Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Budapest River Hotel

1056 Budapest, Vaci utca 79, Hungary

#150 of 163 B&Bs and Inns in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 228 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.8

  • Comfort

    5.4

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    5.2

  • Staff

    6.4

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything that bad.you get what you pay for. This is a room with onsuite facilities and a TV.

    Great location,great price. We were left alone to enjoy budapest.we had our own front door,so there was no one to disturb. All in all a very nice Holliday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Misleading name. This can't be called a hotel! Lack of hot water. Plastic bottle instead of a shower head. Same rooms advertised under different "hotel" names.

    Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A sprite bottle was used as a shower head The wiring was coming out of the sockets which is dangerous The walls were paper thin The cups provided were dirty

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast didn’t start until 10am. Nowhere to hang clothes. Bedding and towels not changed during stay.

    Good location. Good restaurant. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big mess, broken beds, broken showers on our two rooms, cold rooms... whats else can say, receptionist only understand room, pay and come to our restaurant and get 20% discount. Really not happy. Well I understand is cheap but even when is cheap showers must be clean and dust shouldnt be everywhere....

    They let us check in before 14h we really apreciate.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Where do I even begin? - water was pouring from the ceiling everytime the above neighbor took a shower - There was a strong smell of gas in the bathroom - There was a message informing us that they are not responsible if our valuables disappear from the room - The electric panel made such a loud noise that we couldn't sleep at night And the only thing they kept saying when we complained was that it is an old building. We didn't receive at least an apology considering the fact that we couldn't sleep for two nights at all.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, cold, broken shower, they do NOT guarantee the safety of the things you leave in your room, the building is old and the elevator seems to be falling apart, the restaurant is misearble and dusty and the paint is literally falling in your plate. When you ask for the check you get some numbers written on a paper and you can't see for what you are paying or if they give you the discount they promised. The bed sheets, they are so washed out that you can see through them and just loking at them it makes you sick. I guess that's why they ask you to pay at the arrival not when you leave. In conclusion, search for something else.

    The location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was really uncomfortable. The pillowcases were yellow. There was no house keeping at all although we asked for and the reception guy said he would send someone. The reception was only one guy and his booth was inside a restaurant!

    The location was very good and close to downtown and sightseeing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The estimated price on booking.com was 213GBP but we were charged closer to 240GBP equivilent. Also this hotel does NOT take credit cards at all despite what it says on your website.

    Location only

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was hot with no aircon or fan in extremely hot weather.. A chair in the room would have been good.

    Location was excellent close to the big indoor market. . Staff were plrasant and helpful.. Plenty of nice places to eat nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Buzz noise from the electric counter, especially disturbing in the night. Broken toilet seat. Wifi signal on the second floor too week, unusable. Dark room with no external window, just a small window to the courtyard gallery next to the door - my wife was afraid to keep this window open in the hot night, scared of burglars.

    Pleasent staff, very flexible, willing to assist. Very good location. Discount in the home restaurant with tasty food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No amenities and only one roll of Toilet Paper. There was also no shampoo/body wash supplied with the room. No Kleenex either.

    The hotel is located on a major road that has plenty of restaurants to choose from to eat. I loved the proximity to the public transportation hub.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi reception was weak. One of the plugs did not work and everytime we used the kettle it tripped the electic, only plug it didn't was in the bathroom so had yo balance kettle on the hairdryer. Shower was a little tepid for my liking. Also could have left a few coffee or teabags.

    The room was toastie the rads kept us warm. Had TV free wifi hairdryer and kettle. Being in Vaci Utca was a bonus as its right on the main drag. Plenty of bars and restaurants whitin 5 10 min walk.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff could be nicer and wifi was problem. Shower is just for tall persons and one bad was making noises.

    It was a really great location and a very big room but The staff could be nicer and wifi was problem. Shower is just for tall persons and one bad was making noises.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is not answering the phone or email - ever so there is no possibility for eventually reschedule your booking. There is no sign of "River Hotel" on it or anywhere around. Rooms are old. Bed not comfortable and no extra towels or blankets. No soap or anything in the bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sheets were not so clean, we did not had heating and hot water in the room for one morning..sometimes it happened at evenings too...Anyway this does not ruined our vacation at all...

    Excellent location, nice and friendly stuff, private bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi doesn't work. They don't have Internet access at all but they are stealing connection from the hotels around them. C'mon, it's 2016. Beds are very uncomfortable, like you are sleeping in the floor. Heating systems was not working but they offered electrical heating system. Do not study there, this is the worst room I have ever seen and been.

    It's good location but nothing else.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There seems to be no such hotel as The Budapest River Hotel. You check in at the cafe Moncarchia, and then go around the corner into the building through a door with no hotel name above it. Its the same door as the Original Thai Massage Parlour! Strange!!

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The other guests didn't respect us by making loads of noise in the middle of the night.

    The location is amazing! The receptionist, János, is very polite and gave me a discount during my second stay in the Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No signage so hard to find. Dirty hotel cafe.Noisy .No hot water for one day.Over priced.Would only go there if desperate for a bed.Rooms open onto cafe.Unusual design.

    Location good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing makes me rate and write this review, is not that your vacation get spoiled, it's not a hotel at all, just rooms, in a building, no reception you have to go inside the restaurant and ask the Waiter for checking in, funny yeah !? Then you get the door's door to inter the building, they room is rather clean but nothing Else, extremely noisy coz you are just above the terrace so you can sleep around 1:00am that not counting the drunk people who scream all night in that very street. 2 nights no warm water, I called them on the first place to figure it out and they said to call on half an hour, it did not work till I went the other day to complain again! The clean.... Hmmm extremely poor, I had to ask for it! 2 days they did not clean, and how they clean! Well she just do your bed and take the garbage bag, so no changing of the bed sheets for 10 days!!! Yeah during my wheel stay, not cleaning anything! Not evening changing the used cups! I don't get it why why why they put tea cups of there is no cattle!?? They get your money and then they don't care what would happen! Checking out is the best part, just return the key, that's all)

    Just the the main market is near buy that's the only good thing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower, not enough sockets for phones and tablets, one socket not functional so we had to unplug the TV to charge the second phone. The hotel reception is in a restaurant, separated from the entrance, breakfast room in another location down the street, however not difficult to manage.

    The location, the room, the breakfast, close to the Danube, close to transport, close to shops and close to one very cheap pub -Seven Pub- (half the prices of Vàci utca) , where you also eat breakfast. Good Wi-Fi signal.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was terrible

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very difficult to locate the property. The heating systems were not working

    Property is accessible by public transport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room and great food

    Great staff, great stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the property was amazing,, right on the walking street, and only 2 blocks to the metro.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a dump plugs hanging off wall dangerous no clean towels or toilet rolls

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great and the service is extremely nice, the team is very thoughtfull

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was awful there was a hole in the middle of the one bed there was not enough bed covers for all the quest

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no parking There is no reception, didn't know where to give the key back,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little difficult to adjust the shower to the perfet temperature.

    The bed was comfortable and the heater was perfect, not too hot nor cold.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were horrible. The water poured out of the shower with no pressure.

    The restaurant was amazing where the hotel reception was.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No hot water

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy street (pedestrian zone), cold room

    location, price

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great place, kind people

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a noise place and wasn't warm water,uncomfortable bad

    Down town,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roomed smemlled, was dirty and the service was terrible. I felt really unsafe in the room! Way too expensive!!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The 'hotel' is part of a block with a restaurant, occupied flats and businesses. The accommodation was very basic. Leaky loos and showers and uncomfortable beds. Very noisy in one of the rooms due to it housing the boiler and electrics for what appeared to be, all rooms in the hotel part of block. Restaurant full most nights although we did not eat there so cannot comment on food. Staff only available from 10am until restaurant closes. Would not stay again.

    Great location but no name on hotel so take full directions with you if you go

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the rooms in terrible shape (bad pillow, disfunctional shower), extreme garbage truck noise from the street early in the morning, building difficult to find and access)

    Location is good.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor quality bed - slats fell down. Shower leaked. Sheets and towels were not changed.

    The staff were very helpful. The room was very central. The restaurants were just outside the room.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The reception is not on Ground level. You go down the stairs on a side entrance into a bar & the reception counter is in a corner. Not impressed. Bed was very small in the single room & at night bit cold. Asked the receptionist for a extra blanket. It took him too long & finally what he brought for me was a very thin flimsey piece of clothe

    Location !

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was not helpful and some didn't know English. The shower was leaking and wetting the floor There wasn't WiFi reception in the 3rd floor When we came the bed was broken and they had to fix that for 1 hour The bathroom light was broken Not worth the money

    The place was located in the main street, near public transportation.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you visit budapest then skip this so called hotel! Bad smelling towels, no heating, pictures do not match the rooms, shower is like an old not working sprinkler installation, worst old bed and matras ever! And not to forget they broke in in our room om the 1st night and the owner didn't really cared?! Suitcases ruined! + river hotel does not exist at all! It's just 5 rooms in a thai massage house!! Be warned and stay away!!!

    Nothing was good here! Be warned!

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast starts after10:00 AM

    Nice location at the center, old historical building, friendly staff, clean, smokers friendly. They have allowed me to check-out at 17:00 without extra charge. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    By the right street and number there was no name of the hotel, only a restaurant! Somebody asked me what i am looking for.He was a boy of the reception! I am sure the hotel is illegal(without name and receipt).

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location for you to accomplish many things in a day! A very basic and no fancy good night rest in a private dwelling. Lots of Thai foods around which suit my Asian taste buds and really enjoy the Rudas Bath House.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our room/toilet was never cleaned. Towles never changed. WIFI never worked. Management couldn't figure out what room we were in and then couldn't find the room keys.

    The location.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No a/c, when they said there is. Very uncomfortable bed, squicking and almost breaking. Kids ended up sleeping on the floor. Reception is half the time unavailable. Water didn't drain in the shower. And the list goes on... Really low level hotel.

    Great location, but that's the only good thing

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walls in our room were very thin. Some young kids had taken room(s) for having late night parties for 2 days. The noise that they made kept us awake on both nights, so didn't get the rest we needed.

    Your staff are very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Access to the property depended on the availability of staff. Despite being told that the room was available at 10 am, I had to wait until after midday because no one was around to deal with my reservation.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Extremely hard to find! Reception is inside a bar and it seems that this hotel has at least 3 different names.

    Excellent location, reasonable price, clean, comfortable, roomy.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception was in a restaurant of a different name down the street, they had no record of my confirmed booking, the hotel name was totally different from the website advertising it, and the actual building housing the rooms had no identifying name at all. Not a good experience.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was not one as we would expect. There was no service of the rooms on a daily basis, the bed and linen had a musty smell. The room was adjacent to a Thai massage parlour.

    The location was good as it was close to the river, restaurants and transport

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We stayed there for 2 nights. The rooms are small and smelly. The shower and toilet is also small and water leaks out when taking a bath. It needs renovation and good barrier of water. The cleaning was just changing bed cover, but there was always missing toilet papers or change of towels. The facilities are terrible. There is only one young guy in the restaurant reception taking care of all the facilities which explains why things are messed up. In a few words, bad management of the hotel. Only book this hotel if you don't mind all this list. I wouldn't give this hotel more than one star. Cheers

    The location is excellent. It just lies in the downtown in a very fancy street with lots of shops and restaurants and there is a metro station 200m nearby. Money-wise its considered cheap hotel

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast starts at 10.00 am, room is fair, but beds are small and and toilets are smelly. After shower, water is spilled everywhere in bathroom. Would say facilities need management and more work on room service and cleaning. It doesn't deserve more than 1 star.

    Beautiful location and the metro station very close.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of the bed in the room was only with springs and sponge?! We were little bit shocked but survived :D and the reception supposed to work from 10am but at the 11am there was no one there to check out and we had to rush for our train.

    Excellent location for small price. Room very nice and clean!

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a room in this hotel for three nights two months in advance. When we got there, the receptionist told us, that we can oly stay for two nights. The last night was for New Year's eve, by the way. He promised, that he would find us another hotel, so that we can celebrate new year's in Budapest, as planned. Then, we had to wait more than an hour for the room to be ready (but it was already 9 pm!). When it was finally ready, he showed us where the room is, but there was another guy in there, saying that he just took the key from the reception and used this room's toilet. Obviously, everyone has an acces to these rooms... Unacceptable! When he finally got out, we just wanted to go to sleep, but then... THE BED BROKE! All the furniture was very of poor quality. When we called the receptionist, he blamed it on us and left, saying he will be right back. We waited in our room for over an hour, but he didn't show, so we went to the reception, and there he was, closing up, so he would go home. After we freaked out and begged for this problem to be fixed, he finally gave us the key to another room (prevously he was saying that all the rooms were full, hmm). Next day in the afternoon we had to move out of this room and go back to the first room, but our bed wasn't fixed until late in the evening. As we were waiting for it to happen with all our luggage in the reception, there were at least five other families/groups who were told that they can't stay at this hotel, even if they had a reservation. And also, the receptionist didn't even check other hotels, where we could stay for our last night, even though he promised he would. Since we didn't even have a room half of the time we were in Budapest, we wanted at least half of our money back.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Family with young children

    Everything it was poor staff

    It was to bad

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It's old building and one day hot water didn't work.

    Only location.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was close to centrum and good resturants.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    room is small, but ok for single man:)

    very good location, easy to go any other place in budapest.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom was not as clean as it should have been. Some windows weren't closing and the heating system barely worked.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms too small and dark

    Location

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bad cold shower

    location & lovely old building

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is extra. I tried to change the towels but I dirn't change

    Location as well. I had not difficulties in WiFi

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beds, staff, cleaness everything

    Location

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, very helpfull staff

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    hard to find restaurant prices bumped up

    Excellent location historical apartments

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    don't have reception all night

    Nice localization, near great market

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No hot water!!

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All budapest And The river hotel

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed wasn´t very comfortable. The hair dryer was not screwed to the wall, but worked :)

    Perfect location. Clean and spacious room

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The place is well situated at good price.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Browse Budapest River Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: