Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellért 4 stars

1114 Budapest, Szent Gellért tér 2., Hungary

#224 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 6952 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building shows its age, and could do with maintenance outside on masonry, and indoors on loose carpeting and woodwork

    Breakfast was very good. Nice classic restaurant, more than enough choice. In front of hotel metro and trams, but citycenter “pest” and various attractions “Buda” in easy reach on foot, and ofcourse the famous Gellert Spa on premise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It did not affect us but the exterior facade needs attention to preserve its beauty.

    Old fashion grandeur in the perfect location.Relaxed atmosphere,fantastic breakfast. We will return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No air conditioning witch is a drawback in temperatures close to 30 degrees celsius. Obviously a fashionable hotel once upon a time. Still very nice surroundings, and impeccable service - yet, powdered parmesan cheese on the Cesar salad doesn't cut it for me.... At breakfast: No vegetables what so ever. Just fruits.

    Great service. Good breakfast. Doble rooms were OK standard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I choose a room with a river view & that was available. The noise from the all night traffic was terrible. I need sleep when I travel The shower did not work that well managed to get sort of a shower but not able to wash my hair.

    The hotel is Art deco but needs a remo. The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service absolutely zero, for a sandwich I’ve been waiting more than an hour, and calling them 10 times 3 times responding to the call. At the end when they brought I asked does a sandwich takes more than an hour and she was telling that there is wedding party that’s the reason of bad room service

    The only positive thing that I can say I liked was their staff, that always smile on the face and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was like for cleaning lade. View was horrible and room was under the restaurant s kitchen. Of course air condition wasnt here (just kind of small ventilator, which wasnt enough) so we had to open the window when going out smells from kitchen. I would like to take something from minibar but fridge doesnt work. I cannot recommend to anybody

    Culture of hotel and personal was nice!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really. maybe the fact that I cannot speak Hungarian. However everybody speaks good English or German. Shame on me!

    Marvelous room with an exquisite view. Very polite and helpful staff. The baths are legendary and don't disappoint.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Still some places are marked as a building site :( they could have cleaned it since the last renovation.

    Great athmosphere and nostalgia :) Lovely staff, very friendly and helpfull :D Beautiful location and view, and the baths are terrific as well :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1) One person at the reception/front desk (a man with dark hair) was very rude at check-in. That's why I do not recommend this hotel to my colleagues. 2) Breakfast is served in the restaurant from 7 am. If you have an early flight they offer you a "breakfast" in the lobby bar from 6 am, which consists of tea/coffee and some pastries (small croissants) only =this is actually no breakfast.

    1) at breakfast in the restaurant: a very good coffee from one of two coffee machines (freshly ground coffee); relaxed atmosphere (guest can choose a table and does not have to wait to be sitted) 2) nice view to the out-door swimming pool from my standard single room located at a upper floor; warm colour of the furniture in the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    only fan in single rooms

    I upgraded to a river view room with air con and was really worth it for view facilities and air con single room basic though cheap and only had a fan so was hot at night. great spa with 50% off

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was hot as a furnace The mattress was older than me and was full of stains On top of the mattress was only a very thin sheet There was a bottle from previous guests in the room The bathroom locker was broken The wardrobe was old and broken There was no A/C just a noisy fan There were COCKROACHES in the bathroom and after complaining at the reception desk a sarcastic response was given The hotel pool is paid even for guests The hotel definitely needs renovation and policy changes

    The breakfast was very good and complete The hotel have great potential (very classy) The thermal pools are good too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do we start. The rooms were unbearably hot due to no fans or air conditioning in 30 degree plus heat. We did not get a good night sleep the whole of the 7 day stay and could not blow dry or style hair the whole time as it was just too hot. We were going to a wedding so this was disappointing thy we couldn’t even get ready properly. We had to have windows open at all times due to the heat and our room Was directly next to the tram line and busy road so it was incredibly noisy the whole way through the night. We asked for an iron and ironing board and they took us to a ‘services room’ where you were expected to iron on a desk. The room was dirty with ants EVERYWHERE. We woke up with bad backs or necks each day due to the bed being so uncomfortable. The receptionist staff were very rude and unhelpful. The hotel needs updating, it is outdated and in a complete state. Awful stay, very dissatisfied. Not as advertised-we will NEVER EVER stay here again.

    Not a lot. Breakfast was the best part of the stay and the older concierge was brilliant when the receptionist messed up our taxi booking almost missing our wedding

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being given the very ordinary Japanese-owned Dreher beer when requesting the craft beer they advertise in the bar.

    A very impressive building right by the river and with easy direct access to the marvellous spa. Friendly staff and excellent food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel has a wonderful historic elegance and charm. The access to the spa facilities was a real benefit. The breakfast is excellent. The room had a beautiful view of the Danube River which was particularly lovely at night. The room was comfortable and well furnished. We loved staying here and would recommend it to others.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Obviously the spa was top location-top views nice BUT in rooms where was not aircon so a bit sticky during night.. Bteakfast was a good one.. All in all what we expected.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were not over friendly and the wrinkled carpet on the 4th floor needs attention

    Location was ideal the view from the room overlooking the Danube and the Cave church was beautiful, the spa, the breakfast offered plenty of choice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This Hotel urgently needs to be updated The carpets and fittings were shabby Be aware that there is no air con in the bedrooms Thank you to Dora at the front desk who gave me a more suitable room after the first night in an extremely small and uncomfortable room .

    Position close to Metro and Tram Easy to reach attractions and city centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is outdated, poorly maintained, lacks maintenance, probably nice hotel 50 years ago, bathroom not 100% clean (mildew), extremely noisy. When in the next room people shower or use the bathroom it is like they are doing this in your room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is rather outdated and the comfort of bed leaves a lot to be desired.

    It’s nice to use the baths while staying at the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need major update. Had a river facing room. With a balcony. The balcony was dirty and unmaintained with plastic chairs. Would have loved a nice balcony to sit in and enjoy a drink while watching the river. The room had a portable air conditioner that struggled to keep the room cool . The soap and bodywash/shampoo provided was a joke . You could scrub the soap to kingdom come before it would foam and the body wash bottles were so tiny they barely had any content for a good hairwash let alone a bath. The internet was free but very slow and though the room had a mini bar they did not have a basic hot water kettle

    Beautiful historic property. As prominently visible as the Buda castle. With some stunning views and spas. Stayed in the superior room with river facing balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The single room I had (365) was quite small and gloomy, but I spent very little time in it. The safe didn't work and the tv channel list was out of date. Why not just throw this away? There was only one very soft pillow but the chambermaid gave me another. The bedside light wasn't working, but here again, the friendly chambermaid fixed it promptly.

    I liked the faded grandeur of the Hotel. From the outside, it's a wonderful building. The famous Gellert Baths are attached to the hotel. I found almost all the staff I encountered were helpful and friendly, e.g. the woman in the Business Centre, the female receptionist, the chambermaid, staff in the Bistro. I thought the breakfast was varied and excellent and served in a wonderful room overlooking the Danube. Excellent transport links to centre of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is my third occasion to stay at this hotel and the cost had increased significantly. SPA visit is now not FOC for first visit as on previous occasions but is now offered at 50% discount, not told this at booking process. During our stay the hotel was hosting a belly dancing event with the waiting area outside the restaurant turned into a market stall area for clothing sales - not what you would expect on a relaxing break

    Location of this hotel and the spa is fantastic. Room had recently undergone a makeover, furniture could have been better quality,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was a bit rundown and my father's room did not have A/C. The bed's were not very comfortable and hotel guests have to pay to use the pool. There have also been some difficulties with the bill.

    Great location in a historic building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My single room was ?? (Single rooms are not only @the Gellért kind of bad???). Outdoor lounge/bar at night - one part was empty, sat down but now service anymore. Sorry... The Spa is at any time of the day packed - the should count and stop the visitors. At once came the big waves in the pool - was only announced in hungarien - I had to save 4 elderly people befor drowning - absolut no go. The indoor Bar is a tiny little strange thing. Sorry for the history I could reccomand but for enjoying NO.

    The old styl of the house I liked very much. History as its best. Close to public transport, the river the Monestry etc. Visitor Center was very, very nice - but they sent us to the wrong Franz Listz Accademy for a concert.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed!!! The springs were springing like hell and I didnt have much of a restful sleep. But thats probably the only thing I wasnt happy with.

    The breakfast was good. Cant rate coffee though. The breadrolls, the steamed vegetables, the sausages were good. They offer a freshly made omelette. And the spa is accessible from the hotel, the price is reduced to half for hotel guests. The rooms was ok, very clean, maybe too much furniture for a small room like that (not complaining about the size of the room though :)) and I would wxpect other type of furniture in a hotel whose facede is in art noveau style. Their signature beers from the bar are tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted to change the room for a suite since upgrading wasn’t that expensive but had no luck Also,the rugs from the hallway they were all wrinkled and in the need of replacement

    i’d Like the most the view from my room The do’s is in the annex building with an unbelievable pool and more different pools With different degrees of water, the room was very spacious with lots of lightning, breakfast was fantastic and the restaurant we also liked the food very much!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress in the superior room was sub standard as much too soft. A new harder one was provided after we requested it. Although on the first night it was just placed on top of the old mattress which meant if was then like a water bed and kept moving. On the 2nd night they removed the old one and then it was much better. The room balcony looks drab and needs new floor, a lick of paint and new modern furniture rather than the old, dirty plastic chairs.

    The building is gorgeous but needs some tlc both inside and out and perhaps some updating. The staff at reception we're always very attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cockroaches and other smaller bugs were in the room, especially in the bathroom. Lighting was too dim to read.

    Great breads and breakfast pastries. Wonderful decor, especially tile work in the baths. Outstanding food in the outdoor restaurant.0

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing to not like.

    The Gellert has a sense of place like few other hotels-it has personality, authenticity, and style, and a welcoming, thoughtful staff. I read some lame reviews about the carpets being a little old or other really dull points. I really don't care- those soaring ceilings, broad corridors and doors that lock with a fat brass key belong to a world of style I'm happy to see still thriving. Our room was charming, spotless, extremely comfortable, and had a view to thrill- the Gellert Hill and the liberty bridge, punctuated by the sound of elegant trams passing by. The location is ideal. And the breakfast is without peer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom was very basic and I do hate shower curtains. There was quite a bit of white noise which I think came from the Spa, but it wasn't really bad enough to bother me.

    The hotel has a certain shabby glamour. Do look at the beautiful stained glass windows on the stairs. The location was really excellent, being situated by the Liberty Bridge on the Buda side but with easy access to the Pest side.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's old not modern, room is very small bed is very low quality, bath room standards are from 1950. Hotel needs a serious renenavtion project.

    It has a lot of history and a great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the reception area nor the bedroom. The reception area was very dowdy/old fashioned/dated, not relaxing. We found the bedroom terrible, it really needs decorating and renovating/modernising. The springs in the bed kept popping when you turned and the pillows were awfully uncomfortable. As for the toilet it was a dreadful dingy little space and had the unpleasant smell of a public toilet.

    We loved the look of the building from the outside. We also liked all the outdoor spaces including the pool areas thermal pools.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a lot of maintenance work going on at the time

    Beautiful Fin de siecle feel and architecture, a lot of space, super friendly staff, great breakfast buffet, fantastic spa, metro right infront of the hotel, the beautiful liberty bridge and the danube atmosphere all there for you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the hotel was lovely my room looked a bit tired around the edges. Nothing that a refurbishment couldn't sort out though.

    Excellent staff and a great location. Great spa attaches to the hotel too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff felt still quite socialistic: unfriendly, let you wait for some time before handing out your room key for example, or said they were too busy to get you a coffee, although there were hardly any customers!

    This is a very iconic hotel, and the bits left of art nouveau were lovely. Location is fab, excellent public transport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Every room needs a total renovation. All needs to go!!! Carpet in halls, the furniture looks like they went to a second hand store and just got anything . Worn out would be good description. It would take 10 million euros to make it look more modern. Give the owners this suggestion.

    The main lobby and dining room VERY nice. Food for breakfast excellent. The building is very impressive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Although the spa is separately run - it was very disappointing. I had stayed in this hotel a long while back and the was part of the hotel? Poos full of greasy bodies and too many people allowed in. Not very attractive at all. Also message on booking form says that there is one spa visit FREE - but they fought about it and charged. Bad information in rooms and on forms

    The position of this hotel is excellent. The single room was comfortable Breakfasts excellent. (the chef though - should learn to make a proper decent omelette - what a mess!!!!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NO AIR CONDITIONING. Noisy parties made sleep impossible until midnight. ONLY go here in WINTER and if you are a Heavy sleeper.

    Staff tried to be helpful, but they had no options to offer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Worst aspect of the hotel: a cockroach in my room on the second day. Additional notes: the staff is not very helpful (either with the cockroach or just for booking a restaurant the evening before). I stayed one night only and left for a nicer (and cheaper) in the centre. We did not try the SPA – so cannot comment on that. Not a 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    single room - very small and run-down twin room - big, but also run-down the beds were to bad - both in the twin room and single room

    Twin Room with balcony with view to Donau The restaurant Warm baths connected to the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Towels from the floor were put back on rails. No single use shower gel been changed after using it. Litter left in the room.

    Hotel interior and breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is old and we noticed this especially in the bathroom. It smells weird in the bathroom and we noticed as well some traces of rust. Even if you take the fact, that the personal was cleaning it every day.

    The location is very nice, of course little bit far from Andrasy street, but its ok, because the view from the hotel is Amazing. I would recommend this hotel if you want use the Gellert Baths. In other case I would go more to the center. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There were little, black caterpillar-like animals in the bathroom. Also, the service in the breakfast room was not very good.

    Breakfasts , access to strand

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are looking for slightly faded grandeur and extensive history, this is the place for you. The Gellert has seen better days, but it is still an experience staying there. Do check out the Gellert Baths next door - there are better ones in Budapest (e.g. Szechenyi, Lukács), but these ones are historic, pretty, and oh-so-convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were fairly basic. Check out was confusing. First we were told that half the amount was still owing on one room. When I explained that it had been paid in full, the clerk appeared to accept this but I was still unsure if my card was debited until I returned home.

    Public areas were very good. Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room, a single room, was very basic but clean and not uncomfortable.

    An overall positive experience. An journey into the past. Old charm but the room was very basic. Apart from the basic room, the hotel is rich in old character and offers good facilities. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds were quite low and quilt not great and needed extra pillows. Room probably could have done with decorating but overall enjoyed out stay.

    Lovely classic styled hotel with great view of the Danube from balcony. Buffet breakfast was good, did not try the restaurant but within easy walking distance of restaurants. Hotel SPA which was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was awful. Sound from the ventilation system 24 hours a day. Not very clean and the bedding should be renewed

    The breakfast was very nice. The bar and restaurant too. The service was amazing and the area around the hotel was also lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - poor isolated rooms with very noisy cleaning ladies who make a lot of noise and you hear all the neighbours activities - old fashioned furniture - check the final bill: preferable to pay in EUR because you can be charged much more in the local currency - HUF: I had mentioned one exchange rate on my bill and totally other exchange rate charged on my credit card. In the favour of the hotel. I asked explanations and even if they replied, nothing changed, they being even sarcastic.

    - good location - excellent breakfast choices - clean rooms - confortable bed sheets - friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located in a strategic position in the Buda side of the citty. One can easily walk toward the centrum or can take the metro or some of the trams whose stop is placed just outside the hotel. My room was large, the SPA was very good and the breakfast tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the superior room we were expecting to have the wooden floor and rug, but the room was nice anyway.

    Staff are very helpful and friendly. Great restaurant with live music and nice view, much better quality food than the local restaurants we visited. Good selection for breakfast. Huge balcony and good view of the river and bridge from our room, no night time noise. Easy access to the Gellert pools, which were themselves were very crowded, loud and hectic - expect shouting children splashing around the thermal pools and no reinforcement of the requests for quiet behaviour, I would recommend earplugs - but this was not down to the hotel itself.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standard room has been book however we have got definitely different room then shown on pictures as a standard, We have stay in small 2 levels room.

    Location, place, atmosphere, all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Third stay at this hotel. Love the thermal baths and buffet breakfasts. Nice little coffee shop with a variety of drinks, lunches and sweets. Very handy to the trams and subway. View from our balcony was spectacular.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great, except the fact that there’s no aircondition and it was rather hot during the nights. Very good breakfasts, good and helpful staff, big room, easy way to spa from the room, wonderful balcony view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower gel+shampoo were really poor quality, and it was such a little bottle, so girl with long hair couldn't wash both hair and body. There were no free water, just in mini bar.

    Amazing view from the window and terrace

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Single room and especially the bathroom is too small (shower is tiny), but it was my choice to pick the smallest room available. Also, the furniture in the room was Spartan, shabby and old. The whole property could use an upgrade.

    Good location and a historic property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was awful, more like a cot - squeaked and not comfortable at all. Breakfast was overcrowded, no real juices but just water with color & flavor

    The staff is very helpful and nice, the hotel is ideally located, great you are able to use the spa for free once.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lives from its old glory: it urgently needs refurbishing, in particular the bathrooms need to be redone completely (I stayed in 2 different rooms). Moreover, the breakfast room is too small for the amount of guests, it was always packed and therefore difficult to find a table.

    Great location; beautiful building; access to a wonderful spa

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location right next to tram and metro station Nice view from the room overview the river Nice and friendly staff Convenient indoor entrance to the Gellért Spa Continental Buffet breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ok-ish. Not exactly what we were expecting, but it was fine, considering the small price that we paid for our room. I think it's more like a 3 stars hotel than 4.

    The breakfast and the hotel's location were amazing. The pool was also very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Having the spa right there is wonderfully convenient. The breakfast room is also elegant with a great view of the Danube. The breakfast buffet is rich and varied. Finaly, the location is simply the best - it is convenient to everywhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The single room I stayed in was appalling. Stained wallpaper, dank bathroom, shabby furniture. It was reminiscent of 60s communist shoddiness. It is disgraceful that in a beautiful city like Budapest a hotel should offer such substandard accommodation- in supposedly a 4 star hotel. It is my worst hotel accommodation ever.

    The breakfast was excellent and, apart from several of the rude male receptionists, the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet appeared clean but smelled of urine, and pigeons (I guess) kept us awake at night making noise.

    Location, look of building, staff, and Wi-Fi all good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved going to the attached baths. Close to the bridge that will take you to the city center and all the sites. Excellent public transit right in front of the hotel as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not feel comfortable. The reception staff (all male) were not friendly. On arrival we were offered an early check in. We gratefully took the room. It was shabby and not what we booked. When we explained we had booked a double room, we were told that my booking wasn't for a double room (however, I had the booking receipt from Booking.com as proof). They said we would have to come back after 2pm, they were busy and may not be able to accommodate us. We eventually got a double room. My wedding ring fell behind the bed and when we moved the bed to retrieve it there was a rubber thong, bits of paper and dust an inch thick. OMG revolting. Please be aware not all rooms have air conditioning. I would hate to be here in summer as the room was hot at 25 deg. We slept with the window open for some relief. I felt, we should've been grateful to take the sub-standard room because we got an early check in. The most uninviting and unprofessional reception staff I've come across.

    Beautiful architecture and a great history. It has spa thermal bath attached. These are run separate to the hotel. You get one visit free and additional visits for half price (10 euros). The breakfast had a amazing choice of dishes. The restaurant staff were professional and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad service, arrogant personnel. Old and small rooms. Way too expensive for what it is. Not recommended

    Direct access to Gellért thermal baths and spa. Breakfast included.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing was negative, what I came across.

    The breakfast was outstanding, the location is mega central, the spa in the hotel is unique with it's old charm and decorations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    terrible unkept old rooms. not at all like the picture I was shown on booking.com when I booked the suite corner room. I also remember specifically booking a room with both windows showing the danube scenery. when we arrived from one window I could only see rusty rooftops. From the balcony I could see one little corner of the danube.the hallways are old, the heaters rusty, the bathroom in terrible condition. Bed was not comfortable at all, there were 2 wooden rough beds put together as a "matrimonial bed". I would not argue if it was a youth hostel but I can not accept this from a 4 star hotel. I felt intentionally deceived. It was completely different from the picture I was shown when booking the room.

    building exterior looks very good, swimming pool has a good atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful view from our room over the mountain and the river - grateful to the staff for that! Easy and inexpensive access to the famous and gorgeous Gellert SPA facilities, good access to all major Budapest attractions, either by foot or several transport means. The breakfast choice was excellent. And the staff is super helpful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little bit tired looking, and whilst the location on the river was great, it was on the outskirts of the hop-on-hop-off area.

    Spacious rooms, high ceilings. The outlook down the Danube was great. The access to the hop-on-hop-off bus made sightseeing easy. Access to the thermal baths was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Seriously outdated rooms, streight from 70-ties but all was clean and functioning.

    Very good breakfast and fantastic location. Nice historic building and very good personell.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing Neighbour slamming door at 2 am woke me 2 nights. ‘Modern’ flimsy doors spoil the character

    Historic atmosphere Bistro Business department help

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Returned to Gellert Hotel again! Great location and unbeatable bath. Complimentary first-time entry for hotel guests. Unbeatable location: Opposite central market and easy hop-on-hop-off locations!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very dated. They could be improved but still maintain the historic aspect of the building.

    Location. It is such an historic building so this is evident in the rooms. Lobby and dinning area very modern. We were only there for one night so only had breakfast which was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room are not cleaned as I hoped and have not been renewed for a long time (walls not perfectly white, signes of mold on the ceiling. While the staff at the reception desk is simply miserable.

    the restaurant is super and the termal section even better than I expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Danubius Hotel Gellért traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: