Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Castle Garden 4 stars

1012 Budapest, Lovas u. 41., Hungary

#74 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1123 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I came for breakfast just before closing time, there was not much left. Staff at breakfast were not very helpful.

    Quiet spot just under the Castle, spacious room and bathroom. Receptionists friendly and helpful. Lift. Close to public transport. Close to the Castle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed only for two nights but the staff was very friendly and made sure I could check in as early as possible, could some refreshments while I was waiting. My room was nice and the airport transfer they have arranged for me was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast : It was ok, could have been much better with few more varieties.

    Location : Buda side historical places are nearby. Room : Spacious and quiet. Food : Great Italian restaurant serving the best pizza.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was very disappointed with the bar and restaurant facilities. Out of the 4 nights of our stay we could only use the bar or restaurant for 2 nights as they had private functions on. So we had to find other places to eat and drink. I complained about this and was told the bar and restaurant was nothing to do with the hotel. If this was the case I definitely would have not booked this hotel.

    The location of the hotel. The beds were very comfy. The room was decorated very nice and very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Minor building mechanical issue when we checked in that was addressed immediately once we informed the friendly hotel staff.

    The hotel's location is phenomenal for exploring Buda, especially if you want to walk the Castle District, particularly in the evening after it has gotten quiet. The attached restaurant is also great with good food and pleasant staff. Excellent proximity to major metro and subway lines and lots of restaurants and shopping within a five to ten minute walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn’t like was coffee we had with our breakfast.

    Breakfast was very good, extra comfy bed. Bottle of wine to welcome guests. Perfect stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing I didn't like was quite a strong smell from the carpet in the room (probably it's a problem of my specific room). I think the hotel staff should replace it as soon as possible. Also card holder near the entrance door seemed a bit damaged. And a fridge could be a bit bigger. The rest was good.

    Extremely good location near Buda Castle at the side that is not flooded with tourists but gives you instant access to this perfect Budapest site. Great restaurant - Riso - with a discount for hotel guests. One of the best restaurants in Budapest I've seen so far. Quiet place and rooms, nice district and surroundings. A great location to start your business trip to Budapest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were not very satisfied with the quality of the restaurant service. We were waiting 50 minutes for two soups, the service simply forgot about us ...

    Very good place near historical centre of Buda, nice room and fantastic idea - personal smartphone for every room with all suitable information and maps.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like all of Budapest a smile was hard to find

    Fantastic food at breakfast lunch and dinner Beautiful bird calls in early am Appreciated the nature setting and walks within the walls of Buda

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked taxi at front desk for May 13th at 9:00 am to airport, the tax driver was extremely dangerous driver, he drove 110 km/hr at 60km/hr zone. One person's safe belt was not working properly. We had one incident that driver had to step on break very hard to avoid accident because of his speed. I screamed naturally because it was very scary situation and safe belt was not working. We had to warn driver "slow down". We sent email to hotel twice and requested response, because we all are worried that this driver eventually will lead serious car accident for innocent people. We requested hotel to report this to taxi company. However, Hotel just ignores my emails. As hotel, they should hire quality driver.

    Well, do not recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not use the restaurant for the first two nights of our stay due to it being closed fir private parties.

    Excellent and very convenient location for sightseeing & public transport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit modest. OK, but would expect more from hotel with (supposedly) very good restaurant. No refill of cakes or bananas was made at 9.20 (when everything was eaten) and breakfast is till 10.

    Location of the hotel is great if you wish to stay in Buda part, easily accessible by car and public transport, walking distance to main attractions in Buda. Surrounded by park in quiet neighborhood, public parking available nearby (free on weekend). Terrace on which breakfast was served is stunning, especially on sunny morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I could complain about whatsoever.

    The staff were extremely helpful and polite. The room was comfortable and clean. The bath and shower were excellent after a long day travelling. Service overall was excellent, it is very close to a major travel terminal and all amenities are close at hand. An excellent hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One small minus - smell of dust in the room (don't see dust, but smell) and in the corridor, that is why sometime it was hard to breathe and air conditioner worked almost all the time. It could be better if wet cleaning of carpets on the floor would be provided often.

    Very nice and stylish place, close to all famous places! Free mobile phone with Internet, maps etc - is amazing idea!!! Pleasant staff. Room was very good, there was all needed furniture and equipment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the day of our arrival - hair in the bath. We were sure that it wasn't cleaned. Reception couldn't do anything, because there were no other personel who could clean our bathroom at 10.00 p.m. - they only said that it's unacceptable and apologized. And we had to use dirty bathroom.

    Nice breakfast, perfect localisation near to the Buda Castle (in our opinion the most beautiful part of Budapest), comfortable bed, cosy room. Except that situation with bathroom - everything was really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is excellent for Buda and especially the castle, but also Pest. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Restaurant is excellent and breakfasts were very good. Overall would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apart from the lovely location and the various amenities provided by Hotel Castle Garden, we also really appreciated the Travel Buddy - a cell phone available in our room, which we could take with us while sightseeing. Consequently, we could navigate around town much easier and we could also select from the various sightseeing options, which were reviewed within the app. On returning to the hotel in the evening, we could just put the Travel Buddy back in its docking station and resume our walks in the morning. We also loved that some of the most important objectives were within walking distance from Castle Garden. It was a romantic stay and we found the provided perks to be very welcoming: free drinks on arrival, books, coffee & tea buffet etc. We're definitely coming back again :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I lost my Ring in my hotel room. It disappeared between after dinner when I still had it on and the next morning after we left the room when I didn't have it on. The room was cleaned after we left for that day. The hotel has not been able to help me locate the ring, and I am convinced that it was lost elsewhere...

    Good location, clean and large room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was overheated. I always woke up in the middle of the night all sweaty. And i hope they didnt made the 2 single bed into one.

    Perfect location. The staffs were extremely helpful and polite. Food at the restaurant was good. T’was an excellent place to stay in Buda side. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a firmer pillow

    How central it was to every thing by walking & the number 16 bus was always on hands if not wanting to walk & all the staff were very helpful ecspecially on checking in , loved the phone you could take with you full of information & the Rooms where very clean & comfy & great value 👍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very nice hotel on great location - just few steps away from all attractions on Buda side of the city, we reserved budget double room but there was nothing budget in the room - all perfect, we enjoyed nice dinner in hotel restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very sweet, small hotel. Staff is very polite and helpful. Nice restaurant is inside hotel. Room Panorama (on the top of building) is with beautiful view. Location is great, near Buda castle. Very quiet and peaceful place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Well appointed and modern rooms, great quiet location (best, actually). Staff on reception very helpful, knowledgeable and efficient, restaurant excellent with great service, wide menu range and first class quality and presentation. Pizzas top rate. Prices surprisingly good. Also very convenient after a day's sightseeing below in Pest.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    you need to walk for 5-10 min to reach the public transport so is not suitable if you have a kids or old person and you intend to use public transportation the baths are in western design so no water supply as we use in Arabic countries

    they give you mobile phone they call it handy that you can take it outside the hotel provide you with free calls in many countries in addition to free net and maps they behave so friendly they have touristic tickets

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room could do with a more thorough clean, it had a few cobwebs in the bathroom and there were a few hairs around when we checked in. Nothing major or particularly off putting, but could do better. The towels could also do with being replaced as they are looking a little tired and would be a quick win for an improved experience.

    This is a good hotel and an excellent location if you want to be on the Buda side of the river. It's only a short walk from the Metro station and was easy to get there via public transport from the airport. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable. We didn't use the Wellness Area but it looked ok, it's a shame it's not included for free though. The free refreshments in reception between 11am and 5pm is a nice touch, although we only managed to return from exploring the city before 5pm on one day to benefit from them.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing

    small hotel with intimate, personal, warm atmosphere. Just outside castle walls on castle hill with all its magnificent buildings. Close to buses, metro and tram stations to Pest. Very good restaurant and very good breakfast. At night you get your needed quietness. Great WiFi. Highly recommended hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location, helpful and kind staff, nice room. What surprised that in every room is available a free mobile phone with internet, free calls abroad, one can use it around the city as tourist guide, take pictures and call whereever you need. I definately recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location of the hotel is exelant,the staff us extremely friendly,the breakfast is plentiful and diverse.A total impression,exelant,I would recommended everyone to this facility.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little overheated, even for the winter season. We had to constantly open the windows.

    Excellent location in the Castle district right beside Fishermen's Bastion, Hospital in the Rock, Military museum, Matthias church, Buda castle. Very quiet and peaceful area, friendly staff with great restaurant. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great and quiet location at the food of Castle Hill about 7-8 minutes walk from major transportation hub of Szél Kálmán tér and Mammut shopping mall. The room was very clean and cosy, the staff friendly and helpful. A standard equipment of my room was a smart phone type of device which I could use free of charge during my stay even for calling most countries around the world. The reception is open 24/7 and I got a welcome drink upon arrival. Soft drinks and coffee are also available in the reception area after 11 AM. All in all a very nice place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They just need a bar for guests to relax in.

    A quiet location that is just 100 metres from the entrance to the tourist area of the castle district and five minutes from the metro to Pest. The staff were amazing and super friendly - they had already arranged transport and restaurant bookings for us. The price of the stay was super. You even got a free to use 'handy'. A mobile that was pre programmed for touristy stuff, maps etc, internet and free phone calls. All very handy. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel has great location, very friendly and helpful personnel. Service is definitely 5 starts. There is nothing not perfect in this hotel. By the way, if you plan on using public transport - it's very easy. Busses 16 and 16A go every couple minutes just by the hotel. I recommend this place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good four star hotel; very convenient location, by the city walls of Buda. Well kept, clean, modern facilities, parking, sufficient mini bar etc. Interesting: "handy" service - durin the stay, you get your own android cell phone with a lot of possibilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got two single duvets on a double bed. We would have preferred one duvet.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful with booking excursions and tours. Reasonably priced. Excellent restaurant connected to the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast on Monday morning was in short supply. Seemed to be a little short staffed.

    Bed very comfy; Quiet & Pleasant location, very close to Buda centre. Reasonable price compared with boutique hotels nearby. Very useful smartphone provided in each room. Local calls and internet access no charge. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff upon arrival not very friendly or welcoming. Seemed as if she'd rather be elsewhere. No breakfast tea or milk in the room. Breakfast was very average.

    Walking distance to some lovely restaurants and the castle with excellent views over looking the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower door doesn't quite keep the water in and creates a miniature flood. The minibar isn't free, but considering the price of the room it's not really a big deal! The room temperature is quite warm. We didn't use the air con because it was a little noisy, there are large windows to open instead - though there can a little noise with groups coming out of the restaurant below.

    We booked a value room for one night, it was great for that. Staff were very helpful rooms are quite large, very spacious bathroom and everything was clean, fairly comfortable bed. We were catching a very early flight so didn't get to try the breakfast but had the free tea and coffee from the machine available at reception - this is a very nice touch, it's supposed to be from 9am-5pm but we were waiting for a taxi at 3am and asked if the machine could be switched on, the night receptionist didn't mind and helped us caffeine up for our journey - thanks! :-)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good bacon for breakfast. Very good location (Szell Kalman ter - metro M2 and Buda Castle in waking distance). Lots of useful information about the city and its features provided by the staff. Windows can be opened and adjusted to one's needs (if you dislike air-conditioning).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The whole experience was great. The hotel, although near the castle complex, is near a great deal to see.The hotel was good and the food excellent.The bed was a great king size, just what we had asked for. So often hotels give us twin beds even when we have asked for a double - I seem to fall out of single beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cleanness, staff attitude

    I have been in your hotel in the past and it was a pleasant stay, that’s why I made a reservation again. Together with my husband we spent the night of 13-14 of October in your hotel and it was a total disappointment as we found many bugs in the room. Initially, we planned to take a quick shower and then dinner at the hotel restaurant, but soon after arrival we noticed the bugs, coming out in various places (including bed) so we dropped the restaurant, thinking about how the kitchen might look. We could not sleep well either and in the morning I complained at the reception. The lady in duty told me that it is an invasion of bugs (called poloska), nothing to be done, is the same everywhere in Budapest. She offered me a “discount” of 15 euros, but I could not notice it in the final bill, as on the reservation the price was 111.60 euros (VAT included) and we paid 32,000 HUF, which is about the same. We packed our things as quickly as possible and left the hotel, hoping that no bugs are taken home in our suitcases. In the morning, I noticed on the corridor, there were leftovers at the doors, from the previous night, so something to be done: to clean those asap and use some chemicals to prevent bugs invasion. At such rate/night it is not a big deal. We filmed with the phone the bug called poloska, to find out more from the internet, as we were advised by the receptionist lady. I made a google research and nothing (I speak Hungarian), I would be interested about the so called invasion, all over Budapest. For sure, I will never stay again in that hotel, even if we are a frequent travelers to Budapest and its location is excellent (within the Buda Castle Quarter) and I do not recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a smart phone free of charge that you can take out with you. The restaurant attached was very good and you get 15% off if you stay at the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was a little too far from the Pest side of the city for someone travelling alone. Without notice the restaurant was closed for private functions.

    I liked that the staff were helpful about transport within the city and tourist activities and spoke English.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff do not seem to pass on messages very well. I had to repeat several times that as part of my deal, I was already guaranteed a late checkout. Then on my final morning, I STILL had a call from front desk with a very brusque announcement that checkout was 11am. On my first evening, the receptionist offered to reserve the restaurant for 1930 for dinner. When I arrived there, they had no record of my booking and were of course fully booked. Very annoying. The room was lovely but I think I will choose another hotel next time.

    Large room, comfortable bed and very clean and spacious bathroom. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard of cleaning needs improving, towels poor quality .Customer service in restaurant a little poor if you are a resident.

    Reception stàff first class, breakfast well presented and good selection offered.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough power outlets in the room - tricky to charge multiple devices at the same time. Also, the power located in hard to reach places - I would expect some right next to bed so that I can charge my phone and still have it close to me. Stains on the floor in the corridor.

    Nice underground parking. Very good breakfast. Good location - easy to get to most of the city attractions on foot. They provide you with a mobile device that you can use and take to the city with internet, maps, free calls, etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Milk for tea/coffee in rooms

    - Location was excellent, right next to the castle which has lots of sightseeing for the daytime and plenty of great restaurants for the evening - Buda side is much quieter (and nicer) than Pest - Good room size - Helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A reasonably pleasant stay was spoiled on the last mirning by housekeeping entering our room in the morning while we were getting changed, and again when we were packing up our room to leave. We complained to reception but she did not seem to care so we left a written complaint. This happened to other guests as well

    Reasonably convenient location close to Fishermans Bastion. Walking distance to old town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never follow GPS from train station to the hotel as it leads you have to get on tons of stone steps to the hill. If there is clear description about how to get to hotel from train station, that would be helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking and acces to spa were not free, the towels seemed old and one of them had a hole. The coffee at breakfast was awful, I think it was instant coffee

    Good location, near the Castle Hill and 15 minutes walk to the Chain Bridge, comforable bed, large bathroom, very clean, nice view and surroundings with a lot of vegetation, nice restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My daughter and I loved this hotel. It was very centrally located near the Castle district. Fabulous onsite restaurant. Staff were lovely and very accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At breakfast the hotel serves instant coffee, too bad for all the efforts to have a nice and cozy hotel.

    The hotel is very clean, the terrace is fabulous in the summer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Replenishing the coffee in the room, we had to ask at reception most days. The towels were very old, one day one towel had a large rip in it, one day no towels at all.Reception staff quickly rectified, but unnecessary.

    Very helpful staff fantastic restaurant attached to hotel great position for Fisherman's Bastion

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar / restaurant closed very early at 10pm

    The hotel is located in a quite area, behind the famous castle, but is still only 10 minutes walk from the centre. The staff were very helpful, in particular the young lady at reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the bath is designed a bit odd that couldn't prevent the water from spilling out when you take a shower in the bath.

    Everything is good. And the next door restaurant is also excellent with a 15% discount for guests staying at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A sauna/pool would have made this hotel;perfect.

    High quality establishment at very affordable price.Best value luxury hotel in Budapest.All the staff very friendly,professional and accommodating.Free hot and cold drinks by reception between 11am and 5pm.Room facilities exceptional and breakfast both varied and high quality.Absolutely loved this place;will definitely be staying here in the future.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the place for parking for check-in it's too small and occupied by other cars.

    the hotel is right near the wall of the old town with the Cathedral of king Matei Corvin. All the main museum and attractions are in the nearby. You have a garage underground for 13 euro.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On booking.com I reserved a superior double room with balcony. When I arrived at the property the receptionist didn't knew about my reservation because she told me that their email doesn't work. Also, I was told that they do not have any room with balcony and that I have to pay at check-in if I want a standard double room. While my reservation was for a more expensive room and, I had to insist that we should pay less then, not the price from my reservation. After a few minutes of talking the receptionist agreed to give me a reduced price since I didn't receive the room for which I made the reservation. The whole interaction with the receptionist was totally unprofessional. It was midnight and we had our 3 months baby with us so I didn't had more energy to move to another hotel. This was my third stay and the last at this hotel.

    The location very close to the Buda castle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had several problems during my stay: -There was not enough hot water for a warm bath. Basically had to take a icy cold bath. -Breakfast was very good, but at 10am, 1 hour before closing, the eggs were out, water was out and sausages and bacon were cold. Bread was about to run out too. During my whole breakfast (30min or so) I saw nobody filling the breakfast table. Lots of people setting up the restaurant outside though.. -Had an early dinner in the almost-empty restaurant (was very early). Sun was shining to only 2 tables outside and I wanted to sit in them. The waitress didn't like this (it was a 4 person table, and I was solo) and made me sit in in the opposite corner, possibly the windiest part of the restaurant. -I had to pay the tourist tax twice, upon entry and upon leaving. Tried to dispute this, but ran out of time and had to leave to catch a train to Prague. Before this check-out had already taken more than 20min because there were 2 ladies serving the customer before me and and one was just standing around doing nothing. All in all I'd say the place itself is very nice. However the staff doesn't seem that customer-service oriented and seem to more interested in making more money for the hotel/restaurant.

    The facilities were great - both the room itself and the restaurant attached. Breakfast was very comprehensive too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's probably a common remark, but pillows were very flat and flimsy, just a tiny textiles update would enhance a perfect experience.

    I like this hotel, and restaurant, I stayed here before and love the location: it's so quiet and relaxing, room has a nice patio/balcony, where one can have nice cup of tea. Pleasant surprise these time was bottle of wine- good one. Will be back for sure!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was brilliant. The only thing that we could be picky about is the fact as you're walking up the hill you come across the garage and a sign (Which was covered in vines) which tells you to walk up and round to get to the door. This however is just us being lazy!

    The room was very modern and clean, it had air con and had a large bath tub. It's only a 10 minute walk down to the metro station, bus and tram stops and an even shorter walk to the Buda castle district. The view was nice as we overlooked the city. This hotel was better than we were expecting and would highly recommend it, the staff were lovely and would always acknowledge you as you walked through the lobby and were very helpful with any requests.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    /

    The location is stunning, just outside the old bastion on th mountian. Easily accessible with public transport from Szell Kalman Ter. Room was spacious, nice bathroom, friendly staff and the restaurant is very tasty! (Make sure you eat there at least once but don't forget to reserve in advance!)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Airport shuttle I booked at the airport, grumpy drivers, and their was heavy traffic, which made them even grumpier I think!

    The adjacent Restaurant was lovely, offered a 15% discount to hotel guests, food was delicious, sat outside on the terrace to eat, appeared to be a popular Restaurant, needed to book, and family friendly. Hotel staff extremely friendly, and helpful, their English was great, compared to our no Hungarian!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In Buda side of Budapest which is the more cultural side. Quiet in the evening with excellent restaurants. Hotel restaurant was excellent with 15% off price for hotel guests. Easy access to public transport

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee was too american. May be a possibility to chose alternative.

    We especially enjoyed the restaurant and the friendliness of the staff. Good both for a drink or for a dinner. The breakfast was tasty and well prepared with good timing. Extremely easy to access and park the car. Staff was very friendy. We were offered a Welcome dring, which made a great impression. Very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The English of the staff was ok for basic comunication.

    Very cozy place, amazing restaurant. Easy arival from the airport using the blue & then red metro then bus 16 up the hill.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I did not like during my one night stay.

    The staff at the front desk was amazing! Breakfast included was terrific. And the location was perfect for hitting a ton of tourist spots.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was not at a 4-star level. The room was not perfectly cleaned (but it was ok).

    Nice, calm hotel. Close to Metro line 2 (and therefore easy to reach from the train stations). Very close to the old castle district. The restaurant next to the hotel is very good. We had breakfast on the terrace.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lower floor rooms - the corridor is a little dark

    Excellent location to explore the old town and attractions in Buda. Room was comfortable and nice to have a window that opens for fresh air. Bathroom had a full size bath - great to relax in.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room with a balcony was a waste of money. It was very chilly during our stay, and the balconly isn't of a closed type. Also the view isn't perfect - simple houses across the street.

    - A very good restaurant in the hotel. The food is delicious. We highly recommend it. - Another huge advantage of the restaurant in the hotel - you may order any food in your room. The orders are accepted untill 21:00 - Nice room, although not a big one - Professional A/C - Good breakfasts with some hot food. The staff regulary checks if there is enough food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish the restaurant offered more choices for breakfast. The coffee was bad.

    The location is great. It is situated in the old part of the city. It included a small outdoor parking, as well as an underground garage. The staff was extremely welcoming and responsive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location next to the Castle. Easy to access public transport. Staff very helpful and fluent in English. Great breakfasts and restaurant was good value with tasty menu.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked double bed which was nice, but was only given a single quilt,which was a bit odd, and quality of bedding and pillows wasn't brilliant. Only given one pillow had to find the other in wardrobe. Tea provided at breakfast poor quality, if you're a tea drinker take your own.

    Great location for castle buda, lovely walks and stunning views. Nice area. Staff polite and friendly. Food in restaurant very nice and reasonably priced. I used room service twice. Breakfast ok. Hot or cold choices. Kettle in the room, but take your own tea/coffee as not provided. Fridge helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't clean enough. There was woman hair on the bed sheets and the floor wasn't vacummed. In the hallway there was a persistent smell of food.

    Location is really nice and the restaurant makes an amazing pizza.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was spacious, but bathroom smelled mould. Breakfast was ok, but nothing special.

    The location of the hotel is good: metro nearby and bus 16 drives past the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning and laundry should be improved! There was hair on the bedlinen, in the bathroom, etc. Bedlinen and carpet had strange stains. Room smellt of tobacco upon entering. Neighbours could be overheard sometimes.

    Great location, nice view, amazing garden, kind staff, good restaurant. Plenty of storing place, okay room size, cute little tea selection in the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Castle Garden traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: