Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Centrooms House

1072 Budapest, Rákóczi út 44, Hungary

#101 of 163 B&Bs and Inns in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2033 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Room was basic but fine and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All cooked breakfast was at room temperature and the juice was squash rather than fresh. The salad vegetables and the fruit were clearly well past their best if not from the previous day so at 7.50 euro a head it was a big waste of money

    Room was basic but fine and clean. Staff were very helpful and nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Best Budapest Stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent personal... Good Location... Really central.. with everything around.. walk distance of most atractions. Few meters to metro.. easy access to airport by metro and bus.. Kata the recepcionist is really lovely... Helpful and charming.. thanks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Cosy place with great location on a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was completely OK, we just stayed for one night and there was no issue.

    The room is in the city center and it can be easily found outside from the street, where a security guard was standing and therefore it was easy to enter the place. Inside the building there is also a very neat inner garden for the travellers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Centrooms House
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They can work a bit on the entrance, we passed pass the hotel door few times before we noticed it. Also the hallway looks dark and abandoned.

    Very quiet, clean and close to the centrum. Room was excellent!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Good location, 24 hr reception, breakfast on site!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor customer service at reception from Barbara for my check out ... took forever, complications with their eftpos machine, she stuffed up as well and when I pointed it out to her she tried to pretend it didnt happen ... poor attitude in general.

    Good location, 24 hr reception, breakfast on site! Really good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Good hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard to come in, when we have arrived, no one opened the door so we were waiting while someone came out. But maybe it is an unusual situation.

    Awesome front desk staff, good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Great central location at a really good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very large and clean, with an amazing breakfast buffet seconds away. The staff were very friendly and helpful and check in/out was very quick. The shower was great and the bed comfortable enough to knock me out in less than a minute.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.0
    Poor communication
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some change to our itinerary and we wanted to inform the staff but we could not reach the premise either by email or by phone. Email not responded and the phone number listed on booking[36 1787 9613] seems wrong as nobody ever answered the phone. Though we made it here at dinner time finally, the experience was very frustrating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    It was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too much noise from the main street even with closed windows. No option for payment, cash only. The price should have included breakfast.

    Good location for public transport. Friendly staff. Clean room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    The place is near to a metro station and in a walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was just next to the reception desk and if we opened the window, people were drinking their coffee and passing by. There was no space for privacy and it was really noisy at night.

    The place is near to a metro station and in a walking distance to the city center and the river. It has a nice attrium terrace. The staff was polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent locationj.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Many items in the room missing: a mirror, shelves and hangers in bathroom, a comfortab;e chair. The TV set is TINY! and hung so high on the wall that one can watch only lying down. Very ppor choice of channels

    Excellent locationj. It is being rennovated so evrything is brand new. There is a guard 24/7 at entrance letting in only hotel guests and keeping out unwantes elements. Staff very nice, accomodating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice staff, nice location. Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor and the furniture shaked a lot from time to time, what was a bit strange for us. Also there was a bit of noise coming from the street, but I would still stay here again.

    It's almost inside a metro station (Line M2) from which you can get to the main railway station or the city centre in 5 minutes. Nearby there are a Supermarket and some restaurants (fast food really really close and some hungarian within 500m). The room was huge and very clean and the towels were changed everyday. The staff is really nice. 24/7 security in the front door, which is good since there are some homeless people in this area. Good breakfast too with bacon or sausages, different bread types, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    The staff was very kind and friendly and the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit loud since the hotel is "round" so your room is not isolated and everyone can pass by.

    The staff was very kind and friendly and the location is close to the centre and metro and bus stations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not make up my room properly, glass of water did not Change ,and also toilet was not clean

    Location very good, easy to get public transportation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy at night. Not in the accommodation but maybe from outside as it's infront of the main road. Don't expect any toiletries, only small bar of soap and one towel.

    Very near to tram/ bus and metro stations. Staff were nice. Good value for money if you're into budget travel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Once you find the door you go up one floor where there is a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Entrance was hard to find, walked up and down the street before we found the door to the hotel. Towels and bedding seemed old, but clean.

    Once you find the door you go up one floor where there is a nice courtyard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Average accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little bit problem to localize hotel during the night. Only soap in the bathroom. Noise from other guest in the hotel.

    Good for short stay. Good price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hard to find, as the entry is very simple without a big sign (but do not get scared, as it is beautiful inside). It can get quite noisy at night, but hey it’s near all the bars and it is Budapest , so it is understandable you should keeps windows closed. I was not happy I could not pay by card (as it was broken) and I was charged around 15eur more than in the booking.com confirmation as I had to get cash from ATM where exchanged rate differed from the hotel’s.

    It looks very pretty on the inside , when you walk up the stairs, especially the terrace in the evening. It is also smoker-friendly, because smoking area is in the corner of the hotel yard, so you are not brushed outside the hotel at the entrance on the street. Staff is also friendly and helps explaining things you need to know. Hotel also is in a very good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    4.6
    Don't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Dirty towels. 2. They need to remove stuff from corridors, it is against fire safity. 3. They don't accept credit cards and tell this only at check-out time. Welcome to 2018! 4. I was given a remote control for air conditioning at check-in and was asked to bring it back at check-out. Do I really look like a person who steals them?

    Placement

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Hungary was not what I expected, I did not enjoy it at all, although the hotel staff where excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not good it was cold, security on the door did not like this. And the bed was very hard.

    The room was quiet and the balcony smoking area location to centre was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.5
    Good value for money. Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hair shampoo.

    Room was small but beds very comfy. Bathroom clean , hairdryer and towels changed every day. Staff at the reception extremely helpful and speak English. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    The hotel has a good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you need a quiet room, definitely do not take room No. 110. It went out on the street and I could not sleep all night because of the noise of the street. It was Very Loud. Thanks the staff who agreed to change the room and the rest of the nights everything was ok. Unfortunately, breakfast did not include yogurt, croissant and fresh fruit, but there were several warm snacks and cornflakes.

    The hotel has a good location. The supermarket, metro station and a delicious sushi bar (very affordable prices) are located opposite the hotel. The staff is responsive and kind. I also use the hotel shuttle offer and everything was at the time and according to the specified price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location and nice staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't very good and the rooms are small. Also there were some noisy guests, but that isn't the hotel's fault.

    Great location and nice staff! Very secure!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Would 100% stay here again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't very good but the timings are great (7-11) and for the price and the quality of the rest of the stay it's really a small complaint.

    Staff were amazing! So helpful. Room was absolutely fantastic for the price and location is unbeatable. Right next to shops and the metro lines.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.0
    I like the interior garden and the architecture.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was very dirty, the food was also cheap and the service is low, they don't how to impress the guests. I'm very disappointed note: very dirty.

    I like the interior garden and the architecture.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.8
    Good area in the middle and Security very good on the door! Room very basic and boring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic and poor. Wasn’t clean sheets and mess in the room, disappointed most definately.

    The staff were very friendly at the hotel, especially with telling us the best places to go.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Worth staying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no banner about the hotel. It was difficult to spot it until you are standing in front of door. We lost almost 30 minutes trying to find it though we were next to it.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was big but room location inside hotel was an end of lobby where all service items were kept. Also room was without proper flooring which looked not very clean.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.4
    If you dont want luxury, it is a good place with breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sheets should have been cleaner. While I was checking out, I was said the post machine didnt work so I had to pay in cash.

    Location was very good. Reseptionist was very helpful. The room was warm and bathroom was renewed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.8
    The rooms were spacious, and it was in walking distance of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's farther from tourist attractions. In addition, it wasn't very clean or comfortable.

    The rooms were spacious, and it was in walking distance of famous bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Great value for money!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold, aircon not working properly, and heater too small for the room size.

    Friendly staff, great location, good breakfast, very nice courtyard

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in was late at 2 o'clock PM. We arrived before that time and the receptionist could do all what is necessary for check in, but she didn't. So we did, but at 2 o'clock we had to wait a lot to make check in because there were a lot of people waiting that time to check in. The heating system didn't warm enough our room.

    Good location. The room was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water got very cold while I was having a shower.

    We had a beautiful room with a great view, the staff (and I mean Bettina) was very nice and helpful. It's very central.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.9
    It was great to stay at centrooms, the staf is very kind and...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only unfortunate thing was that if there were people smoking outside, we could hear and smell them day and night, as we had the room adjecent to the smokers corner. Furthermore it would be practical to have hooks in the bathroom for clothes and towels.

    It was great to stay at centrooms, the staf is very kind and there was everything we needed and the location is very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Great resting place, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rest of the furniture was a bit dusty and the dining area doesn't have many tables so if you come later for breakfast you may have to wait. That is the only reason it doesn't have a 10.

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff, clean bedsheets and bathroom. We also paid for breakfast, which had nice variety of food. Rooms have safe and hair drier. There is 24 hour security at the hotel entrance. It is a great place if you want to explore the city and need a comfy place to rest and keep your belongings safe.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay in Budapest - no thrills accomodation, good value, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - altghough there was the usual and adequate daily cleaning and towel change, there didn't seem to be any deep cleaning between guests - there were crumbs and some dirt streaks from previos guests in the less circulated area of the room - to be fair to the hotel, we didn't complain about it since we didn't spend a lot of time in the room, they might have tried to fix it, it's just a fair warning to the neat freaks out there, not something that ruins your stay - the shower cabin could use a place to put your shampoo/shower gel other than its floor - like a soap dish - otherwise it was large and the water pressure and temperature were very good

    - grat location, right beside the metro exit, walking distance to the city centre through an area with many restaurants and bars - spacious room (the photos don't make it justice, the twin we were in was at least 20 sq.m and the bathroom had plenty of room as well, don't be putt off by the photos that only show the beds) - good breakfast - helpful staff - terrace smoking area with bench and ashtray

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.5
    Good localisation and nice service. For this money it is good for sleeping after all day out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is fine if you need it only for sleeping after all day spent on sightseeing. Ii's not big, small bathroom. Our room was placed next to the luggage corridor, therefore it was quite noisy sometimes (bigger than usual space between door and floor...). Cold eggs and sausages on breakfast (which can become boring after 3 days of eatinig the same...).

    Good localisation, very nice service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed my stay and would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little noisy if on the ground floor , but room was changed which was great

    Nice hotel for somebody just looking to sleep and then explore the city , very helpful staff !!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.4
    Good value if you you don't mind basic accomodation in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit dingy. Beds were really hard. No tea or coffee available. Really need a vending machine! Ridiculously small and completely pointless TV on the wall. Breakfast was poor and got worse as the week went on. Nice coffee bar next door and a Burger King!

    Good location. Plenty of character. Room was nice and warm and clean. Fresh towels and beds everyday. Helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    5.0
    GOOD FOR SLEEPING
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist woman who works in the morning is a bad educated, rude, mistreats the customers, it is the only ugly thing that the hotel has. Congratulations to the night receptionist woman excellent behavior, excellent English and good service.

    LOCALITATION

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    6.3
    Great location, good price, huge internal noise issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortunately for me the only down side was that our room, number 120, was located near what seemed to be a housekeeping station. From 6:30am the noise was not moderate, it was loud or even very loud. The second night I had to put earplugs so that I could rest well in the morning. Unfortunately for me, noise is the one thing that I do not tolerate in a hotel. Especially when it is produced by its own staff.

    The hotel is very well located. It is just next to entrance of one of the main Metro lines, and near to bars and restaurants. In the topic of location, it’s the best you can get for the price. The room was a great room with more space than what one usually gets. It’s nothing too elaborated, but everything looks new and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.2
    Rooms were clean and well and logically equipped for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front walls are a little thin, wasn't a problem in the off peak but could see it being rather distracting if there were more people staying and coming and going.

    Rooms were clean and well and logically equipped for the price paid. The rooms weren't big but the bedroom had a very high ceiling that made it feel a lot more comfortable. The courtyard makes it feel like a rather classy place. Close to all the nice bars and cafes.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing and least comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in the single toom was old and unclean. The room cleaning was not good and no basic amenities such as tea kettle and toiletries available. It was definitely not worth the money I paid for the stay. Although the location was acceptable it was quite far from tourist places.

    The female staff were helpful. Airport transfers available too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location, near metro and friendly reception staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entrance to the hotel is a bit shabby although there is a security guard there at all times. People have to wait to be served for breakfast. One morning, the wait was about 20 minutes.

    The hotel was very well located for what I wanted to do during my long weekend. The staff were very helpful. My room was recently remodeled and was very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.5
    Great value for money. Recommended for vacation time with fellow friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room cleanliness could be way much better in terms of clean sheets, towels, pillows etc. There was no shampoo liquid at the beginning of our accommodation.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. The heating was excellent all days along. Great value for money. Very close to metro station and easy access to the inner city by feet. Security outside the hotel adds extra credibility to the accommodation. Storage room for letting your baggage in case of late check-out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Great for staying in the centre of Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel isn't well signposted, even notice on the glass door isn't very obvious, so finding it can be tricky - walked past it twice without realising!

    Great sized room in the centre of the city

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    5.4
    Friendly staff at the reception,willing to help if needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the pics you see on their website are probably from a few renovated rooms so keep that in mind as you might be surprised when you get there. Breakfast was a bit pour,with old veggies and fruits,bad coffee. The stuff from there,especially a girl was making so much noise and was constantly checking on how the people were filling their plates.

    Friendly staff at the reception,willing to help if needed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.5
    Very basic hotel. You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed extra pillows, tea and coffee facilities would be and extra plus. Did not feel safe at night due to prostitution literally on corner.

    Excellant location to access town, metro, trams and downtown budapest.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.9
    perfect location close to metro station and city centre,...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We couldn't open balcony doors to get some fresh air because they were locked up. Breakfast room was small and one morning we had to wait in the queue to the table. Neighbourhood wasn't pleasant, there were some homeless people sleeping on the street.

    perfect location close to metro station and city centre, good wifi, friendly staff, quite big room, decent breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    Staff & Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The noise that enters through the window and also the fact that you need to pay by cash..The curtains doesn't make the room dark enough

    Staff & Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.4
    the location is excellent and the receptionist was very kind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    booking included toiletries, but there was only a small bottle of conditioner, no soap nor shampoo. the TV were small and only CNN to watch in English or one Hungarian channel. the quality of bed sheets were poor. No heating and no remote to adjust temperature in room . Breakfast is poor, only pork product, somebody who does not eat pork . coffee was cold, when I had asked if I can use the kettle, the staff was rude and said no. I would not sue this property again. the room was just next to the reception, we could hear all conversation that the receptionist had with the guest and I am sure they could hear us too.

    the location is excellent and the receptionist was very kind, but that is all

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    Really enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast needs attention, coffee needs to improve!, but otherwise typical style breakfast, although Brits like their food hot!

    Very enjoyable stay with very helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    2.9
    They will scam you, avoid at all costs!! €90 to repair "damage" see photos
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel charged my card, without authorisation or prior communication, an additional €90 for cleaning. They would not provide evidence so I contacted booking.com. They provided two photos to booking.com of a scuff mark and what looks to be a cleanable water mark that was not from my room! Don't stay here, they will scam you!! Avoid at all costs!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.1
    apart from that incident, you should make your sign bigger for people to see. Staff were very helpfu
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did’nt like that the receptionist did’nt believe that I did’nt have breakfast there. You should ask your guest to sign if they have breakfast.

    no breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    Ιt is situated in the city center (easy to go wherever you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was TOO dirty. The sheets were too dirty (humain hair etc). I expressed to the recepsionist the problem. He was really willing to help me. He gave me an other sheet. It was dirty too. He gave us 4,5 sheets (at least!!!!) and everything was dirty. When we changed our cheet, there were nuts, crumbs and a white stain (...........)on the bed. One of them had blood of period. It was absolutely disgusting. Τhe ''blankets'' were dirty too....

    Ιt is situated in the city center (easy to go wherever you want) We had many facilities. The staff was too kind (the best i ve ever met) and willing to help you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.9
    Centrooms; an apt name for a central location. Good basic hotel with good staff at an okay price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The vague entrance..., we walked past it and unnecessarily walked a couple of more blocks before turning back as it was not easily identifiable; a clear sign would help. The lack of soap dish in the shower meant having to hold the soap whilst washing, therefore could only wash with one hand. Annoying to only have 3 coat hangers, even though there was a hook for a fourth. However, I'm sure I could have asked for more if it bothered me that much.

    The location was great: 10 minute walk from the Astoria bus stop where the 100E from the airport dropped us off; situated next to the Jewish Quarter; an easy 15 minute walk to the centre. I loved the courtyard style of the floor levels with the open sky and the architecture. Having the option of the lift despite only 3 floors was really good. The room was clean but basic as was expected for the price and met our needs for a short stay. The staff could not have been more helpful, especially Golt (sp? zolt?) who welcomed us when we arrived. He went above and beyond to help us providing information that I needed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.9
    Pleasent stay in a great city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a trek to the Danube, also the entrance surrounded by many homeless people, hense the 24/7 doorman.

    Nice design with the outdoor seating area surrounded by rooms.. staff were very helpful in everything. Room was big, and much choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    3.3
    It is so noisy at the night, you can't sleep at all!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is so noisy at the night, you can't sleep at all! In the morning, from 6 a.m. the delivery trucks starts supplying the local shops and again it's impossible to sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, hige rooms, not the friendliest of staff and DO NOT book the airport transfer!
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff aren't the most approachable or friendliest, we arrived at the hotel at 1350 on Saturday and was told to go away and come back as we couldn't check in until 1400! Asked them to hold our room key on Saturday as we would be out for most of the morning taking part in the half marathon and we didn't want to risk losing the key - took the key but had a snappy response. Also booked a private car to the airport for Monday morning and we then proceeded to sop at another hotel to pick up additional passengers so not private and this was not communicated at the time of booking.

    Rom was HUGE!! except for the bathroom tap, the room was very clean, very bright and airey

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    3.8
    Location good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower leaked all over bathroom floor out into hall. We reported it but nothing done to improve situation. Breakfast cold. Coffee cold. Staff in dining room unhelpful and indifferent. No one asked how we enjoyed our stay on checkout. More like hostel than hotel, very disappointing

    Location good. Beside metro station and stop for hop on hop off bus

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    The room is big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no shampoo in the shower. The hotel credit card machine was broken when I was there. I had to pay cash. The Bank ATM machine is just close by, but it charged a lot of fee when withdrawing cash. The taxi is mafia. From train station to Hotel, it's about 1 mile, 15min walking distance. The taxi charged me 15 Euro.

    The room is big. It's close to metro U2, very convenient. There is someone in the front desk 7/24, very friendly. Guard in the hotel entrance also.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Great location!
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location! It's a bit hard to spot from the streets, the entrance is almost invisible :D But it's huuuuge inside, great breakfast, great price, great comunication with the stuff. Wi-fi all around the place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    3.3
    At arrival day room was supposed to be ready at 2pm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At arrival day room was supposed to be ready at 2pm. In the end it was ready at 3.30pm only. Room was really small and noisy. All in all, way too expensive in comparison to what I got.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    4.6
    The only good thing is close to center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not what you see in photo .. supper small .the use supper old use towel ,no shower gel, also the staff lie about the taxi fare to airport .. watch out .. they want you to go with the company they reconnect for 18€ but it's 32 € actually

    The only good thing is close to center

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice time in Budapest
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the last moment but after the booking they asked for payment in cash.

    Best location and good for the money we have paid. The room was completelly new. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.8
    Budapest lovely, but I would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room (too old with a dirty carpet that looked that has not been change since the 90s). Too noisy next to a very busy street.I have not being able to pay the room yet because their credit card terminal is not working. They did not tell me approximatly when they will make the charge.

    At least very friendly staff and very close to the subway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.3
    Not the best accomodation, but the location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we first entered our not so good looking (standard) room we noticed a very weird chemical odor. The apartment that was offered afterwards did not have A/C. Since the beds are positioned very high, close to the ceiling its just incredibly hot during the night. Half way the night I took the mattress down the stairs, so we slept at a mattress on the floor.

    We told the reception about the chemical odor in our room, the man immediately admitted this was just not acceptable. 10 minutes later he came back with a solution and offered us the apartment on the same floor. Thanks for the quick solution! A very spacey apartment containing two bedrooms, a kitchen, a living room with sofa and a much better looking bathroom than the one we had in the room before. And most important, no chemical odor! Location of the hotel is perfect, just 50 meters from the underground.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.9
    Practical place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At 138 euro, value for money was pretty bad, but I know it was a very busy period due to some sport events. It was also a last moment booking due to overbooking at River hotel.

    Staff was very helpful. Very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    The location was great as it is directly adjacent a metro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great as it is directly adjacent a metro station which is the only sensible way of transport in Budapest. The staff was very helpful and let us choose our room from several available ones. Parking on the adjacent streets is quite possible but is limited to max 3h on workdays so you have to take that into account. There are several good street restaurants, cafes and bars close by. Vibrant neighborhood. All in all a great hotel for the money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    Good Choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better with a fridge. They don't take credit card

    Excellent location. Right next to the metro station. Also it's just 5 mins away from New York cafe. Big room with A.C. Nice staff Offer luggage storange

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    An affordable designer extravaganza in the middle of the fun district
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our beds were intolerably hard!!! I could barely lift my limbs in the morning. Although towels are changed every day (an extravagance), the overall cleanness of rooms (in particularly - bathrooms) is not perfect. One of our rooms entirely lacked any (!) hangers in the bathroom for towels and clothes, the other one had them aplenty - weird. It seems that you depend on coin tossing for various features that will influence your final satisfaction.

    The property is located on the outskirts of the "ruins district" of Budapest - sounds strange, but it means that it is heaven for partygoers and all young-in-heart. It is easy to miss the entrance - black sliding automatic doors next to a coffee bar. The security man is always there, day and night, so one can feel very, very safe. Nice people at the reception - when I complained about the weird behaviour of air conditioning, they offered a change of room (to a larger and better equipped one), which I accepted. Wi-fi signal is strong, but connection tends to break from time to time. The whole property inside is very agreeable and designer-like: it is arranged around the internal open patio, with tables and benches. Most rooms (or so I think) have doors and windows from this side, so they are very quiet at night (but our first room beared on a busy street, and was not entirely quiet). Self-service breakfast is OK: a reasonable choice of products (including ham, cheese, cereals, joghurts, toasts). Additionally - a rather tired selection of sausages, scrambled eggs and the like (which will appeal to the British, though). Rooms vary in equipment, but TV (with a strange selection of channels) and lots of hot water in the shower are always there. The rooms are furnished simply, even plainly, but who cares in such a beautiful city!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    Good for a short stay for those on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the hotel itself is clean, the surrounding area is really dirty and homeless people were everywhere. I didn't feel safe in the area. The breakfast was sub par and it's pricey considering the quality of food. I'd stay at the hotel but I'll definitely eat elsewhere!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    4.2
    Too small without fridge.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is very central. The receptionist was helpful.

    The room was extremely small. Then the reception offered me another one next day but those rooms for 1 person are very small. There was no fridge and the y could not give me a proforma invoice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous location and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a reading lamp -- but apart from that the room was cool, quiet and comfortable.

    Ver friendly helpful staff and a great location. The hotel also has a fabulous courtyard with tables and chairs. There is also security at the door downstairs and a safe luggage room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    4.2
    Difficult to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find. They should have described the location better (between Burger King and CIB Bank). Had a scare with the elevator when it refused to open (quite antique). They currently can accept only cash as payment.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Centrooms House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: