Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Il Gallo Nero - Fekete Kakas Étterem és Panzió

9700 Szombathely, Rumi út 21, Hungary

#5 of 20 hotels in Szombathely

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 222 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    I recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty refrigerator. On the second floor in a room 11 Wi-Fi was practically not existing,especially in the evening.

    Cleanliness, big comfortable beds, lots of space. Good, rich breakfast with choice between frankfurters, omelette and scrambled eggs. Nice service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.0
    Dissappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small rooms. Primitive, old equipment. Restaurant closed from 17:00. You cannot eat anything at arrival. On website it says there is a restaurant but it is closed. Price asked far from correct. Neibouring places offer better price/quality conditions.

    Linistea

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Spacious rooms and especially - bathroom;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was humble, so a bit dissapointing

    Spacious rooms and especially - bathroom; wide TV with several channels for kids; clean and pleasant bedsheets; beds for kids were specially decorated with sweets and the bedsheets specially selected (with Angry Birds)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Good pension, good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms quality is not the best, but for me was totally sufficient.

    Its good place, with good location. They waited for me till late night. Standard breakfast with good coffee.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    A comfortable large room with a large bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the restaurant located on the 1st floor of the hotel. The air conditioner did not work.

    A comfortable large room with a large bathroom. Good breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.4
    Free parking and good location in Szombately
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the cleanest (mold in the bathroom); staff wants to be helpful but has minimum knowledge of english; breakfast is a joke ( menu a la carte included). AC was not working, we had close to 30 degrees in our rooms (2nd floor).

    Free parking and good location in Szombately

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable and reliable hotel a 10 minute walk from the town centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The radiator in my room was on all the time (the bathroom radiator had a thermostatic control which worked perfectly but didn't seem to affect the radiator in the room).

    The cooked breakfast was excellent. The staff were very cheerful and helpful; I stayed around reception and the restaurant until late afternoon on my departure day.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    Great location for our stay with a group of 20 people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When the hot water for tea ran out during breakfast, we needed to prompt the staff to refill.

    The rooms were very nice, the hotel is located at walking distance from the center of Szombathely, and breakfast was good. They hosted our orchestra of 20 persons very well. Only one staff member spoke English, but she made sure to be available during check-in and check-out. Most of the other staff we interacted with could speak German.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    scrambled eggs was to salty but maybe it was because...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    scrambled eggs was to salty but maybe it was because it's kind of hungarian local cuisine

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Very kind personal, clear room, good location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very kind personal, clear room, good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit chilly in the room.The quilt was too small for a normal adult.

    Staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable, nice people

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    A comfortable hotel for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room , good wifi

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Good value small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was included.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    A place where you think to come back...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A well located pension. Nice service, clean room. Breakfast really good, you can order some a la carte meals for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    5.8
    OK for a short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    TV in Room was not very good, poor reception.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    7.9
    Booked for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Was OK

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    7.5
    good accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor breakfast, only one English speaker

    location, facility, restaurant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    8.8
    The food was good, the people were so nice and willing to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    You could hear the other guest talk in the room

    The food was good, the people were so nice and willing to help in every situation. The room was comfy (a bit noisy) and the bathroom was amazing

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    Very nice expierence to stay in this pansion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice expierence to stay in this pansion. Spacious room, also have rest area in room. Air conditionier. Good, tasty breakfast. Some parking places avalaible at yard, but in this district is safe and free to park outside, just few meters from hotel entrance. 15-20 minutes walk to city center. WiFi always excellent quality. Staff very polite and helpful!

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    8.8
    Staff friendly and helpful, food good quality and fresh,...
    • Couple

    Pillows, but that's not unusual

    Staff friendly and helpful, food good quality and fresh, bedroom air-conditioned which was necessary, 10 minutes safe walk to town centre through residential area if not too hot

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    4.6
    Breakfast (a la carte) - we ordered omlet and it was very...
    • Couple

    I read couple of opinions about this hotel and restaurant, about its great cusine, cosy interiors and English speaking staff. We arrived at 9pm, there was only one person from the crew (unable to say a word in English), kitchen was closed already, room in rather poor condition... We decided to have a dinner in a city center but the only thing you could order was a beer. Or to go to McDonald's. In the morning it wasn't easy to order a breakfast because waiter didn't speak english, luckily the lady at the reception desk did. Maybe we were simply unlucky, but next time I will stop somewhere in Austria. Photos and opinions were far too optimistic, we were expecting much more from the place with such a good rating.

    Breakfast (a la carte) - we ordered omlet and it was very good, same as coffee.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    8.3
    good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    good breakfast Free - safe parking friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    8.8
    Walking distance to the main square, quiet and clean hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Walking distance to the main square, quiet and clean hotel, large room with A/C, friendly staff, tasty food.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    6.7
    Clean room, very quite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nobody speaks any English

    Clean room, very quite

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: