Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Griff 3 stars

1113 Budapest, Bartók Béla út 152, Hungary

Review score

Based on 431 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    6.6

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    3.3
    Wi-Fi worked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's like traveling 30 years back in time. Except then you wouldn't have all the wear and tear That things are old is fine. But failure to clean the bathroom properly is not: hair on the tiles, a pube on the toilet seat, mole on the tiles etc. Very thin doors. So you there's a lot of noise from the hallway. The staff was not rude. But neither were they particularly friendly.

    Wi-Fi worked. Internet worked.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    2.5
    The worst service I’ve had in the last 5 years
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Least favorite bit were the staff. Highlight was asking the receptionist which good restaurants were around and being told “this is none of my business, go google it”. Multiple receptionists were incredibly rude, the room was dirty and didn’t have AC and the towels were not changed frequently. for the price you would expect at a minimum polite staff and a clean room. Would be far better off in a $20 hostel in town. Hotel just across the road is far nicer, politer staff and clean rooms with AC

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    A great weeks stay. Smile at the staff and they'll be really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv remote could've had some decent batteries and the sink could've done with a plug.

    Not to be confused with the budget hostel next door!! It's showing its age but is good value for money and we loved the location at the end of the train line. Only down side was a party of schoolchildren who were a bit noisy. Other than that, absolutely fine for what it is, a budget hotel out of town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn't book it again, sorry!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They couldn't find our reservation we made ahead. Then they founded. Than not anymore. Than yes but the room wasn't ready and we had to wait for 2 hours.... Oh my!!! Mold and mildew in the bathroom...eeeek! Very old tv and not working fridge. Terrible wifi. Breakfast was very limited in amount and choice.

    within 30 minutes walk we could be in the city but you can get there also by public transportation. Parking wasn't an issue.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Very confortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv was not working, old furniture, breakfast was not really good.

    Very confortable beds. Good dinner at the restaurant. Close to public transport stations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    2.5
    awful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    all

    i was feeling like it was the worst 3 stars hotel i ever stayed in. right from the reception: i was obligated to pay before(if i could saw the room before sure I would not have stayed): the room was little and it was cold (with old windows), the AC did not work, the light was awful ....the bathroom was terrible with broken tile, defective equipment and horrible painting. the towels were not changed and the room was not cleaned for 3 days as I stayed there. the breakfast was always the same and not very attractive and the dinner was terrible - a pre-set menu that was not even displayed and served on the run without counting whether you like it or not. never come back

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.5
    Friendly and helpful communication with the staff in English.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some facilities requires refurbishment such as bathroom or TV set as well as to provide a foreign customer with other TV programmes than Hungarians ones solely. The hot water temperature from the tap should be considered to decrease.

    Friendly and helpful communication with the staff in English.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    3.3
    Don't go there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed overnight, and thank God that we were there for only one night. Everything in this hotel is old but was not the problem. The most significant problem with this hotel was the cleanliness, in particular, its lack. The bathroom was honestly dirty. The room was also dusty and unpleasant. The bed was hard, the mattress was made of something like recycled cardboard. As it comes to the blankets, they were too small, even for me (my height is 1.60 m) and the pillows were too soft, when you lie down on it is like they do not exist. We had a prepaid half board that wasn't so bad, but there was a problem with, too. Generally, they offer three types of a menu for the half board, but we hadn't any choice, they just served us something. Actually the main dish was tasty, but still, the salad wasn't fresh at all and according to me, we should have a choice. The dessert was below any standards. e And of course, the free wi-fi was available only in the lobby and in the restaurant.

    The main dish of the dinner, actually the only thing that was ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast is good enough, staff/watresses are helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had two issues: there was no central heating in October (outside temp.: 5Celsius) and the window couldn't be closed properly. The mattress is soft and for big guys surely would be not comfortable.

    Breakfast is good enough, staff/watresses are helpful. Location in the city is convenient. Parking is easy. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    3.8
    Not one to be repeated!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception team was not helpful. The rooms had NO internet access despite giving the impression wi-fi is freely available. There was NO BBC channel despite the room information sheet saying this was the case. When asked for help, reception did not want to know. The breafast was dreadful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    2.5
    I never go to this hotel again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    The air conditioner not work, the bed not confortable, the TV bad quality, the dinner under expectations, the hotel building is not what you see in the pictures, those are only offices, the hotel is back in a rather damaged building.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.7
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We normally book direct at a rate of approximately £30 for 2 people bed and breakfast There were no rooms available direct so we booked through booking.com at a rate of £100 for a night. The breakfast was far worse than usual and the room was definitely not worth £100 (we assumed we would be given a far better room than usual)

    Handy for the railway station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    A typical Hungarian 3-star hotel, will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The view from my room was to the parking lot but it did not matter since I did not spend much time in the room.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. The girl in the reception made my day with her smile even early morning and the cleaning staff had made a spot from my shirt placed on a chair to disappear. Breakfast tasty with hot and cold dishes. The room was big and bed was very confortable. The hotel is located on a quiet area about 20min from Budapest city centre by public transport, trams 49 and 19 stop just across the street from the hotel and Kelenföld train/metro station is about 5min walk from the hotel so if you are looking for a city hotel, this is not your option but if you want a hotel with great price/quality relation with good transportation links just like me, I warmly recommand this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    4.6
    No grammys for this place. Needs warmer feeling over all.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the beds, some motor sounds or deep drone, going all trough the night at least where room 208 was. Lighting is cold and factory like. The breakfast was very poor and the little that was there was none attractive. Not even the coffee was decent. This hotel has possibilities to shape up and become great, but right now the managers and owners of Griff are in the dark. Let me know if you need further advice. I'd be happy to give it. How about starting to paint the place is some warm friendly colors?

    The location was fine

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.0
    Not up to standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well... where to start... this hotel seems to still be stuck in the communist era. That's in a way kinda interesting and charming for a western tourist, but there are a few things that really are inacceptable. I hope the management will read my review and will take a few things in consideration as to improve their product. When I arrived the receptionist was filling out a crossword puzzle. I walked in, stood in front of him for a few minutes, took my passport out of my bag and placed it in front of him. No reaction. It was when I said Hello myself that he looked up and greeted me. He then checked me in in a friendly manner, but he should have greeted and welcome me from the moment I entered the lobby. This is also important from a security point of view. Regarding this, at the back of the hotel the door was constantly open, day and night. Everybody could have walked in unseen by the reception, not safe. When I checked out, the girl just said 'Thank you' when I returned the key and didn't ask how my stay was or wished me a good trip. This should be standard, regardless of how expensive or fancy a hotel is. This kind of service doesn't cost anything and is crucial for guest satisfaction. (Great first and last impression) I guess there is possibly not a lot of money to invest (it's not an expensive hotel, let's be honest) but it would be a great idea to change the curtains. In my room the curtains were totally worn off and bleached by the sun. In case there is some more money to invest, new furniture would also be a good idea. But most of all, I was shocked by the breakfast display. Food was lying uncovered for multiple hours in 34 degrees heat. For example the meat display was next to an open window! The liver pate was brown around the edges and overall the meats and cheeses didn't look edible anymore at 9.30 am. There were flies above the food too, very unhygenic.

    The location. It is walking distance from Kelenföld station and across a tramstop to the center. As I was on my way to Lake Balaton, being close to Kelenföld station was an advantage for me.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    3.3
    very upset
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    - commission if you pay by euro card...3,5%! - breakfast bad, when you are coming after 8-8.30 seems that they don't wait you already, start to reserve tables for lunch... you can use several tables, don't renew the food, you can eat only the rest food, which were stay after the first bench of people, very bad coffee - one coffeemaker with sweet!!haha cappuccino - they even said that yes, it is normal and you can`t change it in the setting of the machine, the second coffee machine usually they don't switch on it - but there you can take non-sweet cappuccino, but the quality of that anyway so bad... poor choice of food, not fresh food, they definitely use food from previous day. - Wi-fi is working only in lobby,very bad connection in room!!! - very uncomfortable bed and pillow, had a pain in my back after this bed. Once they just forget to clean our room, another day they forgot to leave the towels at all- when I asked manager about it, she said "i didnt forget"(she means that it was the mistake of cleaning person, but you are manager!you have to manage workers and working process. Dont renew the soap in our room, when it was done (or put it so small mount....- guys it is not expensive!!) - Jacuzzi and sauna are available for money!!(no info in booking, thats it is for additional payment) - style of hotel- like in USSR - the kettle was broken (fortunately, they change it...when I ASKED!) - TV is old and working only several channels. - no air-hole/hood or smth in bathroom, very bad- all smells in your room! - only one charger station near bed (in the room for two persons) i have been in Siofok in 3 stars hotel, but it is not competitive, I would say the hotel Griff is 2 stars maximum! very upset that I chose this hotel...not recommend for anyone!

    Music in the elevator, nothing more..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    4.2
    Dated hotel well past its golden days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in our room didn't work, resulting in impossibly hot nights. The buffet breakfast was very disappointing; the scrambled eggs were made from powder and the bread and cereal were very old. It's also a good half hour away by tram from the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    Average hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot. I didn't know how to get the ac to work, but it's my fault I didn't go to ask. Pillows are huge, but i made one of the blankets into a thinner pillow, so it worked out.

    I was happy they had a late check in (after 1 am i checked in). It saved me. I was stuck in hostel I didn't like. And quickly decided to escape to a hotel. It has all the necessities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    4.6
    Dissappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mould in the shower. Water tap was broken. The breakfast food looked and tasted like it was made many days before. Other meals were either stale or looked like they came from a can. Everything in the hotel was old and worn.

    Staff was nice, even though they didn't speak much english. Access to public transportation was ok.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    6.3
    Good points: close to tram and nice gym!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed from Sunday to Thursday, and on Monday and Tuesday at night there was no warm water to take a shower! There is Wi-Fi in the room but is intermittent. Breakfast was not full of delicious options as usual breakfasts in hotels, but is ok! There was dust in the furnitures in the bedroom, so if you have allergy to dust, take your medicines with you in case you choose this Hotel!

    Gym and location!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    2.5
    No ac.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No ac. Not clean. Bathroom bad. Very old hotel. Scary hollway.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    2.5
    Never want to remind in my memory
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very very disappointed and destroy our travel emotion..... never want to remind this hotel.....

    Noth8ng.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.0
    Squash
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Functional that's all. Breakfast not the best

    Squash

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    6.3
    Very close to Kelenfold station.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not provide breakfast if leave before breakfast start. Electric kettle do not works.

    Very close to Kelenfold station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    good quality/price ratio
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    too much heated - not very good wifi access - old TV with very few available channels

    the gluten-free option for breakfast the wellness centre

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    6.7
    Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    service attitude not good enough

    Great breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.5
    The heating was piping hot and I couldn't sleep well in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating was piping hot and I couldn't sleep well in the heated room. It was not possible to regulate it nor turn it down.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    3.8
    Terrible receptionists, cold welcome.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terrible receptionists, cold welcome... Location was way out of city centre, but still high charge for car parking near hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    6.7
    .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not comfortable bed and the breakfasf is not good.

    Good location, nice staff and acces to the gym.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    6.3
    Great location, helpful staff but could do with a lick of paint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Still looks a little tired, even 2 years after I first stayed there

    Good location, staff helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.3
    Shower needs a great upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower needs a great upgrade

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.8
    for short stay is ok
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom, showers stall needs a major up great, renovation, the breakfast used to be better

    Good location and public transportation

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.0
    Not to repeat before the renovation.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No comments, no words...

    Needs a renovation urgently

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.0
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning did not work. No money exchange facilities in hotel or nearby Breakfast almost over by 0830

    Location close to tram station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.4
    Major renovation would be needed compared to others in the same price category.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Older hotel. Major renovation would be needed compared to others in the same price category.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.4
    I would not go back that place is for back packers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    that the Wi Fi was only in the lobby

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice breakfast, easy to reach by public transportation at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice breakfast, easy to reach by public transportation at any time day & night. Enough big room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    best breakfast in Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nought I didn't like

    best breakfast in Budapest. Quiet, clean, good mix of traveller, family, coach, and business visitor

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    what is a genius perk
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    what is a genius perk

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    Everything was fine, although I didn´t stay very long.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine, although I didn´t stay very long.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    6.7
    Visit to Budapest
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely cold in the room (17-18 c) and no heating

    The breakfast was perfect. The business facilities reasonable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    7.1
    business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ok

    location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    6.3
    It was walking distance to Kelenfold train/bus station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was walking distance to Kelenfold train/bus station

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.5
    The breakfast was lovely
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit run down and noisy

    The breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    6.3
    Dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building was obviously in need of modernisation

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.3
    tres confortable acces en ville excellent et très simple personnel serviable
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    excellent breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    2.9
    Very rude staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are rude. When someone is flushing the toilet from the above water came through the ceiling and dropped onto me!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.2
    Good value for money and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be better, but okay.

    Near to trainstation and Metro line 4.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    6.7
    The first time I went for breakfast,not knowing any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The first time I went for breakfast,not knowing any Hungarian -- my fault -- the "maitre d" was very unhelpful : I asked for "coffee?" and he just pointed me to a hot water machine...........There was no indication whatsoever where one may have obtained tea or coffee -- there was nothing that even looked like a tea/coffee machine. I was made to feel so unwelcome -- "Don't bother to come in here if you can't speak my language" -- that I didn't even try to go to breakfast on the further two days of my stay. To rub further salt into this particular wound,the in-room coffee/tea service consisted of no more than two sachets of either Earl Gray or Green tea, -- no coffee -- 3/4 sachets of sugar,but no milk.......... Budapest is such a beautiful,wonderful city,and the Hunguest Hotel Griff does not do it,or itself, justice.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    7.5
    IT is clean and no noise, with gym and massage place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The towl has too be renew, colour is old. And The pillow is not good,maybe too Old too. Heater is not really working in The bathroom. Wifi connection should be covered everywhere. Breakfast should be some more dishes, and better coffe

    IT is clean and no noise, with gym and massage place

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    7.9
    I have stayed here many times and like it because;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have stayed here many times and like it because; its location is close to the railway station; tram stop with regular trams into the city are outside; free wifi; clean and comfy rooms; it is good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    5.0
    Great choice of breakfast and it was delicious.
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of professionalism... staff was extremely rude. No smile, no 'want-to-help' attitude. Cleaners were shouting on the corridor, receptionists were very unfriendly. Once I just had a question, the receptionist was on the phone (personal call) and she didn't finish the call, kept me waiting while she was talking with a friend.

    Great choice of breakfast and it was delicious. Spa services were good.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    9.6
    Big hotel, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Cold water in jacuzzi.

    Big hotel, good breakfast. Perfect for those with limited budget, 10-15 minutes with tram to the center of the city. I recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    5.4
    Terrible old, dirty and rusty bathroom with grey towels,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Terrible old, dirty and rusty bathroom with grey towels, hose not working properly - splashing water everywhere. Disgusting breakfast, lot of strange people in the breakfast room stealing the food in their bags (speaking Russian)...

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    8.3
    Good location, good price, nice big rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was not great - water for hot drinks was lukewarm, among other things. In-room kettle would not work as it kept blowing the fuses.

    Good location, good price, nice big rooms. I always stay here when I'm in Budapest. Nice to have wifi in the rooms at last!

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    5.0
    It's close to the tram and also train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The check in was in the middle of the night and the male staff was not welcoming at all. The breakfast was really bad. 30min before the end, the buffet was already empty. The tables were dirty, nobody took care about it. The staff in the restaurant was not friendly at all.

    It's close to the tram and also train station. The ladies at the reception were quite helpful whenever I had a question.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    5.0
    Terrible smell in the room, even on the second evening,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Terrible smell in the room, even on the second evening, after the windows were open a whole day. The water didn't drain down from the bathroom floor, there was no tool to do resolve it, so in the bathroom you have to stand in 2 cm water. The white bedclothes were gray.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.1
    Public transport right outside, quite location, mainline...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Shower poor condition, no English TV channels,

    Public transport right outside, quite location, mainline train, tram and underground stations close by, clean and tidy, helpful staff plenty of facilities

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    8.3
    We stayed in the hotel 4 nights and we can not complain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only unpleasant think was the shower which leaked out and the floor in the bathroom was still wet.

    We stayed in the hotel 4 nights and we can not complain. Reasonable price for what you get. It is quite far from the city centre, but tram and railway station are just in front of the hotel. Breakfast was very good and we really enjoyed our stay. We can recomend it to everybody.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    4.2
    Very good accessibility by public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had room No. 110. Shower tray was dirty and covered with dots of mould. Curtains in the room were dirty. Air-condition didn't cooperate with remote controller. Breakfast - good and variable. Only French toast, scrambled eggs were quite fatty. No dessert. Coffee machine didn't make coffee - be careful what you choose from the control panel. Check out at 10:00 am was non-discussable.

    Very good accessibility by public transport.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.5
    It's a big hotel not in the center but with a very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast (comparing to other places in Hungary) was not good. Air - condition didn't work first night.. and the staff could do.. nothing.

    It's a big hotel not in the center but with a very good connection - take a tram :) Clean and airconditioned. Ther was breakfast included in the price..

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    4.6
    Acceptable location, metro station nearby, good public...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Unfriendly staff, especially the waiters at the breakfast- restaurant, they even do not say good morning... Dirty rooms, poor cleaning: you can find the same dust in the evening after "cleaning"... Airconditioner did not work (37¤C outside - 35 inside), malfunctioned even after two changes of rooms, and most probably never cleaned - stinky and unhealty airflow... Poor installation in the bathroom, shower, toilet etc. from the '90-s, partly broken... Breakfast after 8:00am ? - forget it, more or less nothing left, and the waiters are not willing to fill up... Saturdays noisy wedding parties organized at the main restaurant, with open doors and windows to the backyard, so no sleep without ears protection...

    Acceptable location, metro station nearby, good public transport connections

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    5.4
    The price and quality was pretty much in balance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First of all the customer service in the reception was below zero! At our arrival we encountered an old man with grey hair, who didn't look us in the eyes once. He mumbled everything really silently, alltough his English was totally ok! When we asked him basic questions the answer was one word. The next day we met an older lady with a blond bob, and the customer service was almost as bad. So don't wait for any normal kind of communication when you come to this hotel! "Welcome! How can I help you? Is there something more you want to know" - are phrases the staff don't know at this hotell. They look like they want to hide behind the desk. And then about the location. First we estimated that it's not that far from the centrum, but yes it is! It takes about 30-45 min to the centrum and it might get into your nerves when it's +40 in the tram.

    The price and quality was pretty much in balance. Extrapoints for a very comfy bed! Our room was very well-cleaned and they chanced our towels every day. The tram stop was in front of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    4.6
    Good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not clean at all, holes in the wall, a/c didnt work in 1 room, pillows made out of feathers!, Rude receptionist, and a lot of other problems...

    Good price

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    6.3
    Beds were comfy, staff were fairly ok with english.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel had an electrical fault on the allocated floor, which was beyond their control so we were moved to another hotel, called Hotel Ventura. Wifi was on available by reception - Resturant area, the room had no aircon, a broken shower head, which made showering very difficult! Plus the 5 min walk to the station (which was used daily) turned into a 25 min treck, and no complimentary taxi, ruined the trip really.

    Beds were comfy, staff were fairly ok with english. Food was also better than expected.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    6.7
    The rooms are ok for the price paid, though the bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel staff was very rude and unfrendly which is a pitty, because the hotel itself is not bad, but the attitude of their staff downgrade my overall impression. They do not even speak good English, so it makes it even more difficult to communicate with them. The worst for me was the restaurant staff, they were very unfriendly. They did not want to give me even a little bit of ice.

    The rooms are ok for the price paid, though the bathroom facilities are quite old. The rooms have a fridge so you can keep your own food in your room. Breakfast was good and varied, although the restaurant staff was very rude and unfrendly. Next to the hotel there is a fitness center and hotel guest are allowed to use their facilites for free once a day: they have a sauna, a jacuzzi, etc. The Hotel location is also great, there is a tram stop next to the hotel's main entrance and there you can take the tram lines 19 to go to Buda's castle and the 49 to go to Pest (Central Market).

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    6.3
    - Wi-Fi in room (although it was not promised, just in hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    -reception was overloaded during peak hours which result in long waiting - terrible bathroom

    - Wi-Fi in room (although it was not promised, just in hotel hall)

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly and help full staff, located next to the Tram...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No WI- FI in the room

    Very friendly and help full staff, located next to the Tram, only 30 minutes from center of Budapest [ Pest ] Great Breakfast Buffet. Save and secure parking for the Car.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    9.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On the last night the old chap on reception wasn't the friendliest I've encountered..spotted him late on with his shoes and socks off with his feet on the reception desk watching football...reminded me of basil fawlty..

    Friendly staff..especially gegerly who couldn't do enough for my wife Sharron who is disabled..great breakfast and service..

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    9.6
    Everything was great from day 1 till the ed of our week.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    One of the restuarant staff was rude and shouting with us, becuase we took a small plate with some breakfast for one of us who was sick in the room and after asking for permission from his workmate. Pillow are too thick

    Everything was great from day 1 till the ed of our week. Enjoyes the jacuzzi and suana, staff is helpful.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    7.9
    I liked the location and the breakfast was goo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hair dryer!

    I liked the location and the breakfast was goo.room was fairly clean.Electronic kettel and refrigerator was great for the money! But it didnt have hair drier. Staff were heplfull and very collaborating, they have safe room for loggages after check out. Tram to the center was just opposit the hotel and took about 10 minutes to get to the center. Over all it worth the money. The building was old, huge and clean.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    5.0
    I have reached the hotel very easely and I could walk by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was another couple, I guess, at the same floor which was very noisey. The girl was screaming and crying.

    I have reached the hotel very easely and I could walk by foot the whole day and it didn't feel like I could get lost and find again the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    8.3
    Good for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was water with juice instead of juice. Old tv.

    Good for the price. Cleanless, reception, close to tram, pretty good coffee for breakfast. There was Eurosport in tv!!!

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    6.7
    The place itself is good and cheap, and you can take sauna.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The redhaired receptionist showed classic hungarian hospitality: passive aggressiveness. I was almost scared of asking her anything. No wifi in the rooms. The free breakfast was not really any good.

    The place itself is good and cheap, and you can take sauna. Close to public transportation.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    10
    The hotel is closed to the centre of Budapest, easy access...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The hotel is closed to the centre of Budapest, easy access with two tram lines stopping in front of the hotel. Room was spacious and quiet with a good size en suite bathroom. Staff at the reception were very pleasant and helpful. All spoke English. Room cleaned every day by very polite and respectful ladies. Coffee and tea topped up as needed on a daily basis. The breakfast buffet had lots of choices, all of them available at all time. Vey attentive and efficient breakfast staff. The WIFI was available from the lobby. No problem with access or speed. Use of the sauna and Jacuzzi was a very nice plus. Would book again and recommend to my friends and family. Excellent value for the price paid. Small detail: TV channels are in Hungarian except Eurosport in German but not a big deal.

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: