Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hunguest Hotel Bál Resort 4 stars

8220 Balatonalmádi, Bajcsy-Zsilinszky u. 14, Hungary

#21 of 38 hotels in Balatonalmádi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 822 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Staff are really helpful as friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room With Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit outdated. The curtain in the shower was dirty but they changed immediately after we complained. The carpet was a bit used, the lamp covers were as well. These are all small, cheap things to change but had big effect for us as you’d expect more from a 4 star hotel.

    Staff are really helpful as friendly. The hotel is close to the lake, it takes only 5 min walking. Breakfast and dinner are great, very big selection, delicious food, great value. Nice view from the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast and dinner was nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff at the reception was rude and didn't give us any information about the hotel or their services. They just give us the keycard and didn't care. The hotel is more expensive than it's worth, also far from the beach. Parking is highly expensive. The hotel beach is very basic with very few facilities.

    Breakfast and dinner was nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    Good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift is not intelligent causing long waits. Too soft bed. No toilet near restaurant or reception floor. Littele consideration for disability unfortunately enhanced thoughtless other disabled.

    Good staff. Good view. Lovely pool. Good choice for breakfast and dinner. Private beach though reachable using many steps and long walk (I use crutches). Child friendly. Fairly quiete.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Old but good hotel near lake Balaton
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Suite With Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The language level of staff was poor. Only reception staff speaks good English. It helps if you speak German.

    Room view was nice to lake Balaton and room was quite big. AC was helpful and mini fridge. Hotel was in a good spot, easy to go walk to beach side and there was superstore close. Food in breakfast & dinner was variable and good. Big surprise was that we get our parking in garage for free...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    For 2-3 days it is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Dancing and concert floor on the open air - it was awful, when songs and music ended only at 3 a.m.!!! The sound was very loud, and it was impossible to sleep until the dancing had been ended, though we lived on the 4th floor. Evening programm is good but until 00 or 01 a.m., not 3 a.m. every day! Also loundry service has dissapointed - nobody has taken clothes for 3 days, though we reminded about this on reception every day. Cleaning of the room was maid only after a reminder on the reception.

    Good location (railway station is near, but does not cause incinvinience), good variaty of dishes on breakfast and dinner (there are 2 kinds of porridge and 3-4 kinds od soups- it was important for us, as we were with the little child) You can rent a roller or bicycle even with a child sitting (like a stroller) Its own beach Child ground is near the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    4.2
    Big disappointment - pay more get less that is their slogan ! Not recommendable unfortunately.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Never book the more expensive rooms (suite), because you get less than any other standard room client. The room is not clean from the begin, then they dont clean the room, only if you complain. The internet does not work at all in the suite rooms, because they are at the end of the corridor, hence the router is in a wrong position to bring coverage into these rooms. The food at the buffet was ok, but the waiter are quite lazy or they have the order not to refill 30% of the dishes as soon as they have finished. If you have a dog, be aware you allowed to go hotel but not to own beach area at the lake - which of course doesnt make sense at all. I could continue in similar way with SPA area, steam,....

    The lake view was great and the indoor pool too. The 2 ladies "Miss Nathasha an her colleague" were they only 2 who tried hard to find solutions and shown customer services, but they could not fixed all the problems unfortunatley! The guy at the reception didnt care at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location, family friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite With Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner didn’t meet my expectations, everything was over-salted. Not really recommended for a romantic weekend.

    Good location and easy access to the beach. Squash and gym.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, food and facilities, so will book for next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for parking was disappointing.

    Food was very good and lots of variety. Wellness Centre esp the pool were excellent. The room had a fantastic view of Balaton.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    definitely we're coming back:-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Unfortunatelly there was this "one thing" - the prices at the bar - really?! for a beer almost 800 forints (in a regular shop - 300, restaurant - 500) and you have such a lovely terrace we just wanna sit there and enjoy our time.

    We had a breakfast/dinner buffet included - it was really great, specially the dinner buffet which was different every night. Staff was really helpful and professional. The reception desk, the houskeeping people - everyone - amazing! we would like to thank especially ladies on the beach:-) and the beach... not crowded, clean - just a perfect spot! train station, shops and restaurants in a walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    5.4
    Recommended for arachnophiliacs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hidden charges that cost over the price stated in the booking confirmation. The rooms were dirty as the cleaning staff didn´t turn up for days. Staff failed to replace the broken soap dispenser under our whole visit.

    A fair amount of large spiders in the rooms should be regarded as an extra treat. This species likely thrives in the hotel environment judged by the amount of webs in the room. I must note that the spiders were not agressive and easy to catch (my family members are less keen on the eight legged).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.3
    Good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They really need to work on the rooms. Beds were awful, and completely uncomfortable. TV needs a replacement. We stayed with my daughter therefore the room was extra small for 3 of us. Shower needs some maintenance. Overall tidiness was not perfect. I did not like, that we were charged for Service fee even though we only ordered drinks on the first night.

    The location was great. Actually it was not the first time we went to Balatonalmádi. Most of the staff was also friendly and helpful. Food was tasty. We enjoyed the semi-live music at the bar on the evenings. Swimming area was nice and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.3
    My stay at Balaton' Hunguest Bal Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite With Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meals are weak. The furniture is old fashioned and many staff does not speak english. Furthermore, there should be more flexibility concerning the meals scheduled and the bar. The Tv has just a few foreign channels.

    Easy to access and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    A nice hotel with many amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Suite With Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Room - The shower was a bit rusty. You can see some rust and residue on the shower head. The shower curtain needs to be replaced. It's white at the very top and brownish color at the bottom--showing it has never been cleaned or replaced. The front door has about a 1.5cm gap between the bottom of the door and the floor. You can clearly hear people out in the corridor talking, and vice versa-- I could hear people talking inside the room from the corridor. Not much privacy. 2. TV - Needs absolute replacement. The TVs are the old TVs that have a huge back tube--CRT type. No flat screen or HD. There were only two English channels--CNN and a Chinese news station. 3. Breakfast - Monotonous, same food every morning-- scrambled eggs, greasy bacon, and salty sausages. They need to have more variety. But then again, it's free so I can't complain too much. 4. Pool - Too cold. 5. Gym - Elliptical needs maintenance and greasing. It was loud and squeaky like it's crying for help. The room wasn't as brightly lit as it could have been. The room was a bit stuffy as well. There was no drinking water available so users will need to bring their own drinks. 6. Elevators/lifts - Too small. There were four but vary in different sizes. There was only one large elevator that could fit maybe 8 people.

    I've always stayed at this place (formerly called Ramada) every time I stay at Balatonalmadi. It is a nice hotel. It has a private beach, although it's about 250 meters away from the hotel. The dinner was pretty good, however, I couldn't say the same for breakfast. It became monotonous after several days of the same thing-- scrambled eggs, sausages, breads, salads, etc. Although dinner was all you can eat buffet style, the drinks other than water were not free. The facility has a 25 meter lap pool, although I wish that the water was a bit warmer. There is a jacuzzi with warm water and a sauna. The hotel also has a fitness center with decent machines, free weights, cardio (elliptical and treadmill). Guests can also reserve for massage and other spa treatments for a fee. There is also a bar on the ground floor which plays some nice live music. The room I got was a suite. It's a bit smaller than a typical suite I'm used to staying, but it's still pretty good. The internet was pretty fast-- a major improvement from previous stays. I checked the speed and it was about 10-15Mbps download. I did not have any problems even at peak hours. Overall, I like the place and have always stayed here when visiting Almadi during the summer since 2013.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    relaxing weekend in Balatonalmádi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At the first evening there was no running water in the Hotel (no shower possibilities etc). You have to pay for the parking extra (1000 Ft/day), which information wasnt in the offer. Also they didn't tell you, you have to pay for the drinks at dinner, you realized after they served (we had half board deal). They also charged us for 4 times (2 dinner, 2 breakfast) service fee on the final bill, even we didn't attended in 1 dinner. (And they dont serve you: buffet style restaurant) Also they gave me different information of the payment on the bill, than I received on my credit card (some Euro differents, but still)... Nice place, but they try to charge you with some extras.

    The Hotel was clean and nice. The view is beautiful. We liked the breakfast and dinner possibilities. The wellness part and the beach is great too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    Value for money.. amazing views.. needs an update!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matresses were extremely old and you could feel every spring. The pillows were very uncomfortable We couldn't sleep with the window open because of the extremely noisey fan on top of the roof it could be heard from the middle floors. The rooms are in need of some new paint and new tvs as the satellite channels kept loosing signal. The shower holder did not work so we were unable to shower properly. The hotel advertised live music in the bar everynight. We went there both nights but the man who was plying the music spent most of his time smoking outside and drinking at the bar. We understand that it wasn't very busy but people were not staying long enough because he was not entertaining anyone while he was stood at the bar. The jacuzzi was not being controlled by staff or parents and it was full of children jumping in and out so the adults were not able to relax or use it.

    The view from the room and all windows in the hotel was spectacular and the sky bar was very nice too. The rooms were clean and plenty of space. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice communal areas, they were clean and nicely decorated. Good standard of food in the buffet restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Nice wellness facilities and beauty treatments. Easy access to the beach, lake and town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    Staff very friendly, location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property is very old, condition is poor, there was no renovation for the last 10-15 years and it is strongly recommended.

    Staff very friendly, location is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    7.9
    Nice experience overall.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom in our room fas filthy(limescale everywhre,more than 2 millimeters), strange smell in the room, very hard matress, nothing to do in the winter (there's nowhere to go because everything is closed...), no ice skates renting.

    Very kind personnel, they allow dogs(very important for us), delicious food, good prices, nice location (only for summer i thikn), nice hotel (looks), peaceful location(only in winter i think), view from room(panoramic view room), fast wifi.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    6.3
    beautiful view on the lake and the mountains, mostly nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the bed in rm 306 was incredibly uncomfortable, it was squeaking and there was a dent in the bed which made us impossible to have a good night's sleep. - Some channels were not available on the TV contrary to the channel guide. - There was some dirt behind the bed and some hairs in the bathroom. I would have expected a much better experience.

    beautiful view on the lake and the mountains, mostly nice staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    Short stay in Hungary
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Twin Room With Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Definitely the elevators :)

    Very kind and professional staff. Nice and clean room with a great view of the lake.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.6
    The staff was very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable bad

    The staff was very helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    The food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness in room and bathroom can be improved.

    The food was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.9
    A nice hotel with fine meals
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not very suitable for disabled persons. Stairs to beach, stairs to restaurant.

    Nice acccommodation and fine meals. Professional staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    This is a very nice place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very nice place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    The room and facilities were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Suite With Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gym needs more equipment

    The room and facilities were great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    4.6
    Retro style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Localization, breakfast, supper

    Retro style.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Delicious food, friendy stuff and people, cheap beer and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delicious food, friendy stuff and people, cheap beer and food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Wellness and Spa facilities and the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Catering

    Wellness and Spa facilities and the location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to impossible to get around with a baby stroller.

    Nice location. Close to the beach! Staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    An enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Twin Room With Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated decor

    Location and facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    8.8
    Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Place

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    10
    Internet wifinsignal was not so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet wifinsignal was not so good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    7.5
    Good location,extremely good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had coffee available at dinner. Room key cards didn't work well

    Good choice for both breakfast buffet and dinner.

    Stayed in October 2016

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: