Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fonte Hotel 3 stars

9022 Győr, Kisfaludy utca 38., Hungary

#14 of 28 hotels in Győr

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 336 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was nothing like on the pictures, lot simpler, but good enough. Upon request they make warm dishes as well (out of eggs). Limited choices and empty trays are not refilled. The mattress was really uncomfortable and worn out.

    The location of this hotel is both a blessing and a curse; you can hear literally every noise from outside and inside the hotel as well. On a Friday night you'll have a difficult time falling asleep, by Sunday however things will probably calm down. To be fair, other guests are also responsible for the noise level, after a certain group left, the noise from the hotel was gone too. The staff was very considerate and accomodating regarding my complaints and requests. I loved that my window was looking at a small, narrow street and the sound of church bells. The staff was very kind, especially the manager in the dining area. Laundry service is very affordable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not anything that we did not like about our hotel.

    We loved the location, clean rooms, friendly staff, good breakfasts, good value. We loved k forward to staying there again in 2 years!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough parking places. They have told us upon arrival, that we can get a space when some of the hotel employees leave in the evening. I would expect hotel employees not to occupy parking spaces if there are not enough. The "restaurant couldn't serve coke in the morning."

    Location is perfect, the building is very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A small elevator would be of a big assistance in case one has mobility issues for being able to carry up his/her heavy luggages onto the upper floors.

    Upon check-in the receptionist was friendly and professional with a reasonable level of English. When we arrived we realised that we were upgraded and were provided with a room that has a "living room" area with a sofa bed therefore the size of the room/suite was considerably big enough to us in the hot weather to move around, on the top of this, there was also an Air Con in the room despite of the room description on Booking.com (that only offered a fan with the booking)! The bed was enough comfortable and big, there was also a fridge in the room with some sparkling and still mineral water, some sweet and savoury items and some alcohol. The street that the room overlooked was peaceful despite it being main holiday weekend, so we could rest well. The bathroom (that was completely clean and looked "recently" refurbished) had a bath and shower rose as well as enough light and enough big mirror for a woman to get ready with her make-up unlike in many hotels. The hallway had a reasonable sized wardrobe with a safe and additional items that one might need. The location was also convenient, as necessary shops, restaurants, the Old Town, the shopping mall etc. were within of easy reach of the hotel. All in all we were perfectly satisfied with Fonte Hotel and the professional service that we were provided with.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV channels Hungarian only, except for CNN which had no volume.... No bedside lamps, poor lighting and shower fixture was broken.

    Spacious, breakfast was reasonably good. Air con was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That they put me to pay extra for a cofee wich I drink at breakfast because that coffe was awfull I ordered one ,ok,and for a 3kg little dog for one night we payed around 10 euro

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff speaks very little english. The cleaning lady came to our room while we were sleeping even though we had a do not disturb sign on the door knob. The restaurant is closed even though it is advertised in hotel materials.

    Nice large room, right in the city centre, parking on site

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location - we thought it was much closer to the centre but it was 1.5km or so away. The breakfast was very basic.

    Very quiet and pretty view of garden from our room.Kitchen was an unexpected bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    heavy bunch of keys (entrance card would be more comfortable) Only one device can have access to WiFi, mobile phone and computer in one time not.

    Parking place is easy to approach.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been more varied. Food was not replaced that quickly.

    The location is perfect. It has free parking right next to the hotel but limited places. The toilet was clean as was the room. The hotel is very nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We payed superior room with higher price. We got room directly 1st floor up the street which was during night very noisy. Night piece not respect by other guest. The bathroom not properly cleaned - walls, door.

    In the city center.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast can be a bit Hungarian! Need to ask if you want hot food.

    Good location right in the middle of the town. Warm and comfortable room. Parking a big bonus but dont arrive too late!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -the toilet wasn't enough washed, we've had spots and holes on sheet, we had the sheets directly on mattress,we had two bugs in the room and the room was cold when we arrived( it took over three ours to have a relative normal temperature in the room)

    -the restaurant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on bottom floor so you will hear people walking and talking in alley and coming in the lobby at 3am. (I stayed on a Saturday). Noise was a little problem but I was able to go back to sleep. Was not able to get breakfast because I had to leave earlier, I spoke with the receptionist the day before but no accommodations were made. Overall a great stay!

    Pros: Clean, plenty of space, friendly staff, great pillows and bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff hardly speaks english and is not very pro-active or responsive . Outdated rooms, particulary bathroom and shower

    Perfect location and guarded parking

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was initially unbearably hot. The air-con didn't work and we had to ask for a fan. We went for breakfast at 9.15am, 45 mins before it finished. There was no hot option offered although the room info did state that cooked breakfasts were offered! A lot of the food wasn't covered - fruit, veg - and had many little flies on. The toaster was taken away before 10am, along with some of the food. We felt like we were a nuisance and had arrived much too late!

    The morning receptionist was so helpful and showed us what to see in Gyor. Our room was comfortable once we'd asked for a fan. (Booking.com states that the rooms have a fan!) The bed was firm and comfy. The bathroom was spotlessly clean but the shower doors did not work well. Our bikes were stored in the cellar and the evening receptionist man helped both with the bikes and carrying our bagss up to the 2nd floor!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just OK.

    Everything was very nice. Little, nice, clean hotel, friendly helpful staff. The hotel is situated in a beautyful surroundings with lots of places to eat. Delicious food at reasonable prices. We arrived around 10 p.m. but everything was open. We will definitely come back again, the city itself is worth visiting.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It in the very center and have parking facility. Very fast check-in and checkout 👌🏻

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near the old town center. We arrived in the evening and we couldn’t find place into a restaurant for 12 people. All it was full.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instant caffe, even instant capuccino from "bar". No design concept in rooms, no hairdryer in bathroom.

    Position and food is good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no elevator to the floor on which the room was located, making it a bit difficult with respect to luggage.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To much staircase due to the building structure.

    Perfect location in the downtown, friendly staff and free of charge private parking lot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our room needs some refurnishment - but still okay.

    great location, parking space available on site, good breakfast, clean rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the reception staff knew very limited English

    Great quiet location in the center of Gyor Free (limited) private parking available on-site

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found all the beds in Hungary a bit hard. This a really nice hotel, well placed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed/pillow was too soft for our liking and it was a little noisy early in the mornings

    Location, cleanliness and staff were awesome

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No outside windows in room

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mix up with room bookings, difficult receptionist on arrival, bar shut.

    Good location, car parking, breakfast,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quite poor breakfast, not possible to pay with amex

    in the city center, nice comfortable hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location,very easy to find. Parking was on site. Very friendly staff! Great breakfast! The room was very clean!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no lift

    in the city centre, nice building, nice room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was partly dirty after wall painting, restaurant was opened for breakfast only

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and well situated hotel, kind staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    everything

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were really really firm

    Great location, was within way walking distance of restaurants and attractions.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Highly recommend

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty toilets in each of the 2 separate trips.

    Good wifi

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated bedding but that is really nothing to not book over!

    Location! Easy to get to too! Parking! Breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff and little flies on the salad coleslaw at breakfast, disgusting could not eat.

    Spacious room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we arrived, we asked if there was a lift, as our room was on the 1st floor and were told there wasn't. We carried our luggage up the stairs to the room. When we read the booklet about the hotel that was in the room, it stated that they would help with the luggage, however this was not offered.

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful. All our requests were met very promptly and politely. The location was very good. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was good, with lots of things to choose from, including hot food, fresh fruit, cheeses, yoghurt and cold meats. The only thing lacking was a toaster. We had a meal in the restaurant which was excellent. The waiter who was present during breakfast and also the evening meal was very pleasant and gave excellent service.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room was big but in the attic and you must go at the stairs. The elevator not going to the attic. If you are not with children than it is ok to take this room but with small children it is not fun when you need to take babys upstairs. Breakfast is great

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rood receptionist, average breakfast

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Oh dear! If this is your first experience of staying in Hungary, best to get used to sour faced people and tepid food on cold plates.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well located and friendly staff. Restaurant is really good with great food and ambience.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Shower was almost broken.

    Breakfast was very delicious!

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: