Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Hungary hotel reviews
  3. Pest hotel reviews
  4. Budapest hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Continental Hotel Budapest

Reviews of Continental Hotel Budapest This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

1074 Budapest, Dohány u. 42-44, Hungary

#130 of 360 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2266 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer Winter is coming - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly and helpful staff. Great location, close to most of the touristic attractions, and convenient no matter the kind of holidays you want to have, either a relaxing one (Great spa area in the top floor) or a more intensive one (Ruin pubs very close by)

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2019

    10
    excellent. hotel great location and a beuatiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was quite expensive if you didnt pre book it. so will pre book breakfast in future

    seemed like a very popular choice of hotel as a lot of people from our flight stayed at the same hotel. made us feel comfortable and happy with the choice we made.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2019

    9.6
    Hotel exceeded my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff very accommodating, the building itself is very beautiful, common spaces and rooms finishing feels very luxe esque, breakfast very varied and exquisite, dinner menu was French influenced and very exquisite. The wellness area is something you cannot miss when you stay at the hotel. Building position is very centric and close to the center, most POI are reachable by foot or bus in a matter of minutes. This hotel exceeded your expectations and would definitely visit again when in Budapest.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2019

    10
    Great location, staff very helpful when asking info.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Great location, staff very helpful when asking info. Rooms where amazing for the price. Housekeeping service impeccable. Overall can not fault the stay absolutely no complaints. Breakfast was superb

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    7.9
    It was good, it was a nice hotel and the location was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer Winter is coming - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We tried to book massages, but it was fully booked. We ended up not being able to have massages there, and that was kind of a bummer. We did however have a nice time at their swimming pool and sauna instead. Based on our expericence I would recommend booking massages a couple of days in advance, and not just try the day before.

    The location was really good, and the swimming pool and sauna was really nice.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2019

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We spent 4 nights at the hotel to celebrate our 25th wedding Anniversary. The hotel went above and beyond to make our stay special. On the day of our anniversary while at breakfast they left bottle of bubbly on ice in our room. They advised and booked s table at the most beautiful reastraunt Halászbástya . On arrival at the restaurant the hotel had sent to glasses of sparkling wine to celebrate. Nothing was too much trouble for the concierge team. A truly fabulous stay.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel with an outstanding location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The check-in did not go as smoothly as it should has been, however, the manager in service did his best offerts to provide us a memorable trip to Budapest.

    The first time I visited Budapest we booked a hotel in Buda, which was too decentralised. This time we choose a hotel located in Pest enabling us to do some sightseeing during day-hours and enjoy the nightlife in the ruin pubs within a reasonable distance from the hotel. The location of the Continental Hotel is therefore outstanding if you want to combine both. The rooms are as showed on the pictures and the breakfast is above average. The wellness is very compact, but it has it charms. I really enjoyed my stay at the Continental hotel and would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing a memorable trip in Pest.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2019

    9.2
    The staff were amazing and the decor is beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer Winter is coming - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lifts were confusing and a hassle as some floors were out of order. Wellness facilities limited for the number of guests

    The staff were amazing and the decor is beautiful

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    5.4
    Don't spend your money here.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff wasn't friendly, far from that. No smile and a whispered good morning for the breakfast. If you don't like to work with customers, do something else. The room were really tiny and this hotel doesn't worth the value of money.

    Location, that's it. Don't spend your money at this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2019

    6.3
    Beautiful from the outside and that’s it. Absolutely not value for the money.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were tiny even after changed for the superior room. To get to your room it’s a bit confusing and even the staff gave us wrong indications. In the morning, even if the door was closed you can hear everything in the corridor. Too warm during the nigh and impossible to adjust the temperature control in the room below 19c.

    The style , the look and the location, plenty of nice local restaurants all around.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    6.7
    Room was always clean
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When i booked the hotel , it was shown that there ia bath in my bathroom. Unfortunately there was only shower. I told them that but they didnt agree .

    Room was always clean

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    10
    All the staff were very friendly and welcoming, nothing was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing not to like. Service, hospitality and warmth all in one. Accommodation knocked several times on the door during the mornings which wasn’t ideal but it didn’t overly upset me.

    All the staff were very friendly and welcoming, nothing was a problem. Special thank to Bence on the desk at night, he was very helpful during our weekend break. Will definitely be returning. 5 stars

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    10
    Elegant and stylish hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was enough big and clean, comfortable furniture. Fast check-in and check out process. The location is great, close enough to the city center. The wellness area is also nice.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    10
    'Old world' elegance mixed with modern taste and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer Winter is coming - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I can't think of anything we didn't like about our experience.

    The hotel has just enough 'old world' elegance mixed with modern taste and comfort to be a real winning combination. We slept fantastically. The location was perfect for walking to many sights, nightlife, shopping and interesting food choices. The staff was courteous and friendly. We didn't try the restaurant, but it was certainly full with happy customers. A great base for our trip.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    9.6
    Great location, wonderful hotel, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wellness is very rudimentary; very small pool, just for kids, small sauna, overall far past it's prime.

    Overall a very nice hotel, good restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is very big with swim pool and sauna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room isn’t clean, very dusty. The hotel is situated far from the subway, nearest streets are very dark.

    The hotel is very big with swim pool and sauna. Breakfast is good and various. The room is comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    8.3
    Great stay, not the best but very good standing and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer Winter is coming - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms could had been better / bigger with a better view. But actually we had a standard room and we received proposals to upgrade our room by paying some extras. These look really nice but we didn't real lived them!

    The hotel is quite well situated, close to the city center by walking distance and in a quiet street despite the closeness of a big avenue and of the ruin bars around. Bar in the room is extra loaded BTW. And make a stop in the Araz restaurant beside for a dinner and you'll enjoy a real luxury experience.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2018

    10
    Charming art déco hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a wonderful hotel, very well located. Nice and confortable room. Very good breakfast. The personnal of the hotel is very nice too. It was the birthday of my daughter they gave a suprise for her. It is not a first time we stayed in this hotel, I recommande that sincerly

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    5.8
    The location was really Nice and staff most of the time...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check out was very basic and not really help full with a taxi. No question if everything was ok or how was the stay. Very basic service for a excecutive booking. No welcome drinks or anything. What is the difference between a standard booking or an excecutive booking?.....

    The location was really Nice and staff most of the time friendly

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    9.6
    a Very good location to stay in Budapest! Perfect location and perfect hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small breakfest room, on Sunday there was long queue just to get in the Breakfest room, not enough space was available

    It was a great experience and it is more than expected.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    9.2
    Staff was very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The second time we booked the hotel, the room smelled a bit fusty but further no comments.

    Staff was very friendly. Breakfast is more than okay. Rooms have all the things you need. If you go to Budapest this is the best hotel I know in the area.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.1
    Budapest is a really nice city!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nice hotel. Room was really small but ok. Located in the nightlife area but not noisy. Daylife is in other position but easy to get by walking or taxi (approx 10€)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    7.5
    Very good location and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise keeping you up at night might be sound bouncing around an air vent, or something, anyway it is very disturbing. Couldn't change the TV channels with the remote because of the strange panel in which the TV is built in. From a distance cca 2m it functions with the remote to. The sealant around the shower should be replaced to.

    Very good location and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    8.3
    Good central location.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a lot. The only thing of note was the shower was a bath shower and was quite a step to get into and out of.

    Good central location. Good sized room for a city and a large very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    8.3
    elegant hotel in good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite overpriced for Budapest. My room was facing the road and it was a bit noisy especially during weekend nights due to "party people" hanging around in the area.

    The hotel is very elegant, high quality, with professional staff. The structure provides decent restaurant and spa. Rooms are cozy, clean, quite comfortable, with all facilities including kettle. The location is good, in the Jewish area full of restaurants and bars, at walking distance from the nightlife center of Pest. I appreciated the delicious complimentary chocolates found in the room at my arrival.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay in Budapest. Very clean and modern hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don’t buy the Gariffe On and Off bus pass. They never come as promised and it was a waste of money. Other red buses were prompt at same price. The receptionist pushed us to purchase on arrival.

    Very upscale modern hotel. Great bedrooms and remodeled bathrooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    4.6
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paying for ice if room service bring it up...Housekeeping very loud at morning,trying to get into your room.Minibar never been refilled.

    Good location.Clean rooms.Front dest very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    7.9
    Generally it is a nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If they would actually let you play the piano in the lobby! If the breakfast was already included and not this expensive! With 15 euros in budapest per person you can have a eat a lot!

    Generally it is a nice place. You're almost close to everything and rooms are clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    8.8
    Quite large, modern Hotel in a up-coming area with a lot of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is now about 10 years old and some renovations could be done, e.g AirCon is quite loud.

    Quite large, modern Hotel in a up-coming area with a lot of coffee shops (london coffee society basically across the street is great!), bars, and some modern shops. Small but very nice wellness area and roof top pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    9.2
    spa and gym are best!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    small things: strange smell by door, ac noisy, no free mineral water in the room, breakfast could be more healthy (more fruit, veggies and ryu bread!)

    spa and gym are best! the room is big and comfy! the location could not be better

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    5.0
    Do not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We got our anniversary and choose this hotel to have a great time. Dirty room. Hands on the mirror. Even after we asked to clean and pointed on the mirror nothing happened. Staff was mostly ”burned off ”. Nowhere info before we are there, we can smoke or take a drink on the roof terrace near swimming pool. The problem is not that you can't, but that they don't let you know in advance. At the table drawer was hair which looks like public. At the end of it, they can't even send our postcard with paying it nu card. Only cash. On the last day we have only card. Great location, nice breakfast. That's all.

    location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    10
    I stayed with my mother who is 77 years old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I stayed with my mother who is 77 years old. The bathroom was dangerous. My mother hit her toe on the doorstop getting out of the bath. Her foot and toe was very bruised. There should also be handrails in the bath to hold on to

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    8.8
    On the whole, despite some concerns related to our specific room, the hotel is pleasing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was oddly situated right next to the beds. The room was exposed to excessive lighting coming in through the windows from the hotel itself. The A/C was inadequate.

    The breakfast was excellent. The location is close to many attractions and to many restaurants. The staff was consistently friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, good location but rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found the staff were quite rude. We were not given any information about the hotel or the city upon check in, only handed a key and brushed away. When were were looking for the pool, I asked another person on reception where it was, only to be questioned about if I am a guest at the hotel. It was very rude and unwelcoming. If I was given the hotel information upon check in I would not have had to ask for further info and been scrutinised for it. Upon check out, my card was charged without showing me the invoice for the room, without mentioning the total charge amount and without me authorising the payment in any way (eg. signature, entering a pin, sighting the card machine). When I tried to explain, I should have been given an invoice to check before payment is taken without my authorisation, the staff member did not listen and just printed a receipt and handed it to me then brushed me away so they could speak to someone else. Overall, although the facilities are nice, but I would not stay again. When I am on holiday I prefer to have friendly, welcoming staff who are open to giving advice on local restaurants/activities without being dismissed.

    Good location in the centre of Budapest. Close to Ruin bars and lots of restaurants. Good size room, very clean and nice bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    9.2
    Location was close to main attractions & staff was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room size is small compared to other hotels & price is bit high for such room size

    Location was close to main attractions & staff was professional& helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    5.8
    Look for another hotel in Budapest...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very expensive hotel with mediocre services. Little and dark rooms that have nothing to do with a 4 star superior quality. Parking is charged extra for a hefty 18 euros per day, no mineral water is offered in the room for free. Pool is little, spa in general is unimpressive. Noisy sorroundings. Very bad value for money.

    Nice staff in the restaurant, prices are reasonable there. Menu is well conceived. Pool offers nice panorama to the city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    7.5
    More effort required
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Jaccuzzi not working for whole of stay. Early check in not available, even although we had asked for it in advance, yet people on same flight as us who hadnt asked, were given a room early! Late check out had to be asked for on morning of check out, which really defeats the purpose! Faulty sink in room, but maintenamnce staff solved the problem right away.

    Nice Cocktails in the bar, nice outdoor roof area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room service is extremely limited. Just a sub-standard salad and some other (one or two) dishes available after hours. This was a bit disappointing. Most 4-5 star hotels would have a decent after hours room service menu.

    Very nice, close to everything. You can walk everywhere

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    6.3
    Good hotel, bad reception
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The blonde at the reception was quite rude, had to call back 3 times, she hung up on me 3 times, when enquiring about a booking as she clearly grew tired of having to talk to me. Polite, customer service? Not on her watch it seems. I pay with money, expecting a decent behaviour is the least I expect from them.

    Breakfast was nice. Rooftop swimming pool (6 people max). Sauna.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel at a fair price, but a few imperfections that need fixing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I do have a few remarks. 1) the mattress was only covered by a narrow sheet and no protective cover... This seemed very unhygienic, especially since the sheet was so narrow it loosened and you often wake up on the bare mattress; 2) there were mold patches in the bathroom and the room and bathroom were quite humid (bikini, towels and such barely dried)... I would expect a 4 star hotel to deal with mold; 3) reception staff refused to call a taxi for us... They were only willing to book their own overpriced airport transfer cars... These cars use a high flat rate and every tourist guide and also the city warns you against these 'black cab' services... In my entire life of travelling I have never been in a hotel that didn't want to call me a cab...

    In general, I would say this was a nice hotel at a fair price. The room was clean and had all the necessary amenities, we received a twin room as requested, breakfast had a large selection and was good, bar service was nice and inexpensive, the swimming pool area was also very nice and the building was beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    6.7
    This is not the first time in Hotel Zara, but I have to say...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not the first time in Hotel Zara, but I have to say my opinion changed. Room was not so clean as usually, bathroom the same - there was dust, hair, ... Stuff at the reception was not so friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2018

    10
    more than expect that we had.It was nice time at all.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn"t free water bottle.Though we booked 2 night,there was only 1night booked at hotel..but they had space to book 1more night,as a result,we can stay 2 night with just few euro more.

    good cost performance.I want to back again.There are two man had paying music at restrant when we had a dinner.two small pool of top also good.There are lot of nice restrant on the street.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money in the heart of Pest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lady at the reception at check in was extremely unfriendly, for no particular reason, but other staff were friendly enough. Shower screen in our room (215) was leaking, flooding the bathroom. Quality of the coffee at breakfast could be improved. But this were details as we would stay in this hotel again, overall we had a good experience.

    Good value for money in the center of Pest, close to numerous nice bars and restaurants, in all price categories. Hotel entrance and foyer are beautifully restored. W e had a simple room but nicely furbished if showing a bit of wear and tear. Nice bathroom products and our courtyard facing room was very quiet. Airconditioning worked well and we also has a coffee machine and kettle. Breakfast had a large selection and we could even sit in the garden. Rooftop pool is a unique feature in Budapest.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely perfect, beautiful atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything about this hotel was brilliant, my mom and I enjoyed our stay so much. The staff is super friendly, the food is fantastic (the breakfast as well as the dinner BBQ), the rooms are so comfortable and the hotel and its style are just magnificent. I was stunned every single time I came back from our day trips!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    2.9
    I don’t recommend this hotel to anybody.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don’t recommend this hotel to anybody...there is no visible signs!!!!its so difficult to even find this place!location is very bad,street is so dirty and smelly....horrible.room was dirty(bathroom)we asked cleaning lady to brings us fresh towels(didn’t happen),tv is broken in the left angle(room 432)...and the price was sooo overrated!!!the only good thing is a rooftop with the swimming pool.never again,sorry.cheers

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    6.7
    Artistic hotel in a bad hood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The neighborhood made me feel insecure. A lot of drunk and suspicious people at night. Then, we wanted to pay the bill in cash but they charged my credit card without asking. Also, horrible, really horrible food at breakfast.

    Ambience, the lobby is great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.3
    Nice City Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit further away from the Riverfront area than I thought when I booked, so public transport was required. The area isn't the prettiest but it is further in the city

    Nice renovated Hotel room, comfortable and clean. Friendly staff. Trams nearby. Great for an overnight stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    8.3
    Good and bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor service in terms of an incident ie the lock on toilet door in the pool area broke whilst I was in there.it took over an hour for them to get me out of a very small area and once I was finally out there was no questions In terms of was I ok an no apology u Would have thought they would have atleast apologised in terms of a free fruit bowl in the room or something but didn't even get offered a bottle of water.i was dehydrated and had i been claustrophobic then it would have been awful

    Roof top pool and facilities and fantastic location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    5.4
    Dissapointed. Will stay elsewhere next time.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dissapointed in internet provided. Girlfriend was not able to conduct any of her Skype Meetings AT ALL! The bathroom wad terrible. I expect that kind of shower in a rickity container not a 4 Star hotel. Met other people who checked out early to go to an Air B&B becauee the service was below standard for such a hotel/brand.

    Lovely pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very welcoming and we were upgraded to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower doors are extremely badly designed, with water unavoidable soaking the floor anytime you shower. Our towels were not replaced after cleaning but were sent straight up once requested. Also upon check in we were told all restaurants would be fully booked this time of year and that we should allow the front desk try find us a booking. We had no trouble finding restaurants with free tables, so I can only assume the hotel receives commission for referrals. Overall very minor complaints, had a great stay.

    The staff were very welcoming and we were upgraded to a suite upon arrival, free of charge. The rooftop pool was an added bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay as part of our honeymoon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely hotel in a great location. Very close to ruin bars and reasonable walking distance to many of Budapest’s attractions. The staff were extremely polite and friendly. We also got to use the rooftop pool after checking out which was lovely. Breakfast also had plenty of options. I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    6.7
    Great hotel with points to improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Roof top spa in general was nice, but the pools are not really big. Additionally the whirlpool was out of service.

    The hotel is located in a great area with various restaurants, cafés and bars. The art-deco entrance is really nice and the roof top spa/pool invites to relax. Room was small, but had everything you need and was clean. Gym was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.2
    Nearly perfect hotel in Budapest's bar and restaurant district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was definitely not en par with the rest of the hotel's performance. The selection was very limited, the stuff neither friendly nor attentive, basic things were missing (saucers, espresso cups, egg holders) and the quality of the food was also below expectations. I would suggest to book without breakfast and rather go to one of the great cafés in vicinity of the hotel.

    The hotel is absolutely stunning. From the beautiful rooms to the one of a kind lobby and the wonderful roof garden and pools. It's a gem that I would count amongst the nicest hotels I have every stayed in. The location is also great, in the midst of the city's hippest neighborhood with the best bars and restaurants just a short stroll away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    6.7
    One night in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Doormen offered help only AFTER we'd struggled through heavy revolving door with our bags. Door key failed three times. Breakfast OK, but very crowded and layout poor.

    Lovely spacious room overlooking garden. Grand entrance, though a little lost as cordoned off for cocktail reception and conference refreshments.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in the Jewish quarter close to public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spa has no loungers, just seats, staff friendliness (especially massage staff) can be improved

    Beautiful hotel in the Jewish quarter close to public transportation and walking distance from most of the attractions. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, very clean, gorgeous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extra costs at the end when we checked out that were unexpected....

    The bed was very comfortable, spa was excellent. Breakfast was nice. Good location for visiting Budapest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    8.8
    Hidden gem (restored historic bath) in good central location, with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Bathroom was very small and narrow - No views

    - Front desk staff and concierge exceptionally friendly and helpful - Good location one block off main street but in walking distance to many central destinations - Beautiful interior architecture and design - WiFi worked mostly fast and reliable - Good breakfast with a large choice - Covered smoking area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    5.8
    Close to numerous eating places and shops
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room smells probably from the thermal springs. Shower door badly located and can’t open properly. Water drips outside shower so have to put lots of towels down when showering. For an executive room, not much advantage.

    Close to numerous eating places and shops

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    8.3
    Hotel for business and leisure
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi Connection not very stable.

    Comfortable beds. The welcome, check-in and check-out was quick. The staff was very helpful with serving wishes. Car parking available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    7.5
    Our overall feeling of the hotel is good and we would definitely recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    These are small things but I still want to mention them, the brewed coffee at the breakfast was a little bit tasteless. We thought the coffee from the coffee machine was better in taste. Some of the staff in the restaurant were hard to communicate with due to the language barrier but still they were friendly and helpful. The signs for the hard boiled and loose eggs were sometimes mixed up. So I ended up having loose eggs while I wanted hard boiled eggs :).

    The location of the hotel was good. It was close to a supermarket, restaurants and public transportations (subway and tram). Breakfast was very good, it was a good variety of choices. We also tried the SPA in the hotel on the 7th floor. They had jacuzzi, an indoors pool, saunas and even an outdoors pool with a great view over the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful foyer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was small but this is clearly advertised when booking and typical of a city stay. Superficially looks clean but floor in bedroom dirty (spilled water on floor within seconds of arriving and filthy tissue when wiped down). Otherwise room clean. Linens updated every 3 days.

    Beautiful foyer. Staff very polite and friendly. Food in restaurant delicious and reasonably priced. Staff have perfect English and very keen to help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing and stress free accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning in the room was struggling to keep it cool.

    Comfortable room, excellent breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. Good location with a range of nearby restaurants. I asked for an extra chair in the room which was immediately delivered.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    10
    Ideal for those who want to mix luxury with culture
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a shame we couldn’t bring drinks onto the rooftop terrace but I understand their reasons for not doing so.

    The rooftop was so peaceful. Even though I didn’t avail of the spa treatments I still felt included in the spa experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    6.7
    Room was really small with very little space to move around the bed.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The size of the room is slightly bigger than the size of the bed. No desk to work in the room. It is impossible to get into the shower without closing the door of the bathroom. Not the room you are looking for when travelling for business.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    7.9
    Realy good hotel, pleasant holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room wasn't realy clean, the floor was partly dusty. There aren't slippers in the room. The tap in the bathroom was broken.

    Excellent location, lovely modern room, extremely comfortable bed and pillows. There are all facilities for tea and coffee in the room. Friendly and helpful staff. Good choice of foods, excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    5.8
    OK but would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not enough storage space to put your clothes, or enough space to move around the room. The bathroom looked great at first but we had terrible trouble with the shower. It did not drain properly and water often spilled out on the floor during showers as there is a gap between the shower cubicle doors. We alerted the staff to the issue but they didn't seem to do anything about it. On the second day of our stay we had a power cut in the room, our cards and all electricity stopped working. The maintenance staff went to my sister's room by mistake. No one ever checked back with us that it had been fixed. Too many people in the restaurant for breakfast on Friday and Saturday. The coffee machine broke a few times. The food itself was okay but very repetitive.

    Bed was good, comfortable and very large. Our room faced the courtyard and was very quiet as a result, which was fantastic. We appreciated the safe and the A/C.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    8.8
    I would recomment the hotel, especially given the plentiful breakfast and attractive common areas.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the room for the extra night was a little overpriced, but it was Easter Sunday.I woul

    Very pleasant and helpful staff. Very good breakfast. Patio. Comfortable lobby. Nice little bar/cafe. Within walking distance of tourist area. I traveled with a Road Scholar group. Our Hungarian Guides were wonderful, very knowledgeable, helpful, kind and spoke excellent English.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    10
    A hidden pearl in Budapest!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not able to set the aircon i the room, but this is nothing.

    Swimming pool on the roof, and deck chairs to relax - amazing! If you travel for business and you need to relax - right place!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    9.2
    The location was great, staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom and bedroom were both quite small (saying that the bed was huge). For a 4* I would have expected a bit more space in both (maybe even a bath) - but the weather & city were so nice we spent very little time indoors.

    The location was great, staff very friendly and helpful. The rooftop pool was a nice way to cool off after walking the city all day! Air con was also worked a treat. Double bed very large and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel, good wellness, great food.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad cleaning service (missing towels, toilet paper, etc.) but that's probably an individual's fault.

    Beautiful hotel, good wellness, great food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    7.9
    Great facilities and clean, staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning not working during our stay, meaning either to hot in the rooms or to noisy if window open, plus hotel taxi expensive

    Great facilities and clean, staff very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    7.1
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were very much on the small side. We were also an end room, and each night had people having loud conversations outside our room on the sofas.

    Great location! Easy to walk into the centre. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    10
    E beautiful, colorful, classic, high class hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were perfect, clean, veryy elegant, and perfect to enjoy yourself and have a great and memorable time. Congratulations Hotel Continental's managers for the efforts you made and make to rich to such a high standards.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    8.3
    The breakfadt was grear, hotel room clean and neat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was above the bar and was realla, really noisy, we could hardly sleep with the open window because in the April the A/C was nit working.

    The breakfadt was grear, hotel room clean and neat

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable bed, good facilities
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Awful ironing board. This is regularly an area missed by hotels; surely business travellers require decent facilities in this respect..

    Comfortable bed, good facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Continental Hotel Budapest Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: