Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Helia 4 stars

1133 Budapest, Kárpát u. 62-64., Hungary

#158 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4126 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    Very well appointed hotel with excellent spa. Staff very willing to help. Well located for transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast had an excellent choice of food. It was disappointing that they did not have any ordinary English black tea available but they were happy for you to use your own tea bags. The modern seating in the bar area was not as comfortable as it looked as no back support.

    The spa area was very good with a choice of pools including 3 thermal pools. A large garden and patio area with plenty of loungers available. Hotel near bus route into town. Some rooms had a lovely view of the Danube but unfortunately mine did not!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with an upgrade to match the rest of the hotel. Additional staff on the front desk is needed due to long waiting times to get their support. English tv channels would make it perfect.

    Very helpful staff, great pool and facilities, great value for money for what’s on offer. Would recommend people stay there. Has its own taxis which offer fair prices into the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.8
    Ugly room, the shower cap could not be removed from the wall...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Danube View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ugly room, the shower cap could not be removed from the wall, not comfortable at all to shower myself and my baby....we had dinner at the restaurant at the buffet was very poor, the food cold....the breakfast as well, the quality of the products very weak.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel but out of the way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Danube View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the shower curtain and thought it was a little far out of the centre of things, though the Center was still very accessible.

    We got to Budapest by train and got to the hotel on the number 79 bus from outside of the train station. There is a ticket machine outside of the station to buy tickets. I’d recommend getting a ticket for the length of your stay as you’ll likely use the bus a lot. It’s then a short walk from the bus stop - google maps transport option will guide you. From the outside the hotel looks a bit shabby but we were very happily surprised when we got inside. The reception and bar area downstairs are beautiful with lots of lovely seats and tables. Check in was easy and the level of English spoken by the staff was impressive. The room was a good size and very clean. We paid for a superior room and had a lovely view of the Danube though I was disappointed not to have a balcony. It was worth paying for the view, especially at night when everything is lit up beautifully. The bathroom was also very clean though I hate shower curtains so that put me off. The shower head was broken when we got there and we reported it to reception before dinner; when we got back to our room it had already been fixed - very impressed. The food was lovely. We had breakfast twice and dinner once, dinner was especially nice as there was live piano being played. Every night when we got back to the hotel we had a beer on the terrace which was lovely to cool after a hot day in the city. On our first night we tried the thermal pool and jacuzzi in the spa area and both were lovely after a long day travelling, I’d def recommend squeezing a visit in if you can. To get into the centre of town you need to either walk 1 hour along the river or walk around the corner (turn left out of the hotel, walk to the corner and cross the road to the right then there is a bus stop outside of a grocery shop) and get the number 15 or 115 to the city centre. We got off at the Marriott in town which was a good starting point for exploring both the restaurants and bars, river cruises and sightseeing buses.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.0
    Danubius hotel helia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all.

    The room was spacious and the large bed very comfy. Bathroom was spotless. Clean towels as required. The spa was fab - I had a very relaxing massage by a professional masseuse. The location was good in that it was a 15 min walk or you could catch a bus right outside the hotel to the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    - great hotel with good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - great hotel with good location. - less than 10 minutes of walking to the subway - 25 minutes of walking to the center - big private parking - staff was friendly - comfortable room - a very comfortable bed - a supermarket is across the street (working hours 7 am - 17 pm)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    Suitable for sleeping and walking along the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Obsolete interior and uncomfortable feeling in the room. High audibility from the corridor, so it's quite noisy when there are people sitting on the sofas near the elevators.

    Suitable for sleeping and walking along the river. A spacious hall with a fresh renovation. Convenient approach and picturesque view of the river from the balcony. 20 minutes walk to the Parliament building. Many parking spaces. Opposite the hotel there is a supermarket.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed exploring Budapest on the very good public transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Danube View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself was very modern but the surrounding area was not so attractive.

    We had a lovely balcony with a view if the river and Margaret island .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    4 stars disapointed me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Plus Room with Balcony and Danube view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise on the corridors from guests. Noise from the elevators all night. Cigarette smoke on the corridor in front of our room.

    Breakfast was great. Room was pretty. Overlook was fine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    City and Comfort into one
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is easily reachable by Bus and we were able to explore the City Center at night. The Staff were very helpful giving us directions and suggestions of what to see. The facilities are very clean and the Spa was wonderful having been at a festival all week. The robes provided were a great touch!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    The location is outstanding;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was all good.

    The location is outstanding; on the banks of the Danube and a 15 minute walk to the centre of Pest. The hotel facilities are excellent and the staff are exceptionally welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms and halls could use an upgrade, prices could be better for the quality provided. The location is rather far from the center, away from the main tourist attractions.

    Hotel is OK, but rooms, halls and elevators could definitely use an upgrade. Breakfast was good. Decent value for money, but it does not feel like a 4-star hotel, more like an OK 3-star hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    The swimming pool and wellness facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Disabled facilities: no shower seat or a proper dedicated disabled shower stool/chair. The stool provided was very flimsy and therefore unsafe, which then was replaced by a garden chair. Shower head fixed high up and not adjustable, therefore totally unreachable from a wheelchair or chair. They hung it for me on the grab bar. I'm afraid this is a blind spot of most hotels in the world.

    The swimming pool and wellness facilities. Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    The location in the city was great,had its own on site...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Danube View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could of been more updated/cleaner

    The location in the city was great,had its own on site restaurant. If you needed a taxi to the city(the heart of the city) the fare was reasonable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    Good location - not really in the centre Nice view.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mold in the bathroom. Very slow assistance with low batter in safe deposit (over 45 minutes). We needed to leave and had to wait. Overpriced budget

    Good location - not really in the centre Nice view. Helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    Pefect active holiday in the heart of Budapest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very slippy bath - careful. Expansive breakfast.

    Great fitness center, perfect price (best in the middle Europe - in Vienna we´got only an apartment in this price in bad part of Vienna), perfect SPA in price. Huge bed, great view. Very safe and protected parking in front of hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Nice and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not so good. one coffe machine, not tasty. The tables were not so clean.

    The people who work in the hotel are very nice. Oliver the doorman.was very helpfull,helped us a lot. The spa was great !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.3
    If you don't expect much, this hotel will be perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated facilities. A few staff did not grasp the concept of "customer service".

    Good location if you want to be in a neighborhood, enabling you to rest well but still be close to the center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast - you can see a lot of food but when you want to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    rude guys on the reception. Anything what is non standard service is an issue for them. Even standard thing like invoice takes a lot of time to be done.

    Breakfast - you can see a lot of food but when you want to choose sth then you can recognize quality like ham, scrumble eggs from powder, milk in cafee machine from powder. Ok, they have quite good cakes and marmolade, also some fruits. But for the price I paid for the room is better to eat outside (15EUR for breakfast per day).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Plus Room with Balcony and Danube view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet dinner was rather tired and some dishes had dried out a bit as we ate at 8pm after our swim. The breakfast buffet was good.

    We loved the pool and spa complex. Our room was comfortable and the balcony overlooking the Danube was a real bonus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Good Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Plus Room with Balcony and Danube view
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the top floor and there was some noise from the lift mechanism but nothing unbearable. No bacon in the breakfast buffet.🤔

    Lovely view of the Danube and City from our Balcony. Staff very friendly and helpful. Spa and indoor pool available if there was a storm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice spacious hotel with great facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice spacious hotel with great facilities! Room and bathroom were nice and clean and we had the added bonus of a balcony. Breakfast choices were enormous!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.7
    Mineral spa pool hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a little far out from city if you had to walk in daily. A little nervous to use public transport. Some staff found it hard to smile or greet you. Room was booked with balcony and river views but on arrival given street view room this wzs changed but only to rive view no balcony and extra daily charge. Small bathroom.

    Good selection at breakfast. Lovely mineral spa pools usage included.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    You won't regret it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 317 smells a bit like a retirement home. Opening the window doesn't help. The lifts are a bit slow. Breakfast is a bit expensive (15 EUR)

    Third time there, it's an overall excellent hotel. I had to rely on my inner nitpicker to find something bad to say.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    The staff was super friendly and was ready to help with any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are reconstructions on the blue metro line, and if you plan to use public transport - check if you have to use the substitution bus (the works on metro will go for another year or two).

    The staff was super friendly and was ready to help with any requests. The swimming pool can be used by hotel guests free of charge and is opened 7am-10pm. This is a huge benefit! But check in advance if there are group exercises at certain time - not to come to the crowded swimming pool. The rooms were clean and the cleaning service was provided till afternoon hours (in the other hotels of this chain and generally if you don't leave the room till 11-12 - it wouldn't be cleaned on that day). The area is safe and not noisy, there is a supermarket across the small road. The rooms are quiet, beds comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    Not central,but is comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was terrible,some days the choice of food was less than other days.wasnt much selection anyway.

    Comfortable rooms,with good views looking out to Margaret island.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the hotel is not in a walking distance from the tourist centre of the town. Parking for the vehicle is charged extra.

    Friendly staff very helpful. Location of the hotel is near Danube river.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent venue in hot summer days for business or leisure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is welcome that the lobby area has been refurbished recently, but the spa area is getting outdated.

    I am a returning guest because this hotel, with its spa facilities and sun deck, is one of the best venues when the temperature is over 30C in Budapest in July and August. Nice staff as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.3
    Staffs at rception are not friendly and welcoming especially...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Plus Room with Balcony and Danube view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs at rception are not friendly and welcoming especially as I went back at the same hotel after a week of my first stay there to only notice there is no such welcome at all

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Budapest is beautiful-the cleanest and safest city I have ever been to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Plus Room with Balcony and Danube view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was in need of updating and English tea lovers beware that Hungarians don't take milk in their tea so there is none in the rooms- but plenty at breakfast and you can pop some in the fridge in the room in any case. .We had an adjoining room so it can be noisy if you have talkative neighbours.

    The breakfasts were amazing-every dietary need is catered for.. All the staff were very lovely and spoke perfect English. The gym is well stocked and never crowded .I highly recommend the Wellness Centre. which also boasts a 'Salt Cave experience' which I enjoyed all to myself. Anyone with respiratory problems will feel better afterwards. As a woman I felt safe walking into the main drag past the Anne Bridge on my own and also across to the Buda side.. There were always women cycling or jogging around the miles of paths and cycle routes along the river Danube. The main shopping and restaurant area is brilliant and around 30 minute walk along the river from the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable beds, great view if you are on danub side.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel bar didnt have so many options, location is good if you only have a car or willing to pay taxi

    Comfortable beds, great view if you are on danub side.. swiming pool included

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.4
    good value for money, but some things, as gym, welness, breakfast could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    welness was not accordin to my expectations and breakfast offer as well

    Nice parking place for 10 EUR/day, easy access to metro station, but the M3 line is under reconstruction and out of order

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortably removed from the hustle and bustle of the big city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Danube View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little far from the center area and breakfast was quite pricy.

    I arrived at the hotel a little before checkin and the staff happily stored my luggage for me. I then went to the spa to waste some time and was able to get a massage within the hour as well as use the spa facilities before my checkin. The room was comfortable and overlooked the Danube River. The hotel is close to Margaret Island, which is a great place to walk, run, or ride a bike.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel and good location for me
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I like the fact I got a room with Balcony. There is a Spa in the Hotel, but I didn't get a chance to visit although highly recommended by one of my colleague who visited before. Overall, hotel was well located from where I was on business, so that was a bonus for me. Quiet area and nice river view from the Balcony room I had. Hoping to get a room with Balcony again as I will be going there again next week

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    A hotel with a magnificent view to Danube
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The design of the rooms is getting a bit dated. There were few stains on the window which were spoiling slightly the magnificent view but overall it was very clean.

    The hotel has magnificent view to the river Danube, which was excellent. It has good parking area and nice facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    FROM GABOR AT THE FRONT DOOR TO SYLVESTER AT THE FRONT DESK...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Danube View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    SKIP THE OVERPRICED BUFFET BREAKFAST WHICH ENDS AT 10AM. THERE IS A BAKERY JUST ACROSS THE STREET WITH FRESH BREAD,ROLLS,PASTRIES,AND GOOD COFFEE THAT YOU CAN CARRYOUT. IT IS OPEN UNTIL 7 PM.

    FROM GABOR AT THE FRONT DOOR TO SYLVESTER AT THE FRONT DESK TO MIKLOS AT THE PIANO,THIS HOTEL GAVE 5 START SERVICE AT A 4 STAR PRICE WHICH IS WHAT I ALWAYS WANT WHEN I TRAVEL. THE GENERAL MANAGER NEVER MADE HIMSELF AVAILABLE SO I COULD MAKE THE ABOVE PERSONNEL COMPLIMENTS DIRECTLY TO HIM AND I HOPE HE READS WHAT I WROTE HERE. NICE RESIDENTIAL AREA OF PEST. IF YOU BOOK,DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND PAY THE EXTRA FOR A RIVER VIEW ROOM. IT'S BETTER THAN A TRIP TO A SHRINK AND I SHOULD KNOW BECAUSE I AM ONE. APMD WASHINGTON,D.C.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    Superb staff at bar and in restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with check in. Took a while to find my booking. Bedroom and bathroom doesn't hit the 4☆.

    Superb staff at bar and in restaurant. Delicious food. Peace and quiet. Clean bedroom and bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.0
    I asked to provide baby crib they said yes sure when we came...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Plus Room with Balcony and Danube view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked to provide baby crib they said yes sure when we came inside the room was baby transport bed without any single matrice so baby should sleep on that super hard surface harder than a floor! I called reception asked to bring matrice for baby they brought some stupid yoga mat from the gym saying they dont have anything better?! I mean for over 100eur per night they shoul provide matrice. Also brekafast not included in the price bow stupid is that?! Parking not provided in the price! Additionaly, The staff is very unpolite they would never help me with anything suitcases bags they see me pushing the strollers and the bell guy doesnt even come to open the door for me. Car valley does not exist. Terrace door did not work properly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, large apartment with two rooms, breakfast almost...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    About stuff, Mr. on reception managed our booking in the hotel and during this he talked with the next two guests in Hungarian language. After checking-in we had a shower in our apartment and during this we had a call that we are disturbing the guests bellow us. It was really crazy situation.

    Nice hotel, large apartment with two rooms, breakfast almost O.K. The thermal pools are great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Very good hotel with great location and SPA
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The dinner in Yellow Bar was very poor .... The yellow vegetables salad had no taste a lot of lettuce and 2-3 yellow cherry tomatoes . The main dish was with grilled garlic and onion - both were cold .

    The hotel has perfect location and very good SPA and swimming pool and thermal pools . The breakfast was great. Room size and room facilities were very good and comfortable .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Its a great hotel for business purpose, but I don't recommend it for families with small children
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Plus Room with Balcony and Danube view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant is not child friendly as no highchairs so we took the buggy with us for breakfast. At check-out children were playing in the hall and a lady came to tell them off so it wasn't a nice experience as we kept away children from hotel all day long.

    Initially I booked a small room but we could easily upgrade at arrival. Nice, clean, comfy rooms, big bathroom with bathtub. Breakfast is very nice and lots of choices. We had cot bed in the room as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    rooms:
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms: - not spacious., though o.k. for 1 person - not really clean, a lot of dust (in drawers, on shelfs etc - where dust typically settles) - interior design bit old-style breakfast - served in a quite unpleasant big room

    rooms: - light and lamps in rooms well suited for many purpose (work, reading in bed), variety of indirect light options (wamth/ intensity) much appreciated that no halogen spots are used - comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed out stay in Budapest very much..transport is great..Budapest is a beautiful City you all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom small. Lots of homeless people around near the hotel.. Some staff not helpful maybe there was a language barrier...Loved the hotel decore..Rosaleen McAllorum

    Food just ordinary..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, good location, nice walk to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were really helpful, if we were out and phone in they ordered us two taxi, until the last day when we check out and was in town. We were told to get a taxi from town. We experienced these charging a lot more money sometimes 2000 more.

    Good comfortable hotel, spa was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay with very good wellness options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The tap in the bathroom was leaking water from the even when turned off, even though it doesn't really affect anything in terms of comfort. The salt room was not working when we visited due to technical reasons.

    Excellent facilities, fitness, gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi etc. all included in the room price. Tea and coffee in the room were restocked every day. Even though the hotel is not right in the city center it is still easily reachable as there are bus and metro stations nearby. The Yellow bar had good options for both breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    it was a great stay..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Danube View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    since hotel was renevating it was noicy and bit of inconvenience not only for me for the others as well. it was completed only the day i was departing :(

    i did like the breakfast and the room was comfortable and i like the view from the room - Danube river. hotel staff were accomodative with packed breakfast when i wanted to go out early morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    All in all a very nice hotel, would recommend.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were very comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The spa and pool were an added bonus. The hotel had a very nice coffee snack bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall stay was ok but more care needs to be taken for improving the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room fittings like safe was a problem. Wash basin drainage was a problem and flush nobs were very hard to operate. Had to call the Housekeeping many a times. Beds were not nicely made on the 2nd and the 3rd day. No milk for the bed tea. Natural water was not there except in the mini bar.

    The breakfast and the dinner preparation with music

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    - big breakfast buffet with good selection of fresh foods
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Danube View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - we only got the information about reconstruction works AFTER booking confirmation - I would really appreciate it before as we would probable choose a hotel with less noise - pool and spa area is rather outdated - saunas are separated for males and females

    - big breakfast buffet with good selection of fresh foods - great location - close to Danube promenade, grocery store nearby - fast wifi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel for the price. The value is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was under reconstruction in the restaurant and the lobby area at the time of our visit. When it will be done, it will look even better.

    Breakfast was very good, with a great selection of all kinds of meat, no meat, sweat. Bed were comfy and the wellness area was quite OK, but it could use a little upgrade. Locations is quite a little off the center, but close by bus or metro.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely spa break and fantastic value quality 4 star property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a good 40 minute walk from the centre. Part of the metro is closed so its either walk or taxi into the centre. Not many restaurants nearby to the hotel. Bathroom was very small. Air conditioning not very good.

    Superb hotel. They were just finishing the renovations when we arrived but it made no impact to our stay. Superb breakfast. Staff were exceptional and the spa was of very high standard. Reasonable prices for high quality treatments

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent service lovely comfortable room very quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Danube View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of Hotel shuttle service to airport expensive arranged alternative provider Hotel situated outskirts of main town would be bonus if Hotel provided free shuttle bus to town

    Excellent service lovely comfortable room very quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    nice hotel in great location with nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were only informed about the refurbishment works once we had booked, and although the hotel was clearly not fully booked we were given a room on the 1st floor right above the construction site and drilling works started at 8am sharp also on Saturday morning. It would be great if they would also refurbished the outside.

    nice rooms, very comfy beds, big breakfast buffet with good selection of fresh foods, great location, bike hire right in front of the hotel, nice spa and gym facility

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Location is decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spaces around the pools were a Little dirty, but maybe it was like that because it was late when we arrived (at around 7pm) Because of the renovation that was ongoing, there was some noise a little to early for my taste :) ( aprox 8am if I remember correctly )

    Location is decent. If you like you can walk to city center. It will take you around 45 minutes. Breakfast is plentyfull and diverse, I realy recomend it. The staff was veru nice and helpfull. The SPA was decent also, but nothing special :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    The stay was relaxing and enjoyable. I would recommend others take advantage of the facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Plus Room with Balcony and Danube view
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I liked the buffet, but I remember about eight years ago you had a menu to select dinners. Possibly it was available, but wasn't aware of the option. The renovations were a bit annoying, but understand the upgrading the property without closing is a challenge. The lobby combination mini-cafe and bar was a nice addition from years ago. The spa had many more options and opportunities for relaxation and wellness activities. A taxi or shuttle to central location would have been a nice option, but the door staff called for service when necessary. The return trips were more difficult to attain transportation. Possibly the ability to have a table and chairs for the balcony would have been a nice touch overlooking the river. Nevertheless, the stay was very comfortable, and these comments appear critical, but the hotel is a very fine establishment and quality.

    The location is very close to the river, and somewhat central to the large circle and Zoo. I would definitely come again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Proffessional and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Danube View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High temperature inside the room. The air con didn't respond to temp adjust.

    Proffessional and friendly staff. Highly comfortable beds. Quite and calm at night. Nice brakfast. The restaurant's chocolate dessert was superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Very nicely meeting internationals business standards.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Danube View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was free WiFi but it had VPN blocker or something on, so I could not use it for business.

    Very nicely meeting internationals business standards. Just one night, but well slept.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Good but not wow!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleaning of the room was bad. They left glasses and cups = dishes. The breakfast was really bad. We had problem with the key all the time.

    The staff was really helpful and professional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Danube View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff can be more friendly and more helpful. in other places early check-in and late check-out are the norms, but here is far from it.

    Location is perfect. We could arrange a taxi via the hotel to get to/from the airport for 35 euros. Spa services are just on top! and the food is also good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.3
    The view to the river and hills, clean room, supermarket...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Plus Room with Balcony and Danube view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sound of drill, cold in the room, not good restaurant, small room, a bit far from the center

    The view to the river and hills, clean room, supermarket nearby

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Great value break, we enjoyed our stay despite a disorganised situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was a bit ropy and the staff didn't look like they were enjoying the experience of a temporary kitchen. Disorganised! The service on our room on day 2 wasn't very good.

    Great value due to work being done in the hotel, it was clean and practical and the bar was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is nice in général.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is really to much soft. The personnel at reception, spécialy the guy the night should be more nice with custumers. If the custumers make him boring, may be he should to think to change job...

    The hotel is nice in général.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.4
    Renovation in the hotel even during the weekend so...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovation in the hotel even during the weekend so impossible to rest and sleep, very rude and impolite stuff, less of knowledge in English even at the reception.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.7
    small improvements needed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    due to moving the breakfast room (because of renovation) there is limited options offered compared to my stay last stays 2 weeks ago. The good breakfast and a good espresso coffee is essential for my selection in this hard market. this time I didn't got the usual satisfaction. I hope Danubius will offer a dedicated espresso machine also in the interim breakfast room. Like they do offer in their other premises. Also the waiting time on the desk before checkout needs improvement. I not understand why the management leaves the front desk agent alone in the "requested check out" period between 10:00 - 12:00. There is expected lots of clients waiting for their checkout. I waited 15 min. - unacceptable!

    The hotel is nice even during the re-construction it is not too noisy. Wellness is great and thy gym is perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Great location, staff and facilities. Cooked breakfast elements sadly lacking
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Danube View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cooked breakfast elements were very poor Cooked sausages were cold. No bacon. Eggs were runny. ave you eveyr had sprouts and green beens served up for breakfast as a hot option?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Best breakfast takeaway I've ever got in hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had not working sauna in room, and despite we asked reception to fix the problem, nothing was done. Any of 3 sinks was not working properly too.

    Best breakfast takeaway I've ever got in hotels. Nice choose of breakfast dishes and just OK for the dinner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and Convenient
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Danube View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Since my last visit the Hotel has gone through some refurbishment. The restaurant has moved and the ambience is not so good as it used to be. Selection of Breakfast food, although reasonable not so good as previous. Suggest the Hotel provide hot plates as nothing worse than eating warm or semi warm food from cold plates

    Location alongside Danube. .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice place for relax.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    TV set wasn't working fine. Switch-off by itself several times in a row. But this is not a worst thing I've ever met in the hotels before. Just small inconvenience.

    SPA complex are really exciting. Excellent price for such relax opportunity. So sad, that I didn't have much time to spend it in SPA. Hotel has lobby repairing, but no influence to guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    Good relaxation place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Danube View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. The price of breakfast is quite high. 2. There was a kettle in room but there wasn't drink water provided. 3. Some visitors can not or do not want to read prohibition sign and staff can not affect on their behavior. Eating and jumping to water in pool area give some discomfort for relax. Penalty may be effective.

    Old hotel with good quality. A bit far away from city center but you can simply use public transport. Bus stops in several directions are located 50 meters from hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.7
    OK for an overnight stay only.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice limited on Saturday when breakfast moved to a much smaller room to accommodate an external conference. Shower broke, wardrobe doors wouldn’t close and part of the room curtains off the rail so did not close properly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.3
    It was OK but not perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Housekeeping staff was always very early knocking on the door. After telling them, they should come later, they were knocking 15 minutes later again. I also didn't like how the bed was made. There was a blanket on top that had stains so I put it in the closet extra. After cleaning guess what...this blanket was on the top again. This happened every day! Due to the renewals on the lobby it was also very noisy. I was irritated, since we got assured before arrival, that it wouldn't be noisy. In the spa the guests didn't follow the rules. There were guests having phone calls in the whirlpool, people jumping in the pool... Quite annoying I must say.

    The location. Supermarket nearby and good public transportation to Pest. Room service was also fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Spa facilities are amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only option on a classic room are two beds stuck together and they kept drifting apart which was not nice as we were a couple but it’s a conference hotel and the room was facing the river and it was so clean and the beds were very comfy so it makes up for that !

    Spa facilities are amazing Really good value for money Perfect and very rich breakfast Not far from public transportation (bus stop right outside )

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    NIce & comfortable stay and will return again
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Danube View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Vegetarian options were limited, but the restaurant staff was really helpful and went out of their way to help me choose a suitable option to my liking Also could do with a more cosy bar/lounge area separate from the restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    4.2
    We got dirty bed sheets with someone else hair on it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Danube View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got dirty bed sheets with someone else hair on it. Whole room was dirty. Breakfast was stale and the same every day. Parking 10 euro per day. Relation price-accommodation is not realistic. Honestly, hotel doesn't deserve four stars. All in all, disappointment.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.0
    Bad experience...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating sistem of the room was damaged.After 2 freezing nights, they finally have changed us the room. A very small and ugly bathroom. Very cold at the SPA. Pfff...A total bad experience.. Not at all a 4 stars hotel!!!

    The breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Danubius Hotel Helia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: