Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Carlton Hotel Budapest 4 stars

1011 Budapest, Apor Peter utca 3., Hungary

#147 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2866 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Location great breakfast choice amazing no complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor the interiors are dated dark and more than 3 days there i think it would have altered my mood its a bit like the hotel cortez from american horror story prefer fresh clean light

    Location great breakfast choice amazing no complaints

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Hotel Carlton located on the Buda side, is centrally located...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing

    Hotel Carlton located on the Buda side, is centrally located close to the Castle and Chain Bridge. Walking distance to the subway, good bus lines and good restaurants. The hotel was very clean and had many breakfast choices. Across the small courtyard is a good pub called the Coffee Inn.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    From the minute we checked in until they called us a taxi to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the minute we checked in until they called us a taxi to take us to the airport their staff made us feel special. Great assortment at breakfast. Maybe the best thing is you are two blocks from Budapest great bus and trolly system. One evening, we walked the few blocks up to the top of Castle hill. We took the bus to the famous Szechenyi Spa Bath and up the hill to Castle Hill. View of parliament from our window.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    For our short stay it was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really.

    The hotel is very centrally located. The staff were very friendly and guided us and did the booking for us for the trip. The breakfast was excellent and room comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel in a great location for decent money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not find any negatives during our stay. We had everything we needed during our stay.

    Nice older hotel in a very good location with a good breakfast. Parking is also provided (only a few places and costs 15 EUR/day). Very comfortable bed and all other room facilities were provided. Staff is pretty helpful and speak English well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    4.6
    Good location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are outdated. Staff not very friendly. Room smelled of smoke. Bathroom not as clean as the other hotels we stayed at in Budapest.

    Good location . Close to fisherman's bastion.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.3
    Worth to stay for this value of money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Poor breakfast, the room is not cleaned always well. Staff at the reception is not welcoming.

    Location is good. The room is fine for this value. The bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.4
    location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    car and driver to airport arranged by hotel... poorly maintained car, many dings on car body raises question of safety, driver did not speak English. shower barrier fell and the reception person just brought up towels for the water and did not repair or advised how to proceed.

    location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Location is great.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is a little troublesome. You need to get off and use the hotel card to get inside and ask the front desk to open the garage door and then get back to the car and drive in. You also need to leave the key at the front desk in case someone might need to leave and your car might need to be moved. Rooms are small. Front desk doesn't speak good English and are not friendly. They don't even smile.

    Location is great. You can reach many famous scenes in Budapest in walking distance! Buses are also nearby easy to use.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Visit to this discreet hotel exceeded expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Just a warning: if approaching by foot with luggage from the Chain Bridge, you'll need to access via the garage entrance as there are steep steps to the hotel itself. However, when you press the bell for access, reception staff will view you on camera and open the door immediately.

    Location was very peaceful, but within easy walking distance of Buda and Pest, of local bus stops and restaurants. Rooms very comfortable. Very good breakfast, with frequent replenishment of all foods. Free tea, coffee and biscuits provided in the afternoon. Reception staff very helpful without being 'gushing'.Hotel met requirements expressed at time of booking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Best high value hotel in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower screen should be longer so that water does not drip on the floor.

    Best breakfast, Very healthy food. Variety of choices. Family- friendly. Very friendly and informative staff. Walkable distance to attractions and restaurants. Highly recommended. Arranged the transfer to the train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    The staff at the reception area in the morning was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the reception area in the morning was exquisitely helful in all aspect. He attended to my needs when i was have trouble printing my ticket and they were really courteous..than the 2 staff in the evening .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decoration very old. Air condition hot and not working will. No TV arabic channels. Shower water goes out of the path. Breakfast is poor. I didn't like the hotel at all.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Great property in a great location. Fix the internet and this is a 9.5 property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only reason for the slight downgrade of this property is that the internet was terrible. Downloading anything was painful. This needs to be addressed.

    great location 50 meters from chain bridge on the Buda side. Easy walk up to the Buda top. Very good breakfast. Rooms a bit small (normal for city) but comfortable beds. Parking garage on site. Tight but convenient for 15 euros/night. Coffee service during the day is a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel , convenient for both sides of Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of anything. Would definitely stay here again.

    Convenient for both sides of the river and only 5 mins walk to the Chain Bridge. The Hotel was clean and comfortable with very welcome air-conditioning in the rooms. We were on the 7th floor which was very quiet. Although busy, there were always tables available for breakfast in the light, airy restaurant. Liked the fact that we could use the room key card to enter the garage on the ground floor and enter the lift from there- to avoid climbing the external steps to the Hotel entrance after a busy day walking around Budapest. Choice of access to the Castle area, including a combination of free elevator and lift which were accessed via the gardens of the Castle Garden Bazaar between Chain Bridge and Elizabeth Bridge on th eBuda side of the river. Appreciated the fresh bottles of water left in the room fridge each day , the drinking water fountain in the reception area and the secure left luggage room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Honest excellent team.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Left a watch in bedroom on check-out. Returned 6 hours later to collect luggage & reception asked me for the time. Wow here was the watch. Great honesty & integrity 👌🌞Definitely be back, thank you 🕒

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Excellent, value for money base to explore Budapest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was close to the elevator so people sensitive to noise might want to ask for a room further along the corridor.

    Excellent location - just 5 mins away from the Chain Bridge and underground parking available - literally walking distance from the centre and Buda Castle. Reception gave us excellent recommendation for dining options, room was clean and comfy and breakfast was very generous and included many options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.8
    Never more.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is old and dusty hote. It was a big fail. Never more. Empty minibar in 4star hotel ...

    nothing, they stopped to take care about this hotel 3 years ago and it looks like it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    Not a catastrophe, but would pick another place next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This actually is not a 4* hotel, but rather an enhanced 3*. For the 4* it lacks the space. The room was not close to 20 sqm as advertized, but probably below 15 sqm. The staff is not very kind, except one cool senior guy. Otherwise they cherish the "NO" culture. The breakfast is abruptly quit at 10 am, with people still eating around - no flexibiltity even on weekend days. We had tough time to keep our car in the garrage for full 2 days that we payed for - they wanted to get us out also of the garrage at the checkout time. Too expensive for too little, except the location.

    The location is really perfect. Right on the Danube shore at the Buda side, and before the tunnel, which is very important for commuting downtown.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Breakfast not over the top but more than adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ladies making up the rooms always forgot something. Tea bags,new cups,toilet paper It also would have been nice if the coffee machine which dispensed an excellen brew would have been left on during the afternoon.

    Breakfast not over the top but more than adequate. Location cannot be beaten. Just below the royal pakacee and the citadel and near the Chain bridge. Staff could not do enough to make our stay avey pleasant one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice and quiet hotel in beautiful Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not as good as we expected, and although with some nice exceptions, the service did not include smile.

    The location is good, quiet street just off the busy main streets next to the Chain Bridge. The beds are excellent and rooms are quiet and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    4.2
    Enjoyed Budapest wouldn't recommend the Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed. Hotel interior painted in dark brown and purple with dark curtaining. Very little natural light . Depressing atmosphere. Bad choice of not picking Pest side.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Very warm welcome and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything great. good value for money. One minor thing: the rooms are not very big (no extra armchairs or the like).

    Very warm welcome and friendly staff. Good location in walking distance from castle. Good breakfast (though very loud as the breakfast room as a large capacity, which means no waiting even at peak times). We would come back! Good restaurant next doors and more in walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Want a perfect hotel to stay in? Go to the Carlton Hotel Budapest, you will be glad you did!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    To negotiate the steps from both sides to the hotel entrance was difficult for a person with walking difficulty. It would be nice to design some way to ease that.

    EVERYTHING!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Didn't like the tinned fruit for breakfast. It would be nice if the breakfast staff greeted the guests in the morning (It costs nothing to say 'Good Morning'). Also the reception staff were not always at the reception desk to greet guests when they return to the hotel.

    This hotel is in an excellent location. Breakfast is good but fresh fruit would be a lot nicer that tinned fruit. Helpful and some friendly staff, in particular Richard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    Fair but amazing position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite a climb to get to the hotel. Very mediocre breakfast. Staff pleasant but didn't make us feel extra special as they did at the Grand Majestic Plaza in Prague.

    Position

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The remote control is dusty, the door of the cabinet where the fridge is, is broken. The sofa bed is laid out as bed although it's just the 2 of us checked in.

    It is a very nice location. Close to bus stops. Near the Chain Bridge, Buda Castle, etc. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.4
    For a Carlton hotel..this place left much to be desired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a Carlton hotel..this place left much to be desired. It was very basic for the price I paid for it and definitely does not match the Carlton standard that I have seen at other hotels of the group. You can find much better place for the price I paid.

    Staff was friendly and Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.4
    It was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not cleaned well. The floor was dirty and the bathroom sink was dirty. Dirty glasses were not removed. Decaffeinated coffee was not served at breakfast, instant decaffeinated coffee was served.

    Taxis were called by the front desk. Our room had a balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    The hotel has the perfect location, 300-500 meter till...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has the perfect location, 300-500 meter till Buddha Castle, all sightseeing are in very short distance from the hotel, we even haven't used any transport to go through the city. Very clean room with perfect breakfast. Free wi-fi Very good view from the window and very calm place to have a rest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, friendly people at the reception, we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordinary breakfast, the bread didn’t seem very fresh (hard to chew) and no croissant. The choice could be better. The sink seemd to leak but we didn’t complain as it didn’t disturb us too much

    Perfect location, friendly people at the reception, we arrived too early and could leave the luggage in storage room The price is cheap for 4* hotel! The view from the hotel was very nice, we could see all main sightseeings

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Good place and choice is yours
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is not the negative side, just you need to consider this as well. Entrance in to the hotel is positioned between two buildings, this can be considered as interesting, more then negative. Hotel was located in the old area and in the historical part, very vintage looking area, it is positive for me, but for some people can found negative. First impression, at hotel entrance looks bit to dark, dark brown entrance interior gave the claustrophobic feeling, but there is the natural light presence and have positive impact on that. You need to take into the consideration that building it self was old and it has history, also positioned bit from the main street and it is calm and quite area.

    Hotel location was definitely great one, next to Chain Bridge and under Buda Castle. You need 15-20 minutes walk to Vaci Street across the bridge. You will be in the middle of the all famous places of Budapest. Hotel breakfast was good one, with variation of food offer. Hotel have parking lot but with limited number of parking spots and you need to make early reservation with 15 Euros per day. We have found this solution as best possible. Parking on the street is the 3 hours limited and there were the public garage 800 meters from the hotel. We have definitely biggest room in the hotel with small garden, but it was on the lower floor, good for smoker and morning coffee. In room you have electrical water kettle. The rooms have central heating system and you can control that and it works perfectly. Hotel Key Card are sensitive to the mobile phone, keep it away from your mobile phone or it will not work. Reception Staff is friendly and helpful as well all other members of the hotel. Opposite of the hotel entrance you can enjoyed small cafe bar, across the street, do not worry there is no traffic at all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    I will be staying in this hotel when I will be visiting Budapest again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to park and the pillows were thin and not comfy.

    I like best the location of the hotel...it is very accessible to the most important attractions of Budapest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    1) The room size is good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) A bit away from central location, need to walk or take bus for city center.

    1) The room size is good enough 2) The breakfast is very good with lots of varieties.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay and can recommend the hotel. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had prepaid the transportation from the hotel to the airport but it never arrived. The personnel had apparently forgotten to order it.

    The location was excellent, the room very clean and we enjoyed the breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location near to fisherman’s bastion, chain bridge and...
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t really comfortable and there weren’t any good restaurants next to the hotel, unfortunately. And the hotel has no restaurant for dinner, that’s a pity to.

    Great location near to fisherman’s bastion, chain bridge and also good location in buda side. Near to vaci utca. Nice stuff and the cleanness was good as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Great Stay in Budapest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice and comfortable bed, good room size, free bottled-water in the room. Warm temperature, perfect location in the Buda side of the city. Very quiet at night. Breakfast was included and it was nice enough with lots of choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.5
    Had a wonderful stay no complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location,just near Clark's square where you can get hop on hop off bus.couple of good restaurants near by and side tram up to Buda castle.Breakfast was good.If you are a smoker get a balcony so you can have a smoke

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    Amazing stay would recommend to anyone wanting to explore Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quilts and pillows on bed too small. Rooms smelled of smoke even though we were on a non smoking floor, may be down to guest rather than the hotel but still a bad point.

    Friendly, helpful staff happy to help with anything you need. Great central location of hotel that makes it easy to get to any of the amazing things to see. Breakfast included which means your set for your day exploring.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.8
    Good hotel but poor facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of bar, the bar was there but never open. Was told use bar opposite instead! Which was fine apart from being told we couldn't have a drink there one night cos they were expecting to be full - whatever happened to first come first served? ?

    Very central, nearby restaurant and bars. Comfy bed, clean. Staff helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    4.6
    Bathroom was not functional at all, not possible to take...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not functional at all, not possible to take normal shower. Brekfast not tasety with cheep ingredient. Very bad for declared 4 star hotel. We'll rate this hotel like 2 star hotel. Sorry !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Awesome, good location, good breakfast, fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel has prepared some juice and coffee to drink from 1pm to 5pm free of charge for the guests. I really appreciated it, because after air travel and going by bus from the airport to the hotel, I was really thirsty and tired, some coffee, juice and biscuits were extremely helpful and made me feel very welcome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.7
    The staffs are very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is a bit too soft. The choice of breakfast is not much. It will not be a convenient place if you come by car.

    The staffs are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated in the resident area. It is pretty quiet in the night. The bathroom is pretty clean. There are many good cafes and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Almost 5 stars Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We think the hotel got a great vibes! Staff ..location .. breakfast.. rooms .. beds ..everything was perfect ! We injoyed every thing..hope we could stay longer ! We loved our stay at the hotel and would recommend to anyone!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is adequate and not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was more like 3 stars than 4 stars. The room was very disappointing as it was small and dark. The breakfast was ok , the fruit salad was only tinned fruit and hot food was limited. Staff slow to replenish items at breakfast which was very busy

    A good location on the Buda side. The bathroom in the room was modern and bright. Hot drink making facility in the room. Car ordered through hotel to take us to airport was a luxury car. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Superb location and comfy triple room
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking space

    The room comfortable.large and clean.location superb.small hotel but its good.after i read many review about this hotel, i little bit worried..but alls perfect.not too good not too worst.just ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.1
    A very enjoyable visit to this lovely city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not very comfortable and double beds were not available at the hotel!

    Location of the hotel was very good but a little hidden from view to the tourist arriving for the first time

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.8
    If you need a place just to stay somewhere, its okay. Not a 4 star hotel more like a solid 3.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I arrived, the guy at the reception asked me for a credit card, just in case. I've tol them the number of my card and the expiration date. He turn over my card and copied my security code from the back. Whan I told him, that I don't want him to write this number, because it is not safe he told me that if he would want to use my card for fraud the number and the expiration date is enough for him and did not erased this number from his paper. You can hear everything from the corridor and the elevator is noisy too.

    The location is awesome. The breakfast is okay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Nice hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice hotel in a great location. Very well placed close to castle and museums and stop for hop on hop off bus. Btrakfast is good and free tea abd coffee in afternoon. Next to several bats and decent restaurants. This hotel and its location is perfect for city break.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    5.4
    The luggage room stays wide open and they don't have any...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The luggage room stays wide open and they don't have any system in place to monitor who takes what. I could't leave my laptop there so I ended up carrying it with me all afternoon. When asked to order a taxi they called the hotel cab who charges three times more than a regular taxi, so every time I had to explain I need an ordinary taxi. Overall the staff at Reception was quite rude.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.0
    The biggest problem was building renovation, the reception didn't inform me that there is renovation
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The biggest problem was building renovation, the reception didn't inform me that there is renovation in the floor where i stayed it was very noisy i couldn't even stay in the room from morning until at least 4:00 pm, i think if there is renovation in one floor they should closed it not giving guests rooms in the same floor.

    The hotel was normal for this price i would excepted more it was better when i visited a year ago this time was really bad, i think it's dropping.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice stay in Budafest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is located little stiff and kind of hard to find it. If you have a big lugguge the n use cab for a ride. The cost of room was rather expensive

    Clean room and lobby. Enjoy the stay in the hotel. Breakfast was enough to have it. Free waters and cattle was really nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice place, great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We requested a double bed but were given two single beds pushed together which was disappointing. Breakfast was very standard.

    The hotel is right beside Buda Castle and Charles bridge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    Good place for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No change of the offer for the breakfast during 7 days stay. Empty minibar.

    Very convenient location, nice room. Good value for money. Complementary water

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    6.3
    It’s near of center ,bridge , funicular .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    small room with no slippers and bath accessories, accommodation is only after 15 o'clock, poorly diversified breakfast

    It’s near of center ,bridge , funicular ..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Location of the hotel is perfect everything is by walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is on the street with extra cost.

    Location of the hotel is perfect everything is by walking distance. Rooms were clean and spacious. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    4.2
    breakfast was good with every thing that one could want to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    under the bed was full of dust, wasnt cleaned for months., the bed in general was not comfortable staff at the reception is completely unfriendy and rude!!!! at arrival we werent even greeted and were only asked for a card to pay and the receptionist was a very rude man completly unfriendly the other member of the staff who helps with things was very nice and friendly

    breakfast was good with every thing that one could want to eat

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice location in the heart of Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we arrived, we had to find a parking spot a few blocks away, as we didn't book a parking place in the hotel's own garage. Then we found out that there is a long flight of stairs to the hotel entrance, and even though there is an elevator, it is not accessible from outside, but only from the garage. Finally we were a bit surprised to find out that the minibar in the room was completely empty....

    Excellent location, good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Good location, nice hotel and friendly staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Hotel is very nice, we arrived very late at night - should landed around 11 pm but got delayed so arrived arond 1 am. We sent email to informed the hotel before that we will arrive late, they replyed promtly :-) And staffs were very friendly and helpful, gave us map and travel advise. Breakfast is good, many choices ,place is cozy to sit. In afternoon they served coffee and tea at lobby too. Room is nice and clean, comfortable bed, have fridge and tea/coffee and free bottle of water. Location is good, very close to chain bridge and budapest castle. You can easily walk to the city or anywhere. Can easy take bus , tram or metro with 24, 72 hours ticket . Nearby have good restaurants and bars and safe to walk at night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    The staff was very kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom didn’t smell nice, the bed(mattress,pillows and bedsheets) was very uncomfortable and the room was small. Also the room was too hot and we couldn’t diminish the heat.

    The staff was very kind and helpful.The breakfast had a wide variety of things to eat and they were tasty.The smokers room had a balcony so the room didn’t smell smoke.The location was good(about 1km on foot).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Overall excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were two singles pooled together

    Nice, clean hotel on the Buda side, right next to the chains bridge - walking distance to both Buda and Pest main attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    4.6
    One of the best restaurant in Budapest is in walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and bad shape room. Too noisy. My wife had to call reception in the midnight to ask other room to behave

    One of the best restaurant in Budapest is in walking distance

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.0
    May not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean and breakfast is average. Cleaners didn’t clean the bath tub carefully and the carpet looks dirty.

    Location is greater. Close to the chain bridge and Buda Castle.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.5
    Overall I recommend Carlton and if i go back I will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom....it is not safe especially the bath tub with the moving divider....everytime it is used water is spilled...one gets scared since it mifht be slippery

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.5
    two fun nights in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My husband stated that the bed would have been better if it were one big bed and not two small beds together.

    The staff was very friendly and assisted us with booking a dinner cruise and recommended a dinner place next door that was fabulous. The breakfast was tasty and the staff cleaned and frequently replenished the food as we went to eat at a peak time. The hotel is located at a very good area with walking distance to many places to see in Budapest.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Location and ease of getting to transport and tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The temperature in all areas of the hotel especially in the bedroom and breakfast room was far to hot and unhealthy. I asked at reception about turning on the air conditioner to cool the bedroom down but was told it only blows hot air in the winter!. Even though I turned it off in the bedroom, it was still to hot.

    Location and ease of getting to transport and tourist attractions

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Great location, excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location close to the downtown and also to the castle. Breakfast with a various selection. The Staff was very polite, with a lot of useful information. They have an own garage, 10 EUR per day.

    Position, parking, breakfast, polite staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.1
    Lovely city very cold in winter would like summer break there. Not warm or helpful nation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the Hungarian people would not be considered warm including some of hotel staff. Had a little conflict about requests I had email them in advanced but eventually it was sorted to some degree but no disagreements should happen between customers and staff

    Location of hotel is on buda side just below the castle. Its a few mins walk across d chain bridge to get to Christmas markets located at sy Stephen church. Hotel has new free coffee juice section open in the afternoon. Hotel very clean and warm. Good variety of food for buffet style breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is near the Chain bridge, so it's close ( 5 min walk) to the center of Budapest ( St. Stephan's Church, Vaci street, Parlament, etc.). The room was clean and comfortable ( although it can be a little bit bigger) and breakfast was excellent. Also it has private banking, but we find parking space on street ( it was week-end, so we paid just Monday morning).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.5
    Great location with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were never properly cleaned. After a couple of days we found dust on ledges, the phone and all exposed surfaces. This was probably about a week of dust which you would not expect in this hotel! I told the staff at reception I was not happy. It was a great bathroom but the toilet seat was really dreadful and flimsy and must have been the cheapest on the market!

    Our third visit. Location, friendly staff and great breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay , but would like a different room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room we had 513 was next to lift so you could hear everyone coming and going when you're trying to sleep, also you could hear the lift noise. Also the view was of residential flats opposite.

    Breakfast was good , wi-fi good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    i should definitely suggest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't get how to manage the room temperature, however, it was warm enough. I think the mattress could be better.

    The breakfast was very good although small variety but basic and plenty. The room was quite comfortable. The bathroom was excellence and full equipment. The location was great 3 min from a bus stop where it going to Deak Ferenc in 10min. The staff quite helpful. Anything we ask they get it for us.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.7
    It's nice to recommend to my friends except the pillow!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillow is not comfortable.

    Location is very close to the castle and bridge by walking. There are a plenty of options for breakfast and the free of afternoon tea and coffee are very nice when we enter into the lobby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.1
    The hotel is good to a short stay. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a problem with a shuttle service. We booked this service by booking.com but the hotel staff said they didn´t received any service schedule and we had to do it by ourselves.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    Very good option
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location, waking distance to the touristic area. Nice and helpful staff, very good breakfast. Good ideea to offer free coffee, juices and water in the afternoon.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Carlton Hotel Budapest traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: