Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bara 3 stars

1118 Budapest, Hegyalja 34-36, Hungary

#296 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1629 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny walls, noisy

    The hotel is great except that the walls are very tiny and you can hear almost everything from your room. On the other hand this is very clean hotel close to downtown and all amenities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located on busy street, so quite noisy at night if window is open

    Location (near to city center), breakfast, safe parking place in the garage, convenient for transit stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -Wifi connection was poor -they didn't even provide the basics such as shower gel -there was a spider on the roof of my room -I booked a room with a kingsize bed and there where 2 small beds (joint) instead

    The staff was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing - that coffee coloured water.

    Delicious breakfast (except of coffee) through all you can eat buffet, everyone can choose. Both, room and bathroom, were perfectly clean and very comfortable bed for me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy street nearby. Building needs restoration. You have to ask every time to open the garage door.

    Cheap. Has an underground garage. Has plenty of space in the restaurant area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is not well aired. No hairdryer and water kettle. The bathroom has no ventilation.

    Staff was helpful and kind. The beds were able to separate and there was a sofa table part. Breakfast was good. Excellent location near a bus stop.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy guests at night and in the morning, very lound sounds from next rooms, sound of flowing water from next floor, no free table in restaurant on breakfast, additional payments only cash

    Underground garrage, localization, Holy Bible in room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is definitely not a 3 star hotel not even 1 I would say! The room was so small for 2 people and was the dirtiest place I have been! You can hear other guests voices and on our stay there was a cheap couple drama next to us - shouting ,screaming doors slammed all night long about a possible break out! No chance to rest over night as you can hear every single word from every other room! The Breakfast was awful and my husband still recovering from the possible food poisoning after he ate an omelette! Was a terrible experience! There is not enough staff! The price paid was expensive for that area as is outskirts of Budapest and definitely too much for the quality of serviced offered! We definitely want our money back as it was a very stressful experience and deeply deeply regret our booking!

    Nothing!This place shouldn’t be allowed to function until some improvements might (miraculously) be in place! The good point was the hot water so I can wash my hands! And Thankfully,it was only one night stay as we visited the old city!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleanning and houskeeping were trouble!

    The hotel was so dirthy, the staffs were not nice and facilities were trouble!!! the rooms especially the blankts were so dirthy!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is maintained in a very poor state and needs refurbishment with immediate effect. The toilet is broken , the shower head is dirty with stains of limescale, the fixtures and fitting in the toilet are falling apart. There are live words floating about in and around the room. The curtains in the room do not cover the full window. There are insects running around in the room which was reported to the hotel staff. The radiator in the room was broken as you can see in the pictures. There was screws sticking out from the floor. The bedding was not fitting the mattress. The mattress in itself was extremely in a poor state and needed replacing as soon as possible. The entrance to bathroom was obstructed by the cupboard which is fitted. A very poorly maintained hotel which should be avoided under all circumstances and I am not sure how does this hotel pass a hotel inspection by a hotel inspector anyway. It is pure shambles and there no proper maintainence being carried out at the hotel. Families must avoid this hotel due to health and hygiene reasons under all circumstances.

    The property has a bus stop outside the the hotel and has 3 buses which take you straight into The city centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    oldish room

    Easy check in and out, nice staf at the receptionf, normal accomodation. For two, the room what we got was a bit small and oldish, but everything else was ok with it. Ample, medium selection breakfast, strong coffee.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Morning traffic jam

    By car it is not the best place if you want to leave at the morning rush hours, but they have closed parking place. Everything is fine if you stay for a couple of nights. Room, breakfast, staff are ok! :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mold in the bathroom. The chairs and the floor were very dirty. The breakfast was disappointing. The checkout was at 10:00, and the checkin at 14:00.

    It was the cheapest at the moment, but not that cheap, at 110 euro/night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom smelled, the shower door frame is rotting. No soap or shampoo provided. Toilet paper is not on a hanger but placed on a towel rack out of reach. The furniture is old, as is the floor. The lights in the hallways don't turn on automatically, so you have to search for the switch in pitch-dark. The price for this hovel was outrageous.

    Nothing to like in this over-priced place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi didn't work - The staff of the restaurant took the plates suddenly at exactly 10 o' clock , telling to the guests in a very unpolite way to leave the tables , as it's time and saying "bye-bye"...I think that I wasn't the only person very surprised.. ..

    Room - property; one part of the staff is very available..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being mostly a transit hotel, during the rest hours is quite noisy. The walls between rooms are thin so you can hear what is discussed in the room next door. The bed is not comfortable. The wi-fi signal is weak, so frequently is out of order.

    The room is clean. The breakfast is good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    oldish

    Second time at Bara. Got a better room. Helpful stuff at the reception. It was a bit oldish look of the hotel and the room too. Clean, well-organized accommodation with good breakfast. Transport is very good, you can quickly get to the tourist attractions. It's perfect for a couple of nights.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Almost everything. Old hotel, probably had 3* 30 years ago, or the Hungarian quality is very very low. Old furniture, old bed, bad tasting breakfast, thin walls (you could literally hear everything on your floor

    Location, Staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast: bread wasn’t fresh, tables weren’t clean, missing or need to wait for food... good cafe

    Location is ok, enough space for car in underground (distance between cars)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor equipment

    Staff was nice, the room was tidy, with ok bed and a little poor equipment. Breakfast was ok with strong coffee. The bus is just 1 minute walk, and easy to get to tourist attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food served for breakfast was not fresh and of low quality. Very small rooms. We have ordered a double bed but instead two single beds were provided. Bathroom didn't have air conditioning. Towels were to be replaced every three days. Very small TV. Very Week internet connection inside the room (getting disconnected several times). Not enough space for hanging clothes. Small and dirty corridors and elevators without automatic light (had to manually turn on the lights each time). The rooms were mentioned to be sound isolated but you could easily hear everything from the adjacent rooms and it was so disturbing.

    Only Staff behaviour was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room has no hair dryer, rude hotel staff, a bad breakfast in the hotel - old food for a few days, no fruit,   only apples which passed shelf life - inedible, away from the city center 10 - 15 min by bus, the price is too high considering the offer of the hotel.

    Beds and sheets - clean, recommendation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff did not behave good and professionally. I strongly recommend travelers to avoid booking in this hotel although the location is good. The facility was the worst i ever seen in my life, I had to walk for 10 mins to get shampoo and toothbrush. Breakfast was not properly served to guests and I was ready to cancel my stay in the hotel and book another convenient hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only things that we didn't like was that the room was A LOT smaller than what you see in the pictures and the breakfast was a total disappointment for us, not at all a good start for the day..Also, in the booking confirmation it's written that toiletries are given by the hotel, but all we found were 2 little soap "bars"

    We didn't spend much time at the hotel since we were there for travelling purposes, but the stuff was always nice with us when we had questions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I dont like the conditions of that hotel, from outside the hotel look like very old place. You have to pay extra for the parking. And what else, the rooms are too small and the same conditions were....

    i like the breakfast because all the food were very fresh. The localization its near the city centre. The staff was very friendly, and i dont have any problems when i check in. It is a great place for few days! :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't go here. I've been traveling all across Eastern and Central Europe, and this hotel was, by far, the worst place I slept during my journey. Feels like a punishment, to be there. The pictures of the rooms are manipulated. No airco, little rooms with claustrophobic atmosphere. Uncomfortable and depressing. No Wifi (source was too weak). Far from city centre. Not clean (dead insects in the bathroom). Bed was too hard and too small, I barely slept. Shower was cold. Unfriendly staff (I wanted to check out one day earlier because of all this misery, but they just kept my money and even acted hostile towards me.) The coffee was okay, beside that, every other hotel in beautiful Budapest is a better choice than this one. Again, don't go here. Ps. Some advice: If you don't really trust or feel good in a Hotel while walking in, just ask the staff if you could see the room first, before you pay. It might save you a disappointment (and some money).

    The coffee was okay,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit oldish.

    It is a cheaper 3stars hotel, so dont expected too much - a bit oldish but the location (bus stop 1min., some tourist attractions 5-15min. walk), breakfast were really good, the staff was nice and helpful, rooms were clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bathroom.

    Oldie but goldie! It is at buda side in a good location, bus stop is in 1-2min. City centre 5-10min by bus. Playground is opposite the hotel. 24 hours reception and they are very nice. It's worth it for.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities are in poor condition. Unpleasant smell in bathroom. Utter darkness in a parking lot, though it costs 10 euro. Untidy restaurant during breakfast.

    Helpful staff. Wide range of breakfast options provided. Very comfortable shower!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stuff extremely unkind. I paid the room immediately on chekin, when I asked for an bill the receptionist told me that if I want a bill, I have to wait for 20 minutes. I couldn´t connect to your free wi-fi. Room was not clean.

    Breakfats was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was v poor. Doors banging all night

    Nothing It was v v poor. Nothing between sheet n mattress. No air con and constant banging doors all night

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking space to expensive for the way it looks and I really think that the it should be tax free.

    The location, breakfast were really good, the staff was nice and rooms clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was extremely unpleasant. He did not let us in the garage until we have first of all paid for the parking (mind you, we did not yet have paid for the hotel itself). This was very strange. Also, he did not give us a receipt for parking (tax evasion?). The rooms facing the street are extremely noisy as well (hotel is right on a four lane highway). The hotel and rooms themselves are OK, but they feel very dated.

    Wide selection of breakfast offerings, cosy showers, walking distance to the Citadel (and other attractions, if you have good shoes)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Contradiction between room description on booking.com to reality. Lack of hairdryer, cleaning room and changing of towels is not every day. Extremely hot in room (without air conditioning or fan against air conditioning). Mess on the breakfast room (dirty tables). In my opinion, good place for peole who spend all day to exploring the beautiful Budapest :)

    Very good localization of hotel, only 10 minutes by bus to metro station and city center. Really close to Gellert hill, Fishman Bastion etc. Very communicative hotel personel (receptionists), good and tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area wasn't the greatest, and our room was at the from, as the hotel backs onto the main road (70mph) and with no air conditioning, we had the windows open and I barely slept the entire stay. The shower really wasn't that clean, and we were really reluctant to use it and even debated checking out early due to the cleanliness, the room next to us kept slamming their door every half an hour throughout the night and evening and again- I barely slept. I would avoid the breakfast too. Overall- The staff were lovely, but I do not recommend staying here. I'm not just a moody person, as when a hotel is good or average I will still leave a review - not just when things were bad.

    The one and only one positive about this hotel is the staff. They were polite and so so lovely! It's just a shame about the hotel. Another bonus is it is so close to a bus stop you can get anywhere relatively easily!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I had a very bad stay in Bara Hotel. There was a big group of people partying every night until 2-3am every night, drinking alcohol and making noise in the corridor and rooms. Staff in the reception did not show any concern or did anything to solve it. Besides, the room was not very clean (there were ants and other insects in the bathroom). The room was small and very hot, there was not air conditioned. The breakfast was poor and not very tasty, the tables were often dirty, the bread was dry and hard. In general I would not recomend it to anyone, mainly if you are on a bussiness trip.

    It was close to the congress building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty breakfast area. Poor ventilation. We requested a non-smokers room but were still placed into a smokers room.

    Underground secure parking. Great location near centre of town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    service (man at check in unhelpful, unwilling to get a glass of water from bar for my colleague in the evening etc), room very sparse, only soap provided, breakfast strange though seemed to be replenished well.

    clean room, great shower water pressure!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, no room safe. Very noisy lift, I was on the third floor furthest away from it and could still hear it.

    My bed was quite comfortable and I liked the amount of water that came out of the shower. The staff on reception were very helpful although the breakfast staff not so much. It was located very conveniently quite close to Buda castle.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in front of 6 line highway. Very noisy even when the windows were closed so I could not sleep. Temoerature in tge room unbarable. When I asked about fun, the receptionist said the country law does not allowed use it. Breakfasts not eatable. Whole stay was a disaster. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

    Good public transport conection with the airport.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud because of trafic. The parking was really dark and I think it doesn t deserve 10 euro per Day.

    Clean rooms.great breakfast.nice and friendly People.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one piece of Soap in Bath. 3-4 Buses of Chinese every evening and morning-They shouting, load and during breakfast try to eat everything or at least to take it to the bus with them.

    Parking, Good Breakfast, Location- 20 minutes walking till Main walking street

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very old. Wi-Fi is extremely slow. And you can hear all the chinese tourists shouting in other rooms through the ventilation.

    Good underground garage. Perfect beds. OK breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel pretty old. Not a 3 star hotel. No document or bill released for the accommodation (anyway I didn't ask), staff not very friendly, they couldn't even find me a corkscrew in the whole hotel.

    The hotel is not expensive.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old rooms, i reserved smoking rooms - hotel is non-smoking, small single room, small bed, only soap within bathroom

    Price, breakfast, parking, nearby center

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I reserved double room and got twin bed instead. Also, I asked for a quiet room but got the one facing the street. I said when booking I am wheat intolerant but no gluten free bread was provided. Minor things but they do matter, make the overall nice experience.

    Nice staff, reception open 24/7, very decent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 30 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed as early as 3pm, difficult to get even hot water for tea. Nothing to make tea in room and bar head wasn't friendly. Only English Channel on tv was BBC.

    Internet was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No double bed (twin beds put together with a gap between them). No shampoo, no shower gel, no hair dryer. Strong smell of tobacco in the room. Poor breakfast. Very old toaster.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a 3 stars hotel, so you don't expect too much. But is good to know that the hotel is old fashion type, something like 20 years ago :) However, except this, everything is quite fine.

    Good location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We request a king size bad , and we got a 2 different matraces 2 single bad was place together, the matraces were horrible....

    the location of the hotel , and the price is relatively good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's 3 stars at a very good price and offer. Of course, you cannot expect a luxury room. But - safe garage, clean, very good breakfast, very close to city centre. Ok, is not for a romantic stay. Is for waking up, having a good breakfast, discover Budapest and sleep well. And a very good price, I must say again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet occasionally gets down, but overall we were able to connect.

    Located just a short walk from down town (across the bridge), reasonable prices, friendly and helpful reception, garage facilities, good value for money

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with strong smell of smoke. Dirt on bathroom. Long hair everywhere from previous clients. No shampoo, just one piece of soap. Breakfasts below expectations.

    Nothing to be liked

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell in the building was weird, and worse in the room. In the room, it was like there were remnants of a time when smoking everywhere was legal. The place needs refurbishment. The room pictures on this website lie. I regretted my choice the minute I walked in.

    The breakfast was decent. The lift works.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a basic buffet affair - stick to cereal and coffee though, I didn't like the cooked items much.

    For the money you can't expect much - the room was basic but perfectly clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some staff at reception and in the breaffast hall were unfriendly. I payed for three bed(s) room as promised in the offfer, but got only 2 beds and sofa (and room was not prepared for third person). Person at reception become sarcastic and started to laugh at me when I showed him reservation from booking (with statement that there are three beds). Also, he promised me two times that sofa will be ready later (at he end I had to ask night receptionist to do something, since sofa was not prepared). I understand this is 3 stars hotel and I was Ok with it. But, I expected profesionall attitude from staff! Also, hotel hotel mispresented their offer at booking (I was told in hotel that hotel doesn't have rooms with three beds. But I have reservation with picture and text about three beds). Also, hotel should be cleaner. and rooms could be painted every few years. Parking garage: I never got receipt for payment there.

    Location is easly accesible by car. And Citadella and Buda caste are really close by walking. And bus needs only 3-4 stations to city centre.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very low quality, and exactly at 10am an old man, seemingly the manager or owner was fairly rude about getting every single person out of the breakfast room asap, which we all thought was really poor hospitality.

    The Room was clean and fine

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms had a smokers smell, the mattress was so uncomfortable you felt the springs ! Hotel looks outdated but that's personal

    Nothing really to like ! BASIC HOTEL,

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee maker

    The room is comfy and excellent but if there is coffee maker in the room, than i will rate 9/10. To get the hot water to drink its limited.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi was so poor in the room,but it worked int the toilet (?!) The minibar was empty,the bar was closed. I just want to drink a pint/can of beer,if they fix these little mistakes,that be a really good hotel in the 3star hotels.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eating room and reception. Check out was 10am, what was very early time. Breakfast was included in the price, but food was not tasty and eating area was not clean.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was dusty,with hair on the floor and the bathroom smelled from the first day. When we asked to clean it again the receptionist had an ironic expression.It doesn't deserve any of the 3 stars it is said to have.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    It all went well until the last morning when we went for breakfast at 9:47. Breakfast closes at 10:00. The whole buffet was still on display, there were around 15 people eating on the tables and one waiter who was collecting the spoons from the ben maries at the buffet. My wife went in and asked if she can only get something quickly for our son ( 4.5 yo). She was with our son, who was starving. The waiter looked at her and said "NO" as he was taking all spoons from the buffet, but the food was still there. She said it will be really fast, just some eggs and the guy said "NO" again. I was at reception doing the check out at the time, so she came quite sad at reception and asked them what the time is? "it is one minute to ten". Ok then why can't we just take some breakfast for the kid, people are still eating in there. the young receptionist looked at her and was really sarcastic saying "well madam, I am sure very soon it will be ten o'clock" So don't ever visit the hotel with kids. Quite an insulting experience

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is not welcoming and borderline rude. After finding the master key forgot by the cleaning staff (?) inserted into our room's door late at night, we did not even receive an apology from the reception after returning the key... Absolutely terrible and unacceptable.

    Confortable bed, large room and good shower pressure.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff very rude. The room very dirty. We asked them a quiet room and we received a room facing the main street with noise from the traffic.

    Very good location, close to the city center!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very unfrendly and the rooms wеre filthy. The breaafast also wasdisgusting. If you refuse to use their parking and park around they call the police and they threaten and extort money. Carefully !!! This is a big mafia!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No spare pillows! I have a bad neck and the pillow was way too thin. When I explained and asked for an extra pillow they said they didn't have any. We also had ants in the room with us, but no mirror or hairdryer.

    The hotel was in a cheaper part of town, next to a lively bar. Great for walking down to pest via the Castle or the Citadel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast needs improvements.

    Comfortable and good value for the price. The staff is very helpful, you can ask the person at the reception any questions you have about the city. The hotel is 15 minutes away from the closest mall.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is quite poor, as you don't have variety of food.

    The hotel is placed near the city centre, so it's a good choice if you don't want to spend money, but still stay close to the touristic attraction.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi was working only within reception range and TV wasn't working in the room.

    Since I spent only 2 nights I am satisfied, because it was really clean and close to city centre.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was weird smell in the bathroom (but it was clean, so not a big problem), no aircondition in room and we repetly find other persons hair in the bed sheets (probably the cleaning lady, the sheets were fresh every day, but still...). There were a shoeprint on the wall in our room.

    Great breakfast, very nice people, good location, very close to the castle and citadel. Great price. I asked for upper floor and we get it, so that was great. There are also lot of restaurants in this area. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for a budget room so were not expecting a lot. However, the rooms were very dirty. The walls had stains, the floors were filthy, the shower did not drain so filled with water when used. Overall cleanliness was very bad. We found the reception staff very rude. The wifi did not work which made things very hard to plan our travel day the next day. Because of this we needed help checking into our flight and checking timetables. The reception desk were extremely reluctant to provide any support and didn't help at all. They always seemed much too busy to answer any questions and made our morning very difficult. We only required their help because the wifi we were told came with the purchase of the room, didn't work at all. Even when I asked them to call a taxi to meet me out front it seemed like a rather large task for them.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel Bara is quite ok, however I advise not to choose a room from the street side, because the traffic in front of the hotel is really loud. Breakfast was good (lots to choose from), the room was clean, and the location is within 15-20 min. walking distance from Budapest main tourist attractions (i.e. Castle, Chain Bridge).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located close to a busy and noisy street. The building is rather old/dated. No air conditioning (challenging during summer time).

    Fairly good breakfast. The apartment was large enough.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is very poor ! The room was very dirty ! The room was very dusty. The room had no air conditioning ! Outside was 33 - 35 grade Celsius and the rooms is at the last level... The coffee and thw food was of very poor quality. I can`t drink the coffee... Very high car traffic on the street in front of the hotel, very much noise.

    Location is relative nearest to the Regal Palace, Fishsermen Castle.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Bara traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: