Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Főnix Hotel 4 stars

8630 Balatonföldvár, Spur István u. 27, Hungary

#1 of 5 hotels in Balatonföldvár

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 516 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Fonix is in a great location; walking distance to restaurants and lake activities. Hungarian breakfast - so this American family didn't eat much. Staff was very friendly and accommodating, and speaking English was not a problem. We felt welcome and comfortable. We loved this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Air-Conditioning
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is OK, could be more various. bit newer facilities at swimming pool (some new seat coverage needed)

    Swimming pool, Sauna, tennis court, bar service at swimming pool, enviroment in general

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Air-Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, in a quite, peaceful neighborhood, near to the lake. Beautiful old building with parking space. The rooms was nice, clean. We had a good breakfast ( very tasty omlette!). We had just one night in early spring so we did't have the pleasure to use all the facilities this hotel offers ( tennis court, swimming pool).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no restaurant on site so you need to look for one

    Welcoming and very friendly personnel. I had been there on my birthday and they've welcomed me with two bottles of wine and a birthday card. Touching

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Air-Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower flooded the bathroom a bit, but nothing a few towels couldn't fix!

    Amazing location 5 minutes walk from the waterfront, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Air-Conditioning
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is not varied and abundant for 4 star, only fair. You won't get served on the terrace until you look for the staff. The room is clean but nothing special or fancy like the building from the outside. Hamburgers are fantastic, strongly recommended (especially salmon!).

    Clean and tidy place with nice and kind staff. It is very good located, and has a nice terrace.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    *: We caught 2 cockroaches in our room and my wife saw another 2 at the toilet next to the reception. Even though that hotel was clean and the rooms were cleaned daily having cockroaches in a 4 * hotel is unacceptable! - The mattress was too soft for us. - Our room (#14) was on the ground floor and people passing by to the parking lot could see in! - There is no mosquito net on the windows

    The hotel is not crowded, there is a swimming pool with a sauna and a turf tennis court (in good condition). They also offer bikes for rental. The room which we stayed in (#14) was on the ground floor it was quite small but clean*. The "Kukorica csarda" restaurant is on the opposite of the main road (approx. 40 meters) Where you can taste delicious Hungarian cousin and listen to live traditional Hungarian music. There was no charge of the baby bed. We could use the swimming pool and the sauna on the day we came (before 14:00) and also after we checked out after (11:00) The city centre as well as the main attractions of Balatonfoldvar are close to the hotel but it is not noisy in the evening or at night. In general I would recommend the hotel but you also need to read my negative feedback to choose the room wisely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We haven't found soap or shower gel in the bathroom. Small thing but embarrassing as we had own only for kids, not for us adults.

    Friendly staff great location and cool features like swimming pool and tennis court. Own parking was impressive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My second stay at hotel, as with previous trip staff are super helpful and friendly, rooms clean, comfy beds, hotel grounds and environment very nice with a sparkling blue pool. We will be back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Air-Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a joke. The room I got was not even passing next to 4*s. Last time I was there it was 10 times nicer. For some reason things got sloppy and careless this time. Hopefully it was just an incident.

    Nice place, quiet and relaxing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standard breakfast, bed and room, everything as expected :) our room was oriented into silent street but I think the other side is not that bad either... Nice outside sitting on breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy AC, even after turning it off. There were a few spiders in the room. The single beds weren't comfortable and I think they were for kids although we booked an apartment for 3/4 adult persons.

    The location is nice and quiet, nice building, spacious apartment, breakfast was good. The staff was also very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As soon as I entered the room I felt a very pungent odor, toilet paper was thrown in bathroom, trash was not clean was full of garbage, there were two bottles in the fridge apart. I chose a double bead but got twins, I opened the window and saw two giant spiders and realized that cleaning is not done properly. The room is wery small. I do not recommend.

    breackfast was good and varied but at 9 they did not refill at all just a few but enough

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Air-Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check in they wanted to check us in as the normal procedure however we were entitled for early check in. So at the end we could check in earlier. The quality and the quantity of the towels were disappointing given the fact that there was a pool in the hotel. The bed and the pillows were uncomfortable and by the morning we almost fell between the 2 twin beds. After the first night the daily cleaning was missed out and only 1 towel was replaced.

    The location was great. Close to the train station and to lake Balaton too. The pool could have been nice if the weather was nice. Bad luck.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great hotel at a quiet place, was ideal for a good relaxing with friends. The staff members were very helpful, food (breakfast) was great. One plus: they had top clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Air-Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast rather so-so. Coffee moderately undrinkable. Breakfast room does not have a good atmosphere. Twin room rather small, though clean and comfortable. Expensive for a hotel in this class. It's really a three star hotel, not a four star.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Air-Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    + swimming pool + nice view to garden + calm + helpful staff + rent a bike + Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personal very nice e frendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Air-Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water at breakfast

    Comfortable bed, bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Air-Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to balaton lake

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great exprerience, amazing stuff. Hotel clean and breakfest yummy 😊

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning

    Quiet location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Air-Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Comfortable bed, quite large room. Perfect breakfast. Hotel has a large terrace. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Air-Conditioning
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great breakfast. Lovely swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    older hotel

    nice area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows, and it was noise on the corridor, from the guests

    Hotel, surroundings, internet, . The old guy from the reception

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast could be more fresh.

    Pleasant staff, location, variety of services.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice sauna and swimming pool

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Air-Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't serve dinner after 8PM.

    Excellent quality for the price paid. Free parking, nice, clean room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Air-Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are small.

    Great location, 5min walk from the lake and the train station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent helpful staff Clean room and great location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Air-Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kind and quality service, calm and quite location, good cuisine, beautiful park.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Air-Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed and the pillows were super comfy :)

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Cant put anything in this frame.

    Excellent location near Balaton. Everything is very close (pubs, restaurants, stores, post office,...) in walking distance. Very friendly staff, good breakfast, quiet hotel and neighbourhood. Receptionists speak English, German and Serbian language.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Main road next to the pool area - it is noisy and unconfortable (it's not big problem if we stay only one day). The staff don't speak english - only german.

    Old beautiful building, nice pool (ca.13x6m - we can really swim), sauna, tennis court in the resort, close to the Balaton - marina and bars. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Maybe the range of the Wifi could be improved.

    Classical hotel with great facilities and great breakfast. We only stayed for one night but we enjoyed the comfort,airconditioning and cleanliness after sleeping in (very hot) hostels the nights before.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was on the back of the hotel and very noisy, owing to the M7 trunk road to Budapest being about 100m away. This was not peaceful, even at night. The terrace, on the front of the hotel was, by contract, very quiet - an unbelievable difference. I was told it was now Out of Season (on 1st September) so the restaurant did not serve dinner.

    Friendly staff. Inexpensive bike hire, with bikes that were of a high standard.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    tennis court not complimentary for hotel guests loud traffic on a nearby road

    staff simple but very clean rooms lovely building pool well maintained tennis court

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked an apartment for 4 persons. It is mentioned that is has 2 bedrooms with 2 large beds - that`s not true. it has only one bedroom with large bed and a living room with 2 small beds. Breakfast is also very poor

    Location

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The internal parking spots are a bit difficult to use because the area is a bit narrow. For an inexperienced driver it would be a challenge. But there is quite a few street parking to compensate.

    The staff is excelent and very accomodating. We were travelling with a 5 month old baby and all our item sterilization needs were met. The meals are very nice. We really enjoyed our stay here and would return any time in the future.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Uncomfortable matrace. Wi-Fi signal available některé in our room (room 10) nor by the swimming pool.

    Close to the Balaton. Own tennis court and swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. They were keen to share their knowledge of the area, places to visit and to make the most of our stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room should be equipped with an electric cattle

    All

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I miss at least small kitchen.

    Our apartment was just great and enought space for family with kids.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no WiFi signal to room 15

    the personnel was great!!

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    no air condition in the room

    sauna, swimming pool, the hotel is in quiet part, breakfast was profuse, bicycle holders

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Couple

    Quiet place, good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was extremely kind, thanks.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sheets too small for bed so ended up sleeping on bare mattress...not very nice.

    Breakfast

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Browse Főnix Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: