Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hunguest Hotel Erkel Dürer 4 stars

5700 Gyula, Várkert u.1, Hungary

#5 of 11 hotels in Gyula

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 513 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    never again due to 3 giant cockroaches in room at 8th floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - the 3 giants cockroaches in the room that made us leave immediately when we discovered them - the staff pretended not to understand English and did not offer any compensation for our bad experience plus they charged us for that night even though we could not sleep and just packed to leave

    this is the 4th time at this hotel and we've always been looking to return until now. everything was fine this time also until we spotted 3 giants cockroaches (and our room was at the 8th floor) that ruined all the good experience with this hotel and made us never want to come back again here, i will add pictures if possible later to the review

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - East Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe a dog that didn't stop barking in the neighborhood but that was not up to them.

    Warm and professional staff. Rooms clean. Very good food, in respect to all type of died. Very good access to the baths. Spacious reserved parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.3
    Location, and comfort is OK despite the fact that this hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - West Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food was awful not only for us but also for fellow guests sitting around us. After gaining some experience we had to realize that most of the guests are looking for mass volume food rather then quality hence we had to sadly realize that the poor quality food is at the end down the demand on customer side........eat a lot and do not worry about poor quality:(:( We have stayed 3 nights and after the first experience we have given a second chance to the hotel but then decided to look for a restaurant outside. Service was also poor in the restaurant. We have finished our first course by the time we were offered anything to drink . By the time we have finished the entire dinner we were served the drinks. = no go !! Nevertheless I would have expected significantly better quality food from a "4 star" hotel. Also I have requested an ironing board in our room with iron and the receptionist informed me that this is not available but for a service charge they are happy to iron my shirts.

    Location, and comfort is OK despite the fact that this hotel is an old socialist refurbished hotel with the cheapest materials available. In Western Europe this hotel would hardly hit a 2 star.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.3
    I liked the spa and indoor pool facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - East Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In 2 days they didn’t cleaned the room and I believe was not cleaned also before our arrival because the carpet was not clean. The furniture was broken. When I booked the room I selected to have one queen bed but instead we received two single beds united and when I asked receptionist to change the room with a queen bed he said that the hotel don’t have king or queen bed and he was not polite at all, he was quite ironic.The beds were small with separate sheets.

    I liked the spa and indoor pool facilities. Also breakfast and dinner were good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel, with direct access to the thermal baths
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - East Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a big hotel, nice staff, good food at the restaurant, many dishes to choose from. The room was big enough and clean, balcony, pretty much everything we needed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent experince
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - East Side
    • Stayed 7 nights

    East side of Hotel is a little far away from spa and temperature in room was high.

    It was amazing experience. Spa and Wellnes in Hotel are amazing. Termal water is just incredible. Breakfast and Dinner were delicious, with a lot of specialities. We had a perfect time. Gyla city is also incredible. Little, beautiful city with a lot of flower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Hunguest Erker
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - West Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal very low

    We stay in the 4**** wing and every thing was perfect. Location, hotel facilities, food exccelent, aqua park. The room was very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.8
    Enjoyable but poor services considering the price we paid for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor selection of meals though plenty of it. Rooms were not cleaned at all during our 4 day stay. We had to ask the cleaning ladies to change the towels after the first day. They changed them every day afterwards but never cleaned the room once!!! Furniture is chipped and old. Bathroom was never cleaned during our stay plus a stale smell in the room! With the exception of the reception staff nobody spoke any other language nut Hungarian making communication a real pain!!! Wireless is free but rubbish. We had to connect to the mobile data! Price of the room awfully expensive considering the poor quality of the services. We stayed in the Durer wing which is supposedly 4 star but I wouldn't rate it any higher than a 3 star on a good day! The only positive thing is the food, which is basic but plentiful and the included access to the pools!

    The access to the pools included in the price!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.5
    Great stay but please replace the mattresses
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - East Side
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses were the only think that we did not like. They were firm, uncomfortable. They need to replace them with foam mattress a little softer in all 4 stars hotel rooms.

    Pools, food, good staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Food, rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - East Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked a little ketchup from one of the waiters (a guy around 35-45), and he seemingly ignored my request for rather long, then after 4 minutes he realised I'm not giving up waiting for him, he brought some. It is a nightmare to get there by car... no highways. Just busy 2 lane roads with trucks, which make it very dangerous to overtake them.

    Food, rooms. Direct connection to the bath with slides. Great for families with kids.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay, issue with access by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - East Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access by car imposible because some roudes where closed. Talk to staff but they where not very helpful

    Great brekfast an dinner. Loved the fact that the entry to aquapark was included and that you did not need to go outside to get there

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    best choise for gyula if you want to go for relaxing, spa and swimming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - West Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is nothing i can complain about or that i didn't like

    all you need is included! meals and entrance to the pools and also aqua palota (if you stay in the 4* part of the hotel)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    10
    relax holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - East Side
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was very good, Staff on the reception was ver helpfull, during my stay I had some problem with internet conneection regarding my emails but managment resolve my problem in very efficase way. Hotel is connected with thermal wellnes. Room very clean and Hotel is very clean. Parking of front of the Hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    9.2
    Great place to rest for a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - East Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door card system could be improved as cards were not working properly even after second programming. The tv channel list is ridiculous.

    Excellent hotel with well trained staff. Durer rooms are large and pleasant. Everything is clean, and there is clear attention to the guest. The food was great and very tasty. Complementary access to the Varfurdo and Aquapalota is so good to enjoy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Wasn't wat I've expected, it was much more!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - West Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think they should clean the rooms in the time that you're at breakfast, after that people may want to relax in a fresh clean bed!

    Live music at diner! Gorgeous!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing atmosphere, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent and diverse food.Good service at the restaurant. Helpful, polite and friendly staff.Access to all pools.Clean and quiet.Very relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Best choice in Gyula
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is very friendly. Great variety of pools, saunas. Right in the town centre. Can highly recommend it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    I'm pleasantly surprised
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - East Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Food is diverse and quality. The beds are comfortable. the interior is perfect, and especially the bathroom. The spa and swimming pools are good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - West Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, easy acces to spa.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - East Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Comfortable, close to thermal baths, good breakfast and dinner menu

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Great for relaxation and recreation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - East Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    The coffee and coctails were very good in the Violin Bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    The location, the fact that it is directly connected to all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - East Side
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, the fact that it is directly connected to all available facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    I had a baby cot and bath in the room:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - East Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a baby cot and bath in the room:)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.3
    No coffee 4 stars
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - East Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The so call 4 star resort hotel do not have the iron& ironing board and also no coffee making facilities in the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Great stay will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - West Side
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is hard, not enough spots.

    Swimming pool, toddler bed, food, service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.6
    Aqua park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - East Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Courtains allow light in.

    Aqua park is great. Surprisingly nice little town, with park, castle, lake , canal, 100 year old confisserie.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.2
    Too many children in sauna area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - West Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too many children in sauna area.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel for wellness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - West Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Pools and wellness of the hotel are very nice. Location of the hotel. Rooms are good with comfort beds

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    7.1
    Everything is average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We came from Oradea, Romania (where we live) and I must say that it wasn't worth it. The new Lotus Therm hotel and aquapark in Baile Felix blows this place out of the water. The food at the Hunguest Hotel is average to below average while at the Lotus Therm is was very good and they also give you free wine and beer. The Gyula Baths were not very impressive and the water was almost cold while at the Lotus Therm the water was hot and the aquapark attached to the hotel is very attractive. If you're coming to Gyula this might be a great place but if you have your choice drive the extra hour to Oradea, you won't regret it!

    Everything is average. The food, the hotel, the staff, the spa.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    10
    Beautiful little town with a few excellent cafes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet was a bit slow sometimes

    Beautiful little town with a few excellent cafes. Good service Direct access to spa through an in-door corridor. Very comfortable in winter! Little skating pond opposite the hotel. Staff is helpful, friendly and professional. Rooms are very spacious and recently refurbished. Beds very very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    9.6
    An easy and convenient way to get into Várfürdő (entry...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was a bit tiered and they were dodging answering questions sometimes. But they were respectful and professional non the less.

    An easy and convenient way to get into Várfürdő (entry included in the room price). You get a robe for free that you can use inside the baths. The hotel gave us a welcome drink, 2x15min of massage, as an extra they had a soup buffet between 12:00-13:00. Large variety of food at breakfast and evening meal. The hotel also has a pretty big wellness area with a lot of different saunas, and a big Jacuzzi. Free entry to the parking space even if on booking.com it says you have to pay (we were told on the spot that its free of charge).

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    6.3
    Thermal Bath’s direct connection is a good thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some basic things must be cleared regarding this hotel. Although it has a 4* wing all the rest is the old 3* Hunguest hotel with all the old facilities (and people) inherited 40yrs ago. Doesn’t worth half the price for this level of services. WORST DINING EXPERIENCE ! Food is unbelieveably low quality. Something at a level which cannot be solved with some minor tweaks… Oldschool hungarian dishes, horrible meats, everything is soaking in oil, no options for any food intolerances whatsoever. Poor range of choices, Tasteless desserts.. Just simply feels like every single thing is a clumsy awkwardness in this restaurant. SPA IS A JOKE ! Despite a decent sauna and steam, the size of the spa area will make you surprise! it is convenient for about up to 30 people. In a hotel with 270 rooms… you do the math. Our visit was in a cold November weekend, the ROOM TEMPERATURE IS SET TO 21 CELSIUS, thats right! Meaning you just won’t get any warmer (confirmed by staff) so we managed to get an oil heater in the middle of the night from a technical guy. Room lacks any wall decoration. No painting, not a clock, nothing at all. Just plain painted wall everywhere. 80% of the guests are old people (which is understandable because of the thermal bath&treatments)(most of the bath looks and feels like you’re in a hospital from the 60’s) ..but you should think of this when choosing an accomodation.

    Thermal Bath’s direct connection is a good thing. Decent room size with balcony (4*) Parking

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    Pozitia: mai bine nu se poate-liniste, verdeata, aproape de...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nimic !

    Pozitia: mai bine nu se poate-liniste, verdeata, aproape de centru, comunicare directa cu baile,parcare generoasa,usor de gasit. Mancare: welcome drinks -o surpriza placuta,mic dejun si cina excelent, foarte variat si bine pregatit.Desi am avut pachet demipensiune la amiaza am beneficiat suplimentar de o ciorba si felul doi mancare cu legume iar dupa-amiaza ceai si prajiturele. Totul foarte curat, camere izolate fonic si personal extrem de amabil. Desi in ultima zi am predat camera am lasat masina in parcare pana seara fara nici un cost suplimentar.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    8.8
    It's a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a great location. Hotel itself is a very nice and food is great (4 star area). I've been there in the SPA 25 years ago and I have to say that it is improved a lot. Because of composition of the water, smell in indoor pool area used to be not too pleasant. Now you can hardly smell it. Gyula is also pretty nice and clean place. Warm recommendation for not more than 4 to 5 days.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    8.8
    Excellent location, good food, clean hotel, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Awful WiFi, on and off all the time. Staff hardly speak any foreign language. Hard mattresses. Very basic gym.

    Excellent location, good food, clean hotel, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    7.9
    Food was bad, not horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Food was bad, not horrible

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    9.2
    Very good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing to note!

    Very good location! Very pleased with the services provided! A big plus is the direct connection with the thermal baths!

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    9.6
    NICE PLACE TO ESCAPE FROM THE CITY AND HAVE A BRAKE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    NOTHING, I LIKED EVERYTHING

    NICE PLACE TO ESCAPE FROM THE CITY AND HAVE A BRAKE

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    9.2
    Clean, quite and nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean, quite and nice location.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    8.3
    I agree with the current rating of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I agree with the current rating of the hotel. food could be a little more diverse

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    4.6
    It is not a 4 stars hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is not a 4 stars hotel. The restaurant is bad, they treat you like a thief.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    7.9
    Water
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the staff did not speak englesh

    Water

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    7.1
    spa access, nice half board
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    when changed the booking in the hotel, the rate changed also :o(

    spa access, nice half board

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    7.9
    Access to the pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The food was just okay; I'd give it a 6 out of 10.

    Access to the pool area. Didn't have to worry about food as we chose the half-board option.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    10
    Everything is exellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything is exellent

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: