Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gombás Kúria Mansion Boutique B&B

8230 Balatonfüred, Arácsi út 94., Hungary

#5 of 31 B&Bs and Inns in Balatonfüred

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 333 B&B reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of anything

    A beautifully converted old house in Balatonfured filled with antique furniture and beautiful paintings; a wonderful courtyard to relax in the sun with a cold glass of wine from the region; a very friendly and thoughtful host. What more could you want?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was extremely kind and helpful, and made everything to make my stay the easiest and most pleasant! Lovely big house with garden, extremely clean, comfortable, and really makes you feel at home! If back in Balatonfüred, I would defenetly go there again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to leave so early before breakfast time, and owner of the accomodation made us a small pack inculding sandwich and drink. That was really quite a plus! Only can recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is beautiful. The hosts are very nice and so helpful. The breakfast is delicious. A big parking in front of the hotel. Everything is close to reach: the Balaton, some vineyards, the mountains, the city-center ... Last but not least a great plus for the possibility to take my dog with me. The hosts have also 2 great dogs and a garden so my dog was in heaven - he did't want to leave :-) So do I. I can recommend it to everybody and will come back for sure!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The WiFi internet connection is weak or spotty in the rooms. One has to connect to the WiFi in the lobby to guarantee a better and reliable internet link

    The central patio area of the place where one can relax and enjoy the clean air and the sunny skies of Balatonfured while sipping a beer or a glass of wine

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice owners and staff. Nice room, spacious common area inside and outside. Perfect location, very quiet. 20 mins walk to lake Balaton. Restaurants, supermarket all in walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very nice with the Hungarian specialties. We also really appreciated the Mini bar at the reception. Gabor the owner was very kind. We enjoyed our stay a lot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    cozy and stylish with beautiful furnitures, great breakfast, very friendly hosts.. we went two families together and the owners suggested us to take the big apartment on the top floor with two bedrooms and a huge common area. we felt like home and would like to come back again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unique atmosphere, friendly hosts, delicious breakfast, clean and classy rooms and Hugo the dog;). These are the things we are going back for every year to Gombas Kuria. Like our second home.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No WiFI in the room. You have to go down to the central room. A bit far to walk to the lake and centre of town

    Pleasant, cosy place. Quite a few rooms in, what looks like, a private house. Splendid court to lounge.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The B&B got some distance from the lake, it'd be easier if you travel with a car.

    friendly hosts with lovely doggies. The building itself tells a lot of story, feel like back to the old days while still very cozy with good hospitality.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard to find a place to eat after 8.45pm in near distance.

    Very friendly helpful Host. WLAN available.Closed Parking.Fridge near the reception for guests.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location - I could be to far from hotel to lake for some people.

    Warm welcome from owner who also gived us a very good advice where to eat and what to see. Wery nice and quiet place to stay. We just spent there one night during our journey from Italy back to Slovakia. But next time we will certainly spend there more time.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful mansion, restored in style. Convenient distance from shops, restaurants and the lake. The owners were very kind and helpful. We took the large apartment, which was well equipped and cosy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    very spacious apartment in a lovely building in the garden, close to the restaurants, not far to the shop and city market. we had a great time.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did't have enough time to enjoy it longer. :(((9

    The owner, Gabor, was welcoming and very friendly. Our apartment felt like a home from home overlooking the lovely courtyard. A place with real character and charm, we enjoyed our stay very much.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought it was expensive for what it was. If this house was in Australia or any other more expesive country it would have still been cheaper. We ended up paying 200EUR for 1 night for 4 people with breakfast. I just think if an accommodation charges 160EUR for night, they shouldnt charge extra for tourist tax (suck it up 1EUR per day..) and 8EUR pp for breakfast - while it was a great breakfast I tought they really should just include the tax and breakfast. It was a great place and a great stay but still had a bad taste because of the additional charges..

    The Kuria is a very impressive building, absolutely loved it. The owners were friendly and direct. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, equipped with everythhing you need.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked everything, even the location of the mansion which means you have to walk 15-20 minutes to the beach.

    The hosts were very kind and helpful and we've got lot of good advices where to go and what to eat. They have two really cute dogs. The room was comfortable, A/C was working like a charm and the breakfast was very delicious.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice & cosy hotel, very friendly staff, perfect to chill out in a relaxed place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old mansion, free bikes, extremely nice people

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is amazing! you're treated as a member of the family there, and the place is amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the cozy atmosphere, nice decoration, tydiness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a perfect size. Near enough to everything that taxis wouldn’t be needed in the summer months

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing to add is the rooms could benefit from a fridge and safe

    Fabulous hotel, wonderful host, but Hugo (The hotel dog) was the added bonus

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely stay! Owner Gomas is very friendly and helpful! The room was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, amazingly beautiful mansion, helpful hosts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found the host pretty unfriendly.

    The two-bed apartment was nice and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Everyday eggs at the breakfast, made after your wish. Nice boss Gabor. Great airco.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location with a beautiful view on the walk down to the Lake and a little incline returning. Very gracious owners and staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect !!! i will go back !!! 😍

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's my second visit to the Mansion. Very relaxing environment and Gabor the owner is a great guy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds too low, pool was not as advertised and very dirty

    Staff very friendly and breakfast very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superior service, superfriendly staff that picked us up at the station and incurred us for beer

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Perfect location and excellent service. Best place for short or long stay at Balatonfüred. You feel yourself there like at home.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most friendly owner's, pet friendly place, exuisite location..

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish it was closer to the water

    Adorable and cozy b&b

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    standard room is rather tiny

    You will enjoy friendly personnel, charming public spaces and garden and tasty breakfast

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A beautiful, peaceful hotel with friendly staff and a nice garden. The breakfast was excelent and they had bikes we could use. I would for sure stay at Gombas Curia Manson if I visted Balatonfüred again!

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Before arriving we received a text message welcoming us which was a lovely touch. We were travelling with a dog, this place was perfect. There's a big garden and the owner was happy for her to roam around of the lead. We were upgraded to the apartment which was lovely and spacious with a kitchen area. We paid for breakfast which was good with plenty of choice. The guest house is in a quiet neighbourhood and it's about a 10-15 minute walk from restaurants and the edge of Lake Balaton. It was so lovely that we stayed 3 nights!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The guesthouse was very cozy - friendly English-speaking owner and staff, cute dog, nice dining area and garden, large breakfast buffet... Recommended for a cozy stay near Lake Balaton :)

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The TV remote or the toaster: they were like from another era (just don't work properly). And the blinds on the windows: could be much better. These are rather suggestions, than complaints.

    The feeling in the house is unique. A place for sole person or a group: you'll find anything you just need. And the trust at the "pub": likeable!

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little far from the lake if you are on foot but not a big problem as the delightful house rather makes up for it

    Loved the property and ambiance, the owners both as people and as to the additional help they offered, beyond the normal or necessary.The breakfast and the honesty bar, located in a lounge with books and pictures. The central courtyard was beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor access to WiFi, absence of airconditioning in my room,TV in the room was available only in Hungarian language.

    Great combination of more than 2 century old architecture and design with rather modern equipment, stuff was very polite and caring

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paving in Pool area needs little renovation .

    convenient , delightful staff . lovely location . will definitely go again .just what we needed for our stay . good facilities , comfortable .

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the owner was not pleasant he told us different remarks . such as: dont cook in the apartment go to a restaurant and more he asked for mor money for airconditioning the wifi dosnt work in the apartment only at the lobby

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only downside was that we couldnt get wifi in our room which is a shame. But you can get it in the communal areas.

    Beatuiful building, really helpful owners and a great location in a great town.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Walking distance to beach. 10min downhill walk ok, but bit tougher when you take your kid on shoulders up hill :-)

    We've rented the big very nice appartment for all our family 2adults 5 kids. We felt like at home. Very friendly and helpfull owners. Beautifill house.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very small rooms and uncomfortable bet. We had superior deluxe and standard room but there is only different in price. No receptionist, you must call before arriving. Late evening was problem get to the hotel. Gate closed, behind gate 3 dogs. Owner had doubts whether our children will not disturb the other guests. The hotel should be much cheaper.

    family house with family atmosphere. 10 minutes walk to promenade. Safety parking.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was very special, with many things to choose from!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice staff, very nice place. Great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The host is just like a fellow traveler, friendly and easy going. The apartment was great, it's renovated with style and care

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The scrambled egg was too salty! That is all I could say.

    They went out of their way to help us.It was a very large living space for the money.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We felt like we were just at home not just visiting a hotel. We ll be back for sure!! :)

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Brilliant place! Highly recommended. It is a little far from the lake but this means it is also quiet and relaxing.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: