Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Nagyerdő

4032 Debrecen, Pallagi út 5, Hungary

#16 of 18 hotels in Debrecen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 736 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.7
    Standard hotel at a perfect location for an active family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel had a lower standard than expected. Breakfast is OK but no more than that. Dinner buffé is not worth the money.

    The location is perfect for families. Walking distance to aqua park, zoo, sports facilities, the large park with many attractions. Good communications to city centre by tram. Nice and quiet surroundings. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire hotel needs to be renovated. The rooms are disgusting. There was just a sheet on the mattress. A new mattress was placed over an old box spring that was badly stained. The carpet was filthy, the fixtures in the bathroom were ancient. We’ve travelled through 7 European countries and stayed in numerous hotels and this by far was the worse. The only reason it has any star rating is it’s prox to the football stadium and park.

    The staff at reception and a bartender

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.8
    The hotel is very well located if you are would like to stay...
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room overlocated to the garden and the bathroom was not really clean. We wanted to have a rest, but we were unable as there was an old group (about 20 peoples) in the garden singing old hungarian songs loudly. We were complaining about it and asked the reception to change our room, but they was not willing, but the singing from the garden was really disturbing. We know that at least half of the hotel was empty and they could have given us a new room if they wanted to. At above all there was an very noisy old fridge in the room and we couldt do with it anything as there was carpet under the fridge and in the whole room and we didnt wanted to make it wet.

    The hotel is very well located if you are would like to stay near the spa. It has free parking place however the parking is on the street is free. The room was furnished with old type things, but the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.3
    FOOD POISONED!!!! But otherwise....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My stay was from the 5 th of february until the 9 th 2018. Halfboard included. On the last evening of my 4 day stay, thursday the 8 th, they served a soup with shrimps. I had just a spoonful, beacause it did not taste okay. Next day i felt sick. Just in time when I had to leave for the airport, I did throw up,and I do really mean throw up, headache fever, bad stonmach etc. My hometravel with wizzair on friday was to say the least horrible. Otherwise the hotel was good value, good room/bed, clean.etc. old, but everything functioned well, even the wifi functioned in the room. I wrote to the hotelI to complain and ask for compensation in some way. . NO REPLY!

    Location next to Aqauticum

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    wonderfull time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is in a wondefull place. the tram is 50 meter from the entrance. also the staff is great, they do everything to help. We anjoy the food and the parking place and the snow. the place is really quiet and the beds are good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.5
    Just to stay outside the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    room is old-styled, food (dinner especially) was worse then I expected, nothing sweet for breakfast, typical hungarian food, restaurant is quite dirty and adapted more only for Hungarians, not for english-speakers.

    Location is fine, close to Aquaticum, zoo and the park Nagyerdo, staff is helpfull

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant 4 days Spa break in Debrecen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Furniture and decorations in the rooms quite aged, however functional

    Cleanliness, friendly staff, location close to Aquaticum Thermal and Mediteranean Spa, good food - both breakfast and dinner buffet, tasty and varied.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    8.3
    overall a good stay- value for money
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good beds good dinner

    The beds were uncomfortable-they can give back pain easily the dinner of sub-standard quality though desserts were good breakfast is ok internet very weak on upper floors

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.5
    The Dinner time was not long enough.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Dinner time was not long enough. The food quickly run out. If you had arrived late evening, there was no chance to have a dinner, however it was included.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    The buffet selection was awesome ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet selection was awesome , The bath and sauna facility was nice. Close to tram station,nice park around.Fee steps from the Aquapark. Would stay here again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    2.5
    Easy reach of park and stadium
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad...first I was over charged. Thr total cost was supposed to be £99 for three nights but they charged me €200 !! Secondly food choices were very minimal for me as I'm vegetarian. On top of that the room had bugs even after notifying the reception and I couldn't sleep properly as a result. Overall I was very disappointed and my holiday wasn't at all relaxing. I suggest you give me some compensation for this as refund is not possible at this stage. I await your reply ASAP please. Fazeela Torabally Sent from my Samsung Galaxy smartphone.

    Easy reach of park and stadium

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.5
    nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bad dealing from reception girl at morning time

    location - tall building 9 floor - food is delicious and very good - restaurant people are very kind - old style - cafeteria - make discount for room fees

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.5
    Location & staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are 1960's décor/facilities. Food was included in the price, but of poor quality. Buffet service doesn't work on hot food, and the quality of some things - mashed potato, for example - simply not good enough.

    Location & staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.3
    Generall good hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge in the room made a lot of noice. Some of the installments were very old and were coming out of the walls.

    The room was clean, the staff helpful and the breakfast and dinner service was very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.2
    The hotel needs an inside face lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty carpets and that the towels did not smell detergents , bed was old , caved in , low

    The surrandings I liked , The big forest.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.4
    Hotel de cand era bunica fata
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel. Very bad price/quality ratio. Smelly rooms.

    The receptionist was ok

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    3.8
    Tragedy, tragedy, tragedy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room, old furnitures, rude staff. Smoking and loudy guests. Never ever....

    Almost nothing. The environment is nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff, free thermal pool, clean and big rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - a bit old furniture

    - good location - friendly staff - free pool with thermal water - big room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the best

    Was amazing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.9
    Old comecon era hotel with good breakfast and facilities for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old comecon era hotel with good breakfast and facilities for the price, excellent location to explore Debrecen spa facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.7
    Food should have more beef less pork
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half board

    Close to transportation

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice location, thermal swimming pool in the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fatty food during breakfast and dinner , lack of choice of healthy food...

    Nice location, thermal swimming pool in the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    6.7
    It has + and -
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No wi-fi in bedroom.

    Good price.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    6.3
    Fair, but simple.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi did hardly work. Food very simple. Restaurant staff untrained and unpolite.

    Clean, quiet, free parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    5.0
    The location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only thing to like about the hotel is its location. It is very near to the Nagyedro Park and the Debrecen stadium so one can get enough of open lush green area to look around, jog, or just sit idle and watch the greenery. But you can enjoy only if you are outside the hotel, the moment of truth comes when you enter the Hotel. Let me say the location and the building will do their best to confuse you and make you believe that you are going to enter one of the finest hotel in Debrecen. But you enter the gates and bam! you get the feeling that something is creepy about this place. The feeling only gets stronger once you take the keys of your room and enter the creepier lobby. And just when you start thinking that may be the room would be awesome and I will forget about all this and you open the door, you immediately want to run outside the Hotel. I reached late night so I couldn't just run away so I kept my luggage inside and thought may be I will divert my mind by working on my office mails and listening to my fav songs online. But no! I cant even do that because there is no wifi signal in my room! I come outside and see an old lady walking with her laptop to find a wifi signal to talk to her folks online. I must say the hotel staff is cordial because when I went to the reception and almost cried about my problems, the lady checked for an alternate room. Fortunately there was one available but unfortunately it also had the wifi signal problem but at least better than the previous one. The sweet lady also gave me the keys to the conference room on my floor where the wifi router was installed so that I can do my work peacefully. I finished my work, was good enough sleepy to forget about the cons of the hotel and went back to my room. I couldn't stop myself sneezing and realized that there is a lot of dust in the room. I am not sure when the carpet of the room was last flipped or vaccumed.

    The location!

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    3.3
    Thermal Bath and sauna free for guest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    NO WIFI at all in room !!!! Time for dinner too short (18h/20h) : i can't take it !!!! Curtains too short so the light passes in the room Sheets seems not very clean !!!

    Thermal Bath and sauna free for guest

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    7.5
    very friendly and efficient staff, for what you get this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    rooms are a little bit dated but more than adequate

    very friendly and efficient staff, for what you get this place is an absolute bargain, right near the tram stop which goes to the city centre, 2 mins from the excellent thermal water complex, a nice park.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    6.7
    Don't get me wrong regarding the poor numbers, we had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lack of english speaking staff! Lack of wifi - despite promises at booking! Lack of willingness to do something about the wifi when asked to. The staff in the restaurant could be more concern about how the food is presented, it is not nice to just pour the cheese (amongst other foods) to the trays. In a hotel you could expect some more style. Some hygienic issues there too like hairs in the food and some dirty forks. Minor issues for me, major for others. The whole complex need a renovation.

    Don't get me wrong regarding the poor numbers, we had a good time at the hotel most of the time. I liked the well cooked dinners with typical hungarian tastes. I guess they have well experienced cooking staff who keeps it traditional, no fuzz and hearty. Due to the rest of the hotels lesser qualities and the many senior citizens who attend the restaurant (they can be picker in taste) I don't think the hotel would survive without good food. I liked the proximity to the tram (convenient and cheap), the zoo, the bathcomplexes (almost 50% discount as a guest of the hotel), the Agora science center and the botanical gardens.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    10
    The best cuisine among Hunguest hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No access to wi-fi in the rooms.

    The best cuisine among Hunguest hotels. The possibility of walking through a beautiful Park and purchase discounted tickets to Aquaticum termalfurdo, aquapark and sauna.

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    6.3
    Food was good.
    • Couple

    The room was small and had 50 years old furniture, nobody speaks english around there. Got a parking ticket for parking in front of the hotel on a Saturday.

    Food was good. The room was small and had 50 years old furniture, nobody speaks english around there. Got a parking ticket for parking in front of the hotel on a Saturday.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    5.8
    the location is perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the 3 stars is a joke. even the hotel covered them (i do not understand why booking.com still has them). the carpet, furniture and sanitary stuffs are since the building of the hotel (I assume 30 years ago). even if they are clean looks like they are dirty.

    the location is perfect. food was ok (I had only breakfast - swedish bufe).

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    7.9
    Superb location (in a large park, just a few minutes by tram...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The equipment of the bathroom shows clear signs of wear, but is otherwise clean and working (just the shower faucet was a bit difficult to operate), the bathtub is pretty small (but can be used as a shower just fine)

    Superb location (in a large park, just a few minutes by tram from city centre, tram stop next to the hotel), unbeatable price (~30 EUR/night including breakfast and dinner), comfortable bed, furniture and equipment OK, tasty and plentiful meals, working wireless

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    8.8
    Staff, Facilities, Location
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Cleanliness, Value for money, Comfort

    Staff, Facilities, Location

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    8.3
    Staff, Location
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Staff, Location

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    8.3
    Staff, Location
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Comfort, Value for money, Cleanliness

    Staff, Location

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    7.9
    the Staff very nice girls
    • Business trip
    • Group

    the comfort, Breakfast and Dinner is the same every day and very cheap food

    the Staff very nice girls

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    7.9
    Nice full European buffet for breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Light on the extras.

    Nice full European buffet for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    10
    friendly staff, good location, good breakfasts and dinner
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    friendly staff, good location, good breakfasts and dinner

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    7.5
    Location and size of the room were perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom wasn't clean enough

    Location and size of the room were perfect Fair price

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    9.6
    The hotel staffs were soooo friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No Nigerian foood...lolz....but very understandable.

    The hotel staffs were soooo friendly... the food was great... the experience is just splendid.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    9.6
    Good food, wifi, excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Couldn't get wifi signal at restaurant.

    Good food, wifi, excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    8.8
    Excellent food, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent food, lovely staff

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    5.8
    Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms are quite small and the hotel generally is quite old .

    Service

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.5
    Spa! Breakfast, dinner!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Room service

    Spa! Breakfast, dinner! Shef, and whole staff in the kitchen!

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.6
    Everything was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was OK.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: