Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novum Hotel Golden Park 4 stars

1087 Budapest, Baross tér 10., Hungary

#325 of 353 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1296 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.8
    OnlyPlusPoint - Easy access to local transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was not up to my expectation. It is a 4 star hotel but the room I received had nothing of 4-star. It was on 5th floor, opening windows and I see directly the facade of the other building in front of me. Plus at night, if the window is opened, I can hear a loud noise of kind of vent outside. I could not adjust the Air Conditioning temperature. I spoke to the receptionist who said she will send a technician but no change in the evening. The wardrobe doors were not opening/closing well. I could hear my neighbours of the room when they talked loudly! I had two small beds. I asked at the reception to join them (I roll a lot in my sleep) but nothing was done. Location is good with regards to transportation. However, being a big station outside of main city centre, like in all cities, you come across are beggars, drunkards hence at night, one can feel uneasy.

    The location of the hotel is a big plus point. It is available just outside the metro stating (exit H). You can see the hotel sign while climbing the stair itself. The breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location, very nice, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel restaurant was okay regarding the food, but we were totally surprised when we finished eating and requested that the cost be added to our hotel bill. The waitress said they could not put the charge on the hotel bill and that credit cards could not be used. She quite firmly said 'cash only'. Fortunately, when we arrived in Budapest an hour or so previously, there was a money exchange open at the train station and we had obtained some Hungarian money and were able to pay the bill in cash. There were no signs in the hotel restaurant that indicated that they did not take credit cards and that you had to pay in 'cash only'.

    Great location across the street from the main railway station in Budapest. Very nice room. Liked having both shower and bathtub. Very good hotel breakfast each morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.2
    Not Recommended. Unprofessional. Rude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude and not professional recepionistis. They didn't even apologise or offer anything for the delay in the check in. What kind of 4 stat hotel in a well reputed city does that? There were also no towels in the room and we had to wait for 2 hours to get towels. Sim0le horrible. The hotel's interior and design resembles a 2 star hotel rather than a good 4 star hotel. I do no recommend this hotel at all.

    The only good thing is the location which is very good if you are travelling to or from the feleti railway station. The center is also a few bus stops or 1 metro red line station away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    Affordable and clean city stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fridge in the room was not working and obviously empty. There are some noises, like running water. The air conditioning makes also some noise. You can still have a sound sleep if you bring your earplugs. It's located on a square with a lot of traffic.

    The location is great, very handy for reaching everywhere in the city, and the room is quite small but independent and clean. The bathroom is renovated and very clean. Price is affordable, very good for people on the go. There are also some shops with food and beverages in the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    A good place to sleep in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was somewhat worn down, but clean, so no real problem there.

    The location was nice, right next to a tram stop and a metro station and a train station. The air conditioning made my day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.4
    Too expensive for what you get but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was really filthy which from the start made us really uncomfortable. Bathtub was not clean and had some spots here and there, toilet also looked dirty and the sink was not cleaned well also. To add to that, hair on the floor from the previous persons staying in that room and hair on the fresh towels.

    Staff is friendly, the location of the hotel is great(popular fast food restaurants nearby, metro station, train station)and right next to it there’s a supermarket.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.7
    Close to Keleti train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning did not work!...outside temperatures in low 30's. Standard room is too small, walk sideways around the bed.

    Close to Keleti train station, great for one night if your train leaves early in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.1
    Great hotel location with claustrophobic room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Very small room; almost no place for luggage 2. Nothing good about the room; you feel like staying out of the room 3. Lift was too small

    1. Extreme close proximity to Budapest Keleti train station; you step out of the train station and look on your left, you find the hotel 2. Underground stairs for metro station is right in front of the hotel 3. Tram number 24 starts pretty close to the hotel 4. Convenience store right outside the hotel 5. Turkish Kebab, halal food restaurant, right outside the hotel 6. Stop for hop-on hop-off bus pretty close to the hotel 7. Good breakfast with lots of options

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.7
    It’s very close to one of the railwaystations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit of a smell lingering in the room.

    It’s very close to one of the railwaystations. The room is small but had everything we needed for one night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    3 night stay, great location, great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had good room but there was another door to next room. Of course locked without handle - but we heard everything from it.

    Friendly staff. Very great location. Before train and metro stations! Great breakfast. City centre about 3 metro stations. Széchenyi Thermal Bath also near to hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    We recommend the stay at Novum Golden, its close to the Metro (across the street) and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was super friendly and helpful. The beds were soo comfortable and the room was clean and everything we needed was there. Would be nice to have the fridge working as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.2
    Not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is so small, TV was not operating, bed not comfy and i even did found a spider in the bathroom

    The Hotel location is great, it's near almost every public transportation and not far from the sightsseens.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Really good value for money and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is right next to the one of two main Railway stations, Keleti, and under it and around is the junction of 2 underground railway lines, tram, bus and trolleybus lines which can take you to all parts of the city. The building of the hotel is nice, renovated at some point in not so recent history, but if you are in Budapest for fun then you don't spend so much time in the hotel anyway. Breakfast was good and staff helpful. It is good value for money and I will probably return again. Cheers!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    2.5
    Very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in renovation and the rooms left for guests to stay were very, but very dirty, a lot of dust, dirty bedding, curtains dirty. I asked for another room and I received another one less dirty but still dirty...Not even one star hotel, can not even think of 4 stars. The parking about 1 km far away from the hotel at the Mall.

    -

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.4
    Great location, totally simple (not the cleanest) room, nice stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s just a 2 star hotel - nothing more, nothing less. People write about stains on the carpet, I would say it’s impossible to see any stains with that amount of dirt carpet has(it’s just dark and needs to be thrown away asap, I would be ashamed showing that to people)- glad we had flip flops on us! Other than that room is very simple, fridge, hardly working A/C, clean bed sheets, soundproof windows (however streets are loud), once I got a towel with a huge hole in the middle and no one noticed...?!! The best about the place is location and I assume for that it got its rates. It could be a really nice old style hotel after some renovation works and repainting.

    Excellent location, 10m from hotel door there is entrance to subway where you can easily get anywhere and two shops just door to door. Stuff was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.8
    Definitely not a 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room needs renovation. Old air condition system was hardly working. Carpets was old and stained. Walls have dirt marks on them.

    Good location just near subway station and Keleti railway station. Bed was comfortable. Possibility of early check-in and late check-out (both paid).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Great freshly designed roms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit hot even though I turned the termostat down.

    I liked the 50% discount and the extra helpful and knowledgeable receptionist. We stayed in brand new rooms, never used before.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    Great location but the accommodations just average.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were spots of dark mildew on the tub area. The carpet had stains, as did the sitting area. Lighting in the bathroom was inadequate. Lighting in the hallway at night was inadequate. The TV did not work. There is no air conditioning in this hotel and the weather had turned quite warm, so we had to open windows.

    The bed was comfortable and clean linen provided daily. The room was cleaned each day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location. Our room was on the side of the building where the tram travels so quite quiet. Staff were friendly, polite and helpful and seemed to be happy in their work. Shopping mall is about a 7minutes walk on the same road. Great country- super experience!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.0
    Good Location - Watch the room rate!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disappointed with the standard of the hotel based on the price we paid compared to our friends - we paid almost double their rate. The rooms were very basic, bed was OK, but the room was not clean. The decor was very tired and the walls very dirty in our room.

    Location was good - next door to Kaleti Station which is a perfect transport Hub for both local Metro and many continental City destinations. We had breakfast on one morning - good value for money. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.0
    Our original booking cancelled on us within 36 hours of check-in. Budapest was 95% booked, yet I fou
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mold in the bathroom. The carpet was stained in MULTIPLE spots, and there was no direct lighting for the main area. (I had to go into the bathroom or stand in the entry way to read) This hotel has a lot of potential.... seriously, if they updated the rooms and hallways, it would be great; however, it was worse than anything I have stayed in previously (even when I was a teen looking for a party room). I will say the bed was comfortable and the location was good...

    Good location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.0
    Shocking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed mattress was from the 1950,s In the morning I woke up with a very stiff neck and told reception and they said they are renovating. This did nothing to comfort my stiff neck. I would like a refund

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.0
    Quality for 3star hotel, not 4stars!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has dirty walls and the whole accommodation is not for a 4 star, but 2-3 star only. Have seen many 3 star hotels in better condition than this one. Disappointed totally...

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    2.9
    The bed was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was like a hostel, nothing like 4* hotel. Small old rooms, no parking, street noise, room noise, old heating system, not good enough. It is like no * hotel. Bad smell in the whole hotel.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    We got a very cheap rate. We only wanted a bed for the night but the room was a bit grubby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The curtains were hanging off the rails and they were extremely dirty. It is not a 4 star hotel!

    The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean. The staff were helpful!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    great to be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing much just the normal things most travelers don't like, getting mugged or cheated by taxi drivers , just watch your back .

    the location was good just opposite the Keleti railway station if you travelling by train.there is a huge shopping mail just afew minutes walk away. there alot of fast foods around. generally Hungarians are friendly so they are willing to help if you are lost.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.0
    Dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price is not big so I didn't expect smth great but cleanness must be there! Short and curly hair in the bathroom everywhere. It was so unpleasant!

    Price. But it doesn't approve dirt

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Night-train arrivals to Budapest Keleti station will appreciate this accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite small.

    The breakfast is good, not so cheap, but they do have nonsweet vegetarian options, rare for the region. The location is the closest accommodation to Budapest main train station (Keleti). They also kept our room until our arrival at 07:00am.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.3
    Rocky start to our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room we were allocated had a broken shower bracket so the hose did not stay up. We tried calling the reception however the phone in the room also didn't work. Once the staff inspected the room, we were allocated a new room however it was a twin room (we booked a double as I stayed with my girlfriend) and the beds were not made. The last room we were given was okay however the walls had dirt marks on them.

    The location was right by the train and underground station so it was very easy to get everywhere, only about 15min by public transport to the Pest side old town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.4
    Brilliant Location, Shabby Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is in desperate need of an upgrade. I was in an Economy. Rooms are shabby, clean to a certain extent, bed is uncomfortable. Barely any cupboard space, just two hangers, thankfully I was there for 2 days only. TV is from 1990! Haven't we heard of flat screen? Won't stay again.

    Staff were excellent, always with a smile and helpful. Metro is right outside the Hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.8
    it is rather a 2 than a 3 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small room, the bed could be accessed only on one site, old furniture, stained walls in the room and outside, tainted carpets

    fast check-in and check-out

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    3.8
    Close to the subway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TO AVOID! An old hotel with dirty and broken carpets, dirty walls, dirty curtains. Bathroom rust, broken sandstone and dirty toilet bowl. Everything smelled old and urinated. Rooms did not look like in pictures. We did not feel safe, the doors were not closing tight. Under no circumstances 4 stars...maybe 2 stars. Very disappointing!

    Close to the subway.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Everything!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a bit “odd” to get to the room and apart from a very friendly and always smiling Egyptian at the reception, the staff doesn’t even say “good morning” to you! Utterly rude!

    Everything! Comfortable, very clean, spacious, location is more than excellent...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Arrived at hotel late after a hellish experience with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi signal was weak and kept disconnecting. The breakfast is charged 10euros in addition to your room price. When i headed down to order breakfast I was hit by a wave of unpleasant overly roasted oil which made me change my mind about it.

    Arrived at hotel late after a hellish experience with the MiniBud shuttle company. The staff was nice and the room extremely clean and well equipped. The beds have super nice mattresses and the location is absolutely brilliant, especially if you come/leave by train. The restaurants in the area are super cheap but can also find fancy stuff on the street featuring the Burgerking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.8
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think Novum hotel need more receptionst, and probably a bell boy. Some hotels said it is low season, but in Novum hotel, there are really full of people everywhere and when. But only one receptionist working late hour, I can’t imagine his hard work and effort to arrange everything.

    Location is absolutely easy accessible! And there is a souvenior shop downstairs, people to clean out their forint! L

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    Right next to a train station.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms would need some fresh painting. Walls and carpet in the room are very old and overused.

    Right next to a train station. Great if you need to catch an early train.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    6.3
    Convenient to Keleti station if your scheduled train actually goes there and not
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very aloof, we had just spent a month in Germany at a hostel where the staff were like family. Our experience in Hungary was that the locals were unhelpful in every way. The train from Prague stopped outside Budapest then took us to Nyugati 2 hours later. The railway staff were unhelpful, luckily it was midnight and the local young people helped us with trams and trains to Keleti station.

    The room smelt as the shower did not drain properly and it appeared to have rotted the floor in the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was about 3rd stay in this hotel, unfortunately the worst one. The hotel belongs to the group Novum now, breakfast is not included anymore, like it was before. The room was crazy cold, hot water did not work, walls in the room were really dirty. It is 4 stars hotel and we did not take the economy room! 4 stars hotel can not have CRT TV! where each second channel is without signal, during 3 nights stay electricity was switched off every night, you put your phone to be charged in the evening (all is fine) and in the morning you found out it is not charged because electricity was switched off during the night and this happened every night. Also bad experience during check out, the room was fully prepaid (paid during the booking process, having also the confirmation from booking) and staff was asking for credit card again to be charged twice! It took about 10 minutes to fight not to be double charged. This hotel has to renovate their rooms and improve their services at all.

    Great location, just a few steps to metro and railway station, extra convenient arriving late at night or leaving early morning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    4.2
    Disaster
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They declare that it is 4 star hotel but it is less then 2 star hotel. room is very small, not equipped, bathroom is awful, room is not clean, cold, air from heating is full of dust

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    5.4
    Metro station is to close to the hotel
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First is not in the center, the rooms is to smal, there is no plase for smokers, i was there for my 10 years university and I write the risen but nothing was offered. Even the room was so normal and small.

    Metro station is to close to the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    4.2
    Very bad, dont get fooled for the low price and 4stars.
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small,and very dirty. The room didn't have remote control for tv and phone,when I asked reception they open another room and have me...:)I mentioned that room is not clean they told me all rooms are like this and next year we will renovate the hotel. I felt like the show "hotel impossible".I was tricked with the low price and 4 stars...don't do the same mistake.

    Very good location close to metro,supermarket and arena plaza mall.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    5.0
    Staff was very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no bedskirts and the box springs were heavily stained. There were bad stains on the carpets. Carpets were torn and ragged. Sheets had stains too. Cleaning rag left in shower.

    Staff was very kind. Shower had good pressure.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    This is basic but very practical option for anyone needing...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is basic but very practical option for anyone needing to spend a night - i.e. in need of a shower, bed and breakfast - if you choose to order it for extra fee (which I found very good). Location is perfect especially if you arrive by train to Keleti railway station and want to use metro 2 that connects all important parts of Budapest (three stops to the very centre / Duna korso, for instance). For lower price than most hotels in Budapest, you cannot expect luxury, but a place that truly serves the purpose. Heating for winter time was excellent, for instance. Staff is very friendly and they were very kind even when I checked out a bit later. There is also a public computer with internet in the Business Centre. On overall - for about 30 euros per night - I was very satisfied. Any other small hotel in Budapest would have cost me twice as much. Plus - shops, restaurants, kiosks and a large shopping centre of ARENA are nearby... I am ready to book it again, anytime I visit Budapest. THANK YOU!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent one-night stay! Definitely recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During early morning you can only have coffee from the bar (which opens at 9 am) or if you buy yourself breakfast for an additional 10 euros. the people at the front desk can't/won't open the bar, so if you have a super early flight and need to leave before 7 am u will be left without a coffee. The warm water pressure in the evening is pretty bad, however that was much better in the early morning.

    The hotel is very clean and tidy. The bed mattress is fantastic so I had a wonderful night sleep. The front desk is opened 24/7 and the staff is super helpful. Right next to the hotel there is both an exchange office and a market. Nearby found some great Turkish and Chinese food at incredibly low prices. It was one of the best Budapest stays I had. I will definitely come back again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    My schedule kept changing and I had to extend my length of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been nice to have a hot water pot to make tea in the room.

    My schedule kept changing and I had to extend my length of stay several times. The staff was very kind, patient and helpful. My business for being there was very stressful but the staff made my visit a peasant one.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    General cleaning inneed. Super dirty curtain /carpet wet clean need, matrace change and blankets/ covers are super old & dirty.

    Location was good. Weekend traffic and biulding quiet side window is helpful. Parking on weekend is great. Staff were nice ! The Cleaning staff did there best but old room need general cleaning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.4
    It was bed to sleep in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    LEARN HOW TO CLEAN THE FLOOR!!!!!!! IT WAS DIRTY AS HELL!!! And who the hell starts to vacuum in 6AM on Sunday?!?!?!

    Bed was OK, toilet was OK. AC was OK. Sound isolation is OK.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    5.4
    No comment......
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly room, dirty walls and carpet. Very disappointing, definitely needs some refurbishment.

    Good location, that’s all. I can’t mention anything I liked in the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.5
    Perfect stay for travellers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality-price ratio good! Do not expect facilities as a real 4 star, but you should understand since you pay 30 e p/night in average ;)

    Location, price! Fair deal!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    5.0
    Had a great stay in Budapest, a very historical city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely no coffee or tea making facilities or a microwave. The dining room was not open for breakfast as advertised on the sign.The bathroom could have been a bit cleaner but overall it was quite clean.

    Room was comfortable, very close to train station and quite central to all facilities. The front desk people were polite and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    4.6
    The hotel does not deserve the 4 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfriendly, distrustful reception. On TV, even though a Hungarian public service channel did not come in. This was promised for the previous time, that will be conveyed to management, our request. The top floors were dirty, the old carpets were old. They forced the breakfast (because of the price - we think) when we clearly stated that we did not need it. When booking for one of our Booking.com reservations, our reservation was booked for nearly three quarters of an hour until we returned our reservation in our email. Because they refused to retrieve them in their correspondence. Prices are not displayed at the hotel reception. They never gave an invoice automatically. We had to ask for the bill every time! No advance payments were made, we asked for nothing.

    Close to Keleti Railway Station. Comfortable bed, clean bedding.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    2.5
    There is no car park as they said on web they have free car park they sent me to park my car in shop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no car park as they said on web they have free car park they sent me to park my car in shopping center and walk back to hotel and it was really dirty hotel and they took €57 instead of €49 as it was on booking.com they said it is not our advertise. !!!!!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Handy for Keleti.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was outside having a fag when they should have been checking me in.

    Bang outside Keleti station so great for early starts and late arrivals. Shower was good. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.1
    Convenient for travelling.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is small can't really fit in two people! Things looked old!

    Location is perfect, just next to the central train station! It's convenient if you're travelling by train from/to other city. Staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Location across the road from Keleti main station was ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Decor in the room and away from the reception level is very dated. This has a tired appearance which matches Budapest as a whole. 4* in Hungary doesn't mean the same as 4* in another country. Air conditioning was keeping the room hot - but we could open a window. Area around Keleti isn't the best - but there are numerous police patrolling 24 hours so never felt unsafe.

    Location across the road from Keleti main station was ideal. Little noise outside meant you could sleep with the window open without being disturbed. Room was clean and functional. Reception couldn't do enough to keep the guest happy - nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    3.8
    The hotel it is really dirty and the rooms weren't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel it is really dirty and the rooms weren't comfortable. It is nothing like the pictures there are online. The carpet is old and it has dirt on it. Overall i wouldn't stay or recommend it. Not worth the money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    4.6
    dirty and empty
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    dirty floor, dirty bathroom, dirty windows, no mini bar, dirty carpets, spoiled shower. Breakfast must be paid extra and all thar at a 4-star hotel? Everything is documented with photographs and enclosed to the reception desk. This is reason why I'am writing, to make the hotel manager respect his guests at a hotel where guests leave their money and because He would not want to pay the hotel in bad condition. With This condition of the room Inspection should be close it.

    clean bedding

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    Clean and cheap #Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel perfect for a short stay, staff really helpful... rooms are clean and and plenty of space in them. Need abit of tlc is al! Towels changed everyday which is always a plus... great breakfast choice overall twas great stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    3.8
    I would not recommend this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would not recommend this hotel! Parking is available at closeby shopping mall - 10min of fast walking, not quite comfortable in rain with luggage, etc. Hotel is not a 4-star hotel: carpet was so dirty we wouldnt take shoes off, bathroom was in a very poor condition (towels were nice, that´s all) and although smoking is not allowed, room smelled quite bad with cigarette marks on the outside of the window sill.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no drinking water in the room. The mini bar is empty. No remote control for the TV. I have been here many times in last 14 years, but now it is not a 4 star hotel anymore.

    Location. Close to the metro station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    2.5
    They mentioned they offer free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They mentioned they offer free parking. This was a lie, they do not have any sort of parking. You can park around the hotel, but it is normal parking, where you have to pay by using the parking meters. Rooms were very old, with rust at the hinges of the doors. Air conditioning was giving a bag smell, so we turned it off. We had an extra bed, and it was a very old, metal bed. The receptionist was not very informed. We parked around the corner from the hotel, and there was a parking sign we didn't recognize. When asking the receptionist(showed him a picture of the sign), he also had no idea what it meant. When arriving, we had to wait 10 minutes for him to finish a friendly chat with a colleague, even though he saw us standing there. This was frustrating, since you can only park the car for 15 minutes next to the hotel entrance. Very old furniture, some electrical outlets have been fried but not changed (basically the entire outlet was black from the burn marks). The corridor to the room had a very powerful smell from the cleaning agents used, making it smell like a hospital. Would not recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    2.5
    Not enough even for one star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty room...Dirty bathroom - the curtain was torn apart, no toiletries ...No parking, at all - we had to park 2km away in some shopping mall(and in the reservation was stated there is a parking) Awful value for the price ...would not recommend it to my worst enemy!

    Nothing...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.0
    Not so good as in advertisement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room need renovation, dirty carpet, very dirty walls, non functional fridge. Expensive for this accomodation. No 4 stars hotel.

    Locality near train station Keleti

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    3.3
    Worst hotel and worst services we've ever encountered
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - arrived at the location by car, wanted to park the car, the hotel doesn't have a parking lot. - Asked at the reception about parking lot, a certain Ms. Bordas treated us very poorly telling us very hostile that this hotel doesn't have parking. - This was very inconvenient for us because we chose this hotel especially that it was mentioned on booking that it has free parking. - Asking the receptionist about this, she started to yell at us and swear us in Hungarian. - the Reception Manager was standing in an open room behind the receptionist. We asked to speak with her, complaining about the parking misleading and about the attitude of the receptionist. Her response was that she doesn't believe it and we can park in the mall. - the room was dated and not clean. - after the shower, all the water went on the bathroom floor and stayed there because there was no drain in the bathroom. We stayed with 5 cm of water in the bathroom. - we went to Budapest for a surgery and this fiasco was the last thing we needed after getting out of the clinic.

    The location next to the mall.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    Handy Location & Good Value in Budapest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very dirty carpets in bedroom, breakfast room. Looks like it is vacuumed but not dry cleaned ever. Looked like food or drinks spilt on it and stained. Carpets and old 1900's box TV need to be replaced as otherwise such a nice hotel.

    Great location near Keleti Central Station. Easy bus and metro to everywhere, including Airport. Very cheap fares. Room spacious, comfortable with aircon. and view. Noise reduction windows. Refrigerator. Bathroom good. Very helpful and friendly reception men.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    No bells and whistles hotel. good budget hotel. will use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hotel condition is "tired" could do with decoration freshening up the carpets had some stains as did the chairs in reception. Breakfast offerings were not kept topped up

    good bed, good shower, good price room was clean staff were helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.3
    If not of the location i will not extend my stay here because of the staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs. Not warm and pleasant. Need to train more on customer service. When I checked out they put breakfast on my receipt and complained. They said they didnt charge me for the breakfast but it doesn't matter if they put it on the receipt. What did she mean by that? I didnt argue anymore since I was running late. That is just one example. Little things only but it's big matter for us customers especially if we are the one paying.

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.3
    Was only 1 night, needed somewhere to shower and sleep over night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very run down, not the cleanest place but was only 1 night and had earlier in the day had horrible experience else where so didn't mind.

    Comfortable beds & helpful staff and air conditioner was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    3.3
    I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wifi was down the whole weekend so I had to buy a roaming package. There was garbage laying around in one corner of the room. The furniture were old and worn but still better than the carpet that were partially missing (worn out). I asked for a complementary breakfast, since the Wifi didn't work but they told me no (it was just a 10 Euro extra). The shower is tiny and the whole bathroom had an odd smell to it.

    The location was ok and that is almost the only positive thing I can think of.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    3.3
    Holiday messed up, book another hotel!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attention attention!! This hotel is not recommended. Pictures do not correspond to the promised hotel. Very old hotel, furniture, tube tv .... The linens from the outside acceptable, but from the inside totally dirty. NOT HYGIENIC The air conditioning was very old and did not work (4-5 rooms tested) Amount was paid twice from my credit card! BOOK ANOTHER HOTEL

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.1
    Ideal location . Clean & friendly . Polite & helpful staff . We would recommend & stay again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shower was very basic and collapsed on me . The bar would shut at 11 , sometimes earlier which was a shame as we enjoy a nightcap in our hotel after returning for dinner . We thought breakfast was included but it wasn´t .

    The room was very quiet . The hotel was next door to a Metro Station . The staff were helpful with directions / suggestions . There was a fridge in the room so we could keep water & milk cold . There was a little souvenir shop to purchase gifts which was a good idea .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    No early Breakfast here .....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast starts too late at 0700. 0630 would be a far better time to start breakfast as many long-distance trains leave from the main station (directly opposite the hotel) at around 0700.

    Location excellent!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.8
    Only provided soap in a 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only provided soap in a 4 star hotel. No tea or coffee. ..charged me for my room and my friends and would not reimburse me. I have to get the money from my friend. Location not the best at night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.0
    Near the Budapest Keleti Station
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room facilities are limited. Hair dryer has a trace of it burning before which is really scary to use. The toilet smells funny as it has exhaust fans that are not functioning. Not enough drainage in the toilet floor as well.

    Near the Budapest Keleti Station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Awesome one.. Specially location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel. Well located is very closer to Metro station. Hop on n Hop off bus stop is also very close to hotel.. Breakfast is awesome.. lots of varieties were available in the breakfast. Feeling pretty much relax on that hotel.. Very much co-operative staffs. The check in time was 3 pm but we received the key at 2 pm.. Thanks a lot !! Hope I will come again and also recommend to my friends as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novum Hotel Golden Park traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: