Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Casa Latina

1122 Budapest, Városmajor u. 88., Hungary

#151 of 163 B&Bs and Inns in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 471 hotel reviews

5.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.5

  • Comfort

    5.3

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    5.4

  • Staff

    6.6

  • Value for money

    5.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite affordable prize,but budget room is Very small and looks really cheap. Very low-end breakfast...

    Little bit cheaper than other hotel, but i would not stay here next time...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast started with a half-hour delay (8:30 instead of 8:00), and even then, there was nothing, two type of cheap salami, cheese, butter, marmalade and tea. The bread was dry, from the previous day, and it immediately disappeared. In the sugar bowl were small animals. Ants and insects were also in the rooms. The refrigerator did not work in two of the three rooms. The outflow in the bathroom did not work in one of the rooms. Price 64 € per double room with breakfast is too high for at least 50%. The only thing that is satisfactory is the location, near to the center. Otherwise, I do not advise this accommodation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the temporary mess in the front yard of hotel due to the remodeling. But when the builders will finish it, the hotel will be even better.

    I came back to the hotel (after a business meeting in early morning) when the breakfast time was over. I just politely asked if there is anything to eat. And then the receptionist brought a whole breakfast to my room. She definitely was not obligated to do it. Thank you very much!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Before to order this hotel, I would suggest to read more feedbacks. Room on the roof floor was small and uncomfortable. Door of the bath cab was broken. Breakfast was poor and coffee was not tasty.

    The location of hotel was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property had comment that has excellent breakfast. The breakfast might be excellent when they serve it in bigger quantity and variety. When we stayed on the property, the breakfast consisted of old bread, boiled eggs, cheese, ham, butter. I am not saying that I am not satisfied since the price which we payed was not that high, but the comment about the breakfast was not accurate at all. It is old building in which nothing is invested for quite long time. However nice balance price/quality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reality. Mould on ceiling, spit on the wall, dirty bedsheets partly missing, extremely noisy, tiny room, missing lightbulbs, dirty. It was missold as it looked nothing like the images. I made a complaint in email, never have received a reply. The place is a con.

    The images on booking.com

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was awful, well there weren't almost nothing, no eat, no coffee, no hot water.. had to wait for coffee, or any beverage for quite a while, there were just a few pieces of ham, no butter, or bread.. after we complained, they brought some food to the table.. Room was small, but everything looked ok, althoug you could feel bad smell there, beds aren't comfortable.

    Good thing about this place is its location, centre is reachable by foot, you can also park your car at the theritory. Staff at the reception was pleasant and helpful and spoke english. Looks quite nice from the outside, the building itself is beautiful, although not so much from the inside. Needs to be renovaited.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception staff were very off hand - breakfast was very thin on the ground especially the coffee, did not seem to enjoy replenishing anything, the first morning of our stay we were offered eggs and ham - the eggs were inedible, we were not offered anything hot for the rest of our stay- room was not cleaned for the entire 4 night stay not even a clean towel!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty and noisy. I never stayed in such a bad hotel. We found bugs, spiders webs and burned bed. The metro passes at 5 m and we couldn't get any sleep. Stay away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning lady came in the afternoons!!! Our Kids had rest, so there was NO cleaning!!!!!

    The old man and the old woman were friendly, spoke excelent english/german and always able to help, give advice or answer our questions..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surly, unhelpful staff. Very poor breakfast with no tea on offer so we ate out. Rooms cleaned on some days only. Poor maintenance.

    Pleasant, green locatio with accessible public transport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was dust everywhere in the room, the restaurant was dirty, flies over the food, Poor choices of breakfast, the eggs where cold, dirty cups. We asked for a double bed, we received a twin. Dissapointing experience!

    The only thing i liked is that i had an accomodation in budapest, given that it was overbooked in that period

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cob webs on a cilling, restaurant is very dirty. We were staying in a budget room and it was really, really budget. Dated bathroom. Breakfast was average. Limited food, no fruits or yogurt. The receptionist was really nice though.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Too loud when you shutting the door. Some times the door was not locked after the cleaning.Hair drier on request.WiFi was not fast in the room.

    Staff was very kind.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor location, right next to the railway and hospital. Noise in the room. Budget rooms are "extra budget". There wasn´t enough space to wash yourself in the shower, Room was dirty and in poor condition. Breakfast in the morning is not worth mentioning. There wasn´t much to eat. Coffe was terrible and orange juice was not drinkable. Wifi did not connect in two days.

    I may say that nothing....

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I've never heard of this hidden gem!

    Everything, from reception to top floor ensuite master bedroom. Was of the highest standard I've every experienced.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not cleaned, the breakfast was really poor, and most items (eg sugar, salt, mayonnaise etc) were out of stock. We ended up having a single boiled egg with mustard (as mayo was not available..). The bed was uncomfortable, and they gave away only one single size blanket for two of us. The area is pretty noisy, ambulances go up and down due to the proximity of the hospital. The staff is not really friendly. The rooms are ran down. Some items are broken in the bathroom. The list could go on..

    Not much I can think of. Maybe the parking lot is practical to have. And there was good internet connection. These are the two tick marks I would give.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unstabled beds, cockroaches in the room, smells I do not recomment it for families with children Breakfast was almost uneatable

    It's good located and price is so low 24/7 reception is very useful for a night travellers

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was there for 5 nights, the room got cleaned only twice! Shower broken, towels in bad shape, terrible beds and sheets. Dirty rooms, lights broken, owner takes 0 responsibility for maintenance whatsoever. Never slept as bad as in this hotel, don't go there!

    Close to public

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was dark, the TV hardly functional, there was no hat water early mornings ( at 6:00am) and it was down to lucky timing / chance to find breakfast - with staff around the kitchen / dining area showing hardly any cutsomer-awareness. One morning the receptionist had to step in and offer me a coffee.

    Receptionists are friendly, helpful when approached. The heating was on, the temperature was pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room 32 the sink was completely clogged, requiring to change the room to the first floor, 11. TV not plugged to the power outlet, fridge is off, bed uncomfortable, one of the the shower towels was worn with a hole and not too clean. All this, in the replacement room, 11.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is not located near the centre of the city. It takes time to get to the city centre. Our room was on the attic (which means the room was really small and not comfortable to walk in the room) and the wifi was really terrible up there.

    The house is really quiet and a good rest is guaranteed. Breakfast was good. We were given acces to 2 different rooms for 2 people (more than we needed).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room incredibly small. Although it was indeed a budget room, they never specified you don't have a proper window and you can't fit in the shower. The room was double, but in order for one of us to pass it the other had to be in the bed.

    Close to the tram station Parking space Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice and kind receptionist but small room, very poor breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bar/restaurant was closed as it is being rebuilt

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell, breakfast and not clean

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not good at all.

    The room, it's interior and cleanliness was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not up to standard, attic, poor lighting, not comfortable

    The staff were helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - met 100% expectations.

    Decent bed and shower. Adequate breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy, poor breakfast

    The price was ok. The staff helpful. Big room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff does not know to speak english and the food was verry poor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The purity was desperate. Beds uncomfortable. Small rooms. The staff does not speak English.

    Nothing. 😭

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smallest Room I ever slept

    The smallest Room I ever slept

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small room and at last floor with no elevator

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spiderweb, dust, too small place, not kind staff, uncomfortable pillows, very simple breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was stinky. There was a mould on the wall. Very old TVs

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    CHEAP, clean and not far away from the centre of Budapest. Fresh breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything is okay please keep it up

    Excellent People behavior, Good way to attend customer and Obediently people

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything are ok. Staff are very nice. The rooms are good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The door to our toilet continuously jammed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price all was OK.

    Location and Price

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was situated in the attic and was very tiny. Fridge didn't work.

    Free private parking, with separate entrance to hotel, not far from city centre (30 min by walk and close to public transport). Basic breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They are fulling people. In 2 weeks I've stayed 2 times in this hotel, none of my staying I couldn't pay with my credit card, despite that in all this period of 2 weeks on booking.com was info that paying with credit card is possible; they didn't even had a credit card machine in hotel. Old and rusty stuff in bathroom, this time so cold in room ; outside was negative temperature, but the warm in room was not working. I will never go there and if you want to enjoy your holiday I would recomand to avoid this hotel.

    Friendly people to reception

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    a) location: great if you have a car, OK if you go by public transpotation b) free parking c) free breakfast d) price: great ratio price/quality e) free internet f) STAFF: these poeole are Great, corteous, helpful and they will go overboard to service you: a member of my family left her prescription glasses in the room. After a week we got back her glasses in Italy, via mail. It this a great service or what? I surely recommend this place.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - old tap and not so clean - cracked sink - cracked shower bathtub - even it was specified that payment can be done with credit-card, they did accepted only cash - rust or painted rust in bathroom

    - there was safe-deposit box in room - warm in room - private parking spot - 24 hours reception

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a bad smell in the room like there was no windows opened for quite some time. The bathroom entry is from the room in front of the bed and the bathroom door is not very near the floor so you can hear anything from the bathroom and the bathroom does not have any window so the smell from the bathroom gets inside the room very easily.

    The room was quite warm

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fine , as per the description

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Location is fantastic

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Browse Hotel Casa Latina traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: