Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Hungaria City Center 4 stars

1074 Budapest, Rákóczi út 90., Hungary

#271 of 355 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4709 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    I felt at home and I miss the hotel and Budapest. I can’t get enough of Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh Ing up the carpet would be bonus to the superb hotel.

    The restaurant was packed, must be the food, and the down side was the fact that one has to que for some time to get to make a coffee,I guess extra vending machine would helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.6
    Very clean and cozy place with its authentic atmosphere,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a bit noisy from the street due to traffic

    Very clean and cozy place with its authentic atmosphere, nice personnel, good location. It’s not modern and it makes it even nicer creating the special environment

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    4.6
    Poor service, arrogant staff, worst breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was bad at this hotel. Too highly priced for the kind of rooms. No view from the rooms, like nothing at all. Only walls on the other side. One feels like living inside a box. Breakfast was worse. There were too many people having breakfast. It was poorly managed. They ran out of breads and were replacing them frequently enough. They couldnt manage cleaning the tables when someone left. There were many people holding plates and waiting to get a seat.

    The beds. The location was very close to Budapest Keleti. Also, the hop on hop off bus tours leave from the front of this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    6.3
    ok for 1 night sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms are old and there is a smell in there of old stuff. it needs complete renovation as looks like hotel from 90s. parking is expensive,

    location and room size. there is street parking next to hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    7.0
    Large Grand Hotel with very good staff but let down by silly little things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room service was poor , just 2 coffee powders a day and 2 creamers. had to ring down often as they didn't replace them. Same in the bathroom with shampoo etc.

    Food was OK , with very large selection at breakfast. The Coffee machines were often not working , so with such a large number of people it was not good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.3
    Great place and inexpensive single room was very small but it’s what I booked
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was good. Many choices but the dining room was very crowded between 7.30 and 8.30 so avoid these times if possible Location was ok near the metro and the bus ran straight outside the hotel So all in all it was ok

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    6.7
    Great scrambled egg at breakfast, good wifi, room small but...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very busy at breakfast , coffee machine coffee (urgh) but everything else OK

    Great scrambled egg at breakfast, good wifi, room small but comfy, staff efficient.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    5.4
    Location and meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very close to main road, but windows are not sound-proofing. So all the noise during nights was directly heard. I couldn't sleep well. Staff are a bit arrogant and not so friendly. When I checked in, a man just looked up Surname. As he couldn't find mine, he just gave up. I asked again to try to look up the given name, then it was found. He was passive, not ready to satisfy customers.

    Location and meal.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    It was close to Keleti railway station , conveniently...
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is slightly outdated as far as appearance and stuff and it could have been a hair ( pun intended) cleaner than it was ..

    It was close to Keleti railway station , conveniently located as it’s near to the metro as well

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.0
    Dirty and noisy. Would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy. Staff banging around in halls all night. Bathroom was dirty with bugs in shower. We reported these things to staff and they didn't seem to care.

    Location was very close to train station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast was great, hotel was very close to the Keleti...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small for 3 people, moreover it was a smoking room and was smelling really bad. The room given was at split level, adding to the inconvenience to access room with the kid and heavy luggage.

    Breakfast was great, hotel was very close to the Keleti station. The hotel staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.3
    Big, old and value for money Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The madress was so dirty and it was covered by a bed sheet which could move off under you. - The view from the room's window as well as corridor's window was dismel and horrible. - The bathroom curtain was Brown dirty. I wouldn't dare it to touch my body.

    + I am a kind of person who likes to sit in the lobby and there the lobby was good for that purpose. + The location is just a few steps far from Metro station as well as bus stops, restuarants and other stores. + The breakfast hall was very light and nice to eat there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    The staff of Hungaria Hotel was genuinely kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff of Hungaria Hotel was genuinely kind and helpful. The hotel itself echoes long history resembling the glorious imperial years, as well as nostalgic communist times. The nearby metro station provides an easy access to all parts of the great city of Budapest.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    3.8
    Dont be fooled..this is a 2 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel should be given 2 stars max. The housekeeping didnt clean the room at all and folded the dirty towels and put them back as if they were new. Spoke to the staff and they said they would send someone but that never happened

    The location was the only good thing about this hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    We had a very pleasant stay and enjoyed our first trip to Budapest staying at the Hotel Hungaria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would recommend you update your website and the facilities in the hotel for travellers who are not within a group. My friend and I travelled together. I specifically booked the hotel as you had two restaurants on site. We did not want to go out for dinner in the evening. However, when we arrived, we were not allowed to dine in either of the restaurants as these were reserved for groups only. We queried this and found this very disappointing. Why were we excluded from the restaurant. This was not made clear on line and it was also not made clear in the information in the actual room. It is very misleading. The snack bar in the reception area was not appropriate for an evening meal. It was more for a quick sandwich as within the reception area. The ambience was not what we were happy with to spend the evening there. The hotel is also not near the centre. We had to find a place to eat nearer the centre and then have to walk back to the hotel. Not a problem in itself in the end, but this was not what we had booked to start with and had to compromise with our dinner arrangements. We could not understand why this distinction was made. If the kitchen was open to accommodate a group of of 30 + or indeed a number of groups, surely two extra meals could not have been difficult to arrange. Other than this important issue, we found the hotel was very efficient and to our liking.

    Very efficient and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Great experience, don't worry about other bad reviews
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was mistaken by the reviews about the staff or old facilities. The staff we met were superb - with a sense of humor, polite, smiling and willing to help. We arrived at 9 a.m., left the luggage, went to city and returned back to check-in - no problems at all. The room was extra clean. The breakfast was great, too. The furniture seems to be brand new. I was also mistaken about that in the reviews - it's a 4* hotel and has a wooden classic furniture. Look at the tables in the lobby - they are beautiful!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Good staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building and furniture. Breakfast room can’t accommodate the huge number of guests. One time a left door didn’t open so I pressed the botton to another floor

    Very friendly staff and location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Very clean rooms a nice size for a single
    • People with friends
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow at booking us in when they noticed we were there seemed at do everyone else even though we stood at the desk

    Very clean rooms a nice size for a single

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Well located for needs of visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bath tubs were not easy to climb into for a shower. Shower cubicle would be a better option, if available. Delay at check-in as arriving clients were not served in order.

    Staff helpful. Good range of buffet breakfast. Splendid location for needs of visit. Air-con and wi-fi good. Quiet comfortable room. Would use again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.0
    1Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1)booked into smoking room despite not requesting one 2)too noisy with emergency vehicles constantly blearing Bar not well stocked with limited bottled beers / no draft beer!

    1Breakfast. 2Staff generally pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.4
    The food selection was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was pressed to pay for the breakfast I was not able to consume because of early hour of my departure!

    The food selection was good. It was clean enough.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.4
    Near to the central station with facilities like bank and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was unclean, the fridge was leaking, room was unspacious, problems with electrical appliances

    Near to the central station with facilities like bank and exchange around.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    The price was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bell captain, front desk could be ver curt and not helpful. Big groups use this hotel

    The price was very good. Breakfast wa good. Late night service at the Bistro for light snacks. Big Soviet eta large hallways.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    It's a hotel review.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast wasn't the best, but that's about it.

    Hotel full of character. Staff very accommodating. Far nicer than I thought we had paid for as we went for cheap and cheerful to be honest.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    The staff are wonderful and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place has a quite distance from the city centre but if you know how to take public transports, it will be easier.

    The staff are wonderful and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Arriving by car? Don't count on your parking reservation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had two email confirmations for car parking reservation yet they had no reservation or space for the two cars of our small group.

    Breakfast was good; location was convenient to the metro; room was large enough for our needs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    I got all I was expecting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not all rooms have street view. It was not so easy to get by car to the hotel garage in direction from Danube, but it it not due to hotel, it is because Budapest roads are organised that way.

    Breakfast really good. Big reception area. Staff fluent in other languages.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Fourth time we have used the Hotel so that must say something
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice was very good. Food hot, and plenty of it.Nice and close to Keleti Railway station. Walking distance.one of the check in staff. Not very helpful and probably an angry old man.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Awesome breakfast, good location and cozy rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is placed almost on top of the Keleti metro station so you can get everywhere instantly, restaurant serves delicious food and the breakfast is enormous. The rooms are quite clean and cozy, AC works fine, the personel is nice and helpful. If you stay there be sure to check Hauer confectionery! It's awesome, it's delicious and it's only ~5minutes walk from the hotel along the Rákóczi út.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    A fair deal
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I disliked: -there were not a lots tv channel available -the room seemed really clean at the beginning but i found behind the TV some male underwear -the coffee sticks were not refilled once a day as written

    I liked: -the geographical location of the hotel: it's really close to several restaurants is and fast foods (KFC, Burger King, McDonalds, Keebab places) and the subway terminus. -overall the staff was very helpful and kind -the wifi was excellent (there was some issue at the beginning with the web browser enable to open the login page; you just need to ask on the front desk the ip adress that you will need to enter manually so that you access to the login page) -the room was calm (the room was not in the street side)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    5.4
    Close to city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surly staff. Desk staff good all the rest looked miserable and not very helpful. Rooms not cleaned regularly or only half done. Breakfasts were adequate but closed off sections half way through . Often no saucers or glasses.

    Close to city centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast choices were limited particularly the hot food

    The bed was very comfortable, the location was perfect located so close to the metro station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.9
    quite all right
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected to find a hairdryer as long as it's a 4-star hotel, but unfortunately not this time. And.. we got only one small sample of a shampoo and no hair conditioner, though it's not a big deal.

    Breakfast was amazing and tempted to eat more than was needed. Obviously it's always better to come as early as possible so as to avoid crowds and have a chance to savour some dessert!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    The location is great.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room are a little outdated.It is a little noisy because of the cars passing by the hotel.It does not have enough power outlets.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smoke smell of the room. My room was in the 8th floor and the sound of the rain in the roof was disappearing our sleep. The sofa bed was not that comfortable.

    The design of the hotel. The hospitality of the staff. The location was around 15 minutes by walking from the city center. The breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Great quality/value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hall of reception is a bit crowded but it doesn't bother

    Great location, near bus stop, train station, nice stuff, great breakfast with lot of choices, great quality/value, keep bagages, clean and spacious room!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    An affordable and very comfortable hotel centrally located in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was in accordance with my expectations.

    The beds must be the best in Budapest! They were extremely comfortable. I paid for a double room but I was upgraded without extra cost to a suite with a bedroom and another room with a sofa, some additional furniture and a TV-set. The rooms were divided by a curtain. The suite was furnished and tastefully decorated in a little old style, but nevertheless it was very comfortable and pleasant. There was a bathroom with a bath tub and there were TV-channels in different languages. The suite was very silent because it was facing the garden, and you could not hear any noise from the street outside.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.0
    Hotel was clean with very good wi fi.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small room. Terrible bed and mattress. Relatively away from the city centre in not a very good area. Most of the staff was impolite.

    Hotel was clean with very good wi fi.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    4.6
    The room was full of dust.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was full of dust. Firstly the carpet was horrible, the walls were not dyed recently, and in one place they were scratched, the furniture old. Also a minus is the lack of balcony, but at least i hoped that the window could be opened..it was locked for opening it too wide. The bathroom was kind of alright... but there were not bags in the garbage buckets. The only things i liked were: big size of the room,the bed was very clean and thr location of the hotel in city centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.0
    The check in took more than an hour, although I had...
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in took more than an hour, although I had confirmed booking and I arrived after 3 pm. House keeping kept asking for money Run down hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duty manager of the reception is getting my card number and validity dates??!! For what ? The payment us fine already ....you have nothing to do with my card details....I have visited 45 countries never seen this !!! This is a privacy breach since the payment is done then no need for my card details unless someone is collecting them for a sinister reason ....I am not accusing him for anything but people are selling these details to make fraudulent transactions.... This is abnormal !!!!!!

    Location Room size

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.8
    We arrive hotel 13.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrive hotel 13.55 and they keep us wait tll the original check in time 15.00. Room was dirty. Check out time was 11.00 but they wake up us at 9.00 am by hardly knocking door.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Good choice of food for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was the location which was a twenty minute walk from the centre and thirty minutes from the river.

    Good choice of food for breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.7
    Good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is not worth four stars in general. The rooms are very old and basic. Could be cleaner.

    Nice location, close to the underground. Very good breakfasts.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from traffic could interfere with sleep. It is an old hotel in the busy city centre. I would advise bringing earplugs and requesting a room on floor 7 or 8.

    Brilliant varied breakfast provided for just €10 per person per day. Great location Staff very helpful. See my full review on Tripadvisor- Rebelcitygirl

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    4.6
    Not recommended for this price to any other visitors.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overcharge, no breakfast, receptionist was rude and not patient to foreigners.

    Good location but too expensive, no breakfast free at this price is ridiculous. It is too bad. For that reason i will not come back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    Good and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is pretty old and in some places really needs repairs Too crowded Extra 10 euro per person for breakfast Expensive parking (around 18 euros)

    Good and tidy Breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.0
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't know where to start. First of all the toilet was dirty. Something brown from not efficient cleaning was prezent under the water. For hotel management... there are some cleaning substances for avoid that. Second... the pillow look used after thousands cleaning process. The wall from floor 4-5 looks pretty old. The wallpaper was swollen and let the impression of excessive humidity. Over all there is no 4 stars hotel. At most 2 stars and a quarter...

    Good communicate through elevators.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    There was plenty of choice for breakfast but a shame one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee facilities were not available in my room.

    There was plenty of choice for breakfast but a shame one restaurant was closed for dinner and the other one fully booked so had to eat in the bar which is a bit awkward as a single traveller.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.7
    I was there because the f1 gp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was there because the f1 gp. There was no service other than taxi and the front desk gave me very quick and inaccurate information on how to get the circuit. One night I asked to take a reservation to a good restaurant for a steak. We didnt have any discount and we ended up in a decent restaurant, but we paid 30000 thousand for two people to eat decent meal(nothing special). One night I saw beatles in the lobby. The room was quite small but cleaned. Metro was quite near and easy to reach. It is not good for a romantic trip, better for a trip with friends. I paid 100, euro/day. I would say that is the right price, no more.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.8
    The location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom had a moldy ceiling. The hotel staff is slow at the reception, the rooms were not very clean, but dusty.

    The location is very good. Good breakfast options.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.7
    Average hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn’t particularly friendly and seemed quite unenthusiastic to be there. The hotel is not exactly city center so the name is kind of misleading. The hotel itself is in serious need of some renovations as it is quite aged.

    The bed was comfortable in the room and the room was in good condition. There are plenty of restaurants and shops around the facility. The breakfast isn’t bad for the price you pay with a decent enough selection.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.4
    Suitable if need short stay in summer, on a budget. Not a desirable area so will need to be on alert
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our sheets weren’t cleaned and we didn’t receive fresh towels. We also had someone knocking on our door at 3am. We felt a little unsafe. Hotel staff weren’t welcoming.

    We liked that it had air con, little noise and block out blinds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Clean hotel with a nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should change the shower curtain because it smells.

    The location of the hotel is awesome, you have everything you need around the hotel and the city center is not far away. It's very close to the train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    I arrived at late evening and the front desk gentleman was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The morning front desk lady needs to smile more. Although the hotel is located in a very convenient intersection of the roads, it can be slightly noisy because of the traffic but it didn't bother me too much at night.

    I arrived at late evening and the front desk gentleman was very welcoming with big smile. I was kind of worried for the cleanness of the room from previous customer's comment but it turns out to be fine, both room and bathroom are clean and comfortable and the cleaning lady did her job well. The location is awesome, few minutes walk to the metro station and bus stops, there's a supermarket ALDI nearby and it opens until 23:00 pm.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    the hotel is near to the city centre and just in front of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel is near to the city centre and just in front of the Railway Station. you can get anywhere in short time. Is a very large hotel, the staff is nice, also is very clean. The breakfast is good and various. if you want a good hotel in the city centre this is the best place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.8
    Staff were friendly and very helpful, probably the highlight...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entire hotel was dated minus the requisite charm. Room was also very dated, so were the toilets. Clean though. No tea or coffee making facilities. Very doubtful about the 4 star. Further, location was far from main sights of Budapest.

    Staff were friendly and very helpful, probably the highlight of the stay. Breakfast spread was very good, with a wide selection. However, dishes were not labelled properly and so, it was sometimes a guess on what it was.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.3
    Bads and goods found here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the reception was not happy to see us probably, too serious. The building is old, needs some repairs. There was dust on the desk lamp near our bed, dust behind the TV, dust on the floor stand lamp leg at the bottom. All proofs in my cell.

    The bed was awesome, booking.com was helpful to change the reservation because we didn't show up, so they were out of rooms, but we've been upgraded to next level up from standard.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some members of staff at check in were quite rude and abrupt. The room was very outdated and could do with a refurbishment.

    The location was good and within a short walking distance to the metro. There was plenty of space and the room had 2 bathrooms which was excellent. The room was clean and the bed was very comfy. All in all extremely good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    2.5
    Worst staff ever experienced - Next time we will stay in a nicer part of town closer to main downto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you are tourists planning to go walking around Budapest, don’t stay at this hotel, the hotel is far away from the city center. Furthermore, the hotel is located in a noisy big street ,we had a room in the seventh floor, and the noise was still annoying and irritating, even when the windows were closed we were incapable to sleep properly. It is supposed to be a 4 star hotel, but it rather felt like 2 stars. The bathroom felt old, there is no ventilation, and the shower curtains are old and dirty. The room service was very poor and the staff was rude. Every day we had to ask them for several things like shampoo or soap since they don’t fill it up, if you don’t ask for it. Furthermore, the room was still dirty after cleaning. One night we asked to give us new towels and to close the window (because the handle was demounted) and they took ages to solve this little issue. When you contacted the reception, you felt unpleasant, the staff ignored you for at least 15 minutes while talking to each other.

    The size of the room is acceptable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    4.2
    The most disturbing was the room, which had a dirty bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The most disturbing was the room, which had a dirty bathroom, with a lot of hair in the bath and on the floor, the bathtub drain was clogged, it looked like nobody cleaned the bathroom after previous guests. The fridge was broken and dirty, also the carpet floor. The staff was not very friendly, it is a very large hotel and it shows that they do not have time for any particular needs of the guests and are fed up with everything. The billing was also very unusual, make sure you pay the exact amount you booked and check it twice. Not worth the money, next time I would choose a smaller hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.0
    So so...
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freezer/ice box frozen solid - unusable.' An electric jug/kettle would have been great. This is a basic provision in Australia so disappointed to find none in our room. Old 'unsmiling' staff. Where are the younger, smiling faces of Hungary!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Parking space is just downstairs of the hotel and very safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost nothing.The hotel in itself looks old,but really well maintained.For me no problem.

    Parking space is just downstairs of the hotel and very safe.Staff works properly.Well maintained.A lot of restraunts and supermarket around here.Train statiom is really close.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    You get your money's worth!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom felt old, but it worked really good. Just a minor con in our overall experience.

    We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but overall, it's a good hotel, friendly staff and worth the pay. It feels a bit old, especially the bathroom.. But it didn't affect us that much since we only stayed for 2 nights.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    2.9
    I will never recommend this property to anyone to stay as it will spoil your visit to Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old stinking rooms with dirty stinking carpet and sticky sofas. Telephone not working. Air conditioner not working, in fact it was hot and not able to sleep properly. I requested to change my room but denied by the reception.

    Except location nothing else I liked about the property.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    It’s located in front of the main railway station and can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to pay €5 for the kettle sets.

    It’s located in front of the main railway station and can work to the city center. Most of the staffs are very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    4.2
    bad hotel, from 4 stars to 1 star, only good reception and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bad hotel, from 4 stars to 1 star, only good reception and enough. Rooms very dirty, old, bathrooms from World War 2, we booked for three days but the second night we had to run because 'for three days did not do any cleaning in the rooms or the bathroom, repeated several times to clean and have the clean linen but nothing to do, and then 'close to a hospital and every minute you could hear the sirens, I sincerely spend another night with noise and dirt I would not have passed them. I do not recommend it to everyone. Dear Hoteliers, first of all, do a decent service and then put the stars that I saw only in the stars in the sky ...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    A good transit hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beginning to show its age and will need some refurbishment in the near future.

    The location opposite Keleti Station meant that boarding an early morning train for Germany was very manageable as was our intention in staying at the Hungaria hotel. Staff were very professional and used to working with a large throughput of guests. Beds were large and comfortable and rooms were clean and easily accessed. The aircon worked well and gave us significant relief from a very hot evening. Generally it is good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Good central location. Clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for us as on a main bus route, although being on a main road expect some traffic noise. We were upgraded to a junior suite which had a separate lounge area and overlooked an inner courtyard. No views but very quiet. Very comfortable bed. Be aware that there is only fruit teas (2 bags) and coffee with creamers provided and they are not replenished but nip over the road to Aldi to stock up on milk etc. Shower in bath runs off the taps but water pressure good and plenty of hot water so no real problem. Soap and shower gels provided in bathroom. Towels are changed every other day but bed made up each day. Good air-conditioning. Very clean and the staff are helpful. PS if flying from Budapest allow a full 2 hours to check in as can be very busy. Also if 65 or over all transport is free if from the EU including 100E airport shuttle bus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    4.2
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was very late at 4 pm not 3 And when we ask to check out late one hour as compensation they refused Very very bad services Fridge full of alcohol even we asked to remove it Location in local area full of criminals not in good place Showing when I booked including breakfast but when I arrived they said we have to pay for it

    Comfort beds

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on the 7th floor, right under the ventillation system. The noise was as loud as if a truck was under our window the whole night. When we called reception they ignored us.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    A hotel that is usually full, so they do not see a reason to give decent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were sometimes rude.Once I stood at reception at a not-busy, late evening hour.2 reception clerks ignored me completely for about 20 min (!).They also kept on cursing in Hungarian over something that went wrong, maybe thinking I do not understand.When I finally managed to grab the attention of one of thwm and asked for printing- a service on the hotel webpage- he said that now its busy.Come back in the morning! Yeah right! With all the checking out, morning is a madhouse.The shower button was stuck.They fixed it on the last day out of my 4.

    Good location, great AC.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    Room was spacious and the food at the restaurant was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated décor and wobbly lifts but nothing outrageous.

    Room was spacious and the food at the restaurant was very good although portions far too large. It was nice to see a hotel so busy and it has a very good location to the train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    4.6
    Awful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both - the room and hotel were disgusting. The dirtiest hotel I've ever been to. Everything was old, stained and stinking (cigarettes etc.). Very old, used bed, carpet obviously has been there for at last 30 years. Everything was covered with dust, I guess no one cleaned it before we arrived.... Awful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    4.2
    Air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite having “city centre’ in its name it is not particularly near towards the hotspot centre of the town. On top of that they promised to be eco friendly with rules such as towel on rack=reuse, towel on floor=wash. With 2 people in the room, one towel on the rack and one on the floor, the cleaner just decided to fold the towel neatly and put it by the bathtub! This happened for 3 consecutive nights where we put the SAME towel on the floor and the SAME towel was folded back to the bathtub! Utterly disgusting! We knew it’s the same towel because it was still wet! They promised to be eco friendly but didn’t mention that they were extra lean with their water usage! And rooms are only cleaned once every 2 days! They do nothing but remake the bed and take out the trash. I asked 2 cleaners for fresh towels and they ignored me. A cleaner even knocked on the door but immediately opened it a second later. So what was the point of knocking?

    Air conditioning

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Hungaria City Center traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: