Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Fortuna 3 stars

1097 Budapest, Gyali ut 3/B, Hungary

#316 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1328 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    2.5
    Disgrace of Budapest, worst 3* we stayed in Europe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel should not be rated 3star. It's dirty, old, smelling, mouldy. "Private parking" should not be advertised as it is available only for 5 cars. It should be clearly stated that only 5 parking sites are available. Hotel staff woke us at 7:00 forcing us to leave from parking site (we paid 5 EUR till 11:00) as they gave us a site that actually was not reserved for the hotel. When we wanted to leave just after breakfast, the staff started to threaten us that they call the police. Really did not like it at 7 a.m. with 2 kids sleeping in beds !

    Dirty smelling room with damaged furniture, mould on windows and bathroom, broken mirror, slow wifi. Old stained bedding. Private parking means only 5 parking site for the whole place. Basic breakfast. Never come back to this place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    Located near the metro station and public transport stops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old hotel that urgently need some renovation od refreshment. Old carpets, small attic rooms, no AC remote controler in the room. The breakfast was poor and there was a lack of places to sit in the breakfast rooms. The access to the building is strange.

    Located near the metro station and public transport stops.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.0
    At checkout receptionist couldn't bother to hang up her...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At checkout receptionist couldn't bother to hang up her mobile with her friend. Wasn't sure if she was talking to me or to her friend. Was a bit disrespectful, but forgivable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Very clean and quite location, very easy access to transport.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was horrible and the answer you get from reception was that the farther you were from reception the weakest the signal so not very helpful.

    Very clean and quite location, very easy access to transport. Breakfast was ok. I arrived late night and the receptionist was very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    The staff was nice and the location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not what I expected. In the photos is looking good but in reality all is old and not cared properly, the sheets were so old you can see throw them(at least in our room). Overall it was good, but the price is a little big for what you get.

    The staff was nice and the location is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Good enough to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I guess, everything's ok, as expected.

    Very good hotel with great location, internal parking, fair breakfast. Price is totally ok. Subway station is 3-5 minutes walk distance, and it takes about 10 minutes to get right to the center of the city. If you travel by car, this is a very good choice, since you do not have to drive through the center and the hotel parking price is quite ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.0
    Not nice hotel but near underground station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It looks like from 1990. Not clean and ugly room, lot of dust and if I said it to reception she clean just what i show but nothing else, dirty shower and not workinr aircondition. No vegetable and nothing hot for breakfast (just sausages).

    Hotel is near underground station and some shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    Good stay in a great city. Recommendation would be to stay near or in the centre away from line 3.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location ,seemingly was good but was a poor choice as the metro (line 3) closed at 7.30pm each weekday evening and did not not run at the week-ends. However, there was a replacement bus service but it was not easy to find out where they ran from. The recommendation would be to stay in the city.

    The nearby restaurant which sold meals at 1789 Florints for everything you could eat but did not include drinks. The staff were friendly and the food was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    It is normal, cheap and close to the bust stop but a bit hard to find; good staff and normal beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor Wife and also I expected to be more cleaned, generally it was Ok, not bad.

    I liked the location but hardly reached at first; I like that it was cheap and normal take away breakfast; good staff, friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Simple but effective,good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was comfortable and fairly clean,plenty of towels and everything we needed,the breakfast was nice with a good selection of food.Only reason I didn't give a full positive feedback cause the housekeepers forgot to empty the bin in the room but apart of this everything was great.The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    3.8
    I wished I have chosen better
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedsheets looked like they have spent 20 years in use, looked disgusting. we order a couple bed and they gave us 6 small beds with terrible conditions and their answer was that it was their last room when we booked much before.. Breakfast was very poor and the entrance to the hotel very sketchy. My suggestion is, rebrand it, redo everything and transform it in a good hostel instead of being a terrible hotel. I could say more but I think you have the idea.

    Possibility of late check in was the only positive aspect of it...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.3
    Staff was friendly and the room was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not vacuumed properly, bathroom fixtures not good and no shower gel or shampoo provided. Breakfast was just ok.

    Staff was friendly and the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    the room was simple but comfortable, just the bathroom was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was simple but comfortable, just the bathroom was not really clean... breakfast was really nice, fresh and tasty ... the lady at reception was kind and helpful ... location around is calm and around 10 minutes walking to metro station... also fine location to get easy to the airport ...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    The staff -very friendly, location -brilliant, breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet and the windows were very dirty, the room did not smell of fresh bedding. In the bathroom was not any small shampoo or shower gel. No kettle or tea or coffee in the room and we could not buy from the reception either :(

    The staff -very friendly, location -brilliant, breakfast very nice :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice and cheap. Ideal for low budget!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn´t have Wi-Fi because of the position of our room. That would have been nice, we also wanted to work a bit and so it was impossible for us. Wi-Fi worked in the breakfast-room. There would have been the possibility to get some repeater for the Wi-Fi and it would work in the whole hotel.

    Breakfast was okay - Coffee was good, such a nice machine, and a lot of yoghurt and milk. It was a pity, that there was not that choice of vegetables and fruits and it was a pity not having honey. Honey at breakfast would be really nice. But what I have to say it, that it was really okay for that pricing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    4.2
    1 night maximum
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is really old and run down, desperately needing renovation ! The walls are so thin I can hear the person next room snoring. The sink in my room was clogged as well, but I was only there for a night so I ignored it. I chose this place only because I needed to catch a bus the next day. Don’t expect it to be comfortable.

    The staff were very really friendly and polite, speaks good English. Location close to a metro.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    3.8
    Just the location, close to metro.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated interiors say minimum 30 years. Dirty carpets. Outdated bathroom. Very uncomfortable hard beds. Draft from windows.

    Just the location, close to metro. Clean sheets.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Great location, just 2 minutes from the metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great location, just 2 minutes from the metro. The rooms are clean the breakfast is fine for such a price. Overall for such price it was nice to stay in Fortuna. The staff is friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.7
    The room doesn’t meet our expectation but the staff are good and helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too old, a little bit scary, the wifi doesn‘t reach our room.

    The service was excellent, the staff are nice and helpfull, and with breakfast. There‘s carpet in the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    First of all very friendly and helpful ladies on reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all very friendly and helpful ladies on reception,thanx a lot :) my room was v clean,warm,bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good. Hotel is v close to metro,just 2 min walk. I like everything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.3
    Everything was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was fine. Very good place for these people who do not want to spend too much on accomodation but still want to have a good place to stay for a couple of nights. Breakfast was ok. Good hotel for small price. We definately recommend this place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.0
    OK...I managed as Im a solo traveller. No harm done but below basic standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms not cleaned properly , cobwebs everywhere. The bathroom was awful , cracked tiles and dirt. The shower head attachment was broken meaning you had to hold the shower head in your hand over your head to even have a wash. The tv is from the 80,s with no English channels at all , not even a freeview channel. As for the carpets .....filthy This is a B&B at best suited for overnight stops where a very tight budget is in place.

    Decent breakfast for the money I paid. Staff were helpful and polite. Metro a short walk so easy access to the city. The so called bar is a fridge with cans in if you want a beer but its 24hrs and very cheap To be fair...if the place was at least clean and reasonably maintained you really wouldnt moan for the price....but it isnt Im afraid and I will not go back when visiting next year

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    4.6
    It is not for family
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very similar to hostel: bad room, not clean and everything is old. In room is very noisy because of thicks wall. It is not for family with children.

    Parking is very safe and cheap - 5 eur/day. During weekend every parking in city is for free, keep in mind. Relativ good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.3
    The staff is very kindly.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is very poor and the renewing of hotel rooms are necessary! It is very difficult believe that the hotel is 3 stars!

    The staff is very kindly. We enjoy the location of the hotel (because visited the hospital).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    The breakfast was very good and hotel was near the metro...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the being I can't found the hotel gate ....and then didn't found desk information because hotel in 3rd floor only. And I found some cri

    The breakfast was very good and hotel was near the metro station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    3.8
    Mistake I should have known by the low price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Map and directions not good . Too far from centre. When you arrive looks more like a car park and Chinese restaurant. Not welcoming when you arrive and very slow too check in. Room was dated and tired, old box tv, dark even when lights on, the bed was very creeky. Thin walls very noisy throughout the night.

    The only thing I liked was the pleasant manner of the lady on duty in the morning she allow me to store my case.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.0
    Private parking.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't want to give us a remote control for clima, old forniture, not so clean, poor breakfast. On the bar didn't have nothing.

    Private parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    Really good value friendly family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been more comfortable but was clean

    A friendly family run hotel. Our room was bright, clean, and spacious with a large bathroom perfect for two people. Breakfast was plentiful consisting of orange juice, tea, coffee with cream, cappuccino, cereals with yoghurt, cold meats with small yellow pepper, and several types of fresh bread

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.0
    Only for one night , and only if you have business in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they say it is a 3star Hotel... but in reality it is a maximum 2star! Small room with realy old furniture. Poor lightning in the bathroom!

    We ware attending a concert at the Groupama Arena wich is near the hotel ( 400 m), that is the why we picked this place. A 2star hotel with decent Wi-fi connection.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast was excellent, but the place/room where...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom in the room was not very good. The water in the sink hadn't pressure so it was kinda hard to wash your hands, teeth, etc.

    Breakfast was excellent, but the place/room where they've served it was a little bit small and became crowded

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are a little thin so if you have noisy guests it can be difficult to sleep. There wasn't a great deal of options for breakfast.

    I didn't eat the bacon so that's why I didn't rate that highly The staff were very friendly and helpful. My bed was uncomfortable and as soon as I let the staff know they had switched it for a better one. It was easily accessible via the M3 and it was great having AC and a fridge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    3.3
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    worst hotel I have ever visited, wifi not working, airco not working, hot water not working, walls between the rooms made of "paper"(?)

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    2.5
    It was terrible experience we ve ever had! I strictly dont recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets were dirty The room was dusty. The room' s window (was on The roof) Was not opening. Air condition was working slowly. We waited for check in and check out so long. 2 guest other than us were discussing about parking area. And most importantly they Said they had AirPort shuttle very expensive like 30 euro!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.9
    My family, in overall, is happy with the accommodation, breakfast and vicinity of public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are not well isolated, so noise from other rooms were sometimes frustrating.

    Safe parking place, near metro station, good accommodation for small groups without high demands.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    2.9
    total disaster! TOTAL DISASTER! "you pay for 2 pillows ,you get 2 pillows"
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i don't think there was anything that i liked , so i pretty much didn't like anything.It is unbelievable that this place can be called a hotel.The fact that the clerk person told me "You pay for 2 pillows , you get 2 pillows " pretty much says it all.This was in response to me asking for an extra pillow,since i had a back pain from driving a long time. Dude, I asked for a pillow , I didn't ask for a free room. Wow, where can I start? The pictures of the property show a grandiose old building , but as a matter of fact the building itself host many offices and the lobby of the hotel is located on the 3rd floor.Yes, elevator is available but you can barely fit 2 people in the elevator , so a family of 4 with bags will probably need 2 trips just to get to the lobby.Forgot to mention ,contradicting signs point out that elevator is not be used after 11 pm so guest are not disturbed by the noise, so when you want to take the stairs ,it says door is locked for security purpose after 12am and to use the elevator to reach the hotel lobby,.... what gives! After checking in , we eventually found our room at the end of a very dark corridor.Thank God for our flashlight from cell phones!Seriously... Inside the hotel room everything , absolutely everything is very old and only a few things still work (a/c is one of them). Filthy dirty carpet , broken down furniture ,shower door almost fell down when i tried to open it, water not draining while taking a shower,no shower head hook on wall,super thin walls between rooms are just a few things that come to my mind About 5 minutes after we entered the room, a couple were in middle of a very intimate time in the adjacent room ...i mean,i understand and all , but how do you get rest in the middle of the night if all you hear is moaning and screaming louder than the humming of the A/c unit , which was loud to begin with.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.1
    Mediocre. Not great, but not terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi was terrible. You have to sit in the reception area because you'll lose signal in your room. I walked around the whole hotel looking for WiFi signal and couldn't so i think it's the same in every room. Parking is a little confusing as it's secured by a guard but does not seem to have many spaces available for the hotel, i had to use the "staff" space. Everything is quite dated and the furniture isn't in great condition.

    A very mediocre hotel. It's not brilliant, but it's not bad. Importantly, it was clean and reasonably comfortable. The room was air conditioned but it was not very strong. I was travelling to Russia by car stopping off in Budapest so i was on a budget but if i wasn't, i would want to pay a bit more to stay elsewhere. This place is great if on a budget and i'm sure others would share this opinion. Parking is indeed secure. Two minute walk to a metro so great location. I would stay here again if i needed a cheap stop over hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    3.3
    Awful place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not clean at our arrival. Trash not taken out, some bed linings unchanged, some missing, dirty bathroom. After our complains we were offered a free parking space by the hotel, but, funny as it may be, in the early morning we were woken up by the adminiatrator and told to leave the parking place!! I have never been to a place more awful than this, yeah its cheap, but there are always other options for the same price in Budapest. P.S. big bugs crawling between the beds did not make us happy as well.

    Cheap place and communicative adminiatrator at the reception, helped us find the best spots in the city

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    3.8
    Please read this or you'll regret staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small. Carpet was dirty with spots. I actually avoided to walk on it without slippers. The bed sheets were old and dirty. Windows don't open or they open very hard and are very hard to close afterwards. Spots of humidity around the windows. The air conditioning worked when it wanted to. When we checked in there was a spider on the wall in the corner. The bathroom was awfull. I actualy showered with my slippers on. It had spots of rust on the cabin floor. Toilet paper wasn't freshly added ... It was half meaning that it was there from the previous people who stayed there. When i showed everything to the receptionist she said she can't do anything. Apparently these are the conditions here. It seems that all the rooms are the same. My friend stayed in a different room under the same conditions.

    I didn't like anything about the property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    4.2
    A/C worked ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is VERY unclean place. A lot of dust everywhere. Only 1 of 2 small windows was operable. No outlets. Too short sheets and too floppy mattress in beds. Only 1 chair in 4-persons room. Not vacuumed carpet flooring. Just some examples on my photos.

    A/C worked ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Unique experience in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Some furnitures and facilities appears to be old

    -Helpful receptionist and various tourist resources -Comfortable ang clean room -Nice breakfast and bar service -Close to bus station and public transport

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    5.4
    It was really clean hotel on ***, good location near to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not satisfied with the Parking. I took it as benefit that it is included in the price as always been. Breakfast was not good. Mistakenly fried eggs, sausages, more fruit.

    It was really clean hotel on ***, good location near to Metro.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    Good for short stays, close to tranportation
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At 11 pm, the entrance looked a bit weird and hidden, but the neighborhood looked OK at that time. Also, reaching the reception is funny, you have to go through hallways and use an old elevator. Furniture was indeed quite old, would require renovation.

    Very close to Nepliget international bus station, 10-15 min walk, so it is perfect if you just need a good night sleep and continue your journey. Nepliget metro station very close, so you can easily reach airport as well. Breakfast was moderate, not a big choice, starts at 7 am. Old gentleman at reception was kind; did not encounter other staff members.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    4.6
    The staff was nice, it was possible to communicate in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a room with a double bed and got a small room with 4 single beds. The staff told us they hadn't had another room. The carpet was really filthy, the room was generally not clean. The AC didn't work, the TV didn't work, it wasn't possible to let the window open... Not recommended!

    The staff was nice, it was possible to communicate in english or german.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    4.2
    Horrible stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non functioning AC Poor ventilation-One window in the roof Cramped room given 3 single beds small size Instead of a family room Not at all 3 star Not for families more of a student accommodation with attached bathroom

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.7
    OK stay would stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It took us time to check in as the card not with the first person who arrived. The staff at check in did not know what to do and I had to suggest solutions from London which turned out to be great. Think out of the box sometimes :) Bit of slow communication through booking.com

    The staff was generally really friendly and helpful. The gentleman even prepared cooked food at midnight for my partner. They have been flexible with our stay and booking included breakfast as well. Really helpful people, good breakfast and plenty.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    6.7
    Location is great - about 5 min walk from the metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was dirty, towels were old..definetly they need to make some renovation. Beside that the stuff is kind.

    Location is great - about 5 min walk from the metro station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.7
    Nice and convenient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location of the hotel is very convenient near to the public transport - specially metro (blue line at Nagyvarad ter). Vicinity of the Coach station is also very convenient since you do not need to use any public transportation to get to the hotel. Rooms are spacious, though it needs some restoration. Surroundings are quiet and there is lot of parking space if you travel by car. Breakfast is good and abundant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    8.3
    Easy access to public transportation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head had to be hand held and I was unable to take a shower without getting the floor wet.

    Less than 5 minute to public transportation and 35 minutes to walk to center of town. The staff was extremely helpful and nice. The morning breakfast had plenty of choices. The actual room was large as it had 4 single beds in it, dormitory style.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    4.6
    THIS IS NOT A THREE STAR HOTEL!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - This is NOT a hotel. It is a hostel. Three star hotel is a lie, as well as posted photos - do not trust them, - Overused furnitures, damaged shower, not working air condition, - NO PARKING! Hotel do not cover parking space, despite information about paid parking. You have to park your car outside hotel and pay EVERY 3 HOURS. After three hours, you will get ticket, or you need to go back to your car and buy another 3 hours. I have seen parking inspector many times and fine is about 2200 HUF + lock on your wheel. You need to pay from 8am to 6pm - 175 HUF/h (maximum 525 HUF at the time!). You can not pay more, than for three hours, and there is no other parking in the neighborhood, - Cleaning services which do not even make beds everyday, - Disgusting (!!!) bathroom. This is the worst bathroom I have ever seen, - Not working wifi, or almost not working wifi, which is very frustrating, - NO hot dishes for the breakfast (only scrambled eggs during the first day, no scrambled eggs during second)

    + Location, close to the metro station, close to the city center, + Working and quiet fridge, + The hotel is in Budapest, which is very nice. I love Hungary very much (I am from Poland - I want to apologize every Hungarian for my review. Sorry brothers!)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    2.9
    The worst experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not clean, it seems like they didn't change the sheets or the cover from the last guests. The bathroom was also not clean, there were hairs in the shower. It was terrible. We told that to the guy that was on the reception , but he didn't give us any solution. The worst experience ever.

    Close to the metro station

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.1
    1. Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. The cleanliness of the room leaves much to be desired. 2. Old furniture. 3. Small old TV with limited channels

    1. Friendly staff 2. Location near the subway staion 3. Spacious room with four beds for me alone 4. Breakfast was rather good but not diverse

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    5.0
    Near Nepliget bus station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Number was old, bathroom with mud on the ceiling, we booked numbet with double bed but reception gave us the only one free with small separate beds

    Near Nepliget bus station

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    Receptions staff fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Turned up very late but an easy check in process helped. Had to be up early too, way before breakfast but the kind gentleman at reception had a 'packed breakfast box' waiting for me about 6am. Now that's service- thanks very much. Back next year!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    2.9
    Worst hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in rooms Small rooms No cleaning So noisy did not sleep whole night Left after first night suppose to stay 3 nights Not happy a tall

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    6.7
    Cheap, well-worn hostel good for a bargain hunter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was more like a well worn hostel than a hotel. Okay for a bargain hunter, but not as nice as the site photos suggest.

    Cheap for a family of six, breakfast was plain but generous.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    3.3
    It was very dirty I had rezervation on one room with double...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very dirty I had rezervation on one room with double bed but I have got one big room with 5 beds without light in room. I travel a lot with booking this was my worst choise in last 5 years

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    5.8
    Good location... not good living experience...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No cleaning of room... was still messy and no towels were changed....

    location.. just by the bus stop and near metro station. reception staff were nice and cooperative....

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were not clean. Dust everywhere in the room. Poor breakfast, no chees, no yoghurt, only one kind of salami...

    Good location. Very close to metro. Quiet location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    2.9
    Don't waste your money hear
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi doesn't work, the room that they assigned me wasn't individual like I have reserved, it is possible to hear sounds of others rooms when you are in your bed, the "free" breakfast sucks...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    5.4
    It was close to the main bus station where we had to catch...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old furniture, not very clean, thin walls, you can hear people snoring and their phones ringing in the room next to yours.

    It was close to the main bus station where we had to catch the bus early in the morning.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    3.3
    Not a nice experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Most of the staff were poor, particularly the cleaners. The room was dated, the shower room/toilet was dimly lit with mould in the shower & no plug for the sink. The wardrobe was too narrow for some of the hangers. There was only one pillow on the bed & no spare ones. There were few power sockets. The walls were paper thin. Breakfast was sparse & barely edible.

    The bed was firm but fairly comfortable. The room was warm.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    5.4
    Problems finding the hotel
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a problem finding the hotel because the street was renamed lately so gps couldnt find a street stated in booking page of the hotel. When we said it to the recepcionist, he didnt care. So if you try to find the hotel, please look for Albert Florian ut. and not Gyali ut as they say in booking page.

    We stayed only one night and only because the following day we had a flight from budapest airport. So all we needed was a location close to nepliget station.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    3.3
    Location is good, metro station nearby, not too far from the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was disappointed by cleanliness or to be more precisely, surprised of how dirty the room was. Mold in the bathroom, dust everywhere. It is not that kind of dirt, which is difficult to get rid of. Check photos. Also there was only one tiny window on the roof, which I could not open. Photos on the cite does not really show the real situation inside the room. I bought a tea on reception and a cup had fish smell. That is why I did't want to have breakfast there.

    Location is good, metro station nearby, not too far from the city center and from Lurdy Conference hall.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.2
    A good hotel with great location, free wifi and English speaking staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I wrote a lot of postcards, so I would appreciate a little bit more comfortable chair to the table (the chair was too low)

    I loved: free wifi, free usage of safe, the location of the hotel (nearby the Nepliget international bus station and also nearby metro station with good connection to the city centre), very friendly and helpful English speaking staff. I was a single person and I got a double-bed room, so I had a lot of space. For my next holiday in Budapest, I will choose this hotel again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could be more clean. They must put a sign "reception" at the bottom so cleints wont wonder where to go.

    Good value for price. Nice clean rooms, friendly stuff. Good for one or two nights stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.9
    The hotel is great for short stays, as the rooms are not...
    • Group
    • Sextuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is great for short stays, as the rooms are not glamorous, but it is sufficient to stay. Low price, excellent connections with the city over the blue metro line. Also at night, night buses every 15 minutes passing by the nearby intersection. Hotel staff willing and ready to help. Free parking near the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.3
    + Very good location (350 m from Metro station, 5 stations...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    + Very good location (350 m from Metro station, 5 stations to center, 1km from Nepliget bus station. + Air condition in room, Wi-Fi + Friendly stuff + Price

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    3.3
    Good stay for a very short period.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No proper lighting in the room. Furniture and bathrooms are all dated. The beds were hard and uncomfortable, walls to thin - you can literally hear the conversation going on in the next room.

    Free parking was the only plus point. Keep in mind that this is a budget hotel. For the price you get a decent air conditioned room with breakfast the next morning. We had a car so moving around wasn't a hassle.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    6.3
    Location was fair and easy to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking inside only from 1800- 0600 .It was raining on the day of departure (pouring), and the porter will not let us inside for 5 min. to load the baggage and get the family ready for further traveling

    Location was fair and easy to find

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    5.8
    Location was great, near the metro, and fast ride to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was really friendly, except for the manager who was really rude, yelling at us for taking a sandwich from the buffet after breakfast. Wifi did not work at all in our room. We reported it, but nothing was done except convincing us it would be taken care of tomorrow. Also, for some reason, we had to pay in advance for our stay.

    Location was great, near the metro, and fast ride to the center. Breakfast was also nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    4.6
    AVOID from this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Very loud place. Till 2AM near room was very loud. I send a message to staff to calm down our neighbors, but they ignore it. 2. Are your kidding me? TV was parody. Old fashioned TV was putted on stool in the corner unplugged, wrapped in the duct. 3. I choose 1 large double bed, but i get two beds (different type). 4. Wi-Fi was very very poor. 5. Bathroom was awful. Watertap was so terrible, that i was afraid to wash my face. Also the shower stall was something from horror movies. 6. Bad value for money. OVERALL - This is NOT a HOTEL, but a real, dirty HOSTEL.

    Actually everything was bad. One of the most expensive and bad quality hostel i have ever been in my life.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    5.4
    they don't deserve the three stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the bed always goes squeak squeak;no curtains and no shutters at the windows so too much light at dawn;rooms in the attic so when it rains the raindrops falling over the flat window-glasses sound like a machine gun; sometimes they don't make up your bed:as you leave it,you'll find it;breakfast very dissatisfied,good yoghurt,no sweeties,some salami,no cheese, sometimes eggs.

    close the metro 3 station nagyvarad and tram 24; staff always very very kind and helpful;room and bathroom(no bidet) very large.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    3.8
    Air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty place!!!!Staff for cleaning is totally suck!! Tv has 3 programs,wi-fi very bad.Very hot and as steamy at all joint locations in the hotel. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ENYONE!!

    Air conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    2.5
    so bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms are so stinky, carpets were never washed, breakfast is poor, if you left anything forget about it, the housekeeping claim them. just the worst ˇˇhotelˇˇ ever been

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.4
    I do not know where from these 3 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sextuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dirty floor coverings lack of any cutlery in a kitchenette dilapidated walls and equipment

    spacious rooms good nutritious breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Fortuna traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: