Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of InterContinental Budapest 5 stars

1052 Budapest, Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14., Hungary

#44 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1292 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    River view from the room was like a painting.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minibar was very expensive like in all hotels. I didn't use it.

    River side room view was priceless. Room rate was more reasonable compared to similar hotels nearby. Room was nice. A simplified but complimentary minibar might be a nice gesture.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    Proximity to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music noise coming from the street. The room was at the far end of the building and each time we had to have a long walk to get to the room. Also, the room was not the same type as we booked on the internet.e.g. Window was smaller. There was no any comfortable smoking area around the building.

    Proximity to the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant enough stay, but I won't be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although clean and well decorated, the room was relatively small and the bathroom was tiny when compared to other 5 star hotels in central Budapest. The digital clock on the TV was annoyingly bright which made sleep difficult. The breakfast buffet was quite extensive catering for most tastes, but the bacon looked anaemic and unappealing and the only eggs readily available were scrambled. The service at breakfast was not good.

    Good, central location with easy access to transport links. Concierge very knowledgeable and helpful. Pleasant terrace overlooking the Danube - a good place to sit for coffee or a relaxing drink watching the world pass by. Very good selection of cakes available to go with the coffee.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Unforgettable experience and the hotel staff was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price prohibitive, but understandable due to excellent location. Because we had to leave hotel at 3:30 am did not get to take full advantage of all the amenities, but worth the stay! Excellent location and upgrade to view of Danube was memorable!

    Courteous staff, efficient and professional and pleasant. Early check in helped us get settled for our busy last day in Budapest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    The location of the hotel is amazing it’s right in the heart...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is amazing it’s right in the heart of Budapest. The rooms are nice and clean as you would expect a 5 star hotel to be. If you are coming to Budapest staying here is a must.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Stunning location and central to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms on the non-river side aren’t worth the money. Upgrade to river room.

    Being a short walk from both the famous Chain Bridge and Andrassy Street makes feeling part of Budapest a breeze. Good river facing rooms are spacious and light filled. The Hotel also has a very well equipped fitness centre. The staff are friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Couldn't be better!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing could have been better.

    The room had the most amazing view. The room was very nice, clean, breakfast was great & would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    3.3
    The location and they helpful concierge;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a five star hotel, our room was not clean, with litter on the floor below the desk & uncleaned bins. When you’re paying a reasonable amount of €s, you’d expect the bed to be made properly... we had to stretch the linen before sleeping as they only just covered it. During our four day stay towels were changed twice & I asked on our last night for a turn down on the bed which was absolutely pathetic! Overall a waste of money. If you’re paying premium, go to a more decent hotel!!!!

    The location and they helpful concierge; that’s about it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Exceeding all expectations and great value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing. Even the weather was - accidentally - perfect. The staff should periodically check on the "mechanical devices" in the rooms. The lever of the toilet flush in #627 needs repair.

    The service attitude of the staff is simply extraordinary. They are prompt, efficient, enthusiastic and helpful with a smile. The food is outstanding, the breakfast selection simply overwhelming, on par with any first class international hotel in western Europe, and the Duna Corso chocolate slice heavenly. Not to be missed!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    really perfect place with perfect view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was with toilet in the small bathroom , you don't need to reserve the club lounge ....is really nothing specially for this price ( nuts , cookies etc.) ...everything about the food in the hotel really need to have some new idea ...specially breakfast , it's looks like everything is perfect , but the food is not good quality , bakers ware is frozen , marmalade is just jelly , really not fruit ,

    really perfect place with perfect view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Magnificent river view, excellent location, well maintained room but rather expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King with Sofa and River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Strangely when I checked in for the first night, I was told that the hotel is fully booked by a Government delegation and I was asked to stay at the Sofitel hotel next door. This was the first time ever I have experienced such arrangement. The Front Office manager did offer us higher floor room and free breakfast as compensation for our inconvenience. While the room is spacious, the bath room is too small compared to other five star hotels. Not sure this can be corrected at all.

    Magnificent view of the Danube river and Buda Castle. Located right next to the river, all the major attractions such as historic Buda Castle, the shopping street of Vaci Utca, the splendid Parliament, and the Central Market are within 15 - 20 minutes walking distance. Rooms are clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Budapest is a nice city to explore and this hotel is conveniently located, close to all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast buffet was too much and most of them are low quality. Why not make it fewer options and focus on better quality. On the 3rd day, I don't know what to eat, most of them are not appetizing anymore. Quantity over quality.

    The bed was comfortable and nice. The complimentary water everyday is also a plus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We chose not to eat breakfast at the hotel as it was very expensive. (31 Euros per person) lot of options available close by. The Parking was safe and convenient however expensive (30 Euros per day), we chose to pay the higher rate as we just didn't know the area well enough to explore and take a chance.

    Location was great, easily accessible and secure parking available. Great Lobby, with an excellent section of Single Malt Whisky, superb service and knowledgeable bar staff with great live music and views. Comfortable beds and good room service with a great all hours menu.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    In all, the staff was nice and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King with Sofa and River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking the final bill is a MUST!! We were charged for items in the mini bar that were not taken in the total of $60.00. When I pointed it out, we were promptly given a credit

    Everything was great. The view is amazing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.8
    Location great, door man super super, staff ok but hotel quality poor
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No socket near bed for charging telephone, room very dated, bathroom in poor condition, hole around the flush plate for toilet, bathroom very small. Restaurant food terrible

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.6
    Staff excelled when found out our flight was cancelled due to adverse weather in UK
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So central excellent spa & lovely staff

    Location grate had room with river view looking over to buda which was second to none especially at night as Place & Bridge were lite up, Staff really looked after us as we had to stay an extra night due to not been able to fly back due to the snow at UK airports

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location, friendly staff, very good facility, rooms...
    • Group
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom too tiny, room temperature very high (standard regulation), booked king size bed and found two standard beds

    Perfect location, friendly staff, very good facility, rooms are very comfortable, clean, very good lobby bar and outstanding service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.1
    The location of the hotel is very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King with Sofa and River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very cold with minus 4 degrees Celsius outside. Increasing the temperature from air condition didn't work. Only after asking for a new room they suddenly managed to increase the temperature. This is unreasonable for a hotel claiming this reputation. Don't save money for the heating at the expense of guests!! I didn't appreciate very much.

    The location of the hotel is very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Cold, but in the heart of it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like that I was unable to put the breakfast into the cost of the room. My company will not reimburse me if they are listed separate on the receipt, so I went somewhere else for breakfast.

    The View, the pool and sauna, and the access to public transportation

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee maker in room - would have preferred a kettle and cafetiere.

    Breakfast and bar were excellent, staff were great and very helpful and attentive. Central location was ideal for the few nights we stayed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is refurbishment going on, which I would have understood if I were told. This way it was an unpleasant surprise. The room was smelly, the refurbishment might have caused it through he air-conditioning.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    we asked for a room with danube view and it was really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i can't really think of anything negative :)

    we asked for a room with danube view and it was really incredible. the hotel was close to tram and bus station, very convenient for city sightseeing. the metro station was also very close for this purpose. the breakfast was very good, excellent cleaning services, very good wi-fi even on the 9th floor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was in renovation as I was there, so there was a lot of noise.

    The view to the river, and on the other side is amaxing! It is a first class Location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Weekend Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is on the expensive side, but then again it is the Intercontinental! You could find hotels in the same area for cheaper if needed.

    Cant fault our stay: Location is excellent (you walk everywhere), superb room view, rooms are clean and all amenities provided, staff are helpful, breakfast is delicious..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.3
    OK but could be better for the expense
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of vegetarian protein options Problems with the lifts getting stuck Major redesign works started but not informed about this beforehand or when arrived

    Location was good River views great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only bad thing I could say about the hotel is that you should be carefull during breakfast, if you are a vegetarian like me. Vegetables are located in the same area as meats, which means that a lot of people use the same tools for them.

    Rooms were clean, great, had a very comfortable bed and a good bathtub. I had a room with the river view, which was definitely worth the higher price. The restaurant in the hotel is pretty good, had lunch there a couple of times during the stay and everything was great. Staff is nice, everyone was kind and polite. The locations is the best part of this hotel, it is in a walking distance to every attraction in the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Highly recommended hotel for short-holiday trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Best Location in Budapest Friendly concierge with great recommendations Received sparkling wine for our anniversary and note by manager, which was special

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in beautiful position!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal in the restaurant. Breakfast was amazing and so was bar food but my vegetarian pasta dish was awful.

    Amazing view of Danube. Very clean and comfortable and very central for sightseeing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    Great location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have breakfast there as 30€ per person per day was very expensive.

    Great location; great service; good rooms. Loved the bar looking out over the river and the castle.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay for a winter break and Christmas shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Standard of food in the Club Lounge was excellent. Staff were attentive and helpful. Location is ideal, right on the Danube and within easy walking distance of the major attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Overall, our stay was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only critique I have is that the wifi was unreliable and would often disconnect in the middle of using it and it was hard to reconnect.

    Overall, our stay was fabulous. We explored the city so we did not take advantage of all of the hotel's amenities. Room was spacious, clean, and well decorated. Linens and towels were very comfortable. Concierge and door staff were very friendly and always greeted us with a warm smile.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    The entire intercont was great - the breakfast is especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire intercont was great - the breakfast is especially worth mentioning - hardly ever seen such an "intercontinental" breakfast (not even in other hotels of that group

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent all round. Perfect location, great service all round and the best views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much

    The room views from the 9th floor. Paid for an upgrade which was well worth it. They gave a free bottle of red wine. Perfect cos it was cold and I don’t like champagne much. My husband had the best birthday surprise

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    Budapest expeirence wasn't the same without intercontinaental hospitality, Thanks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfest price was too expansive

    Best Hotel i've ever stay, service was wonderfull, The view from the room was breathtaking. Very good vibe 24/7. I fully recomended Budapest Intercontinental!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    This is definitely the place to stay if you are in Budapest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    The Staff at this hotel makes all the difference. What a great group. Friendly, helpful and kind. My room was perfect, and anything I needed was at my fingertips if I asked. Concierge desk is terrific and guided me to some wonderful local "finds" from restaurants to private guided tours. I will return to Budapest for sure and will definitely book again at the InterContinental. Location is IDEAL for anyone wanting to explore the city easily....

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Perfect!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little small

    Excellent hotel in superb location. Staff extremely friendly and attentive would recommend a room with a river view and Club lounge facilities

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location, very good bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The SPA was not functional, we had to visit the SPA in the Hotel across the street, which was Very good, but outside the hotel we stayed in.

    Perfect location, very good bad. Very good bathroom, clean and facilitated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.1
    Excellent views, bit dated
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King with Sofa and River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit dated, same décor as all Intercons since the 80's . Temp preset regardless what you turn it to, but this seems the same in all large chains

    Danube view rooms are excellent, probably the best in town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    Stay away from the unhealthy GMO breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible omelette, made of pre-scrambled eggs, God knows opened for how long, who knows what they are made of, and of course, terrible taste. Disgusting experience.

    Excellent beds and pillows, great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Perfect location accessible to all toruist attractions and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location accessible to all toruist attractions and beautiful river. Bed and other facilities were equipped in excellent codition. Kind staffs and a variety of breakfast dishes! Will stay here again next time if my budget allows:)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Budspest is a friendly, welcoming city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel had lack luster decor Not a charming hotel but functional Restaurant was very good but lighting was too bright so it seemed empty most of the time in evening

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.5
    Very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were very comfortable and nicely decorated. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in the old part of the city which makes it easy to get around and see the historical attractions. Would highly recommend this hotel for stay. Most likely on next trip to Budapest, will stay here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Great location and very nice outdooor bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King with Sofa and River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Been staying there for years and the hotel is in need of refurbishment. Rooms are ok but bit ran down. And those fake Nespresso capsule taste aweful. House keeping can also be improved.

    Great location and very nice outdooor bar

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King with Sofa and River View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very dated and not up to the hotel standard room on small side.

    Amazing view looking over River Danube to Buda Palace and Chain Bridge. Very comfy bed and large selection of fresh food for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location, some staff need to improve or look for more suitable employment that suits them
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When checking in reception informed us that room was not ready, which was fine, would be about 30min. Instead of completing the check-in seeing he had our passports etc he handed them back, We told the concierge we were going for a bit to eat and would return in a couple of hours. To my surprise we returned to complete check in and go to our room no-one could identify our luggage, we had to go with the bell boy to identify the 5 pieces. One piece had been mixed with another lot of luggage. This is a very sloppy method for a five star hotel, no ticket was offered which is the case at many high end hotels but there is usually good communication between staff to secure and identify luggage and guests. Not that staff were aware at the time but the piece mixed with other guests luggage contained over $20,000 of photographic equipment. Could have developed into a difficult situation if we weren't so lucky. Could I also suggest that reception staff explain the use of the door cards in the lifts as many guests were trying to access floors in the elevators not knowing how to use them. I would also suggest that management speak to staff about smiling at guests when passing them, especially the doorman, one the first day the person on duty could not be more helpful but the next day the person on duty seemed we were interrupting his day. This happened a number of times with many staff during our stay. With such a small improvements this hotel could be rated as one of the best we have stayed. We travel extensively and were surprised that this would occur at this level of accommodation.

    Some Staff were great (house keeping, restaurant, room service, staff during check out), location was great, view was amazing, very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    Take the river view room and it will be the best hotel in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sometimes it took us up to 40 min to call housekeeping or room service.

    We were thinking quite a long time to choose the hotel in Budapest. In the end of the day we believe it's the best hotel in the city but only in case if you have Danube view. The room is spacious, clean and very comfortable. Spa and the gym are very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The noisy and demanding Americans in the lobby.

    Everything in this hotel is exceptional. The staff are the jewel in the crown of this outstanding place. Articulate, knowledgeable, all speak very good English, providing efficient service throughout the hotel. Food in central Budapest, generally is not exceptional, Of the various places we ate, I have to say that the hotel restaurant was the best we tasted. The chicken paprika with macaroni and cheese, was out of this world. And most importantly, the coffee at the hotel was the best in Budapest. Coffee in Budapest ranges from horrendous to OK. But at the hotel it was consistently exquisite. The food and beverages are perhaps only a fraction more expensive than the tourist offerings outside, but well worth the extra. Michaly the head waiter was an absolute professional and the most likable person about. Very knowledgeable and full of priceless advice. The concierges are worth their weight in gold, one of them in particular, having a cutting edge sense of humour. The hotel is ideally located meaning you can walk to just about anywhere. We were there during some extremely hot weather so it was particularly convenient being able to duck back into the wonderfully cool hotel for a change and rest before setting off again. Not only were we looked after, but I was astonished at how briskly and efficiently enormous groups of travelers were settled into the hotel upon arrival. When a group of fifty noisy and demanding Americans arrived with mountains of luggage, they were expediently despatched to their rooms, able to access one of a multitude of elevators, and within minutes, thankfully they were gone! We travel extensively around the world, and our experience at this hotel would have to rate as one of the best on the plant. Thank you Budapest Intercontinental.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    Location is amazing, great view for Danube
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Value for Money Cleanliness could be much better Room furniture/layout

    Location is amazing, great view for Danube Hotel Corso Restaurants Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Patel/Devdhara Family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mind blowing location of this hotel, right front of the heart/beauty of the Budapest. awesome services, heart full of breakfast, hotel services is excellent and rooms are beautiful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Five star hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instructions needed on how to operate A/C. Don't like sleeping with it on in bedroom but the system seemed to have a mind of it's own - each time we thought it was off it would come back on again! Likewise with the lighting - took time to find out how to work lights individually- kept switching them all off. Firmer pillows needed. I'm sure that if we had spoken to the concierge these points would have been quickly solved but don't always want to spend our time going backwards & forwards to reception - better booklet for room would have overcome these points. A/c in hotel generally was too strong and too low a temperature.

    As the hotel was very busy we were offered the option to upgrade to the Presidential Suite at a reduced price which we accepted. View from suite across to the Royal Palace and Chain Bridge was beautiful. The suite was, as one would expect, very spacious and clean. Large lounge, dining room, additional small lounge beside bedroom. Bed was large & very comfortable. Good wardrobe space. Nice modern bathroom plus a separate WC. Large bath towels ( something many hotels seem to have stopped providing these!) Club lounge very pleasant area offering refreshments. Had a very enjoyable dinner on the terrace of the hotel restaurant. Breakfast selection was excellent. Staff in all areas were very helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King with Sofa and River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They could improve the room facilities, like add power sockets next to the beds? Currently you can only charge your phones on the working table which is really the only place in the room that has a power socket. The ventilation fan in the bathroom also needs upgrade. After a 10 mins shower the entire bathroom is wet due to the steam.

    The location is perfect. The view is awesome. The room is big with a standing shower-box and a bath tub. The air condition is good, delivers the temperature that you pick. The staff is well mannered and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need a refurbish to be brought to old shine, staff unprofessional and rude which is totally unacceptable at a 5 starts hotel.

    Nice location with a beautiful view if you chose a room with river view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location, professional stuff, the breakfast is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King with Sofa and River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, professional stuff, the breakfast is good. We booked a river view room, you can just walk to the Church and the Bridge. BTW the cocktail bar is fantastic, you cannot miss that.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Great location on the Danube
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast at 29 Euros per person for a buffet is extremely overpriced.

    We had a wonderful view of the river and a very well appointed room. Everyone at the hotel was very nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.4
    Old and poorly kept
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is so old! We paid for a 'superior room' which was so tiny, with a small, very dirty window that didnt let us enjoy much of the view on river and Buda hills. The linens are way overused, same goes for carpets, furniture and WC. All in all a bedroom quite below 5stars / Intercontinental standards.

    Location is excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel, wonderful experience!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with River View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I only have nice words to say about this hotel. Everything was excellent! Very friendly staff. They all speak English fluently and are looking forward to make sure you will have a pleasant stay. Rooms and the hotel itself is very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel, awesome location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived very early, we had disembarked a river cruise that morning, the staff was very friendly and let us check in early no problems. They also arranged for us to take a car to the airport, which worked perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the free wifi for guests which was slow.

    Location, all staff helpful and friendly, food quality, clean and spacious and comfy rooms, the view you book is guarenteed when booking not only by arrival.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.1
    So lala
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stuff at the bar (in- and outside) as well as at the BF room very inattentive. Like all InterContinental Hotels seen the last years, it is getting old. Had to book it as a conference was there ...

    Excellent location! Professional and quick reception/consierge desk. Good selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    Stunning city and fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and lovely view across river. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable. Gift from Manager to celebrate our special wedding anniversary was very much appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    7.9
    Great stay mainly with the hotels location facing the Danube
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The morning breakfast include some more hot vegetarian item- rather than just scrambled eggs (although the potato bites, beans in tomato sauce- are quite standard in every hotel)

    The place, Budapest itself was the biggest attraction

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel, Great location, Staff are very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King with Sofa and River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were non smoking but unfortunately cigarette was still feeling, Bathroom was not cleaned well

    Very nice hotel, Great location, Staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    8.8
    View over the Danube from a comfortable bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - room amenities quite outdated. No electric socket for items other than shaver in bathroom. - beds were quite 'sweaty'. - only one electric socket functins during the night. With two smartphones, an ipad and a pc that is not enough. - no electric socket next to the bed. - we had a wonderful view, and one of my aims is always to take and publish photographs taken 'from my hotel window', but the glass was darkened and the window couldn't open, so I was VERY disappointed. - As with most hotels there is never room for more than one suitcase. The second one always has to go on the floor. - small bathroom with very high bath which is difficult for someone with joint issues. - after checking out we had to wait for some time in the lobby for our shuttle to arrive, but already the hotel had cut off our internet access.

    - wonderful location in central Budapest with view overthe Danube. - very friendly and helpful staff. - lovely spacious rooms. - excellent albeit very expensive breakfast (€30 pp). - airconditioning in room with adjustable temperatures that actually WORK!! - great shower.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.6
    Chinese New Year holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is a bit slow and hardly ran any websites. If you're looking for conference call, that's impossible...

    The staffs are really nice and helpful. We enjoyed having lunch and drinks at the restaurant and the bar. The food is great! We booked the room with river view which was also great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    7.9
    5 stars services, the rest are pretty average/bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. River view room doesn’t worth the price, this one i paid 67,000HFT (£188) for river view room (£55 extra from standard room at £133) but the view is so average, just walk outside so see the same view. Also couldn't take picture of the outside view properly because the reflection with the window, and they didn't allow me to open the window, so couldn't get a view shot from the room especially night time. 2. Socket are very old and loose, so for mac charger which is quite heavy, the socket won't hold. 3. Bathroom is small and old. Cracks around the bath, the toilet seat and bath are low quality plastic, which should be replaced. Also, they still use bath curtain which is so gross. Its 2017, can’t they use mirror instead? 4. Spa and gym is ok, but the pool temperature is super cold. 5. Internet is rubbish, even with the high speed 24hr internet is a trap and charged 6,800 HFT(£20) and it was not different to the normal free wifi. I ended up using my phone hotspot and still paid for internet at check out.

    - Location and service are the only two things that deserve 5 stars. Staffs were amazing, help with all enquiry i.e. extra water, late check out, travel tips, adapter etc.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    4.2
    I will never recommend this hotel even to my enemy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King with Sofa and River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like anything in this bad hotel. On arrival the bathroom was dirty. The garbage in the bathroom was full and the bathroom was of bad smell

    Only the view

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    8.8
    Quick break Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms dated,25 euro charge for tv

    View was excellent,staff really professional,breakfast was very good,bedrooms could do with updating 25 Euro for tv package ,news free ,good location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.3
    A great location for first-timers to Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rather confused, inconsistent and slow room service. Hard to fault on anything else.

    Our best New Year ever in beautiful Budapest. Brilliant central location and worth upgrading to a river view. Itemised breakfast menu which means choosing exactly what you want so you don't pay for a load of extras you don't. Very friendly, helpful staff. Live music and warming cocktails in the bar but beware of the blackcurrant punch - it contains a significant amount of vodka!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel in a great location made by professional and friendly staff giving a great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King with Sofa and River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the exceptionally small bathroom in my 7th floor room. Probably the smallest I've ever come across.

    The staff were very professional and the level of service was extremely high. The breakfast was comprehensive regardless of your nationality and, again, the staff were courteous and attentive without being overbearing.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Location counts!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We wer attending a conference and those facilities were excellent. Also had time to try the spa which was very good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Awesome location Beautiful view. Comfortable all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Comfortable bed. Great shower. Beautiful lobby. Best was the picture window view of the river and chain bridge. Concierge were helpful with advice on bookings.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    Brilliant hotel, spa not so much
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King with Sofa and River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Additional spa procedures. Unfortunately previously visited Budapest Helios and some other spa experiences in Europe have set the standards to which beautician of Intercontinental has a lot of growing to do.

    Overall experience was perfect

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    5.0
    Will not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite asking for no feathers in room due to allergies, when we arrived there were feather pillows and a down duvet. We asked this to be changed and all they had were two single synthetic duvets! Wifi was also hopeless. Will not stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    AMAZING VIEW!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have some shelves in the bathroom to lay out stuff ... but not a big deal.

    Comfortable room with good quality stuff. But the absolute highlight of the room was the AMAZING view!! We had to tear ourselves away from the room to go sightseeing. The location of the hotel is perfect and very convenient to get around town. The breakfast was excellent and service great. Concierge was knowledgable and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.9
    Staff don't understand English, I think that a big chain...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with River view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff don't understand English, I think that a big chain like the Intercontinental should have a policy that all staff can communicate in the English language. I have travelled to other parts of Europe, all over Asia and Middle East and have never experienced this problem. Very hard to express anything when they don't understand you. Also I felt like I was doing them a favour and interrupting there day, not impressed.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: