Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lion's Garden Hotel 4 stars

1146 Budapest, Cházár András u. 4., Hungary

#150 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1684 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 4 star hotel, we were surprised at the lack of amenities. For example there was no tea/coffee maker in the room, there's one soap dispenser to rule them all and room service was offered but there were no menus or phone in the room, just small details like that. There is a spa and pool though, slippers and bathrobes are provided in the room and staff are happy to help if you've any questions. One thing did really put my partner and I off though, our room was connected to the next room by a door in the wall. It was locked from both sides, but we could hear the guests next door talking very clearly and we felt a bit awkward. We went to the front desk to ask if any other room was available and the staff member just said 'No' before moving on to another guest. Didn't ask why or if there was something he could help with. Fair enough if they were fully booked but someone else the day before had told us how quiet they were, and it was the lack of caring that put us off.

    The hotel was clean and comfortable with air con. The staff are lovely and friendly, the food and bar was great with lots of options. The hotel location is about a 15 min taxi drive from the city centre and Jewish Quarter. When we stayed, the hotel was very quiet and we really enjoyed lunch there. The people that work there really made it a great stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast has many options yet the quality is poor. The cleanness level of room, in particular of bathroom could be improved.

    Hotel staff is helpful.The location is OK as close to the Budapest-Keleti, (train station) with very good public transportation connection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and the bathroom was a little small.

    The place is in a very pleasant neighborhood with great old buildings. It was close to what we wanted to see and there were some restaurants within 10 minutes walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived after a long trip, made the reservation through booking, and it was written that it has breakfast, we got at the property and the reception said we have to pay it. The problem was not the misunderstanding about breakfast but the receptionist attitude, he was contradicting me strongly,almost to the point you feel a liar. I looked up the booking reservation on my phone and it said breakfast included, he looked, saw it, didn't even apologize, I had to insist to give me a feedback if we have to pay it or not. He wasn't interested in identifying the problem just in getting it over with.

    The breakfast was nice, there was a lot of choice, coffee was good, location is nice, close to center. Beds are comfortable. The hotel has a nice design overall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was limited and boring. Standard cereals, yoghurt and fruit with boiled eggs and sausages but cold selection appeared “tired” and to be left over from previous day. No typical Hungarian Fresh peppers and limited sweet bread/croissants We ate one evening in the hotel and it was ok but a little overpriced.

    The garden is an very plesent oasis in the city to sit and relax. We ate breakfast out there but had to carry everything out ourselves including mats, cutlery, plates as well as drinks and food so involved many trips. The pool was also very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - we would appreciate robes and slippers in the room

    - great pool, jacuzzi and sauna - much nicer than in the photos. We were there alone most of the time - staff was really helpful and we were thankful for the possibility to buy public transport tickets on the reception - location was superb - nice, quiet with plenty of trees and close to the park but still 2 minutes from the bus stop (great direct buses to city centre, train station and Szechenyi baths) - our room was quite small but we were on the 6th floor and had a balcony which was cool!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems like the walls are really thin so you hear a lot during the evening/night. But this was not a big problem for me.

    It's a quite average hotel with a nice view, clean rooms, breakfast is okay for the price. The water from the pool was a little bit unclear but it has a nice spa. Would go there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No. working air condition. Very warm rooms so impossible to sleep. With open Windows very noisy. Unhelpful staff when it came to print out boarding cards.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing negative comes to mind, really.

    Very nice facilities, very nice big room, the sofa bed was already open and made ready for the child, very very clean, quiet, they have a spa (free of charge for hotel guests), but unfortunately we didn't have time to try it. Breakfast was very nice. Definitely happy with our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic breakfast, very uncomfortable room for 2 adults and 2 children, towels never changed because we didn’t throw them at the floor, no enough space in changing rooms before the pool and when too many people at the pool area the locker room was dirty. Hotel didn’t provide pool slides so we had to buy from the market

    Staff behavior was excellent, the pool/jacuzzi and restaurant area and food were nice for family, reasonable priced, the cooperation with taxis super, close to park etc

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel needs a bit of uplift and brighten up. E.g. carpets in common spaces and corridors would need a change...

    Comfortable bed, good breakfast. A good hotel in general but in my opinion it missing a "little something" for to be a four star hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were about night life, it was little bit far away from hot spots, so we used taxi (with reasonable prices).

    It was clean, with very kind stuff. Room was comfy, and without noise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool area is small and was very crowded. It was rather miserable outside and that certainly explains why it was crowded. But the water in the hot (warm?) tub was cloudy and not very hot. There were no towels left for the sauna. The whole SPA area was not as clean as it should be.

    The breakfast is quite good with a good selection of food. I like the location although there are not many restaurants within a 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Saturday everything was perfect, but Sunday the sauna didnt worked and the pool and Jacuzzi were closed at 20:30. Breakfast could have been better.

    We get there around 9 am and they've checked if they have and give us the room immediately. Also, the receptionist was really helpfull and his english was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    cleanliness: the room wasn't clean as it should be done, the dust everywhere, also the bed is not well done. same breakfast everyday and not much choice.

    The staff service & the pool area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in time is rather late 3pm and the check out is 11am (high turnaround for the rooms, unusual). Thus if you arrive at noon, you are supposed to leave your luggage and continue your day since the plans might be compromised if you wait for the room- massive inconvenient. Also, I have booked a double room but received a twin room instead. Front desk was helpful and changed our room. The SPA was included but it runs until 9 pm so you can't really enjoy that much. I would rate this hotel as a 3*** one.

    The hotel is perfect for a city break if you wish to visit the Szechenyi Baths, it is a nice 20m walk around a nice park, and then you pass by Vajdahunyad Castle and Heroes' Square. Hotel is overall clean and you can park the car inside the hotel at a cost of 15 euros- which I recommend since the parking costs are quite high (no need to pay this in the weekends, you can leave the car on the street as it is free of charge).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness was not that great. Also staff was just ok Pool temperature can be increased to 31 or so.. so everybody can use it

    Bed comfortable and location proximity to main train station. And value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    paid parking (15 EUR in the hotel, 285 H per hour on the street 8:00 -18: 00 on working days), not very warm dishes at breakfast, not very modern bathroom

    modern hotel, good location - close to the center, nice view from the hotel (6th floor), very comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No equipment for hot drinks in the room.

    Mattress & service were top, nice food, cocktail… Everything was perfect. City Park, the Szchenyi Bath and a romantic Castle in walking distance. Dog friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room’s decor was a bit sterile for my taste, and without charm. But this is subjective, and others might not find it so.

    The location near Thokoly Street and Keleti station was very convenient, and the value of the price was good. The staff members were attentive and most helpful with a number of my special requests.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nowhere close to the one shown in the pictures. The forniture was old, and the bathroom was clean, but not as shown on the website. Some of the members of the staff were rude and not supportive. The breakfast wasn’t as shown in the pictures. The price would have been correct for a **** service, what we have received wasn’t really at that level.

    The hotel is close to a stop with frequent bus connections to the city center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My partner and I were put in a room with two single beds despite asking for a room with a double bed, not very romantic. The TV in the hotel room is set in special "hotel mode", that won't allow you much other than watching the hotel's approved channels, so it's not possible to plug in a computer or a chromecast to watch movies.

    Clean nice rooms, nice spa facilities, great breakfast, polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Things to improve: the pool with warm water is a little bit small and crowded. (also, it needs a little bit of restoring)

    The view from the room and the options you had for breakfast. Will definitely come back for a visit! Pleasant staff!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really poor cleaning, stains on furniture and walls, years of dust in cracks, old socks under the bed and worst was MOLD on the walls behind the curtains. Really bad experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On morning of departure house keeping staff opened our door 5 times from 8.15 - 10.50 a.m

    Comfy bed, bus stop across the road, nice coffee at breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not cleaned properly. Dirty cups left in the room for 3 days. Need double quilt on the bed instead of 2 singles. Not informed on booking that the bar closed at 23.00 every night including New Years Eve.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some of the furnishings are not 4star quality. There are no slippers and robes in the room, must be booked at reception for an extra fee (5 eur)

    Nice hotel with comfortable rooms, good spa (swimming pool, jacuzzi & sauna) and lovely breakfast. Location is close to the station, next to a huge park with ample street parking (free at weekends). Quick, effective and nice staff, English speaking, very good value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has an outdated climate control system which is needed to be improved asap.

    It was great to be checked in 3 hours earlier, since I was travelling with the kids. We really appreciate such a good gesture by hotel's staff. Breakfast was good enough.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was ok, specially for business trip. Good location, but not a walking distance from a city center. Breakfast was good, wide variety of choices. Rooms were clean and the beds quite comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1.Small underground parking 2. Room looks as not cleaned well 3. You can hear noises from other rooms in the night

    1. Friendly and helpfull staff 2. Small spa with pool included in the room price 3. Tasty food in restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You may have problem finding a place to park your car.

    The hotel is easy to find and close to the city center. Interior is modern and comfortable. Rooms are clean. Staff is friendly and knows English. Pets are welcome, but for additional price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was fair, but have seen far better. No nice place to have a meal around.

    Location suited me well; the service was good; staff kind and polite..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One the pipes beneath the washbasin in our bathroom leaked, so the bathroom floor was wet in the morning, but that was the only flaw. Otherwise we were very happy about everything in the hotel.

    The staff were very nice and helpful. The swimming pool was great. The hotel is in a quiet street with a great view of a beautiful church and the city park just about 7 minutes away by walking, but still it is only two bus stops away from Keleti train station and altogether about 10 minutes by public transport from the city center or the river. The hotel lobby, bar, breakfast area/restaurant and the backyard garden looked (and were :-) ) cosy and comfortable. Food in the restaurant was a little pricey but it was tasty and the house wine was excellent. The breakfast buffet was very good and rich.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To have tea & coffe making facilities in the room

    Good size rooms Good choice at breakfast Staff were friendly & helpful. All requests were dealt with swiftly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No more free parking at the street, during a check-in I was not informed about that by a hotel and got a bill from a police. Room was unclean and dirty for the whole stay, even at the 1st day. Floor full of hair, the trashbin full, bathroom unwashed, the empty shampoo and shower gel were never replaced by a new one. For a 4 star hotel poor breakfast

    Very good location, very comfortable bed and pillows, well working wifi, very welcoming and nice staff at the restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast wasn't the best, not much fruit and the coffee machine didn't work very well.

    The hotel is in a quiet area near a large park yet a very quick bus ride to the center of the city. Very good sound proofing as the hotel was busy and never heard other people from our room. Also nice quiet pool and sauna.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front Office staff wasn't that friendly or helpfull, I really had the impression that I was bothering them every time I asked something or they we're thinking about other things. But they were all by themselfs at the reception so they had probably a lot going on. Very poor WiFi!

    A very good and comfy bed, clean rooms and good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom could be cleaner. There were traces of mould on the floor and in the shower. The water temperature of the swimming pool was very cold.

    Nice room with a comfortable bed. The breakfast was really good. The location of the hotel was around a 15 minutes walk from a metro station. The staff was really friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were surprised that blanket cover could actually cover only half of the blanket, that isn't the most comfortable thing. Hotel seems to be serving mainly touristic groups, which start the day usually early, so we'd recommend to go to breakfast earlier, because you get less and less option with a time. Also the room was shabby and on the ceiling we had water stains so the whitewash was cracked and dropping down as a dust. In our opinion the room doesn't deserve to be in a 4 star hotel.

    Swimming pool. Quiet area. Nice view from window.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the fresh fruit salad was over quite early and they did not make new one. cleaning staff did not leave enough toilet paper in the room when cleaning, we had to go down and ask for it. I find this so annoying (changing towels when it is not necessary, but not noticing toilet paper is needed)

    great location, good value for money, matched the description and our expectations

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor served room but yet very expensive. Breafast is also not so good. There is simply no service. You need to get the converter on your own from downstairs yet it's a broken one. We accidentally left some souvenirs after check out and we wanted to return for them, but we were told that it was "thrown away" straight away! Without even looking for them??? Common!!!

    Easy to find location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not so clean, the carpet in the hall looked dirty, the furniture in the room looked dusty.

    The location, close to the train station and the City Park, in a quiet neighborhood, nice area, close to transport and restaurants, but not busy with tourists and cars. The breakfast was excellent, except the coffee.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable, nice looking room with a great view. Good breakfast. Pool and sauna was great. Very friendly staff. Good location. Nice, quiet area. And, for the firt time in my life, good signal in all hotel and high speed internet :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was below average, many times we needed to ask for food (bread, fruit, etc.) which was not refilled in time. However, staff looked not very pleasant to do so. Also quaulity of breakfast was average. During the night we we have been kept awake for a long time because of an irritating noice (some machine/airco staid on). This could not be solved during our stay, although we have been compensated, this is a big minus for the hotel. The invoice was printed only in Hungarian langauge.

    Location of the hotel was very good, close to plublic transportation in a quite area of the city. Free parking places are available in front of the hotel. The rooms are good with enough space. The pool was good and was a plus for the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else. Very bad customer service,cleaniness of the room and bathroom not up to a standard.

    Comfy bed,decor of the room,swimming pool,location,view from my room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No tea/coffee making facilities in room. Hot water for making tea,was never boiling for breakfast. Staff miserable Breakfast selection not a great deal of variety. Clearing of tables slow. One morning struggled to get a table

    Bed fine. Room fine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water taps (both wash basin and shower) have water economy devices installed, which leave just a ridiculous stream of droplets to run. I'm all for saving water, but my wife with her long hair really had trouble showering. The good breakfast could become excellent with a bit of redesign. During our visit there were 6(!) options for sausages (all very similar in taste), but hardly any pastries or other sweet options.

    Comfortable hotel just outside of the craziness of Budapest's city centre. Free street parking (although this seems that it's going to change). Cute little pool and quite good buffet breakfast. The room was of a good size and clean. The staff were professional and helpful, but a smile and a little bit of sense of humour would be appreciated. The direct trip to the city centre is short and comfortable with a bus stop just outside the hotel. I would definitely recommend Lion's Garden for a visit to Budapest. Tip: eat at the excellent "Paprika" restaurant, which is at a walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast, sauna and pool. Good location walking distance to hero's square or the train station. Very friendly helpful English speaking staff. Comfortable rooms. Quiet area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing important, but a small detail: the underground car park was a bit narrow and perhaps also a bit expensive.

    Staff are great, very welcoming and helpful. Nice bar and outside terrace, breakfast is good, bus stop around the corner 10min to the center, tickets available at reception. Room prices are only slightly above those of very basic 3-star hotels, I guess they compensate by income from restaurant/bar/parking/pool/spa services which are priced slightly higher.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee at breakfast was from machine and it was very bad. The espresso from the bar is extra paid.

    Everything was level, the bed very comfortable, a large room and a bathroom. Clean, good internet. Breakfast was also very good and varied.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have been staying in this hotel a couple of times already and need to admit that it is getting more and more dirty. Last time I had to change room as the bathroom was full with the hair of the previous guest. Even the corridors are full with stains and they need proper vacuuming. The bathroom in the rooms are very dirty, the shower is black because of mould. The breakfast was pretty good couple of years ago, but it is visible getting poorer every time. Not sure how a 4 star hotel can allow this as they are getting way below the Budapest standard.

    The location of the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms look very good but they are refurbished, so nothing is actually brand new. Bathroom had a small shower. Breakfast didn't have a ton of choices and they ran out of some stuff when we got there

    Refurbished rooms, great facilities (restaurant, bar, indoor pool, jacuzzi, spa). Our room also had a nice sun terrace with a lovely view. Very comfortable beds. Quiet green location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant meal expensive & food not great,( although wine recommended was.) Bath towels could be bigger.

    Breakfasts good, staff friendly & helpful. Transport into city centre very convenient, bus just round the corner, main train station one stop on bus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Simple room, fantastic view from the balcony. Spa and wellness centre was very enjoyable and relaxing. Good selection of breakfast items and the restaurant was good quality.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioner filters in Room 509 wasn't cleaned for years- no air flow,AC is undersized and inefficient. Food in restaurant is pricy and tasteless,breakfast was poor too.Cheap appliances doesn't match claimed 4 star rank. Main entry in hotel building dirty,hotel manager is not doing his job properly. Heavily overpriced, for 3 person and dog one night stay with dinner in restaurant I was charged with 242 Euro! Don't even come close to this place -disgrace and shame

    Underground parking and vast parking not far from the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    can't think of anything.

    This place was very well kept, super convenient for access to the train station and only a few streetcar stops to downtown (could have walked in 20 min). Tip - Front desk sold us the streetcar tickets that we wanted. Outstanding breakfast choices included. Pool/sauna/hot/whirlpool tub was great. I think we got a very god bargain.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived there, check in was fast, the only good thing about this hotel!The bathroom was not cleaned, the toilet was really dirty and the sheets were not changed from previous customer!I have told this to the receptionist and we get another room.In this one the toilet was in better condition but not as should be! (it's the first 4 star hotel with this kind of issue i have seen) and the sheets were not change also (the smell was not fresh).DO NOT GO THERE!!!!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One day they ran out of the second choice of jam and couldn't provide another for the rest of our stay. But that's not tragic.

    The staff was super friendly. I loved the spa area and the pools and I loved the room with a balcony. Beds were very comfy, breakfast had a good choice and the location was super (4 buses run right in front of the hotel).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been better if a few sachets of tea / coffee are in the room. Water flows out of the shower...

    The hotel is located just 2 stops away from Keleti Train station. Rooms are clean and okay.A spa, sauna and swimming pool are also available.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too much heating in the room.

    The hotel is nice and clean and in a good location. The room was not very large, but comfortable and clean. The breakfast was rich and tasty. They also have a spa, we did not try it, so no review there.... The Metro line 1 station is about a 20 min. walk, the line 2 station maybe 15 minutes. The bus stop is even closer. If you arrive with a car, you can either use their parking which is 15 euros per day, but you can save some money, as the parking on this street is free (if you find a free spot of course). If you catch a good price deal as we have, it is a recommended place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The clean was not perfect. The furniture and the hotel is a little bit old and this we felt in the room and the minibar. What we didn't really like was that at 4 stars there is no bathrobe and slippers, you can have but with an extra cost.

    The location is perfect if you want to go to the Sports Arena and a little distance to the city center. The room is big enough, comfortable bed and pillows. The staff is very nice, helpful and kind. The breakfast is ok, you have enough food to choose from. The SPA is ok

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a good 35 min walk into town at a fast walking pace but there are buses and metro available to get quicker downtown! The Spa area didn't open till 8 am

    The hotel is near a big park which is brilliant for an early morning run, The pool and wellness area were good as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was mediate: Some days there wasn't a lot of variety of bread and pastry There were no coffee/tea facilities in the room

    Clean room and bathroom, lovely bed and nice balcony . Friendly staff, minibar ok and safe in the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That was second time I had stayed here and main reason choosing a hotel was availability of spa facilities. Pleasant surprise for me was the presence of colored Easter eggs on the breakfast table (it was a time of Easter holidays)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee in the breakfast.

    The staff was great and helpfull. Location of the hotel also is great - near the City park. As I was travelling with child all the things we were interested in - circus and Budapest city Zoo was easelly reachable. Beds were comfortable and room tidy. As for breakfast everything was more or less fine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent value for money. In a nice area with lots of grand buildings and churches. Loved the swimming pool and spa area. Was in there on my own. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good.

    The hotel has a large elegant lobby and a spa. There is a patio outside so that one can enjoy the gentle sunshine, and meals can be served outdoors. We had dinner there and found it very tasty. The bedroom was of good size and comfort. The TV was easy to handle and gave a list of English-speaking stations. Hotel was within walking distance of Keleti Railway Station so we did not need to buy a taxi. I'd stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    air conditioning was noisy even it's been switched off...just one finish sauna in wellness (no infra), everybody weared swimsuits inside (except me) which is not very healthy...hotel staff should remind guests they have to get off their swimsuits if they wanna visit sauna

    location, breakfast, price

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    limited parking possibilities on the street (underground parking not included in the hotel price); lady at reception could be more customer oriented

    nice hotel, good breakfast, good wifi, comfortable quiet room, not so far from city centre

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool and sauna was working only till 21.00, slippers and coat for additional 5 Euro from reception, and this in 4 stars, must be included in room price, on my opinion.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast, very peaceful surroundings, you can even find a free parking near hotel, free wifi, clean rooms, nice staff......would come back again

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor breakfast, a lot of choices but weak quality Bad coffee and juice Crowded in the morning, difficult to find a free table Some rooms are smaller

    Location, close to Heros's Square, close to bus station (it would be usefull to have the possibility to buy tickets for the public trasnportation at the hotel reception) Free WiFi Underground Parking (extra paid) Hotel itself is nice Clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the site Parking was specified as a facility. Had the surprise that I had to pay extra 15 Euros for one night of parking in the basement. Very narrow entry in this parking and multiple marks on the walls shows that people have trouble driving in there. The room was not properly cleaned. There was visible dust on certain pieces of furniture. It might be that this was a 4 star hotel in previous years but it certainly is not a 4 star hotel for 2017.

    The bathroom was clean, the comfort in bed was nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Jacuzzi out of order, Water pressure in the pipe to low and the air blower of the bad room started automatically in the night (57 dB) and could be switch of.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have nothing to complain.

    I appreciate very much the fact that the rooms were ready when we arrived in the morning, the rooms are very elegant, we could regulate the heating, the breakfast was very good. The spa facilities are enjoyable. I shall always stay there when visiting Budapest. It is also close to the institute I am visiting and not far from other turistic attractions of the city.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Lion's Garden Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: