Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castle Hotel Grof Degenfeld 4 stars

3915 Tarcal, Terezia kert 9, Hungary

#4 of 8 hotels in Tarcal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 302 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful, romantic place to spend the night, with wonderful wine tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of insects especially ladybirds in bedroom - probably just because of being out of season, some stains on the wood furniture in our room.

    Wine tasting was wonderful, Hailie was an excellent tour guide. Dinner exceeded expectations too. Staff were very accommodating of us wanting to use the pool house and sauna despite it being locked up for the season.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.1
    Dinner and wines were excellent, the bicycles available in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was so-so.. could use some more hand-made, local products. Our room clearly lacked a carpet for some reason, and the bathroom was in a sad state, shower taps leaking badly.

    Dinner and wines were excellent, the bicycles available in the castle was a nice surprise. Beds were comfy and the whole environment was really classy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Would come again for the location but not the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chef could do with a brush up ... the menu choices seemed interesting but the execution left something to be desired. It was lazy cookery and chef was phoning it in. The meat cookery in particular wasn’t good (probably sous vide pre-prepared portions heated on order) and therefore pretty tasteless. However, all was not lost as we washed all down with some very good estate wine! One word of warning avoid the foie gras (overcooked) which was served on a slice of Swiss roll!!!!

    Lovely location and a charming hotel. Good facilities. Spacious bedroom with a good bathroom. Grounds were lovely and an added bonus is that you may book a wine tour of this wine estate. Their wines are excellent. Staff friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    An excellent boutique grand hotel in the heart of the Tokaji Aszu wine area.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much! The only complaint was of the multiple brides who used the scenic garden surrounds and grand reception rooms for their wedding photos. It cramped our movements somewhat!

    We had a great two days! The spacious room overlooked the vineyards towards the village of Mád. The reception staff were very helpful and obliging. The restaurant was a wonderful surprise of exceptionally delicate fine food and accompanying "house" wines well matched to the food. The beautiful surrounding gardens were relaxing and calm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful Hotel, Grounds and Fantastic Wines
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Castle Grof Dregenfeld is a fantastic place to stay whilst visiting the Tokaj region. The hotel and surrounding gardens are beautiful, so relaxing, it is exactly as pictured on the website. My husband and I stayed here for four nights and would have loved to stay longer. We enjoyed exceptional meals at the hotel restaurant every night, prepared and presented to the highest standard. There was also a good selection of food provided at the buffet breakfast. The staff were always very helpful and attentive, special thanks to Suzannah and Haley who looked after us throughout our stay. We had a wine tasting tour of the Castle Grof Dregenfeld wine cellars, provided by Haley. The tour and tasting was very informative and the wines were exceptional! The pool area was extremely relaxing and very welcome in the heat and humidity of summer. We also took a walk up to the chapel, which provided great views of the area. We would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Always the best experience! A shelter for your body and soul!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Degenfeld is one of the hidden treasures of Hungary. The hotel has kept the charming atmosphare of good old days and shows the care and love of owners towards to this hotel. The hotel is not simply a hotel. This is a piece of the Hungarian history. A real place where the traveler can hide, relax, recharge his/her spiritual, physical and mental energy. A perfect place to enjoy the harmony of nature, gastronomy, and piece.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Ideal place for relaxed weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast can be improved a lot. Not much of variety. When we checked in, we had requested for a slightly delayed check out (1300 hrs) and we were asked to UPGRADE to a higher category so we could check out late. We opted for the higher category room but the next day we were asked to check out on time. The luggage had to be kept in the reception. This was a shock!!!! Chapel within the property is supposed to open till 1800hrs but it was closed before time (this was after a real long walk on the hills to the chapel).

    The wine tasting session with Daniel was exceptionally good. Young gentleman with lots of book knowledge about wine; very keen and enthusiastic about explaining the wine making process. Good property with open lush gardens; nice pool. Hectares and hectares of wine yard; ideal place to walk and a good tennis court.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    High.class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have been travelling around in most frenc wine districts using the Relais & Châteaux guide. Grof Degenfeld's personal, hotel and food are fully in line with what you could expect from.a frenc luxyry hotel, in different wine districts, like Bordeux for instance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    We loved the surrounding of the hotel, the food at breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was nice, but the drawers need some fix. We told them this at checkout and they offered the changing of the room if we would have told them sooner. They were quite a lot of mosquito in the garden in the morning and in the late afternoon/evening. There are no mosquito nets on the windows.

    We loved the surrounding of the hotel, the food at breakfast and dinner. The possibility of playing tennis when ever we wanted. The room was nice, spacious and clean. I would recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway or for a weekend with the family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Luxury hotel with sauna and swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so polite lady at the reception. Maybe she had worse day. Anyway, We want to back to this hotel.

    Luxury hotel with sauna and swimming pool. Very nice location between grappe farms. Tasty food and deliciouse wine in hotel's restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    The atmosphere was authentical and elegant.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wellness house was cold without heating and hot water. There is not fitness/training room. A wellness házban nem volt fűtés és melegvíz. Nincs edzőterem.

    The atmosphere was authentical and elegant. The wines and kitchen are great. Staff was friendly and kindly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    a Romantic stay in the country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good

    Great dinner in a very classy private dining room followed by a private wine tasting. Breakfast was also very good I very classy place I highly recommend this hotel and winery.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    The evening dinner menu had no main meal options for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening dinner menu had no main meal options for vegetarians. We were lucky we eat fish and had the only fish option from the menu. The food was very well prepared though and delicious. They would benefit from offering at least one vegetarian option.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely relaxing location in a beautiful area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had tried to book the wine tasting in advance, but the system was not user friendly, however I believed I had managed it after a couple of attempts when I was contacted to tell me I had booked twice by accident. Yet when I arrived at the hotel, reception advised me that they had no record of my booking. Not a problem as they still made arrangements for the wine tasting.

    The lack of other guests made it feel extremely exclusive and the staff were very flexible to our needs. The food was good and the wine tasting experience was both interesting and fun. The area is beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Can only recommend - not only for winelovers!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No real issue if you know what to expect - there is an outdoor pool (again, in beatiful scenery) but we were not able to use it in September. There is a sauna, however no jacuzzi or indoor pool. With these, this place would be perfect.

    Beatiful historic building and a castle park around it. It was an absolute pleasure to look and walk around. The hotel is 1-minute walk away from the winery where you can arrange for a wine tasting. We also had a wine dinner with 5-6 courses organized for us in a private, separate room. Food was delicious, staff is very kind and helpful. There is a tiny chapel to walk up to with great view around. Rooms are spacious and of great style (but not modern).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not made clear what was included in the price and what not, and what extra costs would be charged. The bill is not understandable, mixing up all the different costs and not being specific. After carefull investigation I found I was charged to much, but this was corrected. We stayed 5 days but never got clean sheets. Also the bed was not properly made up.

    Great rooms, nice swimming pool and great view. Lovely building and garden. Very relaxing to stay. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Living in an aged hungarian mansion, like in the past glory days, but in comfortable style
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool is outdoor, which means you can use it from May to September ... but that's a bit of a luxury problem ...

    Service is exquisite there and the staff very friendly ... Still a quite high level of comfort for a bit of an aged mansion )) Very nice: the mansion is embedded in an ensemble of vineyards and you are ready to take a refreshing walk around !!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    The best hotel in Tokaj
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too short stay:). Two twin beds pushed together to make a queen bed.

    Very romantic palace surrounded by never-ending vineyards. Awesome! Newly renovated. Spacious rooms with amazing views. Very comfortable beds. Delicious meals in the restaurant and wines not necessary to mention, they were absolutely unique…. Very helpful and friendly staff, nothing was the problem. Thank you!!! Swimming pool and tennis courts and huge chess in the park. Restful and tranquil place, not far from Tokaj. Excellent for people who need the rest and silence. I am sure we definitely come back there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    great relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    in the summer there are bees flying but they are not dangerous. Even so, you should pay attention when walking barefoot.

    nice place, gardens, wineyard, very nice pool. you can relax also with a cup of wine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    price is a bit high for the standard room.

    superb place and surroundings with a great pool area (cold water is refreshing in summer). room is ok with excellent bathroom. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Romantic and cozy hide-away in the Tokaj region
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    *** very good value-for-money offer for our 3-days-stay in such an up-market place *** truly romantic location in a park just next to the Degenfelds' vineyards *** swimming pool and tennis courts in the park *** friendly service rendered by all staff, very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful/scenic hotel, great wine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great food, nice swimming pool with lounge seating, lovely property and beautiful views. Staff were friendly and accommodating. We really enjoyed the wine tasting and wines!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    Park, serroundings, swimming pool, friendly restaurant Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally - changes: 1. prices had been increased despite the standard of the property remains the same, no new improvements comparing to previous years. 2. Hotel management and staff working on front desk had been changed. Likewise my German friends I have noticed less friendly attitude. Lack of respect towards the guest. They dispute with guests in a way that should never happend in a hotel of this class. It is crossing the line in relations between guests and staff.

    Park, serroundings, swimming pool, friendly restaurant Staff.Marvelous atmosphere of the Tokaj Wine Region.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Wine Estate Retreat in the Tokaj region
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff seemed a little disorganized sometimes but otherwise friendly and helpful

    Loved the Wines, the Food and the View from the Room. Wine Tasting after a nice dinner on-site is a MUST!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.1
    Decent stay, relaxing and relatively worth your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is not sufficient enough in English, they need better understanding of the language and communicating skills. The beds where nice, however the lack of big pillows and there was no possibility of getting extra pillows after we called the front desk. The bed where actually very good, but I suggest if the hotel would like to get is fifth star, is to have them wider, fx. double bed 200x200cm, and single beds 200x100cm,

    The location and its nature spectacular. Brilliant being in the quietness and calmness in the countryside. The room are spacious and extra clean. Loved how everything was clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.1
    Hiking behind the house, but only small trail.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We tried to ask wine tasting for Saturday afternoon, but the personnel was too busy to arrange the wine tasting? Also they mentioned restaurant needs to be reserved, but there were several empty tables at evening...

    Hiking behind the house, but only small trail. Longer distance to real paths.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    10
    Wonderful, accommodating staff, everyone was very welcoming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wonderful, accommodating staff, everyone was very welcoming and helpful with our toddler. Excellent location, beautiful garden, grounds. Great restaurant, very good service.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    A fantastic tranquille and well-maintained location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The menu could be a bit more elaborate and include more dishes suitable for vegitarians. However, one should realise specifics of the Hungarian cuisine and especially its country-side varietirs to have such culinary expectations :)

    Perfectly maintained facility away from Budapest. Friendly and helpful staff. A fantastic tranquille location for a few-day escape from the city bustle.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.2
    very friendly staff ,very nice hotel ,comfortable &...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very friendly staff ,very nice hotel ,comfortable & quiet. the surrounding area is very nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Rural Location but în style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rural Location but în style.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic property, 4**** doesn’t do it justice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic property, 4**** doesn’t do it justice. The garden, pool, tennis courts all add up to the experience

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    this was our 2nd stay and all was as great as before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this was our 2nd stay and all was as great as before.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Food rooms pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place, good breakfast, nice staff

    Food rooms pool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.7
    No wine tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wine tour

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Éverything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Éverything was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful setting and grounds with comfortable well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The evening dinner menu is rather limited for a hotel of this standard.

    Wonderful setting and grounds with comfortable well appointed rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no such item.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Excellent place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much bees outside the room

    Fresh air, clean and well decorated

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    6.7
    pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. food: main course meat old and dry, breakfast limited 2. shower: temp control jammed

    very clean, excellent furnishings

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Great staff and facilities (room, dining room, grounds)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel for family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place of the hotel is excellent! Nice view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location, friendly staff and nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stayed for 1 night

    Very nice area, clean rooms, good facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast very poor .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast very poor ....Maximum 2 stars....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    everything is perfect !
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything is perfect !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    ALL, A VERY NICE PLACE!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ALL, A VERY NICE PLACE!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    everything was perfect !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was perfect ! everything !! one of the best places I have been ever

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice winery stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC in the room was temperamental on our second night.

    Grounds and pool were great. Wine tasting with Gergely was fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Well-appointed high ceiling room with view of park-like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well-appointed high ceiling room with view of park-like front drive. Informative winery tour available, including extensive tasting opportunity.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful garden, spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be much better. Booking extras were not given automatically.

    Beautiful garden, spacious room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Cleanliness and Hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness and Hospitality

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    9.5
    - big clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - weather: kind of rainy, could not bike, but instead had more relaxation time :)

    - big clean room - view from room - secluded location - has pool and tennis grounds - private parking - could walk through vineyards, up to the hill, to a small chapel - could bike 7-8 km to a TV Station on a hill - silence, birds - friendly and helpful staff - WINE DINNER with gourmet food & excellent wines and with a friendly & expert sommelier

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    Amazing hotel, gorgeous rooms and a great winery tour on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all, it was all fantastic. If I had to say something though, the hotel food could have been a bit better. I suggest staying here only if you have a car as it's in the countryside.

    Amazing hotel, gorgeous rooms and a great winery tour on the premises. Staff were lovely, loads of parking and a relaxing place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    8.8
    Interior and exterior of the palace is very impressive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Waitress in the restaurant did not pay attention to the little kids running and playing with food displayed on the breakfast buffe. Coffe machine out of order, empty hot water jar. No action of the headwaiter to calm screaming kids running in the restaurant during dinner

    Interior and exterior of the palace is very impressive

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.6
    Location of the hotel, the grounds, surrounding vineyards...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location of the hotel, the grounds, surrounding vineyards and the views are amazing. Also the building itself is beautifully restored old mansion and the room (superior) is very spacial

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    6.7
    As a converted manor home the building has a sense of class...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I had high expectations for service based on other reviews. I was disappointed. The staff didn't seem very interested in several cases and gave bad advice or bad vibes in others. Another guest also brought the class down by draping his hairy leg over the nice chair in the elegant sitting room, and dropping his pants at the pool.

    As a converted manor home the building has a sense of class and elegance.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    9.2
    Nice hotel in a nice park with large swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Unfortunately nothing special quality of meal for dinner, warm beer and poor choice for breakfast. We had to wait more then one hour for the dinner. It is strange to have normal west european menu average quality in the great hungarian wine area that is the most famous by its typical local meal. It Is more better choice to go for dinner to any close Csarda (restaurant) where you can have local speciality with great taste and fair prices.

    Nice hotel in a nice park with large swimming pool. Good for having a rest after long journey and visit interesting wine area.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    8.8
    Very nice place with great park around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The Staff/waiters could practice more English and be trained to develop better relationship with guests. They work properly but with no "personal touch" you usualy expect in such a place.The staff at the pool is bored, could make have cofee and juices there instead of bringing them cold from the castle.

    Very nice place with great park around. Good place to bike around. Pool area good for warm days.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    7.1
    Nice converted manor home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The service was disappointing given the class of the hotel and the many reviews that highlight excellent service. There were multiple interactions during our brief stay that left us let down.

    Nice converted manor home

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    9.2
    lovely building, excellent breakfast with wide choice of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    some staff were very 'cold' our toilet would like to see 'toilet duck'

    lovely building, excellent breakfast with wide choice of ordering warm dishes, great wine tour and tasting, lovely surrounding, excellent restaurant

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.2
    Very pleasant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not much to do within walking distance. You will need a car to exploit the area.

    Very pleasant location. I got the family room, which made it nice for the kids. WIne tasting is recommended and affordable, it comes with an interesting tour of the facilities. Free parking and internet is a plus.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    9.6
    Wine yard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wine yard.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    10
    Very comfortable, good dining, superb personal, luxury rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Very comfortable, good dining, superb personal, luxury rooms.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.6
    incredibly friendly and helping staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bar closes too early

    incredibly friendly and helping staff. Always available to assist. Wonderful hotel with great rooms and a nice environment.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Location, rom, wine tasting, food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, rom, wine tasting, food.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.9
    The location, facilities, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not get a pick up from the train station

    The location, facilities, staff

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    10
    Extemely nice location, perfect cuisine + wines, kind staff,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Extemely nice location, perfect cuisine + wines, kind staff, swimming pool, way of renovation and design of the property, singing birds

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    10
    Atmosphere, design, room size, food (excellent breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds a bit hard

    Atmosphere, design, room size, food (excellent breakfast included, we had a wonderful dinner too), grounds

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Guests also reviewed these properties: