Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Hungary hotel reviews
  3. Pest hotel reviews
  4. Budapest hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellért

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellért This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

1114 Budapest, Szent Gellért tér 2., Hungary

#230 of 362 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 7135 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    9.6
    It was excellent and is recommended to everyone wanting to rest and get a good healing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Could not connect to WiFi(?), pillows are no much convenient, carpets could be clean more in rooms, and style is a bit too retro. Thus, keys on bronze medallion is nice retro, but magnetic card(chip) could be also combined with the massive medallion. Would be much more original.

    excellent interior design in retro style with amazing art windows, excellent personnel and services, rich breakfast, wonderful thermal and swimming pools, including external (open air) bath, discount for visiting the baths,. The hotel is situated in excellent place, near park on the St Gellert Hill, which is the excellent place to walk), windows of the hotel are looking toward the landscape and Danube.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    6.3
    Great weekend in Budapest, only slept in Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ok, all quality hotels we stay at have basic Tea & Coffe facilities, which we felt, which the aging room interiors was a let down. In future, I will only accept a modernised room with the above facilities. In the breakfast room the orange juice was nothing more that “orange coloured” water, terrible for a 4 Star Hotel. On the bedrooms, it would be s good idea to have two extra pillows in wardrobe for customer comfort. But, not the flimsy extra soft one available.

    The hotel location, and the staff friendlyness

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    7.9
    location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs a little tlc this is an old hotel and in places looks tired. It would be nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room. there was a large event on so hotel was not represented as it would be normally which meant certain facilities were not available.

    location excellent. staff friendly and helpful. We liked the original features and history of the hotel, would stay again and would recommend for people wanting a hotel with character.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    5.8
    Location, Clean, Staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very old property, the hotel facilities does not exist, the dining room for breakfast was closed during our stay and we were moved to a small dining room without any prior notice

    Location, Clean, Staff was friendly

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    8.8
    Use the spa, and explore fully all the pools. And enjoy the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That we were offered a poor room at first, which was rapidly changed to a better room after we complained. And on our first day breakfast was madness due to a tour group of ravenous who knows what...but excellent after we were shown to the adjoining rooms where calm prevailed with superb Danube views.

    The spa facilities are wonderful and the key reason to stay there. Many rooms have been refurbished and are good to very good, but others are badly in need of renovation. We asked to change rooms and were rewarded by an excellent room. Prices are reasonable for what was a top hotel 100 years ago during Hungary's belle epoque before being ravaged by war and occupation. The staff are attentive and excellent. The range and quality of the buffet breakfast is hard to beat and provides a good range of exciting hungarian treats as well as the usual western breakfast options..

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    8.8
    Brilliant and will go again to find out more about Budapest history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room I had was tired and the furniture was a tad wonky! Having a single bed was awkward as I’m used to a double! Unfortunately you can not regulate the heating in the room so if you are hot you need to open a window and then you have to contend with the noise. My daughters room also had a permenant damp smell. Having said this, it was still a comfortable experience.

    The hotel has magnificent charm. The art Nouveau design is beautiful and the closeness of the thermal pools etc was a bonus and their opulence was a treat. We were close to the squares and Xmas markets. We had massages at the hotel and these were brilliant and good value.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    Beautiful building in a great setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had zero complaints about the property and will be going back!

    Beautiful building in a great setting. Rooms were clean and tidy with lots of information for tourists. Additionally breakfast was great, staff helpful and friendly and an amazing spa under the hotel with thermal pools!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little dated and my economy room was pretty basic - got what it said on the tin but another person in my party paid the same and had a much bigger room

    The hotel was in a great location and lovely and warm

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent trip, we were unanimous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Single bed!! Even if booked as a single all beds should at least be a standard double. Rooms could do with a little updating.

    The heritage and history of the hotel. The willingness of the staff to help.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.2
    The ambience and the restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Surface in the bath was badly damaged. Towel heating rack did not work and had a slow leak. Carpets were a little bumpy in passageways. Sense of the need for refurbishing a little without losing the history. The verandah was good but not clean and electric cords seemed to be hanging where they should not be. Despite what might seem like negative feedback we would definitely visit again.

    The ambience and the restaurants. Great food and excellent service. Loved the sense of history and the beautiful old furnishings. We also loved the musicians in the Espresso Bar and the Panorama Restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    5.0
    The location
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel furniture is extremely old, carpet is extremely worn, smells bad from the shower sink and finally no parking in the hotel we have to park the car in 500 meter away.

    The location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    9.6
    A really good four days in the city at a landmark hotel which exceeded our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I'm not a huge fan of Hungarian cuisine but the cakes were lovely in the cafes that we visited. Had the goulash soup at the hotel which was quite tasty but otherwise stuck to fast food or went to the Chinese street food cafe near the big indoor market.

    I liked the overall ambiance of the hotel. The reception area, the breakfast room and the bars were all pleasant areas to sit and to eat and drink. The adjacent spa was also enjoyable particularly lying in the warm outdoor pool when it was raining. Everywhere was within walking distance and the sights of Buda were easily reached along the riverfront.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    6.7
    Very welcoming staff & great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dated decor in the standard rooms and shocking in the hallways (dirty scratched walls & stained carpets that are ill fitted)

    Very welcoming staff & great location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    7.1
    Just good location
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was very small, no minibar (unexpected for a 4star hotel) but I guess It was no room for it... The furniture has minimum 50years and the bathroom even more. The shover was leaking and the sink was cracked...

    Breakfast was very good and the staff was very nice and helpfull. I stayed only one night. Average age in the hotel is 60years...

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    7.5
    The ultimate Budapest experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The view from our room/balcony was amazing overlooking the river and bridge. Great breakfast selection Impressive Art Deco building Direct access to the Spa able to walk over in your bathrobe and slippers

    This hotel has got history and character is well located, impressive and very handy for walking over to the Spa from your room. You don't go here for ultra luxury or latest mod cons but I personally prefer this place as you really feel you're in a different city/country. Very Budapest.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    7.9
    The location and the overall impression of the hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked the economy room for a weekend trip, arriving Friday at noon. We were quite shocked that a hotel like this would still have rooms like the one we got. The carpet in the room was loose and very dirty with lots of old spots and the bathroom hadn’t been properly cleaned, probably because it was not possible anymore, because it was so old. After long consideration we decided to complain and fortunately the receptionist could give us another room, that we were very satisfied with.

    The location and the overall impression of the hotel is great. The staff was very service minded and helpful. Breakfast is good but the restaurant is very crowded on the weekend.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely Old Hotel
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In the bathroom I found empty shower gel bottles. The bathtub had poor enamel. Only one thin pillow on each bed.

    Spacious room and bathroom, great view on the Danube, friendly staff at the reception desk, good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    5.8
    A lovely hotel spoiled by lack of attention to detail. Staff in many cases were surly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom and bed.

    THe bed was not fastened together as a double. We were very dissapointed with the bathroom. The shower cubicle was very badly corroded. Bathroom door handles were in very poor condition. Not what we expected from a quality hotel. The restaurant staff were very poor, they need to have experienced staff on duty.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.6
    Spectacular hotel in a good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the most emblematic buildings in Budapest. A spectacular front of the hotel and the main entrance. Good location. Very good and diversified breakfast. Fast and stable wifi. Easy and comfortable access to the Gellert Baths (it is an absolute must see).

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    7.1
    The place has great potential and could really be a great romantic location. Keep the old ambient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The carpets in the hallways look like they have seen better days. The room we were in also had a bit of a run-down feeling. Sockets next to the bed (one side!) took the form of an extension cable. There were no other free sockets to charge the phones.

    Breakfast was good with a good selection. The room was kept clean and the shower had been renovated. The location is very nice opposite Szabadsag bridge. The reception is straight out of "The Grand Budapest Hotel" and the stairwell is marvelous.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was really good and staff very polite and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself was beautiful but economy rooms badly outdated. Of course the price was not bad either, so basically you get what you paid for.

    Breakfast was really good and staff very polite and helpful. Convenient access (and discount) to Gellert Spa.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    10
    It was too short holiday trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too short trip.

    The SPA and thermal bath closed to the hotel; the nice receptionists; the architecture of the hotel; the restaurant; its location closed to a nice bridge, to cruises over Danube river and to a restaurat having violin orchestra and good food.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel and baths inside ! It's a must location in Budapest
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was a bit sullen, although were ready to help. Not convenient ironing service.

    Very stylish, old hotel ! The Gellert baths are amazing !! Incredible interiors, good indoor restaurant. The room looked old, but everything worked well, very cosy room actually. Location is just perfect

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.5
    Historic hotel in a great location that feels like it's seen better days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is next to a famous thermal baths and everywhere seemed to smell of chlorine. In the evening, the restaurant is definitely not a place to dine by yourself because it's miserable.

    I liked the atmosphere of the hotel and the beautiful location.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    10
    Beautiful, historical hotel full of charm in an amazing location with views over the Danube
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea and coffee making facilities in the bedrooms

    Beautiful historical hotel in an amazing location with direct access via the hotel to the thermal baths.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    6.7
    Good because of the thermal bath, nothing else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is really old,and not really clean. We had some insects on the curtains. The window lost a piece! The bathroom was fool of rust. The staff wasn't so polite, if we asked something they replied like if they were doing to us a favor.

    The hotel is well connected to the thermal baths, and we had a discount of the 50%for them. The position is really central.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    9.2
    Grand Budapest Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was a little hard.

    The proximity to the baths makes this a great place to stay. Also the new coffee machines at breakfast make a really good cup of coffee to go with the rich buffet.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff in the cafe were not as pleasant as the rest of the staff. That is my only negative comment on my complet stay

    The strudel was lovely. The staff in the cafe were not as pleasant as the rest of the staff. That is my only negative comment on my complet stay

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    5.8
    The location is very good and the room was huge.
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The environment is old and not well maintained, seemed dirty and some furniture was broken. Bad customer service and poor interest in help. Buffet for breakfast not amazing. Money extra charged without notification and bad knowledge in languages.

    The location is very good and the room was huge. The thermal pools fantastic, but not free and the building is historic.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    5.8
    Reception staff were really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleanliness of bathroom . The attitude of house keeping was very rude!!

    Reception staff were really helpful. Situation of hotel was really good for all public transport.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely grand hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a wine festival on at the hotel over the weekend we stayed (9-11 November) which we found disruptive. Some restaurants were closed, the foyer was crowded at times and breakfast was in two different rooms and was not well managed. We will stay here again as we loved the hotel but would not stay during this festival.

    Great location with wonderful views over the river. A comfortable grand hotel with a historical feel. Loved the room that felt very 1910's

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    6.7
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel needs an update and refreshing in general. If only they will decide to redecorate as this hotel deserves, it would make one the bests in Budapest...

    Staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    4.2
    The hotel that time, budgets and cleanliness forgot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only reason we ended up here is because there was an issue with our initial booking at an alternate hotel. There were cockroaches, wood louse and ants in our room and in the hall way. The carpets are filthy and a possible trip hazard. The bathroom was extremely old and very tired with rust marks in the bath. The bedding was old and worn with small holes in the duvet cover. Someone had a cigarette on the balcony as there were used matches left on the balcony floor when we returned from a day trip. All in all a terrible experience. The only saving grace was the location but even with triple glazed windows you could still hear the trams and traffic rumbling past.

    The location and the professional front of house staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    5.8
    The location is great but the room was incredibly disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was mold? In the bathroom. Possiblely blood on the wall. The bed was hard and could feel the springs. The room gave off the feel of a no star motel.

    It gave a discount to the spa and was so close it was easy to get back to your room while staying relaxed

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    4.6
    The reception staff was friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In the alternative breakfast room (right from the reception) look behind the wooden grid. You'll see dirt you didn't think was possible. Overall the facilities leave quite a lot of room for improvement, one still can see the traces of gone elegant times, but now everything is used and old and stained. Also, the riverside is quite loud at night.

    The reception staff was friendly and helpful. The view is great.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    5.8
    The room was clean, and the staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the oldest and prestigeous hotels in Budapest, however it was a disappointment. This hotel still operates in the 20th century. No key cards, but actual keys. The furniture in the room were old, and used. The walls were dirty.... True time travel back to the 1980s. Maybe some like this 'romantic' of the past century, but I'm not one of them.

    The room was clean, and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    9.2
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are slightly dated but it is a old building so should expect as such

    Location is great. We had a room with a river view and it was lovely to sit on the balcony. The fact the hotel has the baths attached and you get a discounted rate as guests. The general feel of the building and its opulent style and artwork

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    6.7
    Would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was extremely small and very hot with a small window the could not open more than 3 inches which let in bugs. There was no air conditioning and an inadequate fan with a short cord.

    Location was perfect and the hotel is an historically relevant building that represents the city it is in.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable good position. Large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to pay so much to access the spa. A staff member in restaurant quite dissmissive verging on rude. Poor access to an iron.

    The location and some of the staff members were really helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    10
    Buda's best by far, period charm and perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, we loved this place - keep doing what you are doing. Don't ever change this will be an enduring memory of my favourite european capital city.

    The location is perfect in old Buda opposite Liberty Bridge, near a tram stop and a short walk to many beautiful buildings and cosy little restaurants. The art deco furnishings and decor are perfect, and it oozes 1920’s charm. The building is attractive period architecture and the thermal baths and spa are just the icing on the cake. But what made it for us was the staff, I felt like a valued customer from the moment I approached the reception and was treated like that by everyone we met – a credit to the hotel and its ethos. Food, service and location second to none - Tökéletes, köszönöm

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    7.1
    Good old fashioned hotel well located with great views of the Danbe and close to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sheets, towels and bath robes all could be renewed as are threadbare. Beds old fashioned and not very comfortable

    Pleasant staff and very good buffet breakfast

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    8.3
    Great Weekend Stay Gellert Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is a gem but does require more interior updates to soundproof noise from corridor particularly. Guests don't realise how much sounds travels when banging doors shut or chatting in the corridor. We were woken up quite early, someone even opened their door to alert the loudspeaking guests.

    The hotel has real character. We've stayed here before and chose it again based on location and the Gellert Spa.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    7.5
    Overall, good rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    SPA centre is not free for hotel guests. Cleanliness leaves much to be desired.

    Location is very good! Breakfast is very good! Staff is friendly and helpful :)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    8.3
    Extremely professional and helpful staff, honestly probably...
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    While sleeping, the lights in the hallway illuminate the room. Some weird bugs chilling on the floor, seemed harmless though, although one was resting on my sneaker in the morning. Room looks a bit old and outdated and at the end of a very long hallway, but I got it for very cheap, so that is to be expected.

    Extremely professional and helpful staff, honestly probably the best personnel I have ever encountered in any facility period, not just limited to hotels. You can get amazing pastries for extremely cheap between 6-7pm from the cafe downstairs just before closing, had a very delicious chocolate cake from there for just a bit over 1 euro! Also in an extremely nice location, right next to the river and some very nice and beautiful places in walking distance. Very beautiful spa.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    7.5
    Not 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very shabby hotel. Rooms need a total revamp. Bathroom ceiling and shower curtain very dirty . Asked for change of room which I got just as shabby. Booked for 5 nights moved hotel after 2 nights.

    Staff pleasant. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was wonderful but Budapest disappointed as 2 of the main museums were closed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The water pressure in the bathroom wasnt very good; the bidet didnt function as it should and although there was a separate loo there was no expelair so it got quite smelly!! There was no information in the room about dining or a sample menu which you would expect in an hotel of this quality.

    It was a fascinating building (we went to Budapest to look at architecture amongst other things) and well placed for transport into the city. The bedroom was spacious and quiet and the bathroom was enormous. we ate in the Bistro most evenings and the food was very good and imaginative.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    7.5
    Great position, 20's age style hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room needs to be refurbished. Also some areas of the hotel are outdated.

    Great position, 20's age style hotel. Breakfast is excellent. The possibility to reach the baths from the hotel is very convenient. Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    7.9
    Reach the location very easy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They blocked an amount of money much bigger than the real cost. The door between entrance and bedroom was missing.

    Reach the location very easy. Breakfast buffet is varied and can satisfy many requirements. The room is large enough and clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    5.8
    Hotel could be lovely but needs renovation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower had mold in it, the pillows and bed are awful, no tea or coffee pot in the room or available at all times in the lobby.

    The location and grandeur of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    8.3
    Conveniently situated, and the staff were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was, as reviews said, rather past its best, but we were expecting that and it was reflected in the very good price. We had picked the hotel partly because we wanted to have a swim now and then. Bad idea. The hotel has NO pool of its own. You do get half price entry to the Gellert Spa with all its pools and treatment rooms, but that is 10 euro per person per entry, and then you have to pay more if you need to buy swimming hats (tip, use your shower cap from the room) or flip flops (the sort of disposable slippers some hotels give you free) or use a locker. It makes it a very expensive dip. We did it once just to have swum in these grand facilities - did I say grand? It's a horrid maize of tunnels and stairs and routes through changing rooms and treatment rooms, and definitely lacks grandeur. I took my camera, but need not have bothered). Its restaurant only takes cards, not that we used it. Not the hotel's fault as it does not own the spa. In our room there was a huge air conditioner unit on the floor beside the bed, we had to move the bed to make room to get past it. There was a wardrobe, but we could have done with shelves or drawers to put things in. But I think it is likely we would stay again.

    The best thing was the location, with tram stops right outside, a choice of which took you up one bank, or across the bridge to get the no 2 tram up the other side of the river, or to any of the major transport intersections (and over 63's goo free - as long as we're in the EU). The staff were professional and very formal, but also pleasant and very helpful. The breakfast offered a good selection of choices, and yes, the pastries were particularly good. We had a balcony to walk out onto, test the outside temperature and view the river scene (but not up river towards parliament because of the angle of the hotel).

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    9.2
    Sunrise at breakfast was amazing!The charming staff was a bonus especially at reception desk
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Curtains in bedroom a bit grey ( dirty?) Coffee from machine st breakfast not good. Not much atmosphere I’m bar fir casual food... so I didn’t stay.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Very good dinner in panorama restaurant Lovely views of the Danube!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed

    Food was excellent, room was basic but very quiet. Bed was old and hard springs digging into my back. I put the blanket under the sheet to make it softer. Lovely building I felt like on a Puairot film set.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    10
    Great Hotel with lots of history and perfect view of the Danube.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel staff was excellent and accomodations were very comfortable. It is an older hotel but we liked the feel of the hotel and it felt a little like stepping back in time (and I mean that in a good way). We were on the 2nd floor and facing the river. The most amazing views of a beautiful city. The staff was very attentive and brought extra pillows and instant American coffee for us. We had to have a taxi pick-up at 3:30 am and they arranged and packed us a Breakfast to-go!!!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    7.9
    Nice but would only recommend it if you plan on going to the baths
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room with no kettle/tea/coffee and no view. Really basic. Despite the breakfast and the easy access to the baths I think for the price you can find much better in Budapest.

    Beautiful hotel, close to the city center. Being able to wake up early and walk to the therms in your bathrobe is priceless (albeit not really since you do have to pay to access the baths but you get a 50% reduction as a hotel guest). The breakfast is really nice although for the price I do wish they would bring you the drinks on your table.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    6.7
    Good location and thermal Spa but very old rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I expected to find old historical building with old lobby style and decor. But what I saw inside the room was shocking. Old broken furniture...liking sink.... My parents have thrown such furniture 50 years ago! This hotel must change the furniture and renovate the rooms.

    Termal Spa attached to the hotel. Guests can go from their rooms in bathrobes in sleepers directly to the Spa. Location is good. Facing Danube rever and walking distance to Citadel and Castle hill.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    4.2
    I will not return. Extremely disappointed. Over priced and extremely run down and out of date rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was really a poor standard for the price I paid. I have stayed at this hotel before and whilst the decor was old the room was OK. This time the room was cramped and I was unable to easily move around the room. The two chairs were both stained and I was not willing to sit on them. The decor was extremely old and looked dirty. The carpet was dirty looking and often there were 'insects' crawling around. I took one to the front desk to ask what it was but they did not respond very well to my request. I was dismissed without explanation. I had no hot water for a day but I accepted there was a problem however I also could not access wifi in my room for two days (that was 50% of my time!). When I asked I was used 'use the internet in the lobby' and again I was just dismissed in a very abrupt manner. The bathroom had a strange smell which came from the drains. Overall I was extremely disappointed with the hotel and will not return or recommend it to other travelers.

    The breakfast was excellent and all the breakfast staff were excellent. The brasserie food and staff were both excellent. My negative rating above is to do with the reception staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced hotel trading on past glories.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked two rooms for two nights. One room was so noisy (from ventilation system) that it was impossible to sleep - called reception who promised to call back but never did. Changed rooms the following day and was charged at a higher rate. No wifi in rooms on the first day of stay and unstable hot water on the second day of stay. Outrageously high bill, much higher than quoted. Asked for a price breakdown which was not received. Disappointing treatment for what was meant to be one of the highlights of our trip.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    4.6
    Very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The whole place is in badly need of a good clean. The bathroom was most unsatisfactory, dirty toilet bowl,shower curtain needs to be replaced. I personally have thrown out better! The staff were very grumpy.apart from one gentleman on reception,who was very helpful an pleasant. Unfortunately I have not his name.

    The breakfast was fantastic.and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    9.2
    a wonderful experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked fresh water to drink and perhaps a kettle in my room for refreshment.

    I like oatmeal and it was beautifully cooked. I also loved the location of the restaurant, which was superb. And the thermal baths were a complete experience for me, excellent and evocative. Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    10
    Not long enough was spent in this beautiful city so we will have to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Takeaway breakfast bag

    We all loved the old world charm of this grand old lady. The rooms were very clean and had a fabulous view of the Danube from our balcony. No tea and coffee facilities were supplied, they were brought to our room on request. The breakfast was amazing with more than enough to choose. We had made to order omelette along with lots of other tasty bites. It was my brothers 60th birthday so breakfast staff supplied a little cake! 🍰10/10 All the staff were more than welcoming and accommodating. A visit to the Spa and thermal baths is a must. The only dissapiontment was the early departure breakfast bag it did not live up to anticipation!! 2/10 We had been spoiled the day before.☹️

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    7.9
    Grand old hotel with an excellent location but in need of an upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were fortunate to get a room with a balcony overlooking the river. Our room (no 226) was spacious but outdated and desperately in need of updating. Out date furniture, poor carpeting and lack of amenities (even tissue paper missing in bathrooms). I was not satisfied with the housekeeping after the first night (unwashed glasses, no refill of shampo and general room cleanliness).

    The Gellert hotel is a landmark in Budapest. A beautiful building at a beautiful spot. The Liberty Bridge, tram & bus stops are right out the front doors and served as a great launch point to explore the rest of this beautiful city. Breakfast had something to everyone’s taste. The thermal baths attached to the hotel are not operated by the hotel, but hotel guests get a discount on the entrance fee and enter the baths via the hotel's first floor. All the staff were really friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful experience overall, good value and will definitely be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One suggestion is that the hotel invest in an additional crepe hotplate for making omelettes as they were a very popular choice🙂 Tea and coffee making facility in the bedroom would have been lovely and an additional pillow in the bedroom. Coffee machine for breakfast required you to select your coffee twice to get a proper cup, again this caused a lot of delays. An up-to-date machine would be a great addition to the hotel breakfast experience.

    The overall experience was extremely enjoyable. Beautiful breakfast room, great choice and staff extremely helpful and pleasant at all times. The hotel kindly took note of our request on booking which we greatly appreciated. The display outside the breakfast room setting out the history of the hotel and pictures were a great addition. The hotel was spotless. Location of hotel on banks of Danube is ideal for exploring Budapest.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay, fine view from very comfortable room and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The balcony view of the Danube was marvellous, even better than we had expected. Soundproofing of windows over the street and the river very effective. Breakfast provided a wide range of good food. Reception staff particularly helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    7.9
    Nice staff nember at desk. She was really helpful. Shower did not drain and despite our requests noy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above

    I went to restaurant to look at menu and was told i could have it. The voice was aggressive of hand and dismissive. Breakfast restaurant a shambles. Line ups for coffee and no ptroper sequence to where the food was.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    5.4
    I would never go back to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would never go back to this hotel. We were first given an obsolete room that hasn’t been renovated since probably the 80’s/90’s – twin beds with no bedside tables and no bedside lamps, with a ceiling lamp that looked like it was soon going to fall down. It reminded me of student dormitory/hostel beds. We made a complaint and got a new room which was OK but the whole stay was definitely not worth the high price charged for it, especially because of the awful initial experience – I literally felt cheated – such a “luxury” hotel should not assign such terrible obsolete rooms at all – Shame on them!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    5.0
    The problem with the bugs at our hotel clearly colored our stay — not for the better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In addition, the toilet pipes had duct tape. See photos of the bugs and the tape.

    We had bugs in our room! The day we arrived, the maid had to use her vacuum to suck up these flying beetles. The next night, we ourselves made a collection of 15 dead bugs that we spent more than three hours trying to kill. After two days, we were given a change of room! The hotel did not live up to its promotional advertising. After some pressure, the management offered a 20% discount for each of the two first nights. The pool facility was very good as was the food at the hotel restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    7.1
    Location, friendly staff and value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of air conditioning in many of the rooms make it necessary to open the windows. Outside traffic and sirens are very noisy at night.

    Location, friendly staff and value for the money. The breakfast is excellent!!! This is an old and at one time grand hotel with a lot of history. Unfortunately, it could use quite a bit of work to make it the grandiose hotel it once was.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    8.3
    We bought tickets for the hop on hop off bus (Giraffe) at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We bought tickets for the hop on hop off bus (Giraffe) at your hotel at a cost of 8500 each that was supposed to run ever 20 minutes We waited 1 hour 45 minutes (where we were dropped) near the chain bridge and no Giraffe bus turned up and there were several of the other buses stopped on Saturday On Sunday our last day we waited 2 hours (again where we were dropped)and no bus turned up ☹️ We thought that as a reputable hotel you would be selling tickets for a descent service. That is why we bought our tickets with you and not on the street

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    5.4
    Location and architecture of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First bedroom we were allocated was in disgraceful condition. Carpets stained and frayed, curtains stained, room dingy, dirty and miserable (though had been vacuumed and dusted). On complaining we were promptly allocated another bedroom for the remaining 3 nights which was in much better condition. Overall hotel was shabby.

    Location and architecture of the hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stay in an amazing building in fantastic location with excellent reception staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom and bathroom were a bit dated but the view from the window more than compensated!! Mattress and pillows could have been more comfortable.

    Lovely art nouveau building in a fantastic location. Good breakfast spread in a spacious restaurant overlooking the Danube. Just a few minutes walk through the hotel one can get to the famous spa. Very helpful, courteaous reception. Also a friendly espresso and sorozo( bistro type)can be reached through the entrance foyer, just the right places to meet friends.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    7.1
    I would stay at this hotel again if I visit Budapest next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Front desk staff - lack of courtesy when questions asked

    Central location Thermal baths being next door Nice doormen (gave good directions when asked)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    8.3
    Staff is nice and efficeint. Room is clean. Remember to bring your slippers for the swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel guests need to pay half price for the swimming pool and related facilities. And it claims that if the guests want to use the swimming pools, need to have a swimming cap and slippers, but there is no slippers in the room! However, it's only 1 particular indoor swimming pool need that swimming cap, otherwise, you don't need it! As the swimming pools, thermal baths and sauna facilities are open to public, it's a bit too crowded and some people even can't get a seat inside the sauna room! The breakfast is ok, but with this price you might expect something better.

    The room is clean in respect to this 100 years old building. The staff is nice and helpful. The swimming pool area is nice but a bit too crowded!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    9.2
    I would definitely visit this grand old hotel again, paying more attention to the room description.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was very disappointed in our room. It had a loft, with a twin bed and a davenport downstairs. Very hot when we were there. No A/C. But one fan downstairs. Big window did open up so that helped a great deal. The room areas, halls, etc., need a bit of TLC in my opinion but that might not be the thought of the manager.

    The staff are great and I enjoyed visiting with the lady in the gift shop. She was very helpful. The public areas of the hotel are beautiful. The location is perfect. It is a huge facility with a spa and baths taking up a city block. There are beautiful stained glass windows in the grand staircase and other places. We only had drinks and snacks on the outdoor patio, we were treated very well - didn’t speak the language but got along fine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, great history, beautiful displays of historical pictures, slightly faded past glory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleanliness of room dubious, wine glasses & drinking glasses not cleaned daily, tattered towel was shown to the front desk who were dismayed and had new towels delivered to room, but even after reminder by front desk staff, housekeeping continued to fail to clean glasses daily.

    Beautiful breakfast buffet, great concerned front desk staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is in a very nice historic building and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River or Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are in need of a touch up and better beds. Not really 4 star accommodation to be honest. Although we knew this before we came thru reading other reviews. The hotel has a history which makes it charming in a way but I think it’s a shame that they don’t upgrade the rooms a bit to keep the glory from that era.

    The hotel is in a very nice historic building and very central with good communication. Like stepping back in time to the Art Nouveau era. Beautiful view of the river and Gellért hill. Very nice with the close access to the termal bath without leaving the hotel. Breakfast was excellent with a lot of choices. Very nice with the café on ground level. Very helpful staff, we enjoyed our stay very much.

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Danubius Hotel Gellért Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: