rich breakfasts.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    OK, It is old, like communist old. OK, it is ugly. But, not having warm water, nor heating in mid-October and personal unable to help with the luggage because he was sick?! Come on!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly overpriced, but I think you pay for location here which is perfect.

    Perfect location right next to Fisherman's Bastion and Matthias Church. Lots of restaurants around. Good public transport to the hotel. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent Location. Very good Breakfast. Very helpful Staff. Excellent bus service into City Centre. A few minutes walk to a number of attractions.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were not the best. Small selection for breakfast.

    The location and views were spectacular! Bus stop right outside the door takes you to and from the pest side. Plenty of restaurants and cafes within walking distance. Breakfast was included.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very welcoming stuff and FANTASTIC LOCATION! Yes, the rooms are not modern and fancy styled but they are in harmony with surrounded area. Breakfasts are simple but nice. If you are looking for peace and harmony, historical places and great architecture you would enjoy staying here. If you are more for night life, better choose Váci utca (Váci street) area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Complete unprofessional attitude of the lady serving the breakfast.

    Very professional staff, realy friendly and helpful speaking very fluent English. Unfortunately, we had to cancel our last night and they do it without any penalties or comments. Marvelous view from the room to the Matyas Cathedral, Fisherman Bastion and the city. Sometimes we had the feeling that we were in Italy when we woke up with the peaceful sound of the bells. Little pets are free of charge and the parking is only 7 euros/day despite the excellent position of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower screens and perhaps a bit of help with my bag going up stairs as there was no lift, but I could have asked.

    The location was excellent. Adjacent to Matthias Church. Quiet, secure, low key, very pleasant and helpful staff, boutique, practical no frills but comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had requested a double bed, but the room had two twin beds which we scooted together. Not a deal breaker as we loved everything else so much.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. They always remembered our room number when we came in and out (you turn your key in at the desk). The location can't be beat, the view out of our window was spectacular (see picture).

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Burg Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: