Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Korona Hotel 3 stars

4400 Nyíregyháza, Dozsa Gyorgy utca 1., Hungary

#10 of 12 hotels in Nyíregyháza

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 410 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Our short stay was good except the things what I wrote above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did reserve twin rooms but we had two separate rooms and was so far. The parking for cars is very difficult. Long waiting for hotwater, the bath screen was loose which was very dangerous for my son. No double beds in room

    The location of hotel. The diner and breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    3.8
    It was very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel and the room were dirty and in poor condition. We had very dirty curtains, the paint on one wall was peeling, the ceiling had some strange spots that looked like mould, the shower glass panel was not properly fixed and the armchair upholstery was torn. The room overlooked the garbage cans. We had booked 2 nights, but left the next morning. We would have left the same night, but it was almost midnight and we had no choice.

    The hotel is located in an old building, in the centre of the town. The reception is open late.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.5
    Take care at the room type
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows and doors were broken they didn"t lock neither the outside windows nor the door from the bathroom or the entrance in the room. Everything is old and needs some restaurations if we discuss about 3 stars Hotel. When booked online I ordered a superior family room with 2 bedrooms amd when I started my journey they gave me a standard family room but I payed for the superior one because the receptionist sayed that this is the room I booked on Booking.com.

    Classical arhitecture.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    coming here you will be in Center!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no parking place for the hotel, high parking-fee for the city-parking.

    Friendly staff, nice location, well equipped rooms. 10 meters from the Advent market, nice for having a hot-vine after work. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Very good choice
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom, especially the bathtub requires a bit of refreshing.

    Unusual dining room, comfy bedroom, fantastic localisation right in the middle of city and yet very quiet room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Air con not workin maybe a general issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are rather small and the air con was not working in the first room.we asked for a repair but that was not possible because it was sunday and no one was working( this is what the receptionist told us ).we insisted that it was too hot to stay and we asked for a room change.in the second room it was a little better but not because the air con was working .actually it was only making noise but not anything else.the second room was on the opposite side of the hotel at ground level and the sun was not facing the windows.we had luck that it rained in that night and the next day the outside temperature dropped by 10 degrees otherwise we could not stay in that room either.

    Very good location just in the city center in the pedestrian area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    We've been positively surprised with the room size and...
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not really good. Poor menu and not tasty food. Better to go outside and have breakfast in the city.

    We've been positively surprised with the room size and comfort for this money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.1
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator. Dirty carpets on the corridors. Bathroom needs reparation. Paying by card is not a simple payment but a money transfer procedure with bureaucratic nonsense processes.

    Central location. Quiet and effective AC. Lactose free milk provided on request. No bank card is needed for booking. John Bull's Pub is in the same building and has an entrance from the reception.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Breakfast is very simple, could have better options. Also, the cleaning service didn't lock the room. Nothing of value was left there so if anything was taken (nothing was) it wasnt going to take away from my stay, however, I would encourage management to ensure that doors are locked by the staff.

    The room was clean and everything was taken care of

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    4.6
    Warning: Stay away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel looked shabby. The furnishing in the room was old and falling apart. There was only one chair in a suite (2 rooms), only beds to sit on. The closet door was coming off the hinges. The stairways were smelly with old dirty carpets. The room keys were left on the counter for hours for anyone to take. The staff / owners / management did not seem to care about customers' comfort or satisfaction. There is no elevator, and no one offered to help with carrying luggage up and down the stairs. The cleaning staff did what they could to keep the rooms clean. This was listed as a first class hotel; I would call it an embarrassment and take it off the list of hotels for which you take bookings.

    The location was central. The size of the room was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    10
    The best position in town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Staff very helpful - Cleaning - I had the best wifi from every hotel where I stayed. Maybe I had the room closest to the router (117) - Central position - It is the hotel where we stay every time when we come in Nyireghehaza - We recommend all

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    4.6
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not feel safe. Someone tried repeatedly to open our hotel room door at 4:30 in the morning. I noticed that the door had been broken and repaired previously. The front door to the hotel is left open.

    Great Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.0
    Bad odor in the room and halls, old hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad odor in the room and halls, old hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.2
    For this price you can find an amazing airbnb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For this price you can find an amazing airbnb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    3.3
    Hidden fees that aren't listed by the property, plus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hidden fees that aren't listed by the property, plus it's quite dirty.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.7
    Centrally located hotel in historical building
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be better. Bathroom was a bit tired.

    Centrally located. Comfortable bed and pillow. Good for 1 night stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    good value for the money to stay, anything you need you will find nearby.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Central location, means REAL central.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.3
    Noisy hood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy hood

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.3
    Business Trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Generally old and a like dismal. Corridors and paintwork in need of attention.

    Rooms were very clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    2.5
    sucked!!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom full of bugs and flies in the room itself. !!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    9.2
    Old building with character, Frienfly staff with a good location for what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna out of action but just included a brand new jacquzi. Will try that next time.

    Location, nice firm bed, friendly staff,

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    10
    Nice and clean rooms, very good place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good place, in the city center. Nice and clean room, frendly staff. I see the cristmass market from my roomwindow.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.1
    Korona in October
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very few guests

    Wifi

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    6.3
    Quite OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator.

    Located in the hearth of the city.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    9.6
    Pillow made from memory foam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Colder room, need to heat in March yet. Beds were moving, do not forget to fix the bed wheels. Satisfied at all.

    Pillow made from memory foam. Polite receptionists, probably only ones who were able speaking English in the whole surrounding. Willing to help solve the problems.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    7.1
    Good location, interesting architecture, nice view
    • Group

    It really needs a renovation. Bathroom was old, the electrical equipment very old apart from the TV, stuff quite unfriendly especially the girl working at the English pub of the hotel.

    Good location, interesting architecture, nice view

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    7.5
    Great location in the center of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Common areas are little bit neglected, outdated, would need a facelift.

    Great location in the center of the city. Friendly staff, clean and comfy room, with a nice view. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    10
    We were really satisfied with everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing

    We were really satisfied with everything! The room was clear and comfortable. Service was outstanding, the hotel staff was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    4.6
    location
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The staffs were not friemdly, always smoking outside. The Internet connection is poor No elevater Poor breakfast Towels were worn out

    location The room has enough space

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    4.6
    Polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very old and bad looking hotel located next to the cathedral. So you can sleep only till 6 am before bells start and after 12 am, because just in front of hotel shows take place every day. Few small parking places not enough to park bigger car than golf. Parking is not really safe. Rooms are very dirty. Furniture is very old and bad looking. Air condition was very loud and generated no cold air. Breakfast was awful with black omelette. Never ever come back!

    Polite staff. Internet connection was Ok.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.8
    Definitely a good value for money.
    • Group

    WiFi was very poor in my room. To get a little bit better signal I had to go to the corridor. And even there talking in Skype was problematic.

    Definitely a good value for money. The hotel is cheap and looks nice both inside and outside. The rooms are comfortable. The location is in the very center of the town.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.3
    + superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - no elevator - got seperate beds instead of queen size - bathroom was a bit worn out

    + superb location + royal atmosphere + interesting room lighting and light switches beside bed + spacious

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.2
    1. Kiváló elhelyezkedés.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A reggeli minden nap azonos volt. / Every morning the breakfast was the same.

    1. Kiváló elhelyezkedés. / Very good localization. 2. Tágas szoba és fürdőszoba / Large room and bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.6
    It is veeery pretty hotel in very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is veeery pretty hotel in very good location. In the centre of the city. Big rooms, new furniture (perfect beds) and climatisation. We stay for one night. We 're four people and we havent food.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    8.3
    Very close to the city centre, and the restaurants.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    When we arrived, there was no one at reception, after a 10 min wait we rang the hotel, an low and behold the phone at the reception rang and someone came to answer it, we told them that it was us, so don't bother to answer it. The tv is according to the website, international, but no English channels.

    Very close to the city centre, and the restaurants. The building is old, but in very good order, with very high ceilings and very good decorating. Breakfast is good, with plenty of choice.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    4.6
    Only the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room had 3 different very old single beds while we asked for a double. The receptionist and the waiter were both impolite and not helpful at all. The breakfast selection was very limited at 9 (should last till 10), there weren't even any cups anymore.

    Only the location.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    10
    Nice hotel and staff,very good wi-fi and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not so easy to find by car even with a GPS due to restricted car acces around the hotel.

    Nice hotel and staff,very good wi-fi and clean room. Free private parking available.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    2.5
    The window was broken,they don't speak languages, they...
    • Couple

    The window was broken,they don't speak languages, they didn't tell us the drinks in the room costs money. In the pub the beer was horrible and the coffee as well.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    7.5
    This nice hotel is in the centre of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could be upgraded a little, though probably oldness is its style.

    This nice hotel is in the centre of the city.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    7.9
    Comfortable room, spacious bathroom, helpful staff and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pillows were way too hard and uncomfortable!

    Comfortable room, spacious bathroom, helpful staff and good location.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    7.1
    the breakfast was terrible, we didn't eat at all.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    the breakfast was terrible, we didn't eat at all.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No laundry and reception couldn't tell us where to go.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    7.5
    Hotel is located the center of city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No parking available.

    Hotel is located the center of city.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    8.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    7.5
    Large room, adequate bathroom facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Large room, adequate bathroom facilities. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    6.3
    Location,somehow nice and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Employees atitude

    Location,somehow nice and clean

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    8.3
    We liked the location, staff were friendly enjoyed our stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience

    We liked the location, staff were friendly enjoyed our stay no complaints, will go back again next year. I

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    5.0
    Surly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Surly staff

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    6.7
    The nearby is nice
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The nearby is nice

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    9.6
    No smoking room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No smoking room.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    6.3
    Friendly staff, central location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Old facility

    Friendly staff, central location

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.6
    Comfortable old world charm and very inexpensive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was minimal and could have been much better

    Comfortable old world charm and very inexpensive

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2015

    5.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very limited parking facility

    location

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: