Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Korona Wellness, Rendezvény és Borszálloda 4 stars

3300 Eger, Tündérpart 5., Hungary

#15 of 22 hotels in Eger

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 462 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Staff were amazing but the hotel is overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a bit overpriced. You can find better hotel in Eger for the same money.

    Staff were amazing at the reception desk. Szabina explained everything for us .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    2.9
    They realized that I am upset, so they gave me a 20 euros...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding on the eveneing when I arrived from a race event, so from work. By this fact, there was no restaurant available, only some 10 minutes walk away. And the wellness area was not available, and neither of these were indicated when booking, these were told when arrived to the reception. And the air con did not work in my room. The corridor was nice and cool but my room. And the traces of the previous guest was visable in the toilet. It was a bad decision to sleep there.

    They realized that I am upset, so they gave me a 20 euros discount during the night, but added my morning cofee to the bill.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent wellness/spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air con was off for a day, don't know why.

    The Spa and sauna room is nice. Very good room and breakfast. Nice location, easily access to the center and the castle hill.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    OK for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very noisy, you can hear everything from the corridor. I am not picky about beds, but this one was very uncomfortable. Wellness area could be improved. Toilet flushing was not working..

    Location is great, parking is easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.4
    quiet surround a bit separate location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    old building, all noise came thru doors and windows, wedding party whole night kept us awake. smoking habits ariund the outspace. air contition won’t work at all if temperature outside is above 26 C

    quiet surround a bit separate location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.3
    The stuff is super friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is old, clean but still old and could use a renovation. Relatively expensive. Definitely not a 4 start hotel, max 3 and not the best of those either.

    The stuff is super friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    just a quick stay there - more details next time
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • VIP Suite for 2 Persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    those are not real downsides but wifi was quite slow and it was bit hard to operate the control knob of the hydro massage shower panel in the bathroom

    good location, the property is within walking distance to downtown eger and it's touristic attractions. the vip apartement we stayed is spacy, confy well kept and spotlessly clean. very good breakfast with freshly made hot meals even after 9 a.m. friendly and helpful staff. the beatles musem belongs to the property is amazing. we didn't have a chance to test wellness facilities, perhaps next time :-)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    3.8
    first thing booking .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    first thing booking .com ask me for my bank card information olny to be sure from my booking and i can pay in arrival , the hotel take the money from my account before i arrived???. i have another Jordan bank card for paying by master or visa card machine only and this card not working throw of the internet and this is why i use the Hungarian bank card only for booking , , i dont understand why they take the money from my Hungarian bank card account before my arrival , i dont know this wrong information from booking.com or the hotel not correct???? i asked for room with balkony and king size bed . the girl say sorry all the balkony room with separated bed after we agree for room with king size bed with out balkony BUT they give us SMALL room with 2 separated bed , they just they connect the 2 bed together , i was very angry and back to the reception and bush them very much till they give me room with king size bed still so much things not relaxing in this hotel but i wrote only the very important comment

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel, the wellness area could improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wellness part could improve. During our stay, the hammam was out of order, it was the same temperature in the Bio and the Finnish sauna, I am not sure if the Infrared sauna (there were no lights...) and the small pool worked properly... The girl at the wellness reception wasn't really up to date what and how should work, we had to ask her twice to give us some towels, she was more busy playing on her phone than helping out the guests. On the other hand, I really think that it is not nice if two receptionists (infront of the guests) are dicussing how they spent the other night.

    Perfect location, the room was big, extra comfortable bed. The breakfast was great, especially the fried eggs with bacon :) Location: the city centre and the main amenities are just 5-10 mins walk. It's very close to the Basilica, the Castle, etc. Accomodation: the room was nice, big and clean, we had a great view. Even if it is near to the city centre, the hotel itself is in a quiet area. The staff at the hotel reception was really kind and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    I can only recommend this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was excellent! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is quite big and clean. The city center is very close to the hotel (max 5 min with slow walk). The wifi is free and the signal is good in the whole hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel with two minutes walk to the City of Eger...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel with two minutes walk to the City of Eger makes this option very convenient. Breakfast good and solid. I ate dinner only once at hotel's restaurant but food was very tasty and wines selection very good. Staff very friendly and helpful answers all your questions. Wellness area nice but pool was a little small for me but if like a swimming visit Eger Terms where you will find good size pools. Recommending this hotel for conveniece to see entire City.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Had a good stay, enjoyed the whole time there, will definitely recommend and come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet in the mens changing room in the wellness facility was stinky and the floor there was dirty.

    I liked that after we had to leave the room next morning, we were still able to use the wellness facilities. Nice place, good staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    3.3
    We would not recomment this hotel to anybody.In Rumainia we got much better service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bread at breakfast was old, had to pay extra for coffee without cafeine. restaurant where breakfast was prepared was very hot, no airconditioning. Airconditioning on the room did not work, just the ventilator. When I complained about the extra payment for the coffee I got several times interrupted when I was explaining.

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.4
    TLC needed for the price and stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The room had outdated decor with rusty towel racks in the bathroom. There were signs of black mould on the grout. The drain pipe under the sink was dripping – “which can happen in a five-star hotel, too” was one of the staff’s cynical reaction to it. I can agree with that to some extent but a four-star/ three-star (?) hotel should have a better TLC in general – and definitely no need for an attitude towards guests. The hotel's spa centre was OK yet massive signs of black mould on the grout in the Jacuzzi and in the middle-sized pool. The presentation of the buffet dinner was not appetizing at all – the food seemed to be there for a while with flies in the dining area. After cancelling it, the receptionist questioned our decision with a not too polite attitude.

    We chose this hotel primarily based on the highly positive feedback. + The hotel is located near the town centre. + Working air-condition in the room. + The bed was quite comfortable. + Buffet breakfast was basic, B&B standard. + The hotel has its own paid parking area under surveillance. + There is also a spa area. + Modern entrance hall. + A couple of very kind, smiling staff at check-in. Yay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    Hotel was easy to locate with plenty of on-site parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was easy to locate with plenty of on-site parking. Great location - easy 5 min walk into center of town. All staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to help you. The majority of the staff spoke very good English.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    Quite good small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small bathroom that should be cleaned little better.

    Breakfast typical for Hungarian pensions, but quite good. Good location - calm area, but it takes 10-15 minutes to almost all the touristic sites ( Dobo Square, Castle , Basilica etc. - To the Vine Valleup to 30 min. walk - or taxi costs some 1400 forints (4,5 euro?) - Hotel has an inner parking for some 10 vehicles, and one small located outside, but supervised by cameras. Rooms - nothing special, but also nothing to complain about, regarding that the hotel has 3 stars.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    The perfect place for rest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one thing: why did we have to pay for parking?

    Hotel Korona was a big surprise for us. We loved the place and everything was very good. We went to the wellness and enjoyed the sauna. Breakfast was perfect, we got everything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Nicely situated hotel by the historical center.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small spa, wasn't ready on working days, they filled the pool to the weekend

    Nicely situated hotel by the historical center. Very good breakfast, large rooms, nice service at a very good price

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.1
    Nice experience, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not a big variety of food presented during brekfast. What was offered didnt match my taste at all

    Staff is very good and helpfull. Dinner that we ordered from the restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.7
    Good location and. Omgortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful staff. Parking charge. This was on the booking form but not in English

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Good place and good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good place and good staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.5
    Wind tasting at 1600 when we arrived
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wind tasting at 1600 when we arrived

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Traditional Hungarian hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tired

    Traditional Hungarian hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice and friendly staff, clean room, good bed, few minutes...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor wi-fi network, hardly of use.

    Nice and friendly staff, clean room, good bed, few minutes walk from main square and castle.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Very nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.4
    closeness to city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    decoration of the floors and the rooms is eclectic and not very nice

    closeness to city center

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pretty good hotel. About 10min from the city centre. Very clean and the stuff was very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Abundant choice for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tasteless coffee for breakfast.

    Abundant choice for breakfast. Close to the center. Nice wellness facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking fee for motorbike like for cars.

    Excellent location. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice, clean hotel almost in city center. Spa were great. Extra paid private parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good breakfast. Saunas were great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Very close to center, very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to center, very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    Very good location and kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location and kind staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.1
    More care needed
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally not very clean, bathroom, wellness...

    Close to city center, but quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location Very simpatetic staff Excellent massage

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Eger is a really beautiful city, The hotel is a good choice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Eger is a really beautiful city, The hotel is a good choice, we enjoyed it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.5
    Doublebad was very unconfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Doublebad was very unconfortable. It wasnt doublebad. It was two single bad.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Very nice location enjoyable staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a specific strong strawberry smell in our apartament. Some guests may not enjoy that

    Very nice location, clean hotel, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.6
    Kind personal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The personal was very kind and helpful . The 18th century underground vine cellar very interesting .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    5.0
    The hotel doesn't worth the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not working heating in bathroom (outside -4°C). Reading lamp not working. Bathroom window not possible to close properly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is good and sufficient, convenient parking, nice spa in the hotel, relatively close to the main sights.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.5
    Great location, just few hundred meters from the centrum and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The suite design was a bit outdated, as well as the facilities. We went specifically for the fireplace, which turned out to be a cheap electric one. The bathroom had infra sauna which we didn't use, but it took away the space in the bathroom to have a proper separate shower, which we thought as standard in a presidential suite. The air condition was not working and please note, if you are staying in the suite on Saturday, the place is really noisy as the hotel is a popular wedding place, and it is definitely not soundproof as promised. And, breakfast standard was on the cheap side too, with orange juice which was simply undrinkable - I would not serve such thing in any horeca establishment really.

    Great location, just few hundred meters from the centrum and great wine cellars. We stayed in the presidential suite, which was really spacious.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    9.6
    Wine cellar was a unique experience!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Gym could be bigger, but then again weather was great and surrounding perfect for a run outside.

    Wine cellar was a unique experience! Nice spa area. Good value for money as a whole. Eger is a beautiful city and has good wines.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.6
    Nearness to the City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-Fi should connect all over the property without needing to change the password.

    Nearness to the City. The ambient environment. Professional and kind services.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    10
    Very nice friendly atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice friendly atmosphere. Wonderful Wine Cellar and wine museum and excellent wines.Location within 5 minutes from the old center and tourist area but still nice and quiet hotel.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    9.2
    - President Suite was just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Comparing hotels all over the world - the price could be lower. Especially in January, low season..

    - President Suite was just perfect. Large area where to chill out, great view on Eger, perfect equipment. Manager Marianna was really nice

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    Wonderful hotel with great staff and both the spa and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wonderful hotel with great staff and both the spa and the wine cellars are quite unique! Definitely must see. Excellent conference facilities also.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: