Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Expo Congress Hotel 4 stars

1101 Budapest, Expo tér 2 - Albertirsai ut 10., Hungary

#163 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3195 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise from the 12th floor at night. I was checked on the 11th floor and from 10 to 12 PM I could hear how the water pours down the drain from somebody who does a very long shower. Every night... I'm guessing it's because on the 12th floor it's the sauna. Anyway, avoid the 11th floor. Lack of TV stations ( only 5, all in hungarian )

    Large room Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise from the 12th floor at night. I was checked on the 11th floor and from 10 to 12 PM I could hear how the water pours down the drain from somebody who does a very long shower. Every night... I'm guessing it's because on the 12th floor it's the sauna. Anyway, avoid the 11th floor. Lack of TV stations ( only 5, all in hungarian )

    Large room Bathroom ok in size Clean Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At night walking from public transport station to and from the hotel can be a bit uncomfortable to some. On the other hand, using the car or cab is perfectly fine.

    Great renovated hotel, comfortable and clean room, free parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location wasn't really good as it takes about 15 minute walk from the closest metro station to the hotel. There's a bus stop right in front of the hotel but the service isn't really frequent and it's very inconvenient to me so I didn't really have a chance to catch a bus there. It just feels like the hotel is in the middle of nowhere... and it's quite dark at night on the way back to the hotel from the metro station.

    The room was very clean and they made our bed every day. The staff was very helpful and friendly. My stay was very pleasant and I think it's great for leisure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I chose this hotel because there was an airport shuttle service, but when I arrived and requested it I was informed that this service was stopped since beginning 2018. I then had to take a taxi which charged me almost 50% more than what it should have cost. Staff wasn't very convincing in their answers concerning reliabillity of the taxi service. Also apart from the restaurant of the hotel itself there are no restaurants nearby. It is a good hotel for business travellers who go to an exposition in the expo hall next door or who want to see the races on the racetrack also next door.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far away from the closest metro station, the road is dark at night. It didn't feel very safe to walk after 11pm. Breakfast is over priced, without alternatives nearby.

    It's in a quite area. The food is good. Got nice views from the terrace too. It's a clean hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I areived at 00:30 am and to my disappointment, mice were in the ceiling or near the air conditioning, I was too terrified and didn’t sleep, I made 3 recordings and called reception while phone at room didn’t work, so use my cellphone called reception and the staff guy did hear noise so changed room at 3 am, didn’t sleep well at all! I have been longing for this 2-day holiday but this accident ruined 2nd day as I was so sleepy , although I know it’s not hotel’s fault. But I am very afraid even now, noise from mice is really frightening!!! Besides, cleaning team is talking very loud in the morning around 8 am.....

    Staff are fine, room is very clean, taxi to city center is only 10 Euro. Room is big. Taxi driver to airport is perfect, very nice and kind, no more charge!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, outdated telephone (didn’t work), no accessories without request (shower cap and slipper was provided after asking for it), air condition started to make loud sounds in the night (had to turn off)

    Price was fair, breakfast was good, hotel staff very friendly and helpful, bed was not too soft

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's a four star hotel, but services are rather of a three star one. There were no slippers in the room. However, when I asked, they were helpful and provided me with some. Towels in the bathroom were old, they had some holes. The Sky bar was okay, but closed very early, even in weekend.

    Breakfast was varied. The hotel restaurant had very good food. The best was the location, just near the Hungexpo, as I was exhibiting there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was two of us, but there was only 1 set of towels in the room. Out of the set - the bath towel had huge holes in it. The shower didn't stand up completely, so it had to be adjusted to be able to shower without holding the shower head.

    We were offered a room on the 11th floor - 1 floor below the spa and gym zone. The view was lovely, the beds were comfortable. Complementary coffee and tea in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    when i went to have breakfast being a guest they ask me 1rst to go counter and pay and then have breakfast.Even being a visitor you have not to do so

    amazing sky bar.Good for business trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not very well connected to the city centre. Nearest metro station at 15 minute walk

    Very comfortable room, small but very nice spa with views of the city, very clean and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit out of town, but the train station is about a 15 minute walk

    Nice and clean, top floor has gym jacuzzi and sauna with balconies and great views of the city. There is a Tesco's about 20 minutes away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The Metro Station is ~30min. by foot away - The Hotel is not offering any shuttle bus service to the Metro - luckily, we were there by car and went then to the City by car. A car is for my opinion a must at this hotel. - The railway is passing close to the hotel and creating lots of noise. It was that loud that we were forced to lock the window during whole night - The hotel is 5km away from City Center and there is nothing around - not even a convenient shop. Therefore, it is recommended to bring with you daily Needs, eg.. bottle water, snacks, etc., if you want to avoid the high Prices of the hotel stuff. - The service personnel did not allow me to write the breakfast on my room. I needed to pay the breakfast directly what I never experienced before. Especially, not in a 4 star hotel. - The hotel is not a 4 star hotel in line with international Standards. I would rank the hotel max. at 3 stars. Breakfast: The breakfast was 'ok' - but nothing special. Varieties of scrambled egg with/without Bacon, some saussages. Cold meat as well as cheese was of poor quality. Fresh Juices were just a mix with some ready-made Juice and lots of water. Salmon/fish was completely missing as well as a huger variety on bread.

    The rooms were clean, bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little too hard for my liking.

    The service was great, one can order food to be brought to your room. They really took care of everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No salt+pepper on tables during breakfast, and it was quite chaotic during that time.

    Very clean rooms. Easy to get to metro station. Silent neighbourhood and silent rooms -- very pleasant to sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no double beds, only 2 single beds next to each other. The walls are thin, you can hear almost anything from your neighbors, also the windows are not very soundproof. The air conditioning was making some noise even when it was shut down, fortunately it stopped at some point. There are some minor things that you shouldn't see at a 4 starts hotel (see photos). Breakfast is ok but not worth 10 euros. Parking space was full once when I arrived at midnight. Location is far from everything important, also far from any transportation.

    Staff was friendly. Nice rooms. Free parking and wifi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast selection shall be extended. Sky Bar should be opened every day.

    The best accomodation close to the Hungexpo. Quiet location during nighttime so if someone wouldn't like the noisy city center, might find this hotel superb! The staff is friendly and really helpful even if you're Hungarian, or you're a foreigner :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi in every room is almost net existing Rooms have stains and plenty of dust everywhere Staff is quite rude - when I wanted to order a room service nobody picked up the phone at the reception Gym equipment is broken No AC in the gym

    Location as it is at the EXPO

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Gym could be better equipped. It would be nice to have a bigger pool.

    There is free parking in front of the hotel. Staff at the reception was friendly. Room was nice and comfortable. Breakfast was good. The sauna was relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa area not always available and not ready during times stated. No main light in room which makes it difficult when get in at night.

    Very clean. Small mini bar. Polite staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance from the city. Public transportation is walking distance but with in-climate weather on some days not doable.

    The restaurant at the hotel is very good. The staff was friendly and helpful. The spa area on the 12th floor was very nice with sauna and steam bath. There is a sky bar too but i didn’t get a chance to visit it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -You need 15min walk to the closest metro and then 15min to the center. Taxi costs 2500-3000 HUF -The breakfast costs 10€ and I think it could costs less (example 7€) -They told us there are not double beds. Only single beds together with a big sheet on them. This is just an information otherwise the sleeping is very good.

    -Facilities (very good) -Rooms (big and clean) -Toilet (very good) -staff (polite and helpful)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture in the room looked old and used.

    Good value for money, acceptable location (15 minutes walking distance to the nearest metro station, direct line to the center of Budapest), clean and coasy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is advertising sauna and Jacuzzi but they are literally not working. The water in Jacuzzi was cold all the time. Sauna worked some time but we were expecting different. We ordered a double sized bed and was expecting a single big blanket but got two small instead. Also was a hole between two beds. Yes double sized bed was actually two coupled beds. And the location is really bad. It placed in some kind of production area and the view from windows are real bad. Was too far to go to city center and there is no any public transport going nearby. Would not recommend for travelers who want to watch the city.

    It's really hard to say.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a little far from the city centre.

    The room was spacious and clean. Free of charge coffee and tea in the room. Very frienfly staff. Quiet room ( we were staying at 7th floor)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If possible then I sleep there during my trip to Budapest. Parking for free and near to the metro where you can buy the 3 stops ticket and going to the metro stop Astoria.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel staff was professional, polite and helpful. It was a short stay, but it had everything we needed. Free parking, it close to the city and shopping malls. I have to underline that hotel is extra clean. I do recommend it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located far from subway, so you have to take a taxi to visit the city center. They advertise their hotel wellness but it is only whirlpool and small and dirty sauna.

    I was really satisfy with the bed and cleanness of the room. The breakfast was good and dinner was very tasty. The advantage is a lot of parking places for free, when you have got a car.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light in the room- turning it one was a little troublesome.

    Don't make the same mistake as we. Go to the sky bar as fast as possible. The views are wonderful. Place really well situated- good connection to the city via metro. Free parking. Good food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beautiful rooftop bar is closed during the week, a pity as there are not restaurants or bars in the neighbourhood.

    Spacious rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location attached to the expo grounds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We wanted the hotel to organize an airport transfer, but it did not manage that to do. Corrected: it did, but it did not let us no, so we organized it on our own.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is very expensive and a disaster. Breakfast was almost 60 % from room price. This would not be such an important issue but the quality is a 1 or 2 star. 2 coffee machines with very poor quality coffee, bad quality raw meet like : salami or bacon etc. Croissant never fresh. Low quality gems , bread. everything was very cheap and look cheap.

    Good location ==? with car you get very easy to center and tourist attraction Good ratio : price/services Metro station is 20 min walking from hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Jacuzzi was quite broken very little worked Steam room was broken for entire stay GYM lacked equipments heavily

    Amazing rooms, super comfy, clean and Nice Good staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So smal details; in the breakfast, it could be better if somebody wipes the plates. To have a breakfast in wet dishes is not very nice.

    Perfect with all, helpfull staff, clean rooms, very well decorated rooms even with a smartphone which you can call everywhere, free parking and very good for price/benefit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not even by far soundproof, no wallsockets, at least no free ones, had to unplug something everytime I wanted to charge my phone or plug in my laptop. Showerhose to short, had to shower kneeling. The complementary toiletries were cheap.

    Clean, nice bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    reaching public transport is not very pleasant experience.

    Nice newly refurbished hotel. Rooms are spacious and clean. Spa&gym are not very special. Small gym, sauna not very much heated (83 dg C).- just 3 chairs for relaxing. Nice terrace overviewing the whole city. Restaurant is very average.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower leaked on the floor of the bathroom, so we need to put a towel on the floor, to avoid wetting our feet. Also, we didn`t have the remote control for TV. In my opinion, for 4-star hotel, room needs to be cleaner (we had stains on the carpet for example). Overall, good hotel, good value for money, I recommend it.

    Easy check in and easier check out. Room was spacious, beds comfortable. The bathroom was nice, with good light for doing makeup. In the room, we had the map of Budapest and smart device for easier site seeing. It was quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame it was a little way out from the Main Centre But Taxis on hand to take us into the City

    Great Value Staff Of axVery Professional right across the Hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    First impressions last , My First impression was the entrance was littered with cigarette ends and overflowing rubbish bin. A hotel Porter would be a great asset. The car park road surface is broken uneven with potholesTypi

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleanness could be better and, although there is a bus station in front of the hotel, was easier and faster to get to the metro station, which was 1.3 km distance from the hotel. The area of the hotel is ok, but a bit in the middle of nowhere.

    Very good and diversified breakfast. The restaurant had a good variety of dishes (starters, soups, meals, desserts) and the service was quite fast. Very nice and helpful staff. Rooms were comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice and large room and bathroom. Safe and free parking. Staff speaks excellent English and is very helpful. Hotel is located close to a big shopping mall. Great price/quality ratio.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant is very average. Soup came not hot enough - rather cold. And side dish which was called "dumplings" in English were fried pastry - bit unusual.

    Nice view from the hotel which is a bit far from Metro. Parking is free and very easy. Nice spa - but no towels when we came (an hour before closing)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely good price/value rate. Good location. Hotel is located close to the centre but still in a quiet and calm area. This hotel was the first place where I met with the free "Handy" service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pressure of water in the bathroom (sink) was under minimum (dush was OK ?!). Drinking water was brown, I got possible infection on my lips. At the reception they told me that had a malfunction and repair of the waterworks of that afternoon, but to let a little water leak out to be a drink. But, my lips was infected! SPA was cold , jakuzzi dont work, too complicated to turn. Nobody there to explain or activate it.

    Dinner at the restaurant was good but expensive for the hotel that far from center. Location just close to FAIR is good because I have 1 day business at AGROMASH EXPO.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice clean room, quick check-in and check-out, decent breakfast. Nothing to complain about, except maybe the hotel is a bit far from the city center and connection by public transport is lousy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking lot looks a bit odd.

    Very good and complete breakfast Room big enough, bathroom the same. All new inside. Very cheap, I paid 40 eur with breakfast for 2 and parking included.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor complaint about the absence of choice for sweets in breakfast. The croissants that were offered were of poor quality.Generally breakfast was good.

    Everything perfect!! Unbelievable value for money!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, some staff members not that bothered, restaurant staff in depressing mood, shower not working well. ..not a good selection on healthy food

    Not much

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More like 3-star. no sleepers, bathrobe or other facilities. breakfast ok, but small choice of fruit and breads and nuts.

    Simple hotel, easy to rest, harder bed which i liked. breakfast ok. parking easy and free in front. quiet place and rooms apart so very quiet for rest.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds should be tied together if they are not queen which I asked for. Stuff should be more polite and the spa should work all day not only in the morning and in the evening .

    Handy, great move by the management, I loved this.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious and clean rooms, nice ambient, good value, free parking. Very good breakfast, included in price. Hotel staff was very helpful and with professional atitude.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was weak to non existant, at least in the 2 rooms I reserved. Breakfast was rather poor.

    Generic old but well maintained 4 star hotel with all the expected amenities. Clean, good mattresses, nicely updated bathroom. Free and safe parking which was important for me as a transit traveler with a bunch of ski equipment and luggages. .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    look forward to see in the next years a small pool here.

    very convenient hotel in budapest at resonable price and very good breakfast. very pleasent surprised for smartphone offered to be used. free parking and modern room. staff was very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose Expo Hotel for its wellness centre. Unfortunately, the sauna was out of order and the jacuzzi is pretty small. The steam bath should work from 7 pm to 10 pm (!) but never opens unless you call the reception. Receptionists are quite rude, too. Breakfast is nothing special.

    The room was clean and the skybar is awesome!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I choose this property especially because of the rooftop bar, but when we arrived we were informed at the reception that it was closed.

    We traveled with our two cats, and everything was ok. The location is a bit far from the center if you are interested in exploring, but there is a bus leaving right from the front of the hotel (every 30 minutes). The smartphone provided in the room with free internet access could be a very useful tool if you don't have roaming internet included in your monthly plan.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They weren't really nice at the breakfast (the staff), they just came and took the plates away. The water in jacuzzi was dirty, full of hair and there weren't any towels in the spa section. It's far away... There is nothing in the neighborhood, you have to walk far from the hotel, like half an hour to the nearest station...

    It was clean and the breakfast was okey. The receptionist was very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small dining room was balanced by quick waitress

    We were very satisfied with the hotel. The service was pleasant and helpful. We had a complaint when we were accommodating because smoking was smoking and we were non-smokers. Receptionists exchanged the room for a refund. A little problem is the small dining room in the hotel. At breakfast there is a queue. We had half-board. Breakfast is rich and tasty. Transportation to the hotel was good. Metro is a 5-minute walk away, the tram is 350 meters away. In 15 minutes one can be in the center of the Danube. I was in the hotel for the second time. I'm absolutely happy. Services are still better. The next time I stay in Budapest I choose this hotel again. Thanks. Pavel and Iva

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very disappointed after our stay. Services were terrible on the desk as well as at dinner. Spa, which should be included, was not possible to go, since there were no sheets, nor towels awailable. Even after we went to the desk asking for services in spa, they did not do anything. It was really bad experience. Room was smelly and connected with another room with door. We could hear everything what our next room people said or did.

    Good breakfest.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked breakfast but we had to wait to be seated at least 10 minutes, the restaurant is small.

    Hotel is nice , in good quiet location. Wellness is perfect, on the top floor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a little bit far from the nearest Metro station. You need to check bus no 10 schedule and plan accordingly with its time table.

    I liked the sky bar so much. Very lovely view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating did not work well. Heating was done through an air vent that did not manage to get the temperature over 20 degrees no matter the target temperature.

    Good food, clean hotel, nice staff, good price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public transportation (bus) to the location was at the time of our stay not available so we had to walk to and from the subway station each time (about 12 minutes).

    Very good value for money, clean, elegant and quiet. We had a problem with defective window seals in our room, the staff was friendly and gave us another superior room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though sap area is in 12th floor with a very nice athmosphere, savna were far to cold/not heated enough, which makes total experience not so pleasant

    Good value for money, clean room and good offer for breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hard to find empty parking spot. Even if I was asking for non smoking room, I've got a smoking one. Room was so smelly that I had impression like somebody smoke inside a minute before I enter the room. Maybe that was a reason that everything looks to me dirty and smelly.

    It was very convenient that property allow late check in and it was easy and smooth.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room might be better lighted and TV was not working well (only 3 programs, only HU). I would like a music channel.

    Excellent value for the price. Always free spots on parking. Near to subway. Very good breakfast, although we arrived in most busy hour and we had to wait a little for table cleanup. Staff helpful, room cosy. I always choose this hotel in Budapest.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The trains make some noise which can be annoying.

    The staff is very friendly, breakfast is just great and the rooms are clean. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Non-breathable rubber mats on mattresses are perhaps practical for the hotel operator, but sleeping is unpleasant. Spa would deserve regular staff supervision. At the end of the opening hours (app. 21:00), it is wet everywhere and the floor in the dressing rooms is dirty. The sauna was heated to 78°C, and after a telephone complaint at the reception and the promise of repair, no one came in the next hour. I have visited this hotel and the spa already 6x, but on the top bench in the sauna is still pink nail polish and dirt under the sauna stove.

    Easy parking, spacious and well-equipped rooms, functional internet, fitness and spa included.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no heating in our room apart from the warm air blowing through the air-con. It's probably by design but since I suffer from dust allergy it was very difficult to breath during the night. So we turned off the aircon but then it become super cold super quick. Asking for extra blankets helped tho, so it was not that big of a deal in the end.

    Large selection at breakfast made it easy to fill up in the morning. Staff went out of their way of pleasing us. After asking for extra blankets and towels they were delivered to the rooms immediately. Also loved the big shower in the bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the sauna wasn't hot enough :)

    good value for money, nice room and bathroom, the restaurant was fine and pretty view from the sky-bar. nice to relax in their spa, fresh breakfast, not a big variety, but OK

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is very simple, not too many options available. Location is little bit far from downtown however you have a metro station 15 mins walk distance with a P+R area, so it is easy to move. The neighborhood is not the best. TV has very few channel options (e.g. they did not have a cartoon option for my child).

    The hotel is renovated, the rooms are big. I got a very pleasant surprise when I received a Handy phone free of charge with unlimited calls and internet, and I could take it with me anywhere! The hotel has a very good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not centrally located but easy access to public transport.

    Easy and quick chech-in, reasonable price, and very nice rooms equipped with everything you need even a smart phone with unlimited calls and mobile internet during your stay in Budapest.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, just location but if one loves walking or by car... would enjoys it all!!!

    Everything, really everything but ...15 minute walk to M-station!...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This location is very out of the way, and the staff never got back to me the best way to get to their hotel. The room was not fully stocked with the basics- not even soap! The welcome staff was nice but clearly understaffed, breakfast was very basic and lackluster, and the whole building out of date with tiny elevators so there was always a line.

    It was a quiet property in a quiet neighborhood.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor covering in the rooms is already quite worn out. Carpet squares and upholstery have "uncleanable" stains. You can not drive perpendicular to the road from the parking lot. If you do not find an angle, you touch the chassis by the hump.

    Glory! The Internet has worked well, even at the end of the corridor. Breakfast was reduced to the guest, so the dining culture was preserved. At the reception, I received my wishes and I did not have to pay an extra 1 Euro as a tourist tax. Everything was already at a price paid in advance.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Expo Congress Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: