Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hullam Hostel

8253 Révfülöp, Füredi ut 6, Hungary

#5 of 11 hotels in Révfülöp

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 159 hostel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Really nice bar and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bunch of kids. I wasn't comfortable to sit at the bar with them. But they went to their room for sleeping early

    Really nice bar and staff. They help you with everything you need. If you have a time try to rent a bike. They own their bike rent shop and recommend you where should you go.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Really chilled out place that is perfect for relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really chilled out place that is perfect for relaxing. The dorm rooms are spacious and comfortable and don't get too hot in the summer. The goulash is the evening is very good. Close to the"beach", train station and shops. Staff are kind and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    A very particular kind of party hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bed in 4-Bedded Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit small and narrow.

    It was honestly less noisy than I would have expected, even when there was a big folk party with lots of people, I was able to sleep from midnight. Went there off - season though, the hostel was not full. The hostel is also close to everything in the village: Beach, bars, restaurants, bus and train, grocery store.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Good hostel with nice, clean facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a hostel with all what is coming with a hostel. Noisy night events so close to to the beach? I think it is not a problem. If you wish to avoid such events, you should rent a private villa on the top of the hill.

    Good hostel with nice, clean facilities. Secure storage area for bikes. Kind staff. We enjoyed the friendly sitting area at the entrance. There are always people there sitting and chatting. Overall very nice surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    The owner of the place is very kind and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner of the place is very kind and friendly. U can ask whatever u want and he will always find a way to help u. Plus he rents bike for a good price. The hostel is very close to beautiful beaches spots.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Could have not been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff there was amazing. Especially my friend who was going to get married 3 or 4 days after i left the hostel. I am so sorry for not recalling for your name but he was working at the hostel just for this summer. And he had a restaurant in Budapest, also worked in Austrailia! Always nice people are what make my trip so much more beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely community, great staff just a short walk from the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double / Twin Room with shared bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were travelling as a couple and we've been only made aware our room has a bunk bed when we arrived. The room itself was more like a small chamber with just a bunk bed and a wooden chair, slightly overpriced for what it was.

    The hostel has a great vibe, it was buzzing with all sorts of lovely people when we arrived on our bikes, they have a cool bar serving drinks, coffee and food, and traditional Hungarian dinner was offered for less than £5. The host Zoli and the staff are very nice and we felt welcome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location, nice bar, very tasty goulash soup, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can improve on small things like more power socket near the bed, lockers in room, some hooks inside the bathroom for clothes etc.

    Great location, nice bar, very tasty goulash soup, nice staff, I think it is great with such a affordable price!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    The staff was very helpful and always available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to shower in cold water.

    The staff was very helpful and always available. The hostel has a bar downstairs. We were offered with a separate bike storage area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.0
    not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double / Twin Room with shared bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    OMG the toilets were disgusting! mildew on the shower walls, no holder for the shower, tiny toilets with no lock! I could hardly fit in! a lot of dead bugs everywhere. The room was clean but mattresses were old, thin and uncomfortable. The price was way too high for such conditions.

    nice localisation and friendly staff, answered all our questions about where to buy local products etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.1
    Location and a nice feel about the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No WIFI in any of the rooms so we have to migrate to the bar and restaurant with over priced food and drinks. A page out of American Casinos logic.

    Location and a nice feel about the town. The little shared kitchen that was not mentioned in the preview.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Incredible vibe for locals and travelers alike
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double / Twin Room with shared bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It's a uniquely special place with a great vibe and am eclectic group of people. A real favourite with locals and a great bar/outdoor area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Perfect little getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double / Twin Room with shared bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are amazing and super helpful. It is the perfect place to escape for a relaxing holiday and especially for recovery if you have just come from partying in Budapest! Make sure you ask about the beautiful viewpoint you can walk to just half an hour uphill! The views are mesmerising :) Also they make great coffees for super cheap! I will definitely be back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    Relaxed and hospitable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hard to spot any flaws of the place, because hospitality and green surrounding gave me so much positive feelings. Of course, there are some lacks of comfort features, but you can not expect much from hostel. There were only two power sockets in room for 8 people. Maybe blanket will be not enough warm for some people (for me was good). That's the only disturbance that I remember and that was important enough to mention.

    That was one of the best stay in hostel. Two things bought me from the start - green garden and very hospitable hosts. All the place makes you feel so relaxed. You have a nice area around the building, where you can sit with morning coffee or evening wine, which will be kindly offered by hostel stuff. I have felt like being a guest at a family house, not just a client. The area around Revfülöp has a lot of interesting places and beautiful views, and it is not as packed with tourist as Balatonfured.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.1
    A funky vibe for Summer weather and alternative costumers!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I spoke with the owner four times on the telephone to inform him about my arrival time. During these conversation he did not mention that there would be no breakfast available, even though it was included in my reservation. More importantly, I specifically booked a room with a bathroom and confirmed via email that this would be the case. I was assured I would have an ensuite room. When I arrived to the hostel he told me the room would be too cold because of the April weather, but there was a warmer room with shared bathroom as an alternative. So the choice was: a cold room with private bathroom or a warm room without bathroom. We were very tired and it was late in the night, so we ended up choosing the warmer room. However I was not happy, since if I'm not mistaken, I still paid the full booking price, but without breakfast and without bathroom. What I particularly didn't like is that the situation could have been explained during any of the several phone calls made previously, which would have given us the chance to be prepared for this real scenario, or to choose another place. So, I think we were not dealt with honesty by the Hullam Hostel and I felt I paid too much money for what I got!

    The owner is a very nice person and you can see this is a great place for the Summer. It has a really cool garden and funky feel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    6.7
    Good for travellers who don't have high demands concerning comfort and value a great host
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We payed nearly as much as in Budapest though it was off-season and the room in the hostel in Budapest was a lot more comfortable. The room is very basic and would benefit from changing the curtains: Of course you should expect insects in the countryside (there were a few spiders and huge bugs), but the curtains in the room and in the shower were dirty - the room floor and the beds however were clean

    The owner is a terrific guy, pointed out two amazing restaurants for lunch and dinner. In summer I think the place is quite nice with the terrace. The hostel is located well, but then Revfülöp is not that big

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.6
    The hostel has a very cool spirit, they have a bar and cook...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only little bad point was maybe the size of the kitchen, but the rest was perfect

    The hostel has a very cool spirit, they have a bar and cook hungarian food every night. I met a lot of nice people there and we did a bike wine tour with the hostel which was really nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    7.5
    Brilliant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only courtain on one of the windows. The shelf above the bed was dusty but it was clean everywhere else. The pillows weren't comfortable and the bedding could have been a bit softer but the bed itself was ok.

    It's a nice hostel in a good location close to the beach and local amenities. Staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much bother and the atmosphere was really good. My biggest worry was the size of the bed as my partner is over 6 foot tall but the double bed was a good size.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    This hostel very close to train station and took the beach.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hostel very close to train station and took the beach. Place is really quiet and nice) big territory)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bed in 4-Bedded Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and everythimg else was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    I was traveling to Russia from London and stayed here for 3...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was traveling to Russia from London and stayed here for 3 nights - was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    All very good.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All very good..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Staff is top 1!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double / Twin Room with shared bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is top 1!!! It was clean, comfortable, good location and once more again staff is really helpful and perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.5
    Very nice atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bed in 4-Bedded Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are to basic

    Very nice atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    The best place to stay in Balaton!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hostel certainly needs more common toilets.

    The staff of this hostel made all the difference. They were just too good!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    The best communal stay in the balaton! Great people, amazing vibe
    • People with friends
    • Double / Twin Room with shared bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! So many useful facilities, such amazing staff, such a cool vibe

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Amazing night at Hullam hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner is the best, we had a blast with him during our evening at Balaton lake!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Exceptional location and very friendly staff, international quality for a hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Thankyou Zolie & team, amazing stay, great people, steps...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thankyou Zolie & team, amazing stay, great people, steps away from the lake, see you again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Staffs are nice and help me a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bed in 4-Bedded Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is dark and hard to close the doors of toilets.

    Staffs are nice and help me a lot.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    6.3
    Close to Balaton, good mood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bed in 4-Bedded Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware, they don't accept credit card, you'll have to pay everything by cash.

    Close to Balaton, good mood.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.6
    Friendly and flexible staff members.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    Friendly and flexible staff members. Bicycle (good quality) renting available on site. Convenient location next to train station and waterfront. Supermarket is situated just next door. Clean and fully renovated building with comfortable beds. Reservation can be changed or cancelled even on the same day. Social area on the terrace is cool. Wifi. Good price. Definitely recommended!

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    6.7
    Owner is a nice guy, tries to make you feel at home and is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room and bathroom is quite basic for what you pay. No wifi in room.

    Owner is a nice guy, tries to make you feel at home and is very much willing to help you with planning your activities.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    9.2
    The staff was very friendly and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our room (6person dorm) was quite small and the bunk bed too short for the tallest member of our group. However the common area was so huge and cool that except sleaping we didn't spend too much time in the room.

    The staff was very friendly and kind. The common area was super comfy, the service in the bar was excellent as was the goulash they made for the quests for a cheap price. The area is very nice, specially the wineyards and streets just above the hostel. The shop was just 10 meters from the main door, and it was very near to the train station. The beach was less than 10 minutes walk away and had all we needed (restaurants, toilets, showers).

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.3
    The area around the hostel is really nice - garden, bar,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The showers on the 2nd floor were not very comfortable (see through glass between, no stand for shower), Wi-Fi was not accessible everywhere and there were no sockets near all the beds.

    The area around the hostel is really nice - garden, bar, roof. Everything is very close, staff is super friendly and helpful. They have dinner for a very reasonable price every evening and prices in the bar are quite nice as well/

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.2
    The staff were absolutely incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The showers were not great. They were all hand-held, and as such not the most comfortable way to shower.

    The staff were absolutely incredible. Everyone was super helpful and willing to assist with any queries we had. The rooms were really nice. Very clean with a nice, big window to let air and light in. The communal area was great, with a bar, and a very good place to meet other travellers. Bike hire is also possible directly from the hostel at very reasonable prices.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.1
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Showers

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    10
    Staff, atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff, atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    10
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great staff. Great location. Great beachy, laid-back atmosphere. When I left my passport, they offered to send to to me. Thanks guys!

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: