Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Lövér Sopron 3 stars

9400 Sopron, Várisi út 4, Hungary

#5 of 13 hotels in Sopron

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1257 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All in one kind of place. Has the facilities to stay in and around the hotel and have a good time. Friendly personnel and clean quiet rooms. Good breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light was black out twice in one night and second time happened during when having bath. It caused me fallen down in bathtubs and badly hurt of my back . Very bad experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible beds, horrible food. There was no steam room even though it's advertised as a wellness hotel. Also, they did not give us any robes, although seemingly everyone else had them. Perhaps they forgot.

    The staff was nice and the surrounding forest is very pretty. And the sauna area is nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We've come back for the third time and that's all about the hotel, facilities and surroundings. What impressed me this time? The bartender who brought our dog a pot of water and only then served our drinks

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was really bad at their work. At a wellness hotel I think the batrobe is a must and i shouldnt pay for it. Also there were some problems with the billing and the prices.

    Had a good location and the dinner/breakfast was really good. Rooms were clean and pretty big.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a bit retro style.

    The food was very good. Very home tasty style. We liked the piano player on Friday evening. The organized programs like excursions to the surrounding viewpoints or the city, harvest festival was a nice thing from the hotel although we did not participate. The playing room for the kids was a good thing but the toys were very used and faulty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived at Saturday evening and stayed until Monday. What we were very unpleasantly surprised about was that the massages and also the salt cave were closed for Sunday! This is an information that could have been reflected in the price of the stay, because it made the whole experience a lot worse. The hotel wasn't able to provide a bicycle for rent with baby seat, although they rented out bikes. Also, the kids playroom seemed outdated, with old and broken toys. But "outdated" is a term that can easily fit the whole propriety. We felt that we paid a little bit too much for what we have received.

    The food was really good - breakfast, dinners and also the lunch soups provided free of charge. Also the location of the hotel is fantastic, in the middle of the woods which is perfect for quiet walks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of air conditioning, soft matress and flat pillow, buffet dinner (empty trays, very helpful but overworked staff)

    Location, friendly staff, nice sorrounding.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel in lovely position on the outskirts of Sopron with opportunities for walks in the wood. the facilities offered at the hotel included an indoor swimming pool and fitness and well being centre at a very reasonable price are worth investigating. Plenty of choice of food in the selfservice restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Although it didn't bother us in the slightest, some people might find the 1980s decor and lack of air conditioning a disadvantage. There is a fine 10m swimming pool, but no kiddies paddling pool.

    Great location in a forest on the outskirts of busy, beautiful historic town. The only noise here is birdsong from the forest. Excellent, helpful and efficient staff, clean, good size rooms, fine food, free soup at lunchtime and free tea all day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very dated and hot no airconditioning just a fan. Mini bar fridge was very dirty and smelled.

    Beautiful location. Bit far from train station so got a taxi. Stayed here as location was right near a hiking trail i was doing. Great facilities but rooms were very dated and hot thank god we had a fan. Staff were very helpful and friendly and food was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    You have to speak Hungarian or German. Very little English spoken . TV in bedroom about 20 years old ..box type. Small screen. You have to step in bath to take shower. Sometimes had smell of gas from outside below....not nice. The mattress had a cover on but not big enough ..could see tiny blood stains on mattress at the top. These should be cleaned or exchanged for new. Otherwise room was very clean apart from the mattress.

    The location is wonderful. The staff are great. The food is fantastic . You get free home made soups with bread at lunchtime which is a bonus and free tea all day until 5pm. You pay half board but really get full. Our room was quiet and clean. Fresh towels daily . Sheets change 2x weekly. Huge selection of buffet breakfast and evening meals. We would stay there again. Free Wi Fi. You can hire a bike for about £7 a day. All in all a very nice holiday.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath tub is way high I had to clime into it. Shower would have been better. Somebody broke my left rear view mirror at night. I know it is not your responsibility but it is still happened. Everything else was good. We missed at breakfast, some bacon or ham. More fresh fruits, besides apple and oranges Food was good, breads and such excellent. Mostly older people were around, maybe they can make for us for dinner more simple fair. Like plain rotisserie chicken, pan fried chicken, something with less fat. It was good, I like fried chicken, but should not even eat dinner, never mind fried food.

    I loved the balcony, the nice big trees, the tranquility. The room was nice, pretty big. I liked the extra little table.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no air conditioner in the room, so the temperature cant be adjusted. But at the time of our stay (winter) it is not needed.

    Very good half board with good variety of foods, big rooms with balcony, proper gym and massage facilities, helpful and kind staff, and pleasant green location. Entire of the city is accessible by bus line 1 & 2, which the stop is next to the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have visited this hotel twice during the short period and I am sure, we will come back soon. The hotel is situated in a beautiful area on the edge of the forest. Staff is helpful and friendly, half board buffet - delicious food, large quantities of food. There is a glazed playroom next the reception, the location is perfect, you can have a drink in a comfortable sofa and your child is under the control. There is many "summer" activities around the hotel - garden chess, sunbeds, playground, ... Sopron is wonderful historic city with plenty of cafes.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet in rooms Need replacing. Wellness Area much too small for the big Hotel. Small pool very cold water. Evening meal on first night excellent, on second night poor.

    Excellent Value for Money. Whirlpool very big. Breakfast excellent. Quiet Location. helpful Pleasant Staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was perfect for a little winter vacation. Wellness center, swimming pool, jacuzzi. The forest that surrounds the hotel is perfect for touring. The staff is friendly. Nearby Sopron are many facilities, Austrian mountains, thermal baths. A place where you want to return.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean, staff very helpful, The indoor kids playground is spacious and welcoming. Nice surprise half-board included in price. Very professional services (everything is right without visible effort). Great WiFi.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything is perfect! Lovely staff, good food, nice facilities for this price and perfect location in the woods of the pre Alps. Receptionists of every age group were very supportive, special requests were dealt with on the highest standard from both the booking department and the reception. All together it was a great stay!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More vegetarian food.

    the childrens playroom was great. It would be nice to have a daycare nurse to be able to leave children while the parents had a drink in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beauty department was on a 6th floor, but the lift was going to the fifth floor only. I had to cancel some appointments as I could not climb the stairs. The weather was appalling ( not the hotel's fault). It was my fourth visit to Hungary (after 42 years I was hoping for the usual warm and sunny weather typical for July) and it was very disappointing. It rained all the time and our arthritic symptoms instead of being cured got worst. The hairdresser very unprofessional (the salon must have still been built in communist times). The hair was cut OK, but it was not washed, we were not welcome with the smile, and actually not greeted at all and felt like intruders! It is a shame as it has ruined the hotel' image.

    It was a lovely hotel. We have enjoyed everything. The food was excellent with great choice and the staff was very pleasant. The lady in a beauty department was extremely friendly and very polite. She spoke excellent English.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellents repas

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    good food, location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evenning food could be a little bit more tasty but also healthy!

    I love the location and the friendly people there and the price is very fair!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The starf spoke hardly no english so the service and information was not so good

    Beautiful and comfirtable environment

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    BEDBUGS!!! Buffet meals lacking in appeal. Did I mention the bedbugs?

    Pool, out of town in forest.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    no negative comments

    The location was perfect for the starting point of the European Peace Walk

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Simply great accommodation (Rooms 501, 502) View, Environment, Breakfast, Staff's empathy and helpfulness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was extremely nice, competent and ready to find a solution to special requests. If I come back to Sopron I will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect in every way

    Staff were amazing, hotel was fantastic, views and amenities perfect!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly, clean, good food, excellent staff, location in a lovely forest on the outskirts of the noisy town - great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Earlier check in. Good good. Great playroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Mandatory10% service charge on everything Appalling service from bar staff Lack of room facilities ie kettle

    Peaceful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant could be better, not enough parking place

    The place is nice, good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small swiming pool.

    Excellent staff and hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some, minor language barriers

    Everything was fine, Sunday dinner was with life music

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel situated in the forest park. Excellent breakfast and dinner buffet. A pleasant wellness center.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff, facilities and dinning

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comlicated to connect to the WiFi

    The park aorund the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I would like to thank the lovely staff of Lover Hotel Sopron. Before my arrival at the first time I had to change the dates twice, the hotel receptionist Nora Berki was very helpful and polite. When I have arrived at the second date, receptionist Martin Simon have organised my previous room with the special pillow for me there, knowing my preferences. This kind of attention is very unique and I appreciate it much. The new receptionist Tamas Kraseczki was helping me with any requests in a lovely and polite manner. The quality of food and service in the restaurant is very good! I had a pleasure to enjoy a lovely service from the loyal team of waiters such as Zsigmond Kiss, Alajos Nemet, Istvan Bajusz and Laszlo Stanitz. The quality of staff is very high; this hotel would deserve a 4 stars easily. Definitely will come again and hopefully have more time to use the wellness facilities as well.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gym needs updating, young children allowed in the jacuzzi after the allowed hours the kids were splashing about disturbing the peace and quiet.

    Jacuzzi was lovely and powerful, comfortable beds,easy bus route, nice and quiet. Staff friendly and really helpful.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was not satisfied by requesting for advanced payment upon arrival. Chair was broken in the room.

    Buffet dinner and breakfast is included in the room rate and nice. Waitresses are helpful.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Room smells like 30 years of human evaporation. Buffet dinner had one specific dish I would have liked which they did not fill back 2hours prior to kitchen close (they told me they were out). Overall, this hotel needs some investment, otherwise it really is like 1967.

    location is great, staff were generally nice

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was PERFECT!!!

    Excellent location. Very helpful and friendly staff!!! Helped with special need. Intended to stay one night and it became 3. Thanks again!!!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a great time. The staff was wonderful. It was such a nice hotel. We really enjoyed ourselves. We just loves the staff. They were so kind to us. Free parking. Good WIF. Nice hotel room. Great staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds are old and hard but still acceptable Beauty salon booked out from outside which meant a long trip into town for treatments Hotel guests should really get priority

    The location. Just a short bust trip from town but complete peace and quiet

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning and in 34 degrees is a must. Hotel is a bit dated and bathroom and accessories somewhat basic for a deluxe room. The breakfast and evening meals were plentiful but the quality was only fair.

    Friendly and helpful reception staff. Location of hotel Ok and bus service to centre was regular.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The atmosphere is a bit dated. There is no pool for children.

    Staff was great. The hotel is in good condition. I love the surrounding of the hotel that is beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    furnishing, TV , bathroom very old unconvinient. I couldnt get in the bathtub, because it was too high. The pool would be too smal for a family buit the whole hotel!

    the food was good

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Food in the buffet was acceptable but not great. Room was ok but would be much better if 1 meter bigger.

    Location, helpful and friendly staff (speaking Hungarian helps), free parking, quiet at night. The hotel was built during the last part of the Communist days, and is a period piece of that time: designed for Western visitors. Because it was a holiday weekend, the pool, sauna, and hot tub were open until 9 P.M., longer than usual. Free parking is plentiful. The balcony was fine, and the door and window opened for lots of fresh air. WiFi was fast and ok but needed to be renewed each 24 hours (code posted on the wall at the reception).

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff is not very helpful, except for making your first impression not so good. Rooms are very, extremely tiny (20 sq.m. for a double room) and with a socialistic, old-fashion furniture. The double bad is with two separate matrices and an uncomfortable distance between them. It looked like that hotel wasn't renovate with decades. The swimming pool was very cold, not very clean, but very small. We almost didn't use it. The whirlpool is only one for 8 people, which compare to the hotel capacity of more than 500 guests is really small. We were able to enjoy it only an hour before or after the opening. After that it's very, very crowded. The restaurant is old fashion and not renovated. In the time between 8-9 am and 6-7 pm it was really overcrowded and noise level was so high that the live music was deafened. Also at that time the food was not enough and I needed to wait a bit to get a particular meal. I can't say it was a bad experience, but so far it's the worst hotel in Hungary we've ever been. I think we could have definitely found something better for the same amount of money.

    There are very good possibilities for pleasant walk in the forest in combination with whirlpool and sauna. The food is ok. There was a bath and a balcony in our room.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wellness facilities are a little bit poor.

    Staff are very polite and helpful. Foods are been excellent.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    excellent food, friendly, helpful and professional staff, kid-friendly

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel itself would need some 'refreshment'.

    Staff, kitchen

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff making sure that we were enjoying our stay. Excellent in all areas. Our thanks.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    pet friendly, clean, amazing location

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dinner is nice

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    At the restaurant most of the tables for reserved so some times there were no places for us.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Renovation is welcome, particularly in public areas.

    Half-board included in the price. Good selection of foods and tasteful

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bad, bad pillows and the bed was very noisey.

    The Hotel was nice,

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Evening meal had limited choice and not great standard - breakfast was better

    Good location close to woodland, peace and quiet, health spa facilities

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    no air condition in the room

    excelent position in lover woods, facilities for children

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I think the hotel need upgrade

    I loved the location of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location, meals, rooms and everything

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is nothing to dislike.

    The location, facilities, the atmosphere, the staff and their can do attitude and the fantastic value for money

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Better to sleep when traveling to autlet pandorf. parking free. good price.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no kettle or mini bar in room does not match a 4/5 star hotel.....unacceptable!

    no stress ,easy going, great location

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    really nice place

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel needs renovation

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: