Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Charles 3 stars

1016 Budapest, Hegyalja út 23., Hungary

#120 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1315 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The woman who served the breakfast in the mornings 28 June and 29 and 30 was not suitable for service may be she was not Hungarian other things were perfect

    The reception people was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    reasonable price compared with city centre prices for Budapest, clean and comfortable room, excellent closed private parking. A bit further away from the centre, but it has many buses right outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wi-Fi connection in our studio was not good.

    The hotel is ideally located: 5 minutes by foot to the Gellert Hill, 10 min - to the Erzsebet Bridge, about 15 - to the city centre. The buses are many and frequent. We had asked for a quiet studio and were given a nice one overlooking the yard, as well as the Palace and the Gellert Hill. The personnel of the hotel is fantastic: friendly, helpful and ready to answer all our questions. We had also pre-booked a transfer from the airport, and everything went smoothly. The breakfast was good, with a variety of fruit, cheese and mouth-watering bread and pastries. We also dined once in the hotel restaurant: the dishes were great! We had been a little worried about money exchange, for we were arriving in the night, but once we came to the hotel we felt very relaxed: the exchange rate in the hotel was excellent, so we used the hotel exchange service only. We really enjoyed our stay in Hotel Charles from the very first moment to the last one - it was sad to leave such a nice place and the city in general. If we happen to be in Budapest again, we will definitely stay in Hotel Charles.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location near to the railroad, but very soon we could adopt to this, and it had not more disturbed.

    Everything was very good, personal was very friendly and allways ready to help, the room was very lovely and the breakfast was great. I could really feel me like at home:)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel may consider not to collaborate with any taxi company and not offer fast price trips to the airport. Although this is very comfortable for a tourist, the drivers may not like it and be impolite (i.e. no tip in their pocket from the guest). Our driver on April 25 got road rage after an insignificant discussion with us.

    The food, both the breakfast and the kitchen of the restaurant situated in the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs some renovations especially for the bathrooms, windows and doors.

    Very nice and professional staff. Good location near the conference center. Comfortable big rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no minuses.

    The staff is very friendly and attentive. The room is spacious and warm. Breakfast varied. Special thanks to the restaurant staff - we had a dinner with partners, everyone liked the cozy atmosphere and tasty dishes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was weak, rooms outdated and not noise proof.

    Rooms were very outdated, bathroom was small, and you can hear other guests walking and talking, had the windows closed but can still hear the traffic. Parking is hard because the hotel is located on a busy street. Breakfast was good with hot and cold options

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows on the bed are a bit annoying.

    Staying the second time withing 10 days at this hotel. It was our perfect place for bed and breakfast before continuing our journey.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in could have been better. Room was not ready when we arrived about 30 minutes before 2PM. Somehow the staff checking us in did not seen friendly although all other staff members were very nice and cooperative. We had to ask after 2 PM also whether the room is ready?

    Staff in general was very nice. Facilities in room are very good. Connections to city are excellent through public transport. Hotel takes care of all requirements like money change, local bus tickets etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old fashioned, but good. Ants in the bathroom.

    Spacious room, friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfast, very good and inexpensive restaurant near the hotel. I would suggest going there instead of trying to find some place to eat outside. The meals are delicious at acceptable price. Staff helped us to bring our luggage to the room. Kitchen in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a parking ticket at the hotel. Previously it was a free parking but it seems not anymore. They should have warned us.

    They gave us a better room for the same price. It's not the first time they are doing this, I like how they treat their clients

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some noise overnight from the railtracks running along the side of the hotel. There are no facilities to eat or shop nearby. Breakfast was overpriced, so we did not have it.

    The hotel has a bus stop right in front of it so it is easy to get to by bus from the central areas of Budapest. The room was old style but clean, spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't find anything at that price

    Nice little hotel with a very good restaurant. Staff very helpful and definitely above the 3 star category. It seems that they miss only a few things in order for Charles to be a 4 star hotel (maybe the parking lot is too small). Clasic furniture and bathroom but with a large TV in the Deluxe rooms wich are also quite large. Breakfast is very good and you can find a lot of variety. The parking is on the Meszaros street side of the hotel and there are 3 free parking spaces there. The rest of the parking is in the courtyard of the hotel. Overall, good value for money. And let's not forget, a sweet surprise is waiting for you at check out, great move for a 3 star hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was low pressure in the shower, when we turned on the hot water. Some equipment of the studio is really old (doors, kitchen), but it is functional.

    Great breakfast and really kind and helpful staff. Although hotel is next to the railway tracks, it did not disturb our sleep.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillow was very hard. The mattress was broken. High temperature at night.

    Very nice staff. Parking in yard in hotel. Incredible good food in hotel"s restaurant. Bus stop direct before hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the lift is not baby stroller friendly... could be better. :)

    Very good staffs. Nice service and good location. Easy access to high way. 7 minutes aqy from city center by bus. Perfect restaurant! One of the best local food we have ever tried. The breakfast is also fantastic. Will recommend to all my friends.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist was very nice and the gentle man is cool ,they helped us pick the luggage when we get in ,which makes us feel warm cause we are very tired that day

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Maybe a renovation.

    The room was big, very clean, the hotel is an old one but overall it was a great experience. I recommend to take the breakfast as it was very good. The property is near the center and has public transportation in front of it. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Loved it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were really nice and very polite. I left my passport in my room after check out and they were really kind and let me go and get it. The room was really large for how much we paid. Everything was really clean and tidy. The best way to get around is using the metro bus across the street.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints

    Good value for money. Spacious rooms, good breakfast, safe private parking. Friendly staff. Overall very good experience. Definitely would recommended it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The internet in the room was not strong enough...on and off...Staff tried to help but still was not good.

    Room was comfortable...Bus stop just in front of the hotel..Super!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was big but the room needs some renovations , except that all was perfect.

    Very friendly staff , very good breakfast , Champagne at the breakfast on Sunday morning , good variety of pastries , very good price , the hotel is in buda (the other bank of the Danube , outside of the hotel there is a bus stop that can take you to the city center in 10 minutes. The staff is very friendly , always was there to help , we even bought a bus tickets at the reception. beautiful view from our window to the hills of buda , if we considering the price , the hotel was above our expectations ! (especially the breakfast.. )

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints for the money. However, one might request a room that does not front onto Hegyalja Ut. It can be a bit noisy, although the double glazing is effective.

    The attitude and helpfulness of the staff was exemplary. We were so impressed. Also, the fact that the 8e bus stopped right at the door and we could be across the river and in Pest in 5 to 10 minutes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    You need to take a bus or taxi into the centre

    I really only stayed in the hotel for a few hours I did not stay overnight, but the staff were extremely helpful. I cannot really comment on the hotel's facilities as I did not use them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You must pay for parking. Puillows too big. More plugs in the room would be nice. Wi-Fi sometimes erratic.

    Big room with kitchenette. The croissants were really good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    From bad to worse: - Rooms are loud if you don't have the ac. - It is a little difficult on first try to arrive in parking with all the one-ways around. - AC for additional cost. In this day and age? Increase the basic cost for room by something and include it.

    From Best to good: - Breakfast is great, - Rooms have nice set of utensils, - Personnel is very friendly and helpful, even sometimes too much, - Rooms are well isolated from other and clean - Location is around 15 min from castle hill. - One bus stop is like 30 seconds from hotel entrance. - MOM sale gallery is 10 min walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no working main lamp in the room. For the price we paid, there was not even coffee or electric kettle in the room. Though there is kitchen in the room, it was not well stocked. For this price and the distance and location of this hotel, not recommended. There are better options out there.

    The staff was helpful and nice and very punctual - Specially the men at front desk. Check in was very easy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi connexion is slow in upper floors.

    Nice hotel in a good location. Guys in reception are all similing and willing to help. Large choices in Breakfast, home made pasteries are delicious. I totally recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was little bit pitty, we had a room just next to stairs, so it was noisy there.

    As at our first stay in Hotel Charles, the staff there is 100% perfect. The Janos Restaurant was even better then before, I think.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel really looks old and the doors are outdated. Still, the room was clean. Hotel is really close to the train lines and when trains pass they really make a lot of noise, even with all windows closed. Also there is a lot of traffic on the main road, in front of the hotel. So we couldn't sleep too well.

    The stuff was really kind and helpful. The location of the hotel was really great because you can easily walk up to the Old Town. We parked the car just near the hotel and it was free because it was in a Saturday, but the hotel stuff said that only during the weekend is free and after 18 during the week.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is a little out of the main tourist centre, so we had to travel some distance to get to the sights in Pest, but the area is not at all unpleasant, and we found we could walk to the Castle District within 25 minutes.

    A really good hotel for it's price. The room was excellent: spacious, well equipped, tastefully decorated and very clean. Breakfast was good - I was able to get vegetarian items and good quality coffee. Staff were very helpful and impressively multi-lingual.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything. Nothing to complain about!

    Room was extremly big, the staff was great and there is nothing to complain about. Also their restaurant is good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy rooms facing the front/lateral street, maybe they can improve this.

    Very friendly hotel staff, they take time to answer and give you guidance for any request. The hotel is walking distance (like 25-30 mins) from Citadella or Budavari Castle, or even downtown, though you can pick up a bus also (bus tickets can be bought at the hotel reception desk). The hotel and its rooms are very clean, good breakfast options; as the hotel is right in a street crossing, the rooms facing the front and lateral streets may be noisy during the night due to traffic. Highly recommended hotel for either short overnight stopover or even couple of days city break. For few extra EUR they offer car parking in the hotel backyard, which is a very good option, though you can park also on the lateral street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low wifi signal

    We stay for 2 nights and everything was perfect. Good location. Perfect breakfast and very clean room. Privat parking for 9€ per night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean at all. Carpet was not clean, so that I did not like to walk in the room with bare foot. No a/c and windows face busy street. And main thing - wc was not clean... Very old fashion hotel. Most likely there were no renovation since opening (1990)... I would not recommend to anyone :(

    Good food in restaurant, very supportive staff, secure parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink in bathroom did not swallow as it should.the water stayed in a sink for while.

    Staff was very helpful.the location is perfect.the room was very big.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air-conditioning in the standard room, but a cooling fan helped us to survive. It would be nice to add a microwave to the kitchen equipment.

    Very helpful and friendly staff that really cares about your needs. Good location (walking distance to all attractions at Buda side, may require a ride by taxi (about 4000 HUF) or bus to get to Pest side). The room was very clean, and room service came every day for cleaning. It was also nice to have a small kitchen at our disposal. Free wifi (worked well). In general, very good price/quality ratio.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    na

    The hotel looks nice and is well situated ... takes a 20 minutes walk to reach the center of Budapest. We came very early, around 9 a.m. with the intention to leave our bags in the luggage room. And even though the check in starts at 2 p.m., the receptionist was very nice and as he had an empty room he let us in right away. The staff is friendly, there was a valet offering to help all the time. Everything is clean, room was very good and was equipped with air conditioning. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, a lot of different food, fruits, cakes ... Look forward to coming back and staying here!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we booked room for summer therefore it should have aircondition. unfortunately they asked money for giving us the air condition,s remote!

    staff were very polite and helpful. getting bus easily toward the city . breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is very old and is crying for renovation. Tiles in the bathroom and the toilet itself are cracked, shower doesnt work properly. The worst part is the bed. Pilows are enormously huge, like 3 ordinary size pillows in one - neck pain in the morning guarantied. Blankets are baby size. Mattresses are very saggy.

    wifi work perfectly, very helpful staff, parking, kitchen korner in the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No air condition in the cheap rooms (you can pay 15 euro per night extra to move to a higher category room with an air condition). Also, most rooms face the street which is extermely noisy at night, so make sure you ask for a quiet one...

    Comfy bed, friendly staff, clean room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had ants in our room. That's not the biggest problem ever, but it was a bit weird indeed, when we found a few hundreds of them crawling on our bag, whuch didn't even have anything sweet insdide.

    The hotel is situated in a good place, not far from most of the Budapest attractions. We liked the attitude of the staff as well as the nearly perfect breakfasts. Also it was nice that we had a fan in our room, since I wasn´t attentive enough we didn´t have an air-conditioner in our room from the very beginning and it was way too hot in Budapest on the days of our visit (June 25-27).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was very friendly ( receptioners, etc.), they helped us even with the baggages. Also, at the breakfast ( which was very good), they were very nice and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean. Inside parking is an advantage, even public parking it's possible also ( it's free in week-ends). Bus station is near the hotel, with busses 8E, 110, 112, you can reach Budapest center in few minutes. We will come back here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of your staff at the reception implied I took a bottle of water from the minibar just because he saw me with one. Once I told him I had it from elsewhere his behavior and repeating questions were insulting.

    All the facilities in the room were very good! The bed was very big and comfortable!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The reception area needs an upgrade. There was no computer internet access. Some of the staff members were helpful, but one lady in reception which worked early on the morning of 11Jun17 was extremely rude. I asked for directions and she did not even look up from the document she was working on to answer me.

    Clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the second day, the wifi has gone to who knows where, was impossiple to connect aftet asking stuff to reboot, also near is railway, a little bit sound.

    Stuff is good, location is very good, just in the entrance of hotel is the bus stop, the city or sightseeng is too close. Room is huge !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was secure which was important for us we also ate in the resturant for the three nights that we were there which we loved especially their cheese soup

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can be tricky to navigate your way to the hotel, if arriving by car. Tricky, not impossible.

    If you're looking for a good night's sleep, but still be close to the sites in Buda, this hotel is a very good option. If you're also looking for a hotel with an excellent restaurant then this is it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was very noisy. The hotel is at a corner where one side is a busy big road and the other side is next to the railway.

    Staff members were friendly, helpful. Breakfast was good. The room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - noise from the street - even we had room situated into smaller street, the noise in combination with old windows was really big. Unfortunatelly rooms situated into main and smaller street are not equiped by air condition, so you have to choose if open the windows and alloved big noise or close the windows and have warm in the room - uncomfortable bed ( very soft ) and really big pillows - older equipment - windows ( don´t protect noise ), shared bathroom battery for wash basin and bathtube

    - helpful and proffessional staff - very good and various breakfast, still replenished - location - easy to get there by car - good connection to city center (walking distance but also good public transportation), bus stop next to hotel - spacious room - cleanness - private parking - WI FI connection

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not recommend this hotel. The staff were mostly helpful but the hotel has had no upgrades at all. Beds extremely uncomfortable.

    The beds were original, very uncomfortable, everything was old and original. They change bed linen every four days and if you want it sooner you have to pay extra.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was poor , decor was a little dated, the air conditioning was not very effective.

    Easy access to buses that take you into the main town centre. Clean and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old furniture and appliances like heaters door looking mechanisms... Bathroom also needs an upgreade, would like a double bed instead of two conected single...

    Staff was verry polite and helpful with directions and reservations fur all kind off attractions. Clean and good size room with a small kitchen. Location close to the main attraction of Budapest. Nice restaurant good food. Verry good breakfast! Overall good value for the money comoared with other hotels in Budapest

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I had mixed feelings with this hotel. On some occasions I have seen a manager (owner?) walking up and down, and making sure you feel all good, he was kind. So I would assume that there is a management intention to make things work well, however the hotel lacks some serious investments and some long needed developments. Some of them: - there are plenty of stairs starting from the main entry, up to the rooms. As the elevator stops between two floors, there are still some more floors to take. - the door keys are very heavy, it's a pain to carry them on, or leave and take them from reception. - the corridors are very old and somehow creepy. Not like vintage, but old. It is a major disadvantage that you can't add your bill to the room - I mean it's a disadvantage for the management as well. If I have to keep counting how much cash I have left (no ATM around), then I will spend less. If I can add my bill to the room and pay later, I will spend more. It is a MAJOR disappointment that the WIFI does not work good at all. Sometimes it was on for 10-15 minutes then went off, or slowed down completely. It was way below what you expect from a hotel with WIFI.

    The location is pretty good, you have some major shopping malls and 24/7 shops in a walking distance. Also walking a bit further you can get to beautiful places. The crew is all very nice, including the people in the restaurant, they were always polite and helpful. The room is kinda spacious, and it has a vintage furniture with a nice kitchenette, and all things you need there (the only turn-off was the office style trash bin, what does not fit at all). Restaurant was really good! Nice staff and excellent food, a major strength of the place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing.

    We booked a studio which is very roomy. Can do light cooking. Very nice staff. Help in arranging everything. Decent breakfast. Bus stop in front of the gate. Easy to reach downtown area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad wifi connection. Ugly from the outside. Have to take the bus to join the center - although it is not hard, and they sell tickets at the reception (~1 euro/trip/person, then have to buy another one for the metro).

    Friendly and helpful staff. Quiet enough; nice view from the window (houses in the trees). In front of the bus station that takes you to the metro (10 min).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not realise that I had booked a room without aircon, so had to rely on the opening/closing windows. The hotel is located next to a very busy main road, so I had either had a choice of not sleeping because of noise or not sleep because of heat. The hotel does offer air conditioned rooms at a different price, or you can upgrade when you are there for €15 per night extra. Will only stay there again if I can get an aircon room

    Breakfast was good and varied.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi wasnt strong enough and did not work in the rooms properly. The bed was not as comfy as I would have liked.

    Staff was very helpful, nice and caring. Excellent service!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The cooked breakfast offerings were disappointing - the same each day and rather unappetising (so I only had the Continental offerings). Disappointing to have a kitchen, but no tea and coffee facilities.

    Great staff and a very good location with bus stops outside the hotel going into Pest and coming out to Buda. Breakfast was good, provided you stuck to the Continental breakfast. Staff were exceptionally helpful. I had plenty of space in my room, and a helpful little kitchen area that was useful for cooking snacks, keeping things cold in the fridge, etc. Bathroom facilities were adequate and the room heating was efficient. I liked being able to open windows when the heating was too efficient, too! TV was limited to one English channel, but that was enough to get the news. This hotel was a great base for exploring the wonderful city of Budapest, allowing me to walk up Castle Hill, jump on a bus to the Pest side or just walk into town over the Elizabeth Bridge.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Always very good reachable and very kind. The room was as described on the website. Very clean and comfortable. We would definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet could be better(just for the upper stories) :)

    Great staff,location.Very clean and cozy.We will be back again and will recommend to our friends.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing.

    Bus stop just in front of hotel with 3 lines direct to city center. Small kitchen in the room is very helpful. The staff was 5 stars, very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some floors were under reconstruction so we smell a glue during the first night in our appartment.

    We like the position of the hotel that was quite close to the historical centre and also possibility to park a car in the hotel (for a fee). Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some how the awkward lifts denote other periods, but not an issue. 4 stars seems realistic.

    Those corridors have a special charm. The Studio had everything needed, actually the bedroom was way beyond expectation. I work in hotels, cleaning was spotless even for a critical eye. Staff very good also. Strongly recommend it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Initial pillows were ghastly foam. Subsequent nights we asked for and received down pillows. 2. Colours of decor in room were drab. They should be more lively. 3. Breakfast cereal bowls were all chipped. They were all changed when we mentioned it to reception.

    Excellent breakfast Good restaurant meals Excellent reception staff especially Hoffman.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    just level up the cleanliness esp. in the bathroom.

    good location, the room is warm just perfect to the icy cold weather outside. very accomodating staff at the reception.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit old and noisy because it's placed near the train station.

    The room was spacious and clean, delicious and varied breakfast. Staff was helpful and nice. The hotel is close to the City Centre, 3 bus stops far.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridors are a bit shabby could do with a bit of refurbishing stairs to get from the lift to the room- lift stays between floors - we didn't mind it Otherwise excellent place

    Fantastic restaurant , delicious healthy food, sweet owner who personally served us and even offered us a free dessert, of which we even got a recipe ( best chocolate cake ever) Huge room, warm , clean, opening windows, lots of light.,. Safe parking Smiling staff Chocolate when we checked out :-) Very friendly atmosphere Comfortable beds

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing we didn't like much is the place, where the hotel is situated. it is on extremely busy junktion. Surrounding not much nice. We were lucky they gave us room facing the yard. Still, as tbe building has old windows, we could hear a lot of noise from outside. Can't imagine to have room facing the street. I ques they can't do much about this and they realy make their best out of the service on the other side.

    What makes this place special are the people on reception. They are very polite and profesional. We got better room and a bottle of vine as I mentioned on reservation that the trip is for my husband 40 Bitthday. Very nice of them. Also room was nice and comfortable. Breakfast was ok and they refill all the time. Bus stop just in front of the entrance. Overal very good value for the money paid.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    WiFi sometimes glitched at night. A reset usually solved the outage. I would rate the restaurant food as adequate. However, I did see many locals eating there, so maybe they considered the food better than I did.

    Good staff. Reasonable quality, especially with regard to the price. Somewhat dated building, so if one wanted a modern ambiance try elsewhere. If that is not relevant, the hotel is quite acceptable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had little problems with wifi.

    We were very pleased with our recent weekend stay, the customer service was great. From the moment we checked in until we checked out the staff was very friendly and helpful. When we checked out, they even gave us chocholates, with tip - safe journey - on our language :) The Hotel is well located, you need only 15-20 min walk away from center of Budapest and it's very simple to find it if you are traveling with the car. The place was very clean, rooms are huge and the price was favorable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing To Dislike ....

    Everything ....Location ...Room Size ....Staff .... Excellent Food ....Fabulous Atmosphere ....I Always Use This Hotel When I'm In Budapest ,,,,

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly couldn't of been more helpful! The hotel is in a perfect location on the Buda side with bus stop right outside and a short walk away from buda castle.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Incredibly noisy, the hotel is located right next to a busy main road and train station. Having read the reviews of other guests we were prepared and brought earplugs but even those couldnt minimize the loud noise. - Still a bit far from the center when walking, you have to cross a steep road and bridge to reach your hotel. A brisk 30 minute walk I would say. But there's a busstop right in front of the hotel.

    - Very friendly and attentive staff - Spacious and clean studio with a semi-equipped kitchenette, clean towels and linens. Our bed was made up every day. Eventhough the rooms looked a bit worn and outdated, the place is very clean and hygienic.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Charles traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: