Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Hungary hotel reviews
  3. Pest hotel reviews
  4. Budapest hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Hungaria City Center

Reviews of Hotel Hungaria City Center This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

1074 Budapest, Rákóczi út 90., Hungary

#278 of 362 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 4843 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    5.4
    TOO SMALL BED, NO KETTLE. Do not recommend this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The single bed is like 70cm's wide, I'm 160cm and 47kg, I always worry that I will fall off the bed, and the quilt can merely cover my toes if I lie flat. No kettle in the room, no air-con, only the old fashioned heaters but the one in the room is not working, only the one in the bathroom works so I need to open the bathroom door to keep the room warm.

    Breakfast is great.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    7.5
    Good position, near the metro and the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too much noise during the night due to some of the nearby guests of the property. We haven’t tried the because thought it was not worth it. It is way too expensive (10 euros per person) compared to the average price of cafes and bakeries in Budapest.

    Good position, near the metro and the train station. But also 25 mins distant from the city center through an enjoyable walk. Late check in allowed us to sleep a little longer in the morning.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    6.3
    I would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room was very noisy with grating sounds coming from the nearby metro. I asked the front desk about the noise and was prety much ignored, I found the front desk staff to be indifferent to any questions I may have had.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    6.3
    It was perfectly acceptable for what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedding too basic, high climb into bath to get into the shower, one person on the information desk when asking for help, begrudgingly gave us minimum help.

    The excellent metro was so close, it was clean, excellent water pressure, gave us the facilities we needed, the urban landscape from our bedroom window.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    9.6
    Affordable, friendly but not the most comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were not great, two single duvets on a double bed. Location is good, not near many of the main attractions but some good quirky pubs in the local area.

    Checking in was quick and simple, the staff were very friendly. The value for money was superb.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    8.3
    Good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was very noisy as it overlooked the main road and there seemed to be sirens going all night ... Some of the staff were unfriendly

    It was great value for money, very clean, near the station, the baths, and bars/restaurants. Some of the staff were lovely!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    2.5
    2 star hotel
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy rooms and staff which clearly is very sad to be there. Services:0. There were only 2 men wanting to help. The others need to be fired.

    2 star hotel

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    7.1
    Nice rooms, just a bit shabby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem that we experienced was that you could hear all cars from the street and that was quite loud during the night as the hotel is situated on one of the main prospects.

    Nice rooms, just a bit shabby. Good breakfast with a lot of options. Location also nice - about 20 minutes on foot from the centre, very close to a subway station, a lot of restaurants and bars nearby. Comfortable beds. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    3.3
    Old, small rooms, not 4* at all?
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This time room was tiny, not as it was described on Booking.com at all. I booked double room, even staying by myself only, as I prefer space. This room was crowded like a prisoners cell, carpets are dirty, no toiletries or kettle as was last time. You can hear all noises in the corridor and the next rooms. On the road side and even on another side you still hear sirens noise. Really disappointed this time.

    I come for dental treatment and this is the one of the hotels my clinic is using, so I have a lift there and back. I have staid in this hotel in January and like it more that time, mostly because my room was nice and spacious, breakfasts was amazing too.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    3.8
    halpa kärsimys Keletillä
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had no view to the street, only to the dark courtyard. The "superior" room was dirty and not so well cleaned The kettle had a rusty tea bag or some other object inside that coloured the water brownish when I tried to heat the bath water to more tolerable. Even the shower was broken. . The staff was not particularly friendly. Paid 50 euros a night for this room but it surely wasn´t worth it. Next time i will not choose this hotel.

    Breakfast was good. Only the bacon was missing. Hotel´s positioning was moderate next to Keleti Station. The fridge was cold. So were the beers. Air conditioning is working fine. Wifi is good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    9.6
    I would choose this hotel again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was somewhat cold in the room due to cold windy weather and the window didn't shut well.

    Location, near many bus stations, metro station, good connection to all parts of town, especially possibilities for leaving baggage after leaving the room. Excellent rich breakfast with plenty of coffee and everything.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    5.8
    Good location for getting around overall good value for money
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel is located near to Budapest's Emergency hospital and there are ambulances constantly flying past at all hours of the day and night, also I was in a room of the 7th floor and it was unbearably hot, I did mention this to the reception staff and was told the AC is switched of from November onwards and I couldn't solve it by opening a windows due to the noise from the traffic and ambulances

    Location and room

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    7.9
    Clean, tidy, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little expensive at the bar and the hotel exchange rate was no where near what the kiosk was offering across the road and left 100m. Not a lot of ventilation in the rooms adjacent to the main route for the police and ambulance services (windows needed to be closed).

    Clean, tidy, good breakfast. The staff were really helpful and the rooms were kept tidy on my 9 night stay. Four lifts for the eight floors so no hanging around waiting for a one. Cv

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel but policies could be clearer
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very good but the staff questioned whether I had paid or not on their records even though I showed them my booking confirmation. I ended up getting charged extra! One of the desk staff was quite abrupt and it was not explained to me when I paid at check in that this was only to 'block' the amount on my card and so I had to go through the process again on check out

    The hotel was very luxurious and the room was huge with not only a large double bed but couch and table area too

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    I liked the serenity of the room, the bed was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The water didn't go down in the bathroom sink, and when you turned on the shower, it created a backdraft, and blew the shower curtain in your face. Also, the bathtub was a little high, to climb in and out.

    I liked the serenity of the room, the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    8.8
    Perfectly located for train travelers, a five minute walk...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast offered a wide selection of foods but quality-wise it was a bit of a disappointment for Hungary. Not too tasty and lots of stuff not too fresh. There was also a slight mess-up with the lady checking the breakfast cards as she did not have me on the list and I had paid for the breakfast (not a big deal, but a tiny inconvenience still). Also, though the room was generally decently clean, the place would need some renovation (e.g. curtains, etc).

    Perfectly located for train travelers, a five minute walk from the Keleti train station. This looks like a refurbished old, gigantic communist time hotel (they have seven floors and loads of rooms and suites, I think). I actually like such places, really look like hotels, not refurbished guesthouses or something, but this means it will often be full with excursions etc. No problem for me, but some people might not like the idea. The room was clean, with a fridge (empty though, that is not really four star!), TV, solid wifi, an apparently operational and relatively large safe, and the usual basic kits (sewing, shoe polish, etc). This time they gave me the smallest room (OK, but a bit disappointingly small bathroom with a tiny shower) - if you travel in twos or more, you get a bigger room, most likely with a full bath tub (which I like to use a bit when traveling). Being really a HOTEL (and for the very reasonable price) they have all the stuff you would expect - from wake up calls, breakfast in bed, a hairdresser, a "trolley" boy etc etc. But my most important thing about this place is always - the bed. Really comfy, in the mid firmness range, with two pillows - a soft and flakey and firmer and spongy version - so you take your pick (or both). In all honesty, for a longer distance train trip with a sleepover, this is the most important thing about a hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    5.4
    It was super cheap for the day we were traveling there,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room looked kind of old, my sheets did not smell very fresh and clean. There was no shampoo or shower gel (but there were shower caps hm), the wifi in our room was not that great from time to time. It was really cheap so I wasn't expecting much but still it's a 4-star hotel so at least I'm expecting clean fresh sheets.

    It was super cheap for the day we were traveling there, however for a 4-star hotel I would expect more. Not far from the center of the city - nice walk or you can take metro which is close, fridge was a plus, breakfast were great with lot of options - go for them!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    9.6
    Generous breakfast provided by well equipped hotel with helpful staff. Railroad station location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Low cost, fully equipped hotel with helpful staff. Located near train station and underground/metro station which makes it convenient yet feel a touch odd at night. Location is not at historic sites which are dispersed. Hotel staff recommended nearby Husar restaurant which was great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    6.3
    Extremely disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Fighting my way through the smokers outside the hotel entrance. Refused entry to the Restaurant - apparently available for Groups only. Food available and served in the hotel Reception/Bar/ Lobby! With the front door open the reception stinks of smoke. Breakfast was a melee with all the groups staying. It was the survival of the fittest at certain times with people wandering around eating. The staff slow to relay the tables. No anti-scald shower valve though water was never hot enough to need one!

    Single room on the second floor was quiet and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    7.5
    Well located for station and buses, modern and without fuss
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room smelt pikenpeople had smoked in them. Either the smoke alarms don't work or they require a proper deep clean. It's not a pleasant experience to for st enter the room and get a whiff of stale cigarettes.

    Modern and organised.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    9.6
    A very nice place to stay in Budapest, with the best value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One thing I didn't like was their "plastic shower holders" in the toilet, which always came off while you took shower by the force of the water. I complained about it earlier, as I have stayed in this hotel many times. But I still found the same issue.

    I liked to location the most of this hotel, as well as the cleanliness and the friendly behaviour of the staff. The WiFi was excellent too.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    6.7
    Okay for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleanness as the bedside lights were covered in dust and 2 chewing gums were left on one of them also the remote control was not working and the window handle was broken

    Location, staff is helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    7.5
    It's ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff didn't re-filled coffee/tea bag & shampoo. Reception area and hall ways need to be updated. Paints in shower ceiling come out

    Hotel location and breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    10
    I felt at home and I miss the hotel and Budapest. I can’t get enough of Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fresh Ing up the carpet would be bonus to the superb hotel.

    The restaurant was packed, must be the food, and the down side was the fact that one has to que for some time to get to make a coffee,I guess extra vending machine would helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    9.6
    Very clean and cozy place with its authentic atmosphere,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s a bit noisy from the street due to traffic

    Very clean and cozy place with its authentic atmosphere, nice personnel, good location. It’s not modern and it makes it even nicer creating the special environment

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    4.6
    Poor service, arrogant staff, worst breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was bad at this hotel. Too highly priced for the kind of rooms. No view from the rooms, like nothing at all. Only walls on the other side. One feels like living inside a box. Breakfast was worse. There were too many people having breakfast. It was poorly managed. They ran out of breads and were replacing them frequently enough. They couldnt manage cleaning the tables when someone left. There were many people holding plates and waiting to get a seat.

    The beds. The location was very close to Budapest Keleti. Also, the hop on hop off bus tours leave from the front of this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    6.3
    ok for 1 night sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms are old and there is a smell in there of old stuff. it needs complete renovation as looks like hotel from 90s. parking is expensive,

    location and room size. there is street parking next to hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    7.0
    Large Grand Hotel with very good staff but let down by silly little things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room service was poor , just 2 coffee powders a day and 2 creamers. had to ring down often as they didn't replace them. Same in the bathroom with shampoo etc.

    Food was OK , with very large selection at breakfast. The Coffee machines were often not working , so with such a large number of people it was not good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    8.3
    Great place and inexpensive single room was very small but it’s what I booked
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Breakfast was good. Many choices but the dining room was very crowded between 7.30 and 8.30 so avoid these times if possible Location was ok near the metro and the bus ran straight outside the hotel So all in all it was ok

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    6.7
    Great scrambled egg at breakfast, good wifi, room small but...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very busy at breakfast , coffee machine coffee (urgh) but everything else OK

    Great scrambled egg at breakfast, good wifi, room small but comfy, staff efficient.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    5.4
    Location and meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is very close to main road, but windows are not sound-proofing. So all the noise during nights was directly heard. I couldn't sleep well. Staff are a bit arrogant and not so friendly. When I checked in, a man just looked up Surname. As he couldn't find mine, he just gave up. I asked again to try to look up the given name, then it was found. He was passive, not ready to satisfy customers.

    Location and meal.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    6.7
    It was close to Keleti railway station , conveniently...
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is slightly outdated as far as appearance and stuff and it could have been a hair ( pun intended) cleaner than it was ..

    It was close to Keleti railway station , conveniently located as it’s near to the metro as well

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    5.0
    Dirty and noisy. Would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely noisy. Staff banging around in halls all night. Bathroom was dirty with bugs in shower. We reported these things to staff and they didn't seem to care.

    Location was very close to train station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast was great, hotel was very close to the Keleti...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very small for 3 people, moreover it was a smoking room and was smelling really bad. The room given was at split level, adding to the inconvenience to access room with the kid and heavy luggage.

    Breakfast was great, hotel was very close to the Keleti station. The hotel staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    6.3
    Big, old and value for money Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The madress was so dirty and it was covered by a bed sheet which could move off under you. - The view from the room's window as well as corridor's window was dismel and horrible. - The bathroom curtain was Brown dirty. I wouldn't dare it to touch my body.

    + I am a kind of person who likes to sit in the lobby and there the lobby was good for that purpose. + The location is just a few steps far from Metro station as well as bus stops, restuarants and other stores. + The breakfast hall was very light and nice to eat there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    9.2
    The staff of Hungaria Hotel was genuinely kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff of Hungaria Hotel was genuinely kind and helpful. The hotel itself echoes long history resembling the glorious imperial years, as well as nostalgic communist times. The nearby metro station provides an easy access to all parts of the great city of Budapest.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    3.8
    Dont be fooled..this is a 2 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel should be given 2 stars max. The housekeeping didnt clean the room at all and folded the dirty towels and put them back as if they were new. Spoke to the staff and they said they would send someone but that never happened

    The location was the only good thing about this hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    8.3
    We had a very pleasant stay and enjoyed our first trip to Budapest staying at the Hotel Hungaria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would recommend you update your website and the facilities in the hotel for travellers who are not within a group. My friend and I travelled together. I specifically booked the hotel as you had two restaurants on site. We did not want to go out for dinner in the evening. However, when we arrived, we were not allowed to dine in either of the restaurants as these were reserved for groups only. We queried this and found this very disappointing. Why were we excluded from the restaurant. This was not made clear on line and it was also not made clear in the information in the actual room. It is very misleading. The snack bar in the reception area was not appropriate for an evening meal. It was more for a quick sandwich as within the reception area. The ambience was not what we were happy with to spend the evening there. The hotel is also not near the centre. We had to find a place to eat nearer the centre and then have to walk back to the hotel. Not a problem in itself in the end, but this was not what we had booked to start with and had to compromise with our dinner arrangements. We could not understand why this distinction was made. If the kitchen was open to accommodate a group of of 30 + or indeed a number of groups, surely two extra meals could not have been difficult to arrange. Other than this important issue, we found the hotel was very efficient and to our liking.

    Very efficient and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    10
    Great experience, don't worry about other bad reviews
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was mistaken by the reviews about the staff or old facilities. The staff we met were superb - with a sense of humor, polite, smiling and willing to help. We arrived at 9 a.m., left the luggage, went to city and returned back to check-in - no problems at all. The room was extra clean. The breakfast was great, too. The furniture seems to be brand new. I was also mistaken about that in the reviews - it's a 4* hotel and has a wooden classic furniture. Look at the tables in the lobby - they are beautiful!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    7.9
    Good staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old building and furniture. Breakfast room can’t accommodate the huge number of guests. One time a left door didn’t open so I pressed the botton to another floor

    Very friendly staff and location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    7.5
    Very clean rooms a nice size for a single
    • Travelers with friends
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very slow at booking us in when they noticed we were there seemed at do everyone else even though we stood at the desk

    Very clean rooms a nice size for a single

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    8.3
    Well located for needs of visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bath tubs were not easy to climb into for a shower. Shower cubicle would be a better option, if available. Delay at check-in as arriving clients were not served in order.

    Staff helpful. Good range of buffet breakfast. Splendid location for needs of visit. Air-con and wi-fi good. Quiet comfortable room. Would use again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    5.0
    1Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1)booked into smoking room despite not requesting one 2)too noisy with emergency vehicles constantly blearing Bar not well stocked with limited bottled beers / no draft beer!

    1Breakfast. 2Staff generally pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    4.4
    The food selection was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was pressed to pay for the breakfast I was not able to consume because of early hour of my departure!

    The food selection was good. It was clean enough.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    5.4
    Near to the central station with facilities like bank and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was unclean, the fridge was leaking, room was unspacious, problems with electrical appliances

    Near to the central station with facilities like bank and exchange around.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    7.5
    The price was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bell captain, front desk could be ver curt and not helpful. Big groups use this hotel

    The price was very good. Breakfast wa good. Late night service at the Bistro for light snacks. Big Soviet eta large hallways.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    7.9
    It's a hotel review.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast wasn't the best, but that's about it.

    Hotel full of character. Staff very accommodating. Far nicer than I thought we had paid for as we went for cheap and cheerful to be honest.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    9.2
    The staff are wonderful and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place has a quite distance from the city centre but if you know how to take public transports, it will be easier.

    The staff are wonderful and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    7.9
    Arriving by car? Don't count on your parking reservation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had two email confirmations for car parking reservation yet they had no reservation or space for the two cars of our small group.

    Breakfast was good; location was convenient to the metro; room was large enough for our needs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    9.2
    I got all I was expecting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not all rooms have street view. It was not so easy to get by car to the hotel garage in direction from Danube, but it it not due to hotel, it is because Budapest roads are organised that way.

    Breakfast really good. Big reception area. Staff fluent in other languages.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    7.5
    Fourth time we have used the Hotel so that must say something
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast choice was very good. Food hot, and plenty of it.Nice and close to Keleti Railway station. Walking distance.one of the check in staff. Not very helpful and probably an angry old man.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    9.6
    Awesome breakfast, good location and cozy rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is placed almost on top of the Keleti metro station so you can get everywhere instantly, restaurant serves delicious food and the breakfast is enormous. The rooms are quite clean and cozy, AC works fine, the personel is nice and helpful. If you stay there be sure to check Hauer confectionery! It's awesome, it's delicious and it's only ~5minutes walk from the hotel along the Rákóczi út.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    7.9
    A fair deal
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I disliked: -there were not a lots tv channel available -the room seemed really clean at the beginning but i found behind the TV some male underwear -the coffee sticks were not refilled once a day as written

    I liked: -the geographical location of the hotel: it's really close to several restaurants is and fast foods (KFC, Burger King, McDonalds, Keebab places) and the subway terminus. -overall the staff was very helpful and kind -the wifi was excellent (there was some issue at the beginning with the web browser enable to open the login page; you just need to ask on the front desk the ip adress that you will need to enter manually so that you access to the login page) -the room was calm (the room was not in the street side)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    5.4
    Close to city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Surly staff. Desk staff good all the rest looked miserable and not very helpful. Rooms not cleaned regularly or only half done. Breakfasts were adequate but closed off sections half way through . Often no saucers or glasses.

    Close to city centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast choices were limited particularly the hot food

    The bed was very comfortable, the location was perfect located so close to the metro station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    7.9
    quite all right
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I expected to find a hairdryer as long as it's a 4-star hotel, but unfortunately not this time. And.. we got only one small sample of a shampoo and no hair conditioner, though it's not a big deal.

    Breakfast was amazing and tempted to eat more than was needed. Obviously it's always better to come as early as possible so as to avoid crowds and have a chance to savour some dessert!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    6.7
    The location is great.
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room are a little outdated.It is a little noisy because of the cars passing by the hotel.It does not have enough power outlets.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The smoke smell of the room. My room was in the 8th floor and the sound of the rain in the roof was disappearing our sleep. The sofa bed was not that comfortable.

    The design of the hotel. The hospitality of the staff. The location was around 15 minutes by walking from the city center. The breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    9.2
    Great quality/value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hall of reception is a bit crowded but it doesn't bother

    Great location, near bus stop, train station, nice stuff, great breakfast with lot of choices, great quality/value, keep bagages, clean and spacious room!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    10
    An affordable and very comfortable hotel centrally located in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was in accordance with my expectations.

    The beds must be the best in Budapest! They were extremely comfortable. I paid for a double room but I was upgraded without extra cost to a suite with a bedroom and another room with a sofa, some additional furniture and a TV-set. The rooms were divided by a curtain. The suite was furnished and tastefully decorated in a little old style, but nevertheless it was very comfortable and pleasant. There was a bathroom with a bath tub and there were TV-channels in different languages. The suite was very silent because it was facing the garden, and you could not hear any noise from the street outside.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    5.0
    Hotel was clean with very good wi fi.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small room. Terrible bed and mattress. Relatively away from the city centre in not a very good area. Most of the staff was impolite.

    Hotel was clean with very good wi fi.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    4.6
    The room was full of dust.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was full of dust. Firstly the carpet was horrible, the walls were not dyed recently, and in one place they were scratched, the furniture old. Also a minus is the lack of balcony, but at least i hoped that the window could be opened..it was locked for opening it too wide. The bathroom was kind of alright... but there were not bags in the garbage buckets. The only things i liked were: big size of the room,the bed was very clean and thr location of the hotel in city centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    5.0
    The check in took more than an hour, although I had...
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The check in took more than an hour, although I had confirmed booking and I arrived after 3 pm. House keeping kept asking for money Run down hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The duty manager of the reception is getting my card number and validity dates??!! For what ? The payment us fine already ....you have nothing to do with my card details....I have visited 45 countries never seen this !!! This is a privacy breach since the payment is done then no need for my card details unless someone is collecting them for a sinister reason ....I am not accusing him for anything but people are selling these details to make fraudulent transactions.... This is abnormal !!!!!!

    Location Room size

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    5.8
    We arrive hotel 13.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrive hotel 13.55 and they keep us wait tll the original check in time 15.00. Room was dirty. Check out time was 11.00 but they wake up us at 9.00 am by hardly knocking door.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    9.2
    Good choice of food for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only negative was the location which was a twenty minute walk from the centre and thirty minutes from the river.

    Good choice of food for breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    6.7
    Good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is not worth four stars in general. The rooms are very old and basic. Could be cleaner.

    Nice location, close to the underground. Very good breakfasts.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from traffic could interfere with sleep. It is an old hotel in the busy city centre. I would advise bringing earplugs and requesting a room on floor 7 or 8.

    Brilliant varied breakfast provided for just €10 per person per day. Great location Staff very helpful. See my full review on Tripadvisor- Rebelcitygirl

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    4.6
    Not recommended for this price to any other visitors.
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overcharge, no breakfast, receptionist was rude and not patient to foreigners.

    Good location but too expensive, no breakfast free at this price is ridiculous. It is too bad. For that reason i will not come back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    7.5
    Good and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is pretty old and in some places really needs repairs Too crowded Extra 10 euro per person for breakfast Expensive parking (around 18 euros)

    Good and tidy Breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    5.0
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don't know where to start. First of all the toilet was dirty. Something brown from not efficient cleaning was prezent under the water. For hotel management... there are some cleaning substances for avoid that. Second... the pillow look used after thousands cleaning process. The wall from floor 4-5 looks pretty old. The wallpaper was swollen and let the impression of excessive humidity. Over all there is no 4 stars hotel. At most 2 stars and a quarter...

    Good communicate through elevators.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    7.5
    There was plenty of choice for breakfast but a shame one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tea and coffee facilities were not available in my room.

    There was plenty of choice for breakfast but a shame one restaurant was closed for dinner and the other one fully booked so had to eat in the bar which is a bit awkward as a single traveller.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    6.7
    I was there because the f1 gp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was there because the f1 gp. There was no service other than taxi and the front desk gave me very quick and inaccurate information on how to get the circuit. One night I asked to take a reservation to a good restaurant for a steak. We didnt have any discount and we ended up in a decent restaurant, but we paid 30000 thousand for two people to eat decent meal(nothing special). One night I saw beatles in the lobby. The room was quite small but cleaned. Metro was quite near and easy to reach. It is not good for a romantic trip, better for a trip with friends. I paid 100, euro/day. I would say that is the right price, no more.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    5.8
    The location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom had a moldy ceiling. The hotel staff is slow at the reception, the rooms were not very clean, but dusty.

    The location is very good. Good breakfast options.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    6.7
    Average hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff wasn’t particularly friendly and seemed quite unenthusiastic to be there. The hotel is not exactly city center so the name is kind of misleading. The hotel itself is in serious need of some renovations as it is quite aged.

    The bed was comfortable in the room and the room was in good condition. There are plenty of restaurants and shops around the facility. The breakfast isn’t bad for the price you pay with a decent enough selection.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Hungaria City Center Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: