Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Inn Side Hotel Kalvin House 3 stars

1093 Budapest, Gönczy Pál.u.6, Hungary

#108 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1635 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was very hot in Budapest the week we were there, though mid-May. I don't believe the hotel has air conditioning, so it might be hot in summer. Our room faced a back yard so would be cooler.

    The staff was efficient and very helpful. It was a lovely quaint hotel in the historic district and close to the river. Also close to trams. Our room had a huge bathroom and a balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a bit more varied as it was the same each day. However, there was plenty of it. The street may look a bit run-down on first impressions but it is fine.

    Quiet location. I do not always sleep well in hotels but I did here. Helpful staff. The decor is not modern but this gives the hotel more character. Wi-fi and aircon always worked well. Location is good - near a big market and post office.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Rooms were spacious and very clean! Staff was friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was plenty and tasty. Location was fantastic. Airport service was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i had difficulty shutting the window blind in the bathroom

    The location is good, close to tourist spots. The room is also quite good, spacious and classic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeeping could have been better, had to ask for loo rolls, they were not replaced, neither were any of the toiletries.

    A lovely old house in a very central location. Rooms very large and spacious.Good to have a fridge in the room. Breakfast was good and plenty of it, the breakfast rooms very pretty with flowers on the table and pretty napkins.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient location, close to the city center, but at the same time at the very calm street so you can sleep well. Good breakfast, personnel speaks English and very helpful. Good WiFi, it has elevator - good for luggage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wifi should have been available in every room but in practice it didn’t work at all. This was a major disappointment, lukily we had one person with mobile subscription that had low roaming fees so that we had access to internet to plan our daily schedules and also to check-in flights etc. The breakfast was included in our stay. The breakfast area was growded. Bread served was mostly toast and there was only one toaster which made people have to wait.

    We were three persons in a triple room. The room was spaceous. The windows were facing to the street. The area was quiet so no noise came from the street. The hotel is situated in a good place, there is a metro station just around the corner and a fair walking distance to the shops and restaurants. Friendly staff. They sell tickets to some spas and other attractions so that you can avoid queying.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No tea and coffee facility, kettle, or a fridge in the room.

    Very good location near to public transport and cafes/restaurants. Good choice for continental breakfast which was constantly replenished. The rooms are huge but basic and with no tea and coffee facility, or a kettle which was a pity. We didn't have a fridge but our friends did. We paid the same for the rooms so I don't know why. The bed was okay and everything was spotless.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room is very noisy. I couldn't open the windows because of the noise and there was a terrible heat wave. I think that in the winter it is fine but in the summer with no AC in the bedroom I would have a hard time staying there

    the room is beautiful. the furniture is amazing, everything is in good taste. it was spacious and a great view. I loved the décor and the design

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was everage. No hot or cooked parts. After the first morning I took breakfast elsewhere.

    Nice and quiet room, good shower! The staff was really kind and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    These are just small things that were not a deal breaker to me: The curtains were a little too small (on my bedroom at least) to cover properly the windows, so this could be a problem if you are the kind of person that needs an extra dark room. Carpets look a little worn out but clean.

    The hotel location was great (this was my main requirement) and the staff was friendly. Breakfast was more than adequate but I would not say superb. Room and bathroom were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The main entry can definitely be better as it paints a very gloomy picture. Also the beds aren't the most comfortable and the air conditioning doesn't work in many rooms.

    The breakfast was good and I enjoyed their selection of tea and coffee. The employees at the reception were very helpful and that made the stay very pleasant. The rooms are quite spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is perfectly located for access to the old town area and markets. Clean and quiet. Staff extremely helpful with organization of tours, cruise etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Top Floor Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only found out after 2days that we could have a kettle in the room. Also as it was very hot weather Air Con control should have been in the room but again we had to ask for it. Rooms facing the street suffer from late night noise so windows have to be closed.

    Great traditional hotel rooms friendly staff.good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no lounge to site in.

    Breakfast was very good coffee was excellent, the staff were more than helpful. The location was great. I had a single room overlooking the street on the third floor, nice city rooftop scene.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We really enjoyed our stay at Kalvin House. The staff was welcoming and helpful. Really good, central location near the big market and easy to get to everywhere. I will definitely come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Top Floor Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had stayed here before and had enjoyed the larger rooms which are pictured on the web site. The hotel however has expanded to the attic floor where the rooms are much smaller, so perhaps check availability of the larger rooms when booking. Breakfasts were excellent, everything fresh and beautifully presented. The hotel's location near the Freedom Bridge and market and underground and trams is ideal. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a relaxed comfortable and enjoyable stay in Budapest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was OK but a bit repetitive. No warm choices.

    Good location, close to the bus stop for the airport which is just round the corner. Staff were really friendly. Budapest market is just up the street, which is worth a visit and the river is just beyond that.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a nice hotel. The location was good. It is in a nice neighborhood with different shops and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They answered all of our questions to get our day going in the right direction in Budapest. Budapest is a must see city. We really loved the city and thought it was very beautiful with many attractions to see and experience. The breakfast at the hotel was very good. The room and bathroom were very nice and spacious and comfortable. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - hot rooms - No facilities in the room (few small towels, one bar of soap for each person, no shampoo) - noisy radiator - busy breakfast room

    - great position - 24 H reception - Big rooms - airport shuttle (22 euros)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Top Floor Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great. The only downfall, if any, was no facilities for hot drink in the evening. But plenty of take aways nearby.

    Central location,therefore easy walking distance to all the 'things to see'.loved the individual decor. Plentiful breakfast. Would recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only one small thing could have been improved. As a tea drinker I found the hot water at breakfast was sometimes not hot enough to brew tea properly. On reflection I should have mentioned it at the time so possibly not a fair criticism!

    It was a lovely spacious room, unusual for such a central location in a capital city. The staff were delightful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is mediocre, average coffee, no hot food

    Best location, 5min walk from the airport to the city bus station and 3min to the city market.The room was great - old style, big, comfortable and clean. Will visit again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is cold

    It is easy to access the hotel from the Central Station. The front staff is helpful and the hotel is located in a strategic location. The bathroom is big.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi dropped out a fair bit. Everything else was great.

    Lovely, spacious room in charming old building short distance from metro and with easy access to trams and trains. Nice local restaurants and loved the location close to river and main market.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is not one thing I could say we did not like.

    The room was amazingly large. Really loved the decorations and the height of the ceiling. It made us feel right at home. Elegant carpets everywhere, nicely painted walls and a reasonably large and clean bathroom. As a bonus, the breakfast (which we only expected to be like an appetizer) was plentiful (comparable to something you would find at an all-inclusive resort). The staff always replenished anything that was missing. This left us with a very good impression as even though we arrived an hour before the end of the meal, we were able to eat the same things as the early arrivers. The quality of the food, coffee and orange juice was very good. Another bonus point is the discreetness of the staff. There was no issue regarding when we paid the accommodation (we chose to do it in the beginning, though). We could leave our luggage when we checked out, which was also very helpful, as our train was a bit later. The price was amazing, considering the time of year when we stayed here (30.12-2.01). I will definitely recommend Kalvin House to anyone wanting to spend a few nights in Budapest.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    This is the second time I have been here. Great location, cozy nice hotel, very pleasant staff, basic but good breakfast. Ask for a room on the 4th floor because they are new and youll have a penthouse type of accomodation. Very intimate little hotel, keep up the good work

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    Very good hotel, close to subway and other transport but also good for walking around. Clean and warm -very important because of the cold weather. No parking but close to the hotel is nice, not expansive covered parking with enough space.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is too old with dated wooden floor which squeaks whenever someone walks even with light steps. That would really wake you up.

    Our double room and triple room are very spacious and there is a balcony in double room. Rooms are set up user friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Everything was organized really well. The personell at the reception desk was always ready to give us a helping hand, for example they printed out our boarding passes at 23:30 without any problems. The breakfast choice was vast, everything was always fresh and tasty. We had a 2-room suite, it was very nicely furnished, everything was like in the photographs provided. The bathroom was quite large, bathing supplies were renewed daily.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms weren't very sound proof and it was difficult to open and close doors without making noise. It meant I could hear other guests coming and going. Fortunately, the other guests were considerate and didn't make much noise so I think, overall, Inn Side Hotel Kalvin House is a lovely place to stay.

    Loved the building - classic with character. It was an old building but done up beautifully. The staff were extremely helpful. The dining areas are lovely. A small supermarket is only a 100 metres away so I could easily get basics like water and fruit etc. The train station is about 5 - 10 mins walk away which was convenient for getting to Mupa (musical performances) and the other direction, central city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No foreign language options on the TV - everything in Hungarian

    Room was sort of "retro" but, for that reason, had personality and was quiet with a nice views over a large green courtyard.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only downside was the Wifi, which did not work well in our rooms.

    The location of the hotel was excellent, within easy walk of the town centre, public transport and some great restaurants. Rooms were clean and spacious, if slightly dated. Staff were friendly and breakfast was simple but adequate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very clean, hair-dryer, soaps, shower gels, every day new towels, every day new bedlinens and sheets (we were ill a little bit). The food was tasty, normal, intercontinental, you can drink coffee, teas, cacaos, there is more type of bread, which you can toast, more type cold-buffets, vegetables, about 2-3 types of cheese, butter or margarine you can take. Maybe I would change the type of the hazelnut creme for nutella :) . To have a gourmet eating, then gou out into the city. The cleaning lady was very frindly and she made her job carefully. The room is equipped with old furnitures from the beginning of the last century, but it is a building from that time, but renovated and equipped with elevator. The bathroom I would change the type of the watertaps for a modern and watersaving type. Simply, but comfortable hotel with excellent location and nice persons, they are 24 hours. It's worthy to choose, if you would like to discover the city as tourist, or you have 2 days business program.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it's good value for the price

    Location is very good! Near the bazar, vaci street and public transportation, very easy to travel from the hotel. Very clean as well The staff was very friendly. Breakfast was simple and good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Budapest has a lot to offer. We enjoyed the Spa the most, the Ruin Bars and the Christmas Market. The Kelvin hotel is very close to a lot of the main attractions. Others are a walk away or else there is public transport. We had a fantastic holiday :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, between two metro stops, walking distance from the main Budapest sites. Huge room and bathroom with charming old furniture. Very helpful and polite staff. Good breakfast. Highly recommended to all.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds might be more comfortable. We experienced some problems with bath, hot water is limited.

    Location, historical decoration of the hotel and breakfast were good. They serve cheeses, salamis, egg, bread, honey, jam, tomato etc. in breakfasts.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is good, some more fresh fruit would be nice.

    I had a cosy single room under the roof. Quiet for the central location. Good wifi even on the top floor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Top Floor Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities. Slightly weird smell in entrance area. Shower leaked in room 402 and obviously had for some time judging from damage to floor.

    Excellent location in a quieter side street. Clean accommodation in a period apartment building with loads of original features. Good traditional Hungarian breakfast. Offered luggage storage after checkout free of charge. TV in room with lots of channels - mixture of local and international (there is a setting on the remote which allows you to change language where a programme has been dubbed).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Views from the deck were fantastic and great to have that facility to use. Staff very friendly. Room facilities were fantastic and we'd booked ones with a view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband found the bed to be too hard, and I must admit it was a little harder than I like.

    Excellent hotel--extremely convenient to the pedestrian areas of Pest. The staff was very accomodating and the room was spacious with lots of extras. The breakfast was bountiful and it's one of the few places I've travelled in Europe in which we got toast with breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes

    Nice central location in Budapest, walking distance to trams, buses and the metro. The staff were excellent, boking taxis, looking after our luggage and answering any queries regarding travelling to different sights etc. Thank you,.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there was no air conditioner in the room. no safe in the room. no pen or something to write on.

    excellent stuff members. very comfortable bed, large and cleen room, fresh nice and simple breakfest. nearby all transportation options.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one English channel (BBC Earth)

    Excellent location, within walking distance to all major sights and restaurants. The central market is just round tge corner. Very easy to get to hotel by shuttle bus from airport. Good value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As previous travellers remarked there is stale drainy smell in the entrance area, which is initially off-putting, but this was not a big issue. Property has been renovated and is very smart.

    The staff were excellent, and nothing seemed too much trouble; room spacious, even though floors creaked a little; breakfast had choice and quantity; Selection of books to borrow; use of kettle in room with fridge; location gave access to all sites either by foot, tram or Metro, Tesco etc. one of the best of our European bookings. It has an efficient lift which is very useful for luggage.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    Great location. It was easy to walk to many of the sites and also easy to catch the metro. The staff was excellent. Breakfast was also good. The room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showering set up in the bathroom was a bit hard for an older person used to a shower curtain and a fixed shower head when you are standing in a bathtub. Here you needed to sit somewhere in the tub and hold onto the shower nozzle. It was some what difficult to keep water from shooting all over the bathroom if you stopped paying strict attention or reached for something. Perhaps all the rooms are not set up this way – – this was room 109.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, close to liberty bridge, the great market, Váci street, U4, also 100E bus to airport directly. TESCO in front of a street, also another super market on underground floor of the great market. Very convenient for everything,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing, everything was perfect.

    Great big room. Very clean. Updated amenities. Tasty breakfast options. Friendly staff. Excellent location, 1 block from metro station and on a tram line. Could not have asked for a better stay in Budapest.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You call the hotel Inn Side Hotel Kalvin House. Everywhere else, including the hotel entrance, it is called Kalvin Haz, which is confusing. I think Inn Side Hotel is the name of the company that owns it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed for 1 night, cause of late flight next day. The hotel didnt really feel like a hotel, more like an apartment hotel, big nice rooms in an old apartment building, some rooms darker than others. Small reception one floor down, with helpful staff. Breakfast was overall okay, served at same floor as reception, in two rooms wich one has been a former bedroom and the other a livingroom. Very quite and a bit odd feeling at breakfast, felt like you were sitting in somebodys home, but nothing to complain about. Great location near Calvin Square, with bus and tramhub, and only walkingdistance to the old Marketplace, and shoppingstreet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Top Floor Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ask for wake up call and they said they ring but no one answer. We could have missed our flight. The phone didnt ring. Also- old facilities. Not properly maintained.

    Quite area near the market. Very close to transport. 24/7 store near and some attractions. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds could be more comfy, and the breakfast less sugary and chocolaty.

    A decent hotel. Nothing out of the ordinary but friendly, service-minded staff. Close to everything and just basically good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet smelled a bit due to the drains and the floor boards were very squeaky

    It was clean and the staff were very friendly and the location was very good for getting out and about

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator was out one day we were there. The beautiful marble spiral staircase could be a problem for some.

    A great location near the Great Market and the Danube. We loved staying in an older hotel with more historic character. The staff was very helpful arranging transportation from the airport and an early morning taxi to the train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a bathtub with shower head, but no shower curtain or glass wall. So you had to shower really carefully to not make the whole bathroom wet. Maybe this is normal in Hungary? For us it was very unusual.

    Incredible old style hotel, in a positive sense. Ceiling height is something like 4 metres. Rooms are large with real old wooden furniture. Wooden floors, the whole nine yards. If you like this style, you will have a fantastic stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazing location with a variety of grocery stores, restaurants and bars nearby. The central market is a few steps away, and the public transportation options are plentiful. Large and a very clean room, a 24 hrs reception desk with extremely pleasant and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast with a great selection of cold cuts, cheese, pastries, cereal, etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room had everything that we needed, was comfortable and the staff provided anything else we wanted including hot water for tea in the evening. We didn't get a chance to enjoy breakfast for very long as had to rush to get a train but they let us start early and we enjoyed what we did have!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were so helpful when I requested another room because I don't like showers in bath tubs and the second room I got was amazing! With a skylight window, shower and the whole property was amazingly clean throughout. They also provided me with a kettle when I added it to my special request and when I didn't have enough time to send my postcards, they did so for me. Eternally grateful! Loved staying here and would so so again in a second. Two minute walk from the old market in one way and metro stop in the other.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Top Floor Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred not to be on the 4th floor when the lift broke down but they were quick to repair it. Our room had a partially sloping ceiling and windows. Therefore no outlook but we did not spend much time in the room.

    Shower was very good. It was a spa shower. Room was spacious and traditional but with modern comfort. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Furniture was a bit shabby, though it really didn't matter. If we'd been staying longer I suppose a bit more variety at breakfast would have been nice. But basically it was perfect!

    The location was brilliant - just a few minutes walk from Liberty Bridge and the Danube, near the main shopping street, close to public transport, restaurants etc. it was a lovely quirky old building, with a modern lift built in the middle of a huge old staircase, and enormous rooms. Service was friendly and personal, and the price was excellent for a city centre hotel. We'd go back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception not on ground floor. No secure room to leave luggage.

    Location property old world characteristic minimarkets across road wihin walking distance to bars restaurantsand shops. Breakfast good and basic.would have preferred better selection of pastries and less buscuits and cakes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Entrance to the hotel is not very visible, you should ring small bell to get opening from reception (but worked good every time). It would be helpful to announce the hotel itself and entrance with much bigger sign (with light for night).

    Location is directly in the centre, 250 m from the Danube river and Szabadság bridge. Hotel is in old, but renovated building in quiet place out of main streets. It is very clean, rooms are equipped with nice, old, but very good furniture. Hotel have modern elevator, air conditioning very useful in the rooms located under the roof. There was reasonable choice for breakfast. Very polite and helpful staff. There are in the hotel advertising cards for museums, spa, restaurants etc, with discounts up to 20% - worth tu use. We gained 20% in nice bath (the Veli Bej bath)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a bit simple breakfast. I wanted more choice of food.

    The hotel is located close to a subway station and walking distance to the city centre. The room was very big and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matrass was to soft for us, we've been four nights and four nights we suffered If you come with car, it"s possible to oark in front of Hotel , but remmber there is parking automat Many gests got a fine even if they parked for short time

    The personell was very friendly. I have to mention atleast two from receptuon : Tibor and one girl with black hair Both of them were so friendly and willing to help Breakfast is good enough Location is very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee/tea making facilities Very basic breakfast The front desk is upstairs and I had to ring the bell every time I wanted to enter the hotel However, honestly my stay at this inn was very comfortable. Its price is really unbeatable in the heart of a busy area in Pest and the staff members were so nice and cooperative.

    Good price Large room Plenty of space and huge closets Very nice and cooperative staff members

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Situated in the middle of the City, very near to the subway station. Ideal for sightseeing Friendly personnell Interesting old building - something for people of traditions, who do not like huge and quite luxurious hotels. Not far from the hotel you can find the "For Sale" pub - amazing atmosphere and traditional menu.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Top Floor Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not worth the price. The staff at the reception was not friendly as shown in the previous comments. perhaps we were not lucky. small uncomfortable beds. very very modest breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    to recognize from the outside that it is the hotel was not evident at first, I pass in front without noticing it and then realize it was the hotel...

    Nearby a metro station and walking distance to the famous market and the gellert spa (10 -15 minutes). Felt safe. there is a grocery story 2 minutes away. free wi-fi. they did a pack lunch for me when I need it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms quite dated and could do with redecoration. First room aweful bed but staff moved me at my request with no problem at all.

    Friendly staff, geat breakfast. Clean and a certain old world charm

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Read above , still sick from the stay at the toxic hotel .

    The bathroom had toxic vapors emminating from the sync / shower area , sewer gas Staff never offered another room , manager no where to be found . Couldn't use the shower and couldn't stomach the small to go to the bathroom . Had to sleep with all the windows open and use the restaurant tolet . Not going to pay for this hell hole . Extreamly sickening two nights , toxic waste of time & money . Terrible two nights with little sleep and no bathroom facilities .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the kind, welcoming thoughtful and professional service, the atmosphere, the tidyness, and the beautiful breakfast assortments. I felt right at home.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was not up to standard. There is no variety.

    The room was big and had a nice atmosphere. Has airconditioning, it was really hot when we visited Budapest. Easy access to metro and shops.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning service was a little bit bad. The staff at the reception( just one lady) was rude (the others were helpful) There were nothing in the minibar, you have to buy and put your stuff in it. Very poor breakfast, the cakes that they serve at the breakfast were all not fresh and were bought from market not homemade.

    Location was perfect. The room was so good furnished , we had a piano in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Inn Side Hotel Kalvin House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: