Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Budapest 4 stars

1026 Budapest, Szilágyi Erzsébet fasor 47, Hungary

#307 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 790 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    Average hotel with a good view and public transportation right in front
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was available but didn’t work at all and was very loud. Our room was right at the elevator area and it was very loud when guests were going to have breakfast around 7 o’clock.

    The requested room with a view was really good. Parking was nice for a fair price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.8
    Lovely staff, but the hotel needs a revamp into this century
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The facilities and the decor. As I said it felt like a budget hotel

    The staff. We were told the hotel is 4*, it certainly is not. Upon arrival my 10 year old daughter said we have never stayed in a hotel like this before, it felt like a budget hotel. Her very first experience was to see two flies in the dinning room and there were very few options for breakfast towards the end of the period, not a good start. Whilst breakfast is open there should be food. We paid the full price for this hotel and the facilities were not value for money, but the staff did their best.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.0
    We stayed there because of the location. We stayed thee six years ago, but hotel was somewhat better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The weather was hot and humid and the air conditioning didn't work at all. It was hard to get a good night sleep in that heat. The rooms look like some dormitory rooms, the bath tub is too high to get in therefore it's dangerous. One could fall.

    The view and the bakery items.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    It was okay for a short business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are very basic, nothing luxurious. Also, significantly overcrowded in the summer time, which means packed elevators, no space in the breakfast hall, etc. I had to go down from the 12th floor one morning, cuz the elevators were packed.

    My bed was comfy. The view from the 12th floor was fascinating. The staff were very patient and friendly, although they had to deal with incredible crowds of people. Although not centrally located, it was within 5 minutes walk from the facility which was the main purpose of my business trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    They upgraded us to hotel flamenco .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They upgraded us to hotel flamenco . Staff v helpful and friendly . Would stay there again . And location excellent . Thank you hotel danubuis group .x

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed overall as room very hot too sleep even with fan on maximum
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning as was broken but wasn’t informed of this prior to arriving even though the staff said emails were sent I did not receive one

    Friendly amenable staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    The location was perfect for our needs and the view from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation falls short of a 4-star hotel and is in need of a comprehensive renovation.

    The location was perfect for our needs and the view from the room was quite spectacular.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location, nice panorama, but..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too many people using the elevator in the morning, impossible to get down to the restaurant or reception, only by walk in the stairs (6th floor). This is due to many groups, all leaving in the same time. This is not the first time it happened, but I m not sure you will have a solution, except having more elevators..

    Good location in Budapest, good value for money. Interesting design and nice panorama.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.0
    The view from top floors were amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive restaurant with not so great food. Breakfast was ok but organisations was poor, one morning there was no place to sit but just outside and we had breakfast with pigeons.

    The view from top floors were amazing. Location was ok, just outside we had train station and tram, also bust stop was nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.8
    It's okay for a budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift was rubbish and the new door card system failed so I had a German family of 4 walk into my room when I was asleep!

    One really nice staff member who did his best.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Stayed here 10 years ago and if anything, it's got better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Because of the design of the building, there are only 2 lifts. The hotel is used as a stop over by european coach trips and because we were on the 14th floor it was difficult getting a lift down to breakfast. This seems dependant on when the coach parties are going to depart. It was easier going for breakfast early, 7am ...

    We had rooms of the 14th floor with fantastic views to the Parliament building and the Castle. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was ample and the buffet was kept well stocked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.6
    Good for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom is small. Not enough pillows. The room and bathroom did not look as hotel with 4*. Two elevators is not enough.

    View from 14th floor was fantastic. Location is good. Tram station is near.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Hotel is located right next to bus and tram station what...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel facilities were little bit older but on the other side they were really clean.

    Hotel is located right next to bus and tram station what makes transportation so easy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    2.9
    Terrible service, unkind staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible service, unkind staff . Temperature in room was very high and nobody come to fix it. Never come in this hotel again. The worst hotel in Budapest

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    4.2
    Short stay for business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are too hot, a/c doesnt work, facilities are run down and looks like from the seventies.., the lift is a nightmare, literally a 10-20 minutes to get down to the lobby every single day from 12th floor. Walls are paper thin and can hear everything so room is noisy, diffiucult to sleep. No coffee making facility, the bar looks pathetic and has minimal choice of deinks... the whole hotel feels like some overpriced and run down mid-seventies hotel left over from the communist area. Avoid this place at all cost.

    Internet was good and fast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.5
    Hotel was basic but clean and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioning didn't work properly and our room was a bit warm at night but we just opened the window. We arrived at 01:15 am, we were looking forward to making ourselves a cup of tea/coffee but there was no facilities in our room which was a bit disappointing.

    Hotel was basic but clean and good value. We only needed it as a base to visit the city. The main street is a bit noisy during the day but ok at night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely staff (mostly)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff really went out of their way to make us feel welcome - super polite, nice people. We’ve had trouble with one of them, an older man, with grey hair, mustache and glasses who worked at the reception - he was miserable, shouted at staff and customers alike. I asked him for a pair of scissors nicely, and he put his hand up to quiet me - whilst barely sparing me a glance. Later that night we ordered a pizza, and the delievery guy asked him where our room is, and he shoted at him, saying how he should know how to do his own job without asking and “bugger off”. What a charming fella.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Return visit to an old friend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the 70s retro nature of this hotel, you could definitely call some of the furniture tired - I prefer to think of it as of it's time. Higher floors give great views, the cog-wheel railway is just opposite and there is easy access to buses and trams to the metro - or it is a 10/15 minute walk to Szell Kalman Ter. The staff are efficient and helpful. The breakfast if you choose to have it offers a good choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    Memorable visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room is short of a boiler or kettle to make tea or coffee

    Near public transport to the City and Main Train Station. Convenient access to Buda Castle

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Loved the view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ugly furniture, dirty windows, stained carpet,not so beautiful bathroom.

    Loved the view! We were at the 12 floor and had a direct view to the Parliament and the Castle. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    I was in Budapest Hotel for 2 night stay, the staff are so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one things that I didn’t appreciateted that the rooms needs to have more facilities for guests like water boiler, soap in the bathrooms, tissues...

    I was in Budapest Hotel for 2 night stay, the staff are so friendly, the hotel is located in great area, with an amazing view from the rooms. 2 mins away from the bus station and the trams.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice view!
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is far away from centre but plenty of opportunities for buses and trams!

    The view over the city is breathtaking as it was 13 floor! Clean bedding and very clean bathroom! Quite room and no problems with the elevator! It definitely made a positive difference for us as we spent previous night in a disaster “hotel”!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.4
    Misled with check-out time, I did not get my Genius extra 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Misled with check-out time, I did not get my Genius extra 2 hours, anyway houskeeping staff wakes you up / enters in to the room 9am...very low profile of service :(

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    4.6
    Wiew.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My frend and l reserved one double room. Recepcionist (50-60 years old) offered us two rooms and said he can walk beetween those 2 rooms and visit us. Maybe this was a joke, but it was totally unappropriate, unprofesional and disgusting.l’m 30 and my friend is 20. He can be our father. Other disappointment was room. It was old, walls ware dirty, door handle was broken. It looks so much better on pictures. Tv did not work. On New Year Eve fire alarm was somehow activated. It was ringing for 10 minutes and after that elevator wasn’t working proprely. So guests had to wait for it 10 minutes or even more. They did not fix it even day after. We were on 6th floor with our luggage and waited for lift for 15 minutes. Avoid this hotel!

    Wiew.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.8
    Winter visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking lot is not under the roof. Parking fee (10€/day) and tourist fee (~4€/person) not included in the price. Few details in the room could not be overlooked: Fire alarm device in the room kept blinking red all the time (distracted sleeping); air in the room very dry (visited during winter)

    Breakfast (good variety); personnel was helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Everyone liked the rooms and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked 4 rooms for my family. Staff at the reception was not so friendly when I was paying the rooms. Reservations modifications were difficult to handle. Fire alarm during the night. Too warmly heated rooms.

    Everyone liked the rooms and breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    This hotel was extremely good value for money and the views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had asked for a quiet room in my booking which was not provided, and upon very politely asking if it was possible to move room, the initial response from one of the receptionists was very unhelpful and rude (which he continued throughout the stay). However, the following day another receptionist was very good and rectified the situation so I think I was just unfortunate with the original receptionist. Also, the breakfast was not great and I would recommend opting not to pay for breakfast but to buy it elsewhere.

    This hotel was extremely good value for money and the views from the top of the hotel are very good. If you're looking for a low cost stay in a comfortable and reasonably well located hotel then I would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    3.3
    It worths max 40~50€ for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building, room, elevators, doors, furnitures are very old. Staff is strange. The room was cold and small. The beds and pillows were uncomfortable.

    nothning

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.1
    Five nights at Hotel Budapest is exhausting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful beds, vicinity of two major hospitals with day and night ambulances with full sirens on very disturbing at night; air conditioning is a shambles; international standards is about 2 stars or below

    The geographical location very good; nice breakfasts, very helpful and kind personal

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.7
    OK, but will look for something of better quality next time we go.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast. Both quality, re-supply and the environment, like a busy railway station!

    Basic accommodation which was fine. Breakfast a complete scrum with many coach parties all wanting to get out at the same time!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Very well greeted by the reception staff knowledge of English helped greatly definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have tea/coffee making facilities in room

    Mr Katona was excellent at the booking in and during our stay. I would deafly stay at the hotel again as the location suited us very well. Hotel was very clean and tidy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    5.0
    not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - it's old comunists hotel - it's like museum from 1980 - not 4 star hotel (and I have seen better 3 stars hotels) - only 2 slow elevators for 16 floors (in the morning it was hell get down) - mold in the bathroom - questionable air conditioning - filthy carpets - the cleaning of the rooms was sporadic - breakfast - mediocre - not cleaned tables, not enough fruits, really bad coffee

    - the view from higher floors was beautiful, you can see budapest parliament (if you have room on the right side)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, friendly staffs, nice view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet is slightly old and dusty. Overall, cleanliness is good.

    Excellent location, friendly staffs, nice view of the Hungarian Parliament Building from the window (7th floor).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    5.8
    Dont stay here in summer weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning didnt work at all.. complained and they told us they were fully booked so couldnt change us rooms and that the air conditioning was going to be fixed. Room was like a sauna. Asked to speak to manager and staff were quite rude about this. Manager Peter gave us keys to 2 different rooms and told us to pick the most suitable even though we had been previously told they were fully booked. Peter was quite decent trying to make our stay better. Second room also had no air conditioning that worked so we had to use a fan for the whole week which wasnt really enough.

    The location and public transport excellent. Room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.4
    Still not sure what to think...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival to the hotel at 8.30pm, we were told that there is only a standard twin room left available (whereas we booked a double room via booking.com). We obviously clarified and showed proof that we booked a double room (for everybody's peace of mind) and we said that if they can put two twin beds together that would work for us too, but just at that moment an older member of the staff behind the counter started "explaining" to us very offesinvely and loudly (and impolitely!) that they cannot be made responsible for this error because this is an issue with how the systems update and sync with booking.com. We are experienced travellers and usually book our stay on booking.com. As usual, we had taken our time to measure our options before choosing the hotel, and although we booked in the last minute, we had a many rooms available for that night hence we were very disappointed by the receptionist's offensive and loud behaviour. When we mentioned that we do not wish to go into an argument over the type of bed really because we have a very long and tiring day behind us, his only response to it was "so do I". I was astonished and speechless by how we were treated by a hotel at that time of the night (8.30pm)... In the end, a younger gentlemen at the reception arranged the situation by upgrading us to a better room (we are grateful for it, and acknowledge his absolute politeness and professionalism). Despite the "happy end" this first experience wasn't particularly appealing. As for the room, it was of normal size, but felt really old (80s style), and the air con (that looked more like a radiator) was loud and barely worked (it's just a fact; not a complaint as we never raised it). All in all, not what we expected, and if we only paid for the view, then it was a relatively expensive view for one night.

    The hotel is located in a lovely pet of Budapest, on the Buda side with beautiful view to the Danube and to the Parliament building.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.8
    Not 4*
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    AC was very poor, we were sweating in the room. I now that on 40 degrees outside temperature, no AC is very efficient, but still. I asked to change the room, the new one was slightly better. First room was not very clean, bathroom had hair, as well as the bed, even if the sheets looked very clean.

    Very good location, easily accesible with public transportation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.4
    What should be a classy experience spolied by poor service and lack of attention to details
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was very flaky on the upper floors. The lift/elevator programme clearly doesn't always work very well (this is just bizarre and has been a problem for years) - i.e. you're waiting for 10 minutes on an upper floor while the two lifts shuffle back & forth on lower floors apparently at random. Breakfast choice is poor and not good value for money. I've been to other Hungarian hotels who do it better - don't let them tell you this is standard Hungarian breakfast! Last time I was here in 2010 it was better, they seem to be trying to save money. Staff communication is very poor. There was a false fire alarm as I arrived & no-one seemed to bother explaining it to those frankly scared old folk who'd walked down ten flights of stairs for nothing. If you want a drink in this hotel after 8pm in the week, forget it. The bar seems to be mothballed, and there are no good bars nearby. Bring your own, risk the minibar (tip: don't!), or go into town. Don't expect the staff to help you out here. They had 1-2 beers left in the whole building which were not cold. In an international HOTEL, note. And it was 39 degrees outside. Air-con in the room was next to useless. And it was 39 degrees outside. The cheap combination shower gel/shampoo dispenser in my shower was almost empty when I arrived. To summarize: I stayed in this hotel before in 2007 and 2010. I like it because I like the building and the location. But the service was shocking then & it still is. Attention to detail is zero. They simply cater to busloads of Polish students and Chinese tour groups, and you'll be fitted in wherever. Pay for the view but do your homework, good luck :)

    The view from the 14th floor is fantastic, especially at night. There probably aren't many better vantage points in Budapest if you want to take in the main sights from a distance. The building is a 1960s icon, so is worth seeing for this too. Good location for the famous cog railway & Buda Hills. Tram and bus stop across the road, easy to get to & away from.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.0
    Old hotel old furniture not at today's standard
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is from old days its old not worth the price. Tv was like 10 inch! The AC was slow. The breakfast was just basic and there is NO room card just key weight like a little stone.

    The hotel has a great view if you have the upper floors.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    3.8
    The hotel is very very dated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very very dated. Although the room was clean, the whole building needs to be completely renovated & modernised. It's like going back to the 80's.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    2.5
    Avoid this place! Workers' hostel level!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Booking.com shows this hotel for 4* when it is maximum 2. Unfortunately this will be your biggest disappointment in Budapest. Oldish, dusty, dirty. The room was scary. Think twice! You can get cleaner, fresher, more modern rooms in a hostel. For this price you can get a super downtown apartment! This is a shame this site let this happen! Remove them from here!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    couldnt fault it

    Very nice hotel. Staff is friendly, especially the receptionist Imre Molnar. We ve stayed in the the room on the 14 th floor and the view was absolutely fantastic! The hotel is not far rom the historical centre, easily accessed by tram, or just 30 min walk. Really enjoyed our stay, the hotel is highly recommended. Koszonom :) will definitely come back

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.1
    Decent Hotel with Neutral location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't too close to city sites.

    The room was adequate. All frontline staff were men who knew varying degrees of English. The most helpful man at the front desk gave useful info about delays because of city events.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice staff and the location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't change the towel.The facilities are quite old

    Nice staff and the location is good.iceWonderful view from the window.And the key is quite different

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    6.7
    One receptionist was helpful and approachable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast menu did not change all throughout my 5-night stay. One receptionist was not helpful nor courteous when asked about a problem on wifi connection. Airconditioning unit took a long time to adjust the temperature of the room.

    One receptionist was helpful and approachable. Plus points are its proximity to the location of the conference I was attending at the time and its relatively lower rate than other hotels in Budapest.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.5
    More ups than downs for the price of Admission.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel indicated that they have AC but what they don't tell you that they control when it is available for guest to use. I asked if they can turn on the A/C but i was told that it is not the hot outside. I was told that i can cool off the room by opening up the windows. Yes, it is just that cool outside but i have allergies so i did not sleep well none all five nights. I was told they ordered 10 fans but none was either here yet or available as i was told i would get one when they arrived. So case in point overall good stay but i did not get a goods night rest. Make sure you can control the A/C before you book your room if that is important to you.

    The hotel had a wonderful location. My wife had not been that comfortable in a hotel bed in a long time. Breakfast was awesome. Everything is located conveniently around the neighborhood.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    3.8
    Stay away
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not working. Poor customer service. Room was in poor condition with broken windows and a door that was very difficult to open. Twice, the room cleaning person walked into my room while I was in the bathroom. Horrible hotel.

    Not much

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    4.6
    Great view, dirty room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of the room carpet was horrible! Carpets should be maintained properly to prevent serious health problems.

    The view was beautiful and the location is great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    3.8
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ad listed free parking, we payed 12 euro for an unguarded outside parking slot! Also in the ad the room included flat screen here we had something from the previous century. The room was old and dusty, no real resemblance with the pictures, the hotel is very worn.Only the sight was spectacular (12th floor)

    The staff was flexible and helpfull.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is well connected with the city center and all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not the best 4 star hotel, and the rooms are not soundproof.

    The hotel is well connected with the city center and all attractions with bus and train lines. Although you have to pay extra for early booking the staff was very welcome and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    7.5
    Cheap accommodation in the vicinity of Széll Kálmán tér
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was noisy due to a group of youth staying at the hotel at the same time and the bathroom was mouldy.

    I liked the attitude of the staff, they were helpful and kind.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    2.5
    Horrible!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty carpets, horrible restaurant. Booking should check this location before advertising as a 4 stars hotel.

    Nothing!!!! It looks like a 2 stars hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful views
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor is somewhat dated. Has a distinctively 70s feel but kept tidy and clean.

    Location is excellent, near to major traffic hub in Buda, wonderful views to the City and surrounding Buda hills from top floors. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.3
    Citytrip Boedapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We like the place because the bus and train are very close. That's the best way to travel to the "pest"side. Take bus 5 and you will arive 15 minutes later on the upersite Boedapest is a very nice city

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    6.3
    very attentive at the reception desk - the very best view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast was very poor-have no idea why they would be serving spagetty, cooked vegetables & a lot of lunch fare. Orange juice in name only. Only one kind of sweet rolls, same every morning. Carpet in the room was dirty, there were dried sticky stains on table tops.

    very attentive at the reception desk - the very best view of Budapest

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.5
    great stay, worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast food was not great at all. we tried it each night and the options did not look appetizing at all.

    comfortable bed, amazing view, freindly and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    7.5
    4-day stay in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We need an electric kettle in the room, but we get it after 2 days...

    Hotel Budapest is the only one skyscraper in this area so there is an amazing view on the city from higher floors.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    8.3
    Good place if you are ready for small compromises.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtube curtain was fixed inconveniently close to the wall. The TV set is ridiculously outdated. In the evenings the restaurant is working only for the organised groups - solo guests like me have to go dine outside. Not good when rainy.

    Friendly staff, clean, view

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.1
    .pleasant 3 day holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    understood hotel had been updated inside. This did not appear so. Needs carpets cleaned woodwork painted and an overall complete thorough cleaning. floors not swept in bar/restaurant and did not like al a carte meal in bar while others ate in restaurant.Lot of door banging.

    The reception staff were excellent and extremely helpful. could not fault them at all.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    6.7
    with some more care, this could be one of the greatest hotels in Buda
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room on the 7th floor was not yet one of the renovated room. The fitted carpet was worn and quite dirty, the air-con did not work at all, the fridge was broken, but most annoyingly, there was a scent of cigarette smoke coming into the room (not actual smoke). I am not sure if nearby rooms were smoking rooms, or if it was just an old bud stuck in the carpet somewhere (from previous guests), but it wasn´t too uplifting experience. I hope that renovation to the floors can continue. With some investment from the Danubius Group, this hotel could be one of the greatest hotels in Buda.

    Immaculate service, the personal is probably one of the most guest friendly staff you can come across. The view from my room was picture perfect, location is great, especially if you keen on spending some times in Buda or go hiking in the Buda hills.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    6.3
    If invested in this hotel it could be a true 4-star hotel, now it isn't
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is quite old and need investment. The carpet in my room had to be changed probably 10 years ago. Full, full of stains. Smaller TV set I haven't seen in my life... Hotel parking is charged 10 E per day to residents, what is absolutely insane - you charge your guests for the parking???

    Good location, very helpful staff, morning coffee with croissant...beautiful breakfast terrace, nice view from my (small for double) room on the seventh floor...OK bed & mattress, very clean and good bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    5.8
    it might be famous but nothing has happened since building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was almost impossible, quite few parking places, with high prices. Personal were not polite and no explanations when asked something. Tv wasn't really a tv.

    Location was ok :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    7.5
    Staff was very friendly and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Winter Package - Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    There was only three electric sockets in the room. One for the minibar, one for television and one in the bathroom. So if you want to keep your drinks cool and watch television, you must charge your phone in the bathroom.

    Staff was very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    8.8
    Retro hotel with good views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lifts are a little under capacity during peak times and there is no swimming pool.

    Plenty of choice at breakfast including a Hungarian option. The panoramic view of Budapest from our room was stunning and the stay was value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    8.8
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want to go to the clubs of Budapest it is quite a walk especially at 5 or 6 in the morning.

    Staff were very helpful with when we were leaving and let us keep our luggage in the hotel while we got a bite to eat and waited for our cab to the airport.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.6
    A Unique hotel with excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Be prepared for lots of coaches on short stays, if you time it right its not a hassle. The nearest Metro is a ten minute walk ok for us but could be an issue for some

    the rooms are very unique and ours had an amazing view, the staff were lovely helping us out with directions and parking and very attentive. Would very much recommend getting a higher room as the views can be amazing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    View was beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room equipment

    View was beautiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    3.8
    Unpleasant and extremely badly maintained room. Which is a pity as the location is great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unbelievable worn out carpet with a zillion of stains and strange odor...

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Great view from highest rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    AC is quite loud in the room.

    Great view from highest rooms. Highly reccomended. Parking for bus/van/minivan is perfect. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not much

    quite a pleaseant place to stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.5
    Would like to see tea and coffee facilities in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like to see tea and coffee facilities in room. We arrived at one in the morning and would have loved a cuppa

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    The view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower and bathroom

    The view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Value for money but a bit tired
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room and view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was good
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms key was wrong

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Great value for the money, exceeded my expectations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value for the money, exceeded my expectations

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.8
    We shortened our stay for one day.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditions does not work, the windows are sealed, it was terribly hot in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Danubius Hotel Budapest traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: