Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Leonardo Hotel Budapest 4 stars

1094 Budapest, 30-34 Tompa utca, Hungary

#242 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2547 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.8
    The room was satisfactory clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel didn't meet our expectations, as the two rooms we got look completely different than the ones on the pictures.

    The room was satisfactory clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.3
    Budget no frills hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was faulty and very loud so had no sleep the first night. Managed to change rooms. Bed uncomfortable and linen scratchy. No shower curtain in bathroom so floor got flooded

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.2
    Location was quite acceptable.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very tired and not at all clean! This is the biggest comment I have to make. Curtains, bedding, carpets, not even sure when they were last cleaned. Tiny elevator, tight car park but ok. This property pushes to reach 3 stars, as a hotelier myself it should be 2 stars.

    Location was quite acceptable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Worth it stay with a very polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only 1 electric outlet in the room. I had to disconnect the surge behind the TV in order to plug in my partner's phone.

    There are bars opposite the restaurant which have really cheap and open till 11pm. The train station is a 10 minute walk and the tram # 2 from there takes to all the major sites. The staff in particular was very nice and deserves a shout out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.3
    The staff was nice and the location was OK for sightseeing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The way the furniture was placed in the room was weird and made it small and not practical to get around. Some of the towels were dirty.

    The staff was nice and the location was OK for sightseeing the main spots of Budapest.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    2.9
    Aweful at the hotel, after changing the hotel it was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so small we didn't have any space left after opening our travel bag. Overall the room looked dirty (the walls were). Maybe also because the furniture was old and used. In the night, there was a constant sound, probably from the ventilation of the building. We asked at the reception but it couldn't be switched off. Also, even if it is a 4 star hotel, don't expect to find splippers, bath wrap, or enough kits. The air conditioning was old, dirty and with little functions. You had to set it to 15degrees to make it start. When we discussed the issues with the reception, they said this is the hotel and they have no other rooms left. I asked for my money back to move to another hotel and initially they couldn't give them to me. After, going again later, there was another person there and that person changed our reservation on booking to only 1 night and charged us for the first night. Oh, but when you arrive there they make you sign some paper that say you give them more for the first night... The parking is very steep and you can easily hit your car. It costs an extra 17 euro per night. Bonus, there was a door in the room that connected our room with another, and you could hear all the noises from the other room.

    That the hotel had underground parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel with clean rooms, air conditionings and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking prize was not mentioned or included in the room prize even as the parking was advertised in the booking page.

    Good hotel with clean rooms, air conditionings and well working bathrooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    Hotel staff was really friendly and they gave us plenty of...
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location little too far from the City centre. Nightime some neightbours were too noisy, every Night I woke up with horrible noise when they were moving the furniture. Liftguy always pushed to the eleveter with big cart and Rolled his eyes muttering.

    Hotel staff was really friendly and they gave us plenty of tips what to do in town. Aircondition worked well, big plus for that! Room was clean every day and bathroom too. Bathtub was really nice. Twinroom could have been little bigger although. Blanking curtains were really nice because you could sleep well and you could still move them daytime. You can drink cafee and tea whenever you like because of the electric kettle. Hotel restaurant was nice. Wifi worked really fast. Near supermarket and you get easily to centre with buss, subway and tram. Just 5min walk away, like shopping centre Corvin Plaza. Near also nice restaurantstreet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    The temperature was 32-35 degrees when we were in Hungary (too hot) but most places had air con.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no curtain for the shower so it made it hard to have a shower without soaking the floor. Breakfast wasn't included in the price even though I clicked breakfast required box when I booked online.

    Air conditioned room, free bottled water every day, there was a TV but limited number of channels, mini fridge was handy for chilling drinks and water.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.7
    Well served breakfast, enough space in the halls on the zero...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very old: electic socets are weak and cranky, walls were colored too long ago and look dirty. The room is not cleaned well - sand on the floor and dust on the furniture were not cleaned during all the time of leaving, the bathroom and toilet itself are very old, bath cabin flows and is in the calcareous deposit or smth like rust.

    Well served breakfast, enough space in the halls on the zero floor and in the room. The room is well equiped with all the necessary furniture. Comfortable bad and sofa.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    2.5
    Beware of credit card scum!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charged twice by a hotel. One time at arrival, next time after 3 weeks. Looks like Booking.com sends all credit card data to hotel owners, which allow same of them to do credit card fraud! Was forced to block my card and immediatelly informed Booking.com, but still no any answer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.3
    The breakfast is good, and also the location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not as expected looking at the photos, it’s more like 3* hotel than 4*. The room was not clean enough for a 4* hotel.

    The breakfast is good, and also the location of the hotel. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice clean rooms, reception staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors on your room do not slam shut behind you!

    Nice clean rooms, reception staff were very helpful. It was 3 stops on the metro into the city centre (about 10 minutes) so overall good location and easy to get to the airport by public transport.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    3.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is deffinitely not a 4 star hotel, rather a 2 star hotel; the room was not propperly cleaned - there was hair in the toilet (as seen in the photo below) there were some very odd lamps right in the middle of the bed...you could hurt yourselves while sleeping

    Location Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    AMAZING PROPERTY! PERFECT CENTRAL LOCATION, NICE AND PROFESSIONAL STAFF! GO AND SEE!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    I had a super pleasant stay and my room was huge and everything super comfortable! Amazing for leisure and business as well. Amazing and delicious BREAKFAST! Having the parking close and connected to the hotel is a plus definitely and I am sorry I did not have time to enjoy more as I was on business trip. Super clean, amazing professional stuff and experts in hospitality segment, I would extend my Thank you for my amazing staying there to: DANIEL, ANDRAS - for taking care of me, EDINA, ATILLA - for checking in and super nice information and guidance, JAVED, GABOR, LEVENTE, CSABA AND MILE/MILAN for entertaining. Appreciate all your support and I will come back for sure!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.4
    I was disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a room with double bed, and I got a room with 2 separate beds. At the reception I was informed that the hotel was fully booked and there was nothing to be done. And I was blamed by the hotel reception for not writing in the notes of the reservation that I wanted a double bed (even if I reserved a room which supposedly should have one).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Decent, value hotel on the outskirts of city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need renovation. Given an upgrade to a junior suite, which had had peeling paint and curtains that didn't fully cover the window. Air conditioner and shower leaked all over the floor requiring towels to wipe up mess. Pull out couch was old, hard and metal bars could be felt through mattress.

    Decent, value hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Lobby and restaurant area clean and modern.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    4.6
    My first experience with this hotel chain was sad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My first experience with this hotel chain was sad. The number was not at all worth the money that was paid. in the bathroom, almost everything was broken. on the shower there were no doors. the restaurant in the hotel is quite dull. only the hotel staff was on top. the one who gave the stars to this hotel is clearly a relative of the owners.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Met expectations.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Readiness of staff to address all issues. Cleaned room although the hotel in itself looked like requiring a facelift. Still, for a 1 night stay in order to do my business, it was more than enough. I had everything I needed. Good internet speed without any protocols blockings so I could download all my e-mails etc. No noise. Quite neighbourhood, public transportation not far from the spot and restaurants, bars, etc at walking distance. I did even went for a stroll to the city center walking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    The staff was kind and did their best to fix the failures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get the double bed, although we asked. After reclamation we were placed in a room that was not cleaned after the previous guest left. After second reclamation we took more expensive room because there was no room with a double bed available in category we wanted. Because of everything mentioned check in lasted for one hour and that was very annoying.

    The staff was kind and did their best to fix the failures.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Correct hotel, well located and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some maintenance in rooms would be recommendable, but they are in good state

    Correct hotel, well located and friendly staff. Good vegetarian restaurant in ground floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having stayed in a Leonardo hotel in Edinburgh, in comparison this hotel was very run down. Limited plug sockets, the bathroom was very old, the walls were dirty with chipped paint, the rooms were small. Felt disappointed with the hotel as had such a lovely stay at Leonardo Edinburgh. We had a double bed but separate duvets, the TV didn’t face the bed, there was no lock on our door. The hotel is very far out from the centre which it does explain in the description. However the Met line only operated until early evening and on the Saturday it had replacement buses as it wasn’t working in the afternoon. That meant a long walk or getting cabs.

    Comfortable beds. We arrived in the middle of the night and the guy on reception had our key and papers ready so we could go straight to our room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Exceptional customer service, a fantastically big comfy room and an ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel breakfast could perhaps have been better But I enjoyed it nonetheless.

    I loved the helpful receptionist who made sure there were pillows on my chocolate and went over and above the call of duty to ensure I had a great stay. The room I had was huge and had a lovely big bath and comfy bed. Furthermore the location was ideal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    It was OK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too tiny rooms - my double- one should be careful to come out of bed not o knock table, and coming out of shower not to knock basin.

    Don't know about croissants- but Smoothies were fresh and good mixtures - generally good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.7
    Modern, everything you need, good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls seem thin, you can hear everything. Room could do with being painted. But overall clean and well furnished

    Modern, everything you need, good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    We were unhappy in the room until the wonderful breakfast! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small like a compartment in a train! And if your neighbour talks you can answer to them! You need to be very tired to be able to sleep because of the rumour and the smallness of the room!

    Breakfast was wonderful and very rich!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    It was pleasurable to be near most things. The hotel is in a good position for the trams.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room was very small I appreciate it was only a standard room and it had all the things you need but it could do with renovating.

    The location was ideal for all the sightseeing things you want to visit. The staff were very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable bed, nice area not far from city centre (you can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hoetl likely needed to be renovated. A bit old style simple rooms.

    Comfortable bed, nice area not far from city centre (you can use team or metro to get to the centre). Good price for value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel downtown, walking distance to the Danube
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room on the 4th floor was facing internal backyard. I heard only birds chirping on a Sunday morning, which is extremely unusual in Budapest. I may come back again in case I have to stay in BP

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    Good but not a 4* Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms looking tired and need of some investment. Pictures on booking.com flatter the actual state of the rooms. More like a 3* rather than a 4*.

    Good location with easy access to transport around the city. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Clean rooms and generally around the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.4
    It was a fair accommodation as far as money value is concerned
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms were small. Also, their invoicing policy was not shared with me earlier. They had already pre-authorised 200 EUR from my master card as a guarantee of booking but deducted the whole amount at check out time, Even this has not been credited back to my account as yet. I am going to email them with details to release 200 EUR.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    It’s was very easy to get to the inner city of Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major but maybe the rooms could have done with a fresh coat of paint. But wasn’t in the room long enough to worry.

    It’s was very easy to get to the inner city of Budapest. The staff was friendly and the room we had was spacious. Very easy walk to the shop. would highly recommend and I would 100% come back again soon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    clean and quiet hotel in a residential location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the fitness centre was very poor with very few weights to choose from and a lack of equipment generally. also it was not very close to any public transport you had to walk maybe 10 minutes to the nearest metro line, bus stop and tram.

    the hotel itself was clean and tidy and the staff were helpful and it was a quiet location in a residential street with several bars and cafes close by and right next to a small park. the food in the local bars opposite was nice and there was also a nice french style restaurant just a minute from reception opposite the little park. there were some small shops close by to buy food and drinks if you needed and there was even a tesco metro just 5 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    It’s 5 minutes in two different directions to public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s 5 minutes in two different directions to public transportation. It’s also a 3 minute walk to the Holocaust museum. There are plenty of restaurants and grocery stores near by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    If you want hotel, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel will do for one or two days stay. Our room was small, basicaly, bed and plce to just turn around, which is something I do no like. Also lamp connected directly to bed above your head is not good thing, since you can hit it with arm overnight. Fridge was also located in room, and I had to turn it off so I can sleep.

    I choose this hotel, since it was cheapest solution I could find. Location is close to metro line, so it can connect you to all parts of Budapest easily. It is in quiet street. Supermarket is close and also a lot of places you can eat. Hotel staff is polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Definitly, the person in the hotel attending us (Harold) was amazing. Thank you so much for the care
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitly, the person in the hotel attending us (Harold) was amazing. Thank you so much for the care, the details and the kindness. Only for this we will come back and recommmend. Thanks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only serious drawback was the additional sofa bed which was exceptionally hard and uncomfortable. These sofa beds should be replaced. Some cosmetic changes would be in order (e.g., replacing damaged ceramics, repairing the wooden floor in the breakfast area).

    Helpful staff. Good breakfast. Relatively convenient location; reasonably close to public transport, in a tranquil residential area, quite easy to reach by car, it is possible to get to the city center by foot. The family room was quite spacious (although according to the floor plan most rooms seem to be of a more modest size).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    The reception staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated and looked much better in the pictures shown on Booking.com. We felt like we were in a cell. The tea and coffee supplied was not great and there was only powdered milk. There is a great coffee shop close by called Coffee Project. It serves coffee and a little bit of food and they service bikes as well.

    The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The beds and bathroom were clean. The bathroom basin is big.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.3
    A bit disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Having stayed at the superb Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte (twice), I was looking forward to staying in another Leonardo hotel. However, I was disappointed to discover that I was wrong to assume that all Leonardo hotels would be the same. The walls were paper thin and noise carried through from the room next door. Although the room should have had a desk, there was only a small low round table on which to use my laptop. The security safe was too small for my laptop so I had to keep it locked in my suitcase. Although the “hot” breakfast was in warm buffet servers, the food wasn't warm at all. On my last morning there was no scrambled egg and when I asked a member of staff if there was any I got a cold “no” and no apology. Whilst staff worked hard to clear tables and keep free ones available, they struggled to keep up with replenishing the food and drinks.

    The location was good, in a quiet area not far from the centre, which was easily accessible using the metro and trams nearby. The food and service at the adjoining restaurant were both very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Budapest is really a beutiful city: wide perspectives, animated centre, attractive monuments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is good, for quality and variety: in my opinion the price (10 euro per person) is a little high, but it is nevertheless worthy to take it. The position of the hotel is convenient, because the next metro station is at walk distance (7-10 minutes); the staff is very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    spacious room, great breakfast and pet friendly, wifi was...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower was a bit out of adjustment. Went from lukewarm to super hot without changing. is a single incident I suppose

    spacious room, great breakfast and pet friendly, wifi was good en staff always there to help. Close to multiple transportation options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice mid-range hotel in the quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could be a bit more comfortable. Also the breakfast could show some variety because all the ingredients were the same during our whole stay while at least fresh fruits could be different. Looks like the breakfast is more for the 3-star hotel but still you could find something for everybody, so 4-star rating is ok.

    Water with extra lemons and cucumbers dipped into the bowl at the reception was that extra touch. Very helpful when you are about to leave on some 10 miles walk :) Cleaning ladies were very efficient and have always cleaned the room during our breakfast. The strong smell of bleach in the room after the breakfast was something we could live with. Tha staff at the reception spoke very good English and was very helpful. We also managed to park the car at the street in front of the hotel. The staff was ok with it and since it was an extended weekend, we didn’t pay a dime for the parking on the street where we could see our car, in the quiet and friendly area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    The water in the bath did not run down properly, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water in the bath did not run down properly, the bathroom door was soaked with water before - therefore cracky. The hotel is a little bit old fashioned, the staff was OK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    Great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture (sofas) are s little bit dusty. The smell of the room reflects that.

    The room is spacious and th bed is comfortable. The breakfast is amazing! The meeting room was functional and the coffee break very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    A great short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great short stay. I wish we would have had extra time to explore the neighborhood more. We arrived late and there were still plenty restaurants open nearby and a little store down the street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Excellent breakfast great choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one thing that let the hotel down was the inadequate air conditioner unit in room. Weather was very war and air conditionerwas if no benefit as it was quite out dated. Which made it impossible to sleep with the heat

    Excellent breakfast great choice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.4
    Room disappointing, shabby furniture, shower head broken just disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Very little fresh fruit Mostly tinned A nail sticking out of the wardrobe ripped my new jacket. Gentleman at reception not really interested. Had to report twice before sorted. The housemaid and restaurant staff were very pleasant. Reception staff not so pleasant. Would definitely not describe as superior double

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The space in the room is really small, incredibly small bathroom, and the air conditioning is noisy. The stuff in not always helpful or welcoming, basic English knowledge. Biggest minus, the parking is available in the underground parking lot, but NOT included, is 17 euros/ day.

    Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was clean, including the linens and towels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was advertised as 40 square metres, however I am sure it was smaller. Albeit the visit was good and we did not complain, it is somewhat unfair since we chose this hotel for the larger room compared to the competition (20 square metres at around the same price).

    The hotel was clean, including the linens and towels. Breakfast was good, including selection. Location was accessible using trams and busses quite easily. Hotel WiFi was excellent, including in the breakfast area (which was handy for planning the day ahead).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    You pay more than you get
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is far from the center. 40 minutes walk. We asked for a triple room and the third bed was a hard short sofa without pillow.

    The hotel offers a nice breakfast. Fresh products and tasty. The rooms are very clean and spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    4.6
    Mester utca tram stop is very close to hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not clean (Hair, Dust). Overall look and feel is of old and used furniture. Rooms need renovation and paint. Beds can be more comfortable (without wheels)

    Mester utca tram stop is very close to hotel. 10 mins walk to Danube. Luggage can be left at the hotel before check in and after checkout. Taxi takes approx 20€ to and from airport and is recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyable time with plenty to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little far out for the centre where everything is. A good half hour walk.

    I liked the setup of our room although it was a little dated it was clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and the Humus restaurant which is attached to the hotel served lovely food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, but singles and couples get overwhelmed by large travel groups
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    (1) The hotel caters to large groups, so others can get lost in the fray. The hotel lobby is packed when dozens of people arrive at once. This means finding your way through pensioners with their big suitcases in order to reach your room via the stairs or elevators. In one week, this included large tour groups of pensioners from China and Spain along with a football club of teenagers from Serbia. These groups also converge on the dining room all at once leaving few seats open for others. (2) The room furniture was modern but awkwardly placed in the room. You had to turn sideways to get around some of the furniture in the room. Then again, this could just be the single's room.

    The location was on a quiet side street not far from major tram lines going to Buda and to the Pest city center. The Danube was an easy walk from the hotel. Breakfast boasted many options: eggs, bacon, granola, fresh fruit, coffee, teas, and breads. Hotel staff were helpful: wake-up calls, calls for taxis, et cetera.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Was a great pleasure to stay. Definitely can recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet a bit slow and drops from time to time, may be premium access worth to purchase. Bathroom need some renovation.

    Good selection on breakfast, clean and quiet place with few min to transport connections.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit further from the city centre than I'd usually like. But rest of the hotel made up for it

    Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Clean modern safe hotel all round.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    crazy weather in march
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast isnt included in price, its quite good but still free would have been nicer :)

    staff was really nice and helpful, also the private parking garage became really handy with unexpected weather changes. Breakfast was healthy and good too.. overall really good choice and good value of money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.7
    The breakfast was good, lot's of options to choose from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fire alarm going off in the evening for like 1 minute. No fire, it was just scary.

    The breakfast was good, lot's of options to choose from and they were tasty!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.5
    More or less it was okay, it's a good choice to stay for a couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I missed carpets very much from my room!

    The bed, bathroom was comfy and clean. Spacy room, nice bed, chair and sofabed - good place to sit around or eat. I think, the location of the hotel is pretty good for tourists.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot think of anything that could have been better. I am easy to satisfy.

    Staff were excellent and exceeded my expectations, especially Andras. Everyone made my stay enjoyable. Thanks Leonardo hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.4
    Hotel want to position themselves to high class but does not deserve even middle class rating.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Definitely does not meet standard of 4 stars hotel. Hotel smells like mass production of fried food. Kitchen seem not having a good ventilation so everything goes to lobby and I felt the smell even in 6th floor. Rooms were looking used, paint was peeling off from the wall in all rooms. We have ordered a food in the restaurant which we though that is part of the hotel and we were not allowed to seat in the hotel side even we were like 3m far.

    Hotel is in good position not far from the city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    5.8
    Junior suite not as on the pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not received wellcome dring (smart). Parking very expensive, possible in the garage, for 17€/night.The room was not as showed on the pictures(junior suite) , but one level less. Old furniture, smaller bath. For that room too expensive. The costs for the dog are 10€/night.Breakfest was ok.

    Near to the highway, good for travelers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.0
    Last call for renovation - you might miss the high peak as you missed 2017 already.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room 525 is screaming for renovation. Cracks on the walls, old furniture, bathroom is a smelly disaster: cracked shower handle spraying water everywhere, cracked tiles, shower curtains are discussing, water is draining out all over the bathroom, broken trash bin, broken paper tissue holder, broken handles, one smelly black sock fergoten from previous guess in the closet, additional bed was not prepared as requested. The underground garage is big enough but the entrance is super tight - corners could be protected with foam. This was a really bed experience more like for an economy 3 star hotel and nobody even asked me about my stay. This was probably the reason why the reception staff asked me to pay in advance at check-in. If you are crashing over for one night, that should do it but if you are looking for quality service then stay away from this place.

    The room was spacious with a nice view as requested. Breakfast was ok but nothing special.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    A place I would come back if needed to stay one or two nights in Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - for 4 star hotel as claimed, a little bit outdated equipment, it was nice in general, but nothing special - fridge in the room was not working and was kind of rusty

    - quiet environment & comfortable bed allows you to sleep & rest well - room and hotel both super clean - fast internet (also on top floor) - good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Calm place, comfortable bed, nice equipment, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blocked amount for accomodation before arrive, but they explained it and payment has been sucessfuly proceed when check-out.

    Calm place, comfortable bed, nice equipment, friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    4.6
    The hotel on the outside looks nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. The furniture very used, it smelled like food in the entire hotel. They charge extra the tourist fee-2,8€

    The hotel on the outside looks nice. Close to Corvin Mall and bus stations. The staff was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    3.8
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scratches all over walls. Room was extremely narrow. Bathroom layout very poor. Lights in the middle of the bed poorly placed!

    Location near 2 main tram lines.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Would recommend !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is quite narrow than it looks in the website

    Breakfast is soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo good ! The staff is friendly and helpful. Hotel's location is walk-able and many restaurants nearby. The facilities of the hotel is also nice!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did book a twin room but received a large double bedroom

    Spacious room with large bed. Very clean. Lovely, helpful staff. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    4.2
    It was somewhere to sleep and close to trams to get into...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff weren’t very friendly. The room was not clean. There were spider webs, dust on the furniture and then we found a multitude of ants under the bed.

    It was somewhere to sleep and close to trams to get into town centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    Parkin price we did not when we ask to park the car, nobody...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parkin price we did not when we ask to park the car, nobody informed ud untill they jyst put in invoice 17 euro for one night. This should be transparent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    We would definitely choose Leonardo Hotel again for our next visit in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the smell of humus bar in the main entrance of the hotel and the fact that the price (although it was worth value) didn't include breakfast

    We really liked the clean, comfortable rooms and their perfect temperature. Location was great next to all the public transportation. Staff was helpful too

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.1
    Great value and location for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiator was seemingly unable to be turned off and upon arrival room was boiling hot, which was remedied overnight with an open window

    Great value and location for the money. Room was small and a bit dated compared with what was expected, but overall served our needs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location, great price, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We tried to order some water for the room at midnight. They didn't offer to bring it up, they told us that water would be brought the following day when the staff came to clean the room or we could go to reception and pick some up ourselves. Its not the kind of service I would expect from a 4 star establishment.

    Staff were friendly. Location is very good. Public transport is very close by and you can walk to some sites and shopping areas within 20 minutes or so.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    4.2
    Leonardo needs a new life
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linen needs to be absolutely clean and fresh and smelling good...this was an absolute disaster. TV size and channels are very sad. Rooms are tiny

    Access and location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    Cheap, comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is situated 2km from the main city centre but good for those making a quick stay and looking for somewhere cheap yet comfortable.

    Comfortable room but a little on the small side and located near some nice cafes and bars. Value for money was excellent. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Leonardo Hotel Budapest traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: