Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Erzsébet City Center 3 stars

1053 Budapest, Károlyi Mihály u. 11-15., Hungary

#117 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3664 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location, breakfast could have been healthier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smell of cigarette smoke in my room, quite dated decor and shower facilities. Double bed was two singles put together so wasn't super comfortable. Breakfast could have been healthier.

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is very close to the metro stop Ferenciek tere;
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioner does not work when you are not in your room.

    The hotel is very close to the metro stop Ferenciek tere; there are many cafeterias, pubs and shops in the neighborhood. The room was not so large but comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Cost/benefit/location ratio if thumps up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At the reception they had a bit of difficulty trying to find my reservation. At first we could not agree that I had only booked one room and they insisted that I had booked 2 rooms. We were able to resolve it in the end after a short phone call.

    The location of the hotel was great! Walking distance to the heart of the city!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillow was incredibly soft! All other facilities as you'd expect and fine.

    Comfortable, old-school, reassuringly solid hotel in the center of Pest. Easy walking to the Cathedral, historic center, restaurants and shopping. A short block from the Danube. The desk were helpful and had good English. Buffet breakfast is good and characterful area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.0
    I am enjoed my staying there and I would like the managment to pay attention on room cleaniness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wall was stained I don't why the management did not make arrangement for the wall to clean before they give the room to me.

    The breakfast is always great and location is deal for.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 2-3 mosquitoes.

    The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Staff were approachable, accommodating and friendly. The place was near the shops and there was a metro nearby. The environment of where the hotel was located wasn't noisy. The breakfast was delicious. Short distance travel to the bus stop where the shuttle will take you to the airport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Would stay here again if visiting Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room could have been bigger. It was noisy with the windows open.

    We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. It was close to the main attractions. Staff were very professional and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    Convenient location and good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a wee bit small and quite a bit dated.

    Great location with lots of nice restaurants in close proximity. Staff helpful and breakfast decent. No complaints.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Excellent and certainly made our stay a really comfortable one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing I can think of.

    Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Brilliant city location yet quiet in the hotel (although fully booked). Breakfast was very good. We didn't book in advance so where offered a cheaper price on arrival i.e 7 euros not 10.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.3
    Facilities are dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are dated. Not enough sockets, and some are broken. Elevator is old and tiny. Personal care products are limited. It doesn't feel like a 3-star hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are a bit small/crowded with furniture and the hotel could use a refresh.

    Location is great. You can easily reach metro station and shopping areas/restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    A second unexpected stay in short succession!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the hotel and rooms are clean the rooms are a little dated. Lifts are small and slow, particularly in the morning.

    The location is excellent- very central - close to main shopping areas, not far from The Danube and also the infamous Jewish quarter.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff was so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so friendly and helpful. Location is good. We book here for a night due to flight cancellation. And they arrange the taxi to airport for us on early morning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    All in all , had a great time at the Erzsebet hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioner was hardly cooling. All in all

    The location is wonderful. Breakfast was good. Room was comfy and clean and the staff was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    All perfect and smooth
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very gentle staff, excellent in covering my questions and curiosity. Bonus points: I have gluten allergy, and they manage to bake me freshly some bread for breakfast - optimally timed by calling the receptionist! I can see myself booking again here, should I be back in this beautiful city!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    great stay, will turn back.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I've stayed in the attic. One day, a fire alarm (or something) started and the elevators stopped. I had to use the stairs for eight floors and realized that my fitness was no longer what it used to be....

    Great and spacey room, abundant breakfast, but not very diverse. The utilities in the room are a mixture of modern and old. Great position in the city. You have to try the barbecue and sausage takeaway restaurant right next to the hotel. The personnel was very kind to offer me an umbrella when it rained. And communication via email with the hotel went very smooth.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    had a very nice time..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I don`'t know really.

    the breakfast buffet was excellent, plenty of choice...transport to your left and right, a short walk to vorosmarty sq, vaci ut. staff very helpful, nice restaurant and wine bar in hotel..and lots of others around. very nice shopping area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Helpful front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful front desk. Breakfast for 7 Euros per person per day was good deal. Clean. Easy walking distance to metro,Váci Utca and the Danube as well as the tram.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Basic 3 star accommodation, excellent location, helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room cramped, with not enough storage space . Room not cleaned/ serviced on the second day. Staff entered rooms to try and clean at 8.a.m on final day without knocking when we didnt have to vacate until much later.They did this twice before 10.00 a.m.

    breakfast good, staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel in great location for all sights etc our second visit to this hotel and wonderful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no kettle or tea making facilities in room. pillows not very good quality rather small.

    lots of choice for breakfast.Very good steak at hotel restaurant.hotel is in great location and good value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    really enjoyable 4 days,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    might have been better to have coffee making facility in the room

    staff very friendly and helpful, very clean hotel. with in easy reach of everything to see and do.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel. Decor dated but clean and otherwise fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small. Air conditioning is advertised but only blew hot air. The temperature in the room was like a sauna which made sleep difficult - normally this would never bother me

    Location is faultless

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was good, facilities are clean. Staff were nice, location is perfect. Room a bit old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms could be modernized - although having said that the shower had a high water pressure with no hot/cold problems which some hotels do have. As with most continental hotels no coffee/tea facilities in the room.

    The location of this hotel is excellent, it is central without being right in the middle of the city and in a pretty part of town. It is also nice and quiet. The staff are very friendly and spoke excellent English. Breakfast was sufficient and . Beds were comfortable. It is a 3 star hotel and one gets a three star experience from the breakfast and room point of view (staff were better :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Value for money, good service, central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom drain pipe was a little blocked

    Location very central but at the same time noise was not intrusive. Staff very friendly and willing to help e.g. phone restaurants and make reservations for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Recommended for budget holidays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff is helpful. Could be a bit more polite.

    Very good location with walking distance to everywhere! Tasty breakfast. Very good for 3 stars hotel with perfect value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Despite my husband's mobility problems, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The quilt and pillows were of inferior quality. Very disappointed to find that you could only take a drink from the bar to your room in a plastic glass.

    The hotel's location was excellent. My husband was on crutches and the staff were always on hand to help us both.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Quiet, central, and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The soap in the bathroom was like a piece of plastic that didn’t lather at all. -Whilst I was nostalgic about the dated decor, you can see the wear and tear on it all, and it doesn’t inspire faith that things won’t break: elevator, shower door, desk and chairs.

    -The staff were extremely helpful and attentive. -The location was central, but also quiet and peaceful. -Although the decor is quite dated, it reminded me of the hotels I stayed in as a child (90s nostalgia). -The minibar charges were very reasonable compared to most hotels. -The shower was powerful and easy to switch between warm and cool without burning or freezing myself (as some other showers do).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    It was really nice, cosy and the location is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was really friendly and helpful. They helped us with all the requirements. Our reservation did not include breakfast, but we visited the restaurant from the reception and i can cofirm the food is awsome and the place really nice. The hotel has a perfect location, the room was clean and cosy. We will choose this hotel when we will come back to Budapest.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location, great staff for a decent price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room could really use some maintenance and/or refurbishment. Window is very thin and you could hear everything from the street (even in a 7th floor). Bathroom was noisy and shower door was broken.

    Staff was really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    A very good hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the front desk manager was a bit rude when we asked him for assistance or help he made us uncomfortable but the rest of staff were very good

    Good food and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too short blankets Not enough soap in bathroom

    Very good location, near metro and an excellent resautant Great breakfast Hotel has a wine bar and restaurant inside

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful Location, Great Staff, Property Needs Updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were old and small. The facilities were outdated. Old carpet. The property needs remodeling.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was wonderful! Close to all of the major attractions in the city. The attached restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    Clean, warm and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very clean, warm and friendly. First two days of our break the weather was extremely cold but our hotel rooms were always warm and cosy. All the staff we met and spoke to were kind and helpful. Location absolutely ideal for exploring the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.3
    Location very convenient, close to metro and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sheets were changed everyday. On one day we received sheets with stains. Receptionists could be more helpful with info of Budapest.

    Location very convenient, close to metro and good restaurants. Towels changed everyday.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.0
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Doesn't look like my room was ever cleaned. My towels definitely weren't replaced. I stayed there 3 days.

    Location is great. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    MEMORABLE , WILL GO AGAIN AT SOME POINT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    VERY HAPPY WITH EVERYTHING.

    ALL THE STAFF ARE VERY GOOD, NOTHING TO MUCH TROUBLE,LOCATION CENTRAL VERY GOOD.WONDERFUL CITY, WIFI FINE, GOOD RATE FOR CHANGING MONEY BEFORE YOU FIND THE OFFICIAL PLACES. EXAMPLE BANKS 255 FORINTS TO EURO, HOTEL 292, ON THE STREET 308. THE STEAK HOUSE IN THE HOTEL IS WORTH A VISIT,IF YOU LIKE PARIS YOU WILL LOVE BUDAPEST

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice staying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old facilities .

    Excellent service and location, the breakfast is very good. The room is clean.The only thing is the old facilities,but the hotel charge is very reasonable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    4.6
    As a frequent visitor to Budapest, I wont ever stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar staff let 15 people rule the bar area behaving badly to the point that even open minded decent people couldn't use the bar or restaurant. The hotel is generally scruffy and dated.

    The position

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.7
    Good selection for breakfast ( but the hot food was almost...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The duvets/blankets were MUCH too short...and the heating in the room was too hot and NOT possible to regulate, so we had to sleep with window open...not good when it`s frost outside..The bathroom needed a good clean....

    Good selection for breakfast ( but the hot food was almost cold every morning :-(( )

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Good location and good price point; enjoyed our stay in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very warm and couldn't adjust the heat settings; the sheets/quilts were too small for the bed and did not cover properly; in-room coffee/tea making facilities would have been nice; not really soundproofed between rooms. Still had a good stay though

    Great breakfast selection; staff were friendly and welcoming; good food at the restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.5
    Great stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were expecting tea making faciilities in the room but we survived without them haha

    Everything was perfect and we have no real complaints to make at all

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for breakfast twice on our stay and both times it was disappointing. On the second occasion it was really busy and practically no food. Pastries empty, cold beans, no fried eggs and only one toaster for all the guests to use which meant big queues for toast.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel is in a very good location, close to bars, river Danube and tourists attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Hotel Erzsébet City Center was an excellent choice for our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    Hotel Erzsébet City Center was an excellent choice for our stay in Budapest! The room we stayed was spacious, clean and very quiet /8-th floor, Gellert hill view/. The beds are comfortable, as well the bath. The location is perfect /within walking distance to splendid Vaci street and to Danube Erzsébet bridge where are the docks for Danube cruise boats, very close to metro station and to some nice restaurants, bakeries and cafes./ The hotel staff were very kind and helpful. All of them spoke English. Both my spouse and I liked Budapest very much. Although the weather was cold we spent some marvelous days there. Buda Palace Hill, Danube boat cruise and visit to Central Market Hall are not to be missed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    Great Location, Value to money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room could have been more nicer as a design prospective.

    I liked the location, it is just few min from all the attractions. Stuff was very helpful and nice, breakfast was very rich and you could find everything you want. It is definitely worth the money. We enjoyed the three days for sure at this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    In summary, I highly recommend this hotel and we enjoyed our stay very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was too soft for me. It was hard to regulate the heat in the room

    The breakfasts were outstanding--anything anyone could think of was available. The staff was very kind and helpful. Of course,the location was incredible, right in the middle of everything. The hotel was nice and clean, too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blanket was small, no shampoo or soap bottles, no electric kettle

    The location is great! Breakfast really nice. Rooms are hot, free strong wifi

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.5
    Good 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing apart from maybe tea/coffee in the room other than that i was happy with this hotel

    The Hotel was close to everything would stay here again, the staff are nice & friendly, this hotel is so easy getting to from the aiport which was brilliant & the buses are cheap, bus 100E with take to the city centre, & let your google map do the rest about 5/6 min walk thank god we didnt take a taxi saved us about 20 euros.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.2
    My new favorite stay in the Budapest city center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The woodworks in the room could really do with some maintenance: some varnish on the top and gluing back in place the backside of the bathroom door. Being in the center, there tends to be a bit of shouting in the street, especially on thursday evening.

    The breakfast is really good and very varied, the staff is very friendly and competent, checkin process smooth. I really liked the quality of the wifi. Enough english speaking tv stations. The room was a bit crammed, but comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    6.3
    Disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed at the hotel many times. But, unfortunately, it is becoming more and more disappointing. The furniture in the bathroom does not always work properly. The furniture in the rooms is not renewed within years. The cleaning this time was a complete disaster. Twice the maid did not through the rubbish bins, once she forgot the bag with rubbish in the middle of the room and once on our table appeared a dirty piece of soap. And it was not from our bathroom. This is unacceptable. We have contacted the concierge but the situation did not improve. In the other room where our friends stayed situation was not better. From year to year the service becomes poorer.

    The location is perfect

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice holiday in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room service maybe better.

    Very good hotel with excellent location in the center of city. There are a lot of cafes, restaurants and shops around. 5 min to go for a walk to underground station and Vaci street. Helpful staff, good breakfast and very comfortable bed. Fast wi-fi internet. Our departure was in early morning and we got lunch box with the good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    2.5
    Very bed hotel
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not clean - very dusty, many uncleaned stains... Very noisy - we couldn't sleep... Unconfortable bed... We paid three beds and the third bed was only optional in the room but we had to change the bedsheets by ourselve so that we can use it...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.1
    Really good location - cca 5 min to the city center, but it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too short blanket and blanket covers for people highter than 175 cm. Rusty stains on a shower cabin, water sinked slowly. Some cheap toilet rim block would be also useful :).

    Really good location - cca 5 min to the city center, but it is not noisy. Rich and tasty breakfasts, a comfortable double bed. Nice personal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Excellent my family love Budapest and the people they make you feel at home I'll be back next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was not enough pillows I had to ask for more but that was not a problem that's the only thing I can think of

    Overall the breakfast was very good being English we do like our eggs and bacon. And I have no complaints the breakfast was very good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.3
    There are better and cheaper options in the neighborhood.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel does not have a fixed rate per room per night. Varies everyday, kind of confusing.

    Good location, good breakfast, nice people at the reception, but restaurant attendants were not nice and the room had a terrible cigarette smell.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.8
    Very good :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast is good, but a little overpriced, but just a little. One of the receptionists was not very kind, but this could not spoil my mood, everyone has good and bad days, I guess. The english level is enough, but could be improved, but I think this applies to almost everywhere I have been in Budapest, maybe english is not popular.

    good location the room is cleaned every day the bed is comfortable the bathroom is nice Overall I liked the place and I can recommend it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    We would certainly recommend this hotel for a leisure stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were offered smelt strongly of smoke! The staff immediately gave us another.

    This hotel has a great location in the city, the room was very warm and the staff helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    A peaceful yet convenient location with excellent service and fantastic food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was hard to control the temperature of our room and it got very hot. We did open the window but it was difficult to keep it open. This is the only criticism we can think of.

    The hotel was in an excellent location, the staff were extremely helpful and the room was excellent. The breakfast was one of the best we have ever experienced in a hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.3
    Affordable city centre hotel for work or leisure stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No real coffee at breakfast, only machines dispensing instant coffee with instant milk. Breakfast was otherwise fine, but coffee makes a huge difference.

    Decent room, helpful staff, excellent location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.8
    Adaquit for what we wanted for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very dated could do with coffee and tea in room, beds poor two singles pushed together, sheets to small for bed and duvet,also disliked the toilet had like a shelf in it. Staff need to smile more.

    The restuarant at night very good food, location very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.9
    Decent conditions, vey well located, fair price.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is pretty old; in my room the windows were not properly isolated, so there was a lot of "wind current", so I put a blanket in it.

    Very good location, very close to downtown. The restaurant situated in the hotel is fine, with very good menu and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.1
    The hotel is OK but I do not belive reviews on booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is OK. I do not belive reviews on booking.com. Once I wrote bad review and booking would not publish it for no reason.

    I do not belive reviews on booking.com. Once I wrote bad review and booking would not publish it for no reason.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Hotel central and easy to get around from. Only thing that wasn't good was the very small duvet. I'm only 5ft.3in so was OK but my husband found it didn't cover so well. Would also have been nice to have coffee making facilities in room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    the hotel staff were brilliant room hotel breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel staff were brilliant room hotel breakfast was excellent nice restaurant bar area.central location returning in february with partner thank you to all at the erzsebet hotel merry christmas.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room but if ask at reception they will give you one. Also the safe is in reception, there needs to be one in the rooms !!

    For the money paid found this to be a decent hotel in good location. Five minutes walk from Christmas market (which isn’t very big) & five minutes from Váci Utca Street. Friendly , helpful staff. Had a meal in the restaurant & my steak was cooked to perfection, very good service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed the stay and excellent location to explore the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast staff not very helpful and very miserable looking and clearly didn't enjoy the job. English breakfast sometimes quite cold and when they ran out of bacon took over 10 minutes to refill. Poor Wi-Fi reception.

    Very good location. Excellent reception staff...extremely helpful Very clean Room basic but o.k.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.3
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel room was far too hot so window had to be open the whole time or put on air con. Given the outside temperature you didn't dress until the last minute of leaving the room. Bed was comfortable but the sheet was not fitted so consequently moved all the time as did the mattress protector which was uncomfortable. The duvet cover did not fit properly or do up. Breakfast on Sunday and Monday was chaotic, with having to search for a table as all full, food not filled quickly on service area. Despite saying we were having the breakfast on arrival we were not given the 25% discount on check out as told we hadn't! Our view was a brick wall. Table in room was unnecessary and just got in way in view of the fact there was a desk so not needed. Curtain only covered half of the window.

    It was in a good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    Hotel bit dated but great central location and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs replacing. Grout missing in places and dated shower. Was obviously clean though.

    Good location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.3
    I really enjoyed my stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee in room and due to the language barrier I missunderstood something about payment at the end of our stay so he had to do it twice which he made very clear he was not happy abou,he made be feel uncomfortable,apart from that all other staff were great.

    The location,the room, staff,breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    Great location, friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It did the job and I have no complaints just suggestions to make it even better. Room was a a tad tired looking and a little cramped one end. Not quite matched the pictures. If they put modern tv on wall, blinds in window and removed curtain to make it appear bigger, change to a corner shaped desk, update the shower and add cushions/throw to look warm and inviting they will be onto a winner.

    Location was excellent. Older building with character and friendly staff, always said good morning. Breakfast was good, much choice and good quality. I liked the toaster this was a bonus as was the fresh fruit. Modern bar and restaurant that had a vibrant atmosphere. I loved Budapest.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    2.9
    I don't recomand the hotel. Ugly and dirty!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old and veryyyy dirty, it doesn't worth the money you pay. The toilet was dirty, hair on the floor horror. Unfotunatly we arrive to late in the night and Couldn't Find another hotel Available in the area. Even if we ask for matrimonial bed we got tween beds and when we asked to change they said they don't have another free room. They have in 2018 rooms where is allowed to smoke, incredibil. I don't recomand the hotel at all. They don't have parking, you need to go to a location nearby and pay 16-18 euro.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.3
    Generally enjoyable but if I had paid more I would have been disappointed. Wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was grubby and dated. The room itself was small and stuffy and we had to open the window for fresh air This, however, meant we were kept awake by the amplified noises from outside due to the close proximity of other buildings. There were no tea making facilities and nowhere in the immediate vicinity where one could be bought.

    The location was excellent and the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.4
    While the location was fine, when we arrived, I noted a long...
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the location was fine, when we arrived, I noted a long hair on my pillow case as well as a yellow drop on the toilet seat. Our room was not cleaned one day, so when we arrived in the evening, we had to ask the front desk for clean towels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent choice for site seeing for location and felt very safe here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities in the room and also no room service. The maid tried to get into room very early without knocking. Room far too hot and couldn’t control heating.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Very good location. Bar staff very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.1
    You can find better facilities, but the location!..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel is old - it feels in specific smell. Shower cabin door in our room was broken and ceiling inside cabin slightly covered with black mold. Bathroom is very poorly conditioned. Seems like soundprofing in the rooms is... absent - you can hear as your neighbours take shower or caugh like as you share the room with them.

    Wonderful location - calm, very beatufil streat, 5-10 minites to main city squares, bus stations and subway. Good, amiable personal at reception. You can change money, borrow an umbrella, ask anything about excursions and so on. Good breakfast - not plenty of options and all the dishes are the same everyday, but everything is fresh. Room cleaning is excellent; towels are changed very often without asking. The heating system is working VERY well. In the evening breakfast zone works as a restaurant that specializes in meat and wine. There's also a bar with light snacks, wine and spirits. Feel free to ask bartenders and waiters for an advice - they will give you a good advice on local wines.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't put shampoo in the bathroom so have that in mind. Also, one day, as any client, we let garbage in the litter and when we returned, we found the bag over the table?

    The location is the best, very close to the Liberty Bridge and those streets with restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Erzsébet City Center traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: