Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Eger & Park 4 stars

3300 Eger, Szálloda ut 1-3, Hungary

#10 of 22 hotels in Eger

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 748 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ac, had to wait for over an hour to find a room with ac. Dirty, moldy shower curtain. Outdated. No coffee. No coffee machine. Coffee only in vreakfast restaurant and extremely bad. Handicap bathtub, with railing on the inside, extremely dangerous even for not handicapped. I thonk it could be a great rehabilitation facility bit should not be advertised as a wellnesa hotel, Spa. Very disapointes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Almsot all foods were Hungarian dishes and pork included. Dinner was mainly made for Hungarian taste. I did not see international food. Thank god there was some fried potato and fruits so we could survive. Hot tube was not as hot as it should be. The mattress quality was not good enough. For us it was too soft.

    Wellness was great. Hotel is very clean and beautiful. I liked the atmosphere. Towels provided at room and also at wellness section.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad customer service at reception desk, Wi-Fi in the room didn't work, small room

    Perfect location,clean room, great restaurant, the service was fantastic and waiters were so polite,good wellness facilities, very peaceful sun terrace

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hotel rooms would need some renovation for 4starts hotel.....(leaking toilet,....)

    Location is perfect, hotel and the city (or town) as well...hotel is in beautifull park, downtown is great, perfect for families and couples as well. Food is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is awful, very limited choice. The bed pillows are awful, very uncomfortable. In our two rooms the heating system worked so hard that even with an open window it was unbearably hot. And the temperature outside was -5C.

    The personnel was enough friendly and willing to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location, kind personnel, The spa included is perfect with no heavy "traffic":) We´ve been alone in sauna. The breakfast also very nice as in the castle. The bar also serve good drinks etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking place has been charged (10 euros) although I haven't used it. According to the hotel policy, you additionally have to pay for it although you didn't use it. So be careful, price in booking doesn't include 10 euros that you need to pay extra.

    The staff is generally polite and the location is very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to unlike.

    Centrally located, very good facilities and friendly staff. 2 bars inside and wellness and recreation space is an extra. Very well decorated and clean, everyday there was a different menu.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Moody staff. It is written on their faces that they hate to be there. People like this should look for a different job. And it is coming from someone who is working in high class hotels in the last 10 years. Ask 800 forint for a pair of hotel slippers is a joke.

    Housekeeping did a pretty good job.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room temperature was high and air conditioning did not adequately cool the room. Power went off at 7.00am on our final morning and was still off when we departed at 9.30am. A shutter on the window was in need of repair because it could neither be securely shut or held open. Result being that it would continually bang back and forth during any windy conditions.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was large and car parking was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms in the Park are grander than those in the Eger and quite roomy, including a small couch. The fixtures in the breakfast buffet area exude old-time charm, and also charming is a small ice cream shop accessible from both the hotel and the street.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Waiters could be more proactive to ask dining people if they want to drink something.

    The personnel was very kind, helpful. When I arrived the air conditioning had some problem; I reported it on the reception and when I got back from the dinner it was repaired and everything was great. The meals were rich and delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was terrible. Both the limited nr of variation and the quality. The sauce of the pasta had lack of spice except a kind of cheap ketchup. The cheese on the pasta was most probably the cheapest of its kind. Pasta was cooked well beyond the limit. Lasagne was dry, without spice and its meat tasted like sand. Rice was sticky so we had to "cut" it as if it was mushed potato. Grilled meat and vegetables were ok, however everyone took asap so the kitchen was running out of this mere alternative quickly

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check out was a nightmare. We had booked through booking.com and went to check out. We spent a very embarrassing hour calling booking.com, because our payment had not been forwarded to the hotel. When the hotel requested funds, booking.com declined the action. We were shown the receipt of declined payment. We ended up very frustrated, and had to pay again for our room to leave. The representative with our credit card tried to help confirming that payment was made to booking.com and booking.com was not helpful at all in the situation. We spent over 40 minutes on the call, international cost with no resolution. We requested help from Sam's "team leader" or anyone who could help, but the representative, Sam (from UK) would not forward our call or help us with any other phone number or provide a name of his leader. We had Sam speak to the hotel clerk, Judit, and he could not help her get the payment from booking.com. Not helpful!!! Judit gave us the declined payment receipt from booking.com showing that payment was not made to the hotel. He just kept rereading a statement that was not helpful. We finally after a major headache, repaid the bill and decided to dispute the incident later. We lost an hour, blocked the check out que (and had many frustrated people around us), lost all the relaxing we had achieved, and missed our lunch in Budapest because of the fiasco!

    Half board made the time very relaxing, and the staff was very kind even with allergy requests.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I just wish there were less people and wellness facilities to be slightly bigger. Some cleaning activities could be nicer.

    The hotel pleased us or a nice weekend stay. It provides all basics for a good stay. Great location for a stay for Eger.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because of the dog, I was denied the full-size bed I'd requested, instead being placed in a small single bed room. The bathtub was not a real bathtub and it was dangerous, even with all the handles they provided. They should be replaced.

    This group hotel had numerous buses coming and going all times of the day and night, making for a busy and interesting setting. The buffet breakfast was excellent. We were not in a position to take advantage of the spa facilities.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small as was the bathroom, and turns out my friends who booked later received a better price (free 2nd night) and a bigger room. No point in booking early I guess.

    The room was very clean, the crib provided to my toddler was nice and came with bedding as well.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Writing at check in for me the breakfast after years is little bit boring

    The best hotel in Eger Staff and location orange juice good again Wellness

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are small.

    Great location, very friendly staff! Food is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Perfect place for relaxing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Crowded parking, crowded restaurant during the breakfast, language problems

    Helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food ran out quickly at buffet. We’ll be back.

    Great atmosphere for kids

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were very good. Very complete breakfast. Dog friendly and ok location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was terrible. bread too tough

    great location. small but well airconditioned & clean rooms Close from basilica and city centre

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not that big, not much space for storage

    Tasty food in the reastaurant, live music, located close to a park.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been better

    Breakfast and location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfortable enough.

    Locatiion was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff, good location & facilities

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet was a weak point, basic cantina food, not really good wine when Hungary has plenty, no decent coffee

    Nice room and playground

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Basic amenities (shampoo, slippers etc) are not provided in the room.

    The wellness facilities are spacious and well equipped.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff has a style which unacceptable Wellness centre is not great and open late on Monday Poor esthetic Poor quality - just good quantity- of breakfast

    It could have 2, and half star instead of 4.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    that we had to go away thanks again

    STAFF perfect , helpful check in was fast (better than before) we had played xbox around 22:00 o clock ,really good idea fantastic wine in bar

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room, small toilet, poor breakfast, expensive for pets. Dinner time from 18-21??? Ridiculous minibar: 2 waters,1 coke,1 Canada Dry, 1 oj and a small bag of peanuts. Service fee of 18% on top of price. Deserves 3 stars, not four.

    Swimming pool facilities.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very very noisy. During the evening times you can hear the bowling underneath, in the early morning people are running and I mean running in front of the room to the breakfast room. Room was not soundproof.The beds (seperate) were movable with wheels that were not lockable, so not good for a couple. The bed itself was not very comfortable to sleep in. The breakfast room was very crowded and so was the spa on the weekend. Overall I can say that the city is worth a visit, but the hotel is not a place where I would spend my holiday again.

    The location is great. Walking distance to the city. The spa facility is big and clean. Massage prices are reasonable. The breakfast was included, therefore I dont complain about the quality.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dirty hallways, poor breakfast, small rooms, old ugly furniture, chlorine smell at spa area, old ugly towels, very expensive for what it offers, barely 3 stars should be it's clasification.. We've been very disappointed for this choice, it ruined our holiday.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you ever find yourself in Eger, Hungary, do avoid the Eger&Park Hotel! We arrived there at 9 am, after a long flight. The check in was only at 3 pm. We had no option of early check in, but the reception staff told us they could check us in at 1 pm. Ok, no problem. Since we were tired we decided to stay at the hotel in case the room was ready before 1 pm. After one hour of freezing in the hotel loby, I went and ask at the reception if our room was ready, since a large group of people checked out. No, it was not ready, but after asking to speak with someone from the hotel management, by some sort of miracle, one room was ready for us. Obviously, the room was free all the time...it is really sad that you treat your clients like this. This is not a professional attitude towards them, who indirectly pay your salaries! ‪ Other minuses: - no slippers in the room. So you should bring them with you if you want to go to the wellness area. - quite super small room.

    The location was rather good.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms are small and the temperature of the rooms were very high (24-25 C degree, no possibility to adjust it). Parking fee is too expensive.

    Location of the hotel is great.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't have one big bed but two normal beds which were put together In the shower was no shower gel In wellness on Sunday we couldn't buy water or anything because it's closed on Sunday Breakfast is good even when it is 6 years the same but the juice which was really good in the past now it's water with maybe 1% of orange..

    Location, price , wellness

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bedding not very good. There should be more signs in English, specially in the Spa area. Breakfast is only available until 10:00 am

    Good location. Good breakfast selection. Overall getting a bit old.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast seemed a bit mass produced, it was a very busy hotel, and there were a lot of staff working, but the quality the food didn't seem very good. Also, breakfast was until 10am but at about 9.45am they were taking stuff away and kind of clearing up. The room we had (in new part of the hotel) was very small and the bathroom was tiny. The shower itself was powerful but it was really cramped (in the bath) mounted in the side wall with a towel warmer on the back wall so it was getting wet every time you showered. It was just a really weird and unhandy layout. In general, it wasn't bad, but when you pay nearly 80 euros a night, you expect a bigger room. I know you also pay for facilities, but the rooms should also be decent size.

    Pool was excellent, proper pool for laps and not too busy. Good location, near park, and not far from the centre. Big hotel with lots of rooms. Good wifi and comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Purchased drinks in the bar, but the barman refused to put them on the room...as I didn't have Forints, I had to walk, alone, outside to find the atm - took me thirty minutes to locate. When I returned and complained, he pretended he didn't understand English. He spoiled what was an otherwise, lovely weekend break!

    Really relaxed atmosphere and the staff, with one exception, we're so friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A szoba alapterülete egy kicsit szűkös volt. A reggelinél amint a "gyümölcsél automata" adott magából, azt inkább nevezném szines víznek, mint mint gyümölcslének.

    A hotel hibátlan, a szoba jól felszerelt és tiszta volt, erkéllyel, légkondival, és minibárral, a fürdőszoba okosan elrendezett. A reggeli bőséges, és jó a választék. A wellness részleg remek.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room small. Bathroom small. Breakfast in other hotel, but ok. Somewhat noisy. Hard beds.

    Good location.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    room 151 have a horrible view

    wellness

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Basic services, quality of breakfast

    Central location, wellness area

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overheated room, breakfast is served in a different hotel (built together with Hotel Eger)

    Perfect wellnes section, plentiful breakfast, nice room

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wellness, swimming

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great, centrally located facility with comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very warm and the towel dryer in the bath room turned it into a sauna.

    Good location, great staff awesome breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pool was very good for children.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    please make the check in faster

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor and dirty bad. No possibility to control the temperature (too hot)

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bath/shower was blocked and water couldn't go down, breakfast was not worth the price

    Spa and wellness, comfortable bed, polite service

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our hotelroom was the same size as the bathroom.

    Wellness

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WIFI was very poor, almost useless...

    Staff members were professional, breakfast fantastic! Pools and others excellent.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great swimng pools!

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Normall breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Difficult to find space in the car park,

    Loved the pools/spa, and location of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a little bit to small room, queues to the swimming pools

    good breakfast, good localisation

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the mineral baths and soa

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    writing at check in is really bad and I can't understand it cause it's a 4 star hotel

    Breakfast , location, bed, wellness

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfasts were unpalatable.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Dinner is not good...

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nice wellness

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the request of double bed wasn't met. At the end we got a room with two single beds.

    good location, friendly staff

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Browse Hotel Eger & Park traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: