Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gárdonyi Vendégház

1022 Budapest, Bimbó út. 25/b, Hungary

#123 of 163 B&Bs and Inns in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 135 B&B reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    A lot better than what we expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have just left the Gardonyi this morning, but my wife, daughter and myself miss the place already. The whole atmosphere is just incredible (the staff, the plants, and the pets). We're definitely going back to the Gardonyi soon. Nagyon zsepen kozsonom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    5.4
    Location was nice just near a bus stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable, we booked a family room and the extra bed was an old spring one which was really pathetic. Room too had very little moving space for a family. Breakfast had no variety and it was very limited. Bathroom was outside the room and the shower didn't work properly.

    Location was nice just near a bus stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    I think the best value for money. Fantastic district
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom outside the room, also if for exclusive use.

    Very friendly family. A good breakfast. Position simply fantastic, on the hill of Buda, in a very nice place. Fantastic view from the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    3.3
    A Nightmare.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Breakfast was skimpy, repeated exactly every day until we traded off cold cuts and cheese for yogurt and fresh veggies. Quality of meat and cheese was not great. Limited portions of bread. Portions were served pre measured, per person. If you were not right on time, coffee was cold. We had never encountered such a sparse, unvaried, basic breakfast in a B and B before! Wifi was "borrowed" from a neighbouring B and B, and did not work most of the time. We had to request the TV remote, and it did not work for the first 24 hours until it was repaired. Parking was a nightmare. We were supposed to have private parking, but vehicles from people who were not even guests were jammed into the garage. Several times we were awakened early to rearrange cars so others could get out, despite being reassured that we were parked so that we would not have to move. On one occasion we ended up parking on the shoulder of the street for part of a day, despite having paid for parking in the garage. The sheets were so short that either our heads or our feet ended up on the upholstered mattress. By the second day we went out and got larger sheets so that we could sleep on a covered surface. Duvets were also very short (and we are not tall people!) We were on the top floor, but a non paying "guest" was climbing up a ladder and using the attic above us. As the attic was never designed as a living space, there was no noise insulation. Early every morning, the noisy movements of this "guest" awakened us about 5:00 am. She was rude to us about how we stored our supplies in the fridge (intended for guests on our floor), and when we discussed it with the owner, we were told this person was leaving in 2 days. Five days later she was still there, still disturbing our mornings, still being rude, and obviously not planning on leaving (and still not paying according to the owner).

    When things got so bad that we left 5 days early, the owner did not charge us for the final 5 days. The location was quite good for what we wanted to do. But the problems completely out weighed these few "good" things, and the owners were completely unwilling or unable to address the problems, even though they kept saying they would.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.5
    Very pleasant accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hot water is prepared in the gas boiler and the temperature depends on the number of users. Time to time alternates warm cold water. Very uncomfortable. On the first floor there is a kitchen, but my wife was told that the pottery should not be used.

    Extremely quiet place. The yard has plenty of greenery. Triple room on the second floor is not great, but there is enough space. The entrance has a hall that separated enters to the bathroom and to the bedroom, so that the sound insulation is very good. Owners are very friendly and attentive. Breakfast is continental, but quite sufficient. I think that the parking charge. We stayed during the holidays so we did not pay for parking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.3
    Old fashioned
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is very old and poorly maintained. No renovation for the last 50 years. Shower did not work. No air-conditioning either

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Good breakfast , nice location , nice place for a weekend,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bed

    Good breakfast , nice location , nice place for a weekend, it’s old style but we do like it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.3
    There were bathrooms for every room BUT accesed from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were bathrooms for every room BUT accesed from corridor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.7
    Good place as a starting point to visit city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old building, with old fashioned furniture. Poor breakfast.

    Good place as a starting point to visit city center. Ok for one night. Nice personel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    5.4
    a b and bin someones house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no bar .poor breakfast

    closeness of bus stop

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    8.8
    Friendly and helpfull staff;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reservation confirmation said "This accommodation provider accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Visa, Euro/Mastercard, Discover", howerver, it wasn't the case, when checking out: by cash only.

    Friendly and helpfull staff; convenient location; good value for money; basic, but totally sufficient breakfast; fresh air scented linen.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    6.7
    Good location and public traffic;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very old furniture, beds, bathroom; carpets everywhwre; bathroom door can`t close. Very poor breakfast (2 buters, 1 processed cheese, 1 egg, 4 salami slices, something orange color in a cup, maybe fluid jam; no cheese, tomato, normal jam, nutella, yoghurt...)

    Good location and public traffic; quiet residental area. Parking garage (5 EUR). Good WiFi.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    5.8
    Bathroom was outside the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bathroom was outside the room The towels could have been much cleaner Rather poor choice for breakfast, but coffee was ok.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    9.6
    everything :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    variety of meal for breakfast

    everything :)

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    6.7
    Yes it's good place
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    There was no hot water it's was very big problem

    Yes it's good place

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    7.9
    Beautiful area, good public transport, nice hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast were quite monotonous.

    Beautiful area, good public transport, nice hosts.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    9.6
    The Balcony, The Crew, Breakfast, Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The Balcony, The Crew, Breakfast, Location

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: