Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Budapest Csaszar Hotel 3 stars

1023 Budapest, Frankel Leo u. 35, Hungary

#278 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1408 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    The hotel has everything we required, the location was close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has everything we required, the location was close to public transport, and only a 20 minute walk to the city. Was a very comfortable hotel to stay at.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.1
    More room in a hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was so small that there was no room for a dresser or tables next to the bed, the bathroom was tiny, and the shower was so small that the curtain stuck to us during the shower. The A/C didn't work, so the room was hot and stuffy. There is a HUGE pool, but there are always lessons or team practice, so you can't use it. When I told the hotel staff, they just shrugged. We had planned to stay two weeks later before our flight, but we have cancelled the room. For the price, I can NOT recommend it.

    The bed and pillow was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better

    Excellent location and price. "Old school" hotel, very clean and comfortable. Ferenc Puskas's foto in the lobby. 2 swimming pools (olympic 50 m and short 25 m) in the room's package.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You will probably need earplugs thanks to the traffic outside. The breakfast has no warm foods.

    Friendly staff. Pool access is nice. The location is pretty good for what you pay. Only a short walk to train, busses and tram. Some tram lines go straight next to the hotel. The breakfast was good enough for us, and we felt like we definitely got our money's worth.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    we stayed only for one night from sziget festival.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were ok, but our friend in nextdoor room had an older and noisy AC

    we stayed only for one night from sziget festival. 50m pool was awesome and free entry for guests. staff is kind. parking at the front of hotel, and the hotel is pet friendly!! great value for money!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    It was great! A really good price for what they offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tram noise is quite loud but I understand that probably this is why the hotel is this cheap. (The trams stop working after 12 AM.)

    The breakfast was on point, nothing fancy but exactly what we needed. The pool was great! The room looked good, better than in the pictures. The staff was friendly although they were stressed because of the people from Sziget Festival checking-out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    Cosy accomodation not far from the City Center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated next to the tram line which wasnt really good (noisy). We also had ground room which means we had windows right to the street where all pass by people could see inside our room. Only cold breakfast are served.

    Location towards city center was good only few minutes by tram, also there were grocerie shops near by. Swimming pool was great. Room equipment little bit old same for bathroom equipment. Good breakfast. AC in the Room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Location is very good, connection to other parts of the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During our short stay our room was cleaned by the towels were not replaced.

    Location is very good, connection to other parts of the city and worth seeing places thanks to the public transport is perfect. The breakfasts were tasty and not limited. The reception was very open for any requests and remarks and was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    Acceptable for a 3 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    noise from other rooms at night. the breakfast area is small and hot in the summer.

    good location, easy to access to public transportation. Margaret Island is within walking distance and there's a large swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    If you want a good sleep, go somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was horrible - 2 options of salami, 2 options of cheese, boiled eggs and some cereals. The bread was not very fresh in both days. You could end up staying in a connected room and the soundproof was almost nonexistent. You could hear every sound from your neighbors and not to mention the street noise which was too loud even for a heavy sleeper.

    The free access to the pool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    This is best value fornmoney!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was raining when I had to rush off to a meeting. But the staff called a taxi which arrived in less than 5 minutes... I actually liked everything but the rain.

    Location is excellent. Just a few steps from the subway and downtown is jusz a stroll away. The staff is really friendly. Their olympic size swimming pool is amazing andits fun to watch all those compezitive swimmers traon there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location and great value for money for a comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit noisy specially during day time because of lots of people continuously use the public pool.

    Location - just opposite to Tram station. Room comfort - excellent value for money. Staff - superbly helpful Breakfast - good value for money!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    I loved the hotel pool, even though there was no time to go...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was facing the street, so sleeping with an open window was not an option, since the trams passing by are very loud. I recommend earplugs.

    I loved the hotel pool, even though there was no time to go for a swim, it looked very inviting. The hotel vas nicely decorated, I loved the B&W photos of swimmers.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    Just near 19 tram from Gellert Metro station, easy to get to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic breakfast but enough for price paid.

    Just near 19 tram from Gellert Metro station, easy to get to and lovely scenic route along river. Perfect if you are serious swimmer, great pool. Roos clean and staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    In general it was ok, the room was clean, staff was kind and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small and breakfast very minimalist.

    In general it was ok, the room was clean, staff was kind and the pool was great. Amazing to wake up and have a dive in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Okay for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't choose this hotel if you want to share a room with someone else or if you want to stay for more than one or two nights: the lack of space would make you feel claustrophobic.

    The hotel is part of a swimming pool complex. Rooms are tiny, but adequate for a single person on a short stay. Two people sharing a room would decidedly feel very cramped. The staff was friendly and breakfast just so-so: bad coffee, dlluted juice, no butter but margarine. The location was good, on the Buda side of the Danube, near Margaret Bridge with several trams stopping almost before the door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    A good choice if you are not too worried about room size and some inconvenience with the shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drainage in the bathroom and size of the room.

    The staff were wonderful, friendly and informative. The beds were comfortable. The room was small and the shower covered the bathroom floor and toilet when used and had no drain in the bathroom floor so the water could not escape. Room overlooked a street with trams from early morning so noisy. The swimming pool is huge and was a very welcome relief from the heat. The breakfast was ample and lots of variety.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable beds and good breakfast :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At chech out we paid the bill but the prepayment was not calculated to the final bill. We were overcharged and the receptionost did not realised. Luckily we got back the money on spot.

    Comfortable beds and good breakfast :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Friendly hotel in central Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was ground floor next to the road, but it was double glazed so that wasn't too bad.

    The welcoming staff and the building a converted convent apparently. Heated swimming pool available though I didn't use it. Excellent value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast is great and the people are kind.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilets are really small and are close to the wall so much that the legs don't have any room. The walls are not thick, there's a lot of noise from other rooms.

    Breakfast is great and the people are kind.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    For one-two days it is generally OK, must be nice to use the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows go to the tram line, it is quite noisy already very early morning. Room is minimalistic.

    For one-two days it is generally OK, must be nice to use the large pool (I had not time for that)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    Very primitive, questionable cleanliness, but works for this price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found broken glass pieces on the floor in my room which could have easily cut into my feet. So obviously the cleaning was far below the expectations. When notifying the staff at the reception, there was not much response.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Old hotel with small rooms no 3 star room facilities, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room noise isolation. Room facilities. Small bathroom.

    Old hotel with small rooms no 3 star room facilities, but clean. Good breackfast. I feel good there because I can swim in 50 m long pool. Great pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Location - 5 minutes to city center, Air condition machines...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car parking, however there is a public parking next to hotel (paid) and in offer there was a swimming pool which was closed

    Location - 5 minutes to city center, Air condition machines in every room, very good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    Hotel in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear the next door. There has to be renovation for sound isolation in the rooms.

    The hotel staff are helpful. Hotel is in central Budapest. Breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.8
    Normal location, good pool, nice people, normal internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is tiny. On the ground floor its impossible to open windows. Windows look super dirty but the room overall is clean.i would not stay there any more.

    Normal location, good pool, nice people, normal internet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.8
    The hotel is really a cheap deal, but everything it lacks ot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, paper thin walls

    The hotel is really a cheap deal, but everything it lacks ot makes up for the fantastic swimming pool. 50 metres length, open air - just a perfect start to your days in Budapest. Highly recommend because of the pool and nothing else.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    The staff was very kind and the room is nice and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a swimming pool in the hotel and it can get really noisy even very early in the morning.

    The staff was very kind and the room is nice and comfortable. The hotel is well connected to the city center by trams and busses.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Hotel has excellent location, only 3-4 tram station away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel has excellent location, only 3-4 tram station away from the city center. Very comfortable and compact rooms with clean beds, nice staff, has very clean and huge swimming pool. Met my entire expectation for the price paid.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Simply furnished and cozy hotel with pool (don´t forget to...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit noisy corridor

    Simply furnished and cozy hotel with pool (don´t forget to bring your swimwear) in good location (very close to Margaret island). Friendly staff, good Wi-Fi, tasty breakfast (bread, jam, cheese, ham, eggs etc). Parking spot around 250 m (free of charge from 18:00 to 8:30)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    4.6
    Staffs were helpful and breakfast was not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge was turned off , so mini bar was not available , noisy noisy room for sure you can not sleep in this hotel , soup was not available in WC only shampoo , there is not safe box also .

    Staffs were helpful and breakfast was not bad

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    I have booked this hotel 8 or 9 times be now, so it must be ok for me.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is a bit of noise from the swimming stadion, but its not somthing you cant live with. Its a friendly noise of people having fun.

    The location is perfect and the staff and breakfast is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.9
    Ideal for staying for one day waiting for your flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old building a bit noisy from the road. Interior and amenities not for a long stay.

    Ideal for staying for one day waiting for your flight. Very clean. Big swimming pool is available for visitors. Cheap transfer to airport is available

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    BEST STAY EVER
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Best choice in Budapest Hotel with soul and best spa facilities really clean and cozy Stuff was so kind and helpful and they arranged shuttle bus to airport It was so quiet Just across you have Turkish bath with mineral water. Great experience Highly recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    Very clean place and good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Seemed to me that walls are made of paper. I heard my neighbours' conversations even though they weren't loud. Breakfast is served in the passageway between the rooms - the noise wakes you up at 7 am so forget about sleeping late. I did not sleep well either of the nights. The surroundings are very calm, which I appreciated a lot, but, unfortunately, inside the hotel one can hear every single move.

    Very clean place and good price. Professional staff, speaking well foreign languages. The female receptionist (I think her name is Dora) speaks even French :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    A Great Location to Stay for the Traveler on a Budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower did not contain any body soap, conditioner, shampoo or other typical amenities which I found strange as they have been provided at every other location I have been to. Also the dining area for breakfast is a bit cramped and the breakfast is only modest.

    The location was right next to a metro line which offered convenient access to the center of Budapest. I have seen other reviews mention the noise from the metro line but I did not have any issues sleeping. There were some decent restaurants roughly a 10-15 minute walk from the property. The rooms were spacious and the large outdoor pool was a very convenient attraction. There are also thermal baths and spas close by in case you do not want to travel far from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Location, staff, proximity to tram station, Margaret Bridge,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tram is very close & loud, sometimes it wakes you up before you'd like.

    Location, staff, proximity to tram station, Margaret Bridge, bars and restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    We are planning to return.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant and the one we went to was closed on a Monday evening, so best to ask at reception. The room was small, but we expected this and it was functional.

    Good no nonsense hotel in Budapest. Good breakfast and overall value. Public transport on the doorstep and the hotel is close to thermal baths.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.1
    Clean room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More knowledge of receptionist showing detials amd direction Better wifi on sfateroom More international channels Missing remote contrilol The hotel should be rates with 2 starta

    Clean room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.2
    nice place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the toilets are a bit undersized but still ok and clean

    value vs what you get id really good. Breakfast is rather good and with the view of outside pool.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.4
    Cheap but an uncomfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed 4 nights for new years eve at this place in 2017 December. This property used to be swimmers dorm. So every each room is originally designed to be a small dorm room. This means the rooms are really and very very SMALL. We stayed in a twin bedroom, there was no place for our bags and any other thing in the room. We could hardly stand 2 of us in the room. The bathroom is another story. One one the smallest bathrooms I have ever experienced. The rooms are not cleaned everyday. Even it is cleaned, the towels are not changed. The walls are thin. So there can be noise anytime. Breakfast is so so. Do not expect much, but you can have cheese-ham-coffee at least with yogurt and fruits. The breakfast area is also not enough for the whole hotel. If you go to breakfast at around 9-10 o'clock, you may have to wait for other tables to leave. When it comes to location, as we are tourists, we have to either walk to PEST to the other side of the bridge or take a tram. Walking takes 50-60mins to the other side-Pest old city areas. The tram station is right next to the hotel. But there is no direct tram to Pest. You have to change to sthg. else. Around the very close area of hotel there is nothing. I saw Rossman 6-7mins walking distance. There is no seating area - like a lobby or reception areas- in the hotel if you are a group. There is a pool right in front if you'd like to use.

    Price is cheap. The beds a re surprisingly comfortable :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.9
    ok hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the toilet is a bit too small

    Well the hotel is in a building which was obviously some kind of administrative object for swimming association or something and it was transformed into a hotel. The toilet size is therefore a bit undersized but manageable. Overall for the money the stay is ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Found a place for our taste in Budapest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small inconvenience: the parking is in the street and between 8-18 it is 175 Ft/hour and you really have to be careful because it seems that they somehow immediately notice you stopped and if you don't pay or forget in the morning, you get a fine.

    We travelled with 3 kids (5 people altogether) and had an apartment with two bedrooms (3+2 beds), a living room with a large sofa a dining and kitchen area (well equipped). It was better than expected, clean and comfortable. I rarely give a score of 10, but this time I can't find anything that I did not appreciate. The breakfast was good and fresh, not luxury, but great, and we appreciate when it seems that they are responsible in not 'overdoing' the breakfast. The gentleman at the reception was just perfect: kind and ready to help (we got hairdryer, goggles, etc.). The swimming pool was great, the entire family (twins of 12 years old and daughter of 17) went down in the morning for an outdoor swim in December in the heated full size pool (but there is an indoor pool as well)! In the evening we could watch a water-polo game from the window of the hotel's dining hall! The location is also great, in the evening we walked through the Margit bridge and in 15 minutes we were in Kossuth square, near the world famous Parliament building. We will definitely come back if we have a chance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    A large swimming pool available for guests till 6PM
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a perfect hotel and the swimming faculty even for the autumn time. The hotel got a small vending machine at the entrance but the mini market is quite far away.

    The location is at the tram spot and the reception was open 24 hours. It had the large outside pool open till 6PM everyday and it was free for the guests. My room was clean and the cleaning maid came everyday for cleaning. Nothing was stolen there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Good place with excellent price-quality ratio.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no meeting facilities, which would have been a plus.

    Good basic level breakfast, but well made and served. Location is excellent and staff very friendly. Rooms are a bit old but clean, swimming facilities next by and a turkish spa very close. Will definitively use again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.9
    We really enjoyed our stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not very comfortable, the third night we suffered of back pain. If you are taller than 175cm you feet will dangle of the end of the bed.

    We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were kind and very helpfull. The rooms where normal, for the price very good. There is a spa right behing the hotel and it was great! Take the tram just infront of the hotel and you are im the city centre in 10 minutes, and on the way you can enjoy the beautiful view of Budapest.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.7
    it was a good choice but rooms should be cleaner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast wasn't good. We didn't get any warm dish, only few kinds of meat, some jam, boiled eggs, bread and tea/coffe. That's not so much...

    good localisation, but there is no parking lot for the hotel guests. You must leave your car on the street and it's extra charge (350huf/hour). Beds are comfy, bathroom with a shower was ok, but both should be cleaner. The best thing was a swimming pool wchich is open for hotel guests from 6am till 6pm. Very kind and helpfull personel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    Good value, great staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was ok but quite limited. It could get a little noisy from the passing trams.

    Location was good for my needs, only 3 tram stops from Margaret bridge or 10 mins walk. The hotel was basic but clean, comfortable and good value. Staff were excellent. Heated pool looked great although I didn't get the chance to use it. 20% discount available for Veli Bej Turkish baths, which were fantastic. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    this place is great just so long as the pool is up and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pool closed and no reduction - i even paid more - that was a big shame - i hadn't been adequately warned that i was closed so was a bit shocked to discover that when i arrived breakfast could be better...

    this place is great just so long as the pool is up and running otherwise 50 percent of the pleasure is gone - if not 100 percent of it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    Simple place to sleep and have a shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could have a little more space, may remind some people of dorm rooms. Price could have been lower.

    Breakfast was simple but fresh. Location close to the Danube. Public pools next door.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On a breakfast you'll get only cold snacks, but in fact breakfast is included in a price of your room (it doesn't make the price of your room more expensive) and it's better to have something than nothing, or you just can skip it and go somewhere else for a breakfast how we did on the second day of our stay.

    First of all, the staff of the hotel. Very helpful, friendly and nice people! We are very thankful for your help, special thanks to Silvia :) (if I'm not mistaken with her name, she worked every night while our stay). Second of all, rooms are small like and bathrooms as well, but have everything needed. It's all about prices, they are really democratic, because you pay like in a hostel for a separate room but get a hotel (nevertheless rooms are bigger comparing with my hostel separate rooms experience), personally I think it is the big plus! And the last thing about the location. It's not in the heart of the city center, but it's only about 6 min walk to the bridge with a great view of Danube and parliament, there are also tram and bus stations, it takes up to 10 min, if you don't want to go by foot about 20 min to the city center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    The room was clean, the staff was really nice and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite small and the air conditioner was not working, but for two nights only it was fine though.

    The room was clean, the staff was really nice and the location is great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Very much satisfied and would probably stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    AC wasn't enough to cool the room when outside temp reaches mid 30s. If the outside climate is warm or cold breeze is blowing then it's ok without AC.

    Location is excellent. Right next to Tram stop.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.4
    extremely budget!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely budget accommodation.Small room,small bed,there were nothing in the room,no tea\coffey maker,even no glass!Poor wi-fi signal,very basic cold breakfast.Rather noisy cause of trams.So-never again.

    Stuff was friendly,and location was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    Price is to high for the qualijty of this hotel, also to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price is to high for the qualijty of this hotel, also to noisy air-co we did not find any control to turn it off, so we had to turn off the power in the room. And awful smell in the morning from the nearby swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.8
    Wc lavatory and bath not good definitely bad you cant wash...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wc lavatory and bath not good definitely bad you cant wash your face its almost like a plate above lavatory there was a big column also bed was not good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Well located hotel, nice and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer in the room that I could see.

    Well located just a short stroll from Magrit hid bridge and the thermal baths. Fridge in the room, air conditioning, fantastic shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff, good location (parking directly outsite the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast (no many choice, almost no hot food), air condition system is working very noicy in the room.

    Friendly staff, good location (parking directly outsite the hotel, but need to pay with coins), clean and quite economy but cute hotel. Outside is big public pool (if arent any events, hotel guests can use it). Outside the room is noisy because of public transport, but if window is closed it is ok. 10 mins walk to the center, parlament. Recommend for sure!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.3
    I do not recommend this hotel at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was totally empty, just the dispenser was regular, and too small for two people. Bedroom was small also.

    The only one thing that really like was the A/C

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    4.6
    * Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom condition is atrocious: if you are easily grossed out by clogging toilets, lack of draining hole (!) on the floor of the bathroom, don't even think about booking there. Room facilities are very run down: for example, holes in the curtains and bed sheets. The huge olympic swimming pool is *NOT* available during the summer months which completely defeats the purpose of a hotel having a swimming pool in the first place.

    * Helpful staff * Breakfast is very good * Location is good, not exactly by the very center of the city, but still only 5 min walk to the river

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Wifi was almost non-existent in my room. I had to go to the breakfast room in order to not lose the connection.

    The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small. It's only a small hotel (40 rooms) and the room is just enough for 2 beds and a sliding door with bathroom. Though we weren't in the room for long through day- it does feel a bit claustrophobic! I think there were slightly bigger rooms I saw but not by much. At the time of stay the FINA world aquatic championships were on. The hotel pool was out of bounds during the time of stay for training. I think this could have been stated prior to booking as it was one of the main reasons we booked the hotel. There are thermal baths down the road we were directed to instead but they are not free and were very very busy. Again, it should have been stated prior or some money given back as that is massive facility out of use that we booked because of. I feel the Hotel would have known in advance so this should have been made clear prior to the event before people booked.

    Sweet pleasant hotel. The staff were very friendly and happy to help with whatever we we needed. The hotel is excellently located with trams outside which are regular and take you all over the city. The breakfast is included and is good for what you need includes bread coffee cereal boiled eggs. Nothing fancy but for what it is - it's very pleasant. The hotel is very clean and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    Ok hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very small and uncomfortable. The airconditioning did not cool the room. Got a parking ticket in front of the hotel 5 minutes after 8 am.

    Location was ok. Breakfast was good. Price was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.0
    Too expensive with low quality rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the following things: - the tram station was so near the object - it was very noisy - low quality of the WiFi signal

    The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    a democratic place with no pretendings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a little bit noisy because of nearby tramline but every room has a conditioner and you don't need to open windows

    it's easy to find the location, near is Lucasz Baths, close to public transport and the huge island with a beatiful park, breakfast is simple but enought to feel full

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.2
    Czaszar Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy due trams passing till late at night and starting early on a morning . I booked especially because of the 3 pools but was disappointed to find them empty due to building work . I would have booked elsewhere had I known . I would have thought hotel should have e mailed me to let me know about this

    Rooms were very clean . Staff friendly and helpful . Free Wi Fi and air con . Breakfast is continental but lots to choose from . Different bread . Cheese , pate, jams ,yoghurts ,eggs and also fruit juice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.9
    simply good hotel , mostly kind service
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like one of the receptionist man, who made us feel very not comfortable! I asked him to call a taxi in the morning and he force us to pay for our room because it was our last day and he thought we try to run away of paying. The way he spoke to us was poor and his customer service specialy. Our laguage was still upsters in the room and I showed him I had only my phone on me, but even like this he was keep pushing us to pay because he said: "it happened to me before..customers just left without paying" wooow... In 4 month we been in the Csaszar Hotel 3 times and rest of the times everyone was very nice and kind so we were suprised!

    very comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    6.3
    Good hotel but don't stay here in the height of summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C struggles to keep the room cool in the summer. The breakfasts aren't the greatest. You only get two twin bed pushed together instead of a double

    The staff were lovely and the rooms were okay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.0
    Cheap accomodation in Budapest, in fair location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All the rooms are facing the street with tramways, which are quite noisy. Poor equipment and poorly operating AC in the rooms.

    The property is located quite close to the center and tourist attractions like: Margit island (nice leisure place) and famous Parliament building. Good internet connection in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Coming back after a few years, same quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the most quiet room, we woke up early because of the trams, rather hot in the room, compensated by the air conditioning system. But it's not a real issue if one is preoccupied with visiting and spending less time indoors.

    Good location, extremely helpful and friendly staff, public transport 20 m from the hotel, good neighborhood, decent breakfast. Can't wait for the pools to open!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    4.2
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wrong room (we booked a big bed, not available when we arrived) not very clean. Impossible to turn off the conditioned air (so noisy!). The iron was so dirty that it almost ruined our clothes. No pillow on one bed, no shampoo, only one big towel and one small towel (we were two). Extremely hot.

    The staff is very kind, both the guy and the girl at the reception are gentle and very professional.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.7
    An OK place in a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was alright, maybe I was expecting a newer room. The toilet was very small. The room had very tall ceilings but it was rather small. We slept in two beds put together and we would hit the wooden frame often. AC was not working very well. Breakfast could have been better, they did not have any warm options, only boiled eggs. No tomatoes, only cucumber cheeses, ham and salami, but various breads and also some sweat options which was alright.

    Staff and location are great. We park in front of the hotel, since it was Saturday it was for free. I think the hotel has parking though, but we did not use it. It is very close to Margit Bridge.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.8
    Staff,location
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small,much like a preson sell-awful!impossible to open the window in the room and there is no air coming in. Lot of noise near the room's window,approximately 50 metrs from the room's window

    Staff,location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.3
    Budget hotel in nice location provides basics.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AC can be used after June 1; all 3 pools were empty in May yet. Noise from street cars. Ventilation by opening windows and door and hallway windows overlooking pools.

    This is a budget hotel, probably former housing for olympic swimming candidates; rooms are small and spartan but everything you need. Bring shampoo and soap. All windows open onto the street where two street car/rapid transit lines run till about 10 pm and again starting at about 6 am. Nice location just north of main attractions; walk to nearest bridge and bus stops. Restaurants nearby, especially tapas place a block north. Wonderful St Lukas baths just a block south. Great help from front desk; speak English. Nice cold buffet breakfast included for the low price!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.9
    Comfy and clean but maybe not worth 50 Euros a night (May 2017)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were very helpful because our beds were in front of each other and if you're over 1,8m high (even maybe 1.7m) you literally wont' fit in it. They still use old tube TV's which are space consuming. More furniture doesn't always mean better especially when they are old, scratched and not very useful. You will also find a desk and a wardrobe but I wonder who still needs it in this range of hotel? (especially if you're here to visit the city). If I was them, I would install the TV on the wall higher (replace by flat), provide a real remote control (with more than 4 buttons) and give all rooms same access to cable TV. And below that TV you put a thinner wardrobe. (Now you would have a impression of space even with 2 beds in 15m²). Another weak point in our room was the bathroom: The tap is right below a wall corner and it's a very tiny tap which makes it almost not usable at all. The shower was less than 1 m² and it has a curtain so it will will obviously stick to you. If you come by car, you will have to park in the street in front (paid on weekdays and free during the weekends). And this is one problem here: All rooms are by the street! So as soon as the tram starts in the morning (around 6am I guess), you will be awake. Maybe if they had soundproof windows that would be much better. Hopefully it doesn't pass every 2 min! (maybe 15/20.)

    The great thing here is the friendly staff and the rooms are very clean. The beds are very comfortable, even with electric plus and lamps above the beds. Some rooms have "double beds" but you have to make sure you want : 2 single beds, 2 singles side-by-side or a real double bed for couple. I think that would help the staff to give you a suitable room. Toilets are sterilized before arrival, this is good news for ladies. The breakfast is good. They have 3 types of bread, apples & oranges, 2/3 cereals, tea, coffee, fruit juice (didn't tried them), jam, meat (i.e. salami), eggs, cheese, yogurts and only cucumber. I would have appreciated a bit more veggies and fruits maybe. The other side of the building gives a view on the olympic swimming-pool which they are rebuilding at the moment, pity. I hope it will be done soon. They have great pictures on the wall about internationals swimming and water-polo competitions that were held there in the 50's or 60's. The hotel is by the Margit island and 150m from the Lukacs bath (outdoor pools). It is also north of the bastions, maybe 20min walk through some nice tiny streets and you go a loop by the center to finish to the parliament and come back. We did everything by foot and it was ok. Just drink a glas of some Tokaji or some palenka on the way and you will feel much better !

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Budapest Csaszar Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: