Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Chesscom 3 stars

1191 Budapest, Bartók Béla utca 5., Hungary

#126 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3237 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Metro not running from this location in evenings and weekends. Bus replacement service to city centre good. Not so good on return trip. Hot, crowded and very bumpy.

    Secure parking. Helpfull staff. Close to airport but with little noise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small Big minus for WI FI it’s terrible.Unable to play a simple clip on the YouTube,please fix it.

    The best location ...close to the airport and 15 min to the city centre.Next to the shopping mall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was too small for comfort.

    Hotel is decent for the price, nothing extraordinary. Rooms were clean, but small. Hotel is near Metro M3 and located in quite surronding, approx 30 mins away from main city. Hotel staff is helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction noise next to the first room made post flight sleep impossible so had to change rooms.

    Close to public transportation and ease of access to the city and airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel did not provide enough toiletries. Surrounding area wasn't pretty.

    Comfortable bed. Good breakfast. Good service. 25 mins from airport by 200E bus. 25+mins to tourist sites by metro.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is 10 mins walk from Kobanya Kispest railway, bus and metro station. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and tidy. The wifi worked well. Very handy for the 200E bus to the airport. I would use again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator did not go all the way to the ground level. It required climbing five to six steps from the reception desk to get into the elevator. This is a severe inconvenience to anyone with disability.

    It was close to the train station, clean and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, I wish our last minute price could have extended to more than just one night!

    Everything! Professional, comfortable, staff had great English, clean, parking was secure, good location...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fridge barely worked.

    Great location near a terminus subway station. There is a direct bus to the airport nearby. Very clean room, clearly well-maintained. GREAT value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not friendly from outside, the reception is not in the front, and the lobby it's like in a hospital.

    Free parking place,cosy room, close to the airoport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is super convenient for a short stop in Budapest if you’re on a budget. Easy to get from/ to the airport and to the city center. Just use bus 200e and blue line metro to the center. Both distances approximately 25 min. Small, clean, professional stuff, decent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were just staying the night as we passed through, hotel is not close to the centre but public transport is very close by which would make up for distance

    The room was updated and great value for money. Private parking and 24 hr reception are a great added bonus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • People with friends
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the worse ever.The room was so small we couldn't open our vallets. In hostel we had better conditions for less than half price in the heart of Budapest לשכוח מהמלון הזה

    The location is totally out the city but nearer to the airport,there you can catch the first morning-bus to the airport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt much more like a hostel than a hotel and a hostel probably would have been cheaper. The beds were fairly uncomfortable, the room was smaller than expected and initially they couldn't find the remote for the AC so it was very muggy.

    The breakfast was yummy and the staff were nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet could have been faster. Also, I did not like the fact that I could not call from the room.

    Traveling with a group of 27, was not easy for the rest of hotels where we stayed in the tour of the orchestra. However, you guys handled our needs with ease and kindness. The hotel was close to public transportation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very hard to locate with a car. Even with a electronic, movable map.

    Eggs were an unexpected delight ! ! ! Bacon could use some equalization---it was burnt on one end, and sorta very under cooked on the other. Juices were great. Coffee----I used 1 part coffee 3 parts hot water, one cup was enought to last the day.:-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area could get crowded.

    Quiet location. Nice, large and clean room. Comfortable bed.Tasty breakfast. Staff was very helpful. I will stay here again eventhough it is a bit far from the center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't say that i disliked something. Maybe the mattresses are too soft for what I am used to, but this is a matter of custom for each.

    The room was big, clean and nice. We had everything we needed for our stay. Good breakfast as well. Free parking at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location, close to the airport, very comfortable room with all facilities and a nice view, delicious breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. For sure we will come back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think this hotel is a combined of 2 buildings. Our room was the last room on that floor but to go to our room is just like a maze.

    Have parking lot inside hotel compound. Very clean and really near to mall. Can do last minute shopping before go to airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extra small room, and when i say small...you bearly have space for luggage, the hotel is in a updating state so you will see a lot of construction, the outside of the hotel looks awuful. The breakfast is perfectly same every morning.

    Extra clean room, near to metro station, near to shopping mall

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a bit far from the downtown. Personally, I like sleeping on multiple pillows, so I felt like I was missing a pillow or 2, but other than that, I have nothing else I didn't like

    Breakfast was absolutely amazing. Probably the best yoghurt I have ever had! The room was clean and the staff was very friendly!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel overdone my expectations and I would stay there again. However, I would not recommand this hotel for someone coming to Budapest for a quick city break since it is not in the centre but would recommand it to everyone looking for an inexpensive, normal hotel in a quiet area with good transport links.

    Mid-size hotel on suburban area, very good price-quality. Do not let the star rating to misguide you: the hotel passes perfectly for a 3-star hotel. It is a bit away from the city centre but just 3min walk from Kőbánya-Kispest metro/railway station and 20-30min from both city centre and the airport (with the direct bus 200E). Secure parking. Very friendly staff right from the beginning: got my room a bit earlier than the check in time was. The staff was always very polite and smiling, at least Hungarian, English and German spoken. Other guests were mainly from Central Europe. My room was very bright and clean, bed was comfortable. The breakfast was delicious with huge selection. Hot diahes included scrumbled and boiled eggs, bacon and frankfurters. I also liked the fact that fresh fruits/veggies and Hungarian specialities like körözött and libamáj were served. Thank you so much for a great stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside of the Hotel is shabby and unappealing. There is a big problem with the bathroom drains, the smell was disgusting and unbearable. The first room that we were offered was dark, small and dismal and as we were staying 7 nights we asked to be moved. We were given a larger room on the fourth floor, sited in the roof constantly banging your head on the slope of the ceiling. Also it would have been nice to have had tea and coffee facilities in the room. No mirror in the room and no sheet on the bed.

    The location was excellent in between the City and the Airport. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was excellent.

    Its very affordable and excellent. For me its a 5 star. We didnt expect that it would be clean and fancy as what we thought. Its awesome and the staff is friendly and accomodating. We were very comfortable and it is excellent. Will definitely recommend this to our friends and relatives. Plus its near the airport and public transportation and shops. Very convenient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was very nice. And the luggage safe was a positive thing, because we were at the hotel before 12 am when we arrived and left for the airport at 5 pm when we left, so it was easy to just leave our big luggage to the hotel. Next to the hotel is a big shopping center which has great stores in it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no kettle in a room

    It is convenient to reach the hotel from the Airport. The mall near to the Hotel solves many questions of tourists. M3 line metro will deliver you in the city center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is close to the last metro station of line M3 going directry to the city center but at the time of visit it was not available due to reconstruction and buses had to be used instead.

    Acceptable price for warm and not luxory rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Very good low budget room , with private bathroom. Location is right across a big mall, by the airport shuttle / metro station .10 metro stops to Deak ter.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy and plentiful private parking free of charge . Fair size rooms with private shower and WC . Good heating in winter but can be turned off if not required . Friendly, helpful staff . Very good location within 5 minute walk to Kobanya Kispest Metro/train/bus station for easy access to city centre/airport etc . Good room rates .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cramped. Had to put some things on the floor.

    Friendly, helpful staff, including an advanced explanation by email of their credit card pre-authorization "blocked" amount booking policy. Main reason for staying here was proximity to airport bus which was a two minute walk from hotel. Shopping mall was also close. Small fridge in room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, next to a bus station, metro stop and a shopping mall with easy access to the bus line going to the airport. The hotel is renovated, the room are simple, clean and provide excellent value for your money. The staff is friendly and helpful. Having a safe locker where you can leave your luggage after you check out was quite handy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even if we stayed for one night on our way to Austria, we expected a better room, however it was small and it had an unpleasant smell from the bathroom

    Nice staff at the reception, free and supervised parking and well heated room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a tiny step up to the bathroom that is difficult to see. I tripped up it and my husband smashed his toe on it and got a bad cut. Also the shower is not sealed properly and leaked water out to the bathroom.

    The room is basic but well decorated and clean. The beds are comfy and the room in warm. The staff all spoke great English and were very helpful and polite 24/7

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If only they would have fresh coffee at breakfast ...

    Location is very good, with a big shopping mall nearby (KOKI Terminal). You also get free parking, in the interior garden of the hotel. The room was a bit small, but clean, with generous windows, plenty of light coming in. Breakfast was ok, the coffee was based on instant coffee, not ground coffee. Free quick wifi internet. Good to stay here if you plan to tour the city, and even better if you are only in transit. You get a small fridge in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smell in the bathroom was terrible and made us both ill. Despite leaving the toilet closed all night ,the extractor fan on all night and the bedroom window open all night the sewer smell would not go way and made us both ill.

    The hotel would have been ok had it not been for the awful smell coming from the bathroom which simply never went away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to my mind

    The staff was super nice and the room was well heated and clean. Having a mini fridge was a pleasant surprise and the variety of tv channels kept me entertained. The best part is the location - 5 min max to the bus stop to the airport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry for that . No smoking hotel . But they said all hungary is banned smoke in hotel rooms.. if it not cold yes ok . But budapeşt was really cold ..it must divided non smoke room and smoke room

    Everthing was ok .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seemed a guest had smoked in the shower area of the bathroom - and while the hotel did their best to cover it up with scents and to clean it, it still smelled like smoke.

    The breakfast was VERY good and the selection was great. Clearly the lobby and downstairs area had been renovated - it presented very well. It was a good value for our family as we waited to fly out of the airport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin walls in between the rooms so you can hear your neighbours talking or smililng, if they are loud it is disturbing if I needed to sleep.

    I like refurbished rooms, there are different rooms in the hotel, refurbished and existed ones. Existed ones are old ones with old used furnitere, refurbished are new ones, very beautiful, nice shower, good bed, spaious rooms, new floor. So it depends who wants what - depends also on the price but for me defintelly the refurbished room is very good. Location is safe, quite close to the airport - taxi drive aproximately 10 minutes, safe parking if your are there by car - free of charge which is very convenient. Great breakfast for very good price - 5 Euro per person. For sure I will stay there again. Thank you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We said that we are coming earlier than check-in time but they did not let us in even though every hotel I've stayed accepted us even if we arrive 6 hours early.

    It was close to the public transportation and shopping mall. The staff was helpful and friendly. It definitely worth its money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location next to the metro line. Very helpful staff. Provided us with all the information and maps we needed to explore the city. Clean room and comfortable bed. Private parking facilities. An excellent choice altogether.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It isn't as nice as it looks in the pictures; internet got spotty when everyone else on the floor seemed to be hitting the internet (a bit annoying but not much can be done except providing separate routers for every room which doesn't fit within budget for a hotel that rents room at this reasonable price); building could use more attention; lack of style, felt like sleeping in a college dormitory; should be rated as 7.4

    Good location close to mall and metro; friendly receptionists; clean facilities; good value

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    walls are very thin, you can hear your neighbours in the other room, that disturb my sleep

    parking is safe, hotel employees are kind, breakfast was very good, area is safe

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    The staff is nowadays more "Business-like" compared to the previous "Youth-Hostel approach" The location is really perfect if you have an early morning flight out of / or a late arrival into Budapest Airport as the Airport Bus 200 E is just across the street. Clean, well heated rooms. Good WiFi

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom window could not be open, I like some fresh air in the bedroom even in the winter.

    Friendly staff. Very good breakfast. Free private parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was excellent, very helpful. Position couldt be better, metro is across the street. Everything was nice and clean. Excellent hotel for this prise.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was too hot. Way too hot.

    The receptionist was really nice and spoke great English - he even helped us with some questions. The beds were comfy and clean. In fact the whole hotel was super clean, so I was really positively surprised, considering how cheap it was!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Выбрали этот отель из-за раннего рейса. До конечной остановки автобуса 200Е минут 5 пешком. В комнате было даже жарко. Пришлось открывать окно на ночь. Не ожидали ничего особенного от 2 звездочного отеля. Но остались очень довольны. В ванной комнате есть одноразовые шампуни, фен. По два полотенца на человека. Удобные кровати. Номер небольшой, но для одной ночи вполне достаточно. Приветливый персонал. Рядом большой торговый центр, метро.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 403: street (especially buses) noise is really loud. When arriving, swamp smell from bathroom. No extra electric socket in the room, you have to plug the lamp out to fill your cell phone. Small tv with pathetic sound quality.

    Rahter good location to stop by if you are on the road (free parking, close Metro termnal and railway station). Rather comfy beds. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Need to be improved: - our room was good, but objectively the repair needs to be updated; - low soundproofing; - did not have enough variety at breakfast, we were tired a little bit by the end of the week; - complexity of climate control settings, it was stuffy; - the sockets are located not very conveniently.

    My husband and I were the guests during 1 week in Hotel Chesscom. There is a very comfortable location - near the ending station of 200E bus - so you don't need any transfer from the airport. A very big mall and Kőbánya-Kispest subway station in 1 minute from the hotel. Wonderful and welcoming 24-hour reception, daily cleaning, good quality of Wi-Fi connection, in-room safe and very good beds. The administration responded to all e-mails before arrival. Good quality of breakfast - a lot and nourishing, very tasty croissants. We needed early check-in and check-out, there were no problems, and as a huge plus - we had got a breakfast to-go in check-out day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor winter air conditioning. Room temperature did not reach 25 degrees even after hours and the receptionist knew that this such problem existed. The towel dryer also stopped heating. Even the room's only window was blocked and could not be opened , so no fresh air from the outside environment could get inside. There was also loud construction noise from upper floors. If they replaced the room to an equivalent room in the corridor of 1st floor ( which I asked to avoid due to bad smells known problem ) then I had to face the bad smell all the way to the room as I had last year (when they also did not supply the air conditioning remote control on the end of May , although air conditioning was one of the reservation's main conditions) . Although that, and although they were told about the above problems , they insisted to charge 3 euros (charge was made after I left) for a small used face towel stained with berry juice (was used in order to avoid the spilled juice to reach the carpet) which probably could be removed easily as I experienced before on my shirt . Their first version was "Unfortunately, it is not possible to wash red wine from the white clothes, so we had to throw the ' floor mat' into the trash" . Second version changed to " unfortunately we couldn't remove the stain from the 'towel' " (How come, if no more than 24 hours passed between check out and between the charge , and when they use to send it to a laundry ? simply they have the power to charge your credit card , so they threw the towel and even did not notice that it was a towel unless I told it) . Even if they cannot consider it as wear and tear, they could act wisely as most firms and not charge for the alleged minor damage.

    friendly staff. good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for good price. Very comfortable and clean. Spacious room and bathroom too. A lot of space on the parking place. Good communication with metro or bus stop. I do not know about the breakfast, because I didn't use.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dead insect on the window-bench - most probably killed by the previous guests. Cleaned upon request. There was a mould smell in the shower room. It got better after the first use of the shower.

    The staff have always been courteous here. The superior room was really comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit of bad smell coming from the bathroom which was noticeable when you entered the room - must be problem with drainage but wasn't overpowering.

    Excellent if you are travelling by car as they have secure private car park with lots of space . The location is near to Kobanya Kispest Metro /Train/Bus station with very quick and easy transport to both the city centre and airport . Friendly, helpful, professional and English speaking staff . Hotel has recently been renovated and so rooms are freshly painted . Good comfortable bed . Fridge in room Despite being around the corner from a major road there is hardly any traffic noise and it's surprisingly quiet and easy to sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower is excellent but it is very unfortunate that there was a lot of water in front of and under the toilet during showering.

    location is excellent for us (family visit and city visit). Enough shops in the area. Also easily accessible from the airport. excellent room. super breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low quality of juice to breakfast. Noise in room from ventilation/heating. Only small roof window

    Good value price/quality Clean bathroom Close to subway+airport bus

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to leave.

    The location of the Hotel is very convenient. Just accros the street there is a mall and next to it a Metro station of the M3 metro line which can take you to the city center in 15 minuets. The room was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was nice and tasty. It was also a plus that they offer free parking, which is very unusual for Budapest. I would definitely recommend it to everyone!!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The thing that guest cannot adjust heat emiters in the room is real sad - it was really hot in here, which was led to necessity for open windows (in November!). Also if you're girl traveling alone, you might think about the safe way to get to the hotel in the late hours: the street is quite abandoned and dark.

    Hot and perfectly working shower was on point. My bed was clean and comfortable enough. The thing I liked the most about the hotel - it's closeness to the metro Koki terminal. Also staff is very friendly, I have only good impressions about these guys. Also liked the breakfast, which is starting to be served at 7:30 AM.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good budget hotel in a quite suburb. Free parking. Close to metro station to center and bus to airport. Close to big shopping center and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The a/c was not working and it was quite hot in the rooms

    Great Value for money and perfect location, situated 3 minutes walk from Kobanya Kispest Train/Bus Station !!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was the furthest one away from the main staircase and involved several corridors and short stairways, not so easy when your in your sixties and have two suitcases!

    Clean, comfortable, receptionist spoke English which is a help.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean rooms. The staff was incredibly helpful, friendly and fluent in English. We had a overnight layover between our flights and we chose this hotel because you could easily get to/from the airport. I event forgot my bag there and they keep it safe until I went back and got it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and efficient staff on checking in. Good location for travelling to airport, room was comfortable though for travelling alone I was in a room with 4 single beds in total, which seemed like a waste from the hotels point of view :) There are plenty inexpensive eating places located nearby to the hotel, as well as good transport links to the city and the airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit off topic, but unlike the hotel staff which spoke good english, on many occasions hungarian people have very poor knowledge of english language (all of them had tourism related jobs). A couple of times it was very frustrating, because you can barely get the info you need.

    Very clean and regularly maintained. Breakfast was excellent, staff friendly and helpful. Being a budget hotel, the rooms look a bit dated, but its well worth the money and more than we expected. Will stay again if we return to Budapest.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE TV IS SOOO SMALL THAT EVEN WITH GLASSES I CANNOT SEE WELL THE REST IS OK

    I USE TO STAY MY LAST NIGHT IN CHESSCOM HOTEL DUE TO PROXIMITY TO BUS 200E GOING TO AIRPORT VERY EARLY MORNING

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely convenient location to Kobanya Kisbet station, where you can get trains into Budapest and a bus to the airport. We safely walked to the bus station at 4:30 in the morning to get to the airport rather than paying for a taxi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Transiting BUD airport between two flights this is my second visit to this hotel. The hotel is easy to find near the shopping center at Budapest - Kobanya - Kispest metro station. or railway station with long distance trains. A local bus takes you there from the airport. If you like to dine there is a good restaurant just around the corner from the hotel or at the shopping center. Beverages, wine and beer is readily available in the small hotel bar to good prices, located at the entrance of the breakfast room. Even if I visit Budapest and not in transit I would choose this hotel for it´s conveniance and great value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls are a bit thin and the hall is rather austere, like a hospital, but no major problems.

    Shared bathroom was kept clean, wifi worked reliably, and the reception staff were very cheerful and friendly. Each pair of rooms has a separate entryway with a door that blocks noise from the main hall. The location is right by where the public bus to/from the airport stops, so it's great if you're flying. The metro stop is also there, so it's easy to get into the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    SMALL ROOM. I HAD TO MOVE FRIGE FROM UNDER BUREAU TO BE ABLE TO WORK ON THE DESK

    WEL SITUATED SIMPLE BUT NICE HOTEL HALF WAY BUDAPEST CENTER AND AIRPORT. CONVENIENT TO COME AND GO DUE TO NEARBY METROSTATION AND AIRPORT BUSLOCATION IN THE MEAN TIME

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that they wanted you to leave your room key with them everytime you left. Also, their rooms can be updated. The rooms aren’t like the picture but the front desk area and the dining area are nice.

    It’s a great location from the metro which is only across the street. Also there is a big shopping mall across the street. The breakfast was great too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very clean. Everything was perfect, from the welcoming until the end of my stay. Nice workers. Room was perfect. If you nice something close to the airport, this is the best choice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had no complaints.

    Convenient location just a 10 minute walk from the Airport bus service stop and the Kopyana Kispest blue line metro . There is a large shopping precinct nearby as well as fast food places, a pub and a decent Hungarian restaurant round the corner from the hotel. The Chesscom's neon blue light sign can be seen from some distance away. The staff were very welcoming and informative. The purchased buffet breakfast was worth the money. There was a small bar near the lobby but I did not use it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very bad smell in the budget rooms ( i do not recomand ), carpet was not clean, breakfast was every day the same

    Very good location near the metro station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wished there was a way to better modulate the temperature of the room. was at times too warm for comfort. probably could have ask for help at the front desk, but i was too lazy to enquire.

    though, the location of hotel may seem to be a bit away from most of the tourist sites, the close proximity of the metro made this distance irrelevant. also, the location is so convenient if you need to get to the airport or the main train station. (budapest's public transportation is amazing, highly reliable, fast, convenient, and takes you right to all the important sights in the city.) stayed in the standard single room. was on the smallish side, but was good enough for what i wanted and needed. it was a quiet and comfortable stay. room was cleaned and refreshed every day. wi-fi worked great.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Chesscom traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: