Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City-Hotel Budapest 4 stars

1074 Budapest, Hársfa utca 51., Hungary

#1118 of 2,747 Holiday rentals in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 716 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.3
    Very nice and helpful receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the street - the room has windows to the street and opposite to the loading area for another hotel so maybe a room with windows to the courtyard would be ok. The huge indoor floor-standing air-condition machine in front of the bed.

    Very nice and helpful receptionist. Reception is open all day and night so not a problem if you arrive late and need to leave early. The hotel is very close to the city centre, public transport and the rail station. Many restaurants near by. Good value for many - you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    5.8
    Ok but more expensive than initially led to believe. Facilities provided can be faulty e.g. the hub
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room I was provided was next to a noisy road and had to ask to move my room. The electric cooker was not working at all. Also we were charged more money fir the room rate we were quoted by Booking.com. So it is a bit of a rip off

    Liked the staff attitudes and room comfort

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay n kitchen facilities had very thing you need for a short visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location but far from tourist area but taxi was only €10 ow

    Very helpful staff at the reception n the cleaning ladies. All facilities as per what is mentioned in the website

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    A very comfortable stay and within good reach of many local amenities. I will certainly come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minus. I could not find an English language news station. But I am just a news groupie travelling on his own

    Staff very helpful and the room was wonderful, large and with its own kitchen. Just great. Also within five minutes of the Octogon.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.7
    Room is spacious and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is rather a 2 star one - not much from 4 stars: the room has no slippers, no bathrobes... Not all of the staff members were friendly and helpful. Air-conditioner is very loud. Breakfast is quite poor. Parking, which was advertised on booking.com, is only for small cars - our mid-sized SUV didn't fit, and I had to pay more than 30 Euro per day for a nearby parking. Bathroom was mouldy...

    Room is spacious and quiet. Location is very convenient. It is pretty cheap...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The shower in the bathroom was small and there was very little shelf space for the toiletries. We kept ours in the kitchen. We stayed for 6 nights. The towels were fresh every day, but the bathroom floor haven't been cleaned once while we were there.

    The room comes with a kitchen and dining area. The kitchen has small stove, microwave oven, coffee maker, plates, glasses, pans and pots. You can make your own breakfast and dinner in the room. We had breakfast included in the price of the room. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    Big apartament (3 bathrooms)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oldish apartament, About max 3 stars. Noisy air conditioner One Garage For a small car. Nearby was Corinthia’ s Hotel Garage (18 eur/night)

    Big apartament (3 bathrooms)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    A great hotel in a great city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was enourmous. Very Big. It also incluided a complete kitchen, wich we did not use. The garage is an exiting experience. You use the elevator with your car. Please bring a small vehicle. My Skoda Octave just fitted. The breakfast is in the lobby, but still a nice place. Personell was very friendly. Especially the receptionist who helped us with the parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Large and comfortable bed, 2 portable ac units, location...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks and feels more like a hostel, feels quite old even if everything was very clean, closes the door after 22 - acces only by card.

    Large and comfortable bed, 2 portable ac units, location near the city center and behind corinthia hotel, parking nearby

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most probably a big car can not fit the parking place lift cabin. Actually, we did not test wether it does or not:) - just used the parking place of your neighbour. Anyway, thank you

    Everything was perfect:)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    Good value for the money, but don't expect high end luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception is in a full restaurant, so if you have heavy bags it can be difficult to get in. Also the thermostat wasn't working well. Room was a little old in its styling ,not very modern.

    I liked its location, it was clean, good elevator and great room size with a kitchen. Staff was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Excellent overall stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is quite small so is not suited for large cars

    Location Free underground parking Small kitchen available Comfortable and spacious room Friendly staff Good value for money (we got a last minute deal)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Exactly what we needed for the weekend for 18 people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Upon arrival we were told we had to pay a £100 deposit per room (we had four). There was no mention of this prior to arrival. £400 is a lot of money to give out as soon as you arrive for the weekend. That being said all the money was returned on check out.

    Exactly what we needed for the weekend for 18 people. Good location. Clean rooms. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    We had an excellent stay at City-Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like about City-Hotel.

    We had an excellent stay at City-Hotel. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. We will defiantly be returning to this hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Undergroud parking not for suv or higher.....althou you can park at near by corinthia parking place.

    Good location Confortable bed Friendly and healpfull staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.9
    Do not order taxi at reception
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bad WIFI Connection. When you ask for a taxi at reception they do not send a normal TAXI but a Limousine Service. So pay Attention on this as it is 50 % more expensive this Service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.5
    Better check in advance the details of the reservation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to locate when you arrive at night time. The parking wasn`t fit for my car (a regular SUV) so I had to use the nearby hotel`s parking (a little bit more expensive). The POS couldn`t read my VISA and MasterCard credit cards so I had to pay in cash, although minutes after that I used them to withdraw cash and later on to pay my restaurant bill.

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Room was quite spacious, we had everything we needed there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The place is kind of pricey in comparison with other accommodation in Budapest. But overall I would definitely recommend this hotel!

    Room was quite spacious, we had everything we needed there and even got a bottle of champagne from the hotel for New Years Eve. Biggest plus of the place is that you have a small kitchen with all the basics to make yourself a nice meal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    A plesant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint ever is the breakfast. I'm a vegan and I could'nt find anything. But there were almond milk and fruits.

    The staff members were very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Good location and nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was a strong and very unpleasant smell from the bathroom (maybe from canalization) the first day and night

    The hotel is near the centre, metro is 5 minutes walk, our room was really large and clean, we also had kitchen. The breakfast was tasty though the third day wasn´t so good choise as the days before. You can walk to the city centre within 20 minutes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.6
    This hotel ecceded expectations and was excellant value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not much, I was compleatley satisfied with my stay. Possibly (quiet) background music or the television news in the breakfast room may creat a more pleasant atmosphere.

    Ecceeded my expectations. location excellent. Breakfast good and varied. Regarding price quality ratio, better value than ecpected and for the price I paid I consider I got outstanding service and value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.5
    Be aware that this facility is not a normal star rated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we stayed in R41 and it was cold during our stay. We informed the reception and they said that they can't do anything because building has central heating system. Breakfast is poor and not good quality. Bathroom amenities are inadequate (no slippers, no cotton buds etc.) Be aware that this facility is not a normal star rated hotel, even if it seems like 4*hotel, keep your expectations limited with apart hotel or BB hostel

    Room is quite spacious. Kitchennette is also well equipted. Location is the best aspect of this facility.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Short trip before christmas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything ok.

    Big apartment with kitchen corner,very clean,comfortable bed,quiet surrounding,friendly staff.Very good choice for breakfast.Everything was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Recommend to stay City hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -Bed was small size , but minor matter and very cozy to me. -Could be more vegetable like salad for breakfast -Nothing

    -Location was so good !!! -Staffs are very kind and very helpful. -Restaurant,KFC,SPAR super, Starbucks was close to work. -Tram,Bus stop clost to hotel and can use hop-on/hop-off sightseeing bus from Newyork cafe.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    would recommend hotel had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    could have had ordinary tea bags available, had to wait one morning for eggs, but all ok, could have used a toaster at breakfast

    good size room, bed was comfy even with a bad back,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Really like the place in Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, 10 minutes walk from city center but still in a quiet place. There ale good restaurants, markets and a bars surroundings. Rooms was clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed, nice shower and toilet and a small kitchenette (fridge, jug kettle, dishes).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    very nice place to stay in a hart of Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    n/a

    The hotel is located close enough to Octogon. Very close to tram 4,6 stop. There are small supermarkets, starbucks and PizzaHot not far from the hotel. All hotel covered by wifi with a good quality. The room was quite big, all furniture and equipment were new. There is a small kitchen in the room - refrigerator, microwave own, dishes, welcome teabags, instance coffee, honey, etc. It was very warm in the room in November because of radiators (it is very cold in autumn - winter time in old historical buildings in Budapest). Towels were replaced each day, and the room cleaned each day as well. There was a continental breakfast provided. Additionally, there was a special cell phone provided with free mobile internet and map pre-installed special designed for tourists.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.3
    Had a two bedroom apartment which was very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    BREAKFAST & STAFF

    Had a two bedroom apartment which was very spacious. Breakfast very basic. No toaster, scrambled egg resembled rubber, very small choice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    City hotel Budapest is good value, basic accommodation ideal for a short city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head is in the bath in the upstairs bathroom. It has no shower curtain so it is inevitable that the floor gets soaked.

    Spacious accommodation. There were four of us and we had a two bedroom apartment over two floors with a kitchenette and separate living room with fold out bed. The hotel is in a good location and reception staff are very helpful. There is a 24 hour shop on the same street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    convenient choice near to center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Thin walls so can be noisy. Almost no wifi reception on 4th floor. On a sunday, our apartment door lock malfunctioned and would not lock. The reception said that since it was a sunday, and monday was a national holiday, nothing could be done until tuesday so we should just leave it unlocked (seriously)!! This is with our luggage, two computers and the 300 euro mobile....They seemed a bit surprised when we insisted on changing rooms. So I hope you get the weekday manager...

    There are one and two bed apartments with cooking facilities here which are excellent value. Beautiful, clean and we appointed. Fantastic when traveling with children. Great breakfast. Location very good. They gave us an upgrade to a two bed apartment which was lovely. They lend you a mobile phone (if you lose it, 300 euros) and the phone calls are free.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Everything about Budapest was wonderful and the hotel was too. It was very good value for money .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    When we read the hotel details it said there was a patio so we imagined that we could sit out but as we were on the third floor it was actually just a view of a wall covered in ivy but it didn't spoil our stay at all.

    We really enjoyed our stay at the City Hotel.The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They booked our taxis to and from the airport and also printed out our boarding passes just before we left. The room was cleaned every day and there was a lot of choice at breakfast.If you are pretty fit it is possible to walk to all the main attractions from here which is good. There is a fantastic selection of bars and restaurants nearby and also a well stocked supermarket close to the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.4
    - slow internet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - slow internet - cold food on breakfast - small garage that doesn't fit big cars and they didn't say that upfront - air-condition leaks on the floor as the hose for exit water doesn't lead anywhere - room is very dark, lights are weak

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    Good location in district VII - many restaurants and bars...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some teenagers on same floor shouting all evening. Bathroom can be cleaner.

    Good location in district VII - many restaurants and bars around. But 30 min walking from the river. Very big spacious apartment, good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Great place very close to city center , very close to city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great place very close to city center , very close to city metro and to electric tram , lots of places to eat . The hotel itself is very nice , clean and warm , the hotel staff is very pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    The hotel staff was excellent, especially the young man at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Safety box was broken, but you can keep your valuables safe at reception.

    The hotel staff was excellent, especially the young man at the reception. (13-16sep) The breakfast was adequate, and the location of the hotel was great. Peaceful, but still many good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing negative to comment on

    Very large, clean and comfy room at a great price, very well trained staff, excellent parking space; the hotel is located within reasonable walking distance from most of the main sites.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel, nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. Great breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was excellent each day. Location is just outside the main tourist area, but within a reasonable walking distance and well serviced by transit. We had no trouble getting anywhere reasonably easily, and we enjoyed walking to many places including to and from dinner each evening. The front desk staff was very helpful ( and patient). Room was basic but clean, comfortable and fully functional. Great value for the money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking along the street, with payable tax per hour. The area is quite busy, so you might not find any parking spot, once you return to the hotel, so be careful.

    Great value for money. Located in the city center of Budapest. Very large and clean room. I do recommend the hotel for visiting Budapest. Breakfast was ok, but not very diverse in terms of food offerings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.2
    Budapest nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very unfriendly service. I asked for early checkout because of the train departure, but nobody was at the reception and doors were closed. I had to look for personal to open hotel's door. By the way, I tried to pay for the room by euro and there was no back (just 8 euros, omg). This is the worst experience I have ever had.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Large apartment room, with kitchen facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large apartment room, with kitchen facilities. The car lift to the underground carpark is a tight fit for larger cars, maybe 2 inches to spare all round for my car!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.1
    Room size, kitchenette, A/C
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was very uncomfy, but it's the downside of the city center location. Breakfast choice was really below typically high standards of Hungary. Walls and doors seemed to be made of paper- no noise protection.

    Room size, kitchenette, A/C

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel of average quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are better solutions for such price. The sleeping room was on an upper floor, the bathroom was on the lower one. Not so comfortable. The Internet connection was absolutely useless: a decent wi-fi connection but absolutely ridiculous bandwidth available. Total mess. Two very old CRT televison in the room. One not working acceptably. No international channels were available: if you don't understand the Hungarian language, it'usless. In short, no way to know what's happening in the world. The breakfast was abundant but of really average quality: no attetion to organic food, not even cane sugar.

    I've got a sort of mini-apartment with living, kitchen corner bath and large bedroom on an upper floor. The availability of a water boiler and tea bags was appreciated. Kind staff, but with limited capacity to solve the issues.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    It was a very big room (actually two!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was leaving on the last floor, with roof windows, when it was opened it was a little noisy in the morning.

    It was a very big room (actually two!) with the second floor for bedrooms. Another surprise was nice kitchen with all necessary equipment for cooking small meals.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Perfect Hen Party
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a two bedroom apartment for 6, there weren't any sofas, two of the beds were in the lounge. The pictures were very Miss leading.

    It was amazing, had my hen party there. Location was perfect. We walked everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.1
    Pricey 3-star hotel pretending to be a 4-star one
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    - quite expensive for that standard - would not give it 4 stars, it is standard of 3 stars - you could easily hear people talking in the corridor - quite close to a dirty and poor Gypsy area (do not walk from bus station the route google maps suggest :)

    - good location (walking distance from the centre) - comfortable bed - breakfast inlcuded in price - fully equipped kitchen in room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    Very good place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street is rather calm, but...it was Friday, and a group of young people was singing on the street at deep night (from 4:00 to 6:00). Probably staff could call to police to calm guys a bit...

    Everything was perfect: Excellent location, kind staff, wifi, kitchen equipment in appartments, clean room with everything necessary.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    The room is very big with a kitchen inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is near the train or bus stations

    The room is very big with a kitchen inside. We used to cook meal for ourself. By the way, the breakfast was good as well

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.1
    The bed was to stiff, practically no pillow, I got two beds...
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was to stiff, practically no pillow, I got two beds connected, suppose to be one big bed. The bathroom clean but every thing old, The tv was old school and too small. A bit too pricey giving the circumstances.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.8
    Definitely worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -One night the hot shower stopped to work. I had to finish my shower with cold water, but it was 1 in 4. -They say there is a bar but there is not.

    -excellent cost-benefif -big rooms -very friendly staff -good breakfast! (Big plus) -very well equipped kitchen -good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    6.7
    Good hotel for a short stay but now a bit overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed here many times but this is the first time I have been allocated a room on the first floor on the street side. There was a fair amount of noise from the reception area and the road noise was a little intrusive. Usually the hotel rate has been reasonable but they appear to have increased their rates significantly since my last visit.

    The hotel is conveniently placed near public transport and is on a relatively quiet back street. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.5
    A fine family stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot breakfast should be available. At least some bacon and and eggs. Tv channels with very low choice.

    Croissants were amazing. Parking very secure. Location excellent. Apartment was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be better (in terms of bread and drinks, especially) The toilet was a bit smelly

    Nice staff Very well-located Big room Good WiFi connection

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    8.8
    large room, very clean, great water pressure, pretty good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bed could have been more comofrtable

    large room, very clean, great water pressure, pretty good Wifi (perhaps because we were in 1st floor right above the reception), nice staff, good location, fair breakfast. overall GREAT value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.1
    Hotel Location is a Good Base for Exploring Budapest- There are better Hotels Available
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had asked for a room on a higher level, we were given 2nd floor, so it was mostly noisy from within and in the street. The room, was adequate although rather dated. Smaller that what we expected, there was no sofa, only the bed and a table and chairs. So no where comfortable to sit. Television was very small and very far away from the bed to see, so we listened to it rather than watched. WiFi did not work in the room at all, so we used our data on our phones. Coffee/tea was not replenished on any of the days Safe did not work, provided with admin override, and then given master key as it still would not work. Breakfast was hit or miss, nothing much for a vegetarian, and had to go in search of staff to order hot food. Staff not always visible/accessible

    The location was fabulous, lots of places to eat and drink at. Fridge in the room and kettle. Shower although dated was very good Room made up every day and fresh towels Staff were respectful if not stand-off-ish although not always visible. Good price for the stay, although a basic hotel and room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    7.1
    The overall impression is above average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room was spacious, the bathroom seemed to be a bit old. Another problem was that the sheets had not been changed for at least 4 (out of 6) days we stayed there and the bed cover had a big stain from nail polish on it.

    The location of this hotel is quite nice. Close to many means of transportation and the centre of the city is near by, so it's easy to walk to go there. Also the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    6.3
    Bad value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is some 10 minutes walk (700m) to/from the Metro. Travelling on ice and with a luggage is a different story. I had to take a cab back instead. The interior was very Eastern European, which I didn't really like because it didn't give me a comfortable feeling. The room was a little stuffy when I turned the heating up to maximum. Toilet seat was falling off but still useable. Shower had to run for a while before hot water came on. Hair dryer was not effective but it did the job. The minibar was the second worst part. I thought there would be plenty of snacks as what other reviews suggested, but nope! Bottled water tasted VERY funny. The bed which i was sleeping was noisy sometimes when i moved. I also didn't like that the safe was not functioning so I brought all valueables with me. The WORST part was the breakfast!! I cannot believe so many reviewers have said that their breakfast was good! It's not even decent/ reasonable. And was very very limited. Bad value for money. It's very likely that I would not stay here again.

    All the staff were very friendly and polite. The apartment was spacious for a single occupant. The kichenette was small but fully equipped ! Bathroom was warm and of course the rest of the apartment.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    8.8
    Very nice staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would improve the "sweet side" of the breakfast, I personally didn't find much to eat because I don't like eating salty things at breakfast, but it's just my personal taste.

    The room is a small apartment fully equipped and pretty big. It was well heated and perfectly cleaned. The staff is very kind and helpful. The aparthotel position is quite good, next to the körút and the 4-6 tram line, which is the most important of the city because it's the only one that works h24 a day.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    6.7
    Good breakfast, they can prepare some additional meal on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms look quite old and there is luck of light in the room. Also for 4th stars hotel it will be good to provide guests with shampoo, shower gel and other stuff

    Good breakfast, they can prepare some additional meal on your request. Location is very convenient

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    6.3
    The location was perfect,all attractions are almost within...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi signal in our room was very weak, almost unusable. The walls were very thin, noise is a serous problem. You will not get a good night's sleep. Visitors had parties with loud music at 1am while others were banging doors at night. It felt like staying in a hostel. We thought we could ask for warm breakfast from the kitchen, but the staff did not look happy each time we asked. They prepared them in the end, but it felt weird.

    The location was perfect,all attractions are almost within waking distance. Staff are friendly and helpful. It is a cheap hotel/hostel, just set your expectations right before you book. Read below...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel, worth staying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got room nr 12, unfortunately room is placed next to the lift and you can hear everything, what wasn't very nice during the night. So if you can, ask for the room far away from the lift.

    Location is just great, really close to the city center. Everything went without any problems, friendly people. Nice buffet breakfast. Spacious room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    Very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast was very basic. Not to our liking.

    Very central location. Loads of restaurants nearby. Apartment had everything we needed for a short stay. Great for families.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet and tv for the first 3 days

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.1
    Get what you pay for, but for this I'd expect quiet A/C.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy air-con Sheets not made up every day,

    Location Room size Kitchenette

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Location, safe parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Used facilities, breakfast was so so

    Location, safe parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast and the service is good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast and the service is good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Location was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs remodeling ( a bit old and rusty)

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is fine but the location is off putting because of the dirty streets near by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was a 15 minute walk to the nearest underground. I didn't like the dirty streets nearby.

    The staff were friendly and polite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, staff, price

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly staff, clean and comfortable spacious family suite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better

    Location was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful vacation in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old TV with local channels

    Clean, quiet, spacious room, friendly staff, close to supermarkets / restaurants / public transport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    All perfect , food , coffe , wi fi .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All perfect , food , coffe , wi fi ... staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    duplex self catering unit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking big problem bathroom on different floor than room

    enough space

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice apartment

    Very close to Budapest Keleti railway station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been a bit cleaner

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse City-Hotel Budapest traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: